Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Austin College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Austin College is a wonderful school, especially for those who are well focused in their classes and who have high goals. Students have to be able to put in many hours of studying to make good grades in their classes. This college is also great for students that like small schools. Maybe you're not much of a big University person, or you do not like all the loudness of music constantly playing outside with the fraternities. Austin College is nice and small, and is also a quiet environment for studying or just laying back and reading a book. Students who do not want to drive to every class and love the outdoors, would like it at the college. Because Austin College is so small, cars are to stay parked in the parking lot, and students have to walk to their classes. While on your way to a specific building, you can enjoy the scene with big beautiful trees along with many squirrels running around playing with each other.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I give to prospective students is to make sure you come ready to work hard and not to slack off no matter how easy you may think a class will be. To be successful in your classes, you must put in many hours of studying and practicing. Of course it is always good to take a break from all the studying, which is why it is a good idea to be involved in sports, or activities whether it be at the Pub or in your dorm hallway. Go out and blow off some steam, by hanging out with friends or by watching a play put on by the drama club. Another tip that I have for you, is to not be shy when you come in. Making friends is crucial to getting the full college experience. Being a loner is not fun especially when you see everybody else hanging out on the lawn, while you are locked in your dorm room. You might also want to make friends with your roommate, because they are going to be there everyday throughout the school year.

    Bang for the buck

    Though all colleges are expensive, private schools seem to be a lot more expensive. This is completely true for Austin College costing about $28,000 a year. Even though this college is so expensive, it is definitely worth every penny. Not only do you get the college experience, but the education and expectations are very high. No matter what you are studying, you are sure to learn a lot of material that will help you to be successful in whatever you do. Being an expensive college, you are sure to get a lot more than most other college. This is apparent in the differences in dorm rooms. At other schools, the rooms are very small and may have a desk and a bed with a closet, but at Austin College the dorms are bigger and have movable beds, desks, and drawers where you are able to fix your dorm room however you want. Apart from the high education and good looking dorm rooms, the professors and other tutors are always available to help you in whatever you need. Being a small school, there are many advantages that you would not normally get from a big University. At a big school, you would be just another number and not get all the personal help that you can get at a small school. At Austin College the professors know you by name, and are willing to help with whatever you need.

    Am enjoying being here

    Beyond all of the studying and pressure put on by all of your classes, Austin College knows how to keep students interested and having fun. There is always something going on no matter how big or how small the activity is. Austin College likes to get the students active even if they are not in sports or any organizations. After a long day of studying it's nice to go to the Pub or the lawn and get your mind off of the pressures of classes. They have activities for just having fun as well as activities that raise money for a good cause. Many organizations put on performances or any kinds of programs for entertainment at the auditorium. Theatre puts on plays where students can go and enjoy a show before they go back to working hard. Being a student there, you get to enjoy many cultural experiences. Every month or so, there are dinners from different cultures that students can sign up for. One month there may be a Pakistani dinner, and another month, there is a Japanese dinner. Not only do you have fun in the Pub or auditorium, but you can also have fun in the dormitories. Every hall way has their clusters. Clusters are a group of kids that live on your side of the hallway with an assigned RA, with who you can have dinner with or just go out and do activities with.

    Am learning a lot

    Austin College is a great school that has a lot to offer and teach the students who attend there. This college is definitely challenging when it comes to academics to ensure that the students are prepared to graduate and be the best in whatever graduate school they plan on attending. During class, the professors make sure that every student is understanding the material. Throughout the years, you learn to use every resource that Austin College offers which include mentors, professors, other staff, and the Academic Skills Center Tutors. All of these people are here to assist you in any way possible. Mentors are there to help you decide what career you are pursuing. The professors are available during office hours and by e-mail at any time to help you or sit with you one-on-one to answer and explain any material that you might have trouble understanding or mastering. The tutors at the Academic Skills Center help you learn material and also teach you how to use the different books they have that are available for use for any subject or field of study. No matter what background of education you have from your high school, Austin College helps you to learn study habits that will be effective throughout the rest of your years attending the school and beyond.

