Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Baltimore City Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love spending time with family and friends, I also enjoy learning new things.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the pleasure to enjoy the dinning being a student on a budget I always bring my lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living near campus. I travel in to attend classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Baltimore City Community College has a lot to offer as far as academic programs which allows new and continuing students a change in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The hours are great for working professionals, so the school if full of part-time and full-time students. Which means the parking lot is always full. So give yourself extra time.

    In three sentences

    I would like to express appreciation to all the professors who have offered their time and talent to teach the students a Baltimore City Community College. I love that the school offers classes pretty much around the clock and on weekend for working professionals. Thanks for giving students a chance to better their lives.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have an outstanding security unit they have about 30 officers patrolling the environment for students like myself.

    Greek Life

    they have all that

    Clubs and Activities

    this schools offers a lot of programs for students who can achieve goals and who want to be the front of the class as appose to falling in the back crowd.

    Great for these types of students

    located in Baltimore i think this school is fittable for students who cant afford the big schools but who plan to transfer in the 2 years they plan to earn credits to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    from a university student transferring to a community college its way smaller and everything is close so that a more convenient thing for students who tend to be lazy.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah i think your getting your money the most of the school by far its a great experience

    What to do for fun

    For fun i like to lift weights and lay basketball and throw the football around in the gym which is located on campus sight. in addition they have a game room where all students can encounter one another and be social.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright but the cost is outrageous.

    Dorm Life

    well, unfortunately its a community college they don't have any dorms that you can live in but if they did I'm assuming they would be old.

    Academic Rigor

    overall they prepare and teach you what it is that you need in order to earn your choice in degree path.

    Tips for prospective students

    when attending any college depending on your situation and circumstances try o=your best to find a school affordable and efficient for your learning abilities.

    In three sentences

    Baltimore city community college has great professors teaching students. however, the schools equipment such as there computers are slow and can be inactive at times when trying to complete assignments. in conclusion, the school just needs minor upgrades but overall I enjoy the school for the time being.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Greek Life

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    good

    Great for these types of students

    good

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    good

    Bang for the buck

    good

    What to do for fun

    good

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    good

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    great school

    In three sentences

    its a great school. i love this school. i enjoying attending this school.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is full of friendly people and the campus is secure and safe at all times

    Clubs and Activities

    pep rallys, social clubs, games, partys invites, and book sales.

    What to do for fun

    come to volley ball games, basketball games and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to learn and explore a great campus life at baltimore city community college.

    In three sentences

    the teachers teach every leason to a tea. every class room is neat and clean. it is a great learning environment.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Difficulty level for some classes were harder and more intense than others. Depends on professor and subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be careful about taking online classes. May seem easy but can be difficult and more rigorous.

    In three sentences

    It is a good start if you have been out of school for awhile. I loved the math professor who helped make learning so easy.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    THere are always events held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The science courses are very rigorous, however the professors help when you ask them.

    In three sentences

    COnveinient for working adults. Class schedules offered during a wide range of times and days. THe location of the liberty campus is accessible.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People wo can't afford the traditional college experience that include a really high tuition and dorm expenses Working adults returning to school Students that may to boost up their GPA before transferring to a 4 year college or university

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs and societies, as well as a gym, and different sporting teams.

    Dorm Life

    At BCCC there are no dorm rooms however the school does still have a lot of pride and spirit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn Plan to dedicate at least ten hours or more to studying each week if you want to main a great GPA Listen to your academic advisor but create schedules that won't overwhelm you

    In three sentences

    In my opinion Baltimore City Community College(BCCC) is a pretty okay place, the prices are affordable, the professors are dedicated to teaching and it's a great place to boost up your GPA. This place is great for people who didn't have the best grades in high school or are returning to college after a few years because you be able to get a head start while preparing to transfer to a four year college or university.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While people may think this college is dangerous because it is in the city I disagree with this stereotype. The only thing close to dangerous at this college is the traffic being so close to the college. But if you look both ways im sure everything will be just dandy!

    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget

    What to do for fun

    Study :)

    Food and Dining

    Great food

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms here at the community college

    Tips for prospective students

    The price is affordable, the education is descent.

