Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Baker College of Owosso Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great I am in the Education field so many of my instructors teach at the local schools and other university's so they teach night classes. When leaving classes at night I see Campus Safety in the parking lot driving around and standing on corners watching students. During the winter months I turn my car starter on which it makes my flashers blink but Campus Safety drove up to my car thinking I needed assistants. They are very helpful to their students.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't attend any groups or activities within the school because I am so busy with my family but I do see information posted all around the school about these groups.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Baker is great for all ages! That's one reason why I like Baker I am a 31year old student and I attend class with students that just graduated High School and other that are many years older than me who are just coming back to school. We have a diverse ethnicity throughout the College also.

    Bang for the buck

    When looking at Baker College of Owosso for college you may think this is expensive but if you look at all the other Colleges and University's it is very comparable. Credit hours are around the same price but may vary depending on Government decisions.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang out with my family, I am married and have 3 children. We spend time around our home gardening and swimming in our pool.

    Food and Dining

    Baker has a large selection in the cafeteria (Food for thought) I love that they have a great selection of healthy foods. (Cups of fruit, vegetables, Cheese and Crackers) along with a small store and great hot food that can be ordered! Try the Breakfast Sandwiches!

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms but I have many classmates whom have. Many say that they love the new dorms at the Woodard Station which they just built in 2010.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the most challenging thing about Baker College is the short semesters compared to a large university. Baker runs on 10 week courses during Fall, Winter and Spring and 9 weeks in the summer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your dedicated to College, Baker College's classes run on a 10 weeks schedule so there is a lot of information in a short span of time.

    In three sentences

    Baker College of Owosso is a great home town college that allows local students to get the same great education as students attending a large University. I enjoy meeting the instructors and becoming familiar with other students in my program. I wouldn't chose any other College to attend and this spring I will become a Baker College Graduate!

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    like I said they have cheesy activities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their is a beautiful lake behind the school.

    Bang for the buck

    take out people trash

    What to do for fun

    Owosso is boring so I cant really say their is much to do although they come up with activities but their kind of cheesy.

    Tips for prospective students

    All you have to do is make sure you do financial aide and your advisers will take care of the rest. if your into drinking and partying and want to live in resident life this is not the campus you want to go to.

    In three sentences

    I think Baker college has excellent services. Baker college is a beautiful campus . Baker College Has An ADI Building for if you want to do auto and diesel repairing this is the perfect place to do it

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go do your visits and have them take you around to the various departments.

  • 10/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Baker College of Owosso is great for students who enjoy personable classroom settings. You will not see a classroom auditorium filled with 100s of students. Here you will be able to speak with your instructors one-on-one and get to know everyone on a more personal level. It is also good for students who enjoy more of a rural setting but can easily drive 20-30 minutes and be near a bigger city such as Flint, or East Lansing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students: Make sure you go over to the admissions office for a grand tour of the campus. There they will show you around the dorms, classrooms, gym, and all the buildings you will need to farmiliarize yourself with here on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker College of Owosso gives you a great bang for your buck. The cost of tuition and residence halls are outweighed by the type of education you will receive here at Baker.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is rather enjoyable. The campus is easy to navigate. The classrooms are very personable. There are many different things for one to do around Owosso. There are trails for one to enjoy, the Curwood Castle, there are many restaurants, all the shopping needs one may have, and even art galleries.

    Am learning a lot

    Baker College of Owosso has very professional staff. Every teacher makes sure that you understand the course curriculum by the time you have completed the coursework. Although it is a rather small school, I believe you can learn just as much through Baker as if you had attended a larger university. The Baker College quote is You'll do better with Baker and I believe that to be true.

  • 12/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for all types of students from all types of backgrounds, its a great school to be at if you want to get into your career in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tip would be to go to the school and check it out and see if you feel it is the right school for you, because seeing a college in person tells you if it is the college for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a private school, but the prices are a lot cheaper then a regular private. Its an affordable school with a great educational program. I recommend this college for any person who is wanting the career of there chose.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoying being at Baker and living on campus they people at baker are so nice and helpful you never feel lost. They help you understand everything and answer your question in a way that helps you understand.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot. Baker is a career college and you can tell that when you walk around the staff are dress professionally. The teachers are so helpfully they want you to succeed in live and help you as much as they can.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is great they will help you change flat tires or open your car doors if you lock your keys in the car. They also take care of lost and found. They will turn homework in for you if you are sick or can't make it to class.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that need one on one with instructors and they also have night classes for those who work during the day.