  • 12/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If students are looking for a small college, Austin College is an excellent choice. Students can find their niche through on campus activities, organizations, and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If it’s your first time being away from home, Austin College helps students with the transition by organizing freshmen into clusters in the dorms where students can first meet their friends and seek guidance from their RA. There are also information sessions that are held through Project FLOOR to help with the transition. Bring things like a blanket and a soccer ball. The weather is often nice enough to be outside and surely you’ll meet people who are willing to play a game.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private school, Austin College is expensive. However, even as the oldest Texas College, the campus has been nicely restored. Not only does dose it offer rigourous classes, Austin College offers aid to students through the Academic Skills Center which comes at no extra cost to the students. There, students can find tutors, recieve help writing papers, access resources from all subjects, and more. A unique feature for those wanting to excel in languages, Austin College has a language house, a dorm where students that pursue French, Spanish, German, Japanese, and Chinese can live in an environment to practice speaking with other students and a native speaker. Austin College is also known for its variety of study abroad programs. If you're lacking a car, it shouldn't be an issue. Austin College recently started a bus system that takes students to stores and restaurants for free. Using the bus also gives students discounts to stores like Best Buy.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is lovely with a lot of lawn space and trees so students can enjoy the outdoors. The area known as the “Couches” in the WCC is a great place to enjoy lunch outside of the cafeteria, hang out with friends, and join together for study groups. There are several clubs and organizations for one to join to keep occupied. Even if one isn’t involved, the Campus Activities Board (C.A.B.) is an organization that schedules events and activities for each week. Some activities include movie nights, bingo, and salsa dance lessons. Students can also go to the Pub for food, a game of pool, or play ping pong. Students can also collect a group of friends to create a team for intramural sports such as volleyball and flag football.

    Am learning a lot

    Austin College offers rigorous courses and a large variety that can suit any one's interests. The basic requirements allow students to explore in a variety of different subjects that may not relate to their field of study, but be applied to their major. Also, if Austin College doesn’t have the major you would like, but has the classes, students can make their own major, such as Japanese. Austin College also has a Jan-term when in January students have an opportunity to explore creative topics and even have opportunities to study abroad. Austin College has a rigorous Pre-Med program and an education program that allows students to graduate in five years. As a small school, students can easily contact their professors during their office hours or by email. The staff is supportive and strives to help you succeed.

  • 12/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberals, pre-meds, those wanting to learn a lot and work hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn good study habits now! You can't play hard without working hard first, and the classes are much harder than the ones your friends at public schools will endure. Visit campus. You'll either love it or hate it.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is expensive, but could be a lot worse. Most people that I know are receiving aid from the school and many jobs are available on campus. The small class sizes and resources available are great. It's generally easy to find professors and other resources for help with classes and preparation for internships and study abroad opportunities. More than the education, the experiences I am having make the money I pay and the debt that I will be in well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Personally, I love being on a campus where I can't walk outside without knowing half of the people I run into, and liking most of them. Though there is not a lot to do in Sherman, we make our own fun. There is at least one party or social gathering to go to every night of the week, and typically all events are open to all students. I am also an active member in a social sorority and a little sister to a social fraternity. Greek life is far from typical stereotypes in most cases, but there are typical groups for those looking for them. Beyond Greek life there are a wide range of clubs and associations to join. The campus activities board has activities most nights of the week for those who don't enjoy the party scene.

    Am learning a lot

    The liberal arts curriculum allows, and even forces, each student to take a wide variety of classes. Many classes are geared more to learning through class discussion and readings that don't come from text books. In fact, most teachers enforce attendance policies and class participation as part of your final grade. I'm an art major, but my education is in no way limited academically because of this. I'm a part of the Posey Leadership Institute and have taken three courses specifically on leadership. Required 'janterms allow you to take a crash course in a variety of subjects, and in many cases study abroad. This January I'll be taking a class on blogging and the digital self. Even though I have not studied abroad yet, attending a school where it's almost expected to learn outside of the country has given me a lot of knowledge from my peers.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Austin College is wonderful for students, who are: diligent time management savvy able to handle work and play passionate about what they want to study open minded ready to travel friendly able to appreciate smaller classes ready to change the world

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending Austin College, the best advice I can give you is to really define what about you is unique. It could be your curly hair, you ability to speak 5 languages, or where your family is from. Whatever it is, really open yourself up to the admissions department in your application. Don't just rely on what looks good or the standards things that colleges are looking for, Austin College wants individuals. I really recommend showcasing your unique qualities, your abilities or passions, and of course, your intelligence.

