Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Barton College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Barton College is a great school for those who would like to be in a small environment and go to a small college. Barton offer Schools of Arts, and Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Business, Education, and Nursing. Barton also offer weekend college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in all assignments on time and make good grades. The better your GPA the more scholarships and grants that a student may qualify for. Don't be afraid to visit the campus, attend some campus events, and talk to students currently enrolled at Barton.

    Bang for the buck

    Barton tries to give everyone an opportunity. If they can't afford to attend Barton they provide good financial aid. Overall it's a great school and the money spent is worth it. Also students can bring their vehicles their 1st year for a very affordable price compared to parking on other campuses. The professors also care and majority of them have plenty of experience and they know every student name.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are always events going on around or off campus. The environment is small so it gives everyone an opportunity to know each other by name. The campus offers trips to the beach, zoo, aquariums, and much more. Everyone seem to be pretty friendly. If a random person was to walk on campus you would know if they are a student or staff member at Barton. The campus police are always on duty and they even will escort you late at night. The school also has talent shows, plays, and overall is famous for its sporting events especially basketball!

    Am learning a lot

    Barton has very small class sizes which allows each person to get personal attention. The professors are available majority of the time. There are also resources on campus such as the writing center, tutors, and every building has its own computer lab which every student has access to.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a small campus, small class sizes, and person attention will enjoy and get the most out of Barton College.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a student is looking for a small campus with a family feel, where everyone knows each other by first name then Barton College is the place to be. The staff constantly wants feedback to make the college better for students and students always can voice their opinions and are listened to by college directors.

    Bang for the buck

    Money spent at Barton is well spent. The Professors are all willing to help if extra assistance is needed. There are no teachers aids here, direct professor to student involvement.

    Am enjoying being here

    Barton College is a fun little place in walking distance to downtown Wilson, NC. Wilson is a growing community with new stores and places to eat popping up frequently. As for on campus, there is always something interesting happening, ranging from free movies to pudding slides to worship services.

    Am learning a lot

    The Barton College core classes are a solid group of classes that all students must take before most of the major specific classes. The core classes take a student out of their major and broaden thinking and learning. They teach a lot of information that will surprisingly help with major specific classes.

  • 11/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Barton is great for students who are interested in smaller schools, as well as a more personal experience with people and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should always look into the school more by visiting. Just a simple visit can determine how comfortable you are at the school and whether or not you like it.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience that you have in the classroom and with people is worth the money. Students are able to learn a lot in a classes of 20 students, some even smaller. You feel more like a person and not a number at this school. Professors and advisors actually work with you and are genuinely interested in helping.

    Am enjoying being here

    Barton is a small community that has many places with in walking distance. Also, Barton has many student activities, such as free movies, games, festivals, and competitions.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here at Barton are amazing! The class sizes are smaller, which gives you a one on one class experience with the teachers. It is very easy to ask for help and the professors have wonderful teaching techniques. Many students say that they are doing better in certain subjects than when they were in high school.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Barton College is a great school for those who enjoy small classes and personal attention. Barton also has a very great nursing program for those interested in nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell everyone attending school to keep their grades up so they dont lose their scholarships and make sure to always attend your classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Barton are great and always willing to help you out.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Barton college is the place to go if lasting friendships and memories are a top priority, If you want to go to a school where you can truly meet people and you enjoy small class size that gives you a good education you should go to Barton!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any other school and especially 4 year colleges you must be ready to learn while Barton. It is best to keep an open mind to the several oppertunities Barton offers because there are clubs for every type of person at this school where you can actually feel like its your home and that you belong.

