Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Belmont Abbey College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are the type of student who enjoys going to church you will love this school because there is church right on campus and there is mass everyday, even on the weekends. If you are the type of student who enjoys there sleep you will enjoy this college because unlike other universities you don’t have to take shuttle bus to your classes. All the buildings are a five or ten minute walk from each other, even the dorms. The college always has something going on during the weekend like: going on hikes, going to Carowinds (amusement park), free tickets to upcoming movies in the movie theater and much more. You will enjoy you four year here at the abbey, I know I am.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here is a tip for the prospective students, you will have a great time here and make friends from all over the place. But just remember to keep up with your study’s because this college might sound like a family unite, but it is a real university and if you don’t keep up with your grades or don’t follow the rules you will be kicked out. Students just have to learn to prioritize there time. There will always be another party next week but there will not be a second chance to make up that test you didn’t study for.

    Bang for the buck

    Every college is expensive but its how much education, learning, and virtues you will get out of the college that matters. Here you will spend about 20,000 dollars a year. Belmont abbey has financial aid and the school always gives out scholarships to students who keep up with there study’s every year. Students can also look for scholarships outside the school and that will help them pay or knock off some of the tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    Attending this university has been thrilling. The fact that there is a church on campus makes this university stands out to me. At church you can see your fellow classmates either in the stand or at the alter playing there guitar for the chorus line and singing. Because the school is diminutive, it makes the student interactive with each other more. It is like growing up with a huge family because everybody knows everybody and when you graduate you will probably have meet everybody in your graduating class. Here at Belmont abbey college you have many benefits, like the fact that every traditional student get free membership to the YMCA which is in walking distance of the school and there is a volleyball court on campus and if you are a spiritual individual you can got to mini- church to pray whenever you want.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Belmont Abbey College the learning experience is quiet different then what I expected. Since, I attending public high school I was used to the teachers just being teachers. What I mean is that I never expected to be taught by an actual monk. Here at this university students will have the privilege to be taught by monks themselves and will be able to visit the monastery in which they live in. When it comes to teaching individuals about anything you have to make it exciting for them or they will not pay attention in class. For me, being taught by a monk makes the class more stimulating because how many people can say that they had a monk teach them about Theology.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to the religous aspect of the school.

    In three sentences

    Belmont abbey is an amazing place. If you want a degree in education, they provide an amazing staff for you. The teachers are all friendly.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religous. Traditional

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on what the teacher talks about the most.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Belmont Abbey is quite good. The police know all of the students and the Resident Assistants are always able to be contacted as are the police. There is 24 hour patrols by the police, both walking and in all-terrine golf carts.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at the Abbey is really fun. I am a member of Greek Life and I really enjoy it. The friendships that you form with your sisters and brothers are lifelong.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs and activities to participate in. They range from Chess club, to the Improv Comedy Troupe, to Frisbee Friday (ultimate Frisbee in the quad on Fridays) and if you don't see a club you want to be part of, find a few friends and make your own! It is really easy!

    Great for these types of students

    The Abbey is great for students who are driven and like to be leaders. There are lots of leadership opportunities at the Abbey and people with the ability to fill them will be happy and thoroughly enjoy their time at the Abbey.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The seal of the college is located in front of Robert Stowe Hall, the main academic building on campus, and the tradition is that if you walk across the seal while you are a student, you will not graduate on time.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is only about 2 miles from downtown Belmont. There are antique stores and a lovely selection of restaurants. There are also numerous things to do on campus that vary by the day. Charlotte is only about 40 minutes away and many, many opportunities arise in Charlotte.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Abbey is quite good. There is a good amount of selection and there is something for everyone. There are even options for vegetarians, and some options for those choosing to follow a gluten-free diet. Allergies are also paid very close attention to by the food staff.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at the Abbey is a really great experience. You are forced to learn how to live in close contact with people. This is a valuable skill for the future.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be difficult, but the teachers are always available to help you. Some teachers will even give you their personal cell phone numbers so that you can call them at any point if you have a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to Belmont Abbey, know that you get out of the school what you put into it. Belmont Abbey is not a school where things are handed to you, but they are worth more because you have to work for them. The values, lessons, and friends you make at the Abbey last longer because you have to work for them.

    In three sentences

    Belmont Abbey is a very welcoming school. One of the Benedictine hallmarks the school has adopted is that everyone is welcomed en persona Christi or in the person of Christ. Everyone, including the faculty, staff, and students embody this hallmark.

  • 09/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is overly safe and makes safety a priority.

    Great for these types of students

    This is amazing for continuing education students or those who are planning to return to school and need to implement a work schedule. Adult students returning back to school.

    Bang for the buck

    The instructors are very aware of your personal progress, the one on one attention to your academic progress is amazing. Especially for new students and those returning back to school after some time.

    Academic Rigor

    The fast paced courses allow you to never be bored. There is tons of information to absorb and lots to learn in these interactive classroom settings. There are lots of independent study options that allow you to involve yourself in the learning process outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always create a plan and be sure to adhere to a study schedule.

    In three sentences

    I love Belmont Abbey. The small class room environments and personal interactions with the faculty and staff makes you capable of doing anything. The one on one time and attention to your course work and path that works best with your schedule is just an added bonus.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, ballroom dance club is one of the most popular

    Bang for the buck

    A little expensive

    What to do for fun

    Limited. Nice restaraunts and antique shops and a bowling alley nearby. There's also 3D put-put

    Food and Dining

    Great restaraunts nearby. The String Bean and The Soda Shoppe are amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student, so I don't know dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    In my freshman year classes have been fairly easy without too much homework. Some require more work than others but the small class sizes helps eliminate a lot of confusion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect a required scripture class and in first year symposium you're going to learn a lot about the Catholic religion.