    Bang for the buck

    Okay, so it is more than true that Austin College is expensive. As a student, you have to work for all that you are paying to go to school for. That means use all the opportunities that attending this college brings you. You could go to a school for half of the amount of this one and just go to class and back home/to your dorm everyday. You wouldn't get all the added programs, international reach, or the personal attention that Austin College bestows you. Austin College will keep you busy and in tune to the world.

    Am enjoying being here

    I came into this school as a transfer student and the process was very easy for me. I came from a very urban and medium sized university to a semi-urban-suburban and small college. Comparing the two against each other quality wise, Austin College wins ultimately. It is the attention that they pay to the students, the welcoming atmosphere, and the plethora of opportunities that makes it the right choice. As a new student, I was lucky enough to get a roommate that was awesome and open ( i know I struck gold with that one). As far as the students on campus, they were really nice and very open to getting know me. The people that I have meet and the education that I have received, really makes my decision of transferring one of the best that I have made.

    Am learning a lot

    I have attained so much here. I enjoy going to classes like A History of Beauty in Art, or a class about Rock and Roll or Magic. There are so many different things to learn here, it is amazing. The liberal arts education makes you get away from your standard major and minor study and into new fields. The Janterms help further this by allowing you the whole month of January to study whatever you want.

  • 06/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Weird, smart and for people who want a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and don't worry about getting lost on campus. Join clubs and have fun

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so it does cost a lot but the education and experience is well worth it

  • 10/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are up to a challenge. Pre-Med students. Students who want to study abroad.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have taken courses for college credit, find out how they transfer. My dual credit classes transferred as three hours and AC's course credits are four hours. So, my four courses at community college only count as three at AC. Take a look at what all courses are required before committing. January terms, foreign language, lifetime sports, etc. Do not just look at what is required for certain degrees, but also what the general requirements are. Living off campus saves a lot, but I have found it's a bit harder to be involved. Determine which is more important to you. Study, Study, Study.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private school, AC is quite expensive. If you apply early, you can get scholarships which help tremendously. Living at home has helped me save a lot. One negative was a $2000 increase in tuition made this summer after I had already committed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm only in my first semester, so I'm still getting a feel for things. I am living off campus, which makes being involved and forming friendships more difficult. There are many things regarding course requirements which I was not aware of before enrolling, which I wish I had known. I think I will enjoy it more after I have been here longer and become more accustomed to everything.

    Am learning a lot

    You will definitely learn a lot at Austin College. The work can be difficult, but the college's reputation will make it worth it later on. The professors have a tremendous amount of knowledge and are ready to pass it along. At times, it can be very overwhelming, but if you study and do the work, it will all work out. The college tries to ensure a broad range of study with each student through January terms, C/I courses, etc.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Austin College is great for any and all types of students. The Pre-Med program is one of the hardest that I've heard of, weeding out most of the students in the first year but helping those that do make it. We also have an amazing teaching program for those interested in pursuing a career in the educational field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bring movies to Austin College with you. There is so much to do in the day, so many experiences, that to hold yourself up in your room would be tragic. Bring a bike to help travel around campus. I know I've enjoyed riding around campus late at night.

    Bang for the buck

    There's so many extracirruclars and diversity that it's hard to beleive that one could get so much out of such a small school. The library is stacked full of amazing books, we have an awesome gym and art center as well. Every building holds something in it that is valuable to the student experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is just the right size that it helps to breed friendships and creativity. I've only attended one year and I feel as if I know everyone at the school. I was sad to see my friends graduate but the school is so amazing that each year, there are students that come back for Homecoming. It's a perfect campus size and if you like bigger schools, they're adding a lot more onto it.

