Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Augustana College - South Dakota Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/20/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious students, students looking for a challenge, residents of South Dakota with friends at Augustana, students with interest in the Arts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, visit campus at least once, write a good, strong essay, do well in school, be active in a few activities, be in college-prep classes, have good grades, do well on the ACT.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana, like all private schools, seems to be pretty spendy. It appears that there are plenty of scholarships for the over-achieving students.

    Will enjoy being here

    From what I have observed from visiting campus, students appear to group together, especially with people they've known from high school. However, the campus and building seem to be in very good condition.

    Will learn a lot

    The professors at Augustana seem to be very nice and caring about the students.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want a rigorous academic work load. Augustana College is serious about academic achievement. This school is also great for students that want to be in an active community. If you are not willing to participate and have fun with the students around you, this is not the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Over night visits during the fall can be great fun. Due to the pure number of events on campus you are sure to enjoy your stay. Also, talk to you admissions representative. Our representatives are known for calling and checking in. Spend a little time chatting. They are a great resource.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana College is one of the most inexpensive private, liberal art schools in the country. They strive to make the school affordable for each an every student. Additional expenses such as parking are a hidden bargain. Also, remember, cost of living in Sioux Falls is very reasonable. Think of down the road when you want to live off campus-reason rent is always available in Sioux Falls.

    Am enjoying being here

    Augustana has a strong sense of community. The freshman dorms allow for a strong sense of unity among classes. There is never a dull moment on campus. The student groups host an event almost every night.

    Am learning a lot

    Each professor strives to utilize text, lecture, and assignments to ensure each student truly dives into the subject matter. What truly sets Augustana College above and beyond on this level is the attention to the ideas that unite the disciplines. I enjoy the moments when the ideas in one class begin to connect with my other classes.

  • 01/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students seeking a challenge academically and students who would like to travel and see the world and still graduate in four years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that Augustana expects a lot out of their students and it is a lot of work but you can have fun at the same time. Don't isolate yourself from the community because you won't create relationships that will help you when you feel over worked or home sick or whatever else might come your way.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana has its bang for the buck. Everything that ague has is well worth what you pay. This college is amazing in everyday.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community is great and It feels like a family, which is nice because I am so far from home. The campus is small and beautiful and i really love everything about it.

    Am learning a lot

    I am for sure, learning alot. Augustana is challenging, always keeping me on my toes. I never feel like I am learning stuff I already know. I am always learning new things everyday.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves getting to know new people, having fun, and being active should definitely come to Augustana.

    Bang for the buck

    School always has something going on weather its a comedian they have brought in, a basketball or football game, or activities by on campus groups. There is no reason to be board.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here at Augie, it is my home away from home and I live in Sioux Falls.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The coursework is difficult, so you need to be organized and have good study habits. Augustana also has a really good athletic department, as well as very strong Education major/Special Education major programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your Professors names, and where their office is as soon as you can. Each professor has office hours during which their students can stop by and address any difficulties. Take advantage of that offering, because it is really helpful. Also, ask about tutoring services if you need help, as there are tutors for pretty much every subject available at Augie.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a bit spendy, but I feel that since the staff and professors that are employed by Augustana are so willing to meet with you and go through anything that is confusing or difficult, that it is worth the money. I looked into transferring to a public college that was going to cost roughly the same amount per year, but decided against transferring once I realized how little their admission office's staff seemed to care about incoming students. Augustana Staff members go above and beyond when anyone has a question.

    Am enjoying being here

    Many of the people I come into contact with at Augustana are very easy going, and I really like the social scene that Sioux Falls provides. Augustana provides lots of activities hosted by UBG, Union Board of Governors, such as dances, movies in the Back Alley, Coffeehouse events, bowling nights and other similar events.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses I've taken at Augustana have been very challenging, but by being organized and on top of the coursework, I have been able to explore my interests during a tough semester full of new information to process.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If it weren't for the several clubs i'm involved in, my life here would be very dull I believe.

    Great for these types of students

    I find it to be the best school for anyone interested in the fine arts, but there are a lot of science majors here as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual thing is that they have an interim semester strictly in the month of January. Here every student is allowed one course to take over one month, cramming an entire semester's worth of one class into a month. However, this class is free to take and recommended to do so as no other college will offer a free course. If you opt out of doing interim, or J-term, you can instead stay home for a month and just have a month vacation from school.