    Bang for the buck

    I really like that you have the opportunity to get to know your faculty.

    What to do for fun

    If you live in the dorms there are many activities put on by the resident halls.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus, they have a snack bar for convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    It is field orientated school, so I think the work load is reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a school that you can easily ask questions this is a good school.

    In three sentences

    Baker College has a mix of students from older students to students who are just out of high school. It has small classes ranging from 5 to 20 students per class.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Baker College of Owosso is great for students who are returning to college after some time. It is not as overwhelming as the large, state schools but has a more serious feel than the small, community colleges! Perfect for anyone who is serious about their college education but doesn't necessarily want to do the whole college thing again.

    Bang for the buck

    Although you pay more than you would at a community college you are getting more for your money. There are less students so the student/teacher ratio is smaller and the staff at Baker really care about their students success. The campus is small and not overwhelming. It is a beautiful campus that is very well kept! There are no extra fees for classes or labs, everything is included in the tuition.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy sports you're only about 45 minutes from Lansing or Saginaw which have minor league baseball and hockey teams respectively. Both cities have multiple shopping malls, theaters and restaurants. In Owosso there is a movie theater right down the street from Baker as well as a newly renovated theater for plays. There is a state park about 15 minutes away in Laingsburg that has a lake and bike/walking trails.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafe in the student center that has decent food but the prices are a bit high unless you are part of the student meal plan for those living in the dorms. Also, allow the food is good it can take awhile to receive your food so if you only have a short time between classes I would suggest bringing your own snack instead.

    Academic Rigor

    Acceptance into most programs is based on a students academic performance in the prerequisite classes! Although this can be intimidating it is good to be challenged and know that those who are in your program with you are competent. Tutoring is FREE to all students upon request for ANY class!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they have your program of choice as not all Baker College campuses have every program! Be prepared to do the work...if you're not ready to put in the time and effort do not apply to Baker as the staff and students take academics very seriously!

    In three sentences

    Baker College of Owosso is a great small town college! All of the students seem to be there for the right reasons and seem to be focused and the staff are amazingly helpful! It is a wonderful combination of a large state school and a small community college all in one!

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety is taken sereusly.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in the dorm rooms.

    Food and Dining

    Not worth the cost, but good food

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your GPA up and turn in the forms on time.

    In three sentences

    Great Atmospher, housing, and classes. The internet is fast and reliable. Classes are mostly fun.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus officers are always available & patrolling.

    Great for these types of students

    Goal-oriented.

    Bang for the buck

    It maybe a bit expensive, but I think its worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Always plan for plenty of study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do plenty of research about your program of interest. If there is an entrance exam or a point system to get into your program, please ask questions if you don't understand anything. Always try to get the highest grade possible, so you won't have to repeat a class.

    In three sentences

    I feel Baker College of Owosso is a good school. The instructors are genuine and caring. They want to see you succeed.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is flawless.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get their education out of the way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    That is it made up of trimesters instead of semesters.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the lounge.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    In three sentences

    They care about the students and the education that we receive from them. They do their job with the up most respect and care.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety was very helpful, they are always there for whatever it was you needed 24/7. From helping you to your car at night, to unlocking your car if you happened to lock your keys in the car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baker college was always trying to put together activities for everyone weather it be sports of crafts.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are outgoing and love to have fun and meet others and enjoy the college experience then baker college is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    being apart of baker college of owossso you had a lot of resources available to you. free gym discounts on restaurants in the community

    What to do for fun

    Played volleyball and worked out.

    Food and Dining

    i did not eat the food plans that they had available, i bought my own food but for those who didn't have a car they had great food plans available.