    Am learning a lot

    Everything that you learn at Austin College applies to everyday life. I can't think of a single thing that I don't find useful or something that hasn't affected my life since starting to attend Austin College. You learn so much more based on your level of commitment and how much you participate

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who didn't quite excel in High School. If you are smart but maybe not the tip top of your class, this is a good school for you. It caters to B+ students and turns them into better students. However, if you are one of the lucky few to be at the top of your class you can find a better education elsewhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school and stay overnight with a current student. If you don't you'll never fully understand what it feels like to be here. Go on a tour, visit as many classes as you can, eat lunch with a student, talk to any professor you're interested and stay the night. If you don't you are missing out completely. In terms of applying to the school, emphasize service and leadership and you'll probably be golden.

    Bang for the buck

    Very very expensive private college that has been consistently increasing tuition prices every year. The school *does not* offer a tuition lock so it is really frustrating to pay 4k more when you're a senior than when you were a freshman. Other than that, room and board expenses add up to about 10-12k a year. Plus, there are very restrictive meal and living plans and the school is attempting to limit off campus living in order to prevent and more money loss. The financial crisis hit AC hard and they are taking it out on the students with fees and increased rates.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's okay here. It could be better. The people are genuinely friendly (for the most part). Greek life is a nice plus. Although there aren't any national chapters (other than honor societies and the theater Alpha Psi and the co-ed service frat alpha phi omega). I like the people and I've made some good friends. I wish the campus was more attractive or the administration was more helpful. However, there are some definite upsides.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors really do work on being there for students both within and outside of the classrooms. Besides the limited class diversity, classes are generally really good.

  • 06/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are dedicated and persistent. I am a huge nerd and fit in great. If you love to learn and be challenged, this is the college for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting new people: I came to AC not knowing anyone, but don't fret! AC is great when it comes to student activities. You can meet a ton of new friends who are in the same boat as you. Go to the movie nights and hang out in The Pub! Everyone is really welcoming :) Weather: For all of those who melt in the rain, you better get rain boots and a good umbrella. Also, just because it is Texas doesn't mean it doesn't snow, so bundle up and stay warm. Food: There are other places than just cafeteria to eat. In town there's a great little Mexican restaurant, La Mesa, there's fast food, BWW, and a Braum's just down Brockett St. Also, invest in a green recyclable food box. Transportation: If you do not have a car you will survive!! I did not have a car, but other people did, so when I needed to hitch a ride to wal-mart I was covered, and you will be too.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but is it worth it? No doubt. Many of the students are here on scholarships, like myself. It is definitely one way to keep the costs down. The education you receive here is amazing and the teachers are willing to help you if you put in the hours. It really prepares you for further education and life in general.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it here; this college was made for me. It is a small school, smaller than my high school, and it has a beautiful campus. The professors are wonderful and always delighted to help you out and the programs here are amazing. The people are friendly and I never feel like I am just another number in a crowd. I like that I can still visit my family on weekends because home is not too far away.

    Am learning a lot

    I am pretty sure I have learned more in my freshman year of college than all of my k-12 years combined. This school is intense and you learn more than just the basics. Not only did I learn what was taught in class, but I also learned about myself and how to study (which is probably the most important here at AC).

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love studying, reading, learning languages, and hope to study abroad, you should definitely consider coming to AC. ESPECIALLY language-learners. This is probably the best school in Texas to work on your fluency!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study; the classes here are rewarding, but also incredibly challenging. Also, the professors all have on-campus office hours. They are there to help you. If you have any trouble in your classes, PLEASE go to them. They can help you. Also, you're going to want to look for scholarships before you get here and while you're here. One more thing: Be outgoing! Talk to people! The college experience is much more enjoyable when you have friends to spend time with!