    Tips for prospective students

    It feels a bit overwhelming at first, but once you are used to the transition from high school to college, it is a great place to be because you will always feel welcomed by students and teachers alike.

    In three sentences

    It has a great theatre program. It has a great sense of community. I am certain this is the place for me.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    augustana is a very safe campus. there are always campus safety officers on duty and they are often seen driving around campus making sure everything is safe. there are also emergency poles around campus that can be used. although the campus is well lighted at night, a student may feel unsafe walking to their dorm at night. in this case, they can call the campus safety desk and be given a ride to their dorm. each dorm also practices fire drill in case of a real emergency. also, all of the dorm are locked 24/7, so an augustana i.d. card is needed to enter a place of residence. augustana is a very safe place to live.

    Greek Life

    there are no greek houses at augustana.

    Clubs and Activities

    augustana is full of different clubs and there are always activities going on around campus. for science majors, there is the biology club, pre-med club, and many others. there is a deaf-awareness club that promotes deaf culture. there are also outdoors clubs, such as, rock climbing club, biking club, and the hunting club. you can also be involved in the school news paper, the school radio programs, and ubg (union board of governors) which plans and brings different events to augustana.

    Great for these types of students

    augustana is great for students who love school and are passionate about learning. school is tough, but the great education you receive is worth it long nights of studying. also, augustana is great for students who are looking to play collegiate sports, but who also want to focus on their education. augustana is very competitive in all of our sports, but most coaches say that homework comes first. this way, you get to play a sport you love, plus get a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    most campuses have at least one unique spot to hang out, and augustana is no different. augustana's back alley is often the place to be on the weekends. the back alley used to be a bowling alley, but now there are comfy chairs and couches for studying. on the weekends, there are singers and comedians that come to preform. the back alley is also where our dances are held. there are also pool tables, and a bar where food and water is served during events. augustana has lots of other cool places to hang out too, so come for a visit!

    Bang for the buck

    augustana is very expensive, but they offer plenty of scholarships and grants to help with the cost. in the long run, spending the money to get a well rounded education is money well spent. also, there are lots of other scholarships through websites you can apply for.

    What to do for fun

    about 72% of students at augustana participate in intramural sports. also, there are 8 men and 8 women division ii collegiate sports, so there are lots of sporting events to attend. augustana is also home to the ubg, or the union board of govenors. ubg plans dances, concerts, volunteer opportunities, and many other events throughtout the year. augustana always has lots of fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    there are many options at the augustana dinning facility. there is always a main line with a full meal prepared. there is a pizza line, and also a cook's choice line. there is a line for wraps, sandwiches, and for the grill. there is also a stir-fry line with different meats, noodles, and veggies. there is a salad bar, and also two soups of the day! augustana also has many choices for desserts. a new ice cream machine was put in this year. you can make all kinds of blizzard-like ice cream mixtures. also, there are always cookies, brownies, cupcakes, pudding, and a wide variety of other deserts. there are many choices every day at the augustana cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    i love living in the dorms! before you are assigned a roommate, augustana has you fill out a survey based on your cleaning habits, sleeping habits, and personal interests. that way, they can place you with a roommate you are really compatible with. there is always so much to do in the dorms! all of the pa's for each floor plan floor events in which the floor gets together and has fun, either watching movies, making crafts, or eating some pizza. also, many of the activities put on by the school, especially at the beginning of the year, are focused toward freshmen. many of the activities are held in the freshman dorms and are focused on meeting new people. dorm life is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    classes at augustana are not for those who want to slack off and slide by in college. the classes are taught in a manner that is understandable and all of the professors are excellent at what they do. classes at augustana are not impossible, but you have to do a lot of studying to get good grades. augustana offers free tutors, and many of the sciences have specialized tutors available on certain days. over all, augustana is a challenging school, but the education you will receive is worth the hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    come for a visit!! you cannot fully experience what a college is like until you actually come and see it for yourself. augustana college is full of great people who are not only involved in their school work, but also involved in many extracurricular activities. 72% of augustana students participate in intramural sports every year! augustana is also a center for visual and performing arts. come for a visit and see how great it is to be an augustana viking!

    In three sentences

    augustana college in sioux falls, south dakota is a rigorous school filled with motivated students from many different countries who like to have fun, just as much as the like to study. augustana has division ii sports, and is a haven for intramural sports. augustana is a great place to meet new people, experience new things, and start your path toward an amazing and rewarding career.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do what they do; no complaints.

