Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Beloit College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 out of 29 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have started their own clubs/groups in high school or are looking to do so at college, students who are interested in the environment, students who feel out of place in mainstream society, students who want a comprehensive liberal arts education at a small and welcoming school

    Tips for prospective students

    When interviewing or writing your essay, BE YOURSELF! Beloit loves unique students with interesting things to say. Be involved and active and excited. Beloit is a fun place to be, and you shouldn't be stressed about applying or being accepted there.

    Bang for the buck

    There's no getting around the fact that Beloit is an expensive school, but Beloit definitely does its best to offer financial aid to every student who needs it. I don't know anyone at the school who doesn't get some sort of aid. Plus, the education you get at Beloit and the friends that you make are absolutely worth the hefty price tag

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Beloit. The campus has a fun and very unique atmosphere. Students are original in terms of style and pastimes. When the weather is nice it's usual to find someone playing ukulele on the steps outside of a dorm, a group of people playing frisbee in the field, and lots of individuals reading in the sun. I've never been happier anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here at Beloit are experts in their field and want to share their knowledge with you. Classes are interactive and fun and often relaxed, but you learn an enormous amount of information while enjoying yourself. I was surpised by how much I learned my first semester and how much FUN I had learning it. Students are on a first name basis with their teachers and the informal relationship is very conducive towards learning.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who didn't always fit in among high school. Students who are dedicated to learning, but still want to have fun. Students who can handle Midwest winters. Students who want to learn, but not just in classrooms. Students who want to broaden their horizons, challenge the norms, and learn as much about what lies ahead as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about impressing your admissions counselor or interviewer. No matter what, it will help you find the best school for you. Also, visit all the colleges you want to apply to! Looking at pictures online is completely different than visiting the actual schools. Remember, it will be the place that you will be spending the next 2 or 4 years at, and it should fit what you want in a school.

    Bang for the buck

    Beloit is a pretty expensive school. However, you will definitely get what you pay for. Beloit gives out a lot of need-based and merit-based scholarships, which has helped me a lot. It also has a lot of work opportunities if you qualify. Don't be afraid to apply to small, more expensive schools. They will give you the personal help you need to get the most out of your college experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many great people here! Though there are some people that you might not get along with all the time, college is like its own, separate world. You only really have to be around the people you enjoy spending your time with. Also, it's not difficult at all to find new people. There are so many opportunities to meet new people, especially a wide variety of clubs and organizations.

    Am learning a lot

    At Beloit, you'll find a wide variety of study opportunities and all-around great professors. Since it is a smaller school, you can get as much one-on-one time with your professors as you want or need, something that isn't as available in high school or larger schools. You can also pursue a lot of great majors and minors, as Beloit as an excellent sciences program and great liberal arts programs.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Beloit can be good for students who like a small town atmosphere and are looking for highly discussion based classes. Beloit offers great financial aid and a lot of individual attention to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If/when you visit, keep in mind that you will be there for four years. When I visited, I found the school cute and cozy, but eventually cute and cozy can turn into boring if there's not enough to do.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing I can't deny is that the financial aid at Beloit is great. They gave me a very generous deal. Also, they are very accommodating if students need to leave for any reason. When I left, I took a vacation term, meaning that I could come back within 3 semester and my financial aid package would remain the same. Although I am transferring in the fall, I really appreciate that the admissions office and the financial aid office did so much to make the process easy for me and allowed me to keep the option open to return.

    Did enjoy being here

    This is really what made me decide to leave this school. There was never much activity going on around campus. Sure, there were parties on the weekend, but I felt like all the parties were pretty much the same thing, and I found it kind of boring. If you like getting drunk and going to dance parties, than this would be your kind of place. Apart from that, there wasn't much else to do. The town of Beloit was really depressing and not very safe. The campus feels small really fast and it feels like people form cliques really fast and stick to hanging out with the people they know. I did join a few clubs and I didn't feel like the people I met there were especially friendly either. Overall, I found the atmosphere very boring and claustrophobic.