    Bang for the buck

    Anyone looking at Austin College as a potential school has no doubt noticed the enormous price tag. Fear not! The campus itself offers many opportunities to lessen your financial burden, including scholarships, leadership programs, and work-study programs. Not to mention, the benefits of attending this college make the price understandable and worthwhile. Not only is the campus technologically up-to-date, but additions are constantly being made in order to improve the campus experience; we recently added two more residence areas to account for an increase in enrollment.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a student originally from Houston, I'm not going to lie; Sherman is a very small, quiet town, and your college experience will be greatly improved if you know or are someone with a car. If you aren't, don't worry! The campus is small, with under 2000 students, so you're practically guaranteed to meet someone with driving abilities! The residence halls are conveniently located close to the academic buildings, and it's possible to cross the entire campus on foot in under 10 minutes. Also, we have a variety of extracurricular organizations, as well as an on-campus coffee shop and a fantastic library. Moreover, if you're worried about staying in Sherman for four straight years, don't! Study Abroad programs are readily available, and about 70% of the students go abroad at least once.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes offered at this school are phenomenal--despite the small size, there are a wide range of available subjects, including Japanese. The pre-med and educational departments stand out in particular, as well as a special residence hall/immersion program for language students--the Language House. The small class sizes also help with the learning experience--the classes are challenging, but the professors are willing to help, and they actively encourage questions! Also, there is a January semester (known as Jan Term) which allows for more learning opportunities; many of these classes are special courses not offered at any other time, such as courses on space westerns and (I'm not kidding) the history of swear words.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police patrol the campus 24/7 and all of the buildings are accessed by key-card only, so the security and safety is very high. I would never worry about that at Austin College.

    Greek Life

    I didn't join a sorority, but I have lots of friends that did. There isn't an awkward tension between Greeks and non-Greeks like there is at some larger schools. Our Greeks are very blended with everyone else and there isn't a lot of pressure to join a sorority/fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school works hard to make sure everyone is as involved as possible. There is a club for EVERYTHING, and if you find something you're interested in that there isn't a club for, you can make one. The school is very open to new ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are artsy, quirky, maybe didn't fit in in high school, or were considered a weird kid, Austin College should be perfect for you because basically everyone has some of those qualities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will get thrown into one of the fountains on campus on your birthday, that is inevitable.

    Bang for the buck

    You do pay a lot of money at AC, but the school is so unique from any other that the experience you will get is really worth every cent.

    What to do for fun

    Students are constantly getting together to play games of capture the flag, ultimate frisbee, hide and seek, and lots of other things. Don't feel shy and miss out on all this because it's the best part of Austin College. There is also some kind of activity hosted by the school practically every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is kind of awful and horribly overpriced, but they are supposedly changing it so that it is better this year.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone should live in the dorms because it really helps you stay involved with your fellow students. Tons of activites happen on campus every single night. If you're not there for them, then you're really missing out.

    Academic Rigor

    You will constantly find yourself challenged at Austin College. There is hardly a dull moment or weekend where you won't find yourself needing to study or get caught up on homework. It's tough, but you will learn so much that it makes it very worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for every scholarship possible before enrolling. Join every club you can because there are a lot of different options for every type of person and being in clubs really helps you to get involved on campus. Also, don't miss out on any of the school sponsored activities that AC hosts regularly.

    In three sentences

    Austin College is an amazing liberal arts school for students studying pre-med, psychology, or international relations. However, if you are not from a rich family, affording this school is very difficult and you will quickly find yourself accumulating more debt than you ever thought possible. If money isn't a huge issue, I highly recommend this school for its amazing atmosphere and academic programs.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of fun things to do on campus. we have a very active student life program called cab that frequently puts on movie/pizza nights, bingo, dances, etc. that keep everyone really involved and content.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good, but sometimes you get tired of eating the same thing. there are multiple stations in our cafeteria that offer a good variety of food, but like i said, sometimes it just gets old. in the sherman area there are a lot of alternative food options.

    Dorm Life

    there are only four dorms on campus and the environment of each of them are much different than each other. the rooms are bigger than most other college dorms i've seen and are usually kept pretty clean. the dorms have a students from freshman to even some juniors in them.

    Academic Rigor

    be prepared to work. because class sizes are small, you must participate in class and know the material well. you cannot skip the homework one night and be ready for class the next day. also, most tests are all essay/short answer; you will rarely see a multiple choice test. these types of things keep you on your toes and you'll find you are actually learning a lot!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a big campus feel, austin college is not the right choice for you. here, you will really get to know your professors and be challenged to participate in class and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    austin college really offers a lot of unique advantages and opportunities. one of my favorites is the size of the campus and the teacher to student ratio. there are about 1300 students on campus and ive even had a class with as little as 7 students!

