Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Augustana College - Illinois Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/31/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to study abroad, students who want smaller class sizes, liberal arts education, potential Division 3 Athletes, students who want to seek internships in the Quad City Area, the list goes on and on I think there is a little bit of everything for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at Augustana, get in touch with your admissions counselor, look up the head of the department of your major and email them and ask them questions. If you apply early and get in touch with them even earlier, then you will be in good shape as far as taking advantage of scholarships go.

    Bang for the buck

    If you start early on your research and show Augie that you're interested in them they will work with you to get as much money in scholarships as possible. Keep in mind all of the scholarship dates (talk to your admissions counselor and look on the web site as well.) While I haven't taken a course yet at Augustana, I do know that because of the tri-mester schedule it allows students to be able to double or even triple major in something if they want to.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful. It is decently sized so it seems larger even though it is a small school. There are a lot of party-ers, but there are a lot of people who don't party as well.

    Will learn a lot

    The faculty here are intelligent and more than qualified, plus they show a genuine caring attitude towards the students. The tri-mester schedule allows students to take more classes and double and even triple major.

  • 03/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student is encouraged to come to Augie! There is a place for everyone whether you want to join a sports team, greek life, music groups, politics clubs, Tolkien society, science clubs, anything! Each student is welcomed and can find amazing friends at Augustana.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask all questions and don't be afraid to try something new. Do what you want to do and not what your friends want you to do all of the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Augie offers so many different things besides the fantastic academics for their students. Once a month we have free bingo and trivia nights as well as a weekly movie (just out of the theaters nd before going on DVD) that is played 4 times. Both PepsiCo recreation center and Carver athletic center offer any level athlete what they desire. The buildings and facilities are fantastic and offer the students so much.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is gorgeous and the people are amazing. I have made so many fantastic friends at Augie and you get to see all of the same people over and over again because the campus population is so small. When you see professors walking around on campus they say hello, even professors you had the years before. There are clubs and teams for every person and it's so easy to find others with your interests.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an education major and each class that I've been in has taught me many new things. Even the general education classes have so much to offer. The class sizes are small so if you don't understand something it's easy to ask the teacher within the class so that your question can be clarified and possibly help someone else. All of the professors are helpful and want to see you succeed!

  • 03/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students that like a more close knit type of school. It is not a very large school, so you end up knowing and meeting a lot of people because of the schools size. There is a lot of nature on the campus, so it is perfect for those students that do not really like city life too much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending here, do not be hesitant to get out there. Get involved in the school and the school will literally be like your home. Don't be afraid to get help when you need it, there are so many resources here to make sure you do succeed so take advantage of them. In your classes, make sure to give each class the attention it deserves and do not be hesitant to ask your professors questions. Everyone is very helpful and open to answering any questions you may have.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is an expensive school, there is no limit when it comes to education. This school puts a lot of important on the liberal arts education it provides, and I believe this is what makes it a bang for the buck. This liberal arts education teaches you not only the topics of your major, but it teaches you many other subjects in order to help you become a more well rounded adult.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely am enjoying my time here at Augustana. There are always many events occurring on campus and the college strives for your involvement in these events. They want people to get out there and enjoy themselves.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I have learned a lot at my time at Augustana. The professors really strive to challenge you as you advance your education. They make you take responsibility for your education and in this way, you gain so much knowledge.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rock Island is a close knit, diverse, and safe community. Augustana has built in several safety plans and features, including safety hot lines and text numbers. However, there is a gang of raccoons that like to tip over garbage cans and tear apart open cars. I definitely recommend rolling up your windows and avoiding the woods at night.

    Greek Life

    We have a sizable Greek life, with six sororities and seven fraternities. Unlike in the movies, Augastana's Greek System is open and accepting. While there are rights of passage, there is no hazing allowed. The groups are simply like minded individuals looking for a strong college community. If you are a shy person, than the Greek system is a great way to make friends. Augie's system is know for their superb conduct and strong community involvement. Furthermore, Greek groups allow for leadership and networking opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like politics, join the Student Government. Maybe you prefer poetry, then join After Hours Poetry Work Shop. Want to make a difference, join SAFARI, an immigrants rights group. Just want to have fun, then play Quiddithc! What ever you like to do, Augustana has a club for it. If you feel you're interest is too obscure, or if they are too divers, you can always find a group of like minded individuals. Sports, service, science, you name it, we have it!

    Great for these types of students

    For the Big Brains, the Friendly, and the Quirky! Augustana is the perfect mix between academics, creativity, and fun. I myself, am an intrepid entrepreneur with a flair for biology and the dramatic. This school is NOT for the faint of heart! So beware, Augie will change your life (in a good way!)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Halloween weekend Augustana turns into a creepy campus of ghouls, goblins, and zombies (commonly called pre-med students). Candy abounds and monsters mash at the Halloween Bash. It's a scary good time!

    Bang for the buck

    YES! Augustana offers a ton of scholarship opportunities. I was able to pay for over half of my tuition through school sponsored awards alone. But do be aware, Augie is a private school and does cost more than a public university. However, if you want an Ivy League education for a public price, Augie is the way to go. If you contact the school and ask them for scholarship information, they will send you a handy brochure outlining all the scholarships and how to get them. They want you to have their money, imagine that!

    What to do for fun

    Though Augustana's in the country, there is always something to do. If you are looking for a work out, there is the PepsiCo rec centre. It has a track, tennis courts, and a ton of intramural sports and classes. We are known for our strong music program, which offers jazz ensembles, choruses, and theater opportunities. Besides the standard fair of community, faith, and special interest groups, there is a large Greek system (famous for their parties). Even Rock Island offers a little flair, ranging from parks, to pools, to pool tables. Furthermore, the flora and fauna are simply breath taking and offer some great hiking opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    What can I say, college food is college food. There is a Starbucks, which is always a plus, and Whitey's Ice Cream is unbelievably delicious! Other than that, you have your standard fair of college cuisine, including cafeteria food, Pizza Hut, and Fazolis (a fast food pasta place). If you have a dietary restriction, you can always find something to eat, just do not expect it to be five star cooking.

    Dorm Life

    As I have said before, the community Augastana provides is unlike any other university. We have a reputation as a party school, so dorm life is pretty rocking, but there are also Healthy-Lifestyle dorms in Westerlin. These rooms have moral conduct codes, and are generally pretty quiet. There are also dorms with accommodations for handicapped students in Andreen. My only complaint is not all the dorms have air-conditioning; Erickson is not a pleasant place to be in the summer. However, the friendly atmosphere of the student body trumps any heat-related discomfort.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken any classes yet, since I will be a freshman in the fall, but the few classes I did sit in on impressed me. Chemistry in particular is a grueling subject, with a grade of 86% earning you an A. The science and business departments offer the most rigorous courses, but I have also hear Speech Pathology can throw an occasional academic curve ball. Overall, I have heard Augie's courses are on par with most big ten schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and speak with the students if you want a clear view of what kind of place Auganstana is. In my experience, the students have all been intelligent and engaging, with just a touch of kooky. Their conversations range form the stability and future of the pacific rim economies, to African art, and even how the schools Quidditch game went. Also, pick up any of the literature you can find about Augustana. This will give you an in-depth look at the academics, community, and scholarships Augie offers.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic! Though it is in the country and a little out of the way, the professors are intelligent, professional, and personable. During my first visit the Dean and Head of the Business Department learned my name, and the students were helpful and genuinely thrilled to be an Augie Doggie. Their curriculum is diverse and challenging, while allowing for a great deal of intellectual exploration.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 25 people found this review useful. 5 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Don't have answer yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't have an answer yet

    Bang for the buck

    Then I will aim high for sucess and hoping your school will providing that.

