Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Belhaven University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adult learners wishing to obtain a degree or to further their education in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meets 2 times a week. 1 for a study group. the other night is your class; and tutoring is free to those in need. Christian College based on prayer and scripture. Love it!

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a small college setting Those who want to go to a Christian based school

    Bang for the buck

    It is costly to go to Belhaven, but I believe it is worth it!!

    Will enjoy being here

    I really enjoyed my visits to the campus!!! Everyone was so friendly, even the students, they tried to you make you feel welcome at their school. It was so welcoming and homey, and it has a great atmosphere!!! And for those who want to go where there is a Christian environment, it is great!!

    Will learn a lot

    I learned a lot my two times there!!! Everyone is informative and gives you a great insight about it. You will definitely learn a lot!!

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are almost always within yelling distance, and the students watch out for each other.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something happening on campus, from theatre productions, to dance concerts, orchestra concerts, choir concerts, operas, musicals, and individual recitals. There are sports teams playing nearly non-stop, and the activities team often has events scheduled during the weekend. Off campus there are tons of great coffee shops, restaurants, and parks.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is pretty decent. Fried Chicken Thursdays are always the favorite day, but almost always there is something good to be found. (Weekends can be scanty on occasion) The cafeteria workers are friendly and helpful.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, and if your roommate is less than pleasant (or completely intolerable) there are several opportunities to change rooms throughout the year.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough enough to get you thinking, but they are by no means impossible. There are labs (FREE tutoring centers) for writing, math, biology, and Belhaven's worldview curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to current students and ask them any questions that come to mind. Spend a night on campus. There will be opportunities to explore interests outside of your major, so go for it!

    In three sentences

    Belhaven has professors who truly care about their students. The other students are extremely friendly and helpful. There are a ton of academic resources for students on campus.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love Jesus and want to learn more about Him while getting a degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get plugged in! There are plenty of extra activities on campus that are a great way to make new connections and start long lasting friendships.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very costly school, but definitely worth it. You will never regret the decision for coming here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people here are amazing. Not only are the teachers great at what they do, but they also care for the individual, and it makes you feel like you have potential. The students are very friendly and create a loving atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    Besides learning about the basics, I am also learning a lot about my faith and how it relates to each area of my life.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there are a lot of people that do things after sporting events or just because.

    Food and Dining

    On most days the food is good. Its an all you can eat every day for breakfast lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay. They are very small, however they keep me sheltered.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very strict when it comes to academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    It always helps to have more than one backup plan.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven has a great atmosphere. I also like the setting and the activities. This college also has a great Christian atmosphere.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    business administration

    In three sentences

    Belhaven University is a private Christian liberal arts university located in Jackson, Mississippi. Founded by Dr. Lewis Fitzhugh and later donated to the Presbyterian Church in the United States.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend visiting the campus, for sure! :)

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it's still a lot of work paying for school, Belhaven's prices are reasonable and comparably lower than other schools.

    Will enjoy being here

    So excited to start attending in the fall of 2011!!

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    if you want a christian school this is the one for you:) everyone is so nice and i feel like im at home there. check belhaven out! you will be glad you did!

    Bang for the buck

    like the others said it is expensive but it is worth it :) i love it here

  • 07/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for homeschooled students, those who excel in art of all forms, students from small towns, young adults who want to be surrounded in a christian environment, and all athletes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school if you are doubtful about if you want to attend, just one visit and you will be captivated by the environment.

    Bang for the buck

    While is is more expensive than a state school, the close environment and quality education is definitely worth the price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I think belhaven is the perfect environment. Even though it is a smaller school, there are so many different activities that are available to join and everyone is very friendly

    Am learning a lot

    Belhaven has the perfect class size. The classes aren't too small, and the teachers genuinely care about how you do in their classes and will take the time to help you out.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small College with small classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Private School with high tuition but worth the money.

    Bang for the buck

    Highly respected.

    Will enjoy being here

    Good Christian leadership.

    Will learn a lot

    Small school with small classes.