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    In three sentences

    Austin College is an excellent school. It has small classes with excellent professors.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go bowling in the hallway with water bottles and a basketball.... ok that was only one time, but the college does host free bowling every month or so at the local bowling alley. Plus there are many social activities and dances put on by the school and Greek organizations. There are also clubs for EVERYTHING - physics, computer science, religion, hip hop, culture - and there are sports teams, cheerleaders, jazz band and the Aussie dancers!

    Food and Dining

    It can get repetitive and missing meal plan hours is the worst. Luckily we are switching to all day cafeteria service.

    Dorm Life

    I loved all the friends I made in my dorm and I even became good friends wit my RA. I just thought the dorms could use some remodeling.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a private college, so the courses are tougher than at a public or community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go to your professors for help. They are always there and are always helpful. Make sure to take advantage of ALL of the opportunities the college offers. You can get help with anything from course work to scholarships and internships to jobs! Also, GO ABROAD.

    In three sentences

    A better college than I could have hoped for. It wasn't at the top of my list, but I am extremely lucky that I chose to go here. The vast opportunities, social/volunteer/leadership groups, top-notch educators, research experiences, study abroad options, and much more create an outstanding community.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of different clubs you can join. There are also movie nights and other events put on by the Campus Activities Board

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to read a lot, and don't be afraid to take advantage of the professor office hours.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is very welcoming. The professors are there to help no matter what. The small school aspect helps with making close friends.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to run into an issue with campus safety. There are police officers who patrol the school frequently and I feel safe when walking around.

    Greek Life

    There is great emphasis on Greek Life at this school; which is something that isn't very well known outside of the students who actually go here. Even if you're not interested in this type of thing it is still a wonderful school and there are many other ways to get involved on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school is lacking in unique clubs and social organizations. There is a great abundance of cultural clubs and fraternities/sororities. The Campus Activities Board hosts many events and activities throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want a liberal arts education in Texas. If you cannot live in a small town, then this school may not be for you. A great school if you're interested in participating in Greek Life or sports teams. This school has fantastic pre-med, pre-law, and teacher programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If it is your birthday, then it is likely that a group of your friends will throw you into a fountain. There is said to be a ghost that haunts a particular building on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The education that the students receive here is certainly worthwhile. Because it is a liberal arts school the students learn to think along with many other life skills. However, the tuition is rather steep so it's difficult to pay for without financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, the city in which this school is located doesn't have much going on. There isn't anything to do off campus but there is enough happening on campus to keep everyone satisfied. The Campus Activities Board puts on a ton of daily events- Zumba, bingo, or film screenings for example.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, the dining at this school is less than favorable to most. They are constantly working to improve the fare and in time it may actually improve. If you're vegan or vegetarian your options are limited.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are spacious and the furniture is easy to move or readjust. There are traditional style dorms as well as more apartment style buildings. There are activities and competitions in every dorm, so there's usually something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty level of this school's academics varies greatly from major to major, as well as from person to person. If you are having difficulty there are plenty of resources accessible- students and professors are always happy to help and there is a tutoring program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a liberal arts education in Texas then this is your best option. You'll generally spend most of your time on campus, and that doesn't tend to be a problem for most students. There are plenty of ways to keep busy and contented here. If you're interested in becoming an educator then this school has a fantastic program for that.

    In three sentences

    Austin College is an ambitious school with outstanding educators and a beautiful campus. The location is not what most would call ideal, however the pros generally outweigh the cons. This school has a fantastic reputation especially if you're planning to go on to medical school.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Five words: don't come for the food.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't anything particularly bad or good about dorm life. Austin College does have an extremely interesting dorm called Jordan Language House where you could have fun learning a language with a TA born speaking that language.

    Academic Rigor

    Austin College is NOT an easy school. If you expect to just be handed a degree this school is not for you. However, if you are up to a challenge then this school is worth it.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems pretty safe. This year there were stupid kids who light a trashcan on fire in the dorm, but campus pd and RA's handled in nicely

    Great for these types of students

    Rich

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a long shallow fountain that you'll get thrown into on your birthday if your friends remember.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of attendance, Austin College isn't worth it. The school hasn't gone digital yet, classes still use ugly chalkboards, and there's not much to do here. The community is friendly though, so i guess that's a plus, but I don't like paying so much and feeling like I'm not getting my money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There's a park within 5 minutes walking distance. I go there sometimes to just play on the swings. It's child oriented, but I find it nice for just thinking and swinging. There are parties pretty much every week if you're into that. Oklahoma casinos are are about an hour away, or so I'm told. If you have a car, there are other fun places to travel to.

