Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Barton County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Barton is a very affordable, nice college. If your looking for a college with small class size and a smaller campus consider Barton!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a tour, talk with advisers, talk to financial people, and just get information!

    Bang for the buck

    Barton is very affordable. They offer financial aide and scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is a very nice college. The people here are very friendly. The campus is the right size and the classes are too.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers have a lot of information and are willing to help you succeed.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for anyone who wants to get their gen-eds out of the way and if they only want an associates degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small campus and easy to find all of your classes.

    Bang for the buck

    You are very affordable to everyone that goes there.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy the campus life and the small classes.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes it will be like i am still in high school in the classes.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the school usually has some activity each week that is open for all students at barton to attend. things such as 3 dollar movie night, free bowling, dances, bingo night, etc. there are also plenty of sporting events to attend to and support along with your friends!

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining isn't terrible, but just like any other place it's cafeteria food! i didn't find it that bad, but if you don't like it, there are kitchens in the common's area of the dorms and you have plenty of opportunity to cook there, as well.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is great, you meet lots of people and there is usually always something going on whether it's school provided or just friends! there are rules, as usual, but it's for your safety and well-being.

    Academic Rigor

    i think that there are some classes here that make students actually learn the material and enjoy learning it as well, not all the classes are this way but there are some!

    Tips for prospective students

    being part of a team here is a great experience, and barton is very well known for being great in most sports here!

    In three sentences

    i think that barton community college has been a great opportunity for me. i have received good schooling for a very decent price in the last (almost) 2 years that i have attended. i also was given a wonderful opportunity to continue my golf career here, i qualified and competed at nationals in 2011; and hope to go again this year.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have on campus security. I have always felt very safe. Things are lit up well. I have not had any problems with any kind of theft or vandalism or anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for just about everything you could think of. There is no way you could not find something to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for student athletes. There are many sports to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have several fun activities on campus like movie night on the lawn and meet and greet functions.

    Bang for the buck

    The laundry facilities are free which is great. I don't have to worry about paying to clean my clothes. This is a huge perk of living on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always all kinds of campus activities going on at the school

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is wonderful. There are not different levels of food plans which is so nice. We can eat as much as we want. The food always tastes good and there is alot to choose from

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You meet so many new people and there is always something going on. They clean your bathroom for you. We have plenty of space.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great and not too crowded. It is easy to get time with the teachers and tutors if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you room with someone you know you can get along with. Don't try and take too many hours that you are overwhelmed. Get involved in activities.

    In three sentences

    I am having a great time meeting new people and playing baseball. I am learning to organize my time better to get my homework turned in on time. Barton is just the right size to transition into college from High School

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a numerous of activies you can attend, for example there are $3 movies nights every wednesday or so. There is free bingo were you can win prizes. Not to long ago we had a Hawaiian Luau, which consisted of dinner and followed by a dance. There are so many things one can get involved in. You just have to be willing to participate.

    Food and Dining

    Well the food is great, very clean environment, but the food can get a little repetitive after eating there for a certain period of time.

    Dorm Life

    Friendly surroundings. Everyone gets along with each other. It is a safe place to live, you can walk out of your dorm knowing on one will do anything harmful. They do have securities standing outside dorms making sure nothing bad is going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Really good school like I had mentioned. There are some down falls on the location of this school. First of all this college is found directly on top of a hill so it gets pretty windy. You have to drive 10 minutes to get into town, not a big issue but it can get pretty pricy on gas money if your wanting to go into town often.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend to keep your options open like it did. Never judge a school until you actually make a college visit. You will be surprised on the numerous activities you can be involved in.

    In three sentences

    Well coming to this school I really did not think there was alot to offer. After being here for almost a year already as an upcoming freshmen I fell In love with this campus, the people are great! There is alot of assistance out there for you.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    military base, extremely safe

    Great for these types of students

    Great for new, continuing, independent, everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I attended class at Fort Riley, Kansas on the military base.

    Bang for the buck

    wonderful!!! Best classes for the price ever.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes were challenging, however, a few were a bit difficult. I would take more classes there if I had the opportunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early and pay attention to deadlines. The new dean there is a stickler for sign-up deadlines and will not let you add a class even if there are only a couple of students, so be sure to sign up early.

