Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Augsburg College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are open-minded and willing to help others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Step out of your comfort zone and get to know other people. You'll find something great in them.

    Bang for the buck

    Augsburg is a private Lutheran college, so of course, it is expensive to attend. However, Augsburg also offers a lot of scholarships for their students.

    Am enjoying being here

    It feels nice to be in Augsburg College. Everyone is very friendly and open-minded.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great! They go beyond what is taught in the textbook.

  • 06/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone ...augsburg is very diverse

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school..very nice location

  • 02/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Augsburg College is great for students of low income, wealthy students, LGBTQIA (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgenders, questioning, inter sexual, asexual) students, straight, as well as a wide range of student. Augsburg College support diversity so it is great for a large range of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with the community and seek the opportunities offered at Augsburg College. The more opportunities you seek, the more opportunities you will find.

    Bang for the buck

    Augsburg College cost a lot.

    Am enjoying being here

    Augsburg College offers a lot of opportunities as well as supports for students. I enjoy being at Augsburg College because there are always something happening on campus. The Augsburg community is very welcoming and feel like home.

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot at Augsburg College especially in computer science class.

  • 04/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a diverse college. Over 40% of Augsburg of a different decent. Students that want to be a name not a number, who want to be know at the college for who they are. Athletes that want to play in a competitive conference.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at Augsburg make sure you plan your visit soon, because once you get here you might not need to look no further. It is a small school, but it has huge oppurtinites. The school is affiliated with the ACTC program which allows you to take one class a semester at any other of the ACTC private schools. It provides the transportation and everything. It is also located right next the the University of Minnesota, which allows one to utilize there resources as well. Overall Augsburg is great school with amazing professors who actually help to along with you classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is on the expensive side, but with the amount of diversity and student to teacher ratio. It is still a good deal when considering a college. It has my major and the college is helping me along the way to completing my degree. It's surprising how helpful the college has been and how much I enjoy it here.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college may be small, but it is in a huge city. With Augsburg being in the heart of Minneapolis there are so many things things to do I am never bored. The college is a little community that helps many events and there are always things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Augsburg the professors are well rounded in what they teach and really care about their students. With class sizes of 20 kids I get the attention I need to understand the material and am able to meet with professor after class to have a follow up if needed.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that love to be around a variety of people. Augsburg tends to the needs of every type of students; those that like to work in groups, those that need silence to do their homework, it's a great college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus. It will give you a sense of the size, and the feel of the college.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive to go here but it is more than worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this college! I feel so at home. The people are amazing, the classes are fun and stimulating, and the homework is....bearable.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging and the professors are kind and help wherever they can. They really want you to understand the material and they make sure you are exposed to all of the resources on campus that can help you!

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    augsburg college is located in the heart of minneapolis. downtown, the light rail, uptown, st. paul, the university of minnesota as well as other colleges are all 5 minutes away from our small campus. with so much happening and so much to do, there is a constant concern of safety (as there should be). the safety that augsburg offers on campus is good. they provide escorts, address any issues of non-student visitors, and any illegal activities. overall, they are dedicated to their job of making students, staff, faculty, and family and friends of students, staff, and faculty feel safe.

    Greek Life

    although we do not offer fraternities and sororities through augsburg college, it is possible to pledge at another college, and still attend augsburg. it is a great alternative. we are looking to start greek life on campus within the next few years.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is something for everyone, and if there isn't, you can make your own club! we are extremely aware of the types of things that interest and motivate students and are willing to help get or keep those things on campus. clubs and activities are not only fun but a great way to meet new people and network.

    Great for these types of students

    augsburg is great for students who want to be in the center of the action. it is also great for those students who are solely here to further their education. it is also a great option for those who want to try something new, or live in a vibrant city while still having the option to participate in all the city has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    velkommen jul, a scandinavian welcome to the holiday season, is one of augsburg’s most popular traditions. alumni and friends look forward each year to the splendid banquet of sweets and treats provided by the augsburg associates. another tradition would be advent vespers, which celebrates the beginning of the christmas season with traditional and contemporary hymns, anthems, and carols. the augsburg college advent vespers celebration is one of the largest holiday music events in the twin cities with over 10,000 worshipers participating annually. held in the beautifully renovated central lutheran church in downtown minneapolis, this celebration combines more than 300 participants including choirs, instrumentalists, readers, and a full liturgical party.

    Bang for the buck

    augsburg college is an expensive school. however they are pretty dedicated to offering the best education they can. the resources here, the sports, and the facilities are all phenomenal. food is expensive as well, but overall, the student will get a bang for their buck.

    What to do for fun

    on campus, there is hardly a day where there is not an event happening. since there are so many on campus groups and committees, each one is often putting on a show, or having a campus dinner, or sponsoring another groups efforts. off campus, we are in a booming city. minneapolis is home to some of the greatest theaters, dining experiences, sporting teams, and night-life in the country. across one bridge you can go to the university of minnesota, which always has an event. across another bridge in the other direction, st. paul has cool spots and some of the best restaurants on grand ave. living in the cities offers countless options of what to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    a'viands is the food service used at augsburg. over the years, the food and dining experiences have improved. there is a wide variety of options in order to suit everyone's needs. einstein bros bagels is located in our main building. it is new and has been a huge hit with faculty, staff, and students. if nothing is appealing on campus, we are neighbors to jimmy johns, subway, vietnamese cuisine, and afro deli; as well as a plethora of other options right across the bridge on the university of minnesota campus.