    Food and Dining

    A buffet style cafeteria that tries to provide homestyle meals form various cultures was a nice idea. Too bad the food kind of sucks. The best items on the menu though, Pizza and cookies. There's one lady on the staff line who needs an attitude check too.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm doesn't have has much space as i'd like. To get the maximum amount of space in my room, mine and my roommate's beds have to be bunked. I had top bunk and its a hassle climbing up and down it all the time. Things i find absolutely necessary, like a microwave aren't allowed in the rooms so that was a disappointment.

    Academic Rigor

    It may just be because I was part of a college level program in high school, but i came to college expecting the classes to be super hard, but for me they turned out to be super easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not an only child in college, it would be wise to apply for a few scholarships unless you're rich already. Don't be afraid to travel around town and go out to the park every once in a while.

    In three sentences

    Austin College is a nice community driven school. It's easy to get to know the professors here is you make an effort and do well in class. There's not much to do on campus all the time, but with a car, there are nice places to visit close by on the weekend.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a top priority at Austin College. Campus police always takes care of everything and will always keep you and your surroundings safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of Austin College. Me myself, I'm part of Chi Delta Eta. The Greek life will treat you like family and will welcome anyone who they encounter.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs. There is always something for each person for any interest.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is a perfect match for any type of person. They will fit right at home here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not really unusual traditions or locations at Austin College.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a very good school but it is a little to pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs and activities everyday of the week. This ranges from bingo nights, movie nights and free bowling. There are always IM sports going on too for those who don't play varsity sports.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe here has some good food overall. Although it does have it days in which it seems a little crappy

    Dorm Life

    Your first year here will introduce you to the dorm life and you will meet tons of new people. The dorm will feel weird for a little bit but eventually you will get used to it.

    Academic Rigor

    Austin College has some of the best professors in the state of Texas. they will help you no matter what. They want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to have great time management because you will need it. Talk to the professors as soon as you meet them, they are here to help you every step.

    In three sentences

    Is an excellent campus to be on. The best professors you could wish for. A great place to create new experience in life.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Offered a great scholarship package compared to the other schools i applied to

    Dorm Life

    the dorms aren't anything impressive. Many other schools have much nicer dorms, but that doesn't mean that life would be horrible

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and know what you're applying to

    In three sentences

    Very welcoming place

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on campus police officers and locks to dorm building and to your room.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have over 75 clubs and activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive because it's a private school but it is worth it because you get a great education. 98% of all its teachers have the highest degree obtainable in their field.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things that are always going on on campus but, also around Sherman and Dallas.

    Food and Dining

    There dinning program is great they always change up what they serve.

    Dorm Life

    The freshmen dorm rooms are decent but become great when you become upper class men.

    Academic Rigor

    Austin College's academic rigor is pretty difficult but as long as you ask for help they will be more than happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all paperwork turned as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Austin college is an exceptional school located in Sherman, TX. It has great academic programs and a good student to teacher ratio. It's also located in a relatively small area/community but isn't to far away from Dallas.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a time where I did not feel safe at Austin College. Police are on campus 9-5 every day and on call 24/7. After 10 pm, the buildings of AC lock and only students with AC identification can scan into the buildings. To enter the dorms, students always need their identification cards on them to get into each of the four dormitories.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities on campus and one national service fraternity that specializes in community service around our school and the city of Sherman. Many students find a fraternity or sorority that fits their personality and absolutely love it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I believe their are over 50 clubs on campus that any student is welcome to join. There is greek life, community service opportunities, leadership positions on campus, bilingual clubs, and anything else you can imagine. It's a great way to get involved and meet new people!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a tough academic college but ready to meet people who will be by their side for the rest of their lives should consider AC. Especially students who want to participate in extra curricular activities but do not want it to control their college experience. AC has a great fine arts program along with an amazing athletic department that allows you to participate in extra curricular activities but still obtain a great education.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything you could ever want in a small school is what you get at Austin College. Small classroom settings, professors that care about the success of their students, close friendships, support in activities campus wide, great academic rigor, and a small town that keeps everything and everyone close by.