    Bang for the buck

    Barton might cost a pretty penny at first but when looking at the opportunities each person gets when attending this college it truly is a bang for its buck. Barton offers several services which includes tutors, computer labs that ever student has access to, a writing center in which will go over papers with you to show how you can improve as well as pre-exam jam and breakfast each semester so students can relax before exams, as well as 24 hour library hours during the week of exams to help students who need the quiet time or extra study materials. Most classrooms have some form of smart board for interactive class time to help the different learning styles of students. Last but not least Barton offers several SGA events throughout the year which include; dollar movie tickets, free movies in the theatre, homecoming dance, glow parties, and other types of fun activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Once I came to Barton I quickly jumped into clubs that I thought I would enjoy and to be honest I am more satisfied of my college experience then I ever thought I would be. I am in a service fraternity, a sorority as well as lavaliered into a fraternity if I was not at Barton most of that would not have happened and I would not be as happy as I am with out Barton College.

    Am learning a lot

    With small class sizes and wonderful teachers who are actually willing to sit down with you when you need help and who knows you by name and not a number Barton College is an amazing place that I have come to enjoy. With such a small campus it is easy to get from one side of the campus to the other in ten minutes or less while seeing people you actually know on the way.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and outside activities

    What to do for fun

    Great Athletics!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just continue to work hard and know that you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    Barton is a wonderful school. It helps prepare the students and give them great opportunities. This was the best choice I couldve made.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyday in school there are numerous amount of security officers checking the campus and making sure everything is ok. Also, there are a lot of police officers driving around the campus checking to see if anything strange is occurring around campus.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the time after classes I usually hang out with friends and talk about any plans over the weekend. Also, I just have a conversation with the teacher and try to get to know her/him.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great. It taste good and it's healthy. I try not to eat pizza everyday because i know Irma get tired of it.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes we have a lot of hands on activities and one on one time with the teacher to get a better understanding about the lesson she/he just lectured.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your work and make sure it's turned in on time. Pay attention to class and for any reason if you have questions, ask the teacher after class. And if you need help, ask for a tutor to help you in your home work or basic information.

    In three sentences

    Barton College is a great private school that helps each individual succeed throughout his/her educational career. It has great teachers and hands on activities.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since i have been here, there have been no crimes reported. It is very safe and with the campus police station open 24 hours, you can always find help.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different types of clubs to join. You will always find a club that will interest you.

    Great for these types of students

    Barton is great for students who want to get away from the big city. Wilson, NC is a medium sized city and the campus is located in the historic downtown part of Wilson. It is also great for students who prefer a small classroom and wanting to get to know your professor on a personal level.

    What to do for fun

    They're lots of things to do for fun. You can join a club or organization. Also there alot of intramural sports such as flag football, volleyball, basketball, kickball, and outdoor soccer. We also have different types of tournaments for video gamers.

    Food and Dining

    Some days the food is great and you never want to leave; Then they're days where the foos is subpar at best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is awesome. Everyone in the dorm are always finding ways to have fun. The RA's here are always putting on different activites to do so we can all get to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The school work here at Barton is fairly easy. The most rigorous courses here are for the Nursing majors. I am currently majoring in Criminal Justice, so the course work is pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip for prospective students is to not be shy. Most freshman come to college scared because they are alone and without their friends. When you visit Barton, the students would literally come and have a nice conversation with you as you visit

    In three sentences

    Barton College, on a scale of 1-10 is an 8 at least. Everyone is friendly and willing to help anyway possible. It relly makes you feel right at home.

  • 12/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any types of students really. Shy students, outgoing students, athletes, artsy students, etc. Anyone can go there as long as they aren't going to be slackers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student that wants a more personal, intimate environment with smaller classes and professors that actually care NEED to strongly consider going to this college. At least take a visit, and that may get you right away.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh, I know that what I will be paying is more than worth it to go to this wonderful school. I was sold the moment I was done taking my first tour of Barton.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is so beautiful and small. I love the coziness of it and the theater, game room, Bully's, and just everything I saw when I visited. There is a TON of stuff to do and it will be fun!

    Will learn a lot

    I know that I will learn a TON more than I would at a huge university because I have heard the professors get to know the students on a more personal level and the class sizes are smaller, which is GREAT!!!