    Dorm Life

    living on campus in the dorms is both a challenge and a reward. since you are constantly here, it is easier to attend shows, open mic nights, concerts, and sporting events. with that being said, it may also be easier to put off important work in order to attend such events. there are a variety of housing options on campus, including single rooms and the choice of having 2, 3, or even 7 roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    augsburg is like many other colleges in that there are more difficult courses and easier courses; there are some more difficult professors and more laid-back professors. overall, what is being taught, how it is being taught, and how it is being assessed is what makes augsburg college full of rigorous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    one of the greatest tips for students who are considering augsburg would be to take a tour of the city. even if you have lived here your entire life (like me), you are guaranteed to find someone or something new. in addition, you will get a better feel of what it will be like to further your education in a city full of diversity, fun night-life, and many other colleges. for students who have made the decision to attend augsburg, i would offer these two tips: 1. utilize the resources here at augsburg; and 2. get involved in as much as you can. augsburg has fantastic resources, academically, in the community, and globally. everyone is here to help you grow so use them to learn as much as you can. also, there is so much to offer; from sports to music to employment to community service. there literally is something for everyone. not only will you enjoy what you are doing, you will get to meet new people, make new connections, and attend fun events!

    In three sentences

    augsburg college is extremely welcoming and friendly. we are a part of the super competitive minnesota intercollegiate athletic conference and do well in the majority of our sports (go auggies!). we are dedicated to community service, shown through our winning the 2010 presidential award for community service.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Beware it is cold!

    Bang for the buck

    it sounds like it has good scholarships to help people out.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You want diversity? Augsburg does have international students that attend. Because if it's location, there is a diverse population surrounding Augsburg. You want to experience urban living? Augsburg is close to downtown Minneapolis. It's usually bustling with cars down Riverside. It's also right across the street from the U of M. Like to party? I didn't do it much but you do have the U of M nearby.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn about the financial aid process. It'll help.

    Bang for the buck

    Too expensive in my opinion. When I thought about it, I should've first enrolled somewhere like Century College or St. Paul College first and then transferred.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was a great school. The campus was just perfect in my opinion. It's small and had cool winding corridors that connected most of the buildings together. Once I learned how to go about them, I never really had to come outside in the winter unless it was to the gym facilities. It's also close to the U of M and had nice restaurants nearby. A buddy of mine did go dine in at a nearby Chinese restaurant. Staff were nice and polite. Girls were good looking too. ;D Well, I suppose you got your fair share of the ugly ones too.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors were great. The ones that I had actually had real world experience in their field. Not only did they offer real world tips and how it worked but applied it to the lessons. Well, I'm referring to the business department anyway. Two thumbs up for them. There were some classes that I didn't find interesting once I retook them. The lessons were planned in a way that were tedious, ineffective, dead almost. It felt systematic and robotic. I thought that my financial aid was paying for this? Well, at times it's business and at times it's educational. Take your pick I suppose.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is well run and very kind. They like to handle disciplinary actions within campus, without involving the police.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Advertisement for them isn't great, you have to seek them out, but it is fun once you are involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with disabilities; in fact it is one of the highest ranked college's for students with disabilities,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not too many that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    So far I love this school. It is a great place and a wonderful environment.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events are always fun to attend, as well as various student organization activities. The Light Rail (Minneapolis' above ground subway system) is a short walk from campus and will bring you straight to the Mall of America, or downtown Minneapolis for concerts, nightlife, or sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafeteria isn't spectacular, however a small bagel shop and restaurant our located on campus and available with use of your meal plan. Also many excellent restaurants are located nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Although housing is pricey, you only live in dorm style housing your first year at Augsburg. The whole community is close and many floors interact well.

    Academic Rigor

    Augsburg college offers an Honors program that allows some students an extra challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour Augsburg before deciding to apply to insure it is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is a welcoming and unique institution. Located in a city that welcomes the college-aged population, Augsburg College has many facets that make it highly attractable. For example, the faculty is top notch, flexible, and willing to get to know you.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can do everything in here because it's in the middle of the city. Possibilities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    this could use some improvement but we are working on it. The restaurants around are pretty amazing to have though.

    Dorm Life

    It's real fun to be on campus get to meet great people and feel more comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Some class can be, depending on your teacher and on the level

    Tips for prospective students

    A great place to grow up and explore the world. Be prepared for whats coming and be excited to learn. Don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Real supportive and great place to grow. Great location to be at. Teachers, staff and students are amazing.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    augsburg has an awesome department of public safety that can take you places (as long as it is close enough) and helps keep all the students safe.

    Great for these types of students

    augsburg is great for the students who are looking for small classes and for helpful professors. along with student-athletes who are more serious about their academics rather than their sport. augsburg is academics first and athletics second with many of the sports teams.

    What to do for fun

    augsburg has a bunch of sporting events on campus to go to along with many different campus events. also with being so close to the u of m, it is easy to go do anything over on their campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty typical of a cafeteria. augsburg also has a very good pasta and sandwich shop/restaurant along with a bagel shop.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is very nice. there are many different options for you to live on campus and plenty of places close by if you want to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at augsburg get harder as you get further into the major. which is good because it helps you get prepared for the real world and makes sure you are actually learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    augsburg is definitely worth visiting. the environment is very nice and comfortable. everything is easy to get to and there is a lot to do around the college. if you are looking for a small school but do not want to be out in the middle of no where, augsburg is a great option for you.

    In three sentences

    i love augsburg college. it is the small school feel in the big city. the professors and advisors are very helpful with classes and questions about your future.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    department of public safety (dps) is a wonderful campus security team who really support safe transportation and living conditions. the wonderful thing is that they are always one call away, so keep them on speed dial!

    Clubs and Activities

    the bonner program is definitely a great opportunity for incoming sophomores, juniors, and seniors who want to be more involved in the community around them. the programs is linked with many other colleges in the twin cites and really works to promote and encourage youth/student involvement and volunteering.

