Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Baker University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great from students who want to truly be the best they can be. The students who want to learn about their future careers and also for those students who want to learn about themselves as individuals and how to make the best better, because I am sure that anyone who makes a decision to come to baker is already great.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only thing I would tell you is never take any thing for granted. You want to get the best quality education that you can and Baker is a awesome place to do so. You will learn so much from our teachers and from your fellow peers.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that I am getting an excellent education. I do not see this education experience as a waste of money. I think it is priceless.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here on campus. This almost feels like a second home to me. It is a fantastic place to learn and grow.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much not only about the course materials, but also how to grow up and take control of my own future.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't go.

    In three sentences

    terrible people who mislead and have no problem not telling you the truth. they say one thing then you find out it's not true, especially the department faculty i worked with. don't believe their claims of integrity.

  • 05/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are an active learner, and want teachers that will challenge and stretch your learning - this is the place for you. In my first year here, I have learned a multitude of things, but not just because a teacher taught it; but because a teacher encouraged me to learn it for myself. There are thousands of leadership and volunteer opportunities that will enable you to use the skills you learned in the classroom. This is also a great place if you like to not just be a part of a community, but to lead a part of a community and to truly be a part of something bigger than yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never pass up an opportunity! Baker has a lot to offer and countless opportunities, no matter your interest. But, you can't take advantage of them unless you are active and attempt to do so. Along with all of these opportunities, there are many tutors and people who are willing to help you along the way. These people are at your fingertips, its just a matter of asking for the help! So, never miss an opportunity and don't be afraid to ask for help - you will not regret it!

    Bang for the buck

    At first look, the expenses of Baker look pretty scary! However, I soon found that my money could not be better spent. I feel like I am getting an high quality education with teachers that care about my needs and future. At least once everyday, I will be walking somewhere on campus and I run into one of my professors, and they will always stop to say Hi Rachel! How are you today?. It's that caliber of personal attention that makes this place, the place to be!

    Am enjoying being here

    I just love living on this campus; when I first moved out and away from my parents, I thought it would take me a while to adjust. However, I find myself more at home here than at my actual home. There is always something to do and the small campus means that you know a large majority of the campus, so you always have someone to do that something with, no matter what it may be! It truly feels like you're surrounded by family.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like everyday at Baker is a learning experience, I am always learning new things in and out of the classroom. The teachers and staff have a way of encouraging me to learn not only the assigned material, but to discover learning beyond the pages and into real life experiences.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel 100% safe on campus, even at night. It's like a small little community where everyone knows each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have LOADS of clubs and activities. There is something for everyone and some you've never heard of.

    Bang for the buck

    Our university has the best psychology department in the state of Kansas. Our school literally is the best secret in Kansas.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do for fun in Baldwin City. But you don't have to worry about that when you make so many friends, and with the homework load.

    Food and Dining

    Our dining area is very nice. There are lots of homemade choices, and vegetarian options!

    Dorm Life

    I've heard the dorms are pretty good. But there are average complaints that come with living with strangers.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes keep you busy. I have learned, and keep learning, so much. I know I will be ready for graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! You will make friends for life here and get a top notch education.

    In three sentences

    Baker University is your home away from home. It is the best kept secret in Kansas. I am so lucky to be attending this fine institution of higher learning.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very good. Probably the best part of campus.

    Greek Life

    Same as with clubs. There are a lot, but they don't do much.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is okay. They have a lot of them, maybe too many. They should consider combining clubs to get more students involved. I think they spread themselves too thin in this area.

    Great for these types of students

    People with special needs, who need extra help. I have many friends here, but most of them have emotional problems, or need to be in a small place to feel important. That's why I'm here as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They play bagpipes, but seem to do it not because the students care, but because the old farts on campus like it. It's silly to see the guys with kilts walk around and play them. Sometimes traditions should change. This is one of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty average. There are much better schools in the area, like KU, Washburn, and even JCCC.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Get drunk and find women. Sometimes play video games or drink some more. No place to go.