    Greek Life

    We offer Theme Houses, which are like Sororities or Fraternities, except that the students living in the houses must have a community service theme. - But no Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs and activities for all kinds of people. A great majority of the students on campus are involved in something.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small, close-knit campus, small classes, caring faculty, and a mid-sized city with a small city atmosphere

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are a very Norwegian inspired campus. You'll find many things pertaining to Ole, our viking mascot, or just viking stuff in general.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana is pretty expensive, but the education and overall experience I'm getting here is invaluable.

    What to do for fun

    UBG offers a wide variety of activities every month. There's always something to do on campus. For off campus fun, you can check out Falls Park, the mall, or many other places. Sioux Falls is a city with the best of both worlds - big enough to find stuff to do, small enough to walk around without fear of getting shot.

    Food and Dining

    Superb. That's all there is to say about it. Most colleges don't offer as many choices as Augustana - main dish, secondary dish, pizza, burgers, sandwiches, salads, wraps, soup, and stir-fry station. Every day. It doesn't get better than this! (And if you're on the go, you can stop by the Huddle, Augie's little restaurant.)

    Dorm Life

    You may not be impressed at first, but let me tell you, in general, dorms suck. Augie's freshman dorms are larger than dorms at most other schools, and the upperclassmen dorms aren't bad. If dorms aren't your thing when you're older, they offer apartments and theme houses. The freshman dorm life experience is the best around. You will really get to know your floor, including your PA (peer adviser) through a monthly floor activity and all-hall events.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to lie - it's tough. Now don't get too scared; it's not Harvard or anything. But it's definitely more challenging than community and state colleges, and a lot of the private colleges in the area. This academic rigor can only benefit you though. The professors know what they're talking about; and they're always available to help (a privilege you won't get at bigger schools).

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a campus visit; this is the best way to really get a feel for the college. You can check out the dorms, eat the awesome commons food, and meet some of our amazing professors. It is only by visiting campus that you can truly understand what makes Augie special.

    In three sentences

    Augustana is a great liberal arts school for those looking for a small institution that they can feel at home at. Class sizes are small and the professors really care; everyone on campus is super friendly! Being in Sioux Falls, you don't have to worry about it being too small and boring; there is always something to do in the city.

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Augie is a great community. It is great for students who can balance their social, work, and school lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Augustana expects a lot out of its students and if you do not step up from the beginning be prepared to face the consequences for it later.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes keep you on your toes and the professors make you think.

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you visit the campus before applying. In fact, do this at any school you may want to attend, not just Augie. Take the time to talk to some students and professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Like most private colleges, Augustana is fairly spendy, but from talking to people there it seems like they love it and feel as though the cost was money well spent

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus appears to be great for the religious student looking for new friends and things to get involved in

    Will learn a lot

    Augustana seems like a great school with dedicated professors who expect your best

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Augustana is a very good value for the type of education that you receive.

    Am enjoying being here

    So far, I absolutely love Augustana College. I've made some great friends and there's always something to do! I can't imagine going to any other college.

    Am learning a lot

    Augustana College has challenged me to learn a lot. Compared to other colleges Augie seems to have higher expectations, but it's all worth it when you think about how competitive the job market of today is. Plus, if the coursework strikes you as over welming there are tons of resources available to get you back on track.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Augustana College is good for anyone who is willing to learn. Augustana is for everyone. The community is great and very welcoming.

    Tips for prospective students

    When considering colleges, don't rule out Augustana because of price. Look into the college and visit the campus, you will fall in love with the beautiful campus just like I did. Visit the campus before making any decisions.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana is one of the least expensive private schools. The price may seem expensive but there are many scholarships that students can receive. Almost all the students at Augustana have a scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    Augustana College is a fun college when it comes to extracurricular activities. There are activities for everyone. From sports to club sports to different clubs. There is a place for everyone and the faculty/students are friendly. There are fun activities where you can meet new people and gain friendships for life.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Augustana College make the classroom experience not seem as intimidating and are willing to help you with whatever academic questions you may have. The classes are smaller so you are able to gain a relationship with your professors and be able to go to their office and ask them questions when you need the help.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being one of the cheapest private colleges in the country, Augie is more than just another college.