  • 11/22/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all but definitely people interested in all areas of art.

    Tips for prospective students

    Belhaven is a school for people who are dedicated to learning and growing as a person but with Christianity put into it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit pricey but there are no hidden fees!

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is very friendly and welcoming!

    Will learn a lot

    Yes, it will be challenging but you will be really prepared when you do graduate.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Belhaven is great for artistic students!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is so beautiful! I really enjoyed the visit! I cannot wait to go!

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a Christian base learning environment and one-on-one interaction from professors, this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is build up on Christian Values and everything you learned is based around the scripture. If you are looking for a school that reiterates the bible into their lesson plan while giving you the knowledge you need in order to succeed in your major than this is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, so look to see if the program they offer is worth the money. Some Schools programs are not that well and you leave the same way you came, not knowing anything.

    Am enjoying being here

    It has been a joy to go to a school that incorporates the scriptures in all it's lesson plans. This let you know that everything we as students need to know has been written in the the Bible.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning slowly as I progressed in my major. I hope by the end of my year, I would be able to apply it to the real world.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    See the comment above. Prospective students interested in the arts Students with initiative to create opportunities for themselves in a small campus setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking at Belhaven I would say for you to pray about your decision. This school may need you. If you are interested in a high level of education in an area other than the arts then I would advice you to look at other schools. I would say that Belhaven is small and needs more students who are willing to think outside of themselves and be an impact wherever they are. Belhaven is a great place for this. It needs more students who are willing to help stretch out some of the limitations of the programs that they are in. If you are interested in the arts then you have found the right place. The music, theatre, and art are all incredibly developed areas of the school. Be assured that if you are interested in the arts, you will find a great education at Belhaven. If you are interested in science, math or English, be prepared to make an impact on your school. You may end up contributing to Belhaven just as much as it contributes to you. No matter what your major is you may be assured that you can find individual attention if you need it. This is one of the best aspects of Belhaven.

    Bang for the buck

    Belhaven has a fairly low tuition in comparison to other school. This is part of the reason that I chose BU. In addition to scholarships awarded for your academic competitiveness, you may try things like choir or cross country for another easy 1000 dollars or so. You can also cut some costs by applying for the many work study positions that are offered on the campus. In this particular area this school was a good choice for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    Belhaven has a great campus life that is easy and fun to get involved with. Currently I am a resident assistant. This position is a payed position that allows students with leadership qualities to apply and be selected for position of authority in the residence halls. The RA's are chosen for their ability to lead and establish community on their hall. I am also the vice president of sigma zeta. This is an organization nationwide that awards distinction to science and math majors who want to be a part of the society. This is part of our biology club which is small, but can be very enjoyable and valuable for finding carrier paths, internships and more. I am also the president of student missions fellowship (SMF). This is an on-campus ministry that focuses mainly on missions as well as fellowship, worship and prayer. There are other great on-campus ministries such as reformed university fellowship (RUF) which is more like a wednesday night church service, and an athletic fellowship group called FCA. Belhaven activities teams always have something going on also, but the real enjoyment of the campus is found in the close atmosphere of both the student and the professors. You would find it difficult to not make friends at Belhaven. Unfortunately I cannot give a perfect score for this section either because the male facilities are not well maintained. There is a definite retention problem due to factors such as the unreliable internet and the lack of maintenance in male facilities. The fact is that the football team makes up a large portion of the men living on campus and these individuals tend to be poor stewards of the facilities. This in turn leads to an assumption that the male residence halls should not be furnished with new lobby furniture, simple necessities such as access to a decent vacuums cleaner, broom, or other useful tools. The poor condition of the male residence halls has had an affect on my enjoyment of Belhaven University. Some improvement have been made to this condition.