    Food and Dining

    I was here for the old food, and now the new dining food. The old way was much better, especially since I had classes during lunch and could have a take out box. Now I can't eat my lunch because I don't have time, and they won't allow me to have a take out. It's pretty silly and not good for students to not have easy access to food when they need it. Not everyone can sit in a lunchroom each day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are loud and it's hard to sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't feel challenged in some classes, and didn't think some classes should even be college classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    They have a high acceptance rate so don't worry about getting in.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school with a few very creepy kids on campus, and some nice ones too. The faculty are nice, except for one, but I won't ever take his lecture class again. The buildings are okay. Science is nice, but the music and art buildings are terrible. The library is nice too, but small, and too hot.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could play ping pong in the basement of the dorm, go hang out with friends. There is not much to do in Baldwin City.

    Food and Dining

    I thought the food was fantastic in the beginning! But then I got sick of it and wished there were more healthier options.

    Dorm Life

    I feel like it could have been bigger and more together but you really can't as for much more for a small college.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on what classes you are taking. Baker does a good job at challenging you academically, but the teachers provide you with great support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the school feels like home. Make sure you can really see yourself there achieving, and making unforgettable memories.

    In three sentences

    The school is very small. The teacher are great and very personable. Students either absolutely love it there or hate it there.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The combination of Baldwin being a small town and the caliber of people that attend Baker University make for what I would be willing to bet is one of the safest campuses in America. Of course there is a campus security force just in case, but i have yet to hear about them being needed.

    Great for these types of students

    People that are really focused on their studies would find Baker to be perfect. There are few distractions on campus, few temptations like alcohol are present, and great teachers. Also really active people would be able to fit in with the many clubs and sports that are available to the student body.

    What to do for fun

    Personally, there really isn't much to do in Baldwin itself but that isn't too bad. We are twenty minutes away from Lawrence which is teaming with activity. And it is very easy to just hang out with someone in the dorms and fool around.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall I would have to say is excellent. It has a fresh salad bar that allows for tons of options, a hot meal option that which is never stagnant, a soup options which always is different, and plenty of do it yourself options like a potato bar and a sandwich station. The meals here I find to be both healthy and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Well it has its pros and cons but I can't say that I regret living in the dorms. It can get pretty distracting sometimes but it is a very friendly environment. For the most part everyone has an open door policy and welcome just about anyone to come and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, with the teachers so readily available to help I regret not taking more difficult classes. This personal relationship allows for more in depth discussions on topic which I feel lead to a better understanding of the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise that you quickly get involved in some kind of club or sport. Also don't be afraid to attempt difficult courses because the teachers really do put effort into making one on one time with students. Finally, if you are a quiet person with an introvert personality I suggest staying in the apartments instead of the dorms.

    In three sentences

    Baker University is an incredibly friendly and welcoming environment. After a few weeks, you actually start to feel as if you have joined some new family that is there to help you along with whatever you need. And the campus can only be described as gorgeous.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in this little town

    Food and Dining

    It's tolerable, not great.

    Dorm Life

    The NLC is the best place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a private school, course work will be rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to guidance counselors, they are their to help you! Try not to stress and take on your responsibilities.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a great school for learning because class sizes are small, which means more intimacy with professors. It's in the middle of nowhere so there aren't many distractions. If you are a part of a racial minority, you will definitely be able to tell at this establishment.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Baker U being in the small town of Baldwin city,Kansas offers great campus security during all times of the day.

    Greek Life

    There are multiple fraternity's and sororitys throughout campus that welcome anyone that wants to rush.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baker U has a club or activity for everyone. Whether it is from sports to theatre.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are willing to learn in a good teacher to student ration. And students that like their professors to care about their learning. Also students that enjoy playing/watching sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Baker U has a rich tradition and to support their tradition at the beginning of every semester they have a bagpipe player that plays his bagpipes in the middle of campus. Then during the graduation they have a group of Scottish people play music and walk through campus during the graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Baker U offers several sporting events throughout the year and also the fraternitys have open get togethers for students to mingle and to get to know one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Baker's academics are great and the best in the Midwest because of the small class sizes and the professors have all had experience in the field they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is too live on-campus and take everything that Baker U has to offer to you. As far as the great learning experience all the sporting events and maybe even joining a sports team. Because when I came to Baker I knew no one being from California but Baker is a friendly school and being open to new friendships and playing a sport is gaining the college experience young scholars are looking for.

    In three sentences

    Baker U is a small and very educational school. It's gives you the opportunity to get to know your classmates and get the college experience. Baker U is welcoming and makes you feel at home even when you may live 1,800 miles away.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is in good standing here at Baker University. There is a public safety team that will come at the push of a button, even if you just would like to be walked back to your dorm they will come to your assistance.