    Dorm Life

    i loved living in the dorm i feel like it was all apart of the college experience. i wouldn't change it for anything

    Academic Rigor

    They have very high standards for there students and if you did not uphold your GPA you where not able to live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the free help.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Baker college of owosso, the classes are small and the teachers really do care. They have free help to all students who need help in classes.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to work fast and rush through classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's the same price if not a little more expensive than EMU, but the quality of education is ten times worse.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Food for Thought has strange schedules, and the foods expensive, but it's edible at least.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice, though dorm life here is boring, I'm not too sociable so it doesn't bother me.

    Academic Rigor

    Very poor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do go here, be prepared for the 10 week quarters, they cram classes and rush through the material. The only decent thing here are the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a very odd school, they use quarters instead of semester and run on 10 week courses. I've had an extremely poor experience here in terms of actually getting an education. I would never recommend this school to anyone.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining area at the school has anything and everything you could ever want.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live at the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not really participate in a lot of activities right now, but I would love to be able to. If I could get a scholarship to help with my schooling, I could then participate in school activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that Baker is a great school, even if you just start out there and transfer to another school later. Baker has a great atmosphere for people returning to school after years, or for people just getting out of high school.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending college at Baker. Everyone is Friendly, the staff is helpful, and the teachers are amazing. My classes have been challenging and worthwhile, I have learned so much from my time there!

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is nice they will sit and talk just to waste time and get to know you.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are small but can be fun

    Great for these types of students

    great for out going students and students that want to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not really any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    the price for college here is the best I've found for diesel technicians.

    What to do for fun

    hang out, play games, go walk around town, bmx park

    Food and Dining

    I buy my own food to save money and have less debt when I graduate.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not to bad but you need to be social to get the best experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Has very good academic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    commit when you go to college don't drop out it'll be the worst thing you can do.

    In three sentences

    A good, well put together school. Nice solid programs structures. Accelerated classes instead of dragging them out.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Baker College is a very safe campus. Every student has the number to the campus safety office stored in their cell phone. Campus safety officers are willing to do anything to ensure that you are safe. For example, if you call and say that you do not feel safe walking to your dorm from class, the will gladly walk with you.

    Great for these types of students

    Baker of Owosso is great for students who aren't really into partying and staying up all night. This college is for student who put their academics above most.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun in Owosso. Most student go to East Lansing to have fun , which is about 20 minutes away from Owosso.

    Food and Dining

    Students have the choice to buy their own groceries and cook them in their dorm room. If cooking is too much of hassle, you also have the option of eating at Food For Thought, which is located in the student center. You can buy food from there or you can set up a meal plan through financial aid. The food is actually very good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. Each one has its own bathroom, living room, kitchen, and of course the bedroom. This is a dry campus so no alcohol is allowed in the dorms. For the most part it is very quiet on campus and especially in the dorms. Everyone is mature and considerate of others.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics in Baker College of Owosso are as strict as you make them as a student. If you want to pick up a fortunate career, then you would make academics a top priority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused no matter what, do not start slacking. You will have a successful career as long as you are determined and stay on task.

    In three sentences

    Baker is very dedicated to a good education and occupation finding. There is no other option but to be successful on this very dry campus. On a scale 1-10, I rate Baker college of Owosso a 9.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They think they're funny sometimes, but that's what you get when they are doing this job because they cannot be real cops.

    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    There's a bowling alley and a movie theater minutes away. Or go to Michigan State games.

    Food and Dining

    Food for Thought is pretty expensive, but you have a full kitchen in your dorm. Or there are fast food places pretty close.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms. Apartment style or suite style. Suite has four bedrooms, a bathroom with two toilets/showers and three sinks, a full kitchen, and a living room. Perfect.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different classes one can take and they can challenge your mind. Don't sweat it and be confident.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to change in college and make new friends. Don't do anything too stupid though. These teachers and campus staff are here to help you, do not ruin it.

    In three sentences

    It is a big change from high school, especially with having no sports to attend. It is a great college if you are sure about your future and possibly know what you would like to be. For what you learn, the cost is pretty low.