Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Benedictine University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to do something in a healthcare field, or something science related, then this college is for you. There a lot of research opportunities and teaching assistant opportunities as well. so this might be perfect for a science related student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just study hard, make sure you talk to your professor if you need help. make a study group with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Benedictine gives a lot of academic scholarships and a lot of other kinds of scholarship, so i do not have to pay much.

    Am enjoying being here

    As i said that it is a small university, so you would come to know a lot of people here. It is like a separate community itself where everyone helps one another. i am having a nice time here at Benedictine University.

    Am learning a lot

    It is a small university. There is a lot of interaction between the professors and students. Professors are extremely nice and helpful, and they would help you anytime. This way i am learning a lot in every single course i am taking.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A small & close knit school. Very helpful & freindly admin. staff, small University surroundings. Look forward to attending in the fall.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    science majors and those looking for a school where they will get help wherever they go

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. The best way to meet people is to be outgoing and to join different clubs and go to various events.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking into a science career, this is the one of the best schools in the Midwest for it. Plus, the tuition isn't as expensive as other universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere of the campus is refreshing, the faculty are friendly as well. But definitely not a huge party school if that's what you're looking for

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers know what they're doing at Benedictine. They have office hours that allow you to come in whenever you have a question.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    interested in learning and reaching out to people of different cultures!

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    benedictine university gives light to the hands on approach needed in today's workforce. the undergraduate programs provide challenges that would make for an smooth transition into any graduate program. the core curriculum makes students feel as though they have majored in everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. be sure to utilize your professor's office hours 2. utilize study zone 3. be sure to be involved in the financial process of attending the school

    In three sentences

    benedictine university is a great institution for students facing adversity. the faculty, staff and students all work together to provide a great community. at benedictine university everyone is someone you should know.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing bad ever happens at ben u. but they have a security station, and multiple police personnel on campus at all times just in case something was to happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have so many clubs. they have a club for every type of person from science, to video games, to music, and best buddies. if they do not have one they are open to starting more

    Great for these types of students

    ben u is amazing for anyone going into science or math. all of their programs excel, but these exceed all their others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ben u supposedly is the most haunted campus in the u.s, and it has an underground tunnel system.

    Bang for the buck

    ben u is a private college, so things are a little pricey, but they provide amazing services not only academically, but in other areas such as physical and emotional fitness.

    What to do for fun

    there are so many things to do at benedictine. they have numerous clubs. they always have events going on. ben u really goes out of their way to make sure student life is as fun as possible.

    Food and Dining

    ben u has a restaurant, a little cafe, and a lunch room. if you do not like the things in one place, you are bound to like something from the other. although healthy options are limited, they have options for people.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on dorms, but from what i have seen and heard, the dorms are nice. although the boys dorm is a bit older than the girls. they also have apartments and houses for the upperclassmen that are wonderful.

    Academic Rigor

    ben u expects the best from their students. they try really hard to have great academics. they have numerous classes for different majors. many general classes such as english, math and science have been adapted depending on your major, so that the student can get the best education for their major.

    Tips for prospective students

    always check and make sure that you have all your scholarships, loans and other finances in order. do not just assume you have the money, double check and make sure that you have all the scholarships that you think you have.

    In three sentences

    benedictine is an amazing school with a beautiful campus. the teachers really care about their students. the smaller atmosphere makes it easier to get the one on one help you need, and to make longs lasting friendships.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is known for its awesome safety. it is one of the safest campuses in the us right now!

    What to do for fun

    benedictine is near chicago and naperville. there are always activities going on on campus. it's never boring. you just have to involve yourself!

    Food and Dining

    i have tasted the food in the cafeteria and the restaurant on campus, and it was surprisingly very good. i was impressed!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are small, but you only have to stay in those your freshman year. the housing for sophomores, juniors, and seniors are very new and nice!

