Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Baker College of Jackson Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone is great for this college. Adults, fresh grads, or anyone looking for a better job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study, Study! Read syllabus to stay ahead of the pack. Try not to miss school. Ask lots of questions.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not very expensive here. Tuition is only about $2,000 to $5,000. A better alternative instead of spending a quarter of a million going to a recognized university. Almost anyone can afford this college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very kind and considerable. Campus security helps make the campus safe for all. They are actual police officers and they can arrest people. All the staff are very wonderful to be around and very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers will do anything to see everyone succeed. Teachers are very knowledgeable about their subject. If asked questions, they will help you understand the subject being asked about. They also present real world information.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers always on patrol

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    An adult college, not many clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, employed, out of high school, dual enrolled.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable tuition and plenty of learning opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is slightly over priced but tastes great, located near a main strip with plenty of fast food options.

    Dorm Life

    Currently no dorms or campus living

    Academic Rigor

    Baker College packs each course into 10 week segments. This is a face paced environment, which lessons the course load in a single semester. Being full time, I am able to take 3 classes a semester and still graduate on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college for those that are unsure of big campus life. It has a warm and welcoming feel, and is open to all ages. The broad variety of night classes has made it manageable for me to maintain my young family, and spend time with my children, and still be able to maintain a decent GPA.

    In three sentences

    Baker College is a wonderful option for adults with families or jobs to get the education they deserve or need. The curriculum is face paced and the instructors are understanding that their are lives outside of college. Online options are available for courses unable to be taken on campus as well.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is very safe, the national statistics for the Campus shows that not much goes on here that would be dangerous or unsafe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few Campus groups to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults wishing to go back to school for a better job. Although Baker does fit into the needs of those graduating High school and wanting to progress onto a Career it is geared towards the Older crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    The college will put you on track for the program you are wanting to pursue.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy Jackson, although if you are attending this college and have lived in Jackson all your life it might be a bit boring.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Center does serve food but its mostly pizza and hot dogs with a few prepared sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms in Jackson at this time.

    Academic Rigor

    Computer Classes can get rough if you aren't good at the subject you are jumping into. Ensure you have a familiarity with the subject before starting that track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into everything about the College and ensure you speak with the folks in Admissions about all your needs.

    In three sentences

    Baker College is a Great School if you are looking for more than an Associates Degree and don't want to jump into a Large University. The Instructors are from the career field they are teaching in which adds a bonus to the education experience.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are well worth the fee.

    Food and Dining

    Limited to small cafe on campus. There are lots of local restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    The Jackson campus has no dorms currently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read the syllabus, and follow all the guidelines.

    In three sentences

    Baker College has a lot of opportunities. You can get anything from certificates to Masters Degrees. There are several fields to choose from like Health and Technology. The professors work in the fields they teach.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students. They offer a wide variety of evening and online courses.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive, but it is worth it for the level of education you receive.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much available on campus, but there is food very close to campus

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but they make sure you are prepared for your career field.

    In three sentences

    Baker College has a wonderful teaching staff. They also have small classrooms for a more one on one learning experience. The Dean's are great at helping you get where you need to be in your education.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is every where and very helpful. Baker has its own giant section of one of the buildings dedicated to Campus Safety!

    Greek Life

    I don't know if there is any Greek Life since there are no dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are many activities and clubs I just haven't looked into them yet. Since I am so new, I'm trying to focus on getting good grades right now.

    Great for these types of students

    Baker College of Jackson is for students who are very serious about their career and ready to get started as soon as possible.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know any because I am so new. But I really can't wait to see if there any!!!

    Bang for the buck

    One of the things I love about Baker is that I pay ( Tuition ) as much at LCC as I do at Baker. Not only do they provide me with a higher quality of education, but I get more perks going to Baker than where I was at ( LCC ) For example, at Baker I pay around 9,000$ a year for tuition and pay for my classes, my labs, my books and student parking is free. While at LCC I had to pay 9,000$ for a year while it only payed for my classes and books. I had to pay for parking and extra fees.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of restaurants to go out to eat and also a couple of malls are close by. Not to mention Spas, movie theaters, bowling alleys, and many more things to do!

    Food and Dining

    Food varies! You can have pretty much anything you want. And if you don't think anything sounds good there, Hudson's Grill is just next door with AMAZING food and fun activities like outdoor volleyball!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus. But there are plenty of apartments close by.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in the Vet Tech program and only 20 students can get in you have to hold a B- or higher. Baker takes that things seriously! So you need to take it seriously too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you schedule a visit and talk with an adviser! They are amazing and help you so much!