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well Wilson is a very small town, but for fun we students usually just go to Walmart, go eat at either cook-out or Buffalo wild wings(B-dubs) or go to the sporting events that are available

    Food and Dining

    The food at Barton is okay. Like anyother school, they have their good and bad days...but when the ice cream machine is one, its going to be a good day!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Barton is okay, Waters in the all freshman dorm its very gross and loud. Wenger is the all girls dorm, it can be loud at some times but the main complaint there is that the elevator always gets stuck. Hilley is the co-ed dorm and its one of the nicer dorms. Hackney or AKA Hotel Hackney, its called this because it simply looks like a hotel. Last but not least is East Campus Suits (ECS) is THE nicest dorm on campus but you must be either a Jr or senior to live there or room with a Jr or senior.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Barton are very hopeful and will try their best to help you and get you to where you need to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If anyone is planning on attending Barton College, I would recommend it! Since it is a small school, there will be drama, and other issues but as long as you do what you need to do for you to get your degree, you will be fine!

    In three sentences

    Barton College is a great, small, private school in Wilson North Carolina. The small classroom sizes and very friendly staff, makes Barton a great place to continue your education. Barton is also great about making sure their students succeed in whatever career they want, and they support you 100%.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Center Campus is where most events are held, and since it is a small campus there isn't too much chaos.

    What to do for fun

    You create your own fun at Barton, though there are a few places around the city to keep you occupied.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is okay. It's food so you can't really complain.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best part of Barton, you are treated like an adult just like you want to be.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fair and you are treated with respect for the most part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, and get to know your professors.

    In three sentences

    Barton is very fun and is a great experience. The professors are mostly helpful and know how to work with you. There are flaws, but they're not completely bad.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have a police station on campus. I've personally never had a problem with safely, so I would say over all it's pretty secure to be in the middle of the ghetto.

    Greek Life

    We have 3 sororities and 3 fraternities, all which are great. I wish I had done one myself. We have Greek Sing at the end of each year, its a show that you don't want to miss! They also do things such as Autism awareness. It's truly great what our Greek life does around campus and the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our clubs and organizations are amazing! There is always something to get involved in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have whats called Day of Service, where all classes are cancelled and you either go with your FYS class or your clubs/organization and you are assigned a place in Wilson where you go and do things that they need done around their business. It's a great way to give back to the community!

    What to do for fun

    Yes, there are parties at Barton, just like any other school. But there are a TON of clubs and organizations on campus. Our sign choir does a beautiful number at the end of each semester, we have Greek life, there are a lot of things to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria is a buffet 24/7, but its what you make of what you eat as if it's healthy or not. But options are always available. We also have Bully's which is a good change if you don't feel like eating in the cafeteria one day.

    Dorm Life

    Although, Barton doesn't have the nicest dorms on campus', I truly love living on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are always willing to put in just as much effort as you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is very different from high school. You have more responsibilities. But with the help of professors and advisory, the staff of Barton make it a lot easier.

    In three sentences

    Barton College is a very small and community like. You are able to get to know the people around you better because you see them more often. Also, the campus is so small that you are able to wake up fifteen minutes before class and still make it on time.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Barton is an open campus but emergency call buttons are located in various area around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are numerous Greek life organizations already formulated but appearing in the fall of 2012 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated will be in action.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is over approx. 100 clubs and organizations at Barton.

    Bang for the buck

    Barton is quite on the expensive side but it is worth every penny you pay.

    What to do for fun

    For fun everyone basically hang out with friends in the student center or the gym. Those with transportation, yes, you can drive the first year, usually go out to eat, bowling or just for a ride.

    Food and Dining

    Food is always available and quite healthy as well.

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful! Most campus' have major dorm restrictions. Here at Barton, dorm restrictions are there but very minute.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly Barton is just like high school in a way. But you can always tell it is still college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get to caught up with your friends that you lose track of you school work.

    In three sentences

    Barton College is one of the most effective colleges in the state of North Carolina. Because of its small campus and amazing staff there are multiple benifits. This is a great school for someone who is a hands on learner and works better in a small classroom setting.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you like to workout we have an awesome fitness center. If you like to party there are plenty of frats and soros around. If you just like to relax we even have a jazz club.