    In three sentences

    The Barton County Community College program offered at Fort Riley, Kansas was great. I loved the teachers and the selection of classes offered.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels extremely safe and the security guards do a great job maintaining situations if anyone gets to rowdy.

    Bang for the buck

    You get quality education that is affordable and you truly do learn from the instructors and transferring is extremely easy.

    What to do for fun

    Well, Barton provides a lot of free or cheap activities on campus to $3 movie night for the latest movies to free bowling.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but it is something to be expected with college.

    Dorm Life

    It is very safe and comfortable

    Academic Rigor

    Academically everything is not difficult and the instructors make it very understandable. Just do the work & go to class and everything will go somoothly.

    In three sentences

    Barton County Community College is an affordable quality education. Barton has instructors who care about student's improvement and focus in their education. Students get a chance to have a closer relationship with their instructors which allows the instructors to better help the students understand and develop a work ethic.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety isn't strong so be mindful of protecting your purse and/or backpack from getting stolen.

    Greek Life

    Greek-Life is non-exist here but you can find other activities to do around the local area.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball is pretty big here but besides that you can drive to Manhattan,Kansas to watch K-State football and etc.

    Food and Dining

    Dining here is about average there are some option but off-campus dining is highly recommended.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is not exist here most students are to focused on their academics to chat.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Barton isn't that difficult and you be able to do decent on exams without reading the textbooks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take to advisors to set up a good academic schedule that is flexible. Always apply register early because classes fill up quick. And make sure your financial aid is in your bank account before you register.

    In three sentences

    Barton County Community College is a great inexpensive college to start your college career. It helps to you to apply and be ready for a 4- year college. Besides the non-exists of a dorm-life Barton County Community College is a great college.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go in and talk to them not just call

    In three sentences

    It was fast and easy to apply.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security are a group of the coolest guys you will ever meet. The security guards love the students and the students love the security guards. if for whatever reason someone is kicked out or caught with alcohol or possession of something it is always a bummer.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hardly any clubs or activities to choose from. There is not advertisements for students to join certain clubs, groups, or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Barton is great for a student who does not care where they attend school. if you are strictly focused on sports or academics this is a great school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a strange tradition that has caught on here at Barton is: to go outside when it is raining with five or ten or fifteen of your closest friends. Run through all the puddles, slide down hills, or block the drains and play in the pool of water that forms. floaties are not uncommon.

    Bang for the buck

    Barton is a good option for students with low GPA's or coming to school for a sport because you get quite a bit of bang for the buck.

    What to do for fun

    At barton it is typically hard to find fun things to do. There are multiple pool and ping pong tables. but beyond that the only other fun thing students do here is take trips to wal-mart.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the best. Having been to a handful of schools cafeteria Barton is among the worst. But, the ice cream is usually good. It is a big hit here at Barton.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not very nice at all, but the people here make up for the lack of dorm quality.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are quite nice here simply because most of the teachers are great and the low student to teacher ratio makes getting help easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a lot of activites such as: a television, a book, or whatever other activities that you would like to do when you are bored. At Barton you should be prepared to face quite a bit of boredom.

    In three sentences

    Barton County Community College mainly focuses on sports. The class sizes are quite nice because the student to teacher ratio is very small. The overall atmosphere of the college is a little depressing coming from a bigger city, but overall Barton is okay.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Use your GI Bill here for your online education

    Food and Dining

    Eat healthy

    Academic Rigor

    Manage your time wisely

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are taking online classes be prepared to read more than you would in a traditional classroom.

    In three sentences

    Barton has an excellent program for military personnel. The administrative staff works well with getting you in touch with the proper advisor. Barton has an exciting online 2 for 2 program with Kansas State University.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of. :)

    Bang for the buck

    BCCC is VERY affordable. Most classes I feel like I get way more out of them than I pay for, which is great!

    What to do for fun

    Great Bend, the closest town about 5 minutes away, is not a city by any means. But, there is still stuff to do. There's a bowling alley, water park, mini putt putt course, zoo, ice skating during the winter, and many other things.