    Greek Life

    I'm a cheerleader, I work , and I'm involved in a sorority. It sounds like a lot but honestly my sorority is willing to work with my schedule and it is certainly all attainable. Being Greek is so much fun and I do enjoy it. Being Greek can also help you to keep your grades up, save on housing (you can live in house), and help you make the transition into college easy going. There are four fraternities and four sororities here at Baker. Sororities include Zeta Tau Alpha, Alpha Chi Omega, Delta Delta Delta, and Zeta Phi Beta. Fraternities include Sigma Phi Epsilon, Kappa Sigma, Delta Tau Delta, and Zeta Chi. All of these wonderful Greek chapters are involved on campus in many different organizations in addition to being Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    Art Club BULLA (Baker University Lifeless Language Association) BUSEA (Baker University Student Education) History Club Math Nerds of Mulvane NAfME (National Association for Music Education) Predental Club Psychology Club Spanish Club Governing Organizations Interfraternity Council Multicultural Greek Council Panhellenic Council Student Senate Honor Societies Alpha Mu Gamma (World Language) Cardinal Key National Honor Society Delta Mu Delta (Business Administration) Gamma Sigma Alpha (Greek Academic) Lambda Pi Eta (Communication) National Society of Collegiate Scholars Omicron Delta Epsilon (Economics) Order of Omega (Greek Leadership) Phi Beta Delta (International Education) Phi Eta Sigma (Freshmen) Phi Sigma Tau (Philosophy) Sigma Delta Pi (Spanish) Performance Organizations Baker University Speech Choir Baker University Symphonic Video Game Ensemble Instrumental Ensembles Loud Noises Improv Troupe Vocal Ensembles Religious Organizations Baker Ambassadors Baker Christian Challenge Fellowship of Christian Athletes

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to really succeed in their career or excel as an athlete as well as a student, or students who want to attend a smaller school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The grape arbor has a legend that says if you kiss someone under it you will marry them later in your life. The Taft bridge was put in after President Taft visited here and a replica of it is between the halls of Case and Mabee. Abraham Lincoln also made a $100 donation to construct a second building on campus when it was growing in the 1900's.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker is a private school and I will not try to disguise it's price tag. However, many scholarships are offered even if you are not an athlete. I only paid a little over half of what my tuition was for the year in my first year, and this year I am not even paying for half of one semester because I received that many scholarships. Baker is a school worth going to and I know when I look back I will be glad I made the investment in time and money spent here.

    What to do for fun

    Baker usually has a sporting event going on almost every weekend and if you're a student here you get in for free! There is also chapel and bible studies offered during the week if you are looking for any religious aspects or just a break in your week. Baker also has a lot of free activities put on by the Student Activities Council such as free movie nights, study breaks during finals, ice skating sessions in the winter, trips to big sporting events such as the Sporting KC soccer games, comedians, and various musicians performing here on campus. With Baldwin City being in a central location you are never far from anything. In Baldwin itself you can go out to the Douglas County lake, go to the Baldwin City pool (when open), get together with friends at one of the parks, or go to the annual Maple Leaf Festival in October where many craft and food vendors display their works. Baldwin City is also only 20 minutes from Lawrence where there are many things to do such as getting frozen yogurt, seeing a movie, or just checking out the many different shops. Kansas City is only an hour from Baldwin City and there are a few large malls and shopping outlets, lots of places to go eat, movie theaters, and also an outdoor ice skating rink for the winter time. Also the airport is close by so don't worry about driving to far to go home or on spring break.

    Food and Dining

    The food program here makes a great addition to student life. The food program coordinator has made changes that include buying local produce from farmers in the area and making healthier options such as turkey burgers instead of regular burgers. There is also a cafe that offers other choices and you can put money on a charge card so you won't have to worry about bringing cash.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are accommodating in both what they have to offer and in cost. There is an all women's dormitory, an all men's dormitory, and a co-ed dormitory. The men's and women's dormitories are a little older but are still great places to live. They offer suites, single rooms, and both have hang out places inside the building. The co-ed dormitory includes a kitchen on the first floor that students have access to use with permission from the residential assistants. All three dormitories have computer areas accessible to students, free laundry, and lots of free activities planned throughout the year for students. Also if you have a guest that would like to come and stay with you they can as long as you fill out a form ahead of time. There are also parking lots close to each dormitory and everything is secure with key-card entries to all doors.