    Great for these types of students

    community-oriented and social butterflies!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a small room surrounded by class for reading purposes and it's a little hidden but it's worth the visit.

    Bang for the buck

    there a lot of money when it comes to college but for the most part augsburg helps with scholarships and opportunities that are free to students. so there definitely is ways to save money and chances to avoid or lower loans here.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of student organizations around campus and for those who love to sight see we are in the heart of the minneapolis community. also, many events are held throughout the week by class offices and student groups which are always advertising free food! if community service is your thing, a lot of opportunities are available as well, just look on the school's website.

    Food and Dining

    depending on your grade level, certain resources are available to you. for first years there are no kitchens in the dorms so the meal plan allows you to eat courtesy of the caterers in the cafeteria. also, depending on your eating habits, being in control of what you eat will determine how much time your spend in the cafeteria and what your meal plan is. the food is okay but the people who fill the chairs in the dining area are even better and very social.

    Dorm Life

    another part of the college experience for those who choose, is the dorm life. in any situation, it's best to make the best of it. having a roommate and living on campus is convenient and helps your social skills. it's something everyone should try for themselves and see if it fits into their living habits and preferences.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the class and the professor, a class can be either somewhat challenging or challenging. however, if you put the time and energy into all of your course work your knowledge on the particular subject and your g.p.a will reflect.

    Tips for prospective students

    school is more than work and college is more than parties. a part of the college experience is build on your personal, academic, and social skills. remembering that school has always been work and that it's more to school than parties should keep you on try. the resources here will get you where you want to be in life.

    In three sentences

    augsburg is a wonderful school that gives you complete access to whatever your personal educational interest might be. the entire college community works to make sure everyone is a scholar in their field of choice and has the resources they need to sprout as individuals. the system itself focuses a lot with building up the students here at college and showing them skills to become better citizens in the minneapolis community and elsewhere.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Department of Public Safety is great for escorts but they have a limit to how far and where they can drive you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons and tons of clubs to join. There are clubs that you can join that have to do with race, religion, interests, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love the high school feel. The class sizes are like sizes in high school. You get to know the teacher in a way that it will be easy for them to write you a latter of recommendation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone loves to hang out at the Student Lounge or Chirstensen Center.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers are really helpful in having you get the best grade you possibly can. Class lessons are realistic.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do from going on the lightrail to go to MOA all the way to hanging out in the park thats at the center of campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good depending on the day you go to lunch. They have a variety of foods and drinks. The dining Hall gets very crowded at certain times of the days, mostly during passing time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great if you don't live in the Urness Hall. Urness Hall is the hottest dorms on campus. You have community bathrooms too. If you get a great roommate then you'll have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that hard. If you ask questions and study you will be fine. Getting a teacher that doesn't use Moodle is very fusterating, make sure you read your email and Moodle daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn about Augsburg inside out. You should ask lots of questions. Find an upper classman to be your mentor and keep in contact with your mentor.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is a very diverse school. Teachers are very understanding and caring. Small class sizes are nice because the teachers really get to know you.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security and they can drive you home if you don't feel safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Apply for every single scholarship there is. As a private college, it's definitely spendy, however definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Living in the heart of Minneapolis is the perfect location for anything fun to do. There's things on campus and within the city. There are many activities on campus; for example, my first year at Augsburg College, they had Shwayze come to campus!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent and healthy choices of food for meals here.

    Dorm Life

    As an only child, I didn't know what to expect sharing a dorm with someone else. Turns out, it's awesome and helps you come out of your shell if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are both challenging and interesting!

    Tips for prospective students

    This college has about a 17:1 ratio. It's amazing because you are known by your first and last name, not a number. People care here.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is acceptable when it comes to helping students with personal issues or tragedies occurring within the home. Anne Garvey is absolutely amazing because, when no one else was available to help me fix my graduation process, she was there for me in every way possible. She provided me with her personal telephone number and met with me multiple times for moral support.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The science field especially for Physics.

    In three sentences

    Great for my science major.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety right in the middle of campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Look out for the Dean and his famous Bow ties.

    What to do for fun

    Student events, sports games, gym, hangout.

    Food and Dining

    Delecious.

    Dorm Life

    The experience of living away from home is a must. Lower classmen dorms are not so great, but overall the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging, but you will do fine as long as you just do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with as many student activities as possible, but don't overwhelm yourself. Develop a relationship with your professors, faculty and advisers.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is a great place for personal one on one meetings with your professors. The smaller campus make it feel much more like home, and less intimidating. The students are awesome.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is good about driving students to and from the light rail, but on weekends they get late. There are some crimes on campus, as is going to happen, but DPS workers are usually on top of things and will take care of students.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different clubs for students of all different tastes, and it's super simple to start your own if you don't find one you like.

    Great for these types of students

    Students in recovery from substance abuse will do well here. There's a strong community, and there is a sober dorm and lots of AA meetings around Minneapolis.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic professors! School is pricey, but financial aid is available.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the heart of Minneapolis. There are always activities going on on-campus, which you hear about in the weekly newsletter. Otherwise, Minneapolis has a great bus system that will take you all over the city. There are tons of things to do here!

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok. Meal plan is a bit pricey for the quality of food.

    Dorm Life

    It's a very involved, close-knit community. You'll make great friends and you'll always have someone to hang out with. (Most of the time, it's fantastic. Sometimes, it gets annoying.) The dorms are also great compared to the average college dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, so you have to work. However, your workload will obviously depend on your major, your individual professor, and, most of all, your dedication to your GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. Go visit them during their office hours. Join clubs and get involved in on-campus activities. Volunteer. Augsburg has received numerous awards for its volunteerism, so be a part of that.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg employees are passionate about what they do. They care deeply about helping their students succeed, and will make time for you if need be. However, you must be willing to put in the effort to work and to contact your professors if you need help.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who are interested in a diverse school. It is fitting for people who are willing to accept different types of people.

