Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Averett University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/14/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think this school will give me the education I need.

    Tips for prospective students

    I always work diligently, and give most of my time doing work.

    Bang for the buck

    I work diligently and give my best in each subject.

    Will enjoy being here

    After I finish any work I have I will hang out with my friends and get to know the campus better.

    Will learn a lot

    I will learn as much as I can and give my best work always.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I got a lot of scholarship money from Averett; enough to pay for about half of my tuition. Their loan options are pretty good, too.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is really pretty and well taken care of. The students and staff are all very friendly. When I visited in February, there was a group of students (football players) practiced with a fun game in front of the student center with one of the professors!

    Will learn a lot

    I will be going through Averett's Equine Business Management program and the class list looks great. The professors for the regular/core/elective classes seen great, too. I know I'll learn a lot here.

  • 10/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that like a family environment and enjoy socializing while focusing on their studies

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus and see if you can spend the night with a student

    Bang for the buck

    plenty of scholarships are offered and they offer a lot of services for the tuition that you do pay

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus life it's friendly and welcoming

    Am learning a lot

    the small classes offer a more personal level with the professors making easier to pay attention

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there's something for everyone you just have to find it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    main hall at averett is known to be haunted but i'm not sure if that is reliable information.

    Bang for the buck

    it is defiantly worth the money. the professor are so helpful. averett is defiantly full of support.

    What to do for fun

    find a group of friends and hang out with them. danville isn't a very big town so there isn't much to do. i found that i obtained fun through building relationships.

    Tips for prospective students

    you have to want to be successful when entering college. it's not just about coming and having fun, your spending money to attend college so get all you can out of it.

    In three sentences

    averett is a great opportunity for any person. it's easy to adapt to and it's worth every bit you put into it. averett helps build the character of a person as well as the mind.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put off what you can do today, give them a call and ask them questions; they are wonderful people who are willing to help in making the decision easier.

    In three sentences

    Flexible, Callenging, and Interesting, the faculty and staff is also amazing.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on this campus is always on the job and quick to respond. This is a very secure campus and there are no worries to ponder because out Security is top-notch!

    What to do for fun

    There are several extra-curricular activities to take part in. Whether it be a sport such as football or soccer, or being a part of the Student Government association, there is a place for everyone to enjoy something fun!

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge variety of options to eat in the cafeteria. Since Averett University has a strict nutrition diet, there are plenty options for great, and healthy, eating.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms here. There are only up to two people in each room. Single rooms are also available. All rooms have air conditioning and bountiful space for the number of residents in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    I would recommend Averett University to all who have a determination to succeed. The professors will push you to do well as well as help you to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Averett University is a very good college, yet it is more expensive then a lot of others. Make sure to apply for scholarships early from as many websites or from the school itself as you can. It will make a huge difference.

    In three sentences

    Averett University is constantly making alterations in order to make this school more comfortable and compatible for all. The professors are always willing to help and have flexible schedules in order to assist you. The biggest luxury at Averett University are its small lecture classes consisting of 20-30 students or less per classroom.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a beautiful diversity of people at Averett, I have found. I'm sure anyone of any background could get on well there.

    What to do for fun

    Well, this is Danville.... it's hardly a grand city, but I suppose there are some things one could do... We have a movie theater, a decent variety of restaurants, Dan Daniel Park. There may be the occasional festival. And there is always the comfort of one's own home available. :)

    Food and Dining

    The one meal I have enjoyed there thus far was unique and enjoyable to my tastes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry so much about financial aid, as Averett hands out quite a large bulk of scholarships to its students, especially if that student is local to the area. And don't be afraid to call them if you have questions.

    In three sentences

    All the teachers here are very kind and pleasant. When I visited, I felt very welcome. The campus is quite beautiful, also.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great security who actually speak to you and know most people by name.

    Greek Life

    We only have one fraternity. They look like they have a good time!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be a part of a big family rather than just another faceless student at a huge school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The rock outside of the Student Center being re-painted for different occasions.

    What to do for fun

    Football games Soccer games Basketball games CAB activities Comedians Musicians Magicians Casino Night

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    I love it here. It is a small school with a personal atmosphere. It is very easy to make friends and become involved in school functions.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security buttons in all of the appartments.

    Greek Life

    They do have a fraternity.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be a little pricey but overall I am satisfied with the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs you can join. Sports, games, chearleading, movie nights, late night breakfasts, etc. There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The caffeteria is nice. Their weekend brunch is to DIE for! The food during the week isn't bad either.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but I've heard great reviews.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are nice. Good professors, students are willing to help you, course material is challenging but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get invlolved. College can be so much better if you get active on your campus.

    In three sentences

    Averett has a very nice campus, a variety of people, and really good professors. The classes are small and personal. I'm really glad I chose this school.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Tips for prospective students

    They will get you with advertising. Look at other options before coming here.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very small. The food is not good at all. The president is extremely nice

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining has been very accomodating for food allergies as well as provides delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are stimulating and relevant to the real world.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Averett seems like it is going to be an awesome school.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of intramural games

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a bunch of scholarships

    In three sentences

    Averett University is an amazing place. I know my experience there will be great. The school is very expensive.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe has some great food and the times are wonderful. The Bon Appetite staff focuses on providing the student body with the food they want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious and clean. The resident assistants provide the resident with activities to keep you busy. The apartments have the feel of you being home in your own room.

    Academic Rigor

    Come to the school with the mindset to succeed and you will. The professors will help you in any way to do better in classes. Their office times are very open so whenever you have a question you can just pop in. Every class you take here you will benefit from it, and always take something away to.