    Academic Rigor

    Here you are not just a number or some name on a list to your professors. The professors will know you by name and are more than willing to help you with your classwork or even just have a chat when you want to. You can find all you are looking for in a career and succeed here at Baker. That is one of my top reasons of why I chose this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The academic system here is very strong and willing to help with tutors and professors who are interested in what your future can become. If you are an athlete, Baker is the place to be with its championship titles and honors. The campus is also small here, so you will know who you went to college with and be able to create those friendships that last a life time. Baker is also good about helping you to find those connections that you will want to move up the ladder and become successful in what ever you do.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a great student-oriented school and very focused on academics as well as sports and many different student organizations. There are many accommodations to make this school your home away from home, these include Greek life, updated dorms, and Baldwin City being safe and community oriented. Baker also offers internships, traveling inter-term courses, and study abroad opportunities.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Baldwin City is extremely safe and I could not think of a safer place for a student to study or for a parent to send their children.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a large part of Baker and it is sometimes viewed as different than the Greek life at larger Universities. This is because there are spots for nearly anyone who wishes to be in a Greek house so long as they seek the one they best fit into and thus the recruitment process involves less of a tryout feel and probably less hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baker offers a range of clubs including those for each department of study, the Student Activities Council which plans campus events, and Student Government. It also offers groups such as the Gay Straight Alliance and College Republicans which are more cause oriented.

    Great for these types of students

    Baker offers a wide range of scholarships for students are have high academic achievements and athletes. The University is nearly 50% student-athletes and it offers a newly developed and extremely competitive Wrestling team which is becoming harder to find.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Taft Bridge is an old bridge that crosses a stream which runs through campus. It is named such because former President Taft gave a speech at the campus and stood on that bridge.This spot turns out to be a common place for marriage proposals for college sweethearts.

    Bang for the buck

    Baker is a small private school and quite expensive. The small class sizes allow for a personal relationship with professors and hence a support network that will help you create a resume, find internships, and find work after college. The downside is Baker does not have the money and grants that larger schools might for research purposes.

    What to do for fun

    Many students choose to drive to Lawrence, KS which is 15 to 20 minutes from Baldwin City. Lawrence has a rich local music scene, a fun nightlife, and with Kansas University located there, a real college city feel. It also boasts a popular downtown which is the center of activities for the city.

    Food and Dining

    Baker has a dining room where students eat that has a deli bar, salad bar, and all-you-can-eat buffet. Food is decent, but variety could be lacking. Also, it might be more expensive than some students would be paying if they did not have the plan. The meal plan is required for students living in dorms which is required all four years at the University.

    Dorm Life

    Students are required to live on campus for all four years at Baker University. The dorms are much like dorms anywhere and comfort is not necessarily an issue. The purpose of this rule is to form a Baker family and some studies show that students focus on school better when living on campus. This rule could however be a turn-off for some students.

    Academic Rigor

    With personal attention from professors, one can expect that teachers will push them to be their best, but also be available to support them when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Baker is located in the small town of Baldwin City. The small city and campus could cause culture shock for some students. Think about how important a larger city is to you before deciding on Baker. In it's defense, small cities can reduce distractions. Also, Lawrence, KS is fifteen minutes away and a very culture rich city where Kansas University is located.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes allow for student-teacher interaction unavailable at larger schools. They also mean that teachers know your name, know your progress, and are personally interested in your success. A downside to a small University is departments are smaller and thus course offerings can be limited on a semester to semester basis.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very good food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Nice apartments. You do have to live in dorms 4 years.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all very good. Lots of them have good work experience so are able to share real world examples.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in various activities. Everyone is very close.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very inviting. Everyone knows everyone. Teachers are very caring and helpful.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    3 sororities and 4 fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, people who live within an hour or two, people from smaller schools or towns.

    What to do for fun

    Sports events, SAC sponsored events, greek life, social get togethers.

    Food and Dining

    Just changed the food service and it's not as good. The cafe is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorms. All three have separate communities but all come together on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are on the more challenging end, but there's lots of help. Your degree will mean a lot. Professors overall are really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Gets your finances straight. If you play a sport talk to the coach. Don't overlook small schools.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly atmosphere. Tons of activities and events to go to. Helpful people everywhere.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With Public Safety on Baker's campus available at all times, campus safety is tremendous. Baker also has a system that sends texts out to students to alert them of anything that has gone wrong on campus.