    What to do for fun

    Join different clubs that are available. Attend information sessions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your GPA in high school to achieve more scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is a small and very social school. The atmosphere is comforting and it makes you feel safe. I love the campus and everything about it.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being right in the heart of Minneapolis, there's not way you could ever be bored. Going to games at school and showing off school spirit is always nice, or taking the lightrail to Mall of America.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really nice and has a variety of foods for everyone. There are also two other places you can spend your meal plan money on and they have really good food (and bagels.)

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is super nice here, and they really look out for you. If you are locked out, people are willing to come with you to get your key. Floor meetings are always really fun, too.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, the coursework can be difficult at times, but the professors here actually want you to do good and care about if you succeed or not. Going in to get help isn't scary at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're in the right classes. Get involved in the school, there's something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    The people at Augsburg really want to help you do well. The buildings are really nice and they're even connected to make it easy to get from class to class.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is big at Augsburg and student safety is number one. At any time you can call camps police for an escort from building to building or to get an escort from the light rail back to campus. I work at the sports center and I always feel safe walking back to the dorms late at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of activities and clubs to choose from. What ever you are into I think we have a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    I think any kind of student can succeed at Augsburg!

    What to do for fun

    The Twin Cities has so much to offer from sports, arts and museums, shopping, music, parks, you name it we have it and with the light rail so close you can enjoy it all. Augsburg is also located within walking distance of the U of M campus which offers more fun and with sports, a movie theatre, numerous restaurants and clubs to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is good. We have a lot of different options to choose from on campus and along with the restaurants within walking distance and the light rail close by finding whatever food you my be craving is not a problem

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Augsburg is awesome. There is always some kind of activity going on and you are comfortable joining in , watching or doing your own thing. My first year I developed so many friendships that I know will be life long.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Augsburg has such a great support system to help you succeed. Every student is given an advisor that is there to help with anything that may arise, personal or academically. They take the time to meet with students throughout the year to discuss classes, grades and goals and to help keep you on track .

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I have is to be open to the idea of a smaller college and go with your gut feeling. I knew right away that Augsburg was the school for me but I did explore other options and visit a variety of different size colleges. The dorms are comfortable and with the smaller college you really do get to know everyone so feeling comfortable and at home is very easy.

    In three sentences

    I would give Augsburg College a 10, with 10 being the best. I am getting a get education and the support system that is in place ensures success. I also love the diversity that Augsburg offers, preparing me for the future, teaching me different backgrounds and beliefs that we see in everyday life.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a reliable safety system, and it is easy to reach the department of public safety.

    Greek Life

    There is not much of a greek like at Augsburg College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many student groups to join, so there is a fit for everyone. Also, if you don't find a student group you like, you can just start your own group!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that graduated from small high schools, that are looking for one-on-one interactions with professors outside of class time.

    What to do for fun

    There is a student lounge that students relax in. Also, the campus is located close to downtown Minneapolis, and there are many options for fun there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty okay. There are a few options if you don't want to eat in the campus cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I don't know much about the dorms, except that there are many to choose from.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the field of study, as well as the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to make connections with their professors in their field of study.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is close-knit campus with very friendly people. The small class size is perfect and the professors are very helpful. Also, there are a variety of majors to choose from and many services for students.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's the cities! Students can take the light rail to the Mall Of America or St. Paul. Students can also take the city bus to downtown Minneapolis for some fun at night!

    Food and Dining

    I will admit that the quality of the food isn't top notch.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorm needs improving, but all the other dorms are awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are built to create an understanding for not only the subject the course is meant to teach, but also the life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Augsburg with an open mind! There is more than what meets the eyes.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is an incredibly respectful college. The teachers are very engaging and teaches with passion. I have learned that throughout college, I am not only going for a degree but also to gain meaningful relationships.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I used to work for Department of Public Safety at Augsburg. They're not strict unless you are being obviously illegal or doing something harmful to you or others. Otherwise they work really hard to keep the campus safe. Plus we give escorts to the lightrail and surrounding destinations. It's really great in the winter.

    Greek Life

    There is none. You could start a club through campus activities if you'd like to bring this tradition back to Augsburg.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more clubs then you can handle to be involved in, all of which are very diverse culturally and representative wise. KAUG and student activites does a great job of making sure to keep students involved: whether it's a dance, spring jam, or free productions and concerts, you can find something you like.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small class sizes. We have a great science and religion department. Our wrestling team is really good. We will have a varsity D-3 Women's Lacrosse team in 2014.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a 20 minute chapel everyday, no attendance necessary but available. We also have a diverse location, we allow the community in our space and share so that we can help our neighbor. We have small class sizes, your professors will know who you are. We are located right next to the U of M. Also Augsburg students can take classes at surrounding universities and receive a degree from Augsburg, there is a shuttle too!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, it's really expensive. Come here if you are low-income and can get a lot of financial help. Or secondly, if you can afford to come here. There is not much middle class here. At least from my experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are unique cafes and places to eat within several blocks of Augsburg. The surrounding area includes bars like: Triple Rock, Nomad, The Red Sea, 400 BAR, and Arcadia. All of which often play shows and some are 18+. Plus campus always has a variety of extra curriculars to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always switching up it's roles and structures. So they have made effort to perfect what they provide for students. However, we have an Einstein's that is open until 9pm M-F. And a cafe called Nabo that serves burgers, pasta, salad, sushi, and other delights.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in the dorm one year so I can not say too much about this area. I never lived in the main freshman dorm: Urness. I lived in a single room in Anderson.