    Did learn a lot

    I felt like my all my professors were very interesting and I did learn a lot in class, but I didn't really feel challenged by the work. I felt like I didn't really have to do much to keep good grades, apart from going to class. The classes I took were all writing based classes, so I never had to take as test. Each class had only one or two papers per semester, so I didn't really feel like I had a lot of work to do. This could be a good thing for some people, but I like to be challenged by school and I expected that college would be more difficult. I thought that academics at Beloit were easier than at my high school.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're liberal (or at least not closed minded), internationally conscious, interested in anthropology/archaeology (have you heard about the Indian burial mounds on campus, or the Anthropology museum?), a little crazy, and a hard worker who knows how to party (or just relax if you don't like parties so much), then you'll fit in great here. Most kids end up studying a language and going abroad, and the International Relations department if phenomenal. Potential Creative Writing majors are highly encouraged (The Mackey Chair professor is a unique addition to campus), and for the most part the science majors have wonderful programs to choose from. Mostly, though, if you're just a little odd in some way you'll fit in. Honestly, I'd warn anyone who thinks their straight up normal to think twice. There's a lot of weirdos here, but in a good way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beloit has a historically high acceptance rate, but with the growing number of applicants, it's sure to decline. But, that being said, most of you reading this will probably get in to Beloit. I know you've heard it a million times, but come visit the college before deciding to go here. There's only so much you can learn about from the website or the magazine - your own eyes can take in so much more. Make sure you get your applications in early enough to apply for scholarships - such as the Presidential, or the Eaton - which can be life-savers. Most of all, get in contact with the people here on campus. Talk to students, professors, admissions counselors - they all want to talk to you (or convince you to come here, like Olga - the Russian professor). We're a friendly bunch.

    Bang for the buck

    Beloit is expensive. That being said, Beloit has a tradition of giving out extensive financial aid packages. There are plenty of opportunities to get scholarships and aid, if you correctly demonstrate your need. One interesitign fact is that the total of your tuition, room and board - though about $42,000 in 2010 - is only 75% of the cost of your education. Funds from alumni and other donors go to covering the extra 25%. So in terms of making the most for your dollar, it's all rather subjective, but Beloit is one of the better expensive schools to do so at, but only if you involve yourself in the campus and community. If you take advantage of opportunities such as clubs, sports, music/theater groups, study abroad, internships then you will definitely come away feeling as if it was worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I may be a little biased because I technically wasn't supposed to go to Beloit, and yet I ended up here anyway. You can find virtually any type of person on campus, despite there being only 1200 kids. The atmosphere is, for the most part, great - however Beloit does have some flaws that you have to be willing to look past to make the most out of your experience here. Alcohol is very prevalent, the surrounding town is a very big let-down, there's no air in some of the dorms, no wireless in the dorms, and the food can be pretty bad at times - however, if you are able to look past the surface scratches you'll find that everyone here is unique (plenty of International students hanging around - I have a friend from Afghanistan and my roommate is from Senegal), and everyone is very willing to help you. Oh, and 99% of the professors go by their first name, despite the fact that almost all of them are doctors. It's weird to think of them as Professor Smith or Dr. Smith and not simply just John.

    Am learning a lot

    Beloit is one of the best schools in the country to learn a lot from - but you still have to utilize your resources. Sure, you can go to class, learn some stuff, and then go home, but you get much, much more out of the experience if you actually stay five minutes after class to talk to the professor, sign up for a free student tutor, go to TA sessions, and study with your classmates. The potential is here to learn an extraordinary amount, you just have to take the initiative.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been fewer incidents in recent years, but most of the danger of the school comes not from campus, but the high-crime areas outside of it.

