Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Baker College of Auburn Hills Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/05/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nerds/ or people that already know what they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    My opinion only any school is cheaper than baker and you will a lot more at any other school.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, no how many credits/ classes you take you always get the same amount back for you student loan refund check.

    Did learn a lot

    I didn't learn alot, occ is better!! :}

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help, do not fall behind, stay focused, and take advantage of all the resources available on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Students and Instructors are friendly and helpfull.

    Am learning a lot

    Really fast pace courses, but excellent instructors!!

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated hard working

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get accepted into a limited enrollment program you must maintain a high GPA

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Whether you are starting out or returning, Baker is great for just about anybody!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is small isn't any reason to write it off.

    Bang for the buck

    Of course it would be nice if college was free but as far as costs go I find that Baker is very reasonable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because it is smaller than most schools, I know most of my professors and they still remember me. Also, the class sizes are smaller so I am able to make many friends and we all support and help each other.

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part I learn a lot from my professors. I am challenged but at the same time the classes are not that difficult.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this college encourages and enforces campus safety. you'll feel great knowing your safe!

    Bang for the buck

    no college is cheap let alone free! i believe with the right financial assistance anybody can attend baker.

    What to do for fun

    you can attend events like auburn hills relay for life, brooksie way 1/2 marathon, woodward dream cruise, and numerous concerts and sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    you'll find a lot of great restaurants within a 5 mile radius.

    Dorm Life

    baker college of auburn hills doesn't have a dorm which really sucks!

    Tips for prospective students

    listen to your advisor! they'll never tell you anything wrong. they are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    baker college is one of a few schools that want to see you succeed. you won't have to worry about looking for a job after you graduate. this school actually helps you!

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety of activities and clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Parents who also work. I am a single parent with a job. I find that so are most of my classmates. The teachers get that life happens and do everything they can to help.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafe with a large variety of food. The room is huge and a great place to study.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged with my work but in a good way. I feel challenged at the beginning of the semester but very accomplish at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the people there to help. All of the administrators and first year adviser's are very helpful and worth asking questions.

    In three sentences

    Everyone at Baler college is friendly and helpful. The campus is not to large so it is easy to locate your class. I feel very comfortable at Baker and am do very well.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Located in Auburn Hills, MI one may head out to a Pistons game, or even the Lions. The arts beats and eats festival is a hit over the Summer as well. Various clubs, such as Clutch Cargo, provide a vibrant night life to blow off some steam!

    Food and Dining

    They have a student restaurant-style cafeteria that is staffed by employee/students with a respectable menu. I do not often eat there as we are on a tight budget, but the food is affordable should you desire to partake.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know of the dorm situation as I live in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes/coursework tends to challenge your ability to adapt to road blocks. However they make heavy use of virtualisation technologies for the technology majors, so toy with those to get a feel for what will be required of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with your game face on. Classes are condensed to 10 week sessions (six in online classes) with zero room for error. Those not prepared to give their all, and utilize resources for there for student assistance, will get left behind.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a fast paced, career orientated college designed to move students from the classroom into the workforce as quickly as possible. The instructors are very friendly, and always available to assist the students in a myriad of ways, from providing references on your resume, to actually giving out job openings. The instructors are generally employed in the fields they teach, so you are getting up to date instruction form industry professionals, as opposed to stale textbook instructions.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security guards and well lit areas

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Depending on your major there is usually a club for you.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for hands on learning. Free tutoring. Reasonable prices. Continuous contacts; many of the teachers will help you with problems or questions even after courses are over.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love hanging out in the library where it is quiet and comfortable. New chairs and lots of books to read are what I look for and you can find them aplenty.

    Bang for the buck

    Because you are learning from those that have experience in the field you are learning from the best and not some person that has a degree but no experience. I am finishing up my classes this year and I already have less in loans then my friends have for their first year in college.

    What to do for fun

    Usually I don't have time for fun but Great Lakes Crossing is near by as well as restaurants. The campus is around Oakland University as well as Oakland Community College so the area is populated with college students.

    Food and Dining

    Many of the different campus' remodeled their buildings and the food as well. The cooks are amazing and work hard to feed all the students. You must try the Gyro!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You are learning from people that do what they teach for a living or have done it in the past. Many classes are hands on and if that is not for you, free tutoring is available at each campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early if you are not use to the college paperwork. When I started out it was difficult and I kept falling behind on deadlines. Now, I start the paperwork as soon as it is available.

    In three sentences

    I have had excellent teachers as well as assistance at baker; from registering to homework. Prices at this school are amazing and reasonable; about to graduate and barely hit the $10,000 mark in loans. This school is very friendly and an all around good decision.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always driving around and keeping an eye on things. The parking lot is not too big and there is always plenty of parking near the building. If your worried about walking out to your car after class at night, they are more than willing to escort you to your car and the office is easy to find near the main central area of the building.

    Greek Life

    No idea

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a ton of clubs, so many that I didn't even get to read all of the banners at new student orientation.