    In three sentences

    Belmont Abbey is a great college with incredibley friendly people. You always have religious support and can talk to a monk for extra guidence. Also, class sizes are very small.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a lot of interaction with other students and faculty, likes small class size, wants to explore their spiritual as well as intellectual self.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be more than a grade - be well-rounded with community service and trying new things.

    Bang for the buck

    For college nowadays, Belmont, for it's size, personal touch, and close family-like community atmosphere is worth the cost. Plus, reading the course outlines and major/minor set-ups, I will be well-prepared when I finish to either go out in the business world or continue on to grad school.

    Will enjoy being here

    Besides the close interaction with teachers, the students I've met on visits are just as welcoming. Everyone on campus is easy to talk to, ready to talk about their experiences, and make you feel like family. I'm looking forward to joining the Belmont family.

    Will learn a lot

    I chose Belmont, and Belmont chose me. I can't wait to start classes and love the fact that the ratio is around 15:1 for class size. All of the professors I've met are very nice and easy to speak with.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Religious students especially Catholics since it is a religious school. Those who prefer small private institutions to public schools. Liberal arts takes preference over specialized learning. Those looking to find a warm, southern environment in a rural area but still close to a large city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to come and visit on a non-accepted students day and shadow a few classes to see if the lifestyle at the campus is right for you. As well, be sure to talk to random students as you find them so that you can find out about the school, get an unofficial tour and maybe make a new friend.

    Bang for the buck

    The relatively low tuition combined with the generous scholarships make the Abbey a viable option for those who wish to avoid state schools. The education is quite comparable to the University of North Carolina system for most majors and will set graduates up for entry to graduate school and beyond. Athletes will benefit greatly from the Div II program that offers scholarships for Baseball, Basketball, Soccer, Lacrosse, Softball, Tennis, and Wrestling. The Honors program gives high school graduates a large scholarship once accepted into the program and the only requirement is to keep a 3.5 or better. Overall, the price of a private school evens out to the price of going to a public university.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college experience at Belmont Abbey is simply what you make of it. Due to the nature of the housing (outdoor halls that connect suites) one can be tempted to be reclusive. However, the Abbey is home to many clubs and interest groups that are engaging and fun. Greek life and athletics are the largest groups on campus followed by the psychology club and the student government association. If one simply takes the time to meet a few people and join one or two clubs then they will find that the Abbey is an engaging environment that encourages learning, teamwork, and life skills that can last a lifetime

    Am learning a lot

    Belmont Abbey has an outstanding curriculum that focuses deeply on the Liberal Arts education that devotes much of your career as a student to becoming a well-rounded and well-founded individual. The courses are fitting for an undergraduate education. The professors are very well qualified in their fields and are teach their classes with competence.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Catholic, ready for work, and lots of school spirit

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a traditionally Catholic schools, small school.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of scholarships available!

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The School has their own police on watch 24-7, so safety is tight. So the police is surround the campus the whole time. Being safe makes me feel being thankful for this college.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go to the library the students commons where there are plenty of sofas. Hang out with friends and talk at the student commons. There are many of sports events to attended.

    Food and Dining

    One could eat either two places at Belmont Abbey College and they are great places. There is the cafe where is most likely like a buffet all you can eat. and there is Holy Grounds where is inside is a cafe or shake shop and a normal cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are good ,and also the school is building a new build for incoming freshman. Photos of the new dorms look much nicer and modern time dorms. Dorm life is like living in an apartment with one more person.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good and every class gets what needs to get done. Since its a liberal arts school one gets all the normal class experience. Really high grades at this school and every professor and student does their job.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I would say be the top of your game, because you never know whats coming after you. Being on time to class and do your work early. School comes first when you stay at this school and its priority now.

    In three sentences

    A really great school that will prepare students choose the right path. A Liberal Arts school that will open the mind of students in becoming a better person . Having the love of wisdom and making not just the brain stronger but the soul.

  • 11/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Since I am in the ADP program, I mostly eat at home once I get off work before heading to class. The few times that I have eaten on campus, the food was very fresh and tasty. Also the free Starbucks coffee is a great pick me up!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a fast paced environment due to the short length of classes. You learn a lot from the instructors and the workload can be easily balanced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to succeed at your college studies because even though it is hard at times, the end result of having your degree is the best gift of all. Stay focus on your classes and don't be afraid to use the academic services that the school provides.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college for working adults that have families and other essential life obligations. The faculty is wonderful and can be very understanding of circumstances that arise. The students have a tendency to look out for each other and are very friendly.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    monks are always there... what else can I say.

    Clubs and Activities

    A blast and so close they say.

    Great for these types of students

    Those students who like to work independent or with others must visit. Most beautiful campus. Aged with beauty.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is very old its like you went back in time.

    Bang for the buck

    Sports Management program is the best.

    What to do for fun

    Visit, Charlotte and go hiking and biking.

    Food and Dining

    The food look and tested Awesome! I eat 7x a day....lol and look forward to this!

    Dorm Life

    Close to everything North Carolina has to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure about this but, the rigor from what I gather is there!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and sit in the church, walk where many have. A private school that is more expensive but, you will be very impressed by the students that are there currently. The opportunity to walk in faith and get a great education.

    In three sentences

    Spiritual Experience that can not be seen by the internet. A soccer coach with the most experience and drive I haven't seen since I was young. An opportunity of a life time.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    GREAT FOOD! The lunch ladies will make whatever you like!

    Dorm Life

    I do not actually live on campus, but I have heard nothing but good things about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    academics are great!

    In three sentences

    Belmont Abbey is such a great school, the teachers are very knowledgeable in each department. Class sizes are small, meaning the teachers know each student by name and strive to help them succeed. Athletics is very important to Belmont Abbey and we have so much fun cheering on our team.