    Food and Dining

    Once again, I live 10 miles away. I eat at home, so I can't give much input. :/

    Dorm Life

    I live 10 miles away from campus, so I can't give any first hand advice about the dorms! From what I've heard, they're just like any other dorm. On the plus side, they are planning to build some more buildings for dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Discipline around here is just like any other college. If you do something wrong, there will be some sort of punishment. From what I've witnessed, teachers usually can calm down situations without having to get the higher powers involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, some advice I could give you is to get involved. College can be such a fun experience! Do a sport, join a club, or just show some spirit for the college sport teams! No matter what you do, college is always more fun when you have met some new friends.

    In three sentences

    BCCC is such a great college for those who are wanting to get some of their basic classes out of the way before heading on to a larger university. Between the cheaper tuition, and the small class sizes, the college definitely sets you up for success. Deciding to start off here to get my Associates was the best (and most affordable) decision I have ever made, and I wouldn't change it for the world!

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    if you have questions-ask!

    In three sentences

    i think Barton is a great school, all the staff are extremely helpful and really assist to help you achieve your goals.The classes are interesting and challenging yet with hard work you can really excel.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is guarded by security police everywhere, and camera. plus outside the buildings is a phone for emergencies. you are never out by yourself. there is always someone there with you.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are different clubs for religion, games, and all kinds of things more than I could possibly list.

    Great for these types of students

    you can be the unsocial, or very social, there are so many kinds of people here that you are bound to be different in someway and same in another.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a party the week before school starts in the middle of campus all night.

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that I am so close to my family so I don't have to drive far to see them for holidays or just weekends I need to go home. the college is a great stepping stone for going on to larger colleges.

    What to do for fun

    there is a commons room where you can play games, watch tv, cook, and hang out with friends. and there is lots of computers available everywhere. and you have cable if you get a tv in your dorm. very good actives, everyday there is something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. you will not starve while here. just got new decoration in cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    there are several people in your building and the housing tries really hard to match you with people more like you.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes show good challenge to them, but not so hard that they are impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for first year students, or students wanting to see some new culture but not be over stimulated with it. Don't be afraid to ask questions, talk to the advisers (they are your friends).

    In three sentences

    Really good college to start out with. very diverse yet normal feeling. they work with you to get you where you need to go.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Barton is a very good college easy campus to find way around. Barton has a very good art program. I am pleased with all of the things Barton has to offer.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Barton is a very good price for general education requirements.

    What to do for fun

    Most sports participate in a sport for fun.

    Food and Dining

    If I could I would not even give the food one star. There is definitely no variety and forget about healthy eating.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not so great. There's lots of spiders and something always seems to be broken.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are wonderful but there is not much of an academic challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Living on campus is not very great, I would definitely live off campus.

    In three sentences

    Barton has very good online courses. If you are on campus then the teachers take the time to really make a connection with you. They make a great educational experience.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see security all the time, but no one ever hurts anyone else. It's a very safe place to be!

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless ways to be involved throughout campus. Look in the union for opportunities!

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students should go here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual thing about campus is how friendly everyone is! But our rival in sports is Hutch Community so watch out!

    Bang for the buck

    SO WORTH IT! Scholarships out the wazoo and awesome teachers. you will learn a lot and spend a little... or get paid to go like I was!

    What to do for fun

    Barton has great sports programs of every kind! Go watch them! All of the on campus activities are awesome. If you want to, you can even play Frisbee golf on campus. I love going to bingo night and $3 movie night! Each holiday, they have some kind of nice little get together that Is open to students. And the Musicals and concerts are fantastic!

    Food and Dining

    The caf is fantastic! Each day you get to choose from a great variety of food. It doesn't cost a lot, and if you don't like the choices provided, then you have several other on campus food choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can make it difficult to focus at times. Not all college students are goal oriented, so distractions are easy to come by in the dorms. They are very safe and very fun, however.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class I have taken has been well worth my time. I have learned a lot, and I plan on being very successful in life. And the plus side is- - I'm not in debt!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not write Barton off! It is a fantastic place to get your Secondary Education started! Save money by getting quality education here before jumping into debt at a university. Go to class! Going is over half of the battle. Passing is second nature as long as you attend.

    In three sentences

    Barton is an incredibly affordable, student-oriented college. It is a fantastic place to go if you are wanting to get your Gen. Ed.'s out of the way! If you attend for two years and obtain an Associate's Degree, then all of your credits will transfer to almost any University if you want to further your education!