    In three sentences

    I love Baker College. This school is so focused on getting you to your goal. I am beyond happy to be attend Baker!

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campuses make it one of the safest places to go to college! I really don't even worry about locking my car doors half the time!

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure of all....check out their website!

    Great for these types of students

    Single parents, new high school graduates, retired population and over-all....anyone who can handle an advanced curriculum!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Life-long job seekers help is available to all Baker College graduates for the rest of their lives with a 97% rate of graduates working within their field.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker College of Jackson is about 210 a credit hour. It is a bit more pricey than community, but less expensive than a four-year college. It has life-time job seekers help and as for the terms themselves...We at Baker only go ten weeks comparably to traditional and most four year colleges. Totally worth the money in my book. The only thing is the transferability of credits to certain other colleges can be challenging; however, there are certain four-year colleges such as Eastern and Central Michigan Universities who work specifically with Baker College students!

    What to do for fun

    Baker College of Jackson has a restuarant right next door that has outdoor volleyball and great food and drink to back it up! There are different clubs within the college to meet just about anyone's particular flavor!

    Food and Dining

    Baker College of Jackson is surrounded by fine dining right down to small town dining cafes and all within three miles.

    Dorm Life

    I have not had the pleasure of living within the dorms of Baker College.

    Academic Rigor

    I give Baker College of Jackson four stars only because I have not experienced a four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are attending Baker College, be prepared to experience wonderful teachers, an advanced, ten-week curriculum and life-long job seekers help from Baker.

    In three sentences

    I rate Baker College of Jackson an eight. I have never experienced a four year college and attended a local, community college before I attended Baker College of Jackson and have nothing but great things to say about this college. If you are a single parent as I and are looking to advance your career, check out Baker College at any of their state-wide campuses throughout Michigan!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    just graduating and do not care for the college dorm or frat experience, returning to work single mothers, or senior citizens and mid life men and women looking to get certified in a different training field .

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are located in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available

    Academic Rigor

    Your courses are 10 week courses and if you enroll online they are 6 weeks. I find classroom courses more suited for myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and be sure of the job field you would like to pursue. Check out the campus and decipher between a private college or a community college, being there is the matter of transferring your credits to another school.

    In three sentences

    There seems to be not enough different courses offered through the Coldwater branch. This campus (Coldwater) is rather new . Baker College is a fast paced center to obtain your credits and a thouroughly enjoyable school to acquire your degree.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's Jackson, not much

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your prepared mentally before entering college or you will not do as well as you'd like.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are tough but if your serious about your education this is the place to be. You will walk away with confidence in the education you have been given. You WILL do better with Baker.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Baker is very safe and is constantly enforcing safety procedures.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for working moms, first year college, and any other individual that has a complicated schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    The college seems pretty standard, but offers an intern program to help students acquire a job more easily.

    What to do for fun

    There are many areas for students to sit on comfortable chairs and socialize with friends and fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    Baker has a cafeteria on site which provides friendly service. The eating area is kept clean and neat.

    Dorm Life

    Baker does not offer Dorm service.

    Academic Rigor

    Work is challenging, but not so much that students pull their hair out in frustration. Baker also has on site tutors or contacts students to help struggling students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Baker College is extremely helpful in looking for scholorships and grants to help students attend. Students should take classes when they are offered because some courses are not offered year round.

    In three sentences

    Baker College offers a variety of programs for aspiring students. I have had an enjoyable experience and have learned a lot of information. However, I don't care for the limitations for the book store service.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I personally think the food is way to expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your going to leave home to go to Baker of Jackson, You will need to find a place to live if your not going to live with your parents.

    In three sentences

    It is an alright school. There are many programs. The class sizes are fairly small.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good Campus Safety

    What to do for fun

    They do not have sports. This is a graduate college.

    Food and Dining

    Has good food, vendors come in and help out.

    Dorm Life

    The Baker Im going to doesn't have a dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you have your tuition all figured out, along with books.

    In three sentences

    Nice hands on college. Helpful with you're problems. Nice small class rooms, for one on one help.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is hard but worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay with the program. Breathe and take care of yourself. Listen. Do your own work.

    In three sentences

    I really believe that I am getting an excellent education at Baker College of Jackson. They are keen on professionalism and respect. I know I will be an excellent choice for my field.