    Will enjoy being here

    Also will enjoy seeing the school.

    Will learn a lot

    About this wonderful school. Want mine using my time wisely.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented, driven, enthusiastic people are EVERYWHERE on campus. It's definitely a fit for those who don't just want to be another face in the crowd.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely get involved in something that you've always wanted to do but never had the chance. If you don't like it, at least you can say you've tried. Speak up in your classes, those are the ones that you end up having the most fun in.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you get here at Augie is way above that of a school with 15,000 people. Class sizes are small, professors actually remember your name, and the resources are amazing. It's also a perk that the dorm rooms are about twice the size of the average room. Yeah, we're a little spoiled here.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something going on and every weekend is so much fun, especially when you're always meeting new people. There's so much to do off campus as well.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging but i love knowing that I'll use everything I'm learning. There are so many different classes you can take, even a Harry Potter class! Everything I learn sparks my interest and makes me want to take more classes in that area! The teachers are amazing and so helpful and always willing to put in the extra effort if you are as well.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest an over night. This will give you a look into the classes and night life of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The only thing I have to complain about is the internet. The majority of the time it is just fine, but during midterms and finals that internet connection is just awful!

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the campus. There is something for everyone. There are academic clubs, Greek Life, Sports, etc. There is always something going on so you can never be bored!

    Am learning a lot

    There are of course the annoying Gen Eds that you have to get out of the way. However, all of the teachers that I had during my first year were all very knowledgable on the subjects they were teaching.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working people who can't wait to dive right in and soak it all up!!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a smaller school, but it's located in the Quad Cities so other campuses are close by. It's campus is very hilly!

    Bang for the buck

    Here's hoping, anyways! Augustana really seems to have a great thing going and I hear nothing but glowing reports from everyone I talk to!

    Will enjoy being here

    Like I said before, I love the professors and that Augustana seems to really appreciate the arts! The campus alone is beautiful!

    Will learn a lot

    I cannot wait to get to Augustana this August and start learning everything I need to know to pursue my dreams! I've been to campus more than a couple of times and have even worked with some of the professors and have absolutely loved how they approach issues and get you to think and work!

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that can't function in a class size of 500, this school is for you! The teachers truly care about the students and they give a lot of individual attention. Class sizes are small which is perfect for students who don't want to sit in a lecture hall listening to a Teaching Assistant that doesn't know your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not a good test taker and your ACT score isn't a good reflection of how you are as a student. Don't send it! Augustana has an option where you can NOT send your ACT score and write an essay instead. They know that one test can't possibly decide whether a student is ready for college, so if you're not a strong test taker, write an amazing essay instead! Good Luck!

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive, but that's true wherever you go. Augustana gave me a ton of great scholarships and I'm working hard to keep them. I'm even paying less that some of my friends that went to state/public schools! Don't let the fact that Augie is a Private college deter you! It's an amazing school and if you deserve to be here, they'll give you lots of scholarships!

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere is something I haven't experienced elsewhere. Everyone is friendly and you can get involved in virtually anything! You name it, Augustana has it. If for some reason they don't have it... create it! Odds are that someone else is looking to join your club too!

    Academic Rigor

    I absolutely loved my first year of classes. It's great getting to choose classes that interest you and in any discipline you want. Even in my Liberal Studies First Year Class, which is a required class, taught me so much on a lot of different topics!

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the workers at the office of public safety do a good job of attending to students' safety needs. every time an incidence report is filed, an email is sent to all staff and students, so everyone is aware of possible threat.

    Greek Life

    augie does not support a national greek system, so all of the fraternities and sororities are private. this means that the entrance fees are less expensive and that rush is done in a different manner and takes place after winter break.

    Clubs and Activities

    the office of student activities is great at helping to start student organizations. so far, there are over two hundred, which is impressive considering there are less than 2,500 students in attendance. as long as there is genuine interest in a club by at least ten students, the college will support it.

    Great for these types of students

    augustana college is great for students looking for a strong sense of community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is rumored to be a ghost named chauncey in the andreen residence hall. if a couple kisses under the bell tower, they are fated to get married. the olin staircase is a set of 110 stairs outside and is the quickest and most tiring way to get from upper to lower campus or vice-versa.

    Bang for the buck

    augustana does a good job of awarding scholarships for a variety of accomplishments and skills, so the sticker price is not really all that scary. for the quality of education that a person recieves and the memories that will surely be made, it is worth the financial cost.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lively greek system and plenty of intermural competitions at augie. also, the office of student activities puts on various events each week including musicians, comedians, movies, bingo, and others.

    Food and Dining

    the college does a good job of including a variety of options for most tastes at every meal, although the vegetarian and vegan options can be limited. most of the food comes from nearby farms, due to the college's participation in farm2fork.

    Dorm Life

    the residence halls are not very large, but this helps to create a strong community environment. many people form families away from home with the other students on their floors.

    Academic Rigor

    because it is a liberal arts school, augustana tries to challenge its students to try a little of everything. this can be difficult, especially because every student has different strengths and weaknesses. the college has high standards for ap credit, so most students do not test out of requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    try to be relaxed for your admissions interview. you want to show the interviewer the real you, not the stressed-out, nervous version of yourself.

    In three sentences

    i am so glad i decided to come here! all of the professors have doctorates and so far they have genuinely cared about my education. the campus is absolutely gorgeous.

  • 07/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Despite the massive cost, it is definitely worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The activities that go on here, parties, social gatherings, outings, and trips will keep you close knit with the Augie family. I know you will love it here

    Will learn a lot

    The teachers know what they are talking about at Augie, you will develop a close relationship with them, and will become lifelong friends.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is of utmost importance Augustana! We have our security assistants surveying the Augie area 24/7 and report and incident that may occur to the student body. There are rarely any troubles with security issues and Augustana is a safe place to be at. Just ask any current student here!

    Greek Life

    Greek life accounts to about a fourth (maybe a third) of the school but it isn't the end all be all. There are 14 Augustana based chapters (no national groups) on campus, with seven fraternities and seven sororities to choose from. Greek life is awesome and a life changing experience!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Augustana has over 100 recognized clubs as well as countless individual clubs. If you ever want to create a club, gather a total of 3 people or more and Augustana will help you fund your new club!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is down to earth and likes to be friendly! We are a FRIENDLY campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have our typical Augie Homecoming, Greek Week and multiple charity events that most big schools sponsor! At Augustana we have our Bell Tower, where it is said that if you marry someone, you have to kiss them under it (don't worry the tower is over 20 ft tall).

