Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Avila University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is willing to put forth effort in their education and wants to succeed should definitely come here. I guarantee whatever work you put into your education here will pay off. Avila is a school that will help you reach your goals the future you want for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avila is a small school and yes they are more expensive than some schools, but their education is great! The teachers and faculty all care about the students and will help them succeed. Sometimes it can get a bit overwhelming but trust me it's not as bad as you think it is. Just come ready to work toward what you want and let Avila get you where you want to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Avila is not easy on the pocketbook by any means, but if you really want to attend, they will work with you and help you find the money to pay for education. Out of the 24,000 I have paid about 4,000 out of pocket for the year. I have 2 loans totaling 5500, but considering what many people have to take out at any college that is pretty good. Get involved in the school and they will help. Plus their education is great and exceeds many schools in the area. If you really want to come to Avila, talk to your admissions representative and keep in touch. They will help you get here.

    Am enjoying being here

    In my opinion school is school no matter where you are or if you're in high school or college. However, I love living on campus and my roommates are great. The school is fairly small and I though I don't know everyone, it is a very friendly campus with lots of activities and opportunities of involvement. For example, during finals week we have free massages and activities to relieve stress. They do what they can to help you through.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I want to possitive

    Bang for the buck

    Rate-1

    Will learn a lot

    Rate-1

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As a small school, Avila tries to incorporate many different activities. They actually encourage new ideas; so, if you're preferred club or activities isn't currently around, make it! The people are really friendly, too.

    Food and Dining

    It's a step above your high school cafeteria school, but not much more than that. If I recall correctly, they have a cereal bar in the lunch room, so there's always that if you don't like what they are currently serving.

    Dorm Life

    It's nothing really special; they are small, but they are nice. The building is a bit run-down and dark, but the rooms are easily customized.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I could tell, the professors really took the time to know their students. It's a smaller private school, though, so that's not hard to imagine. However, it was clear from work in many of the hallways what kind of classes were there and the work put into the projects. I've found in the past that professors/teachers that are passionate about what they teach are the ones that can inspire that dedication in so many students.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always wandering campus

    Clubs and Activities

    everyone is involved in a sport

    Great for these types of students

    graduate and nursing majors

    What to do for fun

    explore the city

    Food and Dining

    you'll want plenty of snacks bc just like every other schools the hours of operation are silly

    Dorm Life

    huggggge rooms!!

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers will always work with you

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you're able to build a life for yourself that doesn't revolve too much campus life

    In three sentences

    the perfect place for graduate students.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't tried it yet but heard the salads in the cafe are great!

    Academic Rigor

    I worked very hard getting and maintaining a good GPA because it is so competitive to get into the programs you want. If I was lacking anywhere else, my GPA covered the slack.

    In three sentences

    I'm very excited to be attending Avila University. The staff and faculty are so friendly and supportive. Also, there are many clubs and activities to choose from!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Conservative, Catholic, Christian, nursing students, pre-med students, theater majors

    Bang for the buck

    If you get a good scholarship, it is alright!

    What to do for fun

    Study! ;)

    Tips for prospective students

    I haven't even started school at Avila yet, but I would say to get involved. Contact as many people as you can and don't be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    Avila has a lovely, homey campus feeling and all of the people there are friendly. They emphasize community service, allowing students to become responsible and caring citizens. The healthcare field seems to be Avila's main interest, but they also have a nice theater program.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Greek Life

    I am unsure what this is asking for.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot to choose from. Everything from film club to radiology club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students serious about learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are underground tunnels that connect buildings to keep students out of the elements.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent school. Have yet to be disappointed.

    What to do for fun

    Skateboarding, drumming, painting, drawing, and reading.

    Food and Dining

    It's school food but the best school food I have had so far. A lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Avila has high standards but nothing that cannot be accomplished.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions. The staff at Avila is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Always get finance and books taking care of early so you are prepared for class without stress.

    In three sentences

    Avila has small class sizes and excellent staff. The professors are knowledgeable and truely care about the success of the students. The campus is clean and not crowded.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and don't do things at the very last minute

    In three sentences

    Avila has great people that work there, theyre helpful and patient.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Small campus and class sizes. More personable staff than larger institutions. It is also cheaper for transfer students.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always around

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's way to expensive for this education.

    What to do for fun

    Party with people here. Hookah bars down the road and go to walmart

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks. They try to make it better but it goes in and out of good and bad

    Dorm Life

    I love everyone in my dorm. It's bright at night but its really not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not hard if you don't procrastinate

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades in high school so you don't have a lot of money to owe.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. Do not procrastinate and you will be fine. It's a good school has great academics and a great class size

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety office are dedcated to keeping all people on campus safe, but there are a lot of incidents that happen with out their knowledge.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs for every major.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a student that wants to learn in close-knit, religious environment then Avila is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant think of any unusual traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    This college can be a little expensive but I feel that its worth it. The classes are hands on and informative. There is free tutoring available, and other options to help further your education.

    What to do for fun

    The college often has activities that will help the students become closer. The activities are fun and a good way to get rid of stress.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tasted the food at the cafe. The campus has a Subway which is good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really care about your education and helping students understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is to take the campus tour and speak with your academic advisor often.

    In three sentences

    Avila University is a great experience for a first-year student. The campus is small and friendly. The class sizes are also small so professors can get to know you.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always available and helpful. They are kind and are very prompt when there is an issue.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities on campus you just have to be willing to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a yearly food festival from all walks of life which is amazing!

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school to say the least but well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus does a good job at entertainment and they always have a weekly activity schedule for you to look at.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and there is a wide variety

    Academic Rigor

    In order to achieve you must apply yourself and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend study hard, go to class, and be respectful to everyone.

    In three sentences

    Avila University has been a vital component for me on recieving my education. The teachers are helpful and want their students to succeed. I would give Avila a 9/10.