Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Benedict College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/04/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 out of 20 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you do not like to do your class work and pass easy just for going to class Benedict is the college for you

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips do not waste your time or money

    Bang for the buck

    To much money for nothing

    Did enjoy being here

    Other than the three clubs in front of the school being on campus was not something I enjoyed at all

    Did learn a lot

    I didn't think that they really cared to much about anything that we did they will pass you just to show up for class

  • 06/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I Love the school and the people just the campus isn't in the greatest shape.

  • 01/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    student who really want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please take the time out to learn about the school. Yes it is very different from high school, that is the mature thing about it. you are by yourself now, so be adult now.

    Bang for the buck

    It cost alot to go here, but the school gives out plenty of money to help finance your ability to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, i am the college host lots of events for new students. You will never feel along or homesick. The greek organizations do steps on the yard.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes, Benedict College you do learn alot in your major. The teachers will give you research projects and writing papers to become more familiar with you studies. The library is alway open from early mornings to late nights, so you can always study.

  • 11/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good school but your professors will not baby you along, you have to do the work yourself and that's what i like about it.

    Bang for the buck

    It IS alot of money. ($24,000/year)

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a new environment in a way.

  • 05/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Benedict will give you a second chance to go to college even if you don't have the grades. They won't deny you a chance to get a degree just as long as you have the money to pay them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have the grades and/or SAT scores I suggest you find somewhere else to go. Unless you are planing on majoring in business or music.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I'm wasting my money. Not because the college isn't all that great. Don't get me wrong it's a good school but you spend your money on miscellaneous things. I can't even find a tutor in my major. With as much money as I'm spending here I should be able to have help in my own major.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's OK if you plan on hanging outside all day. That's if you can't find anything on campus that you're interested in. Unless you plan on joining the choir, band, or play football, there's really not much to do in your spare time.

    Am learning a lot

    Not really, it's kind of like being in high school all over again, but then again that's every college for the first two years.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Benedict College gives you the opportunity to improve your self. Whats most important is that you remember why you came to college in the first place and thats to get a education. All you have to do is stay focused and go to class.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but will be the best money you ever spent if you stay focused.

    Am enjoying being here

    Benedict has many different things you can do. We have a gym, tennis and basketball court, park, you can hang out in front of the library, a card and game room, and TV room. YOur experince is what you make it. We are located downtown so you can walk to 5 points where you can interact with students from other colleges and we have plenty clubs close by.

    Am learning a lot

    Benedict is what you make it, just as in life. I am a FInance major and i learn plenty information that will be transferable into my career. The teachers are highly qualifed, most have worked for Fortune 500 companies so they know the skills we need and that employeers expect us to know.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Determination and dedication

    Tips for prospective students

    There will be alot of things said about this school, but it's up to you to check it out for yourself. I mean what places doesn't have problems or issues. If your coming here for and education I say it's a great place to be.

    Bang for the buck

    It all depends on the classes you take.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being here has taught how to be more independent when it comes to life and it's taught me to make wiser decisions

    Am learning a lot

    Benedict College is a wonderful institution and it's really up to you how you view it and what you hope to accomplish.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its way too much almost $30,000 for no reason, if you can transfer to a different and cheaper school i recommend or stack up with some scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Benedict College have great concert such as the Gospel choir to Famous celebrities and festivals. Benedict has great plays and comedian nights. Benedict also throw great party such has pool parties too gym parties and outdoor parties.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Benedict College is usually great. They have different types of food from Soul food, Italian, Chinese etc. Food at Benedict is free if your a boarding student.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Benedict College is struggling at times. Dorm rooms at Benedict is not so great. Benedict College dorms should be much better.

    Academic Rigor

    Benedict College has great professors that will help you along the way with your studies. Benedict College has a lot of different study groups to help you. Benedict College is very patient, only if you maintain with your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Benedict College is a place where anyone can go to college. Check on your status with Benedict too see if there are anythings need too be paid or in order. Benedict College is also very helpful in some areas if you just be patient and stay on them.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is great for there Open Door Policy too give student a chance too go too college. Benedict College is great for there magnificent professors. Benedict College is also very unorganized.