    Academic Rigor

    benedictine has an absolutely amazing medical program! they are connected to rush and northwestern medical schools. 98% of benedictine's medical students succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking into benedictine, then definitely talk to their advising counselors. they will make sure that this is the right place for you. they are kind and very compassionate.

    In three sentences

    i have visited the campus in lisle, il several times. i absolutely love it. it is perfect for me. it is a small campus with a big name. it is one of the safest schools in the us at the moment. the staff are unbelievably kind! i love it!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Benedictine is a wonderful university built heavily in Catholic tradition. Although its main focus is liberal arts, Benedictine is known for the sciences. Benedictine has been rated the number 1 school in the U.S for Grad school.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, science majors, religious types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most haunted campuses in the US

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown, the University offers free transportation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stay in the dorms, they are being renovated.

    In three sentences

    A small campus where teachers know you by name, Benedictine University is not just a religious school. Their science program is one of the top three in Illinois. Everything is just a short walk away!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. We have our own police station with actually cops, not security guards. There is also Sophie the dog who will sniff out your drugs so be careful.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life is one of the downfalls of BU. For those hoping to join a frat or sorority this is not the university for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Benedictine University is a great place because it is very diverse. Though majority of the campus is of Indian background because their parents want them to be closer to home.

    What to do for fun

    Unless you have a car there is not much for you do for fun. if you do have a car then you could go to downtown Naperville where there is many things to do for fun. if you want to go to the movies i would recommend Hollywood boulevard it is a little bit on the pricey side but it is totally worth it. There are many cool artifacts from actually movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and you will gian the freshmen 15 if you are not careful. There have been times where people have found things in there food that should not been there so I would check the food carefully before eating.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm if is pretty much great if you are a social person, and make friends easily. You could have sleepovers in in another's dorm and even the boys dorm. Just make sure if you are spending the night in the opposite sex dorm do not get caught after hours or the R.A.s will be force to kick you out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty easy to pass all you have to do is show up and participate in class and you will be guaranteed to pass. For people that are science majors the classes could be tough but if do the work, then they would be easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students do not let your gardes slip or you will end up on academic proibation that is a place where you do not want to end up on. Another tip would be to bring food here unless you want to end up eating food that is greasy and fattening. My last tip would be to make nice with your Resident Assistant because they do make the rules.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Benedictine University with a seven the the campus is pretty small so people tend to be in your business all the time. The parties are good but they are not epic nothing really big happens not too many people party on campus considering the strict rules the school had imposed. The professors are rally nice depending on who you get some even curve the grades for their students.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a small college that still offers great things.

    Bang for the buck

    Since I am not a current student I can only judge based on my research and this school looks as if it offers a lot and is worth the tuition.

    Will enjoy being here

    It looks small and close knit and that is exactly what I want from a school. I can't wait to apply and hopefully get accepted.

    Will learn a lot

    This school looks as if it has a very nice curriculum.

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely not expensive school compared to others!!

    Will enjoy being here

    Its small, cozy and everyone knows each other...not to mention hwo friendly everyone is.

    Will learn a lot

    Due to the small class sizes there is a lot more student/teacher interaction.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    #1 safest campus in Illinois.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters still living at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    CoalBen is an on-campus restaurant unlike any on another campus!

    What to do for fun

    Programming board has a lot of on campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for a low key college experience.

    In three sentences

    Great classes and teachers but on campus life isn't very good. Mostly a commuter school. Campus is dead on the weekends and even people who are 21 and allowed to drink on campus are scared to get a ticket from BUPD.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Napperville is right down the road

    In three sentences

    Is a clean, friendly and academically focused university. Very diverse with many opportunities to grow. The professors are professional students and great instructors.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the staff here is very nice and they help you on every step of the way. i love my admissions counselor katie she is the best and sweetest.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an online student and classes are in 8 week sessions. It's definitely a challenge; there are times when you work in a group. However, time management and comittment to the program contributes to your success. The instructors are always there to address any issues and they respond in a timely manner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time. I work full time and it's all about balance, time management and commitment.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine is the ultimate college experience. The administration is extremely supportive and encouraging. The curriculum is challenging and rigorous, however the instructors are extremely helpful and want you to succeed.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At times it does get a but repetitive, but in general Benedictine does serve good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good and you will get to know your hallmates easily.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard, but not as much if you get help from a teacher. They are willing to help a lot.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University is a great school to get to know people and make great friends. The teachers are nice at this school and are really helpful. The campus is small which will help you to get the know the environment.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station located in the campus parking garage. It is noted nationally that Benedictine is one of the safest campuses in Illinois.