    Greek Life

    Something for everybody here, even if you don't fancy yourself a fraternity or sorority kind of guy/girl. If you love Anime and video games, there is at least one fraternity and sorority that you may want to look in to. Otherwise, the conventional, stereotypical frat life exists in the other organizations on campus. If you're into that.

    Clubs and Activities

    These are what put Beloit on the map. There are clubs for all kinds of things from fencing to martial arts, from cooking to physical health. If none of the clubs offer what you want, the college even encourages you to start your own club, and will help you in the process of doing so.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, intuitive, inquisitive, entrepreneurial, open-minded, passionate students of all kinds, and all interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A Bell Run is a practice in which a student takes full advantage of the school's strictly situational clothing optional policy, in which they strip themselves bare, run from The Wall (a cement space between two dorms with a raised garden which some consider the social heart of campus) to a deactivated bell located at the Morse-Ingersol building, and then back to The Wall to retrieve their clothes. Campus tradition dicatates everyone must do this at least once before they graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to Beloit was the most profitable experience of my life. It's expensive, but I changed as a person absolutely for the better. I'm happier than I've ever been thanks to the people I met and the things I learned at Beloit.

    What to do for fun

    Gaming, craft, and hobby clubs, playing video games in the lounges, taking a walk to the poetry garden, seeing school and independent student plays, walking down to the bar or Bushel & Peck's for some locally-raised burgers or cheese sandwiches, playing ultimate Frisbee with some friends on the quad, having spontaneous silent raves in front of Commons just before dinner, wrestling in swimming pools full of Jell-o, making snow fortresses using recycling bins to make snow bricks, watching movies while playing the Mustache Game, kicking apart pieces of wood at the Beloit Martial Arts Club, drinking wine inside of a pillow fort, or whatever else comes to your mind or those of your friends'.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Appetit recently took over food service, and they're doing an amazing job. You can eat pizza, burgers and french fries every single day if you want...but healthy, delicious alternatives are always available, as are options for vegan and vegetarian students, as well as students with food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm has its own charm, but even the worst dorms are forgivable when you have good friends to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    Not a school filled with teachers who hand out easy A's, not even in the English department. However, it's also not a school that will prevent you from attending clubs, events, or pursuing personal goals by loading you with extraneous amounts of homework. You can even turn a personal project (creative, entrepreneurial, whatever) into class credit, and get help from expert faculty and access to school resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put yourself out there as soon as you can, and sample a little bit of everything. Beloit College is made for that, and when you find that one thing you never knew how much you loved, you'll be set for life.

    In three sentences

    Beloit College is small, and does not have the funding of other colleges. Even so, its programs are shaped to encourage students to pursue their passions, and the personalized interaction students get with its talented and enthusiastic teachers give them what they need to meet their goals. It's also a community with a place for everyone, no matter how strange or plain, scientific or artistic, ambitious or laid-back.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I'm pleased with campus safety. Security is pretty prompt and takes concerns seriously and are very nice and accommodating.

    Greek Life

    Not apart of Greek life, but from the friends that I have in it and from what I've heard Beloit Greek life is very welcoming and offers a variety Sors and Frats for the versatile student body.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100 clubs and organizations on campus, there's something for everyone and if you somehow don't find what you're looking for start a club yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    The kids who always wanted to try something new in class. The ones who spoke out, who were a little bit different and didn't really care.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Science Center and the Poetry Garden (in the warmer months) are the best places to study, or just hang out in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    Infidelity a great school for the amount it costs. Even with it's big surface price tag, majority of students receive substantial financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends. There's something to do almost every weekend on campus once school starts up but off campus life is pretty barren unless you or a friend has a car to travel in Rockford. Beloit has a movie theater and a bowling alley and all other town necessities but the appeal or the need to leave campus just isn't their most of the time. Clubs and Greeks life provide pretty good entertainment much of the time.