    Great for these types of students

    I need smaller class sizes to be able to focus. Also, the school emphasizes team work to the students. That it's important to help one another out instead of turning everything into a competition to get into the programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing I can think of, although it's kind of weird that they have a piano for anyone to use in the common area for who ever feels like playing it.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker College is a little more expensive, but I feel as tho I am actually going to get to where I want to be. If I have a question, someone is always there to answer it. I am glad I transferred to Baker. Also, they have smaller class sizes than even Oakland Community College, which makes me feel like I am going to get the individual attention needed to pass the class.

    What to do for fun

    Baker doesn't have any sports teams, but they have a lot of clubs to chose from that can pacify your time.

    Food and Dining

    Debit card friendly vending machines and a great little bistro that offers a lot. It can get pricey if your eating here everyday tho, but it least it's an option. Parking is close to the building so you could always pack a lunch if you wanted too.

    Dorm Life

    Baker of Auburn Hills doesn't have dorm rooms on campus. But they do have a great common area in the middle of the building set up with plenty of tables to study, a few televisions to help relax and pass the time, debit card friendly vending machines, a piano, and a bistro cafeteria set up. And if that's to busy to concentrate, there is another study room up stairs that is slightly smaller and a lot quieter.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff want to help you attain your career goals. Baker is a very career drivenschool with a staff that only want to help you get to where you want to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call and make an appointment with an admissions counselor to find out if Baker is a good fit for you. They are very friendly and don't make you feel obligated to attend the college. They can answer any question you could possibly ask.

    In three sentences

    Administration is so helpful with any questions you could possibly have. The campus is small and easy to figure out. Lots of places to sit and relax to study in downtime between classes.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always see an officer walking the halls and at night three cars patrol the parking lot and tend to sit in darker areas and ALWAYS offer to walk women to their cars. This campus as all retired police .

    Food and Dining

    Kinda pricey

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in and talk to the offices. They will bend over backward to help you.

    In three sentences

    The Staff is beyond helpful. The Teachers are awesome. This campus is awesome.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Baker College has great campus safety

    Clubs and Activities

    Baker College has a large number of clubs and activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    Baker College is great for all students.

    Food and Dining

    Baker college has an awesome bistro, lots of vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely seek advise from the academic advisors on a regular basis. Attend class regularly.

    In three sentences

    Baker College is an outstanding college with various degree options. Baker College academic advisors are very knowledgeable. The professors at Baker College are very educated.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    camp

    Food and Dining

    They have many food choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Never have been in a dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not really sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and get a scholarship, because they are a little bit expense

    In three sentences

    They are willing to work with you. Many of their degrees are pretty good. There easy to talk to.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always patrolling the parking lot and the hallways. I see them all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hands on learners and ones that prefer a smaller class.

    Bang for the buck

    I could have taken my courses at another college, but this one offered many of the same classes for a lower

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs to join, this is a great way to meet people with the same interest as you and some of the peers in your classes.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and many other options to get something if you are feeling hungry or need a pick me up.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know anything about the dorms, I commute from home.

    Academic Rigor

    It may be a little different than most colleges, 10 week courses and 4 quarters but that is one reason I picked Baker!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help, ask all the questions you need to! They are there to help you, use it!

    In three sentences

    I love the help they provided me when registering to become a student. I had many questions when registering for my first classes, they answered all of them with no problem. Now I have been there for 3 quarters and I love every minute of it!

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Terrific, although not needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes. Debate, Nursing Guild, Dental Hygiene.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes. Ethnical appealing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school hosts free events all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Small classrooms and I feel important.

    What to do for fun

    Mingle.

    Food and Dining

    Grill and small store, pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    ADN Nursing Program

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework.

    In three sentences

    It works. I'm almost finished and I get after graduation direction. Im overall happy with my experience.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety at Baker College is top notch. They have their own office and personnel to watch over staff and students 24/7 with surveillance cameras. The staff at campus safety is always willing to help.

    Greek Life

    Baker College of Auburn Hills does not offer dorm rooms or Greek Life, and it is more for the students who want to venture away from that aspect of college life and focus more on their academics.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baker College of Auburn Hills has a variety of clubs to suit anyone's interests. Clubs for men and women of all ages, this is a great way for people to become involved as well as make some new friends. These types of clubs offered would look great on a resume.

    Great for these types of students

    Baker College would be great for students looking to go into Business, Health Care, Automotive, Human Resources, and even Culinary at a specific campus. There is something for everyone at Baker College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always something going on at Baker College. Whether a celebration for Martin Luther King Jr. or a bake sale to raise money for a club on the campus site, there is usually always something exciting happening.

    Bang for the buck

    Courses at Baker College are 10-week courses and the instructors are very knowledgeable and can provide the necessary tools a student will need for the future. Baker College of Auburn Hills offers a cafe, payment plans for tuition, as well as activities that the family can enjoy as well.