    Academic Rigor

    The education seems watered down in some majors. 100 level classes you'll pass with flying colors as long as you just go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in the sciences, theater, music, or religion this is definitely a school to check out. If you are looking for a school to find an identity and/or create one, Augsburg is for you. If you have passions you want to pursue but do not how to follow through, Augsburg can help you! Take a tour and I'm sure you'll love it here. Every school has it's pros and cons, come check out if this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg has a system to support your goals. Literally, if you want to do something this campus will support you to the maximum. We are students of action.

  • 11/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small campus, seems safe always see school security around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very fun playing baseball, very good teammates and coaching staff!

    Great for these types of students

    Seems to be a very diverse student body which I like. More liberal and thinking out of the box!

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a very good education and a chance to play varsity sports. It has really helped me mature and take responsibility.

    What to do for fun

    very close to downtown Minneapolis and the U of M so always something to do if you want. light rail close by too.

    Food and Dining

    Different meals daily and lots of it.

    Dorm Life

    rooms are nice and everyone friendly, seems very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    just have to use down time to do your homework and study. More reading and writing papers than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great area small school in a big city lots to do. Able to play sports and balance school load.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the small campus and the family feel to the school. I can get to any of my classes in 5 mins and its easy to get to know classmates and make friends!Professors take personal time with me to go over things I dont fully understand.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have safety people 24/7.

    Greek Life

    we don't have one but what I heard is they can do it with the University of Minnesota which is across the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have multiple clubs and sports and also you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    opened mind it, looking for a change, city people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our location is in Minneapolis, and we are in the heart of different communities.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little bit expensive but they offer good financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    You can do anything, everything is close in Minneapolis.

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best but they feed you so you should be happy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer challenging classes but the professors care about your grades and will help you achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an opened mind it because you mind will change after Augsburg.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is a great college for students that want to meet people. Also, being open mind. Augsburg, will change you.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Dispatch of Public Safety office in Augsburg is opened 24/7, 365 days a year. Never has there ever been a time when I felt like I couldn't call DPS to help me. They drive you to the light rail and to other places that you would like, if it is within their boundaries; it doesn't matter what the time is. DPS is always a phone call away!

    What to do for fun

    Augsburg so close to so many venues and restaurants that there is always something for someone to do. Even if it is just a simple walk down the Mississippi River, or biking to the U of M, or taking to light rail to Downtown Minneapolis or the Mall of America. I believe that it is the light rail that DPS can take us to that really benefits Auggies' lives.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at Augsburg is great. Just don't get for freshmen 15!

    Dorm Life

    The dormitory life here at Augsburg is great. Although, your first-year hall is a little crowded the area itself myself you feel right at home right away.

    Academic Rigor

    Augsburg isn't too hard, but the professor here love to challenge their students. They don't care about anything else, but to have their students succeeded in, not only their classes, but in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions. There is no such thing as a stupid question! Don't think that Augsburg is too hard for you to attend! Yes, it is very intimidating at first, but once you get comfortable with the area of Augsburg you'll feel like this place is like home to you!

    In three sentences

    Augsburg has the best support system I have ever experienced. Not only does this community only care about the students and staffs on campus, but Augsburg also cares for the people outside of Augsburg and takes them in with a welcoming hand.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a very costly college, but just remember to apply to as much scholarships out there as you can! Remember you are investing in your own future career GOOD.

    What to do for fun

    Join the many fun groups and organizations at Augsburg College! There are the: Augsburg Martial Art Club(AMAC), Augsburg Asian Society Association(AASA), Augsburg Mexico Trek(AMT), Students for Racial Justice, and First Year Residence Council(FYRC), etc. You can even start a club of your own if you would like to.

    Food and Dining

    They have just about anything you can find like chicken wings, soup, fries, pizza, salad, pasta, rice, hot dogs and hamburgers,etc . The menu switches from day to day but there are things like pizza and salad that is always there. If you do get tired of the food, Einstein's Bagel Coffee Shop and Nabo are local food stores located right on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living right on campus gives you the many great benefits and opportunities to start your college career. You will get connected and bond with new people who might just be your roommate and or someone you usually see in the elevators. You will not have to worry about getting late to class due to the slow traffic or bad weather. Living on campus is a great choice especially for your first year here.

    Academic Rigor

    Augsburg College has great resources and programs like TRIO, CAP, Pass Mentor Program and College Possible(CP) to help students with their transitioning into college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay proactive, productive, and positive. You will get to where/what you want if you could just believe in yourself. Be there. Be you. College rules.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is a private and small liberal art college. It's a very diverse learning environment. Many students and staffs are very great and friendly. Overall, the college is expensively fantastic!

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Department of Public Safety (DPS) offers free rides to and from different locations around the city. They are responsive, helpful and an excellent resource.

    Greek Life

    Augsburg doesn't have Greek life, but we are right across the street from the University of Minnesota, where you can get involved in Greek life. You can be an Augsburg student and be in a frat or sorority on the U of M's campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs and activities, from volunteer-based to recreational. Every year there is a fair where all on-campus clubs and organizations set up tables where students can learn more about a club or sign up to be a member. It's super easy to get involved, and there's something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is welcome and represented at Augsburg. If you're looking for to go to a big university and want that sort of experience, Augsburg may not be for you. But everyone who wants to be there is welcomed and meets people. I've never seen a student who hasn't made a friend or found their niche.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Augsburg hosts a lot of international students, and there is an effort to adequately represent each student's background. There are always cool international events (open to everyone, usually with free food) to go to.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is high, but the financial team is so, so helpful. And professors know that you're paying a lot to be there, so they make sure you get a lot from your classes. And the dorms are pretty nice and the food is really good.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the city! It's such a cool place, and we're right in the middle of it! You'd have to work hard to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    There's always a variety of food for every diet and palette. And if you don't like the school food, there's so many cool places to eat just blocks off of campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are roomy, the people are great-it's everything dorm life should be! You'll have fun, but feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    In my two years, I've never had a blow-off class. Attendance is counted, and assignments are frequent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind; in one year, or even semester, you could learn more than you ever have before. Not just in classes (though you'll learn a lot in classes!) but from the diverse people around you.