    Greek Life

    For decades, the Baker Greek community has been the most engaged group on campus, making a difference both in the classroom and the community. Sorority and fraternity members consistently perform well in the classroom, and the strong personal bonds provide them with an excellent network when they start their careers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Baker has an array of different clubs and student activities to choose from. With more then 75 student activities and organizations from which to choose, you'll have no trouble finding your place, making friends and creating a memorable college experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Baker is a great place for any type of athletic student. Baker competes in the NAIA and bolsters championship teams every year!

    Bang for the buck

    With teachers from all different kinds of professions, the price for the degree you will be receiving is great! Baker is a great place to show off your athletic ability in sports, or to meet new friends through the dorm life and Greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Since Baker is only 20 minutes away from Lawrence and just 30 from Kansas City, there is a lot to do for fun. Also, Baker has intramurals throughout the year for all athletes and non-athletes. The Greek Life stays very active throughout the year with all kinds of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    With a cafeteria that serves food three different times throughout the day, Baker has the best food and dining. Normally there is a main course meal every time, with the options of a salad bar, cereal bar, and ice cream for dessert! The prices are very reasonable and it is all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Baker is great! With a dorm and apartment on campus that are less then 5 years old, Baker has state of the art living. Also in each dorm, 4 people share bathrooms so there are no community bathrooms. Meeting new people may be the most important thing as an incoming freshman and there is no better way to do it then by living in the dorms at Baker.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student at Baker, we have a standard to be the best that we can be and the teachers expect a lot out of us. The teachers know that athletics sometimes get in the way of academics but they still expect the student to put forth the same amount of effort in the class room as they would in the sport they are in. If you put forth this kind of effort, then the teachers will reward you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come from a small town school, then Baker University is the place for you. It has great athletic programs in which over 50% of the students that attend Baker are in. The teacher to student ratio is around 10:1, so there is alot of one on one time. All the teachers are great and are flexible with there time schedules to accomodate the students. If you are interested in Greek Life, Baker has 3 Fraternities, and 3 Sororities. If you are wanting a job right out of college, then Baker is the place for you!

    In three sentences

    Baker University is a great small town University and is the first University built in Kansas. With only about a thousand people that attend, everybody knows each other. Baker is also one of the top colleges in the nation for Business students.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Keep an eye out for campus activities provided by SAC, they bring fun events to campus like magicians or hypnotists for the students to enjoy for free. Baker is also highly supportive of its athletic teams, so be sure to go out and support your wildcats!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was just completely redone and remodeled, now ready to handle more students! And the exciting part is, the renovations are still in progress!

    Dorm Life

    The newest dorm, the NLC, is great! It is a wonderful co-ed environment conveniently next to the union.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are highly demanding of the students, but they are also completely willing to help you succeed.You will learn a lot and you will enjoy doing it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded! It's very common (and easier than other schools) to double major at Baker. The GenEd program is much different than other schools, so make sure to fully examine those opportunities before you make a decision on your major.

    In three sentences

    I have never been a part of a closer, more passionate community of students and faculty. Students take pride in their academic experience and professors genuinely care about the well-being of their pupils. It is a small town community with a lot of heart and character, one that I am proud to be a part of.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Fraternities (Zeta Chi, Sigma Phi Epsilon, Kappa Sigma, Delta Tau Delta) Sororities (Alpha Chi Omega, Zeta Tau Alpha, Zeta Phi Beta, Delta Delta Delta)

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramurals, SAC, Newspaper, Mungano, Internships

    Great for these types of students

    Love to learn, but in an environment where everyone you learn from is passionate about what they do and would go to the ends of the Earth to help you and see you succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maple Leaf Festival in Baldwin City- it's the third full week of October.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to The Quik, go to frat parties and mixers, join a frat or sorority, go to SAC (Student Activities Council) sponsored events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, everyone here is willing to help you!

