Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Becker College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think in general this school is a good school for all students. If you are a student that usually struggles with studying or learning, I feel would be a good school because there is so much help like tutoring, and the professor is there to help too.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school would be good for prospective students because again there are many opportunities. There are people there to help you beable to keep up with all your work. The advisors are very helpful by setting you up to take the classes that are recommended to take each semester so you are on track to graduate on time.

    Bang for the buck

    The school might seem expensive, but in the long run it is worth it. I feel that the price might be a bit much when you put all down in front of you. In the long run it works out, because there are so many opportunities. If you need help in class there is tutoring or you can easily go to your professor and they are there for help. There are many different trips to be able to go on and they are trips that can be once in a lifetime trips for some people. It is great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying being here. It takes a little bit of getting used to, but with all the help and activities there is always something to do and someone to talk to.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning many different ways to communicate with people. Before everyone started school we had many orientations to get to know more people so we weren't lost and didn't know anyone. Everyone is very friendly and helpful no matter what the question is that you have someone is always there to help you, weather it's a teacher, or a student.

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go into: Nursing, Health, Criminal Justice, Early Childhood Education, Gaming Majors, Sports management, Business, Hospitality, Marketing, Science and many more. Check out the website at www.becker.edu Thanks

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to keep your grades up and work hard. Have fun!!!! Get scholarships Love what you are majoring for and work hard to get to your goal.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive to go here unless you get a scholarship or work study. So you want to keep your grades up as in A's and B's in school and you will get a big scholarship from them. So yes it is expensive but it is the best thing that you can ever pay for this college is just great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. The Leicester campus is beautiful and quiet it is where most of the sports teams are. The Worcester campus is louder more city like and you get to live in houses because it is in the middle of the neighborhood where it is located. This is a very nice college and it has all the majors that I wanted to go into. So that is a plus because there aren't many colleges that have both the vet tech program and the equestrian studies program.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot the teachers here are wonderful and very helpful. They will go out of their way to make sure that you are doing good in all your classes. They know you by name since Becker is a smaller school. The guidance counselor is your go to person for all the years that you will be attending Becker College. Everyone is very helpful and you get to know most of the people in your classes.

  • 10/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Becker provides a very laid back environment so there is ample time for your studies, but it truly requires a dedicated individual to keep up with the workload. If your main concern is finding a large party school with a fast paced way of living, it may be wise to look elsewhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay involved in the community, both socially and professionally (Becker and the surrounding schools are quite good about bringing in experts from various fields for lectures and seminars). Do not just lay around your dorm room waiting for something to happen. Explore the neighborhood, introduce yourself to new people, and most importantly remember you are here for the education so get the most out of it as you possibly can.

    Bang for the buck

    I truly believe a college degree is worth striving for, but with the current state of education it is hard to rationalize the rising cost. Becker is no exception as the $36,000 price tag (dorm expenses and meal plan included) proves, though I do view it as a sound investment in the long run. Highly advise applying to scholarships, especially through Cappex, as knowing you're going here for a reduced cost will greatly alleviate any financial woes or stresses you may have.

    Am enjoying being here

    Having lived in California for the entirety of my life before coming here, I surprisingly enjoy the east coast. However, Becker, and Worcester in general, do not have a lot to do in the social spectrum so it has been hard to transition from a big city to a smaller town. There are definitely activities to occupy your time (sports, clubs, etc.), but I wish the school was closer to Boston.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a transfer student so I can not speak for Becker's general education courses, but their major courses (at least in Game Design) are phenomenal. While some of the teachers are a little lackluster in their delivery of knowledge, they are counter balanced by others who are simply amazing and show nothing but enthusiasm when approached with questions about their craft. I've also networked at an exponential rate and made more professional connections within the video game industry than I possibly could have without going to school.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Becker is a safe place to be, there are police stations on both campuses in order to keep students safe. Campus police patrol frequently and also offer rides to students from academic building to their dorms if asked. Also both campuses are located near the city police stations so there are local city police in the area allowing for better security.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any sororities of fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Becker has many clubs from the Game Development club which discusses video games and design aspects, to the Martial Arts club where you can discuss and learn self defense. Students are able to make new clubs for whatever areas of interest they like in order to allow students experience new things. The activities are great as well from weekly on campus events like movie nights to larger off campus events like trips to New york City and sports games.