    Bang for the buck

    It is approximately $43,000 but with the multiple scholarships that Augustana offers only about 2% of the students pay the full amount. Most people who apply for the scholarships and extra financial aid only pay about $5000 a year, at an average.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something to do on campus. From Friday night Bingo to a Late night with one of the Augustana Greek Life fraternities/sororities. The Office of Student Activities (OSA) does a phenomenal job to bring events each week on campus making it hard to be bored! Trust me, it is hard to be bored at Augustana!

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but it is a hit or miss for some people. There is always something different to choose from and they try and change up the menu as much as they can. Each year we get to vote on the different food selections.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is by far a very great one at Augie (Augustana's nickname). There are five residence halls in total, 2 in upper campus and 3 in lower campus. The campus is on a hill so the Augustana body calls it upper and lower campus. But overall, a VERY fun place to live in!

    Academic Rigor

    Augustana will challenge you to be at your best academic level but also help you in every step of the process! Trust me, I was a 3.4 GPA high school student and I find the academic rigor to be just right!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit Augustana! It is located in Rock Island, Illinois so it is about 2.5 hours away from most of the Chicago suburb areas. Choose the college that feels right, were you can see yourself attending for four years, whether it be Augustana or another.

    In three sentences

    Augustana is a wonderful and amazing place with countless opportunities and resources for its student body, faculty, and surrounding community. A place where the Liberal Arts will, by the time graduation rolls around, shape you into a human being with great knowledge in and out of your field. Augustana will fill your heart with joy each day and out and cause you to say, I LOVE Augustana College; as it did for me.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students really, there are plenty of different types of people here with unique personalities to fit anyone's mood.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the college is a bit pricey, there are plenty of ways the college gives back. One night, in the lounge, the college set up a free pancake buffet at 10pm for anyone to come to and eat pancakes!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many groups, clubs, and teams that can do so much to help you stay fit, or social, or whatever you need. There is a musical performance almost every day done by college students or faculty. The performances are very well done and always amaze me.

    Food and Dining

    The food here works on a point system which is good and not so good. As long as you don't pig out every single day the points will last you till the very end. Also, on a few occasions there are buffets that really are delicious that the college sets up.

    Dorm Life

    My first year was so immensely fun, there was never a dull moment to be had. There are all sorts of fantastic people in the dorms. Everyone has a fantastic story to tell and a great joke pull on a friend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes may get tough, but the professors always have office hours and study sessions. Those two things really help put what you learn into a good solid knowledge base.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the college is a bit pricey, everyone goes out of their way to help you enjoy your time here at Augustana, with free stuff, raffles and much more! Scholarships always help bring down the cost of any college.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is a very nice college to see in person. The professors are friendly and always willing to help. The grounds are stunning and the landscape is very hilly and scenic.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot in the Quad Cities to do but I recommend Whitey's!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is being redone so my opinion on this one really doesn't matter.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms I stayed in were amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Before applying here, check out the campus! A lot of the walking is uphill and if you're not into that, you might not want to go here. But since it is a beautiful campus, I'm sure you'll check it out anyways!

    In three sentences

    Augustana has an absolutely beautiful campus. The professors there are kind and willing to help. The classrooms are the perfect size for students looking for a smaller college atmosphere.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard, it'll be the best choice you've ever made.

    Bang for the buck

    Do not be taken aback by the price tag Augustana College shows, over 98% of the student body earn a scholarship.

    Will enjoy being here

    The small college and a community feel helps you make friends easily, and have a strong alumni bond after you graduate.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors are always there to challenge you and guide/ help you at the same time. You will never have a TA, because all the professors are there to actually teach, because they love teaching. Over 90% of the faculty have PhD's in their area.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any and every student should come to visit Augie. With the beautiful scenery to the social clubs Augie has something for everyone. The clubs range from the typical Students against Cancer groups to Martial Arts club.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give any student in general is to STOP procrastination while you can because it's a habit that is hard to break. Also, do not be afraid to try new things in college in terms of social activities. Just be safe with your decisions.

    Bang for the buck

    Augie may look expensive at first; but their financial aid office will work to get applying students a good financial package. Also books are not covered in tuition costs as students will need to have books for new classes every term.

    Am enjoying being here

    Augie is a beautiful campus surrounded by giant trees and Augie's famous black squirrels. Augie is also a campus full of elevation so gaining a freshman 15 isn't easy to do. Not to mention students will meet many students of various backgrounds.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Computer Science major and the class I am in is teaching me new things each class. The professor makes sure that everyone in the class is on the same page by assigning group work during class after lectures. In my experiences the biggest class size I've had has been 20 students. All professors' goal is to see their students succeed.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus and is relatively safe. The campus security is always around and they are quite strict on showing identification to get into the dorms. However some minor things do happen but that should be expected from a college campus i believe

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and their are multiple places to go so you can get what you want. My big problem with food is that freshman and sophmores are required to get a full meal plan. With morning workouts and cutting weight for wrestling I would just rather eat at my own time in my room.

    Dorm Life

    Augustana provides a variety of different dorms that you can choose from some are more expensive than others. Overall I have been quite happy with the dorms. They have remained clean and all of the CA are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have been quite challenging but it is college. I was a little unhappy with some of my classes first term and i thought that my professors could have done a better job explaining the course but over all it seems pretty good.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep track of application process. Watch date when you and high school send it and when they receive it. We came a cross it got lost in the computer system. I asked Admissions to see two deparments and they were not in our Tour. (Speical service department I was told they were not on campus 12/2/2011

    In three sentences

    Dr. Janina Ehrlich, out stand enjoyed to meet her! Augustana camps is very cool. great view look over town. What a show on 12/02/2011.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bingo, Movies, Parties, Recreation Center

    Tips for prospective students

    Try the food before you come because it is not good. Keep an open mind for a major

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is a great academic school to attend. The teachers and professors will work with the students to make their academic careers go successfully so you can graduate in 4 years. Augustana College does its best so students can get the full feel of a college life, but I personally do not think they succeed.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    worth the price of admission

    What to do for fun

    lift and am a cheerleader

    Food and Dining

    pretty decent food, brew by the slew has awesome coffee

    Dorm Life

    great dorms people are nice tlas are awesome

    Academic Rigor

    hard, but well worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    great school, great people, great education.

    In three sentences

    the best school to challenge yourself. great professors that care about you. challenging, yet satisfying that you know more information than what you thought you did.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i generally feel safe on campus. the college offers nightly transportation around campus as well as urges students never to walk alone at night time. there are blue boxes located around campus for emergency situations.

    Greek Life

    we have social and service greek groups on campus. we currently have 7 soroities and 7 fraternities as well as many greek honor service groups. these are only local greek groups though, so they are only recognized on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    augustana has every club imaginable. i have never been bored on campus and i find myself being overly involved because i want to try every group here. it is truly a great experience to have all of these different group opportunities as well as chances to meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    augustana is all about diversity and welcomes many international students to our campus. they offer many special events and opportunities for foreign students. this school is also a huge science school as well as offers a very credible csd program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during homecoming week we have cardboard boat races in our slough. this is when groups all build a boat and pick two members of that group to actaully ride in the boat. this is a hige event on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    this college is a small liberal arts college so it is a bit more pricey than state schools. however, i think that the education i am gaining from this college is worth it. i feel that because it is so small i am learning so much more and am able to have more opportunities for future jobs and internships.