    In three sentences

    Very open-minded, progressive, and welcoming. Excellent academics and friendly student population. Small community feel.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! there are security gaurds that are at your fingertips at all times!

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres tons of clubs from major related to fun groups anyone can join!

    Great for these types of students

    Hipsters are in a plenty at Augsburg! If your scared of the city it might be intimidating but it could also make you more comfortable cause it's a great intimate setting to introduce yourself to city life!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Religious without being pushy! They do not hold classes during service times and there are a lot of little services but it is not required or monitored by anyone! Completely optional!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot more for you money when going to Augsburg! It has a private college feel without the pricetag!

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of places near campus to go to, restaurants, bars, stores. There are also a lot of organizations and activities on campus you can go to and take part in!

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is limited since it's a relatively small campus but it is GOOD! it is nummy and affordable!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus and don't know about dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Augsburg is difficult but not without reason! You will be challenged in a good way! It will make you a better person and there are a lot of resources to help you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should plan on going to classes and working hard! That is the way to be successful and remain stressless! Also get involved in clubs and organizations you'll meet people and not regret it!

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is a great college! It is close to a lot of amenities and has a small feel while being a large city! It also has great programs and awesome instructors!

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our department of public safety is always here when you need a ride to the train or back to campus. Additional safety to car or other assistant is provided.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many variety of clubs/activities ranging from sports to choir and ethnic groups.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Kennedy for fitness, rent movies from the library and gather a movie night, attend dances and fundraisers through school activities, and eat out at nearby multicultural restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining may not be the best as home made food, but it is reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    Campus life is extraordinary. Meeting new people and developing a sense of home within your dorm hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, but with the right amount of studying and guidance you can achieve it. Additional help and assistants are always available free of charge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be committed to what you like to do. Don't procrastinate and save money. Never be afraid to communicate or approach someone new.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is very welcoming and diverse. Everyone one who is easy to talk to and respectful. The professors and colleagues that you encounter in classes are thoughtful and supportive.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not the best but its eatable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm floor activities are always engaging and productive.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but with determination and effort you can achieve the rigorous courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepare to always learn and apply new skills to life.

    In three sentences

    Very diverse and welcoming. Willing to help and assist when needed.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The department of public safety is heavily present at Augsburg. Upon request, they will escort you across campus, to your car, or even to a bus station or light rail station to ensure your safety. Augsburg's campus is also fairly small, so I see public safety vehicles patrolling campus grounds and parking lots as often as I see other students walking around campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about Augsburg's Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Augsburg is deeply involved in community service. I'm fairly certain that one's community service record is requested upon application. There are always community service events being staged at Augsburg or coordinated by Augsburg faculty, staff, and students.

    Great for these types of students

    Augsburg is a great place for students seeking a tight-knit community of classmates who take their education seriously. Working in group projects is great because everyone involved has a high level of commitment to their education. Also, the student to faculty ratio is great. Students get a lot of one-on-one time with their professors that makes it easy to stay afloat when things get tough. So, students who like small class sizes will love Augsburg.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Augsburg has a series of tunnels and skywalks that connect the entire campus- which is a must during Minnesota winters!

    Bang for the buck

    Augsburg is well worth the price. The quality is education is top-notch. Augsburg offers a lot of scholarships that make the education extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Augsburg is located right outside downtown Minneapolis. The neighborhood that Augsburg is seated in boasts a large arts community with venues including the Triple Rock Social Club and the Cedar Cultural Center that see national acts every day. There is also the Mixed Blood theater a few blocks away that has a reputation as one of the top theaters in Minneapolis.

    Food and Dining

    The dining center at Augsburg is great! Not much to write here as dining centers seem to be about the same at every university I've been to.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have any experience with Dorm life, but everyone I know who lives in the dorms seems to like it just fine.

    Academic Rigor

    I came from community college and the academic rigor is definitely higher at Augsburg. However, I am learning more than I ever did at community college because the rigor at Augsburg is higher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared off by the price. The dedication each professor gives to each student is well worth it. Plus, Augsburg offers many scholarships, both need-based, and merit-based that make it quite affordable.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is a fantastic college. I have been to two other colleges during my college experience and Augsburg will definitely be the place I graduate from. The amount of attention each student receives from the professors on an individual bases is astounding.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a weekend college student I am on campus nights and weekends. I have never felt unsafe at Augsburg. That being said it is located in the city so there is crime. Augsburg offers campus escorts if you need one to your car at anytime they are a phone call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Weekend College offers a senate body that is active in offering the adult learner opportunities to get to know each other and network.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Augsburg has a rich tradition within the part of Minneapolis that it is located in. They have co-hosted a pow-wow several times and it has a very diverse student body. They strive to be out in the local community to make a difference.

    Bang for the buck

    As an adult learner coming back to college after 20 or so years I never felt adrift at Augsburg. The resources, both physical and online are there and I always have gotten the questions answered that needed to be answered. The staff is supportive and the teachers want you to be successful in your chosen field.

    What to do for fun

    Minneapolis offers lots of fun things from the Minneapolis institute of Arts and the Walker museum to the Guthrie theatre and the Cedar Cultural Center for plays and music.