  • 05/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you do want to go to Benedict College, be confident, demanding (but not too harsh), aggravating (especially with teachers), and make sure that you copy EVERYTHING (because they will swear up and down that you did not turn anything in to them)

    Bang for the buck

    Even though this school is a private school, it is still too high. Plus you don't get the real education that you pay for. Also they will give you a full ride scholarship but on top of that, they try to stick you with loans saying that you have to pay them. ** DON'T FALL FOR THAT!!! Make sure you look at the paper and decline those loans (especially if you have a full ride and your grades are on point) because they will try to TRAP you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do not like being here. They swear up and down that they are here to help you and that you can come to them whenever you need them. That's load of CRAP!!! They will give you the run-a-rounds for every little SIMPLE thing there is. Plus you NEVER get the HELP that you really want (unless you DEMAND it) because they are NEVER here to assist you. They need more genuine people (staff) who actually care about the students (especially the freshmen)

    Am learning a lot

    They do not teach you anything, nor do they want you to ask them questions (because they will get real MAD with you) and they expect for you to know the information right off the back.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    those who need a second chance

    Tips for prospective students

    dont bring too much because the dorms are tiny

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are quick to break up a fight. Always around campus, and campus is locked down at midnight

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Clubs and Activities

    Gospel choir, SGA

    Great for these types of students

    This school accepts everyone

    Bang for the buck

    No, we pay too much money ($27,000) for no reason. Local jobs won't hire Benedict students, the school has so many problems.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes we have events on campus but thats rare. Football games even though our football team sucks. Various things outside of campus like to the club and bars but be careful because Benedict has a bad reputation in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is always packed since Benedict is building a new cafe. The food sucks (we was on the news because students complained). We have no meal plan thats the only plus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old, and not up to date. During the Fall semester it's really cold in the dorms until November when they turn the heat on. Freshmen have a midnight curfew unless your 21 or over. The bathrooms get cleaned every morning except the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy as long as you do your work then you can pass. Teachers are really nice, and easy to talk to. We have Success coaches that help us keep up with our work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research before you attend. Keep up with your financial status with the school. College is what you make it.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school, thats working on fixing a lot of its problems. It's a small campus, everyone knows everyone. There are a lot of things to do outside of campus.

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who like small class sizes and like one on one with their teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get a scholarship do not spend your own money

    Bang for the buck

    No they could of fixed up so much stuff that needed fixing. Also that food was ok but could of been much better. I liked the fact there was no meal plan.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was kind of far from where I lived at which was in St. Louis, MO. I mean the people there are not really the type of people I hang out with so maybe thats why I stayed close to people I met.

    Did learn a lot

    I can say that I learned something ,but most of the stuff i already knew. It depends on the teacher and how long the classes are.

  • 09/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who joke around/ students who want a better education

    Bang for the buck

    nooooooooooo, to much money being spent and I'm in the wrong classes so noooo

    Am enjoying being here

    not to much to do yet but its nice

    Am learning a lot

    well this is the third time my schedule have been switched but other than that I'm learning a lot.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The only thing to do for fun is joining clubs and participating in the on campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you hang around the right people.

    In three sentences

    If I was to rate Benedict College I would say its a 7 out of 10. It's a good school but because it's a private school they can make there own rules which makes it difficult to do the things that you want to do. It also cost a lot more than other public universities or colleges.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    the fraternies and soroities always have the campus popping. but also when you join they have so much to offer and you will be proud.

    Great for these types of students

    that would love to go to a high education hbcus and are ready to explore different opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    for fun go to all campus activities and get invovled with campus organizations. explore the city because we do live in the capital of south carolina.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips for incoming students is to stay true to yourself, stay focus and determined and always achieve for the highest goal.

    In three sentences

    i would rate benedict college a 8 out of 10. i believe benedict is what you make it. overall, it is a exquisite institute but anyone can get into benedict where everyone does not represent the university well.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they really are good.

    Food and Dining

    i love the food. you can get much as you want. also they don't close until 7 at night.

    Dorm Life

    i really don't the dorm life buts its ok. you have free washer and dryer. you also don't have a cerfew.

    Academic Rigor

    i loves it alot. they helps you in every way they can. they want to see you succeed.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is here 24/7 and insures your safety around the wall on Benedict and even the outside wall of Columbia.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is real cool. the probates, the parties, community service projects our Greek life gets involved a lot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Benedict is based off religious terms and we have a big Chapel in the middle of campus. Also we prayer at every function before and after. Also church service is like community service and some people are required but that only involves for certain majors because Benedict does not force anything on the students.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is more live when its hot and its just cool to be around your selective circles and walk around to see all the people together as one.

    Food and Dining

    food is nice, its buffet style so that's all you can eat to make sure you get full so you won't have to spend so much money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool, the freshmen dorms are on campus and you have Honor dorms for those with a 3.2 or higher and we have athletic dorms. Also we have upperclassmen dorms which are off campus apartments style and we have shuttles that bring you back and forth to your classes and rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the majors they offer here at Benedict because its a variety and you can choose form a big list. You can make relationships with teachers in the classrooms because they are not too big.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live by my three D's Dedicated Dependable Determined. I promise you if you live off those you can make it through college.