    What to do for fun

    this school offers every student group and extracurricualr that you could imagine. they also say that if we don't have a group or club you want that you can start it up. there are also late night activiites, bingo nights, on campus movies, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good. the college offers many options and is currently in the process of building a new student center and dining area that is set up like a food court. there are also convenient stores and a coffee shop located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    they have many different options for dorm living. when you are in the dorms you become a tight knit community with the people on your floor and the ca's hold many socials and ways for you to meet new people and become comfortable at the new school.

    Academic Rigor

    this school is a lot more difficult than i imagined it would be. with that being said, i also think that this college challenges me and has brought me to new academic standards and abilities. i have learned to become a better writer and well rounded student.

    Tips for prospective students

    when you come to school don't be afraid to try new things! augustana offers so many extracurricular activiites that if you are involved you will find a group of friends that you can relate to. make sure that you time manage and use all of the resourses offered.

    In three sentences

    this college is very personable, scenic, and challenging. i enjoy attending this school because the professors care about us as individuals. i feel that the college offers many opprotunities.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    progressive, strong leaders, driven

    What to do for fun

    the office of student activities caters to a variety of student interests by bringing different forms of entertainment to campus every month. from top rated comedians to the latest movie in theaters, students have a variety of free activities that will always keep you busy.

    Academic Rigor

    augustana has a very strong and focused academic program that many graduate and professional schools recognize.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be shy. try new things and take advantage of all the programs available to you. at augustana you not only have a voice but others want to hear what you have to say including faculty. challenge and reinvent yourself.

    In three sentences

    augustana college offers a multitude of academic and extracurricular opportunities that most students miss out on at larger institutions. with the smaller student body, students are granted more freedom to constantly grow and challenge themselves as well as develop personal relationships with professors. many augustana students will gain both knowledge and life skills that will stay with them in their future endeavors.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are hundreds, but here are just a few: gaming club, anime club, waug radio, bands of all sorts, choirs of all sorts, sports teams, martini swingers (a dance group), and artisans.

    Great for these types of students

    augustana is a medium-sized college so it's great for those who want a small college, but not too small.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year for homecoming, the school has a cardboard boat regatta where clubs and greek groups race on the slough.

    Bang for the buck

    while augustana looks expensive, there are a ton of scholarships and financial aid that can bring the cost down.

    What to do for fun

    there is bingo, clubs, comedians that come, movies, and more. i've also seen some guys just toss a frisbee around on nice days.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not the best, but that doesn't mean it's not good. there are healthy options, and the lunch ladies are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorm buildings on the lower quad are old, but they are historic and the architecture is cool (andreen has high ceiling for those who are interested in lofting their bed). the dorms buildings on upper campus are newer (and one has ac), but you are farther away from the building you will have classes in.

    Academic Rigor

    while some of the work is hard, there are many tutoring sessions, study groups, and you can always ask the teacher for help. it's worth the effort since you get to learn some cool things.

    Tips for prospective students

    shadow a student and sit in his/her classes. you'll get to see how classes really are. also, don't be afraid of asking questions.

    In three sentences

    augustana is a great school! the teachers are intelligent and helpful. there are many different types of clubs and activities so you'll be sure to find something you like.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great and reliable. Emergency phone booths available across campus and phone number for security office available.

    Greek Life

    Unlike most schools, Augustana's sororities and fraternities are not national and are not recognized by other schools (with the exception of a few national service based frats). However, Greek Life is full and thriving, pledging occurs in the spring, and 60% of Augustana students are involved in Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many student based organizations and clubs, and if a student has an interest they are free to start their own club as well. Student organizations based on majors, ethnicity, religion, and just common interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to experience college with a unique perspective on academics and the arts, a perspective that's more than college football and partying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The famous Slough Path, a lovely path along a pond that surrounded by trees and is the most beautiful place on campus during the fall.

    Bang for the buck

    Although a bit pricey, Augustana offers a great deal in helping out financially and has numerous scholarships available. The cost of attending comes out to be about the same after scholarships and financial help is applied as a state university.

    What to do for fun

    Student clubs, club sports, recreational sports, free movies and social events on campus

    Food and Dining

    2 cafeterias (one on upper campus one on lower campus), which provide great meals and variety throughout the week.

    Dorm Life

    Five dorm buildings total, all ranging from a typical 2-person dorm to a 3-person style suite. Provided with air conditioning and heat, showers as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent academic classes available, along with plenty of honors and advanced placement courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind, and don't be afraid to try new things.

    In three sentences

    A small, privet, liberal arts college with a variety of interesting classes that both challenge and excite the mind. Various programs and majors are available, as well as one of the top education programs around. Small campus that's perfect walking distance and numerous clubs and extracurricular activities to get involved in.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus itself, the security is good, just don't go off campus by yourself at night. There is an escort service that will drive you wherever you need to go every evening.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of any, but there is a relatively extensive Greek life, although there are no frat/sorority houses on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many extracurricular options, and if one doesn't exist, all you have to do is get a group of 5-10 people who are interested and you can create a group.

    Great for these types of students

    Organized, proactive, eccentric. Good for both students who know what they want to do, but experience other types of classes, and for those who don't know what they want to do with their lives. It is a good place to discover who you really are.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very expensive school, but I would choose it over again. The interactions with faculty and the relationships formed here make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I exercise at the two facilities the campus offers, including swimming, running and weight lifting. I love to listen to music. I also like to have intellectual conversations over dinner with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I do not use the dining facilities, but from what I have had, it is pretty good. The food varies day by day. It's not too expensive either.

    Dorm Life

    Quality dorm rooms of many types, depending on personality. There is the formal and segregated and the laid back and centrally located. Good matching process for roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are presented in a similar way to high school: through multimedia lectures with powerpoint, handouts, and the like. The upper level classes can be taxing and rigorous, but I have yet to take a class I did not like. Unlike other schools, this one runs on trimesters, so each class that would normally fill 16 weeks elsewhere is condensed to 10 weeks, so be prepared for fast paced learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive: plan out classes, internships, research, extracurriculars ahead of time so you don't miss opportunities. Establish good impressions and relationships with faculty, for it will make your experience richer and they will be writing your letters of recommendation. If you are struggling, get help; it's easy to find.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful school with great opportunities for learning. The faculty is very kind, helpful and encourage communication. This school has definitely prepared me for life and for medical school.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs, on campus activities, school sponsored events. Plus the mall is nearby and you live in the quad cities. What's not to love?

    Food and Dining

    Not always the best choices, but there's definitely something for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Comfortable. I don't know anyone who complains.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a top notch school, with the best teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for classes, attend every class that you can! It matters!