    Clubs and Activities

    New clubs are continuously being created based on student need. The activities that student groups put are exciting and bring in many students.

    Great for these types of students

    Benedictine is great for any student. A major portion of the population on campus are athletes. Even if you do not play sports, the school will cater to your needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of the year there is an awards ceremony for athletes called the Benny Awards. Every year campus puts on a commuter picnic, but everyone is invited. A person does not find on-campus apartments at every campus. There are at least 6 buildings. Some buildings hold four, two and one bedroom apartments

    Bang for the buck

    Benedictine is a private institution and cost a pretty penny, but the education that one receives is worth every dime.

    What to do for fun

    The indoor athletic facility is open to all students and faculty. There are over eight sports that students engage in, and students can attend these games free of charge. Campus clubs organize dance parties, movie nights, game nights, group outings and other activities for students. Shopping centers and restaurants are close to campus. Downtown Chicago is a short twenty-five minute drive from campus. There are outdoor basketball courts located near the cafeteria. Students can also engage in sand volleyball on warm days. There is always something to do in downtime.

    Food and Dining

    There are two locations for dining. The main cafeteria has set hours, but it is nice that the alternate location is open from seven in the morning until midnight.

    Dorm Life

    Resident assistants organize numerous events for residents throughout the year. There are two freshmen dorms; one female the other male. There is one sophomore dorm which is co-ed. There are also on-campus apartments that are co-ed and typically house the upperclassmen. The resident life can be eventful, but campus police regulate activity at times.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are qualified and come from highly educated backgrounds. Many times being a student at Benedictine entails that a student did well in high school. Teachers expect a lot from students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The curriculum at Benedictine can be challenging, but if you prioritize your time then excelling in class will not be problem. Classes are small, so paying attention and be present in class is required in order to do well. Do not be afraid to meet new people and get involved in campus activities. You will find that your peers are not much different than you.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine is a safe, progressive campus that provides many opportunities to students no matter the major. The diversity found on campus is a major attraction for prospective students. The campus is located twenty-five minutes from downtown Chicago

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safetly on campus is great, There are police officers on campus at all times. There are cameras and emergency booths. I cannot say anything negative. I definetely do feel safe here on campus at any time of the day

    Clubs and Activities

    TRI BETA-science honor society, much much much more. You just have to explore what interests you.!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is designed to help future science health professions succeed and graduate with a degree and prepare them for their masters and doctorate degree. it is also set out to help students walk out with a job in the degree that they majored in. The students are very friendly, kind, and helpful especially to new freshmen or transfer students.

    What to do for fun

    One can join many groups and cllubs/organizations that help the school, community or other parts of the world. There is also sports teams, or even playing outside with friends. There is sand volleyball, basketball courts, soccer fields, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is very delicious. Coal Ben is the hang-out place with deserts, sandwiches, pizzas, fried food, alcohol and much more. Also there is plenty of little consession stands inside campus building to grab food on the go.

    Dorm Life

    I have not dormed at this University but my friends do and they all have only positive reviews to say.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level at this University is excellent. It is very tough on certain levels but that is what college is about. It teaches you to be self disciplined and how to organize your schedule for having 2,3, or even four exams in one week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the hard obstacle's that come your way and do all that you can to conquer it. Explore all options and look through all the open doors because there will be many of them that may change your life. ASK questions is the most important concept.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University has all the best reviews it can get. The professors are excellent at what they do. This is a type of university where one is able to challenge himself/herself.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Even though Benedictine University is on the more expensive side since it is a private university, nothing compares to one-on-one feel that can be provided by the professors.