    Food and Dining

    Commons has experienced a change recently and depending on who you ask around campus, students either hate it or love it. Food at commons can sometimes be really great and sometimes you may wonder why you decided to eat there at all. Fortunately though their is always something pretty good to eat at least 80% of the time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is a bit of a hit or miss for some people (like it is at most colleges). Luckily, as a freshman if you don't like your roommate or the dorm in general you can apply for housing in the many specialty houses we have on campus. All freshman dorms (609 & 840) are normally pretty close knit. If that's not your thing ask around. The nicest dorms are those closest to the Common dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty writing intensive but don't let that put you off. Professor across all disciplines are willing to listen and help with your concerns. If you're falling behind, talk to them about it or see about getting a tutor in that class or starting a study group.

    Tips for prospective students

    Balance your time, talk with your advisor if you're having problems, make friends with upperclassmen, talk to housekeeping and JOIN CLUBS!!

    In three sentences

    Beloit is without a doubt the type of college that gets its students excited about their education. Courses are challenging and thought provoking and the majority of the professors are enthusiastic and willing to help you at every turn.

  • 09/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you didn't quite fit in with the high school sheep. We have our share of seemingly popular-type kids, but everyone here is awkward in their own special way. If you're independent. Coming from a school that was fairly restrictive, it was unnerving at first that no one was telling me what I should or shouldn't do academically. There are so many unique and life-changing opportunities here, and everyone truly does want you to have those, but ultimately it's up to you to arrange things and get everything in motion. Liberal, or at least open-minded. We have a big international focus in the classroom, and the student body. Laid-back. Basically every professor and all workers go by their first name. You're treated like an adult, and they hope by treating you as an equal, you are accepting of the responsibilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing that has really made my experience here so far was living in one of the all freshman dorms last year. I would highly recommend that option if it's available wherever you ultimately decide to go. In the dorm there were 40 people, and while some people of course only had friends outside our group and weren't connected to our dorm life, the others were very solid. It was a great support base to deal with transitioning to college. The 10 or so people that really formed the core of our cult [as it was referred to] are still my best friends here. Another tip is to don't go home right away. Sunday dinner isn't offered, but it's a great way to bond with new friends by having a big pizza party or potluck. Join a bunch of clubs, then narrow it down to a few you really care about. Volunteering is super rewarding as well!

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are all top-notch, and are really excited about what they teach. They all are interested in your opinions, and want to help you succeed in not only their class, but also connect what they're teaching to the outside world by helping you with research and internship opportunities. Don't be afraid of the price tag! When I first looked, I nearly wrote off applying because of it. I'm so glad I didn't. Because of my good grades and lots of extracurriculars, I got nearly 2/3 off in tuition in scholarships [as in, money I don't have to pay back]! If you're not the best student, don't worry- Beloit Admissions is less concerned with your academic record than your involvement and potential for success.

    Am enjoying being here

    True, it's a small town and a small school. We party hard on weekends and study even harder during the week. There are still lots of opportunities during the week for movies and talks, and on the weekend there are parties [open to anyone, a great perk compared to other schools I've heard of], improv shows, adventuring [as my friends like to call it] to parks, movies, etc. If you're not into drinking/partying, there are other people here that feel the same! I am still very close with the people I lived with last year and am a lot more involved in a few of the ton of clubs we have here. Over all, it's a great place to form close bonds and explore different interests with unique people.

    Am learning a lot

    My first semester here was a joke [my roommate that semester, Sylvia, also wrote a review]. But the semester after that, and the semester I'm currently working on have delivered on Beloit's promise to expand my thinking and have really captured my interest. I think it really depends on the classes that you're taking. I love that classes focus on opinions and discussions rather than being talked at by the professor for an hour or two. There is no pressure to compete with other students for the best grades. Professors know you by name, not your ID number.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For anyone who likes to have their opinion heard, go to Beloit College. Beloit professors are about their students, not themselves. They want you to be able to develop your own opinions and defend that position. Beloit College is good for those students who like to to know the why behind their education. Beloit says, 'This is why you use this formula' not, 'use this formula and move on.' It's a nice change, going from being told what to believe to being asked what it is you believe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend the night at Beloit. You will get a perspective of the school from the students, not what admissions counselors want you to see. Not that horrible things happen on overnights, but you get a more realistic perspective and all the questions you'd want to ask, but can't, can be asked of your overnight host.