    In three sentences

    Augustana offers plenty of close-knit, tight community opportunities to get used to the campus. You can have smaller classes and get to know your professors, in case you have a problem, they'll know your name. Augustana is the perfect school for those who want a good education.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a million clubs, even for things you would never think of. There's something for everybody here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Rock Island and the surrounding areas offer so many things to do. I'm from around here so I know where everything is but if you're not, once you get out there and explore you'll realize how wonderful it is. Plus there is always stuff happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food, I'm not a big fan. The coffee shop is great though.

    Dorm Life

    It gets loud and irritating living in a building with a bunch of other students but you become your own community.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are tough but they get you to work harder and excel in whatever subjects you are passionate about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus, but get to know your way around the library, it will save your life. Make sure you fill out your room-mate sheet honestly, and if you don't get along, follow through with the room-mate change option given at the beginning of the year.

    In three sentences

    Augustana has a very friendly, close-knit student body. Professors work hard with students individually as well as in the classroom to help facilitate success. This is a locally prestigious private college that I believe will help me begin a better career than if I had just gone to a community college.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I love how safe this campus is. If you're walking back late at night alone and you're scared you can call ACES, which is our on campus taxi. They'll pick you up anywhere on campus and drive you where you need. There's also large security spots set up all over campus so if you ever feel that you are in danger you can head over to one of them and press the button for help.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge at Augustana! It's such a fun way to get involved and meet tons of new people. But don't worry if you're not interested in greek life because there still are plenty of kids that decide not to go greek so you definitely won't feel left out!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens and dozens of clubs and activities on campus. You can pretty much find a club for anything. If you can't, but you're interested in starting one, all you have to do is get a group of your friends together and meet with someone in charge at the school to talk about your club.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for students that are willing to work hard and earn their grades. Also for students that like to have lots of fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of people like to hangout in the college center on in the lower quad.

    Bang for the buck

    This school definitely is a little more costly than most other universities but my experience here has been worth every penny. You will make great memories here and it's a beautiful campus.

    What to do for fun

    Most people just hang out with their friends on the weekends, but there is a large variety of things to do for fun. You can take a walk on the slough path, hang out in the lower quad, sit in the brew with your friends, or take a 10 minute road trip to any of the quad cities for fun things to do off campus.

    Food and Dining

    Some nights are better than others, but the salad bar is always a delicious option.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are much bigger than most school, and they're pretty nice considering it's a small private school. The only downfall is that the floors are tile, but it's easy to fix by purchasing a large rug for your room.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very tough but it's definitely worth it because you will come out of college being well prepared for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a fantastic school but it's definitely not somewhere you can slack off. If you're willing to work for your grades the outcome is greater than anything. Professors here are willing to help you at any times so you can make the most out of your education.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful campus with very knowledgeable professors. The staff at this school is willing to help you in any way possible, they want to see you succeed. I highly recommend this school to any prospective students.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Augustana work hard to keep its students safe, but there are always risks and people out there who are going to try and do something. We have break-ins in TLA while on vacation, but the robbers are almost always caught. No matter where someone attends school, I believe there's always going to be a chance of danger.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's loads of clubs and entertainment opportunists that go on. One is never bored at Augie.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a close knit environment and who desire one on one time with professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Slue Path is pretty scary to walk at night-though nothing has ever happened on it. It's were we have the cardboard regatta where different groups make boats out of cardboard and try to win races-most of the time, they sink.

    Bang for the buck

    This is difficult to weigh since my family is below middle class and we struggle to pay the tuition--which is a lot. However, my family struggles each term to pay the bills because we know what Augustana can offer me and because I love it so much. Even if it's my last dollar, I'll always give it to Augie in order to keep attending and enjoying the amazing educational system they have there.

    What to do for fun

    There's loads of things to do at Augie. There's a vast amount of clubs and groups that mean throughout the week and Augie is always trying to bring entertainment since we're a big part of the community. The mini movie theater that gets the movies just out of theaters and the Easter egg hunts at seven in the morning are my favorites.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard mixed reviews about Augie's food choices, but I personally love it. However, like most private schools, the meals are a little pricey. It's a good idea to check your meal points at least once a week.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm hall has those crazy wackos who don't go to sleep until three o'clock in the morning, but because Augie doesn't have a huge enrollment, mostly the dorms are peaceful--and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Augustana is tough academically, don't get me wrong, but eh professors there want to make sure you'll succeed. As long as you try, you wont go astray.

    Tips for prospective students

    A car is unnecessary here, but the kills and stairs throughout the campus are a good way to lose those extra few pounds. Don't slack off during class, because these professors care about you and your future--they wont just let you fall to the wayside.

    In three sentences

    To me, Augustana is unmatched. Between the professors who devote their time to making sure you learn, the beautiful campus, the friendly staff, and the warm student peers there's no where better to go. I'm already dreading my future graduation, because I know I wont find another place like it.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to cook your own meals because the food is terrible.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is good for somebody who wants small class sizes, and the 17:1 student-faculty ratio makes it easy to get to know your professors. The college is good at making students feel like an individual rather than a number, which is great. Finally, it offers students a well rounded liberal arts education.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security does their best to make sure the students are safe and secure. There are e-mails and reports about accidents and crimes that occur on and off campus.

    Greek Life

    Is great! You can become a part of something profound and life changing! Greek life is extremely beneficial in regards to networking and establishing prospective jobs after college. It allows you to complete volunteer work and get involved with the community. Additionally, you will make lifelong friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous amounts of clubs and you can even make your own club. Additionally, there is a wide variety of intramural sports and varsity teams as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, intellectuals, originators, goal-oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bell Tower, the slough, the lower quad.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I would love to stay at Augustana for as long as possible. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at this college and I have made long lasting network connections. The people here are kind and courteous and because of that I have felt welcomed and comfortable here.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs and athletic teams on campus. Explore the quad cities and go for a bike ride along the Mississippi River. Go downtown and enjoy a nice lunch.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining needs to expand and include foods suiting for vegans and vegetarians. Also, the hours are rather restrictive and limited.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is suiting to some, but not for all. Depending on where you reside and who you live with will be a crucial determining factor for your academic successes.

    Academic Rigor

    This college's academic programs are challenging and difficult; however they are very interesting and beneficial. The courses will properly prepare you for graduate and medical school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be prepared to have hard work ethics. Typically the courses require the students to study for sufficient amounts of hours outside of the classroom. However, the classes are interesting and the professors are great.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College has become my home away from home. It is an outstanding and prestigious college. The small atmosphere allows for the students to become acquainted with one another and develop strong bonds with peers and professors.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The Office of Public Safety provides vehicle jump starts & lock-out service for free, and residence hall lock-outs for $5. They are also very kind people.

    Greek Life

    The Greek community at Augie receives friendship, fellowship, and academic support. The sororities and fraternities are unique.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are varsity and intramural sports, religious clubs, martial arts, LGBTQ club, cheer leading, and even a Dance Dance Revolution club!

    Great for these types of students

    Augie (nickname for Augustana) is great for students who love to meet new people, have fun, and challenge themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's transportation provided once a month by the Multicultural Programming Board (MPB) that take you places in the Quad Cities. i.e. the mall, movies, Target, Walmart, etc. Also, they provide special events.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana's expenses are WAY too high for what its worth!