    Will enjoy being here

    When I visited Augustana, I felt a great sense of community. Everybody there cared for everyone, and they all looked after everyone. I can't wait to see what more Augie has.

    Will learn a lot

    I spoke with a professor, and she seemed absolutely ecstatic about being able to declare she worked at Augustana. If she was that enthusiastic about her job, I can't wait to see excited she is to teach.

  • 11/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small communities. If you like them, this place is perfect for you. And even if you don't, you could still fall in love with this amazing place! I fell in love with it and I'm used to a very very large community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Augustana accepts on a rolling basis, so the earlier you apply, the earlier you get accepted or denied and the earlier you can quit worrying about it. Also, definitely visit the campus. I wasn't too excited about Augustana before I visited, but actually being there completely changed my perspective, especially after my second visit once school had started! Talk to a professor, sit in on a class, get to know your admissions counselor, be involved! It'll make the visit not only more fun, but you'll also get a much better feel for the college. There's only so much I can tell you when you just have to see it for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    I will admit Augustana is a little bit pricey, but not unaffordable. However, since I haven't actually been a student at the college yet, I don't believe I can give an accurate rating on this area. I also believe it depends on the student, too. Though from what I can see, there are very many options there with quality professors and courses.

    Will enjoy being here

    Again, I was from a very large high school, so I believe going to the campus will take some getting used to if you're like me. I do like how the community is small and close-knit, the campus is beautiful and open, and that it really does feel like home, but I can also tell that changing environments so drastically will take some getting used to.

    Will learn a lot

    I sat in on a class at Augustana and, being from a high school three times the size of their current student body, I was shocked by the amount of involvement the students get with their professors! The class size was about 18 and the Professor knew all of their names. I participated and learned in that class and I'm very excited to be going there next fall.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Augustana is great for the students who are serious about their course work but want a balance of extracurriculars as well. We've got excellent involvement in not only sports, but the arts and activist (such as Augie Green) groups as well. We also have ROTC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into all the groups on campus and activities as well as your academic program. When you come to visit, arrange a meeting with a professor in your field of interest. They can be so friendly and it's good to set up those relationships early. I remember when I came, the Anthropology teacher took my mother and I out for lunch and we just sat and talked for about 3 hours.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana is one of the cheaper liberal arts colleges I could find, but you do get a lot from it. I couldn't imagine being anywhere else where I'd be sitting with 100s of people in my class, struggling to get a hold of the professor after hours, and have to be constantly reintroducing myself. It's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it on campus. I'm from the Twin Cities, and honestly, I really don't feel like I'm missing out on anything. Everything you need is within 10 mins away, not to mention all the fun things that happen on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Augustana is a great school with rigorous coursework, especially if you join the honors program, CIVITAS. Both professors, current students and former students are always around to help in any program you find yourself in.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a very safe campus

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different things to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious and outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Augiholics are crazy!

    Bang for the buck

    Really expensive. But a great education.

    What to do for fun

    hang out and watch movies. but you don't have a lot of time to hang out because of the rigorous academic load.

    Food and Dining

    Relatively good. Hours not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old and out dated, need some up dates.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than any college in the mid-west.

    Tips for prospective students

    Weigh your options, make sure you are ready to commit to paying that much for schooling

    In three sentences

    Augie is a difficult but rewarding school. It challenges you academically but rewards you socially. You will either love it or hate it.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is numerous campus activities, sporting events, and Sioux Falls has a great social life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and be ready to meet some great people! Everyone is very nice and welcoming to first year students. Augie does numerous activities for first year students to meet other people and things to keep their mind off of being homesick.

    In three sentences

    Augustana is a medium sized liberal arts school with a family atmosphere feeling. The professors are top notch and the student body is very supportive of the college. I would encourage anyone to take a look at the school when thinking about which college to attend.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always on duty driving around campus and the neighborhoods nearby. The campus is well lit and is in a safe city. There are hardly ever incidents of crime.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on campus. There are theme houses on campus that focus on a volunteering project throughout the year. The theme houses are applied for by a group of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sporting clubs, academic clubs and more. There are many music clubs and organization on campus. It doesn't matter if you are a theater major or the star of the volleyball team there is way to continue your love of a hobby.

    Great for these types of students

    Augie is great for students that want to be challenged that enjoy being challenged. Academics are a priority for many of the students on the campus. Hard working students find Augie to be a welcoming place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Basketball games are filled with rowdy students who cheer and support the fellows. At every home game there is a theme and students dress up and gather in the student section. The team and the student section share a connection.

