Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Baker College of Allen Park Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alot of moms here, dads, kids fresh out of high school. We even have real world learners. It's a very diverse group.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepair yourself for the entrance exam. It's not that hard, just if you're not familar with new ways that math are done or somethings have been changed then brush up before you go.

    Bang for the buck

    Offers a variety of programs to help you if you are stuck in a subject. The online programs are great too.

    Am enjoying being here

    Look forward to everyday I have class. Taking on new challenges.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great. Everyone will help you get where you want to be in life. The students are ready to learn and fun to be around. You get to school and you can feel the energy of everyone learning and anxious to learn.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know I am safe at Baker.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE IS WELCOME!!!

    Bang for the buck

    The small class size , individual attention and tutoring is well worth the cost.

    Food and Dining

    The food is tasty but abit pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Baker in Allen park does not have a dorm. There are many apartments in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its never to late to learn.

    In three sentences

    Baker Collge is a great learning Institute. The small class size and friendly instructors make me feel welcome. Their encouragement and kind words make me realize a star is within my grasp.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafe rocks! great food!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    not too hard, but it's not easy either, it takes a lot of hard work and focus to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep focused, and if you take a psychology course, kineta morgan-paisley is by far the best professor in this field of education.

    In three sentences

    this school is amazing. the classes are very focused and straight forward, the educators are very helpful and always available when they say they will be, and the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. i love baker college!

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No security issues. I feel safe. Security will escort you to your vehicle if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided students. Parents who want to return to college.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is a little low for a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    You get the experience of meeting new people and learning a field.

    Food and Dining

    Baker College have a cafeteria and offer vending machines and microwaves to use for your convenience.

    Dorm Life

    Some campuses don't offer on-site living.

    Academic Rigor

    You must maintain a 2.0 in some classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and check the campus out. The library is free to use. You can take online classes. Baker College offers day and evening classes.

    In three sentences

    I give Baker College an A+ for being close to major freeways, For being convenient for parents who are returning to school and having a wonderful and supporting faculty.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun my classmates and I usually go to the hill and enjoy lunch, shopping, and enjoy the company of others.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe staff is friendly and helpful, clean, and provide good food at low prices.

    Dorm Life

    Although the Allen Park campus doesn't have dorms, I lived in the dorms on the Owosso campus for three terms and had a pleasant experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what path you want to take to minimize your time at school, buy books through online websites, and take your college career seriously!

    In three sentences

    Baker College is a goal-oriented, career school. The instructors are all actively working in the field they teach and provide hands on and current information regarding their profession. Overall, I believe this is a truly wonderful college.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The ECE club is great =)

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about getting their degree and getting a job.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of shops on the hill for in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply to Baker of Allen Park.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work in the classes but it is all relevant.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid! Talk to the head of the department you are applying for - they can be super helpful. Register for classes as early as you can.

    In three sentences

    Baker College has a professional atmosphere. The instructors have been amazing and helpful with any questions I have had and gave wonderful suggestions. Class times could be offered at more times.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining area has reasonable pricing. The service is better than previous years.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on this area. I do not live on campus.

    In three sentences

    I rate Baker College as an academic focus campus. I really enjoy being a student at Baker College.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel very safe with the security. They monitor everything. 5 stars.

    Food and Dining

    The have a cafeteria that offers a variety of food and its good and affordable. 4 stars

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    They have really small class size they are all well equipped teachers. You will still have to apply the work in order to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a very friendly and inviting school. It has professional faculty and staff that are very helpful. Baker College is very competitive and expensive.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Baker offers many different clubs but i do not partake in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults who have families and full-time jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker is reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not easy by any means but it's very doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and be diligent in your studies, it will pay huge dividends in the future.

    In three sentences

    I believe Baker College is a great place for higher learning. Baker is flexible with its class schedules for adults and works with the students to assure graduation. I have had the opportuinity to meet several great instructors and network myself through these meetings.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Okay safety.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    To my knowledge there are none available.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with low-income families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap school, and good financial aid office available.

    What to do for fun

    There are local restaurants and shopping areas near by,

    Food and Dining

    The old owner of Baker Cafe had good food, but the new owner has made a lot of changes. I personally do not find the new food as good as the previous.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing available for this location.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspects are really good, apart from a few experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your very best freshman year, it can make or break your overall GPA. Have a positive attitude and ask a lot of questions.

    In three sentences

    Clean school with small classroom sizes and hands-on learning. Great school to go to for getting done with prerequisites and associate degrees. Although its is important to know that credits do not transfer to some schools.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. There are adults and students directly out of high school. Even some parents going to the same school as their kids :) If you're not wanting a big university where you don't get one on one attention, this is perfect. There are small class sizes and they work with everyone to make sure they are taking classes they need for their program.

    Bang for the buck

    It's more expensive than a community college, but you'll be thankful. You get so much out of it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at the Allen Park location

    Academic Rigor

    I've learned so much. I have yet to have a bad teacher at Baker. They are all very knowledgeable and help you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with an advisor. They are so helpful on getting you started on a path you'll love.

    In three sentences

    Baker has made me believe I can get a degree. After spending almost 5 years at HFCC, not getting anywhere, Baker was recommended to me. They are very organized and well structured.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Not living on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. There are many people there that can help you.

    In three sentences

    Baker College is very accommodating to all of your needs that you have and very helpful with questions that may arrise in everyday situations. They have helped me get back to becoming a full time student as well as work full time. They also have many resources on campus to help you with your classwork.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I rate it a 9

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe school with lots of cameras and security .

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Older students like parents.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing just study.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and affordable, but a small cafe!

    Dorm Life

    There's no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers care in giving a good education to their students while some don't. So it depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since classes are only 10 wks students should be on top at all times because each class period contains a lot of information all at once.

    In three sentences

    Baker College is a good school for those who are interested in finishing a career quicker then at a regular University. They offer suitable class times for all and classes are only 10 wks long. The staff are also always available to help, which is great!

  • 03/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    study your in school this is not the time to play.

    Food and Dining

    good id you like fast food

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    study

    In three sentences

    I like the school. it's close to my home so I can take the bus if need be.