Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Baptist Memorial College of Health Sciences Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security guards at baptist are very alert and respond quickly to emergency situations. we have three buildings, and they all are monitored by the campus security safely and effectively.

    Clubs and Activities

    baptist have a few clubs and activities that will help achieve in the campus life and student involvement on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who like to be involved in campus life activities, join the different clubs that we offer at baptist.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year around february or march, baptist has a spiritual renewal week that will help students renew or refresh their minds during the second trimester of school, which is considered the most difficult or hardest trimester of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    baptist's yearly tuition is less expensive then your average college or university, around $11,000 a year, including the summer trimester. you can also get 100% financial aid to pay for all your books and fees. how awesome is that!

    What to do for fun

    although baptist is a relatively small campus, we still have events that occur on a weekly basis. we have events to occur such as basketball tournaments, weight loss competitions, family day, a racket ball room, a pool, to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    right now in the process, baptist is receiving vending machines that will contain fresh foods, fruits, and vegetables that will be changed and replaced on a weekly basis. we don't have as many dining options like other colleges or universities, but it will still be enjoyable to attend the college.

    Dorm Life

    we do have reasonable dorms at baptist, mainly for students who didn't previously live in memphis or just prefer to stay on campus to maintain focus.

    Academic Rigor

    with an instructor being more interactive in the classroom, students can be more successful and achieve in their courses and majors. students can't receive a grade no lower than a c, which is doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you like a small classroom setting with more one-on-one interaction with the instructor, an institution where your religious preferences are respected, and want to pursue your bachelors in nursing, then baptist college of health sciences is the college for you!

    In three sentences

    baptist college of health sciences is a private institution of higher learning with small classroom settings, a strong religious background, and excellent bsn programs. baptist offers programs in 7 majors including nursing, sonography, radiology, and respiratory therapy, with nursing being the larger program. baptist is a great college with many resources and available assistance to help students succeed and improve in their courses and majors.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I first visited the BCHS campus, I was a bit apprehensive because of its location. My concerns completely disappeared after I walked to the science building for the first time with some fellow freshmen. This is one habit thatâ??s highly encouraged by the school to prevent any dangerous situations; always try to walk to class when there are other students around. You will encounter various pedestrians walking to the nursing and science buildings, but personally Iâ??ve never felt uncomfortable standing at an intersection with them. If you do feel unsafe, you can either go back on campus or call campus security from where you are. From there you can either inform security that thereâ??s a suspicious looking pedestrian around or you can simply ask for a guard to escort you to class.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some BCHS events include the Stress-Free zone where students can go to the gym and play a variety of games to relieve some finals week stress; the blood drives that occur two to three times a trimester and occasionally offer prizes if you donate; and the holiday dorm door decorating contests. As for the clubs, most of the them depend on your major but there are some that cater to those who are interested in helping in the community or working to make the school a better place.

    Bang for the buck

    BCHS is definitely worth the money. Tuition is around $11,000 and dorms are $1,800 for students who want a room to themselves and $1,100 for those who donâ??t mind a roommate. When you consider that for just $11,000 a year youâ??re getting a great education that will land you a career that pays at least $45,000, thereâ??s nothing else to really think about. I know too many people (including my older sibling) who chose to attend schools with $30,000+ yearly tuition for the same majors that BCHS offers, and now theyâ??re trying to pay back six-figure student loans. BCHS gives students the opportunity to learn everything they need to excel in their future professions but for a fraction of the price that bigger schools require.

    What to do for fun

    If youâ??re looking for excitement off campus, then you couldnâ??t have chosen a better college. BCHS is in the heart of Memphis. Right down the street is the Peabody and Beale St.; less than 15 minutes away youâ??ll find the Memphis Zoo and Mud Island; and there are many museums about art and culture.