    In three sentences

    It's a really great college! It's small but the possibilities of areas to study here are endless and the staff is awesome. I don't feel like just a nobody here.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Small classes. Caring professors.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Im new to campus so I don't know all the details but I love it here

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in athletics, activities, organizations or attend special events put on by the school and the Student Activities Committee.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and don't be afraid to ask questions and communicate with others. People are extremely helpful and willing to show you around.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a great school in all aspects. The faculty and students are all incredible people with friendly spirits. The academics at Baker are top notch with all but 3 professors with their PHD.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small close knit community and everyone knows everyone business fairly quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes (in most cases) can be focused on a few details that may not have been done so in other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, be motivated to find your own answers

    In three sentences

    Baker University is a great little private college with focus on small classroom values. The Professors are experts in their field and are committed to having a student lead environment. If I went anywhere else I might be pay more for less of an education.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've have never felt in danger, ever.

    Greek Life

    Four fraternities and three sororities. Competitive and fun. Joining Kappa Sigma was an awesome choice.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs that you can join. All are fun.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who enjoy a small school environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Methodist

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school and provides the same education as many other cheaper state schools.

    What to do for fun

    Drive into Lawrence or go to an SAC event.

    Food and Dining

    I never leave hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Your first friends and eventually some of your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work but if you stay caught up it's easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to be involved

    In three sentences

    A small school with small classes that focus on the student. Great athletic programs. A chance to participate in everything.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel the campus safety really cares about the students and makes sure that every is in their room safely a quietly. When you arrive at Baker for the first time as a freshman, you are given the campus security number for whenever you need something. Even as simple as you need someone to walk with you back to your dorm late at night; they are always there when you need something.

    Greek Life

    Currently Baker has 4 fraternities and 3 sororities. For the fraternities, we have Sigma Phi Epsion, Zeta Chi, Delta Tau Delta, and Kappa Sigma. For the sororities, we have Delta Delta Delta, Alpha Chi Omega, and Zeta Tau Alpha.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of opportunities to get involved on campus. They have clubs for just about everyone interests, which is really nice to see.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel Baker is great for any type of student who is serious about making a life for themselves and serious about their future career after college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Thursday, Baker has Chapel at the church on our own campus, so we don't have to travel far.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel Baker University is a little more expensive than it should be, but I know graduating from Baker is going to look really good on your resume. I know they have a really great alumni, who support graduates, making sure they have a job right out of college.

    What to do for fun

    Baker is located in Baldwin City, which is a really small town, so in order to do something fun, we have to drive to Lawrence (15 miles) or Olathe (30ish miles). It gets pretty boring on the weekends, but the teachers keep us busy with a ton of homework.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a buffet with anything from the food they prepare to cereal to pizza to a salad bar to a sandwich bar. If you do not like what they have prepared for the hot meal then you have plenty of other options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't too bad. Mostly quiet, which is how I like it when I'm trying to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Baker has a high achievement level they expect of their students. At times, it's hard to keep track of your homework, but if you have a planner and write EVERYTHING down then you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to class because you will be extremely lost if you only go to the class on test-days. Also do all of your homework; it has helped me understand what the teacher was talking about better. Also try not to get behind on your homework because most teachers do not except late-work, so make sure you get it in on the due date or earlier if you are going to be gone for a certain event.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a great place to be at because the faculty is extremely interested in how you are doing with your academics. Baker wants you to succeed in everything you do.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel completely safe walking across campus late at night from the library. The campus safety is outstanding.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a big part of Baker, but not the only part. Students that are not part of Greek life are actively involved in other organizations as well; no one feels left out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 50 student organizations on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Baker is a great school for students that enjoy small classroom sizes. You receive personal attention and help from your teachers, rather than being known as a number like at larger universities. This school is also great for students that enjoy a scenic campus; we are part of Tree Campus USA, and there are numerous historical landmarks. The downtown roads are also paved with brick; it is very authentic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, during the third weekend of October, there is the Maple Leaf Festival. The Baker campus is part of the Tree Campus USA, and during this time of year, you can see all of the different trees changing color. At this festival, there are booths with crafts, food, clothes, jewelry, and much more. The whole town comes in to visit the Baker campus and stroll around downtown to take part in the festivities.

    What to do for fun

    Usually, kids will travel to Lawrence, Kansas for any type of social activity. However, we do have sporting events that are very popular to attend, and many times there are activities liked to the Greek system that students can participate in

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are attending class on a regular basis, and keeping up with your assignments. The teachers notice when a student is not in class, due to the small class sizes. Also, do not be afraid to take courses outside of your major. You may just find something new that you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Baker is a great place for students that are interested in a small school, with a community feel. The class sizes are very small, and you get personal attention from each of your instructors. This school is fantastic, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    As I was a member of the Greek life (before my chapter was removed from campus), the experience was fantastic. There were so many fun and thrilling experiences with the Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many, that there is something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Baker offers so many opportunities for all students. It is a wonderful school that has great students and staff.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs that offer a variety of activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to attend a small town University and wants or needs the close connection with teachers and staff.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lot of history to the campus. Right down the street the building for the first university in Kansas still stands. About a mile outside of campus are several trails and markers identifying civil war history.