    Great for these types of students

    Becker is great for anyone, the student body is very diverse and friendly. People from many different background are able to get together and have fun regardless of their majors and interest.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few halls on the Leicester campus that have gained local and even national notoriety. Lane hall and Winslow hall which are both current resident halls have been rumored to be haunted. Winslow at one point was a funeral parlor so there have been accounts of strange things happening from time to time. Also May house which was a residence hall is now closed and is recognized as a historical site as it was once a stop on the Underground Rail Road during the 1800's.

    Bang for the buck

    Becker is a great place and is expensive to attend, but the quality of education and prestige of the majors such as game design which is ranked in the top 10 of the Princeton Review make the price worth it. I can honestly say that the education I'm getting will help make me a successful individual.

    What to do for fun

    The Student activities committee organizes fun event daily, the events range from bingo games to sporting events such as Boston Redsox games. Also there are many on campus clubs and activities from sports, to arts, to gaming. There's also many local stores, restaurants, and other points of interest off campus close to both campuses.

    Food and Dining

    The dining halls have a rotating menu and provide many different meal choices daily. They stay open from 6am-7pm Monday through Thursday and from 10a-6pm on weekends. Also there are snack bar on both campuses the Hawks Nest and Hawks Haven, they provide light snacks to full meals, so there's always places to grab a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at Becker, both campuses have Residence halls that are Old Victorian houses which help give Becker a home away from home feel. The res. Life staff provide many activities and programs for residents to entertain and educate while living in the dorms. The Becker community is very friendly providing a great atmosphere to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are usually small so teachers can offer one on one advice. The classes are challenging to make sure you're getting the best education possible. Both campuses have academic tutoring centers call the Collaborative Learning Center, where you can get tutoring in any course being offered at the college, in case you need extra help or if you just want to reinforce the material learned in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before coming to Becker make sure to take a tour of both campuses in order to get a full experience of the college. Once you're attending, be ready to learn and be an active participant in your classes and the Becker community. Don't depend on loans for financial assistance, always try to get grants and scholarships, because that's money you won't need to pay back later.

    In three sentences

    Becker is a great institution of higher learning, located in Worcester and Leicester Ma. There's great diversity among the student body helping to create a fun and friendly learning atmosphere. The class size is generally small to help facilitate the learning process.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With a police officer present just for you to cross the street, their is no doubt in my mind that Becker College is a well protected facility.

    What to do for fun

    Aside from the Six Flags located not too far from town, the various movie theaters and clubs provide great entertainment. Along with the many activities occuring on campus daily.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the opportunity to dig in to all of the different varieties serves there but, what I was able to sink my teeth in, I enjoyed every bit of it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fairly nice. Maintenance is good. during orientation I had the pleasure of staying in a room. Everything was clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable. Restrooms and showers are both sanitized.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are always here to help but it is not just a give away. You have to work hard because each course presents its own challeges. You must be a committed student to stay on top of everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Utilize every possible resource presented to you. 2. Always inquire. 3. It gets really cold so bring a sweater. 4. The next four years can be the best or the worst time of your life, depending on the choices you make.

    In three sentences

    The ideal learning environment for young scholars. A great place to network with other people. A place overflowing with opportunity.

  • 05/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to major in veterinarian tech, pre-vet, or nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If veterinarian studies or nursing is your cup of tea then this is the right school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely expensive for simple courses. Around thirty-six thousand for a community college-level education.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are generally friendly, but there isn't a whole lot to do throughout the college. The city of Worcester isn't cheap so it is difficult to find entertainment at times.

    Am learning a lot

    Some classes will prove more useful than others. It is important to find out about instructors reputations before choosing classes because one will usually hold more information than another.

  • 05/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to have a great time learn something and just become an adult come to Becker.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get into as many programs and club as well as student activities to make your time at Becker all worth while.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite pricey for my own good but it is a college education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the cosy feeling and the people here. Playing sports is also a plus getting to meet so many more people and really becoming a family.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn as much as i put into studies. I have learned a lot not just education wise but the classes I have taken teach me so much more than just book information.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for mothers, full time professionals, gamers, or anyone looking to make a career change. note: my answers are mostly directed towards the accelerated program.

    Bang for the buck

    this is a reasonably priced college that offers a sound competition to other area universities and state schools. it employs professors that have participated in working at other larger more prestigious colleges such as lesley college, boston university, and brown. realize that as a a student at becker, your getting a 5 star education at a 3 star price.