    Bang for the buck

    Beloit College does a really nice job at bringing in outside entertainment and nightly activities. The only complaint I have has to do with the meal plans. Right now there are no guest plans and all food services close after seven, leaving nothing open on campus after seven. However, this is in the process of being reformed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Beloit College. I spend more time talking to my Beloit friends than I do my friends from High School. I almost, almost hate going on breaks because I'm away from school for an extended period of time and I don't like it.

    Am learning a lot

    Beloit College is really into conceptual concepts over computation. In other words, Beloit wants you to know why you use the formulas you use and why it is your hold the opinion you hold. They help you with your critical thinking and reasoning skills, forcing you to develop and defend your own opinion, right in the classroom.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    everyone knows everyone, and the campus is pretty small and safe.

    Greek Life

    prevalent but unobtrusive. there are 3 fraternities and 3 sororities, but they don't tend to be forced on the campus at large; they're more parts of the beloit community than communities unto themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a club for everything, and they all do events, and are all welcoming.

    Great for these types of students

    quirky, nerdy, enthusiastic students will find like-minds here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are indian burial mounds around campus, as well as artifacts in the logan museum. several dorms are rumoured to be haunted, and the club houses all have their share of traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    a lot of bang, and a lot of student aid to help with the bucks! the classes are some of the most informative, and the opportunities offered to students are fantastic!

    What to do for fun

    clubs, sports, plays, music (to hear or to play), hanging out at coughy haus (the student-run pub), monthly formal dances, weekly informal dances, games nights, free milkshakes every other monday, movie nights, and more...

    Food and Dining

    food is plentiful; there's the main dining hall (serving typical dining food), as well as two student run coffeeshops and a greasy spoon styled cafeteria. the main dining hall has themed days (apple day is a constant favourite) and many different options.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are another varied setting. mostly they're pretty relaxed, and if you're specific you can find the right sort of culture you want to live in. it's fairly easy to move from dorm to dorm, and each floor has its own character that adapts to the people that live on it.

    Academic Rigor

    it depends; classes go from easy, to easy but work-intensive, to difficult, differing by professor and department. you can always find some help if you're having difficulties, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    be enthusiastic, and jump into the setting! beloiters-- beloit students-- are a welcoming group, and there's a place for anyone who needs one.

    In three sentences

    beloit is a quirky, fun, and intellectually stimulating college. it manages to have a place for everyone who is passionate. the college culture is made up of all types from all places, and everyone tends to get along.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe, though the area around it has been known to be dangerous. If you do run into a problem on campus, security is usually wonderful, but if a matter goes to Judicial Board, don't count on being happy. Still, campus efforts have been slowly reforming the process, and things have improved.

    Greek Life

    Aside from one frat (and one sorority slowly going downhill), all the Greek life on campus is very atypical. If you're looking for TV-quality Greek life, don't go to Beloit; you will be disappointed. It's a great organization to be part of no matter who you are.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activities are fully funded by the school. It's also pretty easy to start your own club and get funding for it within your first year.

    Great for these types of students

    Were you popular in high school? I would not recommend Beloit. Do you put great care into your appearance every day and get exasperated when your classmates are in pajamas? I would not recommend Beloit. BUT, if you are looking for lots of opportunities to do special projects and consider a trip abroad a key part of your education, Beloit is a great choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual tradition on campus is a Bell Run; a naked run from the residence halls to the MI bell (no more than two blocks through campus). It's tons of fun, and since Beloit is a clothing-optional campus, there's no danger of getting in trouble with security.

