Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bellingham Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great place for students who would like to learn practical, real world skills so that they can get back to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study up before taking the Accuplacer entrance exam. Maybe visit math.com or something like it. This will save you pre-req time and money.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and books are expensive, but relative to other community colleges, BTC is not out of line. Prices may vary widely between different classes and programs, but my full time schedule runs roughly $1300 per quarter for tuition and $310 per quarter for books.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my time at BTC. I am currently serving on the PTEC safety committee, enjoy active membership in Phi Theta Kappa honor society and attend student body and effective communications meetings regularly. There is no gym or athletic program at this time (as of Spring 2010).

    Am learning a lot

    September of 2009 I lost my job of 19 years at Philips Ultrasound in a large scale reduction in force. I researched my options carefully and found Bellingham Technical College to be well aligned with local industry. In just my first two quarters I have learned so much about my new field of industrial processes, especially petroleum refining and electric power generation.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    workout, work on hobbies

    Food and Dining

    Never ate at BTC Lunch room

    Dorm Life

    Live outside of school

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, love it

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to BTC

    In three sentences

    I find the campus very intriguing. I like the campus and the people in it. i am planning to attend it.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    wonderful campus and i have never felt strange as i am from a small town.

    Greek Life

    Here also

    Clubs and Activities

    as many as other schools

    Great for these types of students

    just out of school, older adults will all feel welcome here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love the sunshine class times out of class.

    Bang for the buck

    The money i pay is well worth the classes, many are hybrid and are easier for me to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Love to sit in lounge areas and study with others i dont know.

    Food and Dining

    Great salad bar

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great, and are able to teach and have students learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a day and go talk to the advisers, they are nice and you can walk in and only wait a few min.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great layout and easy access. RN program is the best. Paper work here is easy, the staff is wonderful.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good.

    Great for these types of students

    Who enjoy small campus' and disabled students who need accomodations and accessibility.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Diversity day, great fun

    Bang for the buck

    Good teaching.

    What to do for fun

    Join the Student body, volunteer Coaching for ESL, GED and Computer basic classes. Work at the library. Enjoy the winter sports on Mt. Baker, join a team for the annual Ski to Sea.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria food, restaurant and coffee bar.

    Dorm Life

    Non applicable

    Academic Rigor

    Solid. The employers in the area help design courses by saying what they need on the job site. So you come away with some useful skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great hand on education, the instructors are professionals from their respective fields. Most of them know what the industry needs. So spend time talking to them when you can. Use a planner, they are available here and will help you handle your classes and assignments professionally.

    In three sentences

    Small campus, easy to get around, and located at the edge of Bellingham city. Small class sizes, and help from the instructor. Friendly and helpful administration staff.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as I saw, there wasn't anything that hinted at gang activity or robberies.

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on thinkers, loves to get their hands dirty, passionate about working in the trades

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest places in the state.

    Dorm Life

    3 stars,but really should be No rating, as they don't have any.

    Academic Rigor

    Being in an internship with local businesses is part of the curriculum, so you know what you're getting into and have a greater chance at a job after you finish college. On top of that, they only make you take the core classes that you need, so the more prepared you come, the more you can focus on your career path.

    In three sentences

    Great, quiet community out of the way from commotion. Very small-town feeling. Lots of greenery around the place

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    at bellingham technical there aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    delivering excellence in workforce education and using innovative teaching and learning practices are critical to student achievement and regional prosperity. with a student population that is becoming increasingly diverse and a growing need to support our students so they learn, grow and lead, we must continue to invest in the success of our students. excellence and innovation, student access and success, a welcoming campus environment, resource development, and increasing our visibility and impact in the community are goals we achieve every day at bellingham technical college. this strategic plan is a manifestation of those goals in action.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for financial aid even if you think you aren't qualified, sign up. know who your student advisor is or will be, that way you can organize your schedule so you will know all the classes you need in order to graduate.

    In three sentences

    the goal of bellingham technical college is agile excellence. they seek, with this strategic plan, to be an educational institution with multiple access points, meeting the needs of a variety of students presenting a variety of life needs that influence the how, when, and where they must learn. also, we seek, to be an educational institution upon which business and industry can depend to quickly supply quality workers ready and able to meet their workforce needs.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    waaayy too safe. even at night

    Clubs and Activities

    no frats no organized mud wrestling

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not recommended to party hardy

    What to do for fun

    go to church

    Food and Dining

    padlocks on all dumpsters not accessible until tuesdays

    Dorm Life

    the nearest bridge is full of blackberries and poison oak during the summer plus it gets too drafty most nights

    Academic Rigor

    way too much work and luerning

    Tips for prospective students

    better be in a 23 step program or allergic to weed or classes will mess your mind up

    In three sentences

    not a party school. there are no fraternities or night club discounts for students of btc. classes interfere way too much with weed and binge drinking and the staff are not commited to providing a free pass if you show up drunk to class. two thumbs down.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a great place to learn a trade. BTC is the closest technical college to where I live, and it offers many different high demand degrees and certifications. I'm lucky to be attending this school for a high demand trade.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its a great technical college with lots of quick degrees for jobs who offer lots of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions.

    In three sentences

    I love it. They staff and instructors are very helpful. The campus is beautiful and the price is right.

  • 10/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want real-world, blue-collar skills Those who want to skip the 4-year drudgery and debt and get into the workplace

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's an entire building for the weld and auto-body repair shops. For a tech school, it's incredibly well-equipped.

    Bang for the buck

    My quarterly tuition is about 2500. Equipment runs about another 500 depending on what you already have, but they tell you it's 2k. I'm learning an incredible amount in an insanely short time, and it beats the crap out of 4-year schools and $80k in debt. Downside is the communication between the school and incoming students is abysmal. I spent my summer haranguing them for information that should've been provided to new students when they registered and finally got the equipment list they told me would run about $2000 less than a week before term started. They cut a lot of the fat and stick to practical application classes, but be prepared for inordinate amounts of frustration while you're getting registered.

    What to do for fun

    I hit the ground running with 11-hour days not including homework, so you better enjoy what you're studying. When you do have some downtime, there are good clubs and bars downtown, not to mention the waterfront.

    Food and Dining

    I hear the cafeteria and culinary arts building serves great food (for a school) at pretty decent prices. $2 for a burger they make while you wait.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or any on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The book work is more time-consuming than anything, but the practical application classes have an insane learning curve. I went from never having welded before in my life on day 1 to laying down production-grade welds by day 3. It's hard and fast, but if you can keep up you'll do excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can find current or past students from here, talk to them about materials lists, the instructors don't have to have it to you until a week before class starts, which can screw you if you need a lot of expensive tools. Best way to do it if you're going for any degree that needs tools, start getting them now to avoid (a) a rush at the end of summer or (b) dropping a bunch of money in a very short time.

    In three sentences

    The hands-on, practical classes are great; the gen ed, not so much. Their internal IT department is a joke, so good luck with any tech issues. Overall, not bad, and it beats a 4-year school.