    Am learning a lot

    The biology department at Belhaven University is not the most advanced or well provided for division of the school. This is not everything though. The professors, Dr. Chestnut, Dr. Reese, and Dr. Waltzer have dedicated themselves to the training and developing of their students academic, and spiritual growth in the sciences. This has been the most important aspect of biology that I have learned at Belhaven; biology has a spiritual side. Yes, Dr. Chestnut teaches his first level biology students that there are several qualifications of life; living things have cells, they reproduce, they have a metabolism, they do some type of respiration, they are able to grow, but another qualification that they have the Son. Jesus is life. I have also learned to think outside of myself when I am approaching a scientific principle. Where there are diseases, there are suffering people who can benefit from what I have learned furthermore it is my duty to care for them. I have also learned what hard work is. The biology department is the most challenging department at the school in my opinion. If you are interested in the medical field or graduate school, honestly, you may not make it in this program, but if you do, and you have the professor's stamp of approval, you can be sure that you will make it in the field of your choice. Unfortunately the university as a whole has not contributed much to this department, and for this reason I cannot give it a perfect rating. The biology department is small and not particularly well funded. I will concede thought that the President of the School has shared plans to build a new biology facility in the years to come. Some of the most prominent alumni come from this department, but it has not been well invested in as the arts or athletics have been. I am also an English major along with biology. Because of the wide variety of classes that I have had to take between these two majors, I have gotten to see many professors teach, and I have also been able to see the difficulty level of many classes. I can say that the difficulty of departments other than biology at Belhaven is somewhat lopsided. I have not found other professors very challenging and many times, disorganized. The standard of the school is Christ, but on an individual level many of the professors do not truly seek this standard for themselves or their students.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    adults either just starting or continuing college.

    Food and Dining

    plenty of restaurants and/or grocery stores in area

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    educate yourself on how you'd like to pursue your academic plan. keep close tabs on your progress.

    In three sentences

    belhaven is an excellent school for the adult learner. whether just starting or returning to college, the adult program will get you on the road to earning your degree quickly. the classes are rigorous, and the professors are committed to student's success!

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are guards posted who watch out for the kids 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    great art school!

    What to do for fun

    a lot of fun stuff to do and to help you get involved with other students.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms look like they will be a lot of fun, and other students have told me that it is an amazing experience to stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    great programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus, that way you will know for sure that is where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    after the first time i visited the campus, i knew belhaven was the place for me because it is an amazing christian college. all of the staff and students are very helpful if you need to know anything. also the student-teacher relationships are awesome.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Belhaven is great for those students that not only want to seek a higher education, but those that wish for it to come with the added benefit of a Christ-centered teaching.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, it's a great school, and worth every penny.

    Food and Dining

    Have never eaten on-campus aside from vending machines, so I cannot say one way or the other.

    Dorm Life

    Can't reply about dorm life, I live off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are taught by exceptional professors, they get the most out of you.

    Tips for prospective students

    It would be in your best interests to search long and hard for scholarships--find out every piece of information you can, as the financial aid office has no intentions of assisting you, and will in fact regard you as a pest if you ask too many questions. Heaven forbid they do their jobs!

    In three sentences

    I would say that my experience with Belhaven has been great, with few exceptions. The financial aid department seems to anger over questions, rather than jumping at the chance to assist students in any way possible. Though, if that is the only knock against Belhaven, that tells you how good the school is.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus is very safe. They have campus security up around the clock patrolling as well as cameras set up. However, Jackson is a relatively large city. Therefore it is wise to watch out for yourself off campus or to go out in groups.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities and sororities at Belhaven. However some of the club are Greek oriented. In addition, if you want to do Greek life the surrounding colleges have chapters that they will allow you to join during their rush.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs for almost every major: Biology, Chemistry, Sports Medicine, Business, Math..etc. They have an honors club, a Belhaven Leadership Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Sanctuary, Belhaven Activities Team. These are just a few.