    Food and Dining

    Barton has a wonderful dining hall and is also in close proximity to plenty of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Barton are very nice and there is always activities for students who live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you study you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to Barton College bring your A game because the professors want you to succeed but they will not baby you. Get to know the professors because it is easy to do in this type of small setting and don't be afraid to make friends because everyone is very friendly.

    In three sentences

    Barton is a beautiful school which has professors that care. Barton College provides an environment that will nurture you and bring out the best in you. I love BARTON COLLEGE!

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most definitely. Police station is on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    quiet, and shy.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life, go to the mall, or go bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Didn't notice many none pork items on the menu, hopefully that will change soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small school, then Barton is the place for you. Note: Wilson County doesnt have much to do, but Raleigh NC is a short drive away.

    In three sentences

    This school is nice, small and family oriented. Although there was plenty of cob webs on the windows, I'm hoping those will be removed by the time I move in the dorm.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School is always sending out emails about activities that are going on around the school. There is no chance anyone would ever be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Bully's is great for a fast meal and the cafeteria always has something good to eat

    Dorm Life

    I live of campus because I have children.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has high academic standard which is why I decided to go to Barton College. The professors challenge you to learn more and they are always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow-up with an entrance counselor and your transition will be wonderful. Always ask for extra help if you do not understand.

    In three sentences

    Barton College is the perfect school for those who do not like big classroom of students. The professors are great and provide one-on-one attention for those who desire. Barton College is a small school with a big heart.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is real safe, especially with the police being on campus

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is a great thing, and I'm not just saying this because I am apart of it. They can be very helpful to the whole campus along with the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to do. I'm sure there is something there for you, and if not you could start your own club if you have the right requirements.

    What to do for fun

    Wilson is a small town, but there are a few things to do. There is a movie theater about 5-10 minutes away from the school, along that same path there is a bowling alley. There is also a bunch of places to shop and eat at. There is a park about 10-15 minutes away from the school too.

    Food and Dining

    When you get accepted to Barton you get this thing called a meal plan, that is if you pay for it. Which means you have a certain amount of meals in the cafe per week. You also have this thing called bully bucks, which is a certain amount of money that you get each semester to use in the mini cafe under the cafe that is open just about all day, so when you missed eating in the cafe you can grab a bite to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    Waters is the all freshmen dorm, this is also where the police station on campus is located so it is a real safe place to stay. East Campus suites is the upperclassmen dorm and it has a community kitchen I believe. Wenger is an all girls dorm so if you don't feel comfortable living with guys in the same building. Hilley is a coed dorm along with Hackney. Overall I would have to say they dorms are decent living facilities but they could use a bit more tidiness.

    Academic Rigor

    The classroom rules are almost always the same, but it may differ depending on what the subject may be. The professors can be harsh sometimes with their rules, but they do it so they can help you better your path to a great career after college. The college has its rules that can be handled very well if broken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, the more you think its a good idea, is more of a reason to go ahead and forget about procrastinating. Study as much as you can every minute that you can, it will help you in the long run I promise. Ask questions, just because you may feel stupid doing it doesn't mean you shouldn't do it, who knows, the person sitting next to you might have the same question and feel the same way about asking it. Speak up for yourself and don't hold back.

    In three sentences

    Barton College is a great school, with it being a small school we students have the opportunity to get to know our professors and get one on one help from them when needed. It's got protection too, the Wilson police department has a police station inside one of the dorms. Overall, you couldn't ask for much more, you have great professors and great protection.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like what I see so far. I was accepted but I'm still waiting for other school's to reply but Barton is still on my radar. I'm really excited!

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are always willing to help you out and are only a phone call away!

    Greek Life

    I'm not involved in Greek life, but quite a few of my friends are! They seem to love it and I love it for them!

    Clubs and Activities

    Deaf club, sign choir, psychology club, math club, gerontology club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Barton college is a small school and everyone knows everyone, whether you're a senior or freshman. All of the professors know your name and that's a great thing. It's a very close-knit college, more like a small community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student center is for everyone! I love to hang out there!