    Bang for the buck

    Plenty of loans and grants are available to make school affordable, and with all the opportunities on campus for research and project grants and extensive club funding, there are lots of ways to reclaim your tuition dollars.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has many opportunities for fun events: parties, club meetings, campus-run outings, volunteering and social gatherings. Although alcohol can be a problem on campus, there are lots of activities that don't require alcohol.

    Food and Dining

    Beloit is completely redoing their food service options, and I anticipate improvements in both food quality and availability. As it stands, the food is terrible, overpriced, and all on-campus options close by 7:00 pm.

    Dorm Life

    Heavily depends on where you live. The all-freshman dorm forms a great community, as do special interest houses and some floors. Some dorms are more quiet, others are constantly loud. Fortunately, if you have a problem, you can move; Res Life is normally very understanding.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics will be as tough as you want them to be; there are easier professors and majors, and it helps to intersperse the easier classes with some of the more difficult ones. Professors tend to be very lenient with attendance and personal problems that arise either way. Depending on the department, there are lots of opportunities for additional projects and grants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit, and try to visit overnight!

    In three sentences

    Beloit College is for the strange, the smart, the creative, and the dedicated. It is a wonderful campus for finding yourself and integrating class lessons into your daily life. You will be changed.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are so friendly and they are alwaysd walking around campus making sure everything is alright. They definitly make you feel like you are in a safe environment

    Food and Dining

    Very good food.! New dining service that provides amazing options.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Whitney Hall for three weeks for a program and it was a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great.! Since it is such a small school, the professors are able to get to know you and you are on a first name base with almost all of them. All the classes are hands-on classes which is exactly what I love.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. It is one of the top schools that I will apply to when it's time. It's absolutely wonderful to have such a great community around you, both in the class and out!

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I tend to sleep for fun or go out to other campuses in Wisconsin like UW Madison.

    Food and Dining

    New food system and it's okay so far. Need more varieties though.

    Dorm Life

    The 64 dorms are the worse to live in because they are not updated. Students tend to trash the bathrooms also.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are great at teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to make your own fun. Bring a car if you have one!! Make new friends and explore the town.

    In three sentences

    Beloit College is an okay school. The campus is very small so it's easy to get around. The students and professors are okay as well.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most of the students feel safe on and off campus, and know the patrolling security officers on a first-name basis.

    Greek Life

    There are three fraternities and three sororities on campus, however Greek life still has a rather significant effect on the campus. In short, it is as if private houses were given to cliques of students that seem to feel superior to other cliques of students because of their exclusive privileges. (Most people will form cliques, for example, the sports teams, the Chinese students, FYI groups) Even though this is the overall impression greek life gives, a lot of the people involved are kind, and they tend to be the main sources of good parties on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    My personal favorite is Habitat for Humanity, but there are still lots more to choose from including a Pottery club, Theatre for Social Action, Voceslatina, and much more. Some of these enrich campus life with their activites such as making free milkshakes for students on Mondays.

    Great for these types of students

    Beloit is good for people who like stability, focus on academics, want to feel secure, rather relaxing (with guitars, books, etc.) to partying, and who do not mind being familiar with just about everybody on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Location-wise, I would say that is either all or nothing. The campus is small and beautiful, but if you are not used to an environment that looks like it came straight out of a storybook, I guess the whole campus is unusual!! Also, there is something called a Belrun, where students streak down College St from Chapin to the bell of the chapel and back. Also, ultimate frisbee is oddly taken extremely serious.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, since the school is in the progress of making improvements, please do not give my rating too much consideration!! The science center is a beautiful, award-winning addition, the new track as well, however some have not been experienced yet including the new meal plans and the new housing. Also, I am an international student, so I do not receive no where near as much financial aid as Americans do (which more than 80% of Beloit students receive), hence I have more buck to compare the bang too.

    What to do for fun

    See my tips for prospectie students, but also keep in mind that your social life will be what you want it to be. So, make good friends and start your own party!!