    What to do for fun

    Benedictine has a wide variety of sports, clubs, organization, and gatherings, and volunteer opportunities that allow students to be engaged not only in their studies but also to enrich their talent and give their time to others in need.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience at Benedictine is more laid back and allows students to feel comfortable since this is the best time to break from studies.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I am a commuter student since I live so close to school so I do not reside in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, myself being in the science field myself, I found classes to be challenging but enjoying as I learned new properties in my studies and in my work ethic as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best to know what exactly you are going to major or minor in so that the staff and professors can tailor fit a career plan that is best for your specific needs. Be it from Financial Aide to your personal Academic Counselor, Benedictine helps you to fit into the path that is promised for you to help you achieve your goals. Since the class sized are smaller and on a more personal level, this helps students insure that they are not just a number, but rather someone pursuing their dream.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University is a diverse place where students and professors can learn from each other; made possible by their small class sizes. The university has a welcoming feeling unlike any other campus due to its small size but large university feel. Benedictine may be small but it has a big heart, willing to let everyone in.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus does not feel safe at night.

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    No intresting clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Benedictine University is a great place for muslim/middle eastern, middle class, and or/ catholic students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual places or traditions on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I do not see where my money is going towards at Benedictine.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing fun to do on this extremely small college campus. There are not many activities and clubs and places to hang out and have fun on campus. The only way to have fun is if you have a car on campus and can drive yourself to recreational places in the surrounding town.

    Food and Dining

    In the beginning, Coal Ben may seem like a breath of fresh air and a really great place to eat and hang out between classes and during your free time with friends. However the food here gets old very fast, you will most likely get fed up with Coal Ben quickly. Also the food in Krasa is very unappealing, repetitive, and disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    The Quality of the dorms are horrendous. The Residence halls are in dire need of rennovation and the dorm rooms are not appealing or comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Benedictine is a very good school. The classes are challenging but not extremely difficult and the atmosphere promotes learning and pushes students to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Academically, Benedictine University is a very good school and has a very good academic reputation. It is good for people seeking small class sizes and that personal feel that many colleges lack. However, Benedictine is not a good school if you are looking to have a active social life.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. the university police are very friendly and always around. They care very much about the students here. There are also emergency poles all over campus in case a student needs help.

    Greek Life

    Because campus is so small, there isn't a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different ways for students to get involved here. There are a lot of great clubs like Best Buddies, Students for Life, and also a lot of intermural sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are rumors that campus is haunted. Since I have been here, nothing odd has happened that would make me believe so. It's just a fun story to tell people.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of scholarship opportunities though the school that make it quite affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much immediately around campus. If you want to go somewhere off campus, you will need to drive or have a friend with a car. There is the Ogden Six movie theater and the Lisle Lanes bowling ally and quite a few restaurants to check out.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay. It gets to be very repetitive and a lot of it is heavy, greasy food unless you go for the lunch meat subs every day or the prepackages sandwiches in Kindlon Hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice but they tend to be very hot. If you plan on living on campus, bring a fan. You will need it in December.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the classes can be quite difficult. Also the professor's expectations from class to class to class change considerably so do not be surprised if a friend's speech class is much more difficult than yours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Benedictine is very big on getting students to be independent. Be prepared to sink or swim depending on how well you adjust to taking charge of your schooling.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University feels very much like my high school did. It's small and everybody knows everybody who stays on campus. It is a very large commuter school so if you plan to live on campus, be prepared to have a lot of quality time with the other people in the dorms.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police patrolling all day until the end of the school day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is great that Benedictine provides a prayer building for Muslims.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sponsored events at Benedictine, not to mention the vast amount of clubs and activities available for students to take part in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your excused absences wisely. Always be a few minutes early to class. Have a good relationship with your professor and seek help if needed.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine is a small and prestigious university. I was able to fit right in into the welcoming environment created by the advisors, students, and professors. Overall, from a 1 to 10, I would rate this university a 10.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus, I am enrolled in an online program, but Naperville is nearby which as great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in is not easy, but the hard work will pay off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to speak with your advisors, they are a great resource. Utilize the librarian and writing assistance. The online library page is very helpful with research.