    Bang for the buck

    I am only into my second semester so I cannot forecast what I am going to get out of it. So far I feel that the connection with the teachers and the education provided is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The school is constantly trying to keep the students involved in various activities. The sororities and fraternities host many events throughout the year. The sports keep you on the edge of your seat as Baker University has a lot of good teams. If you are into nature and history then Baldwin has several historical sites to check out. If you are looking for something more upbeat then you travel 20 minutes outside of Baldwin and you are surrounded with all sorts of options.

    Food and Dining

    Small town with maybe 5 options to choose from. If you have transportation then you can travel 20 minutes to find many other choices.

    Dorm Life

    Older school and not very many options.

    Academic Rigor

    Because of the size of the school the teachers get to know their students and expect a lot out of them. The teachers are willing to assist the students if they are struggling with the work load but they still expect assignments to be turned in on-time and with effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Baker is a great place for students that want a more relaxed atmosphere. The campus is quiet and serene with its abundance of trees, a vine covered pergola, and a pond. There is an abundance of shopping, dining, and vibrant atmosphere 20 minutes away in Lawrence, KS. I would recommend Baker University if you are looking for a connection with your teachers and the rest of the staff as you are choosing a place to continue your education. They truly get to know you here and expect the best from you. With the price of tuition it is wise to know what field you want to be in before you apply.

    In three sentences

    Baker University, the oldest university in Kansas, has excellent teachers from all over the United States. The university has much to offer for its size and it keeps on growing as more and more students take to its small town charm. At Baker you are looked at as an individual and not just another number.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's close to Lawrence & KC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit with your advisor about all opportunities for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Great campus! Wonderful opportunities!

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't always the best, but it is available.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty friendly and can be fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Work can become a bit much, but you cannot slack. You must do all of your work to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn. Don't slack on work in classes.

    In three sentences

    Baker has a very good academic porgram. Baker is very expensive. The athletics a very good as well.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    baker is a very safe campus..never once heard a mishap around here since I joined here last fall. Except for once a kitty climbed a very high tree and they had to call in the fire department to bring it down.

    Greek Life

    there are 3 sorority houses and 4 frat houses. members seem to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Once enrolled there are multiple clubs and activities one can join. Some of them are student leaders, active minds, baker serves, math club, gamer's society, loud noises, community choir, cheer, speech choir, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, nerds, peace and nature loving.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus color is orange and the mascot is Wildcat.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a little expesive but it is worth the buck.

    What to do for fun

    Frat house parties. Go to lawrence, city 15 mins south from here. Or enjoy beautiful nature in the Tree campus. There is not plenty of choices around here.

    Food and Dining

    Baker will be undergoing student union renovation in the summer 2013 which included the renovation of our old fashioned cafeteria. It is transforming into a modern day cafeteria with stations and booths for common tasty foods with regular updated menu. In addition to that a new sort of coffee shop with new menus is going to be opened. Baker is going to give even more pleasant dining experience as compared to now.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm sizes are not too big but the residence area is well facilitated with the necessary utilities. However, the buildings being too old needs frequent maintenance. Residence members and assistants are friendly and make it a familial environment. Baker Dorms are very safe and sound.

    Academic Rigor

    Baker University has excellent hybrid teaching method where students learn in both online and ground participation. Small class sizes make it possible to receive rigorous student faculty interaction. Flexible faculty allows one to experience extracurricular activities without having to affect the regular academic term.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like quiet and natural suburb environment then BakerU is the right place. Must have a means of transportation if planning to live off campus.

    In three sentences

    Baker university is a beautiful, small and peaceful campus with good student teacher ratio of 1:18. It is quite expensive. Gifted with hardworking and understanding faculty members.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Baker SON offers several clubs for students seeking to get involved or expand their resume. Baker Buddies (my favorite) is where an upper level takes a new student under their wing. They contact you before you even begin your program, so you can ask them questions about anything before you start. My Baker Buddy helped me a lot to calm my nerves and make me feel more prepared for my first day.

