Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bay de Noc Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/09/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research excessively all the schools you are thinking about attending. Take tours, talk with current students, and interact with the school staff.

    Bang for the buck

    Bay is not expensive and is a very good economical choice. They have many services in helping pay for your education.

    Will enjoy being here

    Bay College is close to home and I will still get to see my friends and family and still be able to receive the college experience. The classes seem just right in size so I know I will be able to interact one on one with my professors.

    Will learn a lot

    I hear a lot of great news about Bay de Noc Community College and I am hoping to attend soon. My friends and other acquaintances tell me of how much success they are retrieving from their classes and can not wait to pursue more of an education there.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing wrong has happened so far. It's a pretty safe town.

    Greek Life

    No Idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    No Idea.

    Great for these types of students

    Low budget

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    YMCA is next door.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheaper than a 4 year college. A great start for any student.

    What to do for fun

    Play pool in the lounge and go to the YMCA which is free for full time students.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! I recommend to try it at least once.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    My classes thus far have been pretty easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books online if it is cheaper online. Try out the lounge.

    In three sentences

    Great for starting down the college path. It has a nice lounge. The bookstore could be better.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can go to the ymca and do many different kinds of things! also it is not very far away from the main part of escanaba where there are stores and other fun things to do.

    Academic Rigor

    i have to say that the standards set for the students are really good. i am currently dual enrolled and the teacher's expectations are very good!

    In three sentences

    i am really excited to attend here in the fall! i have been on to campus a few times and it's great! the staff are very nice and helpful when it comes to questions.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus creates an atmosphere of home with no armed security guards. The college feels safe and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa is the school's Honor's Society. The Alpha Xi Delta chapter takes second among all community colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    Bay is perfect for people who would like to save a little money on tuition before transferring. Bay College also has a wonderful nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a yearly barbecue to greet incoming Freshman. There is regular entertainment on campus. There are comedians and magicians that come to Bay College to perform in the auditorium for student amusement.

    Bang for the buck

    Professional, yet friendly professors will help you succeed. There is also a TriO lounge with student tutors who are also willing to help succeed.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch room has a variety of tasty cosines.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure, I have only ever taken online. When I have visited friends in dorms, they seem happy with their roommates and they are quick to accommodate any roommate changes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes may be difficult, but you are surrounded by academic professionals whose main goal is to help you succeed. They make sure students understand the material, and answer any questions a student may have about coursework or projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    If attending online courses, be prepared to dedicate a lot of time and effort into your classes. Teachers do get back with you fairly quickly in a lot of classes, but be prepared to mostly teach yourself.

    In three sentences

    Bay College is a beautiful campus surrounded by the busy city life of Escanaba, Michigan; close to all the major stores and restaurants. There are many bright, intelligent minds who attend classes which allows for personal and intellectual growth. Bay offers flexible scheduling of classes at a low cost.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    beach

    Tips for prospective students

    have fun

    In three sentences

    the staff is helpful and the campus is nice. Great small town feel.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to get their core classes in for cheap, and wanting smaller classrooms to have better one on one time with their instructor. It's also great for students who haven't decided a major and want to get their general studies in while getting an Associates degree in the meantime.

    Bang for the buck

    Wish it was a four year college, I'd go there the whole time as long as it had my program of study.

    What to do for fun

    As a part of becoming a student at Bay De Noc Community College, you get FREE membership to the YMCA, located right next to the college. There you can swim, hang out, and get a little bit of exercise in. Plus once a year you can go to the U.P State Fair that isn't free to students but so worth the money.

    Food and Dining

    There are no meal plans, and the Bay Cafe there is a separate entity than the college itself, so your financial aid will not cover your costs to eat there. Though with work study you can work there, and make some money to live on, i understand they only take cash.

    Dorm Life

    A little on the expensive side, but there apartments not dorms that you can either share with one other friend, or three other friends. The living quarters are a bit tight, but you get utilities included and a kitchen/living room and a laundry room by the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small so you get more one on one time with the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to save a couple thousand bucks on just your core classes such as English and Math. It's smaller so your chance for work study or scholarships of the sort are much higher than that of a University. Always be prepared to verify you FASFA or other financial aid they do take a very long time to help you out there. And take the COMPASS test it's like the ACT but untimed and will give you a definite idea of where you are academically.

    In three sentences

    It is a very at hand school, close to family, and the faculty work with you to the best of their ability. It is a low cost community college where the classrooms are small and your ability to focus is great. The only fallback to the college is that it's only has a two year degree program before you have to transfer elsewhere.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Good school to start out at. Very small class sizes.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't know what they want to go to school for. Students that like to be close to home. Students that want a low tuition cost. Students that like smaller class sizes and 1 on 1 with the teacher.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable and low to other universities. Easy way to save a lot of money

    Food and Dining

    In the cafe there is pretty decent food. Although they have selective hours. College is close to town with fast food restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Bay college has a few dorms. Most students live at home and commute. It's a good way to save money.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though its a small school, teachers still care about your education and are strict like any university. They treat you like adults and are not responsible for your actions. Copying/cheating is not accepted

    Tips for prospective students

    A good place to start out to save money and get your general classes I we with. Don't be scared to go here because your living at home. Staying close to home let's you realize college life and helps create a grip before you transfer.

    In three sentences

    Faculty is very helpful and wanting you to succeed. Cheap tuition rates. Small class sizes.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some campus activities, but not many. However, in the summer Escanaba is very pretty and there are many things to do outdoors such as camping, hiking etc...

    Food and Dining

    Escanaba is very small and has a population of about 12,500. The food and dining options are limited but they are not too bad for having such a small population. There is a selection of fast food and sit down restaurants but nothing too special. Cafe' Bay is loud and expensive, but convenient if you need to eat something quick in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but I have been in them. The dorms are pretty much apartments that students rent out. I have found that it is actually cheaper to live off campus in the apartments around town.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Bay College really depends on what courses you are taking. The math and science courses are very good and you will learn a lot. There are many courses you can take that are blow off courses, so I would avoid these unless you want to learn very little.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Attend the classes because you are paying a lot of money for them. 2. Make sure to take advantage of the free tutoring services. 3. Regularly go to financial aid to make sure you are financially on track.

    In three sentences

    Bay de Noc Community College is a small, caring community. Bay de Noc Community College is a a great school to get a certificate, associates, or transfer degree. Bay de Noc Community College is easy to transfer credits from.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Bay de Noc community college is great school where everyone is truly dedicated to your success. There are so many opportunities for academic help like tutoring for example. I recommend Bay for an inexpensive but thorough education.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus makes you feel as if your at home. If there is a problem there is someone will be there soon to help!

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of different greek clubs. You just got to do your research to get in if you would like.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way to many to count! Bay has a little something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any! Bay has many different types of students. You can take online classes to full booked classes to tiny classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They always have some sort of promotions going on, so lots of free food!

    Bang for the buck

    Bay is the best priced college! I have saved so much money here and you get quality time with professors which is a major plus!

    What to do for fun

    There are many plays at Bay and clubs! You just got to research what your interested in!

    Food and Dining

    Bay has an amazing cafe. Anything you want is there and their food is fresh. You can actually eat healthy!

    Dorm Life

    I heard it's good! I personally never experienced it yet!

    Academic Rigor

    Major challenges are finding time to study or do homework if you have other activities. Many professors expect your working on their class the most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep to keep good communication with your professors. The more they know you care the more they are willing to help. Also, make sure you study!

    In three sentences

    Bay college is very flexible and willing to work with your schedule. When you need help it's always there. Not to mention the campus is super easy to navigate.