    In three sentences

    Very professional staff from admissions to instructors. The program I am enrolled in is very stimulating and rewarding. The school has a great reputation, for good reason.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus, with police officers on duty 24 hours, 7 days a week. They also have special dogs that can detect whether there are drugs and routinely they check in the apartments of students.

    Greek Life

    Not very many fraternities or sororities, but it is a charming campus to say the least.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great variety of both clubs and activities. To put it this way, one will never be bored while on campus. Special dinners are offered for special occasions in the Krasa cafeteria (Valentine's Day, Christmas and Thanksgiving).

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, hardworking students who like a small setting and who have a preference for the suburbs.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. The Professors are very helpful and know how to do their job very well. Overall, a superb institution.

    What to do for fun

    There is always plenty of life on campus and there are many sports games. Also, there is a great variety of events to attend. Overall, it is a very lively university.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but not necessarily healthy, unfortunately. However, Salads are available in the dining room on certain occasions.

    Dorm Life

    It is a cozy place to live. Everyone knows each other because it is such a small school which adds to its charm. I love the fact that their is so much life on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but not impossible to earn good grades. It is a remarkable university with its own charm that makes it the ideal setting to learn a lot. Also, students must be willing to work hard and learn a lot by applying logical and using critical and analytical skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not miss out on getting to know peers and interacting with them. Pay close attention to all lectures and ask questions if for some reason one does not understand the material. Professors are very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make their students succeed. Do not leave things until the last second and put time in effort into everything that one does.

    In three sentences

    It is a great institution because it offers students the knowledge and skills needed to succeed in any profession. The atmosphere is relaxed but at the same time challenging. Professors at Benedictine are very approachable and knowledgeable.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I hear that the school is haunted but I haven't had any bad experiences

    Bang for the buck

    Nice school

    What to do for fun

    -The rice center to work out there are free class: yogalates, zumba, kickboxing

    Food and Dining

    If you go your going to love Coal Ben its a mini-restaurant on campus

    Dorm Life

    I haven't dorm-ed but no one has seemed to complain.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends what teachers you choose. Make sure to take a class you will be interested in or pick a teacher who you have heard is really nice and actually helps you during class.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Work hard -Do good at the beginning -Learn to manage your time -GET INVOLVED -Don't Procrastinate

    In three sentences

    This school has been very welcoming to me the moment I applied. Although there are times it seems like college is really difficult there are many resources that Benedictine University offers. I would definitely recommend anyone to attend.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's the safest school in Illinois. I left my room and had my dorm open for 4 hours and nothing got stolen. Nothing happens at Benedictine.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are all run by commuters. They fail to meet my expectations; they are very impersonal and they never meet, except AMSA.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverted study-bugs or athletes. Actually, even the athletes hate it. So pretty much no one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions? Ha. There are no traditions, and there is no sense of community.

    Bang for the buck

    They gave me a ton of money. However, even if I went to Benedictine for free, it still wouldn't be worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Go home on the weekends so you don't become suicidal.

    Food and Dining

    All the food at Coal Ben is fried, and there is little to no variety. Downtown Naperville is close by, so there are plenty of options if you have a car.

    Dorm Life

    This is the most disgusting part of the school. My mattress had blood on it the day I moved in, the bathrooms are sticky from urine all over the floor, and the people (athletes) who live in my building are the most obnoxious people you will ever meet. These dorms are probably among the worst in the country.