    Bang for the buck

    Augustana College is expensive but you get what you par for. The professors and the faculty are top notch. You can tell that everyone on campus are concerned about the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are a plethora of movie theaters, concerts, and sporting events going on in the city. There are always people to connect with who have similar interests. Downtown Sioux Falls has a lot to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons on campus has a wide range of food and there are always options. The salad and wrap bar is open for dinner and lunch. There is always a stir-fry bar as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are events every weekend sponsored by the school and there are more events going on in the city. There is never a weekend that nothing is going on. About half of the students stay on campus every weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses and professors challenge the students everyday. But the bigger the challenge the more rewarding the grade is. Expect to spend time studying and working on assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure get involved on campus. There are many opportunities to reach out in the community on campus and off. The students on the campus are friendly and welcoming, don't be afraid to break out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College provides an excellent community to learn, grow, and experience life. The professors are available to students in and out of the classroom. The education that Augustana offers prepares students for their career and their future life.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Excellent

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem with them and i see them all the time.

    Greek Life

    None. But there is theme houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do from study groups to sports and hunting groups.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a really fun atmosphere and the teachers are very eager to help.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of clubs and groups on campus. From sports to intellectual clubs Augie has it all.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful! There is something for almost everybody. My favorite is the wraps and the sandwiches. Plus who doesn't want ice cream after every meal?

    Dorm Life

    From what I hear it is pretty good. I live at home so i am not exactly sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but it is one on one feel and teachers aren't afraid to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to make friends. Everyone on campus is really nice and so are the teachers. Get involved with something, whether it be theater or sports there is a place for you.

    In three sentences

    Augustana is the perfect college for anyone he loves a small town atmosphere. It is a quaint little campus situated in the middle of lovely Sioux Falls, South Dakota and close to a lot of wonderful sites. Whether you like shopping, sports, or even hunting Augustana has it all.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    sioux Falls is a nice place

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    In three sentences

    I am studying Elementary Education at Augustana College and this institution offers the best education in the area.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very nice and helpful. There are also safety poles scattered around campus. The safety poles have a direct line to the Campus Safety desk. When the button is pushed a Campus Safety officer will come to the pole with in a few minutes to assist you on anything from jump starting your car to actual safety concerns.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities on campus. There are clubs dedicated to every major, and then the big groups on campus like Union Board of Governors (UBG) or Augustana Student Association (ASA).

    Great for these types of students

    Augie is the perfect place for students who strive for success.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Back Alley is probably the coolest place on campus. It used to be a bowling alley, but they transformed it into a place to host all of the UBG events. It is located in the Common's building, and there is always something going on there! We are also home to the Augieholics which are a group of die-hard Augie fans on campus. They pump-up the atmosphere at every sporting event, and almost everyone on campus has an awesome Augieholics shirt.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Augie is on the pricey side it is totally worth it. The professors get to know you in every class, and also have their doors open for students to just stop in. The classes are worth the price. The professors have experience in their fields, and know what they are talking about!

    What to do for fun

    An on campus group, UBG, plans FREE events every Friday and Saturday night. The events include everything from dances and bands to movies and fashion shows. Other groups often have events going on during the week as well. UBG also hosts a big event where they bring in a popular musician. This year they are actually bringing both Macklemore and Phillip Phillips!

    Food and Dining

    Our meal plan is pretty great. It is unlimited which means you can swipe your card as many times as you want from 7-7 everyday. Hot meals are not served the entire time, but there is soup, sandwiches, salad, and some other foods that you can eat. Also included in the meal plan is a transfer meal to the Huddle. So, if you have a really busy day, you can stop by the on campus grill and get a 'free' meal.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life. My floor is very laid back and go with the flow. Although it can get loud or crazy at times mostly it is a great place to study. Plus freshmen can choose between two dorms: Solberg and Bergsaker. Each has a different feel, but both are well liked.

    Academic Rigor

    Coursework can be hard, specifically during interim or J-term. Students are pushed to succeed in the classroom, so that they will succeed in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read everything that your professors assign you to read. Understand that even though you may have a week to do an assignment you should do it right away, because you will get even more homework. Join groups on campus, too!!