    What to do for fun

    Every week, the Office of Student Activities (OSA) has fun activities/things to do on campus. There are comedy shows, movies, games, and other special events. Also, fraternity parties are thrown on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't really that good, but on certain days it can be great! There are stores in the residence halls, but boy are they costly!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are big enough to feel comfortable in. There are lounges (with a sink and stove) and laundry rooms on each floor. Depending on what residence hall you live in, there could be air conditioning! There is also heat.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said before, the classes are VERY challenging! In some classes, you may have tons of homework, but in another you may have homework every other week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to meet lost of new people, take challenging courses, and get involved in many activities.

    In three sentences

    Augustana offers a challenging education and has heavy student-faculty interaction. It is a small college, yet diverse. Christian faith is also practiced at Augustana.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE!!!! Just a few days ago there was a gas leak and they had sirens going and the text system alerted everyone when they had updates. Also if something happens on campus they notify us through our Augie email. I really like how much they watch out for us.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many. If you live on campus it would be really easy to be involved in several.

    Great for these types of students

    There are some people that are preppy and a bit snotty. There are also some nice people that are very relaxed a chill.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The slough. It's a long pond on campus that people walk by.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it is really worth it. Awesome teachers, new friends, and a lot better than I expected. You are a known student not a random person in a large class.

    What to do for fun

    They have friday events, movie events, lots of clubs to join, and other fun activities. I haven't gotten to go to my first homecoming but it sounds pretty cool. Also walking around is great.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad but you should probably get the meal plan. It isn't too expensive. The food is pretty good and always a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but I do spend a lot of time in Swanson with my friends. It's really nice and the only complaint I've heard is about no air conditioning and being unable to play PS3 online.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty difficult. We have trimesters so only 10 weeks in our classes. Weeks 1-4 go by quickly without a lot of hw and now we are getting into more homework. Really nice that we have this because then we aren't stuck in a class for a really long time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to do your best on the ACT's or SAT's! It will help with scholarship money. Not all dorms have air conditioning. And get your books early, especially if you have a new language, and look through the books.

    In three sentences

    It is a really nice school. There are a lot of perks such as, movies, always seems to be an event, free admission into games, small classes, and much more. I am very glad that I decided to come here.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    If you're looking for a good greek life, don't come here. Most of our greek groups aren't national.

    What to do for fun

    They screen many movies and there are fun coffee shops to go to. If you go across the river into Davenport, it's more fun.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much to choose from, and some nights nothing looks appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    I've loved both of my dorms so far.

    Academic Rigor

    I thought college would be harder than it actually is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look into the department you want to apply for in depth before applying. Talk to the professors and sit in on a class.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great. The school is beautiful. The food is gross.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part, Augie is pretty safe. Like every campus, there's the occasional crime or vandalism, but nothing that really puts us on the map as a dangerous school. The Rock Island area is shady in some parts, but I don't really feel unsafe walking around campus. It never hurts to carry pepper spray though, and that goes for every college!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is big, but only if you're involved with it. There's a service Greek group as well as music ones, and the rest are social. The majority party on Wednesday and the weekends, but it's really easy to stay out of if you don't want to be involved. You're really not judged if you're not going Greek! :)

    Clubs and Activities

    You want a club we don't have? Then make it! It's really that easy, and chances are that there are others on campus that want the same thing. Our music groups are fantastic, and there's plenty of political/social/major-related groups for you to join!

    Great for these types of students

    If you love a smaller school, including small class sizes and professors you really get to know, Augie's your place! Most students here did pretty well in high school, like at least top 20% of their class as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During homecoming week, we have a cardboard regatta. Different clubs and groups make boats out of cardboard and duct tape, then race them down the slough, which is this big (and pretty gross) pond we have on campus. There's also the bell tower rumor, which states that if you kiss your significant other underneath it, you'll get married.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana is a private school. Private school = expensive. Personally, I got a super huge financial aid package compared to every one of my friends, but I still struggle to pay tuition. It's worth the money, but just be prepared to pay quite a bit unless your family makes next to nothing like mine does.

    What to do for fun

    There's always a sporting event, club meeting, or performance to go to! The Quad Cities area is full of great things to do, and the public transportation system is amazing. Just show your ID and you ride for free! The buses take you to your regular stores that you'd have at home, as well as a mall and the District. Definitely worth checking out!

    Food and Dining

    Augie food is, well...Augie food. It's really hit or miss, but I like more food than I dislike, and by a large margin too. Westerlin and the College Center are the main locations, but we also have a Freshens smoothie place, a Snack Shack, two convenience stores, and a coffee shop all on campus!

    Dorm Life

    My community adviser is the sweetest girl in the entire world, and really looks out for everyone! Dorms are co-ed, but each floor is a different sex. Every dorm plans fun social events and just have a ton of fun together!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are a yawn, others are really challenging! Around 90% of the faculty have a PhD or the highest degree in their field, so they definitely know what they're talking about. Like every college, be prepared to spend a lot of time on homework!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit or come for an overnight! It really makes your application stand out to admissions and helps you see if this is the right fit for you. Also, never hesitate to email professors or any faculty member here, really, about any questions you have. Most of them respond by the next day!

    In three sentences

    Augustana (or Augie, as many of us call it) is a private liberal arts school, and perfect if you're looking for a smaller school! The campus is absolutely gorgeous, and there's a lot of construction going on right now so soon it'll be even better! This school is like a really well-kept secret.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are both Greek and non-Greek parties on campus, and plenty of little shops such as antique stores, coffee shops, and restaurants to keep the average student occupied. Transportation to places further away is slow unless you own a car, at least for a big city girl like myself.

    Food and Dining

    There is much to be desired in the food choices here. It is hard eating healthy when over half the items in the food line are breaded. I would like to see more greens, and for a fair price too.

    Dorm Life

    I personally loved Andreen Hall because although the rooms were tinier, the hall had a more homey feel to it and the staff and srudents were nice. No alcohol is allowed in the residence halls, but once you are a junior (and 21), the TLA buildings allow alcohol. Most people are considerate and keep the noise to a minimum, and if they are being too loud and you ask them nicely to keep it down they will comply.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of work you get depends largely on your major. I am a double major, so I have a heavier work load. Homework and studying for tests is not something you can put off until the last minute. It will show in your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Augustana is the place for you if you plan on going into business or med school, or want to become a nurse. It is preferred that you have an ACT score of 25-28 and generally get A's in you high school, although B's are fine as well.

    In three sentences

    Augustana has a beautiful campus an many resources available to students looking for jobs, internships, or research assistance. The school has excellent programs for business and pre-med students. The financial aid office is understanding of special circumstances and tries to help.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 48

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Recently visited campus, I loved the hospitality and attention received at the scholarship competition despite the overwhelming amount of students.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're totally awesome, and extremely serious about their jobs. They're always willing to help, and they're usually out patrolling all night. I walk home from club meetings alone at dark all the time, but I feel comfortable while doing so because of the safety guys.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to count. Of course my favorite activity would have to be when one of the student organizations put on the weekly movie in the Olin Auditorium. Usually its a movie that hasn't even come out on DVD yet.