    In three sentences

    Benedict is the best thing that has happen to me thus far in my journey to college. Benedict has an open enrollment policy which helps students come to college to get their second chance or just to better themselves as adults. Benedict has many scholarships that you can apply for to help pay off school.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great campus safety.

    Greek Life

    Our Greek life is pretty cool. Four varieties for male (Fraternities) and females (sororities) are available at our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a wide variety of clubs and activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tiger Fest (a week's list of activities that all students participate in.) and Our annual Harambee Festival ( All of Benedict students faculty and staff friends and family and community come together for this event. Fun times!

    What to do for fun

    Currently there is campus activities scheduled for everyone. Even more activities will be available after our Student Center on Campus will be complete. Game rooms, computer rooms, lounge areas, TV room, and a few new res

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is ok now. It will be even better after our renovations are completed with a few new restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Our dorm life is fun, however I shall tell you its not the prettiest thing your eye will see

    Academic Rigor

    We have a wonderful STEM department. Thats coming from A proud Environmental Health Science Major

    Tips for prospective students

    Come very well prepared to get an higher education, take your time, do your best and have fun. Also remember Time management and communication is the Key to Success.

    In three sentences

    Benedict college is a great college, progressing well and growing its campus as well as its student body. I'll rate my School a 4 out of 5

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety could be a little tighter. They seem to only take care of what there told they don't jut seek the unsafe on there own. Meaning they are quick to break a fight but slow on keeping random people on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is I believe very well. They all get together as families you will defiantly feel wanted.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities you are able to be apart of. There is a spot for everyone no one will feel left out or not needed.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students

    What to do for fun

    For fun the campus is great as far as parties. There are also always activities going on to keep you busy when needed. There aren't to many boring moments.

    Food and Dining

    The food is defiantly not all it should be either. There aren't enough choices for everyone's taste buds. I don't eat pork but they will serve it for dinner and that will be my only choice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is not all that great it has it's flaws. The best thing to do is make sure you make it feel comfortable with your belongings and push through the rest.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for any prospective students come with the right mindset and ready to work. Be sure not to let parties and relationships get in the way of your education.

    In three sentences

    I believe Benedict in the education aspect is a good school. They give great help and hope for those in need of a second chance. Benedict as gives just enough attention to students and there needs.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Saftey is always around either on foot or driving around being active with the students mingling and talking with us. They are well known around campus and you will know who they are of course you are going to have a couple bad apples out the bunch but they are always first to the seen and handle situations accordingly.

    Greek Life

    It is not a lot of greek-life going on I always hear a couple on the yard is suspended or whatever but Greek Week they are all out and cutting up any of the frats will give you a show wherever and whenever they are always apart of the nightlife.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few clubs an activities I will say less than other college campuses but like I said it is a very versatile school and there is something for everybody interest throughout the school. Again its who you know because everything is not posted so you may hear something through word of mouth.

    Great for these types of students

    I really think this is great for freshman students who would like to hear from the students who attend everyday so they can get reactions first-hand. Also those who is having a hard time making that decision on where they should go to school because those mentions are all the ones they should consider when making their choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The activity field is where everything goes down its where all the fun happens frats/sorors get down and dirty, bonfires, and cookouts or the Swinton center where all the social stuff happens and of course where we eat and study.

    Bang for the buck

    I will always love my school I will say to anybody if you are from the city dont go there thinking its anything like because its far from that. It has been the best experience of my life this far and I wouldn't change nothing the things that I see/experience throughout the campus I probably won't experience anywhere else with people from all over the US.

    What to do for fun

    Truth be told its who you know. I will say it is more than enough things to do if you drive because everything is so far apart. Nightlife/ College life is always off-the-chain but in a safe way. There is more police in the city than I have ever seen anywhere for the place to be so small.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area is under construction for some new things to come. It looks like we will have a more versatile choice of eateries. I do think the catering service could be a lot better as far as the food they choose to serve us and the people they have serving us.

    Dorm Life

    Is basically not the Taj Mahal so don't go in thinking that your gonna get the best of the best I mean its what the college offers. I will say the dorm life is definitely what you make it. Make certain to lock your personal belongings up.

    Academic Rigor

    It has been said that some faculty dont want to help student simply students dont want to help themselves and put in the foot work that it takes. BC is the one institution you can do well with networking from every angle. I have the best support system at BC and they will stand by you if your putting your best foot forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Simply put if you can survive and make it through Benedict College you can make it through anything. Another point being is that you will work for your degree, nothing is just handed to you. In other words you will appreciate what you have been through and feel good that you earned your degree.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a family-oriented, school. First because of the student:faculty ratio. Second,it is a unique based institution.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is not in a very safe area of town

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is great

    Clubs and Activities

    Its so many different things to join and become apart of

    What to do for fun

    sports, Greek life, school activities, and lots of clubs to join

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient. Stay focused. Get good grades

    In three sentences

    They are unorganized. The classes are small and good for teacher student relationships. Teachers are almost always available

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    campus has the whole divine nine. they all are very fun loving people.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is full of fun activities, where you can meet new people and have a great time.