    Great for these types of students

    They are great for hard workers and those looking for a fun family like community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Polar Bear plunge is one. One the coldest day of the winter, the guys and a few brave girls run around the campus in shorts and jump into the fountain and the lake while escaping security. They have a luau every year. They have cheers that everyone knows. Taking crazy pictures for the yearbook is welcomed. Painting up for football and soccer games is another.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of everyone I talked to graduated and just entering, they all say that to be practical sometimes they wish they had gone to bigger colleges at some points, but they regret nothing because they will remember the experience they got from Belhaven and people for the rest of their lives. You cannot find better friends and closer sports teams anywhere else. Belhaven takes people from all over the world and brings them together.

    What to do for fun

    Generally Belhaven has some activity going on such as intramural sports, movie nights, campus wide games, slip and slides, tailgating, as well as games going on for the sports teams. When nothing is going on otherwise, people generally hang out in the lobbys of the dorms playing ping pong, pool, or watching movies. Others go to the fitness center, the gyms and shoot basketball, or play on the fields. Some go fishing in the lake behind the girls dorm too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. They have a cafeteria that is open three times a day. they have a wide variety of food including food for those who have allergies to milk. However, on the weekends they do not always make the best food. They also have a Shoebird cafe. You have to pay for the food there, but it is great food and they keep the prices very low.

    Dorm Life

    No matter what, everyone should live on campus at least their first semester. It is the best way to get connected into the Belhaven community. The resident assistants have hall parties once a month and are always there in case something happens or you need help. In addition, they are close to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, academic rigor really depends on the major you are taking. I, being a biology major have classes that are a great deal harder as well as time consuming. Something like sports administration would be less strenuous. However, no matter what major, it is still work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college ready to work. Community is great and you need to be involved in your school, but academics are what you need for your future career. Time management is the hardest but most important thing to have. If you are having trouble with school work, upper classmen and teachers are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven has great community between students from all around the world, broadens your views on the life, has high academic standards, as well as a brilliant fine arts program. Sports play a huge role in the school and student life. Finally, the relationship between students and teachers are personal and rewarding, and they are easily accessible for tutoring or making up work.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I really love the fact that Belhaven University offers a whole lot of activities. I love activities, so long as it is good for my heart and keeps me young and healthy count me in. If it is possible I would not mind taking part in all of the physical activities offered at Belhaven University. But the first activity on my list is Men's Soccer.

    What to do for fun

    Getting admitted to Belhaven University is FUN enough for me.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly love food and trying out new staff that is what I love most. So food shouldn't be much of a challenge for me.

    Dorm Life

    I should believe it excellent after having read the fact from those who live in Belhaven University I am convinced that it is a sociable environment that is welcoming to everyone regardless of who you are. One of the Belhaven student (Ethan Samsel) mentioned how free students are at Belhaven, free in a mature and dignified way. So for me I would love to go to a college that grands me my freedom positively.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not want to believe that impossible should be possible. Every student comes across challenges not problems so academic rigor is not yet in my vocabulary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Belhaven University is a college that really fits my college search completely. Nationally recognized for its academics, a college that participates in NAIA programs, and has music, this really caters for most prospective students out there. For me this College really defines who I am, I put all I can towards my education, I love soccer so I easily blend in, and finally having little knowledge about God I am willing vowing that I will put all my best.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven University is one of the only Colleges which I believe caters for all students, those who love sports, music, take their education seriously and those like me who want to learn about God. God Bless Us All.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ranges from Church groups, to community volunteers.

    Great for these types of students

    Social, hardworking, determined, fearful, doubtful about their abilities, and ambitious people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The football locker room is really small.

    Bang for the buck

    Belhaven is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Movies, skating, hiking, fishing, social gatherings, and great churches.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for a great learning expirence.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere has a postive charge about it. The teachers are great. The football team needs work though.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security and cameras around campus as well as Securitas or neighborhood security.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for every type of person on campus. If it doesn't exist yet, it's easy enough to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, seeking a friendly student body and opportunity to get involved with the community.

    Bang for the buck

    I was accepted to 14 different universities, mostly small private schools like Belhaven. I am not sure how they do it, but it is extremely cheap in comparison to the other schools of similar caliber which I could have attended.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is always hosting some activity, whether it's a luau, homecoming, or just going to a basketball game. Jackson itself also has plenty of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has several options each day. Since I've been here, the food has gotten better, but its subject to a few off days.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are standard compared to other universities.