    Academic Rigor

    For a science school, the science classes are a joke. I have a 4.00 and I do not feel like I have to try that hard. The electives have been pretty good so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to commute and stay 10 minutes from home or to repeat high school as an adult, then this place is for you. If you are looking to live on campus, bad idea. Save yourself the months of depression and do not bother even applying here.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University is okay academically but a terrible school if you are looking to enjoy your college experience. It is a commuter-run community college with nothing for students to do except study all day in either the disgusting dorms or in the extremely loud library. Going to this school is incredibly depressing, and I am happy to be transferring next semester.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Distance Learning or non-traditional/adult students

    Bang for the buck

    I found the cost of attendance to be comparable to similar programs. Military experience and academic achievement benefit prospective students.

    What to do for fun

    Chicago is close and offers many museums, parks, restaurants, and other events and locations for entertainment and fun.

    Food and Dining

    I did not dine in the campus facilities.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic experience at Benedictine University has been self and instructionally motivated. The course work has been subject appropriate, and the evaluation process requires thorough understanding of subject material.

    Tips for prospective students

    A strong commitment to achieving career goals requires taking strategic approaches to properly plan and apply yourself and your available resources to capitalize the benefits from education and hard work.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine Univ was a great help providing valuable information during the recruiting process. The continued service and guidance through admissions and registration provided step-by-step assistance to ensure all required deadlines were met. The class instruction and evaluation process has been engaging, and educating.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am an online student. I live in California.

    Food and Dining

    I gave 1 star because I am an online student. I live in California.

    Dorm Life

    I gave 1 star because I am an online student. I live in California.

    Academic Rigor

    There is no just sitting back and riding along. You need to participate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do the work. Make sure you set up time to read and do your assignments and lastly, participate!

    In three sentences

    As an online student, they have great online classes for a working adult. The instructors are available and willing to help in any way. Resources, in every area, are always available.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a private school, it is not that expensive, plus the school has a very good name in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I have not yet lived at Benedictine University, but I am super excited to be living in the apartment-style complexes on campus. Benedictine University did a good job with matching me with a roommate who matches a lot of my personality traits.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University is a great choice as a Catholic-affiliated school. The transfer process was made easy with their very helpful staff that were always willing to answer my questions. I cannot wait to finish my studies and become a special education teacher at this school because their education program is so well renown.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ben U has many friendly POLICE OFFICERS whose job is to secure the campus! There location is ON CAMPUS in the lower level of the parking garage. This is also where student IDs can been picked up.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports and clubs to join. There is also a fitness center for our students and staff!

    Great for these types of students

    Any and every student could be successful here at Benedictine!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is catholic in the Benedictine tradition, however you do not have to be catholic to attend. The studies are deeply rooted in compassion and love for each and every student. I have never attended an institution that had the staff cheering for me to make it into the university.

    Bang for the buck

    Benedictine University has been ranked 22 in most affordable colleges. For more info visit Ben.edu or follow the Benedictine University LinkedIn page.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderfully prepared by knowledgeable chefs. I have no personally been to our eating facilities, but the alumni never stop talking about it.

    Dorm Life

    I am enrolled in the online program, but i hear the dorms are great!

    Academic Rigor

    There are no test! However, there are many projects, but as long as you study and try your best you will be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    These people are obviously rooting for you to succeed. COMMUNICATION is how you will achieve your ultimate goal of education. Let them know what is on your mind and they will try their best to work with you. Only apply to this university if you are ready to move forward with your education, and have serious motivation. (Online BAOL)

    In three sentences

    There has not been one encounter with staff members that I have not enjoyed during the application process. The online program has been explained and is more than easy to navigate. I am proud to say that i am apart of the BenU family!

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is campus police

    Food and Dining

    there is tons of restauraunts. they are open 24 hours. they have a variety of meals for everyone including a wide variety for vegetarian/vegan.

    Dorm Life

    i dont plan on living on dorm my freshman year because of the financial aspect but hopefully i will be able to soph. year because its really beautiful campus.