    Food and Dining

    I disagree with the meal plan. Lots of unhealthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    very comfortable, friendly and safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very proactive. Stay focused. Know your potential. Set goals. Know your purpose.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a christian-family based institution. Creating successful leaders in the twenty-first century is it's main goal. Education is the key to success.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety does their job like they are suppose to but at the same time laid back

    Greek Life

    most of them are kicked off campus, but everyone still knows who is who.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get into one to get to know more people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    say whats up, get to know people, and dont act shy or stuck up.

    What to do for fun

    5 points, USC parties, clubs, student activities during sports seasons.

    Food and Dining

    cafe is not really built yet.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are better than others, but if you have an option choose Haskell or Oak.

    Academic Rigor

    From the teachers to faculty and staff, a lot are very helpful, helping you pass and get out of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask upperclassmen any questions you have, a lot of people are frienflier in college. dont think you have nothing to work for, you have to earn your respect.

    In three sentences

    This is a Private College so do not expect other colleges rules. The area isnt the best area, but a lot of people around respect you for going to college in the area. Last but not least we are still in process of building up the campus, so it wont look all that great at first sight.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police dont do a very good job in my opinion

    Greek Life

    No greek life =/ All banned =[

    Clubs and Activities

    No club life =/

    Bang for the buck

    For the price being paid alot could be different and improved.

    What to do for fun

    Party =p

    Dorm Life

    I didnt live in dorms to many rules.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun but stay focused

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a very interesting college, You make alot of friends and being that the class sizes are very small , the teachers are very attentive and i actually liked it alot, South Carolina wasnt for me but it was fun experience.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have not been there yet.

    Greek Life

    I have not been there yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not been but i seen online they have band and choir.

    Great for these types of students

    i have not been there yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have not been there yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not been to the campus yet but online and current studentsreallyenjoy it and i know i wil to.

    What to do for fun

    I have not been to the campus yet.

    Food and Dining

    i have not been to the campus yet.

    Dorm Life

    I have not been to the campus yet

    Academic Rigor

    I HAVE NOT BEEN TO THE CAMPUS YET.

    Tips for prospective students

    i have not been yet.

    In three sentences

    i have not been to the campus yet.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety : Benedict has their own task force !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being on campus is only good for using the WiFi, going to the library or talking to your professors. Most upperclassmen try to stay off campus as much as they have to.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is around 26k a year & if you ever attended Benedict you would ask where is your money going.

    What to do for fun

    I study for fun . Keeping a 4.0 GPA is not always fun & games.

    Food and Dining

    Most people eat out the cafe. I personally don't. The cafe is currently being remodeled. When that gets done hopefully it will be an all around better place.

    Dorm Life

    The college off campus dorms are cheap looking & have no WiFi . There are no opposite sex visitation even during the daytime. There is a shuttle bus that is almost never on time & runs every hour from 7-10. Except 12pm.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are VERY helpful & always willing to go out their way for scholars .

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a clear & focused mindset, it is very easy to loose focus & fall into all the temptations that college life has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College has a ton of potential as an HBCU. But in the standings as of now, Benedict needs to do BETTER !

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe they can be better from off campus apartments, and they ought to have a 3rd shift operator in case something happens early in the morning. Sometimes we have to wait till the next morning to get things resolved.

    Greek Life

    Awesome!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not really do clubs and activities..you can if you want if you have the time to do it.

    What to do for fun

    The football games and assemblies are cool, it gives a chance to see how people react to certain things You also get to the Greeks strolls.

    Food and Dining

    Food there is pretty good, depending on what day it is. Dining is great. It gives the students a chance to sit, relax, eat, and communicate with each other outside of work.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty cool as long as you and your roommates get along. You respect their stuff and they will respect yours. Even if you don't get along, still have respect for each other's property.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it. As long as you trying your best, you will get all the help you need plus some you didn't expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for future students that would like to attend this college or any other college, always remember, college is what you make of it, and do not believe what everything you hear. Either experience it for yourself or hear from the horse's mouth.

    In three sentences

    Benedict is a wonderful school with an atmosphere for higher learning. It is also my power for good in the 21st century. Benedict's international students makes it interesting to share different cultures around the world in one college setting.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great scholarship offers

    What to do for fun

    Chill on campus, football games are great, if you do not have a car. Make friends-responsible friends

    Food and Dining

    It is a HBCU so you are going to have soul food.