    Bang for the buck

    I'm only a first year student, but I think it's worth it!

    What to do for fun

    I joined Deaf Club to learn ASL and I love it! There are a ton of clubs offered on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Food has its good and bad days, but Tony Tilley is the best..and if you tell him a certain food you like he'll make it for you!

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. I only live about an hour away, but moving on campus was totally worth it! You stay involved so much more!

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into college with an open mind and don't be afraid to try new things.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school, wonderful staff. I've made the best friends here. I couldn't imagine being anywhere else.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never see anything on campus that would make me feel unsafe. Although, the campus is open to the public and you do see random people walking around the back side of the school a lot.

    Greek Life

    I am not in Greek Life, but from what I hear and also talking to people who are in Greek Life, it is a great way to mingle and to have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus. I am the secretary of the Art Students League.

    Great for these types of students

    All the students I have met are very friendly and are very social. This is great for shy people because like me, They helped me bring me out of my shell and I am more outgoing.

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus but I try to get involved with activities anytime I have free time. The students are always doing something on campus, at all times of the day.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food on campus. They have a great salad bar and of course other types of food in the cafe. Barton also has Bully's and it also has great food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should try their best and ask for help if needed! The teachers are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Barton is a great college to attend. The faculty there is so nice and caring about the students. They all will go out of their ways to help.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds of student. All personalities are welcome.

    What to do for fun

    Parties, gaming with friends, watching movies, or playing pool/air hockey,

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is nice, but the store under the dining hall is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay, but don't pay if you live close enough to commute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have the financial support ready.

    In three sentences

    A small college where everyone knows your name. Barton instructors build a relationship with you as a student and as a person. You can always count on a friendly person to help you in your time of need.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good and the on campus restaurant is even better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm presents a lot of opportunities that are not so easily obtained living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Put in a lot of hours to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and try to get a lot of scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Barton is a close knit, small town, family feel set up. Barton is small but excellent. You will never feel like just another number.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe we have our on Barton police who are real officers who work for the Wilson police department!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is great it's not like you see in movies or major university we have our own style at Barton and its really fun and understanding people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot alot alot fun fun fun!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    All students !!!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always pet the bulldog head when you go into the gym !!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Barton you will get a great education with instructors who care and people who are willing to help you out no matter what and find situations that will help you out!

    What to do for fun

    Games Greenville and Raleigh and Smithfield are close

    Food and Dining

    Tony Tilley is the best food director in this state ! He makes sure the cafe is welcoming and food is good we have our good and bad days but mostly good days !

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty fun I have lived in dorms for two years and will be living there once again!

    Academic Rigor

    They push you to do your best!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college with an open mind and be ready for time management skills and responsibility. Be ready to work hard and make the best of college and be ready for a fun and exciting school that changes your life Barton may be a small school but they are mighty in what they do!

    In three sentences

    Barton College is a family oriented school and they don't just ignore they stick with you and help you out. Barton is a beautiful campus and everyone is friendly. Barton also has a great athletic department.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe but the campus is open to the public.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities for every student on campus no matter what your interested in. if they don't have a club to your interest then you can always start one. They even have clubs for every major offered here on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties on Tuesdays at the sigma house, Thursdays at the Alpha house, and Fridays the Phi Kappa house. There's also sporting events, the student center and movie night.

    Food and Dining

    Its better to eat in the café if you don't feel like spending money or you can eat at bully's when bully bucks start.

    Dorm Life

    staying in the dorm isn't all that great but you do get to meet other students that's on your floor. On the 3rd floor of hilly its girls on one side and guys on the other side while the 2nd and 4th floor is all boys and the 5th floor is all girls.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes makes it easier to get that one on one help with your teacher and some of the teachers here makes learning fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    The library will be your best friend so I suggest you go there to do al your homework and the writing center is a good tool to get help on your essays for English.