    What to do for fun

    While Sherman is a small town, there are many activities offered on campus including workout classes, art classes, ping-pong, athletic events to support fellow Roo's, etc. There is also a movie theatre close by, bowling alleys, shopping centers, and bars for older students. Being only an hour away from Dallas, TX gives you a huge city close by as well!

    Food and Dining

    Students will definitely miss home cooked meals and going out to their favorite home town restaurants but our dining services does a great job at making many options available. Each meal served as plenty of options for everyone and they also have a suggestion box that they regularly check and make changes based on the students suggestions!

    Dorm Life

    Like most schools, dorm life is definitely an adjustment. Austin College helps students transition from high school to college and does it in a way where the students are adapting to the area while interacting with fellow students.

    Academic Rigor

    Austin College is extremely hard but rewarding. There is an 80% acceptance rate into medical school and the other majors on campus set you up for a great career outside of school. It is tough, but well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come in with an open mind! This is a small, private school that people attend from all over the world for many different reasons. Don't sell yourself short by hanging with one group of people; take advantage of all the opportunities offered!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Austin College. It has a small town feel and everyone knows everyone making it a great community it learn your strengths and weaknesses in order to help you figure out your next steps in life.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    from my understanding most

    Great for these types of students

    All no one is left out

    Bang for the buck

    Since i havent yet attended i cannot speak much on it but from the tour and information gathered, you can only excel at this school

    What to do for fun

    Play basebal

    Food and Dining

    Fantastic, my family and I got a chance to eat in the dining hall

    Dorm Life

    From what i saw, i am ready for dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Austin College allows you to study in many different areas while pursuing your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all the researching you are going to do but i guarantee you will not find to many schools such as Austin College that will leave a life time impression on you. Their studies are believable and makes you feel as if you can accomplish anything

    In three sentences

    Austin College was an amazing school to visit. The staff from the secretary to the Cafeteria, counselors and even the Baseball coach were very informative. Austin College is a dream school to attend in era.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study, be consistent and stay focused on making the future better, right now.

    In three sentences

    Austin College is an excellent school for all students who are serious about their education and higher leaning. This is an institution that promotes student success and a brighter future. Any students whom attend this college are not only destined to complete the degree programs, they are guaranteed a lifetime of success.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Local not national

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind. It is a small school, beware of what you do as not only students will know but also professors.

    In three sentences

    You'll find a group of friends you never would anywhere else. Faculty is supportive and conducive to your learning. Grading is tough but you'll be prepared for grad schools.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beware! If it is your birthday your friends will most likely throw you in the fountain on campus. It is the Austin College tradition on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Austin College has 5 day/ 7 day meal plan mandatory for all incoming freshman. The food is not too bad in quality. The school recently renovated the cafeteria with new furnishing. There is a pasta, burger, dessert, fruit, soup and salad section.

    Dorm Life

    AC offers 2 coed residence halls and one all-female/male dormitories. As well as apartments, suites and housing for juniors and seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    Austin College is a liberal arts college with a strong emphasis on academics.

    In three sentences

    If you do not want to be just a number then Austin College is for you. Austin College is a small private university where professors care about the student's performance. Opportunities at Austin College range from study abroad to a masters program in Education.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Were only an hour north of dallas/fort worth and ten minutes south of the oklahoma border, so there is always something to do that isn't too far away.

    Food and Dining

    Great food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I couldn't give you an accurate rating. But everyone tells me that they love living on campus and so close to everyone and their classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can sometimes be tough but the teachers are always fair, and if you study and put forth effort, they'll never fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate work. This is the most sure fire way to do poorly here, and don't go out partying every night, remember that this is still a school and you do have classes every day. Make sure you go to class, because theres usually an attendance or participation grade.

    In three sentences

    Austin College has great opportunities for studying abroad. The faculty are great and very attentive to students, they allow you to have lots of hands on work to prepare you for the future. There are a wide range of courses to take along with a very diverse amount of students.