    Academic Rigor

    great school.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a police station right on campus (as I'm sure most college do). The city is really safe so that makes the college just as safe. Students always feel safe at BU and never really complain about anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are super involved on campus and it is a great way to meet people and network.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're quiet and just want to focus on school, this place is perfect. It gives you enough things to do when you want to relax, but not enough places where you'll get distracted easily.

    What to do for fun

    Closest thing for fun is downtown Naperville which has a lot of resturants and dessert places. There is not much around unless you have a car and can drive to nearby cities for entertainment. There's a movie theater about 10 minutes away via car.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty good because of the restaurant that is on campus (Coal Ben). It definitely gets to be boring because it is the only restaurant on campus, but the food selection is very good. There are restaurants nearby in downtown Naperville, but you need a car to drive there (about 10 minute drive).

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are typical for a college. They have the basic college-style dorms. The Programming Board and other clubs make a good effort in making dorm life fun. Nonetheless, because the school is in a suburb, there are not many places in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Though it is not the toughest school in terms of academic rigor, Benedictine is definitely well known in the academic community. The school is great for networking if you're a business major or a science major. Being a science major myself, I found the science department to be of much help when I was applying for medical schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect to have the same experience as a big-name university. I enjoyed my time there because I had a great network of friends that always hung out together. The school gives a lot of scholarship help (merit-based and need-based) so it cuts down on loan money. They also give full-rides, but you have to ask to see what the qualifications are. Also, make sure all the financial aid stuff is taken care of in advance because the Financial Aid department is really bad at getting stuff in.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for science majors. Additionally, it is mainly a commuter school. Moreover, due to its small class sizes, it is easier to approach professors to get help on subject matter.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are ranked one of the safest schools in Illinois. We a 24/7 stationed campus police station on campus, along with emergency towers throughout campus that students can press if they feel endangered and a campus police with be there in minutes. Campus police will also assist anyone if they need a jump for their car, or unlock their car door or dorm room if a student is locked out. There is no cost for these services. Campus police are allowed to issue tickets for recklessness, mischievous conduct, or illegal driving.

    Greek Life

    We do not have greek life; however, our sports teams and programs act as frats and sororities would. They have their own houses and hosts events. Most teams, also, have a certain motto or goal in mind.

    Bang for the buck

    Benedictine is relatively inexpensive as opposed to other colleges and you receive a great education with specialized teachers in your field of study, free events to attend with added prizes, great resources to use towards your career and classes, a one on one connection with teachers and classmates, great clubs and sports opportunities, and great support from councelors, advisors, and financial aid departments.

    What to do for fun

    Every week there are events going on on campus, either held in Coal Ben or held in the dorm buildings for students. These can consist of game nights, bingo with free prizes, tye dye provided with free shirts, raffles, food nights, finals week relievers, and etc. Also, downtown Naperville is only 2 minutes away, so many students go into town to hangout, shop, go out to eat once in a while, or attend fests that are held there.