    Food and Dining

    Einsteins bagels are awesome and the Nabo cafe is yummy too.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I never felt like I did not have the resources to help me when I needed them. The writing lab and the tech desk are great and the library staff are there to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    The advising office and the staff there are very helpful! Augsburg wants you to be successful and strives to work with you to achieve your goals. Don't be afraid to call or email them with questions.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg's weekend college program offered me a way to finish my studio art degree while working 2 part-time jobs and being a single parent. Augsburg has what I need to be successful in fulfilling my goals.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Food and Dining

    The food was good for college food and there is always an option of bringing food from home or doing a little shopping.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have been a fun-filled expirance and missed after 4 years.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a biology major with a concentration in human anatomy and medical studies. The work has been hard but all worth it in the end.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed visiting the campus from the very first. The professors were amazingly nice and have great deal of wisdom to teach. I'm very excited to be joining this campus in the fall of 2013.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown Minneapolis!

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the school before you apply. Don't be scared to ask the hard questions.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg is the most friendly school you'll ever go to! The track and field team is outstanding. You should come to Augsburg!

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Everything is close and almost everything is connected by skyway. The staff in admin was really nice and friendly. But it was really hot in the freshmen hall they dont have ac.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, any type of club. For me I joined the soccer club because it is my favorite sport and I just play friendlies against some of my friends who also attend the college.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat here. My schedule consists of a morning class and afternoon class. It is good to get some brunch or lunch in between the passing time.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on a campus dorm, but my friends say it is great rooming with a person they know or never met.

    Academic Rigor

    This college has a great academic rigor. This college already has your future set if you're majoring in a certain career that the school might not have. If that's the case they link you up with after you finish your generals and pre-requisites at Augsburg you can transfer and finish your major at another local college that Augsburg is linked to,

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open about yourself, get out there and make new friends. Get involved in things, the main thing I learned about college is networking which basically means socializing, making friends, organizing ideas, get involved with clubs.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing school. The counselors, professors, advisers, and counselors are all very friendly. The campus is located right outside of downtown and it is easy to get there from where I live within the city.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DPS is committed to providing a safe environment for students!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth every dime! Small class sizes amazing dorms! Everyone is caring and friendly!

    What to do for fun

    GAMES! DANCES! CLUBS! FREE DINNERS a whole bucket full of ideas there is a new event almost every night!

    Food and Dining

    Not the greatest but not horrible, you can always eat out many cultural areas around the area!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly smiles are thrown everywhere. Although I do not live on campus being here has made me realize this is where I need to live as I enter the roller coaster to my future.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenges students to thrive to there full ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be fooled by the class size you will not be called on randomly. Don't like something start a club to change it you have the ability to make a difference. If you are looking to go to graduate school and want recommendations and the full on teacher student relationship make it happen its possible with effort.

    In three sentences

    This college is AMAZING, students are very kind an helpful. Augsburg college has and amazing STEM program and allows students to show there intelligence to its fullest. On a scale from one to ten this institution deserves a solid 10 its provides a safe intelligent and fun environment for students to thrive.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As long as you aren't out alone at 2am trying to get back (You can ALWAYS call DPS), you shouldn't have any problems being safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE ARE SO MANY! Everything from politics, to anime and art clubs. The best part is, you can start your own! Once you find a few others, you are perfectly welcome to talk to the Campus Orientation and Activities staff!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to make a difference.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs a lot, but it's worth it. The programs are thorough, teachers really care, and living on campus is fantastic. They keep you involved through clubs, floor meetings, random game nights.

    What to do for fun

    Go visit your floormates! Catch a ride from the Department of Public Safety to the lightrail and check out the Mall Of America. There are usually movie nights, and contests throughout the year. Even game nights!

    Food and Dining

    Food always has it's good and bad days. There's a huge variety and the menu is accesiblie online. Portions can run a little small, but if you want more seconds are perfectly fine, and won't cost you another one of your meal plans. Ice cream and dessert are always available (they also vary from lunch to dinner).

    Dorm Life

    The floor I live on is like a family to me. Whenever we want to socialize we leave the doors open and sit in our rooms, we even have our own Christmas Party. The Residential Advisor is easy to talk to and find when you are having issues. The walls in the dorm may be bare, but its a perfect bonding experience for you and your roommate to decorate!

    Academic Rigor

    In the classes, it all varies on the teacher you have. One thing you have to be prepared for is saying why the topic your addressing is relevant to you, and life around you. Classes aren't all lecture and filled with boring note-taking, each teacher I've had so far is open for discussions and hearing your own opinions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for Welcome Week, it's compacted with events that sound tiring, but it allows for great bonding time. Don't be afraid to say hello to other students, every freshman is scared too!

    In three sentences

    The campus is small enough for you to always see a friendly face, but big enough so that you'll constantly meet new people. They are very inclusive with other students and let you voice your own opinion openly and are willing to accept it. They really want to make a difference in the world, and will help you make a change you see necessary as well.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out and enjoy all the city has to offer. Hangout with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is no where near satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    I have enjoyed dorm life and have met so many friends through living on campus. I do wish the living spaces were a little brighter and newer.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes the academics are somewhat challenging but I could be more challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the area you will be in and know how to take care of yourself. Augsburg is an urban college with many different kinds of people who are many different shapes and sizes. Be aware of your surroundings yet dont let your surroundings get in the way of having an amazing adventure in the wonderful city of Minneapolis.

    In three sentences

    I have loved going to Augsburg College so far, it has wonderful people attending and brilent professors. I am not only enjoying the experience I am having here but I am also learnimg so much. My grades have improved so much since high school thanks to the help from my advisor.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! It is a small campus so if anything happens, securities will be there within minutes. It is also 24 hours so if you're close by and need to come back to campus, they will pick you up. Plus, there are staffs doing rounds around dorm buildings every few hours at night.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and activities to do for fun! A lot of sports and games to go watch. A lot of times, there will be games and someone watching t.v in the lobby.