    Food and Dining

    This rating is based on my past experience, however do not give it much consideration because the school has changed the meal plans, so we are are scheduled for improvements including a smoothie bar, bakery, pizzeria, salad bar, and much more in the next year!!

    Dorm Life

    This depends more on the people that you are living with more than where you may be living. However, if one can avoid the '64 halls and choose Maurer or Aldrich, one should! Although, the '64 halls tend to have more singles and larger rooms, the alternative options are more lavish. Its like comparing a motel to the Four Seasons. Even so, as you become an upperclassmen, the options get much better, including private townhouses, apartments, and houses. Also, is one chooses, you are able to live on campus all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    Beloit definitely holds itself at a high standard when it comes to academics using an intensive, hands-on approach, so one might find it overwhelming during the initial adjustment. One thing that is somewhat unique to Beloit is that it uses a unit based system, and students tend to take four, sometimes five classes per semester (instead of the seven to ten classes other colleges issue. This allows one to focus more concentration on each subject, because their overall concentration is less divided due to the fewer amount of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    There isn't much to worry about at Beloit, since most of the deciding factors (academics, athletics, security,etc.) are at least adequate, except for one particular thing. If you are not used to the life of a small and extremely quiet town, be prepared to be disappointed with Beloit's social life. This is an important aspect of college life in my opinion, but there are ways to work around this, proven from my past experience. In the past I have found that weekend trips to Madison, Wi which is about an hour away can satisfy one for a few months (especially during special events like Miflin, Halloween, and St. Patrick's Day). Rockford, Illinois is also a nice place to go, so having a car would definitely enhance one's experience. However, the college tends to organize trips to Chicago, Madison, and the movies periodically at no cost to the student as well.

    In three sentences

    One of the best things about Beloit College is the unique amount of effort that faculty put into enriching students lives. From advising sessions to the small classes that allows greater individual attention to students, one feels as though they truly care about your success (and not just your wallet). In some ways, it is almost like having twenty more parents depending on your departments of interest.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Never considered it before - but am now a Phi Kappa Psi. Great Community Service Organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of - there is a club for. If you think of something that there is not a club for, you can start one!

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal - open minded!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Native American Effigy mounds throughout the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Close to Chicago!

    Food and Dining

    Good food...gets old by the end of the year, but lots to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Great for underclassmen. Good bonding experiences. Lots of support.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be creative with your classes. Bring warm clothes for winter. Be open to new experiences - take chances.

    In three sentences

    Beloit has excellent Professors who care about your success. Beloit has a very diverse population of students. Beloit encourages international study for their students.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can seriously walk around campus at four or five in the morning and be perfectly safe. Just don't go off-campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm a sorority girl, and I love Greek life here. All of the Greeks are really interconnected and my sisters are so supportive.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown to Bushel and Peck's for trivia night. You can also go running or biking on the various trails, and clubs put on a lot of events, including bringing movies and guest speakers to campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, but kind of monotonous.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms need a little TLC. But it's fairly easy to get a single on campus if you want, which was a major upside to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for it right away. You'll be surprised where you get.

    In three sentences

    This school will definitely challenge you academically. There are plenty of research opportunities with faculty and you're definitely in charge of your own education, but you need to be able to put yourself out there and go for it in order to really succeed.

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Any given night there seem to be at least three clubs or organizations throwing some kind of event. Just take a walk out of your dorm and you will find plenty of opportunities for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try buying your books online and you will save yourself a lot of money.

    In three sentences

    Beloit is a wonderful school for students looking for small classes, individual attention from professors, and a quality liberal arts education. Here diversity of all kinds is welcome and encouraged. Not a great school for the conservative student.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around, and call boxes are placed on both the academic and residential sides of campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a very, very big Greek Life presence on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small school, Beloit has a club/organization for nearly anything. Most major clubs and organizaitons even have their own dorm halls for members.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will fit in at Beloit.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Native American burial mounds on campus, so our unofficial mascot is the turtle.