    What to do for fun

    Where to start! The bus service, if you show them your student ID, will take you anywhere in the Quad Cities for free! That's a VIP access to countless amount of restaurants, bowling alleys, museums, parks, and other attractions! Not to mention the fact that we're only like two minutes away from the Mississippi River.

    Food and Dining

    Believe it or not, the food here is pretty darn good. There are plenty of choices, and you don't have to eat at the cafeterias. There are so many restaurants around the area! And a great many deliver! There is no lack of variety, that's for sure.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't matter which dorm you get into, you'll make friends definitely! The individual floors get kind of close throughout the school year, and unless you get paired with a horrible roommate (or roommates) you'll get to be friends with them, too. Dorm Life here isn't all that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard, others are not. It just depends on what professor you get really.... I'd advise to go on ratemyprofessor.com for details on that subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! -Doesn't matter if the class is hard or not. It comes in handy for those pesky quizzes, midterms, and especially the finals. Bring a good pair of walking shoes! -There are stairs and hills everywhere. You will be getting some exercise in, that's for sure. Ask for help! -Don't be shy or whatever. The professors will make sure to help you until you get it. Not to mention there are several tutoring sessions and whatnot for students....(that are free!)

    In three sentences

    Augustana College has a beautiful campus filled with not only a diverse wildlife, but people as well. The professors/staff are willing to help with whatever you need. There is so much to do here, whether it be on or off campus, that you will never have a lack of something to do.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security always has your back!

    Greek Life

    Augie Greek life is unique in that Sororities and Fraternities are not national, but they are still deep in tradition!

    Clubs and Activities

    Division 3 athletics provide an equal balance of commitment and fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in standing out in a small community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Home of the first Panty Raid

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is climbing, but it's worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on in the Quad Cities!

    Food and Dining

    The brand new Center for Student Life is set to open in August of 2013

    Dorm Life

    The dorms may be old, but this college town sure knows how to have a good time!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but rewarding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit as many schools as possible, and weigh your options. Some students are perfect fits for small colleges, while others may thrive on a larger campus!

    In three sentences

    The Quad Cities is the perfect home for this liberal arts college. The small school has a big campus feel, as it is spread out over 115 acres in the hilly Mississippi River valley. Augie has become my home away from home!

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Augustana has 7 sororities and 7 fraternities. All are local chapters, but that does not take away from the fact they act like many national sororities and fraternities. Greek life at Augustanan focuses on social events, philanthropy, leadership building, and greek unity.

    Great for these types of students

    A great place for students who do not want to attend a big school due to the amount of people. Augustana has a small student to professor ratio, so students receive a lot of attention from professors, not TA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a variety of events during homecoming that the majority of students on campus enjoy. We have various competitions for all the groups on campus. These competitions include sing, yell, rope pull, phig making, and the cardboard boat race.

    What to do for fun

    Augustana has something to do for students basically every evening and throughout the day. Most notably, students on campus enjoy our infamous bingo nights, free movies nights, homecoming rallies, and basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Augustana is not what you would call four star quality food, but they opening a new cafeteria in the 2013-2014 school year which promises to be much tastier.

    Dorm Life

    Augustana is an older school, so the majority of the dorms are on the older side, but the atmosphere created is great! All students are required to stay in dorm for two years and then they are allowed to move out. This creates a sense of community among the classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Augustana is on a trimester system. This means that we have 3 semesters. We take a maximum of 4 classes for 10 weeks, 3 times a year.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is a small, liberal arts college in Rock Island, Illinois. It has a medium sized population of about 2,500 students. Augustana is notably committed to helping its students reach both academic goal and personal goals.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to do well and are willing to put in the time and effort. Time managment in big on this campus. Also, students that want a great relationship with their teachers.

    Food and Dining

    The food that was served to students on campus seemed great. Although I didn't have a chance to eat in the cafe to get a feel of what the food is really like.

    Dorm Life

    On the visit I was able to see two dorms. One was good sized and looked great, while the other was tiny and not in the best of conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I learned on my vist, the courses are challenging. Since Augustana is a Tri-mester school you have a fast paced environment and have a good amount of studying to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the application due dates and make sure you get the needed materials in on time. Visit campus to get a feel of the college to see if this college fits you well.

    In three sentences

    This is my number one school and the campus visit confirmed that. The students and staff share close relationships and are very friendly. The campus is just to die for!

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    42 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A surprising amount of clubs and activities for a smaller campus. You'll find everything from a quidditch team to fair trade club to interfaith meetings. There's a great variety, and the members of the groups are welcoming and passionate.

    What to do for fun

    The Quad Cities don't have a lot to offer you unless you have a car and can get off campus. But there are a few fun antique shops and coffee places near campus, and even grocery trips to the Hyvee can seem like an adventure when you go with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food was edible. But the campus made major changes in dining services and I am expecting better things in 2013.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. There's a great community atmosphere and lots of dorm sponsored events.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but not impossible. Do the assignments and readings and you will do just fine. But really, do the assignments. Your professors can tell when you haven't done the work, and a lot of time in class is spent in discussion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak up in your classes, and study. Professors will notice that you care, and they will want to help you get a better grade!

    In three sentences

    It's an expensive private school, but you will find that most of the faculty actually genuinely care about seeing you do well. It's large enough to not bore you, yet small enough to have a great community. If you don't get good scholarships, however, it's not worth the price tag.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 48

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's many intramural sports you can play like kickball, capture the flag, and flag football. There are many clubs that fit any of your interests. The big thing here is to just get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are studying some sort of science like chemistry or medicine then Augustana is the school for you. The professors are really knowledgeable and they help you whenever you need it. The best tip for incoming students is to just believe in yourself.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is a great liberal arts school. The college has state-of-the-art equipment and laboratories great for students pursuing a career in the medical field. The campus is small so everyone pretty much knows each other.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Violence is around, but not very common. We have patrols and phone numbers to call if we ever need help and there is a free service called ACES that will pick students up and drive them around campus at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is prominent on our campus, rush isn't until spring but many students participate in Greek life before that. They participate in many of the homecoming events including rope pull, yell (stomp routines), and sing (take popular songs and rewrite the lyrics to Augustana themes).

    Clubs and Activities

    See what to do for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to feel like they are at home on their campus should come to Augustana and who wants a well rounded education. We are a liberal arts college, so we take classes in all subject areas, not just ones that apply to our major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are known for being the home of the first panty raid. We have a homecoming regatta where student groups create boats out of cardboard and sail them through the slough. Our president's last name is Bahls.

    Bang for the buck

    On paper Augie looks expensive, but they give out many scholarships and make coming here affordable. The teachers love their jobs and are willing to help students out. This isn't like a traditional state university where you go to class and never see your teacher, each teacher knows you by name and you will often see them walking around the campus and are willing to stop for a quick chat with you.