    Dorm Life

    It is a different world,

    Academic Rigor

    Your first year is will be a little hard with figuring out where your classes are. But the courses are great, they are a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Check in on your stuff application and financial aid 2) Visit the campus and ask a lot of questions 3) Keep your grades up

    In three sentences

    Benedict is a small and personal school. The professors want you to learn and be the best. It becomes a family.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many various clubs that students can join, even when entering their freshman year, for freshmen they have the freshmen institute responsible for the freshmen activities and things of that nature. Anyone interested in the mass communications department we have something called BCTV our on campus newsroom we over campus life and current events.

    Food and Dining

    Our current cafeteria is under going some construction right now and is expanding, so we in dine in the ball room area of our swinton center, where the cafeteria is located. The construction should be done by January and will be beautiful upon its completion.

    Dorm Life

    There are some pros and cons with the dorm life at Benedict. There are several on campus housing buildings directly on campus close to all your classes, activities and cafeteria. but there are also off campus housing in the form of apartments that you have to take a shuttle back and forth to campus. It honestly depends on your preference.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not know about all the other majors, but my major in mass communications and we have an excellent program of study and we have a lot of hands on experience that some other local universities do not have.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest the prospective students come in focused and do not get distracted by other things that is going on on-campus because it is easy to fall behind and hard to catch up.

    In three sentences

    Benedict college is an excellent open enrollment hbcu university. They see the potential in all students and give everyone a chance. If know one else accepts you Benedict college does.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is alot of police on and near campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Its a pool party every Wednesday This homecoming future performed

    Great for these types of students

    Students with low GPAs can attend to pull up their GPA and transfer later.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tree a called the dummy tree students that does not attend class sits under the tree. Its a hangout spot for the slackers at school.

    What to do for fun

    You are not allowed a car so most people walk down to five points for fun. The walk to five points is about a 15 to 20 minute walk.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf is terrible. The salad is always safe as well as the stir fry and the omelets.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dormitories are terrible. Mather which is the freshman dorm is overpopulated. It has twelve floors and it is the biggest building on campus. You are not allowed microwaves or any appliance in the dorms. There is two microwaves on the twelve floor for all of Mather to use. The microwave is open until midnight Sunday through Thursday. Friday and Saturday the room is open all day. You have a 12 o'clock curfew if you break the curfew you have to pay a $25 fine. There is absolutely no coed visitation.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Apply to other colleges -Visit the campus and ask to see a dormitory -Be sure to check out the area

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is not worth the trip to Columbia, South Carolina. The food in the caf is truly disgusting and It's located in a high risk area. Benedict College excepts everyone who applies so it is a lot of people there that does not want an education, the classes are overpopulated and the grading system is juvenile.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its nothing really to do for fun if you don't have a car to get around. we have little bars down the street from us ,but you have to be a certain age to attend. if you know upperclassmen with apartments then you can get off campus and go hangout.

    Food and Dining

    The food their is pretty good but where they serve the food is pretty small. The Dining are sit about 50 people. You don't get all the nutrition you deserve for that specific day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Benedict College is horrible its nothing compared to the major colleges out their in the United States. Its a lot of rules you have to follow just to not get a fee. Its not co-ed, you don't have your own restroom everybody on your floor share a shower, and don't have a lot of space.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic structure at Benedict College is very easy compared to the other colleges. The professor break everything down so we can understand it better. They also provide study guides for us before major tests so we don't failed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The upperclassmen their help us with academic coaching like being on time for class and with unique time management. They give us updates on the upcoming events. They provide us with the best tutor on the campus.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a unique college when it comes to academic. Its design to make the student job easier and the teacher job less headaches. With the freshman institute we are getting more feedback on our instructor and having more activities to do on campus.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police be on everything that happens. Sometime they act to over protective and taking their jobs way over the edge. Most of them are cool anyways, so I stay out of their ways.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities is the school's heart and soul. Most of those club are very interesting, but the other half just causes you to leave. All of the activities are great.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to go outside and get entertain in the great social life. Most of the time I will go on the outside or inside basketball courts to watch or play ball. Other times the gym always have something going on or the activity field but it's a great experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food describes itself. Sometimes its very good, then other times it is like why do I bother. I dislike the timing frame, they should really change that.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is somewhat straight. I like the privacy and some of the rules. But I dislike the fact of no female visits in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classroom have big spaces to be able to feel free while working. It also have sound proof walls, so that you can really understand your professors. Only bad thing is that if the sun is shining, it seems to make the board blurry.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on coming to Benedict College, make sure you look at all programs and don't be scared to join. Benedict College also have professors that will work with you throughout any circumstance. If you stay on top of your work it will become easier to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a pretty nice school. I really like it because it have a nice environment inside and outside of the class room. On a scale 1 to 10, I would rate it at a 7.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Needs to improve