    What to do for fun

    downtown excitement at the dcu center, hanover center for performing arts, mechanics hall, worcester art museum, the cotarium science center, area gyms, dance clubs or indoor gaming arenas. take a trip to boston to go see the celtics, bruins or red sox play! visit blackstone valley to shop or catch the latest movies

    Food and Dining

    check out their hawk's nest! great place to study and eat delicious fast food choices or choose their healthy options menu. there are many ethnic choices to choose from outside of campus.

    Dorm Life

    secure, close knit buildings, clean and peaceful in the center of worcester. worcester is the second largest city in new england but yet it offers the charm of a small town atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but yet manageable coursework.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are interested in getting your degree quickly and painlessly, this is the place for you. as long as you follow the course pack and complete assignments, this program is ideal! professors are also able to work with you if you are experiencing difficulties. keep open communications with them.

    In three sentences

    finally they have managed to create a successful program for mothers returning to school. this accelerated program is ideal for us. i am able to manage attending classes while balancing the activities of my family. becker accelerated is an exciting opportunity for professionals to improve their employability by working full time and attending classes. it gives us all the resources to complete a four year degree in a shorter timeframe making us more marketable faster.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who play sports and enjoy diversity.

    What to do for fun

    Snack bars, ping pong, pool, and local activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention in class and do your homework!

    In three sentences

    Becker College is a small friendly environment. All the buildings are easy to find and the food is great. It is a very diverse college too.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Becker College provides an excellent eduction and residence life for the students. It is worth the cost of studying here.

    What to do for fun

    Becker College has numerous clubs to participate in, sports and weekend trips.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety in the food served at Becker.

    Dorm Life

    Students living in the dorms are friendly and approachable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and the professors expect a lot from their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take their classes seriously and study often.

    In three sentences

    Becker College is a small, private school with a friendly atmosphere. Class sizes are small and professors are very knowledgable. Becker provides excellent preparation for careers after college.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good, Becker has thier own Becker Police and I think thats why I feel safe going here!!!

    Food and Dining

    AWESOME cafeteria and snack bar with pool tables and relaxation zone...or a place to form study groups!!!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so to be fair I give it 2 stars!

    Academic Rigor

    It's simply amazing, I love it I am an Accelerated Student and my classes run for 5 weeks at a time its easy to get credits, but there is alot of independent work so be prepared!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    * Make sure you talk with the Financial Aide Reps and they will explain everything. * Make sure that this is what you want to do, you have to want to succeed!

    In three sentences

    It's a really good school, they help you understand everything, I am a Accelerated Learner and its amazing... I am currently working on my BA in Psychology & Drug and Alcohol Counseling Program. I love Becker and so will you!!!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food could be so much better.

    Dorm Life

    DORMS ARE SO MUCH FUN AND SOCIAL!!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are best-fit for the major that a student wants to study

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Becker College has Campus Police that are always looking out for your safety.

    Great for these types of students

    Becker College accepts all types of students. They are not prejudice in any way. Everyone is welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    Becker College has a very competitive tuition and is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Becker has a newsletter that goes out to all students with activities and events.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Becker is phenomenal. Food is fresh and very tasty. They have the best chef.

    Academic Rigor

    Becker College expects you to respect others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your assignments on time and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Becker College Professors are always ready willing to help. Everyone is so friendly and attentive to your needs. Advisers are always keeping you updated on classes you need to take.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Video game design is a huge major at our school, I would highly recommend anyone who wants to go to school for it to attend here.

    What to do for fun

    Ping pong in the Hawks nest or one of the many activities that Becker offers.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that great and the dinning hours are very minimal.

    Dorm Life

    Is great, living on your own is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to do work over partying.

    In three sentences

    Becker college is a great school because it has free tutoring and laundry. It is a very small campus and everyone knows one another. The food is not that great though.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds; there's no prejudice here!

    Bang for the buck

    You get exactly what you pay for; a good education, a good environment, and a great college experience!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something fun to do! Becker College has campuses in both Worcester and Leicester; Worcester has the excitement of shops and city-life, where as Leicester has the laid-back feel of a pretty campus with sports in most areas. It's always a good time, no matter where you are!

    Food and Dining

    As far as college food goes, the food here was good! It was much better than previous schools I've visited.