    What to do for fun

    EVERYTHING! Even though we are small we have just about anything you could want to do. On campus we have varsity, club, and intramural sports of all kinds along with many bands, choirs, and theater productions. There are clubs that range from DDR to College Republicans to Equestrian to YoungLife. There is something for you to do or get involved in here. And when you don't have a meeting you can sit on our gorgeous campus, take a walk along the slough (a lake on campus), sit in the library, or just go and hang out in your residence hall. There is always someone around that you can talk to.

    Food and Dining

    We got a new, one-of-a-kind Center for Student Life that houses our food, library, and study areas all in one place. We have a Starbucks coffee shop that is known as The Brew and our dining is all you can eat every time you swipe in. The downside is that we have to use a meal every time we enter, so it is not easy to just go to hang out with friends and we don't get a refund on meals that we don't use for the week (most students have a 15 meal-per-week plan and I haven't heard of anyone who runs out).

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in all of our dorms and there is not wifi in all of the freshman dorms. What we lack in comfort we make up in community though. I often find myself staying up to the late hours of the night visiting with floormates in the common areas and hanging out together.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a blow off school. You will have homework, papers, and projects, but you can get it all done and still have a life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to keep up with everything that you are doing. Using an agenda or filling everything out on a calendar are not nerdy things, they are practical. Do what you want to do, but don't forget that you are here to learn also.

    In three sentences

    At Augustana I found a home. This is not my home away from home, it is home. Everyone here is kind to one another, we say hi when we pass each other, and we sit in large groups when we eat (sometimes combining many tables to fit the group).

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has recently been increased campus police enforcement so students are more safe than ever at Augustana. There is also a car service called ACES that students can call when it gets dark that will transport them to their living space, as well as emergency buttons around campus to ensure student safety after it gets dark

    Greek Life

    There are no national sororities or fraternities on campus, but about 1/3 of the students on campus are affiliated with a Greek sorority or fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are more than 60 student led clubs and organizations at this school, as well as Greek life, student athletic teams, and intramural sports.

    What to do for fun

    At least three times a week there are **FREE** options for activities such as movies (sometimes they are even still in theaters!), classes such as zumba or swing dancing, and admission into home athletic events. Other free events that happen every so often are bingo, greek life events where food is provided, and the various clubs that meet once or biweekly are always open for a student to attend. There are also free travel options with the presentation of your school ID on the metro that will take you to various locations on the Illinois side of the Mississippee

    Food and Dining

    There are so many food option this year that will accommodate special diets such as gluten or nut allergies, lactose intolerance, and vegetarian, vegan, and food sensitive options. Food service staff is very helpful and is willing to make accommodations for your specific case or need. The new CSL dining provides Asian cuisine, comfort foods, an Italian pizzeria, a sandwich station, a breakfast bar, specialty foods section, and a salad/fruit bar.

    Dorm Life

    There are several residence halls to which one may be placed in. There are several smaller residence halls for those who want a closer experience with their hall members called Seminary and Andreen, a medium sized option for those who want privacy but the opportunity to know most if not all the people on the floor called Erickson (which houses those who suffer from allergies and asthma), and a large dorm hall where one will never feel twinges of loneliness and can get to know a large amount of people named Westerlin. Swanson is a fifth and separate option that costs an additional amount; the difference in Swanson hall is they are set up suite style and there is air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    At Augustana the classes are tough, but doable if you attend all your classes and study. Just as at any institution, there are easy introduction classes and there are difficult courses. It is all about the work, sleep, and time you put in to school that makes or breaks your GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard Find a balance between friends, school, and extra curricular activities Find a schedule that works and stick with it as best as you can Don't close yourself off to one friend group - expand your horizons and get to know people you wouldn't expect you would get along with.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College contains very close-knit, diverse following of students. It has a beautiful, welcoming campus that reflects the faculty and students to a tee. While it is a small school, one never feels like they are alone; if you find value in being valued as a person, not a number in a classroom or a residence hall - this is the institution for you.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In terms of academics yes. In terms of student life no.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, a lot of people party. If I had known what a party school it was, I never would have come. The OSL also puts on a lot of shows and special events, and there are a lot of clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Standard college food. Has improved a bit since we got the new CSL, but if you have a restricted diet your options are very limited.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you're living and who you're living with. Last year the girls on my floor were all partyers and loud late into the night which made it difficult to study. Be sure to be as honest as possible on your housing survey or you may get stuck with someone you don't like.

    Academic Rigor

    I was in the Honors program, so it was harder for me than normal. But you do get what you pay for, and the professors are very invested in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends early on. After Orientation weekend, it is very difficult to. Everyone here is very friendly, including the professors, so be friendly back. Don't be intimidated by the professors, go in and ask for help if you don't understand something and they will be more than happy to explain. Above all, be yourself and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is for those looking for a small college atmosphere. The campus is very contained, so much so that it is often referred to as The Augie Bubble. If you want a small liberal arts education, you will definitely get it here.

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always around, you can always see the cars driving through parts of campus. Although because of the location, some townies occasionally stir up some trouble.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is local, so the sororities and fraternities aren't known worldwide and are technically made up. They form a close bond with each other and are an amazing support system.

    Clubs and Activities

    Day one, freshman receive so many club invites and opportunities its almost overwhelming. The intramural sports are very popular and fun, giving everyone a chance to be athletic.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all kinds of students, whether its the social-butterflies or bookworms, there is a niche for everyone here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pond/creek sort of body of water that runs through part of campus, and in the fall during homecoming week there is a contest involving cardboard boats and whoever can float the longest. The slough (the name of the pond) is also very algae filled, making it very humorous when the boats break.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Augustana is very pricey, the overall experience is amazing. The lasting friendships, the amazing facilities, the impressive professors, its all worth it. Not to mention the beautiful campus.

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life is very popular, bingo is a huge social event, they show movies in the auditoriums frequently, there's talent shows, speakers, small concerts with decent musicians, and many outdoor picnics in the warm weather.

    Food and Dining

    The CSL has many options, start out great but eventually you get sick of them.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the dorm, but the Westerlin dorm in itself is very social and the floors often become very close. A good way to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult and fast paced course-work, even more fast-paced because of the trimesters instead of semesters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn to multi-task, focus on getting good grades the first semester then gradually taking steps towards more difficult classes.

    In three sentences

    Augustana is a liberal arts school with a prestigious academic background. The classes are small, focusing on one-on-one contact with professors. Augustana encourages a well-rounded academic experience.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 48

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a pretty safe campus I always see security walking or driving around especially on the nice days out. And most of the officers are extremely friendly and cool to talk to you so you shouldn't have any problems with campus safety they'll always help you out.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good on serving a wide variety of food however it can be better as for food around town don't expect too much but there is McDonald's, chipotle, and other fast food's nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are amazing a.k.a. Swanson, but many of them are average also TLA's are very fun to have if you're living with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Because Augustana college has trimesters instead of semesters you might find yourself trying to jam a lot of coursework within 10 weeks versus a more laid-back schedule at semester school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seriously consider your environment when you are here you better like it. You're spending a lot of stressful condensed fast-paced time, work, and effort here at Augustana so make sure that you will truly enjoy it for four years.