    In three sentences

    This school is a bit unorganized and rude but the student body is pretty nice considering the location of this school. Ive met some amazing people who come from different universities to transfer credits to there school from bccc because this school is much more affordable. On a scale of 1-10 id rate this school a 7,

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many thing there that I can do for fun. We have a weight room we can workout in daily in between classes. There is also a pool that is open to students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good and healthy. We have lots of options daily. The cafeteria is also clean and sanitary for students to eat in

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    There are some challenges in understanding some subjects in my classes but when I ask my teachers I understand better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class Write all of your notes and study very hard Do not text in class Don't be afraid to ask the teacher for help if you need it, no question is a stupid question

    In three sentences

    My school so far has helped me accomplish so many things. I have learned how to write essays more effectively and develop clear coherent sentences. The teachers here are very helpful and attentive to the needs of the students

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    perfect

    Clubs and Activities

    acceptable

    Great for these types of students

    not really

    What to do for fun

    listen to music

    Food and Dining

    pretty good

    Academic Rigor

    engineering

    Tips for prospective students

    try to stay focus

    In three sentences

    not a bad school

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not in a great neighborhood, even for Baltimore.

    Great for these types of students

    I wouldn't suggest it for anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is pretty cool. The upstairs is very mid-century retro.

    Bang for the buck

    BCCC is cheap, I will give it that.

    Food and Dining

    I was never brave enough to try anything but the coffee. The coffee is not good.

    Academic Rigor

    I do like my teachers, and a few of them are really dedicated, however they have to teach to the academic level of the people who attend there. It may be easy, but you are not preparing yourself for a 4-year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else. I hear CCBC is great. Unless you are really organized and good at learning independently, you will find BCCC to be a difficult environment to learn in.

    In three sentences

    Chaos. It is so disorganized, I'm surprised it's still operating. I moved from another state and transferred to this college before I move on to a 4-year next semester. I had no idea when I enrolled, but the school had been on put on probation by the Higher Education Commission until just a few weeks ago. The school was recently sued for $10 million by a student who claimed that she was discriminated against. The student won, because BCCC never bothered to answer the complaint. That is sheer laziness. My personal experience: I have an english teacher who, 5 weeks into the semester, said she was tired of teaching the class and was going to be posting assignments online from there on out. I have to sign up for tests in a testing center and if there is no time slot left for you, you are SOL. Imagine, when everyone is taking mid-terms the same week, trying to get a spot in the testing center. I've had to take off work to be at the school at 8am on a Saturday morning because that was the only time left. Most schools send out loan refund checks at the beginning of the semester, as it is intended to assist with living expenses. BCCC's policy is to withhold that money until the last day they can legally do so: 8 weeks into the semester. They do not allow direct deposit or for you to pick up your check in their office- they MUST mail it. Well, no surprise... here we are, 3 weeks away from the END of the semester and my check has still not come, though they say they mailed it a full 2 weeks ago (a week after they were legally required to do so) and I am one zip code over from the school. So, to sum it up, BCCC sucks. I like my teachers, the students are nice, but the internal organization of that place needs a serious overhaul. It's pretty obvious why their graduation rate is so low- they don't make it very easy to be successful there.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good. There's always an officer around to help you if needed. There are also stations where you could call for an officer is you need security during night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's always activities on campus, though I'm unsure about the clubs. There are some, but I'm not sure how many.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to transfer to a 4-year college. International / Foreign students. People who are going back to school after 5+ years. Students who learning more independently.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BCCC is quiet small for a college that has over almost 6,000 students. Everything is close, so it's quiet convenient if your scheduled classes are close together.

    Bang for the buck

    BCCC is very inexpensive, probably the cheapest college to attend in Baltimore City.

    What to do for fun

    There are events almost every week. They're always interactive, fun, and easy to meet people. The gym is always open so if you like sports or want to lift weights, there is always someone there to accompany you.