    Bang for the buck

    The program is slightly more costly than others around the regions, but you will get your dollar's worth. The instruction is personalized, the classes are small, and the clinical setting is right next door.

    What to do for fun

    The program is rigorous, but the classes are small. You will bond with your fellow students through lectures and clinicals, and many of them will become lifelong friends. Topeka has a lot of dining and bar options, and we'll occasionally go out for drinks to decompress.

    Food and Dining

    Baker is connected to the hospital, and so you can go to one of several locations in the hospital (cafe, snack shop, cafeterias) to purchase your meals. Most students bring their own food from home.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, so I am unable to assess this category.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a challenging program, but serious nursing students will come out of it with an edge compared to other programs. Baker is among the top 10 nursing schools in the nation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and attend one of Baker's Visit Days. You will be impressed with the layout of the school, the personalized attention from staff and faculty, and you get to talk one on one with current Baker Nursing students.

    In three sentences

    Baker University School of Nursing is a smaller, more personalized program for students seeking a BSN degree. The school was built within the Stormont-Vail hospital in Topeka, so you are literally right next door to your clinical setting. Baker is a top-rated nursing school, and so graduates of their program are reputable and highly competitive.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    small town so all events in town are organized by the students, frats, or sorority

    Food and Dining

    quality food with different options every night.

    Dorm Life

    their is new co-ed dorm located right next to the off campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are smaller then usual making it easily to get personable with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are having school troubles they offer tutors all night and every night in the library.

    In three sentences

    a nice small place were everyone knows each other and are very friendly. even though its small their is still the college night life and atmosphere. highly cultured place that takes pride of the past.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a great school for academics and the professors are extremely helpful. I think this was one of the best choices I have made in life. Baker has changed my life.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is really small and safety is not a big concern on campus. Campus is generally a really safe place to be at.

    Greek Life

    Almost 80% of people at Baker are involved in Greek Life. I am not a part of it because I do not have the time for it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is just about a club for everyone, and if a club isn't for you, it is really easy to create a new one. There are also sports.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great if you like small communities and a close-knit group of people. The classes are also pretty small.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of traditions on campus. There is a photo for incoming students and a walk through of their gate on campus, which is the same gate that you walk back through when you graduate. There is also convocation every year, where the president speaks.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely expensive. Anyone can tell you that, but it is so worth it and once you're here, you understand why it is so expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much in Baldwin City, so people mostly go to Lawrence which has basically whatever you need.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. There is normally something for everyone, but ocassionally there might be a time when the food isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. The only drawback is when people are loud at night when you need to get homework done or need to get to sleep early.

    Academic Rigor

    I have homework every night, but for the most part it is a lot of reading. You definitely have to be prepared for homework here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you bring headphones to drown out noise if your neighbors are noisy. Make sure you do your homework!

    In three sentences

    Baker is amazing. Everyone is nice and helpful. The teachers are especially amazing because you can definitely tell that they are there for the students.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have access to security 24 hours a day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of opportunities for students to join clubs and do community activities, as well as volunteer.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit pricey, but the education makes it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I am a mother and also a full-time nursing student, so I don't go out often, but there is a decent bar scene in town or 20 minutes away in Lawrence.

    Food and Dining

    This nursing school is actually attached to a hospital, so we can enjoy the cafeteria every day if we'd like, and luckily, its great food with a wide variety (Italian, mexican, salads, homestyle) at a great price.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a private school and they set standards of academics very high. You learn everything you need to know and more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to study and learn, because the curriculum is very intense.

    In three sentences

    The nursing program is a very intense and well developed program. The professors and staff and always kind and ready to help. The opportunity for real nursing practice is very high at this nursing school.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ted Ensley Gardens around Lake Shawnee is wonderful.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy going to the Java Plaza in Stormont Vail.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm for the School of Nursing in Topeka.

    Academic Rigor

    I would not work while attending school. Many people do. It would be too difficult for me to do that.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's important to come organized! It's important to know your Anatomy and Physiology. Patho is a difficult class for some. You have to pass Med Math with a 90%.

    In three sentences

    The School of Nursing in Topeka is wonderful. You'll feel a sense of pride walking up to Pozez Education Center. It's affiliation with Stormont Vail is a great benefit.