    Academic Rigor

    While most of my friends went to large universities, I chose a smaller school with tougher academics and soccer. In the end, my school actually seems easier because I receive one on one attention in a class of 10 while my friends are in classes of over 500. The hard academics are made easier by the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    The students and faculty of Belhaven go above and beyond to lend a hand to those in need. As a member of the soccer team, and frequently missing class due to our travel schedule, the school works to help me survive college, and I have enjoyed every minute.

    In three sentences

    A small campus sitting atop rolling hills and nestled into a beautiful neighborhood, Belhaven University isn't just a campus easy on the eyes, but a wonderful place to grow as a student and person.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can find everything from swing dancing to midnight breakfast to inter-murals to cowboy ho-downs at Belhaven. Late November brought the Singing Christmas Tree and September kicked off the year with a full-blown luau.

    Food and Dining

    Alas, Belhaven fails in this area. Because it is such a small school the cafeteria usually only has two entree options, and one of those is often a mystery casserole. The salad bar is fine but sometimes lacking in the fresh department. The one area Belhaven rules is the ice-cream department. Every night they have at least five flavors of delicious, Blue-Bell ice-cream.

    Dorm Life

    With amazing resident assistants and directors, there is never a dull moment in Belhaven's dormitories. Each dorm holds an annual event such a Tea & Thee or a dance party called Helen White Night Lights. The lobbies provide fun areas to hang out and foster a great sense of community among the students.

    Academic Rigor

    While not an Ivy league school, Belhaven professors challenge their students to think, create, and dig down deep inside themselves to be as excellent as they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes and really get to know your professors and fellow students. Teachers are always around either before or after class to talk, not only about class assignments but also about anything in life! Because Belhaven has amazing sports teams and music, theatre, art, and dance departments, the school has a unique atmosphere that allows you to learn about so much outside of your major.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven University creates a life-giving atmosphere that allows each student to reach their creative potential. The university is a family community that keeps everything running smoothly while at the same time relating to each student on a personal level. Every moment you are on Belhaven's campus you feel accepted, wanted, and empowered.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are allways security if you need help

    Great for these types of students

    anyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the bowl. it is our practice soccer field this is where we all go hangout and play sports

    Bang for the buck

    my favorite thing about belhaven is its christian enviroment. it is a great school where proffessors and staff really care about student

    What to do for fun

    for fun at belhaven you can do alot. there is open gym for basketball and other sports. there is a pond you can hangout bye. the campus is allways open. people play soccer, ultimate frisbee. or you can go to the student center and watch movies or loung around and drink coffee.

    Food and Dining

    the f0od at belhaven is pretty good. you have a wide variety for all types of peoples food needs

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at belhaven are not the best. they are small. dorm life is very fun though you become connected with people. there are no problems

    Academic Rigor

    belhaven is a pretty tough school. especially for biology majors. biology is the toughest subject at the school

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for some tough classes. belhaven is not an easy school but people are there for you. dont be afraid to ask people for help

    In three sentences

    belhaven university is an amazing school. there is a family atmosphere at the school. it is a learning living enviroment.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Finish your homework early, so you can have your life back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive in applying and following up. They are really good at helping you, but won't call and remind you necessarily if you haven't done something on time. Also, be willing to spend at least 3-8 hours a week on homework outside of class (AT LEAST). If you already have a full time job, expect school to be your only main activity.

    In three sentences

    I am in the adult degree program in Chattanooga, TN, and the program up here has really good office staff, especially in the administrative offices and financial aid - they are always happy to help me and get things done quickly. The professors really care about each individual student, and while some are harder than others, they all have thought deeply about the subject they are teaching and really want to instill a good Christian viewpoint of the subject. The classes are all challenging, and in general I have learned a lot, even in subjects that I don't really care about.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I want to major in dance. It is very hard to find a Christian college with that major that isn't extremely expensive or hard to get into. It's not cheap, but it's better!

