Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Baton Rouge Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/28/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Baton Rouge Community College is great for students that don't want to leave Baton Rouge and get a great education in what they want to do in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are striving for something that you love to do don't let anyone get in your way and hold you down because they want to be where you are, but is afraid.

    Will enjoy being here

    I would enjoy being there, but I would also miss my baby because I don't like to be away from him.

    Will learn a lot

    I think that I will learn a lot because I like to surround myself in a learning environment and also everyone has been talking about going to this school. My baby daycare teacher goes there and I would like to become a daycare assistant.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start 4 to 5 months in advance on your financial aid for this school. You might receive it before your semester is over.

    Am enjoying being here

    The financial aid office is terrible. In the past comment a reviewer stated that they are racist.....no they treat everyone the same way. We are african americans & we are not treated any better. The staff has a bad attitude & is hard to work with. My biggest problem is the financial aid office. They will not assist you, lose your paperwork & tell you that you didn't turn it in, give you the wrong information, & seems to be very lazy. The school is ok but good luck dealing with the staff. I guess to sum it up the financial aid office is APATHETIC.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone seeking the opportunity to advance themselves and their community!

    Tips for prospective students

    I have found that the staff at the main desk in enrollment services (first point of contact for BRCC)has been extremely helpful, friendly, and detailed. However, I also encountered a few folks in the financial aid office whom appear to be to busy to courteous, sometime rude, and often time unhelpful. Such a shame, because this campus is very beautiful and can and should provide much to enhance this community.

    Bang for the buck

    Undetermined at this point.

    Will enjoy being here

    I plan to make the best of my time while attending BRCC.

    Will learn a lot

    Have had a brief conversation with an instructor which was extremely positive and super productive. I hope that this experience was the bar of what I can expect.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    BRCC is very very serious about campus safety! There are signs and red emergency phones everywhere. I appreciate it; I feel very safe and secure while on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional students, the budget conscious student

    Bang for the buck

    BRCC is a very nice school. I love the atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Student government is so all-inclusive. They do everything from improving online study tools to putting together sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay at a dorm at BRCC, so I'm unsure of how the dorm life is here.

    Academic Rigor

    You come to college to exceed and to reach another step in life. Take this step seriously. Do what you have come to do to get to that next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and attend class. If you have questions, please ask. There are many people here at BRCC that are very willing to help.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with Baton Rouge Community College. The professors here are so eager to help and inform. I really appreciate the quality of learning that's available at this affordable school.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    chilled hang with friends basketball spending time with my family going to church

    Food and Dining

    i never ate there

    Dorm Life

    ilive off campus

    Academic Rigor

    if you focus youll do good in school

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused come to school

    In three sentences

    the teachers are nice and its very convient its less stressful and i love it

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there are no soroities or fraternaties

    Great for these types of students

    the university is suitable for all nationalities,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    theres always an anniversary celebratioon, a welcome fest each semester, and a seasonal fest every semester

    What to do for fun

    participate in activities each week, go to the sports events

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you have all of your info completed before school starts and dont be afraid to ask questions and for help.

    In three sentences

    Being a student at Baton Rouge community college is fun intresting and enlightening. Taking classes with students of all ages proves to be an extraordinary experience. The instructors are very helpful and are empathetic to an individuals situation.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to LSU tailgates and football games.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended yet but I assume it will be like any other community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register for classes early because they fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice school with a pretty campus. However, I have had a difficult time trying to sign up for classes and they do not offer all the classes I need for my major. They also do not offer a lot of online classes.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if transferring, that brcc classes are equivalent before enrolling in classes.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy this school. The only thing I dislike is that this school requires students to take unnecessary courses as an prerequisite before taking a class that counts against your. I really thinks that's a waste of time.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always on campus and video recording is on the campus as well. THE CAMPUS SAFETY IS VERY GOOD AND STRICTLY ENFORCED

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a baseball team and football team. THE BASEBALL TEAM THEY HAVE IS VERY GOOD BUT THE FOOTBALL TEAM IS JUST STARTING THIS FALL.

    Great for these types of students

    IT IS GRAET FOR LAW STUDENTS, STUDENTS GOING TO COLLEGE IN BUSINESS AND NURSING MAJORS

    What to do for fun

    you can go bowling, go to the movies, eat out, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    there are many restaurants and stores around the areas to eat from and also grocery shop. there is good food and dining around the campus

    Dorm Life

    THER ARE NO DORMS BUT HOUSING IS IN SUROUNDING AREAS NEAR THE CAMPUS

    Academic Rigor

    ACADEMIC REQUIREMENTS FOR THE SCHOOL IS GGOD FOR STUDENTS WHO STRUGGLE IN HIGH SCHOOL AND AS WELL AS STUDENTS WHO HAVE A GOOD GRADE POINT AVERAGE

    Tips for prospective students

    Study in all subjects and don't give up. have fun with the programs and classes you choose. always choose a career you will enjoy

    In three sentences

    Baton Rouge Community College is a good college to attend. You can attend at the college not only for 2-years but for 4-years as well. They help with financial aid and student loans.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Read reviews on teachers on www.ratemyprofessor.com before picking classes. Reading reviews on the teachers will help make your semester fun.

    In three sentences

    BRCC is a very good 2 year college. Tuition for this school is very affordable. The teachers here really make learning interesting and they really care about your education.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security posts at various locations, cell-phone alert program, several campus police officers patrol at various points throughout the day.

    Greek Life

    Not really anything that I've heard anyone get worried about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a slew of clubs to be affiliated with on the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students, students who want an associates degree, students who just want to take some leisure classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really unusual - there is a fountain that a lot of people like to play music around, and the theater classes sometimes have improv shows.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a student looking to update your knowledge in a specific field - like Math for myself personally - it is perfect. There are a lot of different fields for associates at BRCC, and there are a multitude of nursing and veterinary courses available.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, explore town, the art week is fairly fun, and there are several campus events throughout any semester.