    Food and Dining

    One thing that always shocks people who ask me about BCHS is that there isnâ??t any kind of cafeteria. Essentially students are expected to provide their own groceries or snacks, and as such there is no meal plan. In lieu of a dining hall, there are several vending machines in every building and the bookstore sells various snacks, drinks, and microwaveable meals for pretty cheap prices. However, if youâ??re looking for healthy or wholesome meals, youâ??ll have to buy your own food and cook it in one of the kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    BCHSâ??s dorm life is pretty good. The RAâ??s do a fairly decent job of keeping the peace among residents whether itâ??s about stolen food items from the fridge or keeping the laundry rooms clean. Pros: There are kitchens on each hall with everything but a stove. If you need a stove, there is one on the first floor I believe. There is also a lounge with a TV on each floor. The dorms are in the the main campus, so everything is incredibly accessible and itâ??s almost impossible to be late for class. Cons: The room sizes are decent for you and your roommate (if you have one), but I imagine that if either of you had visitors it would be a bit tight. There is a noise issue (at least for my hall) that is typically attributed to residents running down halls and speaking too loudly, and even the RAs have addressed it but not much has changed.

    Academic Rigor

    Iâ??m only in my first year at BCHS, but itâ??s already apparent that the teachers mean business. If you pay attention in class and study well, thereâ??s no doubt that you will end each trimester with at least a 3.0 GPA. Personally, Iâ??ve found that I manage to make pretty good grades just by paying attention to lectures, taking brief notes, and studying a bit before tests. I do know that some of my classmates have found some courses a bit too rigorous and have transferred to other schools. Donâ??t let this intimidate you though. BCHS offers an array of free tutoring services to students who need it. If you do better with one-on-one learning, teachers are more than willing to meet with you during their office hours. If you do well in group situations, there are student tutors who will help you and your friends understand a subject better. Anything and everything that you need to make it on the Presidentâ??s List is available to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships. Even one of the smaller BCHS awards can reduce your yearly tuition to under $10,000. Don't underestimate how much you can learn and do at BCHS just because it isn't that large or well-known. Even though the name is Baptist College of Health Sciences there isn't some huge push to make you Baptist or anything. While there is a pretty good focus on faith, students are by no means required to attend religious programs. Study for at least one hour per class a week. Doing so will help you during finals because you retained more information. It's much easier to start the year off well and relax a bit around finals time than to struggle throughout the entire year. Get help as soon as you notice that you're slipping.

    In three sentences

    BCHS is truly a hidden gem amongst the many top-name colleges in the Mid South. It offers the same education (if not better) as any other school youâ??re considering offers, but for a fraction of the price. The BCHS staff is always there to help you and will do their best to do so.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The entire main campus is gated in and contains security cameras throughout. Other buildings not located on campus require a badge in order to enter the building. Security guards circulate around campus and do routine checks around campus at night.

    Greek Life

    You have to option to join the Greek life at the University of Memphis.

    Clubs and Activities

    OASIS- helps out with Freshman and transfer orientations BASIC- Christian faith-based group CARE- community service group involved in volunteer activities

    Great for these types of students

    If you belong to the Christian faith, or are looking into the Christian faith, this school is definitely worth attending because the teachers will understand your faith-based viewpoints. This school only contains healthcare bachelors degrees, so anyone seriously looking into the healthcare field should look into this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering that this private school costs slightly more than University of Memphis, the closest public university, it is worth attending a college that actually cares about its students' welfare. Also, this college is notorious in the Memphis metro area for its graduates, and you will easily be able to find a job within the Baptist hospital system since the hospital and college are related.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few events to attend each week on campus, plus a swimming pool, gym, and student lounge with a TV, pool table, and ping pong table. Students can ride the trolley down town or visit the many strip malls and restaurants on Popular or Union Ave.

    Food and Dining

    This school does not have a cafeteria. However, there are vending machines in all of the buildings and some food in the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    There is no cafeteria, so expect to do your own grocery shopping and learn how to cook using a microwave, crock pot, George Foreman grill, and oven. Each room fits two people and includes a bunk bed, desk area, shared balcony, and a walk in closet that leads to the bathroom. The rooms are comfortable to live in by yourself or with a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect you to read the textbook and study. As you progress through the classes, tests may eventually contain over 10 chapters at a time, from what I hear.