    Greek Life

    Love the Greeks so passionate about what they do

    Clubs and Activities

    What don't let me get started on the clubs they are popping and Benedict need to use more of the money that comes from students to have more fun activities

    Great for these types of students

    Any student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The step shows and Greek week also bc tiger fest

    Bang for the buck

    They take our money and need to show me where all the students money is going because there are lots of things that need to get improvement

    What to do for fun

    Party, socializing, play sports,walk around and meet new people from different states and other schools and enjoy college life

    Food and Dining

    My freshman year then dining was to die for after that I really don't know what happen but they really need to get it together because nobody wants to eat rubbish or alpo

    Dorm Life

    They have to many dorm rules there should be more visitation for the students and less unnecessary rules for them to just keep giving students fines after fine to make more money its unreasonable and completely unfair to many students

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun but aways stay on top of your work because its too sweet

    In three sentences

    Benedict college is a spirit-full black historic college that many people look down on and underestimate. However this is a great school with many doors that can be open for students across the globe nevertheless you will fall in love with some of the southern hospitality and a great place to get ya first college experience

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe

    Greek Life

    greek life sucks there arent many greeks on the yard

    Great for these types of students

    black and christian

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    an unusual tradition to me is the chant, and the harambee fest

    What to do for fun

    attend all school activities, conversate and meet new people

    Food and Dining

    food is horrible because the cafe is being remodeled

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is horrible and unorganized there is no opposite sex visitation

    Academic Rigor

    is great

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to experience different things and meet new people

    In three sentences

    Benedict is a very diversed college. not many activities. Benedict College has a great athletics program.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far Benedict's campus seems great, I haven't had an issue since I've started school and I haven't herd of any issues as well.

    Greek Life

    I was expecting to see a lot of sorority but I haven't. So maybe in the near future.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are great.

    Great for these types of students

    Benedict is great for any student willing to learn, prosper, and grow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well I haven't come a cross anything unusual since I've attended Benedict College, but I'm still a freshmen so maybe in a couple of years I'll unveil something quite uncanny.

    Bang for the buck

    Benedict is an expensive school, so it can get tough. I really love this school but I believe the cost of it is a bit costly.

    What to do for fun

    A great way to have fun is to involve yourself maybe in a sport or an on campus program. If you don't feel comfortable with these chooses, get to know students and mingle with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is a great place to mingle and dine with friends, especially after studying. Benedict has a varity of food selection, from fruits, vegetable, meat, and breakfast food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can seem tough because of the noise and different personalities, but and any situation there are dorm directors available to assist you in any matter. There are great students in the dorms as well, get to know like minded students and your dorm experience should be great.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic can become tough, but if you remain focus and get the proper tutoring, you should be fine. Don't be afraid to go to the library and other on sites assistance programs to seek help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to school with a positive outlook and do not hesitate to ask for help when in need of assistance, faculty and staff's are always available and ready to help.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a great School. This school is there for every student 100% of the time. I enjoy the teachers and faculty here as well.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around for your saftey.

    Greek Life

    non active

    What to do for fun

    Theres no time for fun. Just the books when trying to graduate early.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining do not meet health standards.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not even healthy.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the Professors care more about there paycheck than the students education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do advance research on school. Do not let the administration scare you. Find your path and take it.

    In three sentences

    This school is not the best in style. But while it lacks in luxury it redeems itself by staying true to the tiger pride. My school needs money to show its true colors loud and proud.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to 5 points Really have to make your day fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded Go after every opportunity Go to class and study

    In three sentences

    At Benedict College, the principal, the administrative committee, the staff, professors, and students make each new student feel right home. The school is well known about their expertise's. Benedict College is a good school to be at if you plan to succeed.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very prompt and professional in doing their job.

    Greek Life

    all black greek organization male and females

    Clubs and Activities

    intenational

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    our school has a saying BC. BC. You Know ! You Know! before every game to bring in the teams.

    What to do for fun

    many things! five points where they have local pubs and ice cream shops and cookie and shopping stores. . Local transit station is affordable which goes to the mall where there are plenty stores and eating places.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food could be better, the staff work around the clock to prepare the best meals they can and are very friendly and respectful of students and teachers.

    Dorm Life

    its a very cozy and homey feel, and you have enough privacy to be comfortable although you have a roommate

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of the school is very strict yet, the teacher work very hard to make sure that the students receive a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded and ready to learn Stay Focused Enjoy the school and its resources Meet the president

    In three sentences

    It is very resourceful, and the educational opportunities are very helpful in the advancement in the career of the students. The student to teacher ratio is awesome and very personal. The school may an HBCU, but the ethnicity group of the student population come from different place like Bahama, Haiti, China, and many more!