    In three sentences

    Averett University is a great upstanding educational institute. They welcome every student in as family, and the help you achieve every goal toward getting your degree. If you plan on coming to Averett don't hesitate is a great college choice.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security are quick to respond and located almost everywhere. They have had to be called, but they didn't take long at all to appear when they were needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and Danville is full of things one can do during spare time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, so long as you don't get the pizza over the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    There have been a lot of problems through the semesters, but mostly because of other students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are quite small, even for a private university, and the staff speak with you one-on-one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get a good room mate if possible, and don't be afraid to complain to your Residence Life staff about any problems that might occur.

    In three sentences

    The college is decent, but some of the other students are troublesome. Even so, the staff of Averett do all they can to make every student feel welcome and comfortable. I have yet to have a single problem while I've been here.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't very many clubs, but if you get enough student interest it is easy to get your own club started!

    Great for these types of students

    If you want small class size Averett is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on and off campus and opportunites that are through the school are posted and emailed about in hopes of notifying all students of the possibilities of things to do for fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes and assignments are challenging enough to make you think, but not over challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having problems in a class contact your professor or seek out help in the Student Success Center. The faculty/staff all care about the students greatly and want everyone to succeed and do their best.

    In three sentences

    Averett, I believe, has some of the best faculty and curriculums in the nation. Small class size it what makes Averett the best. Averett is constantly changing and growing to become even better.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good place for small town students.

    Bang for the buck

    It isn't worth the money it cost to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Study.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't like the food nor the dining options.

    Dorm Life

    It was a place to sleep and that is all.

    Academic Rigor

    Great faculty !!

    Tips for prospective students

    Every student has a different college experience. Averett might be the place for you, but it wasn't the right fit for me.

    In three sentences

    Averett University wasn't a good fit for me. I did not agree with the social norms of the student body. I felt like they were small minded and I didn't fit in.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide-variety of clubs on campus, plus you can create your own clubs!

    Food and Dining

    The food is generally good, but if your a vegetarian, vegan, or a pescatarian (someone who only eats fish), then be prepared to eat in your dorm and do a lot of shopping!

    Dorm Life

    Averett University is meant to have quiet hours every night, starting at 10pm on the weeknights and 12am on the weekends, but depending on your RA, it probably won't happen. On my hall, there are usually people yelling across the hall till 3am. Fugate is cheaper, but the rooms are really small! I got lucky my first year, and was put in Davenport, which has very large rooms! So really, the price isn't that bad. Also, the bathrooms are awful! The only nice bathrooms are in the female hall, in Main building--they have ACTUAL showers, not a shower head and some curtains! The female hall in Main ALSO has the best rooms, they get single rooms without having to pay the extra fee, which I don't think is fair! The apartments on-campus are great, but you can't apply for those until your sophomore year, plus it's based off of your grades, so keep your grades up! The apartments have a living room, four bedrooms, a bathroom, dishwasher, full-size fridge, and a washer and dryer.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes won't be hard if you study, do homework, read the literature, and actually go to class. While it may be tempting to skip an 8am class, don't! College courses are different from high school classes, in the sense that they are much more fast-paced, sometimes you'll learn up to three chapters in one 1-hour block class. College classes are also usually only made up of lectures and a few tests, so study and do well on the tests or you'll end up failing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships and grants as you can! Also, if you didn't get as much financial aid you had hoped for, call your financial aid adviser and tell them, you'll get more money! Get all of the preparation stuff out of the way, like all of the paperwork. When you get here, get involved on campus and take classes you wouldn't have normally taken--for example, next semester I'm taking Tae Kwon Do. Also, make your dorm room feel like home, it sucks being in an empty room that just reminds you that your family and friends are a long ways away. Don't study in your room, find a place that is quiet and feels comfortable.

    In three sentences

    Averett is a great university! It is an overall beautiful campus and there are many fun on-campus events. The classes and the faculty/staff are all great.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot to do for fun. just about every weekend some sport is playing you could go to a game. You could also go to the movies or go bowling, and if that's not good enough then Greensboro is 45 minutes down the road you can go there and do something like play laser tag or what not

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafeteria is either hit or miss. some days they will have things that are really good to eat and other days there are just stuff that not really that good. There is always a salad bar cereal and there is always pizza and pasta. Breakfast is normally has the best food. you can have your choice between waffles, pancakes, or French toast they have that normally every morning.

    Dorm Life

    There are 4 different dorms here at Averett and also apartment commons. there's Bishop which is an all male dorm with a community bathroom, there is Main which is all female dorms also with a community bathroom, then there is Davenport which is split male and female by floors. 2nd davenport is all male and 3rd Davenport is all female and they both have community bathrooms. the last dorm is Fugate and those dorms are co-ed, they are separated by suits. There are 5 rooms in each suit. Lastly there are the apartments which is shared by 4 people. The apartments are fully furnished with a queen size bed. They also have 2 bathrooms. If you want to get into the apartments you must be a sophomore or older and also have a good GPA 2.0 or higher.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not hard as long as you do you stay up on your reading. Your professors will sit down and sit with you and work with you. If your struggling with papers we have a writing center that will help you correct your papers. Also if your struggling in class then you can get a tutor that will help you in the classes that your struggling in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hardest thing to do is fail, you actually have to try to fail. You get many opportunities to succeed here you have a tutoring center, you have a writing center that will help you on your papers. you also have small classes so you and your professor have a better connection than if you went to a bigger school. You are not a number here at Averett you are an individual. Averett is a dry campus, so there is no alcohol allowed on campus.

    In three sentences

    Averett University is found in a small town called Danville Va. Averett is a fairly small campus, where everyone knows just about everyone. Campus is surrounded by residential housing. Most of the times campus is quiet but can always find something to do here