    Food and Dining

    There is a food court area with Chick-fil-a, smoothie king, and a few culinary schools do different meals for lunch some days of the week.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent

    Academic Rigor

    I rate this lowly because of where my education level was upon entering the school. The difficulty of the courses depends on how much effort you are willing to put in, and if you speak with your professors you can get much more out of the education - as with any institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the library resources, and the academic learning center for assistance in a large variety of topics.

    In three sentences

    Baton Rouge Community College is a great school for those seeking to; update their knowledge before heading into a larger institution, slowly edge back into an educational environment for returning students, and those feeling wary about applying directly to a more expensive institution. The school offers a extremely supportive group of professors and tutors. The college offers several programs for furthering education, scholarship opportunities, and a large number of organizations and campus clubs in which to be affiliated.

  • 08/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a number one priority at Baton Rouge Community College. There are plenty of Campus Police and the building is pretty much secure from all danger to protect the students to the maximum.

    Greek Life

    At Baton Rouge Community College, the only Greek life that is available is the two honor societies that they have. They have Sigma Kappa Delta, known as the English Honor's Society. They also have Phi Beta Kappa, known as the General Honor's Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and organization for students to get involved with why they are on campus. Baton Rouge Community College is best noted for their Student Government Association, also known as SGA. SGA is the best way for students to learn how they can get involved and have a voice on the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If someone works, wants to stay local, and is looking for a small and intimate class setting, then Baton Rouge Community College is the place to go. The schedule of classes allows for people that work during the day to go to evening classes to learn while they work and in a smaller class setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some traditions that Baton Rouge Community College has at their campus is every semester, there is always a big school event that kicks off each semester with games, food, music, and prizes for the students.

    Bang for the buck

    The Bang for the Buck is when they have an Student Government Association event, there is always free food and drinks provided for the students. It is also cheaper to come to Baton Rouge Community College because the tuition is less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    At Baton Rouge Community College, there is a game room, exercise area, weigh room, sports teams, and different other recreational event put on by the Student Government Association.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is a great experience at Baton Rouge Community College. On campus, there is Chic-fill-a, Rolly Polly, Smoothie King, and our very own culinary institute, Capital Area Grill, that serves many variety of plate lunches.

    Dorm Life

    As Baton Rouge Community College is a community school, there are no dorms available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Baton Rouge Community College is noted for many students that perform well academically well. The school is in the process of trying to implement a program banquet to reward student that perform well academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Baton Rouge Community College, please enroll early so you are not waiting a long lines for enrollment services or financial aid. Always wait until after the first day of class to purchase your text book as some instructor don't use the book. Stay involved in student life on the campus.

    In three sentences

    Baton Rouge Community College is a fun learning environment aimed at preparing students to enter into the work force. When a person leaves and completes studies at Baton Rouge Community College, they are equipped to do the work that the individual has been taught to do. Baton Rouge Community college is never a boring because there is always activities for the student to do.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police are seen, but not scary. friendly. red security phone in every classroom

    Greek Life

    no frats (2 year)

    Clubs and Activities

    fun clubs and holiday events: Anime & Gaming Club BRCC Alumni Association BRCC Newspaper Future Educators CAMPUS ACTIVITIES BOARD (CAB) Computer Science Club C.R.A.S.H. Club French Club Gospel Choir Hip Hop Coalition I Too America Club Jazz Ensemble Library Club Math Club Phi Theta Kappa PTEC CLUB Self Esteem Club BRCC Student Nurses Association Student Government Association (SGA) 25 PLUS SOCIETY CLUB VETERANS CLUB Art Club- Christian Student Association- Construction Management Club - Creative Writing Club - Green Bears (STEM) - Graphic Design Club - International Club -- KBD Business Club - Poetry Club - Process Technology Club (PTEC) Production Assistance Club Sigma Kappa Delta- Spanish Club-

    Great for these types of students

    hard working students who want to have fun and not spend an arm and leg on loans

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    fun clubs and holiday events

    Bang for the buck

    about half the price of LSU, able to tranfer to LSU as a junior after 2 years

    What to do for fun

    The festivals each semester, the movie showings, the art contests, the 4 vs 4 basketball tournaments. The 1 vs 1 basketball tournaments. Soccer teams and flag football. Free weight lifting room ( before 2pm, after 2pm is for faculty only) fun clubs and holiday events

    Food and Dining

    Adequate clean and bright dining area, 3-4 clean vending machines on each floor.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first college so I cannot tell you if it is hard or not. I found it easy, but I always study. I have been in classes where many peopled failed, so study. Free academic learning center for tutoring or sample test questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and come to class prepared. Everything will be good and fun. Tons of fun to be had on campus.

    In three sentences

    Good school if you study. BRCC has clean new buildings with comfortable tables and chairs. BRCC has about 30 person classes with helpful teachers.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always sending out safety alerts and keeping students safety in their best interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want smaller classes but still a great education . also students that want to complete technical programs or transfer to a university and want to be prepared for so.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a bang for your buck!

    What to do for fun

    They have several clubs you can join for several different interest and those clubs have different activities.

    Food and Dining

    Great food in cafeteria but EXPENSIVE!

    Dorm Life

    They dont have any dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Very do-able if you concentrate and study and the professors dont mind working with you to meet the academic requirements!

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students would be to keep up with all of your classes and goals and make sure your'e completing your classes in the right amount of time.

    In three sentences

    I love Baton Rouge Community College because it is the perfect step in between transferring from high school to a university. It is also a great school for business degress and technical jobs. I would say this school is a great stepping stone nomatter what field you are going into and the tuition is very affordable.