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On our campus we are 100 percent safety our campus office does the best of their abilities to keep everyone safe and trouble free.

    Greek Life

    All greek members are very open and friendly on our campus we have the Divine 9, the Band, and dance organization and others organizations to follow. We love our Greeks.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year after Benedict College, in mid February we have our traditional Harambee Festival. Harambee is usually a Kenyan tradition where many people of the community gather promoting different self help events, dances, and even selling great valuable items. At Benedict we do just that inviting people from communities all over to bring in what they know and share it with us. Girls Scouts, The Double Dutch Team, and many people selling different Afro-Centric paintings, shirts and other things. Foods and dances as well. As a Benedict College family we focus on keeping our traditions alive we love Harambee.

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Benedict College, attending the different Sports events, going to the movies, or downtown. Some prefer to attend college parties as well. Benedict college is a community where we get involved and participate in all that we can. We have different events where you can get involved in you talent BC Underground, and also there are great opportunities for you to get involved in drama.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining, is average in our cafeteria. Coming in from different time zones you will have to learn to adapt to the eating schedules. Other than that our cafeteria staff makes sure we get the 3 required meals. There is also surrounding food restaurants just in case you decide to not attend the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing the welcoming spirit from the beginning to the end, getting to know others from different states and countries. Learning to cope and build a relationship/friendships that will last a lifetime with others. Although you do have those downfalls when water stop working for an hour sometimes, or all the hot water was used up because you did not make it to the showers first.

    Academic Rigor

    Benedict College academics are challenging as long as you challenge yourself. You determine what grade you receive, not the professor. All of our professors make themselves available upon your request to meet with for assistance, they also encourage you to challenge yourself. Academics are lovely, you do not have to worry about being in a crowded room, the classroom attendance does not extend to over 50 students which makes it easier for one on one meetings with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask for help, at Benedict College we are constantly learning new things and we promote that you not only advocate for others, but also be a self advocate. Come in with a open mind, we are a open warm welcoming campus family and we love unconditionally and are welling to help you.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is place where we hold true to being A power for good in the 21st Century. We are educated not only on our choice of study, but how to transfer from being a young adults to walking in paths and becoming adults, we are also educated on how we can be make positive influence in communities and within ourselves. Benedict College has helped me become a better person.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always on campus.

    Greek Life

    Alphas, A.K.A's, Deltas, Iotas, Band Fraternity, Iota Mu Gama (IAM), Zetas, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association, Different General Fraternities, Brothers in Unity, Sister Act, M.A.L.E.S, F.E.M.A.L.E.S, ETC.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are academically challenged, who needs boundaries, who need one on one time with professors (student ratio is great),

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pre-Homecoming Week, Homecoming, Tiger Fest (Basketball Homecoming), Harambee (Cultural Fest), Weekly Activities, Mardi Gras, Forums (Formal Informational Secessions).

    Bang for the buck

    You get to know faculty and staff personally and there is always someone who can assist you. As a small campus it is easy to get to know people. Most students can educate other students about where to go and who to talk to about different situations. We have mediums between faculty and students for activity interests and for request upon process.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities weekly both within the campus and in the dormitories. This school knows how to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be way better, however there is much variety offered on a daily basis during all three main meals of the day. In some cases the dining hours may be extended to the students' schedules as a whole.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are the worst. There is no opposite sex visitation as of today. Sometimes maintenance is slow, if you're lucky you may get a nice size room. It may tend to be a little crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is provided on a doable scale. For students with busy schedules there are programs to help you to pass your class and live a relaxing life as a college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour Benedict College before attending, make sure this is where you want to be. Have confidence in yourself and do not deter from who you are and how you feel. Bring your talents, bring school spirit, be prepared for dealing with vigorous conditions, become independent but allow help as well.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is very diverse in cultural differences both national and international. They are very helpful in assistance and tutoring and keeping us in the right path. They provide different programs to help us advance as students and a people to become powers for good is society.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go the the college gym parties and game events

    Tips for prospective students

    dedication, go to every class that is assigned to you and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    An excellent college.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to games and attend the different events

    Food and Dining

    It could be better

    Dorm Life

    Its what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is good academic wise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on your p's and q's at all time. Don't come to party. Come tp learn.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a excellent school to attend. You will have to stay on benedict college so your information can be right. Don't let the people run you away.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class everyday and you'll succeed academically and join organizations to build your resume.

    In three sentences

    Benedict College is a great school and has a great faculty and staff.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can hang with your friends or new people you meet on campus. You can walk off campus and go around to different places and enjoy the different scenery .

    Food and Dining

    The food is good here

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing you meet new people every where you walk in here, some people are friendly and others are not but that is every where

    Academic Rigor

    It has been great .