    Academic Rigor

    Becker College is serious about giving you a very good education, as long as you're willing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always feel comfortable in asking questions, as I've noticed that's the best way to learn!

    In three sentences

    From what I've seen, the campus is very pleasing. Everything is easily accessible and all of the people there are ready and willing to help you if you ask for it. The one thing I would change is the fact that I'm not there all the time!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure whats around the campus. I didn't bother looking because I will be computing to school

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a little small

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately visit the campus. I went as a Junior and I loved the fact that there is an on site veterinary clinic on site and a horse barn very close to campus.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Becker! I start in the fall and am extremely excited. I visited as a junior in high school and knew it was where I wanted to attend college.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police and even city police available. The Leicester campus is not in the city, so it is pretty safe. Even the Worcester campus has had almost no problems with safety.

    Greek Life

    There is none at Becker.

    Clubs and Activities

    Becker doesn't have very many clubs available. They have activities and a weekly email to let you know what they are, but there could be more available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't really know of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm very much enjoying my college experience. Becker offers a wide variety of classes and specific majors, such as video game and design, nursing, and equestrian studies. The classes aren't too difficult and you learn a lot if you try. And if they don't offer a class you want, you can take one at another college in Worcester through the Consortium.

    What to do for fun

    The Worcester campus is right near a lot of places in Worcester and the Leicester campus has activities around it as well. Becker also offers shuttles to nearby activities fairly frequently as well. The campuses themselves offer some activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good. The hours for the dining hall are a little problematic sometimes with class times, but the snack shop sells meals and is always open during the day.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, not on campus. All of my friends that live there like the dorms. However, if you commute, there is a lot of available parking.

    Academic Rigor

    I found it to be at just the right level. The classes are challenging without being too difficult. Just don't load up with more than you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to plan your schedules so you don't have to travel between campuses too much. The shuttles are very useful though. And there is a lot of walking, especially on the Worcester campus.

    In three sentences

    Becker College is wonderful so far. It offers multiple programs to fit each need. It's location is great as well.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are everywhere. They patrol 24/7 around campus as well as the Worcester Police too. The campus is very safe and if you need police escort to somewhere else on campus during the night, they will bring you there. If you are locked out of your room/dorm, they will come let you in ASAP. If evry you have a problem, they are always there to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for pretty much anything, and if they don't have one you like, you can start your own as long as you get members to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Vet Science/Technology, Game design/ programing,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fisrt perfect game was pitched on the Worcester campus before is was turned into a college. There is a monument and the picher's mound still remain there.

    Bang for the buck

    FROZEN YOGURT!!! If you go to Wooberry, you get healthy frozen yogurt that is very affordable. They have 6 flavors that change all the time as well as dozens and dozens of toppings all written on a giant chalk board. It is well worth going there if you can. There are pizza shops and Subways around the town as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are karaoke bars around town and there are clubs for teens to go hangout and dance with friends. There is The DCU Center where there are events all the time along with hockey games during the winter. There is a bowling alley not far from the school either if you like bowling, The school takes trips to Cold Stone Creamery every once in a while that is free for students that sign up and go. Its well worth going on the school trips.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good. Everyday they have hot dogs, hamburgers, cheeseburgers, and pasta. They also have a sandwich station where you can get a wrap, Texas toast, or any kind of bread you want. They have just about anything at the sandwich station. They also have different hot meals everyday ranging from steak and potatoes to corn dogs and fries. The chefs are great and friendly. Finally, they have cereal, and drink dispensers along with a variety of bagels, teas and coffees.

    Dorm Life

    Ah dorm life. Such a fantastic experience for anyone going away to college. It many cost extra, but its worth it. I love living in a dorm becuase I can have privacy when I want to in my room, or I can talk with 30 other students and make friends. Becker's dorms are old, restored victorian houses that look amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Starting in your major right away is great. I say this because if you don't like your classes as a freshman and you want to change majors, you can! Your advisor will help you find a major that is right for you based on what you like to do hobby wise. Sometimes it can take a year before you find the right major, but that's why you have to experience some classes from all majors to try and figure out which one is right for you. Don't worry if you aren't right for the major, the teacher will tell you and help you do better so you can be right for the major. Some of the teachers are tough, but that's only for the student's benefit to learn more and how to handle college life...its alot different than high school life.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, coming to Becker is a good choice becuase you can meet a lot of new people in all different majors from other states. I have made many friends from California and most of my friends are not part of my major. Its really a mixture and its a great opportunity. The teachers/advisors are very nice and helpful in choosing classes for you and even if you just need someone to talk to, the teachers are always there for you. They are there to help you succeed and they will do whatever it takes to get you to do well while at Becker. Its a great experience for me and I am loving every minute of being there.