    Food and Dining

    There are a good amount of varieties to chose from and have a great salad bar everyday!

    Dorm Life

    Love it! You're very close to everything inside the school. The furthest dorm building is about a 3 minute walk from the main building. It is also very secure and everything/ everyone is close by so you wont be secluded from everything since it is a small campus. There is always something to do every week. The school hosts small events for your floor/ building and give out alot of free stuff!

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging but professors are willing to help out whenever. They like to challenge you but are very helpful when it comes to their students! Make sure to always pay attention, because every bits and piece are important!

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore! Say hi to someone who walks by you because most likely, you will see them again. Maybe they're going to be the connection you have with your dream job!

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is a small community but have many clubs/activities to do. You will get a chance to meet everyone and build great relationships throughout the year. All the students and staff are very friendly, on top of that, the professors are willing to take time out of their time to help their students out.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Great for these types of students

    I've heard that this school is good for students who are shy because it is so small and close-knit.

    Bang for the buck

    It looks super expensive (because it is) but the scholarships and financial aid help a ton!

    What to do for fun

    Hop on the light rail and go exploring with friends

    Food and Dining

    The caf is very convenient and you can always find at least one thing that sounds good. Einsteins is delicious!

    Dorm Life

    They're dry dorms, so there usually aren't many problems with drinking or parties.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenge yourself and take upper level classes once you finish some of your gen eds. The classes require some work, but they're specified in a way you wouldn't usually find at other schools.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of things! There are lot of activities, clubs, groups, and just random things to do all around Augsburg, and its easy to get to the Mall of America and other places in the area because were right next to the light rail.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't the best at Augsburg.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, but there are some general rules and regulations to follow.

    Academic Rigor

    Augsburg has strong academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that this college has your major as well as class needed to complete you major before you decide to go.

    In three sentences

    A very fast paced professional college, they have lots of on campus resources to help make your college experience a great one.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Augsburg is in the heart of Minneapolis, so there is a presence of a night life on campus. It is very east to hop on a bus or train and head to Dinkytown where the U of M campus is, Uptown where there is great shopping, Mall of America, and Downtown especially with all the cool bars and clubs. You for sure don't have to go to great lengths to have a good time around the area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Augsburg is run through Aviands and I could honestly say it isn't a good experience. Sometimes things can be under or over cooked and can be a little repetitive. As an alternative we have Einsteins Begals to get coffee, sandwiches, fruits, and salads all day long. There is also a Nabu which has burgers, pastas, and hot sandwiches as well. There is always something to eat no matter what you are in the mood for.

    Dorm Life

    The best and most spontaneous time spent in college is spent in the dorms. Since Augsburg is very small, it is very easy to meet and to hang out with everyone, especially those in close proximity. There are events that go around campus such as all-night parties with live entertainment, late night breakfasts during finals week, and pizza parties during super bowls. There is always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    The best academic thing about Augsburg is the professors are always willing to help out in anyway they can. From tests reviews to even internship matches. They make the time and effort to help you grow as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best and most efficient way to succeed at Augsburg is join student organizations and clubs that pertain to your specific interest. It makes it easier to meet new people, gather more knowledge about what you're interested in, and it helps for networking in the future.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is the most diverse college in the twin cities area. No matter race, class, or gender, they make sure that everyone leaves with the same foundation no matter their background. Augsburg also has a strong connection with alumni to help current students succeed in the real world.

  • 07/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been thefts and robberies on campus but there is the department of public safety that can be reached easily and can be used to escort you to places

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Augsburg Asian Student Association, Pan-African Student group, Cheerleading, etc

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Football games against Hamline University; Whoever wins gets an engraved hammer with the past years and winners.

    Food and Dining

    The food is sub-par like any college meal but there are a couple other options on campus. There is a cafe that has good hours and a small restaurant that doesn't have that much variety but tastes amazing. There are a ton of options off campus though that are nearby.

    Dorm Life

    All the rooms are nice and clean but the residence life team will find any reason to give out fees so beware of what you can and cannot do.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you take, some of course, will be more difficult than others but some you just need to pass to get the credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest taking lots of tours and making sure it has everything you want, since it is a smaller school

    In three sentences

    Augsburg College is a small school with a campus easy to navigate. It is close to the city and has great teachers. The facilities are alright but planning to be upgraded soon.

  • 07/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The head of security is one the most welcoming faculty on campus. Augsburg is equipped with many options to keep you safe as a student. They even offer escorts to and from classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Your experience is what you make it and if you walk into Augsburg with a smile, you won't be disappointed with your decision.

    What to do for fun

    Lots! Campus activities are always posted. You cannot get bored if you choose to stay home for the holidays.

    Food and Dining

    The food will, sadly, make you miss your mothers kitchen and the spice cabinet. Dinner is usually okay, okay meaning you will blind the taste with conversation and their awesome beverages. There are cafés in campus that will suffice.

    Dorm Life

    Brilliant. I have been quite please with dorm life here. I have stayed on campus overnight a few times now and have been amazed at how kind people here are. We are truly becoming a family.

    Academic Rigor

    Augsburg understands tough love. Here, you will be challenged, pushed, kindly corrected, inspired and motivated. They, the staff, have high expectations simply because they are truly invested in your success as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your heart open. Do not fear asking questions. Understand that your voice, whether from a small town, or here in the city, is valid.

    In three sentences

    Augsburg's impetus aims to change the lives of young people by educating the mind, body and will. I have witnessed many orientations for various clubs and community activities but never before have I participated in such a heart warming welcome into an institution. Augsburg, in the three days I have spent overnight on campus, has become my home.