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared before you get here school work can be challenging

    In three sentences

    Benedict is a very school spirited school you see people showing their spirit every where. Benedict has great Caf food . Bendict is a 8 when it comes down to s scale .

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police only care about going after college girls and keeping the opposite sex out of the dorms, they care NOTHING about safety!

    Greek Life

    Greek life can be fun, but remember your purpose here! Get your education! There are too many 6-8 year Greeks here who are too busy trying to stroll at every event instead of get that degree!

    What to do for fun

    Lots to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Well, the food is not bad. The cafe has been in construction for almost 3 years, but they should be finished here soon! I have high hopes for the cafe!

    Dorm Life

    Horrible!!! If you can get your own apartment, please do!! Horrible!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely not a challenging school as long as you go to class. You can develop helpful relationships with teachers at this school! The teachers really do care!

    Tips for prospective students

    Please do your research on this school! If you are looking for a school that will give you a chance no matter what kind of grades you had in high school, this might be the school for you!

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is nasty. The caf it's self is disgusting. They are always running out of food or the food just doesn't look right. Their hours suck. The best thing in there is probably a sandwich. Everything in there makes you do a number 2 in the bathroom. The soda machines are broke so they make their own Kool-Aid, and lemonade or you have water to drink.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay but there are so many rules for no reason and some are crazy rules and everything has a fine behind it. If you are a female freshman, you have no choice but to stay in Mather Hall. The RHA's are really cool and are there to help you with the dorm and even on campus. The rooms are spacious, you use a community bathroom, and there is a midnight curfew or you will be fined !

    Academic Rigor

    Here at Benedict it is like repeating High school. The classes are so easy majority of your professors will except late work, the classroom sizes are really nice, if you see yourself failing here you should just drop out forever because grades are given out here. Their grading scale is based on 60% effort and 40% knowledge. Basically all you do is come to class to get your 'A'. If you had a bad high school career where Benedict is your only choice, just come to get your GPA up then transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT COME TO BENEDICT Campus life is so boring. Campus is really small. Its a circle then your business is always being talked about because people run their mouths. There is NOTHING to do on campus but be in your room. There might be a little party or function happening once in a while. There are many clubs located around the area but for me, they were a waste of time. Campus safety is good the police are weirdos and creeps to be honest. The only place you can be at with your opposite sex person is the library or the gym. Everything becomes a routine you see the same people. The greek life sucks they are never activate

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Benedict is not in a safe neighborhood, no HBCU is, but you do not have to worry about getting killed. There are police on campus, who help.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is amazing. They were just brought back to campus and now campus is more alive.

    Clubs and Activities

    Benedict has so many different clubs and activities. These range from business, and honor societies, to volunteering, helping children and sports. The clubs and activities can be found on the website.

    Great for these types of students

    Benedict is great for any student, although it is a historically black college university, with an open door policy, many different ethnics attend from all over the world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Benedict has two long ceremonies, called convocation. They happen once in the beginning and once in the end. The president speaks and guest speakers and alumni come and get recognized, along with students in amazing academic standing.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about 13,000 a semester. The education is good, if you allow it to be good. Showing up to class and doing your homework is key. The college has many opportunities to help you in the future and it is a pretty chill school to learn and have fun. The food is good as well, so you will not starve and the dorms are regular, with dorm fun nights.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are sports, and the night club is across the street. Up the street is a college town, known as five points. Many students from USC and Benedict usually meet there on college night and party. There are different organizations, that will fit your field of study, or you can even work on bringing an organization to the campus. There are cookouts and weekly fun such as a movie night, mall, Wal-Mart and bowling visits. Also, hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Benedict College, just finished an amazing cafeteria, there are many different foods to choose from and the cafeteria is a great spot to hang out with friends while dining. The atmosphere of the cafeteria is pleasant, and comfortable. You can eat three times a day and it is still expanding.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorm life is not fun. There is a curfew of 12 am, mainly due to the fact that, freshman year for most, is a new found freedom and this is a Baptist school. After freshman year, the dorm life gets better. There are co-ed dorms, although there is no co-ed visitation, there are lounges where guys and girls can meet. There is not a curfew with the upper classmen dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The freshman have a grading scale of 60 percent effort, and 40 percent knowledge. The sophomore grading scale is 40 effort and 60 percent knowledge. The junior and senior year, have a regular grading scale. The course work, gets more challenging within the school years.

    Tips for prospective students

    I say, come with an open mind and positive attitude. Benedict gets better within your academic school years.

    In three sentences

    I would give Benedict College 4 out of 5 stars. The school has good academics and an amazing cafeteria. The teachers are helpful upon request, and like to challenge students. Benedict is what you make of it.