    In three sentences

    Barton isn't all that great but they do have several fun activities for students. The school costs a lot of money but its worth it because they have some of the best programs in the country. The best part about this school is the parties and because of that I give the school a B-.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is good for the most part. I haven't seen any problems with it so far. Barton College is located in the best part of town, but they do hold meetings that remind students of the dangers they could be faced with at any college. We do have campus police officers walking around at all times. These officers also serve as escorts if you need one. The school provides a card with the emergency numbers on it and there are emergency call boxes all over campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many different clubs and activities here at Barton College. I, myself, am in three clubs currently. I have tons of fun doing fundraisers and participating in many different activities the clubs hold for their members as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun here at Barton College. They often hold many activities on center campus during the day like corn hole and inflatable slides etc. They always have something for the students do. Also, they hold activities like bingo and other games.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good. They provide a nice variety of foods every day. The dining area is great for socialization as well. It is a big wide open space right on top of the student center. Once you are done eating, you can take the elevator down to enjoy some games of pool or ping pong or just relax and watch some television.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is also great here. They always keep the dorms looking nice and they keep students in line by having Resident Assistances around. If you have any kind of problem with people being loud or drinking or anything, all you have to do is report it to a Resident Assistance and they will take care of the problem. You dont have to worry about a thing!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at Barton College are great! They provide a great education for each student. The advisors keep you on track as well as provide you with what's best for you. The professors are always willing to help you if you have any questions about anything and the programs here are highly admired.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get out and socialize. The people here are extremely friendly and would love to meet new people. With this school having a lot activities going on, it givess you the chance to meet new people and to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    Barton College is a great school as far as their education and welcoming feeling. The people here are extremely friendly and ready to assist you if you ever need help. They provide a beautiful campus and many activities that students can participate in.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on campus plice department that regulates the school at all hours because the school is in a bad location.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of activities that surround the greek life. They always have something going on. Although I have never got involved in any of that, I hear plenty about it from my classmates.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous amounts of organizations for every type of person that enjoys different hobbies.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a very expenzive school, but they will go out of there way to help you afford the school. I mean trying to find scholarships,grants, loans and every possible solution to help with the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of cubs and organizations that you can join. Also I believ all you need to start your own club is 2 people and of course to get approved by the on campus staff.

    Food and Dining

    At some points you could catch the food to be really good but I wasnt a big fan, guess that just because I came from a family who knows how to hrow down on some food.

    Dorm Life

    Was alright for me, I did not like having to share a shower with 7 other peole and not having my privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    No matter what the major, the faculty will mak sure that you have a complete understanding of the rigor before letting you out of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded Willing to work Come with a great attitude Respectful

    In three sentences

    Smaller college that alows you to have a chance of getting to meet alot of new people. Everyone is so friendly and willing to help out with anything that will meet your needs. Overall a great school to start your college years off with!!

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Wilson police have an office location on campus.

    Greek Life

    Only three fraternitys to choose from not much variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like small schools and class sizes. Also good for students needing more indivual time with professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the education that will be recieved here is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Most is to attend sporting events or go to Raleigh, NC or Greenville, Nc

    Food and Dining

    Not much variety to choose from on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Most things are done by the students individually and not residence life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is rigor is challenging but not impossible or overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Barton gives every student the oppurtunity to be successfull here. A very important tip is for students to get to know they're professors. They're very easy to talk to and do their best to help.

    In three sentences

    A great school academicly. Very expensive to attend here. Not much for students to do outside of class and sporting events.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food goes from good to bad and back again.

    In three sentences

    There is not a lot to do off campus. Campus usually has a lot going on, but when it rains the whole campus floods.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around campus, there is Greek life events, SGA events, and also sporting events all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and their chicken nuggets are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though the work isn't that hard, for the Education department there is always homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to improve your study skills college is nothing like high school it is a lot more difficult.

    In three sentences

    It has an awesome atmosphere, the people are so friendly and the teachers really want you to succeed. I love how many school related functions there are, there are things going on at campus all the time. The education department is top notch and everyone of the teachers are there for you.