    In three sentences

    Becker College has 2 campuses and its nice to have one in the city and the other in the suburbs. The classes are small so getting the teacher's help is not hard. Both campuses have amazing faculty and the students are very friendly.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus police are excellent. Not only are they well trained, they are friendly, cooperative, and willing to help whenever you need it.

    Greek Life

    We have no fraternities or sororities associated with Becker College.

    Clubs and Activities

    I mentioned the activities in a previous section of this review. The clubs here are vast. Here's a list: Active Minds, Animal Health Club (AHC), The Becker Journal Online (BJO), Black Student Union (BSU)/ALANA (African, Latino, Asian, Native American), Bowling Club, Clean Campus Initiative, Community Service Club/Habitat For Humanity, Dance Club, Dance Team, Drama Club, Game Development Club, Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA), HawkTV, Mazunte Turtle Project Club, Mission2Go, Music Club, Natonal Student Nurses Association (NSNA), Pre-Veterinary Club, Ski & Snowboard Club, Student Activities Committee, Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC),and Traditional Gaming Club. However, if you do not see something you like, you can make a club by going to our Student Government Association and proposing your idea!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is wonderful for all types of students. However, we have an excellent computer/game design program, veterinary science programs (including an on-campus veterinary clinic), and nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We've been starting all sorts of new traditions here; to welcome the incoming freshmen we will have a ceremony during the fall semester; there is a bonfire at the beginning of the year; etc. On Leicester campus we have May House, which was part of the underground railroad.

    Bang for the buck

    Exceptional. The people who work for this college are quite receptive to students' opinions and concerns. So when we want change, we get change. Becker has been evolving rapidly since our President, Dr. Jonson, came here. We have forged a strong community of leaders.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on here. We have a weekly newletter for students, 'The Becker Buzz,' which highlights activities for that week, and some upcoming events as well. These activities range from bowling, trips to New York and Boston, plays/musicals, Cold Stone Creamery trips, free movie tickets and transportation, trips to shopping malls and outlets, and of course transportation to sporting events. Also there is plenty to do off campus as well.

    Food and Dining

    We're actually about to open our new student center; which includes a new, state-of-the-art dining hall. We're all very excited about the developments for next semester.

    Dorm Life

    We have traditional residence halls, but we also have non-traditional halls as well. The non-traditional halls are homes Becker converted to fit the needs of the student. They are beautiful, unique, and you become close with other students living in the house with you.

    Academic Rigor

    This honestly depends on which professor one chooses. There are plenty of opportunities for taking a challenging and enlightening courses, just as there are chances to take a less rigorous class; it is entirely dependent upon which path you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind and be genuine. College allots for a lot of time for us to grow as students and individuals.

    In three sentences

    The facility and staff here are phenomenal, and because it is such a small school they take a genuine interest in their students. We have two campuses, one in Worcester and the other in Leicester, which gives Becker a unique twist. There are ample opportunities to become involved here whether students are interested in sports, computers, animals, etc.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a little on the pricey side, but it is a private school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun in the Worcester area. Downtown Worcester has the DCU Center which is only minutes from Becker and has great concerts and hockey games! Also, the Boynton is a great restaurant and in walking distance, as well as a well known frozen yogurt shoppe called WooBerry.

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard great things about the Nursing Program at this school. I know I will have my work cut out for me!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and give yourself time to get everything completed. Also, if you have schedule restrictions for any reason, be sure to let the registrar know before they schedule you for any classes you won't be able to attend.

    In three sentences

    Becker College is easily accessible. Becker College staff seem to be nice so far, and extremely interested in helping out their students as they can. Becker College seems like the right place for me!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a top priority at Becker College. Campus Police are out at all hours and offer escort services to those walking back late at night.

    Bang for the buck

    The Boynton is a great place to get good food for cheap.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is average; not that great, but not bad. The Hawks Nest has a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great and, in most cases, you can room with the people you ask for.