    Bang for the buck

    Beloit is a private school, so you are paying a private school tution. However, I feel the education is worth the money. Just be prepared to apply for a lot scholarships and take out loans if necessary.

    What to do for fun

    Beloit is a small town, so if you are looking for a big nightlife off campus, there isn't much of one. However, Beloit does a nice downtown area and the city does host free events on and near campus throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    There is very little variety in the dining hall and changes for food allergies are slow going. The food, however, is not bad. Just bland.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms have not been renovated in nearly 10 years, but they are not bad at all. The bathrooms, however, really need to be renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    Beloit expects you to work hard and try your best. However, failing a class is not the end all be all at Beloit. Also, talk to your professors. They take that into consideration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too worried about your ACT/SAT scores. Beloit does look at them, but in my opinion, they do not weigh them heavily. Also, take your time on the essays on the application. They are read and commented on in your acceptance/denial letters. They do matter.

    In three sentences

    For a small college, the academics are quite varied. However, Beloit does not have everything, so look into the academics closely. Bring a microwave and fridge. Beloit's food is not horrible, but there is not much variety in what is offered in the dining hall. Be prepared to use the kitchens in the dorm halls and to cook for yourself--especially if you have a food allergy. Beloit is getting better about accommodating food allergies, but the change is slow. Be prepared for a serious academic environment during the weeks. Beloit does take pride in their academics, so be prepared to work hard.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I personally don't like Greek life, but Beloit college doesn't have a very large Greek life. Yes there is Greek but there isn't a lot of them just because Beloit College is a smaller school.

    Great for these types of students

    Beloit College is great for students that want to be wrapped up in all education. It is not for the students that want a city or social life. Beloit is very quite too. Another thing that Beloit College is great for is liberal people. Beloit College is a very liberal place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is one very cool tradition on campus and it is call a Bell Run. This is were a student gets naked and runs from the dorm to the bell by the Richardson Hall. There isn't a real reason. Students may do it to have fun or because they are drunk and find it will be a good idea. There isn't a lot of bell runs in the winter. So the they usually happen in the fall and the spring when the weather is nice.

    Bang for the buck

    I guess the bang for you buck is not so good. Yes the education is great and all but the price I am paying I don't feel there is a real social life or a life outside school. There isn't much around that benefits from the college. So you pay for the education and that's it. Not for the city feel or great vibe.

    What to do for fun

    The things I do for fun is site in my dorm and play video games, watch YouTube videos, or go to the lounge in the floor and watch TV. There isn't a lot to do on campus unless you are in clubs or sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is very small. There is a place called Commons that is under the dorm Chapin. This is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, but it is only open for certain times of the day. It is also a buffet, all you can eat. I love how it is a buffet but I don't like how it isn't open all day. Commons as good food. Then there is another place that is in Persons. It is called DKs this is a retail store. It is open all day until 4pm. So you can grab breakfast, lunch and early dinner. DKs has great food. They menu that you can order food or there is food that is premade for a quick grad and run. Those are the really only two places that are on campus that serves food. That is the only down fall.

    Dorm Life

    For freshman, sophomore and juniors you will have to live in a dorm. This sucks because it isn't really what every student wants. Also, living in a dorm until you are a junior just sucks. When you are a senior you can get an apartment or a house off campus. Majority of the campus in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side of Beloit College is one of the best in the nation. Its a liberal arts and practice education. That means that the professor are connected the students more. The classes are smaller and easier to get one on one help. The professors know there students on a first name basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come and visit the school during the day or on a weekend. Every college will be the same during the day, with students going to classes and walking around. Coming the weekend will show the natural side of the college. If you like reading and doing school, this the place for you! Beloit college has a great teaching style.

    In three sentences

    Beloit College is a very different school. It is a smaller college with very little school spirit. Focused on education and not building the young adult to live alone in the real world.