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is important in order to be successful at this college. Also, living in the dorms is highly convenient because you will almost always have a quiet place to study, you are a trolley ride away from Beale and Main Street, and you will have more opportunities to be involved in student life on campus.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending this college because the teachers, staff, and students are friendly and caring. The dorm life is simple, yet enjoyable and feels like a second home. Lastly, this college expects its students to take responsibility for learning so that they can become excellent healthcare professionals.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Awesome. This school has a lot to offer.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome. You get to be close with your neighbors and it is a lot of fun to hang out with other people who also have dorms. They are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Great. I feel that I have learned a lot from this school

    Tips for prospective students

    This school can offer you some of the best education you will have. You feel like you can ask a whole lot of questions if you don't understand something. The teachers will stop and answer any questions you may have

    In three sentences

    It is a good school if you want to go into the medical profession. Ive only been here for a little while but the class sizes are small...between 20-35 students per class. I really enjoy going here to Baptist.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I can not wait until I am accepted to Baptist. I am looking forward to entering their Diagnostic Sonography Program. Very Excited!!!! I am hoping to learn a lot.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When i applied to Baptist I was worried about my safety because of all the horrible things I have heard about Memphis, but security is the best here. I have never felt unsafe while attending Baptist. Baptist requires id badges to grant access to the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Baptist is a great place for someone who is use to being around their family and is close to their family. Although we are students in school, many of the students form bonds that are strong like a family. Baptist is a place for someone who is motivated to helping better their community and themselves. Baptist can be challenging so students who are hard workers and not easily discouraged, serious about their education, and diligent will succeed here.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy having the swimming pool ball court and the fitness center on campus. Baptist is in the perfect location, if students want to enjoy Memphis Baptist is only five minutes from downtown.

    Food and Dining

    Baptist is close to many restaurants, but does not have a cafeteria for students to eat from.

    Dorm Life

    There are events that promote unity on campus. The students that live on campus form strong bonds with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Baptist is the best nursing school in my option because Baptist prepares students for what their career will be like while attending with clinical classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise all students who are considering attending Baptist to be 100% sure they choose the right major before attending. If it is possible for students to take all prerequisite classes that are transferable at a community college before coming to Baptist as a way to save money. If this isn't possible Baptist offers the best in all of their courses

    In three sentences

    Baptist is a great school for individuals who are looking to grow as a person as well as spiritually. Baptist is a challenging school, but the staff are encouraging and will do anything to help students succeed. Baptist is a small college with a big heart.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security patrols around 24/7 and is always willing to give rides if needed. Very safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs you can join--sports, academics, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Caring, hard working

    Bang for the buck

    Baptist is a very expensive school. That is the only reason I second think my decision to stay enrolled here. However, their knowledge about health care is incredible and it is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Baptist holds several fun nights and concerts for credit hours.

    Food and Dining

    There used to be a Cafe that served great lunch. They are changing things now to make it healthier, so that is good.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't lived in a dorm, but I have heard they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very smart and once you get to the nursing classes--all teachers are nurses or doctors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off on the gen-ed courses just because they are easy. Try to get all As as much as you can, because once you start clinicals it is VERY hard. This will help you keep your GPA up.

    In three sentences

    Baptist Memorial College of Health Sciences is a great school with a Christian atmosphere. If you want to be a nurse, this is what I would suggest. The teachers are nurses and doctors, etc that teach you with experience.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Memphis and Downtown Memphis full of entertainment

    Food and Dining

    Needs to be improved drastically

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and should be considering majors and degrees

    Tips for prospective students

    Tuition higher than other local institutions so prepare prior to enrollment.

    In three sentences

    Small campus is a plus so you dont feel unappreciated. Everyone is eager to help students to do their best. Secure campus despite location,

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. there has been no accidents, or no crime reports. security is always there scrolling campus even the areas around the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great organizations. They are very involved with event planning and student life

    Great for these types of students

    who likes small class sizes, excellent teachers, supportive staff, great advisors, tutoring sessions available almost everyday, even online,

    What to do for fun

    They have a recreation area/fitness center, gym, swimming pool, events planned on campus throughout the year. Joining an organization would be an awesome way to get involved and stay active in the school.

    Food and Dining

    It has to be mainly places you choose. there is no cafeteria but plenty of places surrounding the school to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    never lived on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't been there for a long time but overall it's not very competitive, its straightfoward and teachers will explain clearly what to expect and give out information neccesary to pass test.

    Tips for prospective students

    complete your work, attend tutoring sessions if needed, and study or ask questions if neccesary. they are there to help almost anytime of the day and they will state that to each day all the time.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place because of the teamwork, the tutoring sessions, the encouragement and the willing of the teachers to assist each student and express their concern for them. also the class sizes are great.