    In three sentences

    Augustana is an amazing school with a great sense of community. It is a liberal arts college, so you take classes in many different fields, and classwork can be difficult. However, there are many free and fun events and opportunities on campus that make up for the difficult homework.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are ambitious.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, make friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is academically challenging. It offers a wide variety of majors and minors. Augustana College is a private, liberal arts college in Sioux Falls, SD.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is awesome. They are always doing their job, but instead of looking to get students in trouble, they are looking out for the students and their safety. They are always reachable by the dial of a phone and will be there to help you jump your car in a matter of minutes!

    Greek Life

    I was bummed to find out when applying that Augustana College did not have Greek Life, but they do have Theme Houses which are very similar!

    Great for these types of students

    It's a liberal arts school so there are a lot of artsy, granola-y type kids here. But athletics are huge too, along with academics. So really, we have every kind of student here, and everything in between. It's a perfect fit for any type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey, but in my personal opinion, it could not be more worth it. Job placement percentages are off the charts compared to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    Sioux Falls in general has a lot of options for stuff to do on the weekends, but Augustana College keeps you very busy with constant options for activities on and off campus. And don't think because we are a small, Christian school that we don't know how to have fun. :)

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria with a wide variety of food, but the unlimited plan that they recently implemented is not the best in my opinion. If you do the math, it is $27 a day/$9 a meal, and I eat in the commons maybe once a day. If you eat in the commons regularly, it is worth it, but you get a much better $9 meal elsewhere.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not great, they are small and could use a few improvements, but they do a great job of matching you up with a compatible roommate and you get used to the living situations very quickly. Dorm life is going to be relatively similar wherever you go.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to a pretty prestigious high-school so I felt very prepared, but I am still working very hard to keep my grades up. They challenge you, but the benefits are 100% worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Augustana College is smaller than most schools, but that is what makes it so great. It is like another family away from home, yet I still see new faces every day. The schoolwork is hard, but we make up for it in the fun we have here. Obviously it is not for everyone, but I would recommend it to anyone.

    In three sentences

    Augustana College is my dream college. It the the perfect size, it is located in the perfect place, I have the most perfect work-study, I have the best professors and classes, and I have made the most perfect friends. I have never doubted that I made the right decision.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is wonderful. There are usually two or three officers on duty, and the buildings are all secure. If ever you need anything, there are phone posts on campus where you can call campus safety and they will assist you. At the beginning of the year they asked all freshmen to put their number into their cell phones, in case we are no where near the phone posts. I feel very safe being on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for students who value community and a great education. Everyone here is here because they want to learn and be in a strong community.

    What to do for fun

    Every once in a while they do a Friday night activity called a Coffeehouse, when some type of singer comes and performs and there is a coffee bar with coffee, an alternative drink, and some type of snack. There are also some activities on Saturday nights hosted by the gym staff such as late night laser tag or ice skating. There's almost always something to do on campus, and if there is nothing that interests you, hanging out with friends is just as good!

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There is a wide variety to choose from. There are two main lines which change every day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Then there is a line from which you can get an omelet in the morning or Chinese food during lunch and dinner. Next to that line is the vegetarian line, then there's a station where you can get a sandwich or wrap. Then there is a grill where they have pizza or pasta and burgers or some type of warm sandwich. Those are the main options, but there are several other things to choose from. The dining space is quite nice, too. There are many places to sit and you can stay as long as you need/want to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not as bad as people say. I personally do not mind it that much. The rooms are a little small, but it is something you can easily adjust to. The bathrooms are shared by around twenty other girls, but there is seldom more than five or six girls in there at one time. And they are usually well kept. It's also nice having them co-ed. In the dorm I am in, the guys are on one side of the building and the girls on the other, and then there is a dividing door which is locked at night so no one can sneak in and out of the guy's and girl's wings.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be willing to do some work. There is usually reading that must be done for a majority of the classes, and of course there are tests and papers to be done. Many of the classes are discussion based, and it is expected that you have read the material and are prepared for class. It can be difficult sometimes, but the professors are more than willing to help find ways for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the tuition scare you. Augustana wants to help students of all economic backgrounds, and there are many ways to receive financial help. Also, don't be afraid about the freshman label. At this school, it doesn't exist. People do not pay attention to the status and there are no cliques. Everyone is welcome here on campus.

    In three sentences

    It's a wonderful school. Teachers and students are friendly and want to be helpful. I feel like I am getting a decent education.