    What to do for fun

    Baker College offers activities throughout the school year such as Bake Sales, Book Fairs, Festivals, as well as Celebrations and Live Music.

    Food and Dining

    Baker College offers a dining area that students and faculty can sit, relax and enjoy a meal. The Baker Bistro provides a menu that isn't too bad on a person's wallet and offers freshly made food daily. Everyone is sure to get their fix at the bistro.

    Dorm Life

    The Campus of Auburn Hills does not offer dorms but their are certain campuses that do. It depends on what the person is looking for and how Baker can cater to their needs.

    Academic Rigor

    Baker College is very strict on their Academic policy. If grades are below the requirement for the campus, they will take drastic measures and may even expel the student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Baker College has different campuses within the state of Michigan and they are bound to cater to anyone's needs. You can enjoy a campus tour from one of the staff who can show you around and what the college has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Baker College is a great school for those looking to venture out from the ordinary and try something a little bit different. It's a great place a good to get a head start on your career. Baker College makes it worth your while.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any problems with other student s for them to get involved. Everybody pretty much stays to themselves

    Greek Life

    Dont belong to any groups

    Clubs and Activities

    dont belong to any clubs or activities

    Great for these types of students

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None, go to class listen to the teacher do the work

    Bang for the buck

    A little pricey for school, though it is well worth it

    What to do for fun

    collect comic books

    Food and Dining

    DIne at home

    Dorm Life

    Live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Alot of work for a short semester

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard it will pay off

    In three sentences

    Teachers are professional,they help when you need it. Faculty are very interested with decision making about classes. Havent had any uncessary drama of any kind

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always driving around the parking lot and walking around the building. And if your on campus late at night, they are more than willing to escort you to your car. Also, if you get to class early and the door is still locked, they will let you in if you ask.

    Greek Life

    I don't anything about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs in the school for almost anything related to what they teach.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get through school and graduate so they can get going with a career.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker is a little more pricey than other schools, but for me has been worth every single penny for me. And anytime I have a question about signing up for classes, what classes I should take or have a question about financial aid, I always get a comlete and straight answer, which is huge since where I came from was always a run around, never had the run around here, not once.

    What to do for fun

    There's not a lot to do in the area, and Baker doesn't have any sprots teams, but they have a lot of clubs in almost every category if your into that sort of thing. They also have some cool cases with interesting things to see and there are televisions in the student center if you need to pass some time and take a break from studying.

    Food and Dining

    They have an awesome bistro where you food is made fresh while you wait. It's totally worth it if you have a few minutes to wait. And they have a full salad bar and lots of healthy options too. Also, instead of vending machines, they have a kiosk with so many more choices, in the student center and in the student study center upstairs near the library. Quick, easy and convenient.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are 10 weeks long at most, so be prepared to buckle down and study. But the teachers want you to do well to pass and there are endless resources to get help including free tutors. The online classes are a lot but worth it if you can buckle down for 5 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your on the fence about applying to Baker College, come up with a list of questions and meet with an academic advisor. They don't try to pressure you into applying and they answer every single one of your questions. Be prepared to study for all of your classes, this is a career orientated school, so their goal is to get you graduated and into the career you want. You don't get lost in the crowd like a community college and you feel like you belong at Baker.

    In three sentences

    The staff support for students is amazing. I didn't get into the program I wanted, so I am starting Bachelor classes as a back up until next year. The teachers want you to learn the material, but want you to do well and pass at the same time.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The student center offers a lot. It's nice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but it's not too far from the main roads and isn't in a cluttered road either. It's easy to get there and easy to get out.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are awesome, the material is great and it's in a pace that doesn't drag and it's not so fast that I become confused.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I can give students who are looking to attend baker college is to come prepared to learn and be serious about their education.

    In three sentences

    Baker college of auburn hills will help you get on your way to becoming the person you are trying to be. They will help you every step of the way as well as provide you with every opportunity to become successful. They are hands on and give you the classes you need.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you looking for a school that care about your career, then Baker college is for you. If you looking for a school that help you make your resume look professional, then Baker college is for you. If see yourself saying I did it with the help of Baker college, then Baker is for you.

    In three sentences

    Baker college gives it student real life experiences that they have learn in their profession. Baker college classes sizes are small that help learning better. Baker college offer hybrid class at that helps work with the students work schedule.

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Auburn Hills police are contantly parolling

    Greek Life

    im not greek i couldnt tell you

    Great for these types of students

    all kinds they offer a variety of subjects

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am not sure yet haven't started

    Bang for the buck

    If you qualify for the pell grant it knocks a huge chunk of change off the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    i am not sure no classes have started yet

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafeteria but haven't eaten there

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms on the campus of this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure just yet I haven't attended classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your Fasfa pin and all of your transcripts

    In three sentences

    I enjoy working with the Counselor and admissions people who have helped get me enrolled. The campus is very clean, very easy to access and is in great condition. So far all the staff have been wonderful and and awesome to work with.