    Food and Dining

    Some food is good; some food is not. I hardly ever go into the cafe simply because their prices can be outrageous. It all depends on what you get, though I'd recommend that you save your money. They is a 7Eleven and mall down the street with a wider food selection and inexpensive price.

    Dorm Life

    Like most community colleges, dorms are not available.

    Academic Rigor

    BCCC offers many academic programs and classes that will work around your schedule. So it's perfect if you have a job and want to keep a flowing social life while earning your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) BCCC prepares students for 4-year colleges,so you must be organized and have the ability to learn independently. 2.) Professors are helpful and lay almost everything out for you; If you can't do simple task you will fall behind. 3.)If you find it hard excel at BCCC, you're definitely going to find it extremely difficult at everywhere else. 4.)There are events almost every week; attend them and you will find scholarship offers and people who may share common interest with you. 5.) If you have a car, give yourself time to find a parking space since there are tons of students on campus.

    In three sentences

    This school great if you're an international student, going back to school, or simply looking to transfer to a 4-ear college. 90% of the professors enjoy what they do and it shows. 90% of the staff and faculty is friendly and helpful, though it has it's bad apples.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, be patient and motivated.

    In three sentences

    Awesome starting point to start if you want to transfer. Dedicated Professors. Comfortable Atmoshere

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had problem with safety at this college

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a working person like me and really don't want to spend a lot of money on a 2 year college but want a good education this is the right college for you. Money is hard to come by these days so you really have to watch how you spend your money. if you are thinking about going to this college you will not regret it.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not all that good but there are a lot of food places you can go off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Baltimore City Community College is a good 2 years college . this college will get you on the right track so when you graduated or transfer you will have the right tools for success. plus they have down to earth professor.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is in the city. Use common sense and reasonable caution. I wouldnt walk around by yourself at night. Never leave expensive items in your car in the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs....both academic and social.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for self starters. Must be focused and not afraid to do the legwork to get everything in order.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant think of any.

    Bang for the buck

    They overcharge for books in the bookstore. If you can afford it, try to buy your own books from Amazon.com or Ebay. The prices for almost everything is outrageous in the school store.

    What to do for fun

    Shopping! There is a mall nearby

    Food and Dining

    I havent eaten in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live on/near campus. I dont think they have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn who the important people are and where everything is. Financial Aid needs to become your best friends. ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS ask questions. Never accept the first answer you receive. Sometimes you can be redirected or get lost in the system if you are not on top of your paperwork.

    In three sentences

    The Liberty Campus has a lot to offer. I love the selection of classes available online. Wish the financial aid process was easier and faster, but I am comfortable here.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any kind that exist, they mold students

    What to do for fun

    different clubs and good sports

    Tips for prospective students

    with determination you can achieve all things

    In three sentences

    good science professors.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun sometimes we have parties, games, and fundraisers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cooked right in front of you which makes it a greater part of your meal.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors pushes you very hard because they would like to see you do well. The standards for this college is very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to learn and have fun

    In three sentences

    Baltimore City Community College has to be the best Community college. It offers a lot of things without eating your pockets up and the professors here are great.I really Enjoy being here.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety definitely keeps the campus secure from both inner and outside threats.

    Clubs and Activities

    Game Room. Chess Clubs. Raffle Tickets. Arts and Crafts. Sports. Poetry night Dances Parties.

    What to do for fun

    BCCC has a weight room and gymnasium that the students used regularly. There are often events and festivals that occur on campus. Certain clubs and organizations have field trips to places like D.C., New York, Philadelphia, Downtown Harbor, Museums, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has a decent menu. I myself try to eat as healthy as possible, since most of their food is fried.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is fairly easy although you will run into some difficult courses. Teachers and staff are willing to help you. Tutors willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you motivated and ready to work, BCCC is the place for you. Don't take too long to graduate, your Pell Grant is only good for six years and once you have used up all of your financial aid, you're on your own, financially.

    In three sentences

    Baltimore City Community College is a institution that provides great opportunities for all students of many races, genders, and backgrounds. It is a school that will provide you the tools and skills you need to be successful. BCCC is merely a stepping stone that you can you to obtaining the future and career you have always dreamed of having.