    Academic Rigor

    Entirely depends on the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize that this is a private college and will cost a lot of money. Do not mess up early. You will struggle later on because of it.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for aspiring nurses, video game designers, and programmers. While expensive, both campuses are great. The faculty is helpful and sociable, and normally has smaller class sizes.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around and there if you need them! They're wonderful people to get to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    The best thing is that as long as you have 5 or more people, and the club is great and healthy is a way--you can start one on your own! I know a friend of mine who's trying to start an anime club,a nd so far he's doing great!

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot to do for fun. We always have something different going on every night and weekend. From trips to Salem to Six Flaggs--you'll never miss you on being able to sit back and relax for just a little bit.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is definitely amazing. Thursdays, we usually have a table set up for sundae's. I especially enjoy their desserts. Their creme puffs are to die for!

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but I want to and I hope I can next year. I've heard it's fun, and it would be so much easier to get around since I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Every professor I have has gone out of their way to make sure I understand the subject we're covering. I can honestly say they want us to succeed and they'll so what they can to help us.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school work may be rough, but just keep giving it your best and you'll find out that it will reward you in the end.

    In three sentences

    Firstly, I want to mention that both Becker campuses are beautiful sights, both Worcester and Leicester. Secondly, I have had the greatest experiences so far here at Becker and I've met the greatest friends. Lastly, the dance team is amazing and when you're on any sports team you'll realize you get close very fast.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    football

    Great for these types of students

    snow birds

    Bang for the buck

    i ran out of mine in two weeks. it need to be more than the amount that is provided

    Tips for prospective students

    always make time to study and do homework

    In three sentences

    i am there and excited about the apportunity

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A school for you if you enjoy studying. Fun.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Becker college, both Worcester and Leicester, are staffed with campus police, that are there at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Becker has many different sport options, boys and girls, and it also has a lot of different clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for people in the gaming or veterinary studies.

    Bang for the buck

    I play sports and for the most part we have to buy our own warm ups and I don't think we should when we pay so much to attend the college.

    What to do for fun

    Ii play softball and volleyball and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that bad and the dining services are good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the professors I have had so far are pretty good, and don't get off track that often.

    In three sentences

    I like Becker because of how small it is, and the classroom sizes. There are some things I don't like about it; I think it is to expensive and we pay so much and still have to pay for extras. The school is well known for veterinary studies.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police are always there and willing to help

    What to do for fun

    play pool in the new campus center

    Food and Dining

    great food, always something to eat

    Dorm Life

    the rooms arn't to small. the buildings are old houses so it's homely.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early, classes and dorm rooms fill up quick

    In three sentences

    one of the best schools i have seen. one of the top ten game design programs in the country. great facilely and staff

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    City of Worcester is huge. Definitely a lot of stuff to do off campus. Just be safe.

    Food and Dining

    Hawks nest is a lot of better than cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Its what you make of it. Off campus life is definitely more fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your majoring in it can be particularly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go there. Check out the campus and ask questions. It isn't for everyone so make sure you have fully looked into where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    Becker College is what you make it. It isn't particularly exciting but academic wise you can pursue anything you want there. Particular programs like nursing, veterinary science and gaming are top rated there.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are awesome always around and walking the campus to make sure everything is alright. They will give you a ride if you do not want to walk back to your dorm in the dark. They are also really friendly people to be around.

    Greek Life

    They do not have a Greek life at this school

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always stuff going on at the school. From different clubs to activities at night to win Becker stuff to money. Also there is always fan buses for sport events. This school is big on there school pride

    What to do for fun

    There is always sports games going on during the week or on the weekends. They always have some type of activity running during the week and both campus have a game room that is open most of the day.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a coffee/snack bar on both campus. The food is not bad at this school and there is so many different choices. If you can't find something you like they will make it for you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really good at Becker. Has many different choices of living from apartments to house to just plain dorm rooms. They also have girl only boy only coed and freshman dorms. I really enjoy living on campus

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers try to challenge you and make the classes difficult but they never set you up for failure. They are always there to help you and give you ideas to get your grades up. If you struggling in a class there is a CLC which is a tutoring study place to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school this is a good choice you can have a city life or a town life depending what campus you are on. I suggest going to look at the school and if you like it the second you get on campus like I did it is for you! Everyone that works at the school is there to help you and get you a diploma

    In three sentences

    Becker College is a small two campus school. I enjoy this school a lot because of how small it is and the student to teach ratio is good, you are not a number to a teacher they know your name. Becker is a good school for because I get a lot of help 1 on 1 with my major.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School has trips and clubs so there is always something to do if you want.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great when you start and then you miss home cooking. But overall not bad.