    What to do for fun

    I know there is a mall, I think it's called Renaissance at colony park, that is very nice, about a 15 minute drive. There are some excellent restaurants in that area! So if you like shopping, lucky you, but beware it is pricy. I also went to a movie theatre, maybe about 10 minutes, while I was at Belhaven. Plus, you're in Jackson, there is plenty to find to do when you're bored!

    Food and Dining

    It's ok, not as good as home cooking, but that's given since it is a college.

    Dorm Life

    nice dorms, from my stay over the summer the girls in Caldwell said there were cockroaches, but I don't know for sure. The showers are awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    From what my friends have told me, academics are great, keep up on your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep in touch with your admissions counselor with any questions you have. Also, get in touch with the head of the department you want to major in, learn about their requirements and such.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven has a beautiful campus. You can feel the seriousness and sincerity when you are on campus. Everyone I have met from there are very friendly, helpful, and kind.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Belhaven is very safe, with security patrol 24/7, and id access to dorms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every winter Belhaven has the polar bear run, where guys run around in the freezing cold at night in their boxers. There is the bowl where our soccer team practices. It is a giant bowl shaped field.

    What to do for fun

    Around Belhaven, we do intramural sports, where you can build your own team and compete. We have movie nights in the student center and at the bowl. Belhaven is know for its art department and frequently have concerts and art shows. There are various shopping malls, a paint studio, and movie theaters in close vicinity to the college.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria at Belhaven is great! they give you choices and no matter what your choice is you are guaranteed that it will taste great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great! You make so many new friends, and still have your privacy. The dorms at Belhaven are very nice, Kept up to date and up to par.

    Academic Rigor

    Belhaven is not an easy school, but if you do what you are supposed to and leave the rest in god's hands you will do great. At Belhaven, the professors set a standard they know you can reach academically and do everything in their power to help you do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.) Go to class 2.) Always do your assignments and turn them in on time. 3.) Take a deep breath, you can achieve any goal you set. 4.) Get to know your professors, they are more opt to help you that way.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven is an outstanding institution that prides itself on helping its students create and achieve dreams. It is a Christian based school and helps you not only go further with your earthly dreams, but also in your walk with God.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Driving around the campus you will see at least 3 security trucks driving around campus and walking around every 2 minutes. They are also not shy on writing tickets to cars who are not parked where they are suppose to be.

    Greek Life

    sadly we do not have a greek life here at Belhaven

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities (intermurals) to do and be apart of on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a school that has 30 or less students in the classroom its perfect for you. Also ones striving to be closer to God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The singing Christmas tree that happens either the weekend before finals or the weekend after depending on when Thanksgiving falls is a great tradition that Belhaven has been doing for years. Also coming out and supporting the schools athletics are big here.

    Bang for the buck

    With my major you are definitely getting every penny back that you are spending. Most students that graduate with a sports medicine major end up being able to skip the first couple classes in grad schools, physical therapist hopefuls get picked quite often. Dr. Berryhill and Dr. Carr are among the better recognizable names in schools for health professionals.

    What to do for fun

    I play on the softball team here so for fun we go to $6 movies on Sundays or Tuesdays. The student center is a place to study and/or chill with friends. We have a paint ball range in the town over, bowling and shopping centers. Just anything that we can get our hands into that won't get us in trouble of course.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices to choose from. Whether its pasta, salad, desserts or more.

    Dorm Life

    Live in Gillispy Dorm if you are a girl. Request it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what major you choose, you will definitely notice the differences in the difficulty. Sports Medicine is taught at a grad school level and it prepares you for that and students from Belhaven typically excell in post secondary studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study...a lot.. Don't overload your schedule because it will become too much to handle.

    In three sentences

    Belhaven is a fun school to attend with tons of things to do on and off campus. The sports medicine is one of the top in the nation and I love it. Definitely a place to go if you want more one on one time and to get closer to God.