    Food and Dining

    There are two on-campus dining options for Benedictine. The first, called Krasa, consists of a buffet style cafeteria, which always has a salad and sandwich bar, as well as cereal and fast food options. There are a variety of entries and desserts that differ each day. There are plenty of beverages to choose from. There is, also, a frozen yogurt machine available with toppings. However, this food is either a hit or miss when it comes to flavor. Sometimes it is very good and other days it is extremely distasteful. The second option is a café style restaurant called Coal Ben, which has the same food items each day, with specials that vary every month or so. This is where breakfast is open, snacks throughout the day, and evening meal time to students. There are, also, Starbucks coffee beverages, smoothies, and fresh pastries available in Coal Ben.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are much bigger than the average college dorm and the student lounges are well equipped with computers, free printing, and new furniture. The laundry facilities are also available free of charge, so you can leave your quarters at home! You have a personal heater in your room so you can control your own temperature of your dorm room! However, the reason for giving the dorms 3 stars is because, although the dorms are refurbished, the buildings are older and parts of it do malfunction. The fire alarm has gone off by itself a few times, vending machines are always out of order, sinks and toilets have to fixed constantly, and heaters break down. Some rooms have visible piping on the sides or the ceiling of the room and there have been reports of leakage from the pipes. These are just unneccesary inconviences that changes the quality of the dorms. Besides the facilities offered in the dorms, there are events that are planned throughout your dorm building to engage students and meet new friends. The people you end up living with on your floor of your dorm become very close. It becomes an enriching family setting where you eat together, join clubs together, and, even, do homework together. The dorm life at Benedictine is a good time and really gets you involved on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes, whether they are for your major or not, require a lot of time doing homework and studying. There is usually always an assignment due in the future for every single course. Good time management is definitiely required to stay on track with all of your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    It does not matter if you are undecided as a freshman or already know what you will be majoring in. You will still need to put in a lot of effort to do well in classes. However, you do have your teachers, councelors, and peers that can support you and help you if you need help with homework or would like career advice. Take advantage of the services your college offers, such as free tutoring in a wide variety of subjects and a 24-hour open student center at Benedictine University. Succeeding in college classes is a huge adjustment for incoming freshmen.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University prepares well rounded students in academics, clubs/activities, and, in the long run, careers. Although business and science are the most popular majors, there are opportunities for any student's needs and aspirations. The Benedictine community is like a second family because everyone is very supportive and you meet amazing people here.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police department on campus and they are always out patrolling and making sure everyone is safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-party, quiet, small groups of friends

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school, but it is a private and prestige school.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of clubs you can join, sports, fitness classes.

    Food and Dining

    CoalBen's food is good, Krasa cafeteria food is nothing special. I love our coffeeshop in Kindlon Hall- they have drinks, snacks, sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the apartments on campus for my first semester, they are pretty nice, spacious and have a washer/dryer in unit which is great! I know students who live in the dorms and they really enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to be a very thorough student, take detailed notes and be very strict on yourself in order to succeed in most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Prior to transferring to this school I was never good at studying and never really had to. The curriculum is very difficult and demanding but it's well worth it- you will get a great education and it will make you a much stronger person.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine overall is a great school to attend. The small campus makes it very easy to find your classes and not get lost. The small class sizes are very beneficial to meeting new friends and having a good relationship with your teacher.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe sells great breakfest/lunch food and the restaurant on campus has some tasty choices also.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but I have heard from people that it's a bit tedious from people who do.

    Academic Rigor

    You definitely have to study, most of the teachers are great here and are more than happy to help you in their office hours. However, you must put the effort in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a lot of connections, but don't socialize too much. You will get behind on your studies.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University is a great school for science. The campus is small and the class room sizes are high school sized(30 students). People here are usually extroverted, so it's easy to make friends. I definitely recommend this university.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops will always be there, as well as the fire department

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    very active in programming board and other activities to make students feel involved

    Great for these types of students

    Academic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is right by a cemetery for the monastery across the street.

    What to do for fun

    Go to school activities and see the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your studies and don't get distracted by the small things.

    In three sentences

    Benedictine University is a university that includes all students. It provides an environment of academic excellence and challenges. It is a place for people to excel in whatever area they want.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, there are zabiha options for Muslims

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what you are studying, the classes can go either way. Science classes are definitely challenging, as they would be at any other school, with some being harder than others. General Education courses can be on the easier side but either way, you must put effort and work into the classes

    In three sentences

    Benedictine is a nice, small university with professors that really have a passion to teach the students and help them become successful. The classes are small which is great for that one on one interaction with the teacher.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in your rooms, go to sporting events, attend fitness classes, play volleyball on the sand court, make bond fires, attend events on campus, explore downtown Naperville, take a train to Chicago, and so much more.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many commuters at this school, but there are also many countless events for the residence here. I rarely find myself to be bored during the week and on the weekends! Just get out of your room and meet new people everyday!

    In three sentences

    A great student life, amazing teachers, just an overall great atmosphere to be in. Everyone is here to help you, and the hospitality is just endless. The price is worth attending here with state of the art facilities and people that will go above and beyond for you.