    Dorm Life

    It is great because it is not normal campus housing most are renovated old homes. You still feel like you are home but without parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not so bad, you have enough time to study and get your work done.

    In three sentences

    Love the school really enjoying my first year. Teachers are great and classes are not huge so you don't feel like a number. The school really focuses on how you can make a difference in your community and beyond.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Becker has their own police.

    Greek Life

    Becker does not have Greek Life or any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Becker has sports program.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to go to bars or attend house parties would probably like living in Worcester (party campus) because they can attend these events and be within walking distance from their dorm.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition at Becker is one campus is set for people that are more involved in their school work and the other campus is known for having parties.

    What to do for fun

    Becker provides activities like movie night, bingo night, laser tag, dance formals and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The school has two cafeterias which is really great for students that have classes on both campuses but the meal plan is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Both campuses have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Becker has great academic excellence I think because of the smaller class rooms and the close student teacher relationships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that plan on attending Becker should know that there is two campuses so having a car would be helpful. If you do not have a car it is okay because the school provides a shuttle to both campuses.

    In three sentences

    Becker is a good college. It has small class rooms and excellent programs. Becker is a good choice for people interested in nursing, game design, exercise science and sports management.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Nothing particularly exciting. The Leicester campus recently redid their dining hall and so it is very nice, but the Worcester campuses is simply average.

    Dorm Life

    Students live in repurposed residential buildings that are pretty and spacious, with well-furnished common areas. School held events happen regularly, such as trips to shopping centers, movie theatres, snowtubing, bowling, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Not rigorous at all unless in the Vet Science major.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is NOT a school for overachievers. The curriculum and atmosphere are very lax.

    In three sentences

    While my major (Game Design) is very young and the program keeps shifting, the faculty continues to make an effort to improve. A great residential setting with student houses (way nicer than dorms!), close to a beautiful park. Relatively inexpensive.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People of all ages and cultures, a very diverse school.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely cheap to go to and they accept all students. If you find scholarships they are paying you to go to school.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym to workout, play basketball, stay outside in the grass, or stay in one of the many lounges to relax.

    Food and Dining

    2 cafe areas, the 1st one has terrible prices and bad food. The 2nd above the library at least has options on food but its mainly preheated.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy classes and most teachers help if you have trouble learning from them, if not the student help center is the perfect place to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many general classes here as possible for future schools you plan to go to. Classes are really cheap and most teachers stay in contact when asking for help.

    In three sentences

    Cheap classes, great teachers, student learning center, easy commute, big library, chill areas, multiple computer labs, and a gym.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school holds a variety of different events throughout the year to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Loved the food.

    Academic Rigor

    The admissions are lenient compared to the material in some of the majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember what you came to school for, if you came to party and get drunk Becker is not the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Awesome school. I am a commuter and I still feel so much at home in this school .Like anything else, you really have to go out there and get your name heard more then anything else. Stay in your dorm and you'll be bored

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe and campus police are always around to help with whatever you need.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, whether it is with the school or just in Worcester. The college is apart of the community so you can typically find something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Becker holds themselves to a great standard and push students to be the best they can be.

    In three sentences

    It is a small but growing college, the professors are awesome and really know you. Everyone is willing to help you with what you need. The school also cares about the community which is rad.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If anything this place is safe

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    limited

    Great for these types of students

    Gamers

    Bang for the buck

    not a good experience for the price

    What to do for fun

    hangout with friends, turn up

    Food and Dining

    Same terrible food all day every day

    Dorm Life

    Boring and quiet. Dorms are nothing special

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Try a cheaper school

    In three sentences

    Becker college is a small quiet school. Nothing here is really outstanding and gets very boring. way to over priced.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great nothing bad happens here.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot to do on campus if there isnt a club for it you can make it one.

    Great for these types of students

    Who don't want to be overwhelmed by a big school but still want a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Only downfall is it is really expensive here.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends, go to Worcester and play lacrosse.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad for college food.

    Dorm Life

    Met some of my best friends through living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Work is tough but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to come to a small school where you want to feel accepted right away come here.

    In three sentences

    It was everything I wanted in a college. The professors are smart and extremely helpful. I wouldn't want to go any place else.