Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bennett College for Women Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bennett is filled with girls who like to have fun, learn life changing lessons and build bonds that are everlasting. So if you are one of these people then Bennett College for Women is a place where you going to excel academically and mentally building a better you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bennett offers a little something for everybody if you take advantage of the opportunities such as the study abroad programs. The best advice I can give is to get involved and do not worry about the all girls’ aspect because being around girls helps you to grow as an individual by learning your strengths and improving your weakness and above all helps you top stay focus on your education.

    Bang for the buck

    Bennett College for Women tuition is affordable and really low for a private institution. It has amenities that are great in the dorm room such as a microwave and refrigerator plus air conditioning which is very helpful in the North Carolina heat.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I first went to Bennett College for Women, I thought is that it. Well after finishing my freshmen year, the old saying “you can’t judge a book by its cover,” holds a lot of truth. The social life at Bennett is truly what you make it. There are many activities from student produced plays to parties sponsored by each class. We also have student organizations geared toward you specific major which are beneficial if you need a study buddy and if we do not have something you like then Bennett gives you the freedom to start something new. At Bennett you will find that freshmen year is when all of your bonds begin to form from activities within your freshmen dorm such as the freshmen step show.

    Am learning a lot

    With Bennett being a liberal arts institution, I know the education I am receiving allows me the freedom to explore other majors and interest such as acting or painting and not feel claustrophobic within my own major. Bennett’s curriculum forces you to think outside the box by making classes such as philosophy apart of the general education requirement. It also has specialized programs such as Aces where they invite speakers to bless us with their wisdom and insight into their profession. In all the education is well round and the teachers are truly dedicate to your success if you are dedicated to your own.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great institution for anyone who is willing to put in the hard work needed to be the best that you can. There are entirely too many opportunities out there not to be taken up and ran with .

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get all of you paper work taken care of. Don't allow the approval of your peers distract you from your real purpose of coming to college. You are here to make your self a better person.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though I am getting the most for my money. I know that if I went to any other institution, I would not have been nurtured and guided as much as I have here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though I am from the other side of the United States I have felt nothing but a sense of sisterhood and family bonding. From the faculty to the other young ladies that live in my dorm, I enjoy being at Bennett College.

    Am learning a lot

    I am not only learning the necessary skills to excel in my career, but I am also learning life long lessons that assist me in creating a firm foundation is self and my abilities as a young woman.

  • 09/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    .friendly student .people who like a smaller school

    Tips for prospective students

    When picking a hall to live in.... go for the best hall JONES lol no all of them are very nice. i think jones has bigger rooms then the other.

    Am enjoying being here

    THE POEPLE ARE GREAT! i love my sisters. They make you feel welcome. i have never walked pass anyone who didn't speek. My RAs are easy to talk to about anything.

    Am learning a lot

    I find that not only am i learning book work but all so things i can i can take with me in life no matter where i go

  • 06/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    even though it is all girls it is not bad!i feel that i will accomplish my goal of getting a degree in chemistry which will lead me into pharmacy school at Howard university.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bennett is great for both energetic and laid back students who enjoy history and culture. Bennett is for students who come to school to learn and appreciate small classroom. If you enjoy a laid back atmosphere,with great teachers and students come to bennett.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bennett college for women is a wonderful school. It's takes a lot of getting used to because its a all girl school, but once you get used to your surrounding's you'll learn to love Bennett as i did. The teachers are skilled and there is always something to do. At Bennett you will get a a great education and the continued love of your belle sisters.

  • 12/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bennett is filled with girls who like to have fun, learn life changing lessons and build bonds that are everlasting. So if you are one of these people then Bennett College for Women is a place where you going to excel academically and mentally building a better you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bennett offers a little something for everybody if you take advantage of the opportunities such as the study abroad programs. The best advice I can give is to get involved and do not worry about the all girls’ aspect because being around girls helps you to grow as an individual by learning your strengths and improving your weakness and above all helps you top stay focus on your education. Do not let the distraction of your peers destory your education at Bennett College for women. When you arrive at Bennett College please note that you are there to get your education and life long experiences for the long run.

    Bang for the buck

    When you first look at the price for Bennett College for Women you first think how in the heck can I pay for this and is it worth it. I believe going to Bennett College it is very worth the amount of money and I believe that it cannot get any better then this. Bennett College is the right school for me. I believe that all the money you spend at Bennett College does not pay enough for the special experiences for Bennett College for Women. You get so much more. That is the reason I push for scholarships. I would rather be at Bennett College then at a school I can afford.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being a Bennett Belle. I have gained friends and respect from other young ladies from across the United States and even ones who aren't from America. I love the activities that Bennett gives students. We have the opportunity to meet other female 21st leaders and global thinkers as well as important and skilled individuals from around United States.

    Am learning a lot

    Going to Bennett College for Women teaches you not only the things you need for your major but also things you may need for your life experiences and that is one thing I can honestly say I love about Bennett College for Women. Bennett gives you the sisterhood each and every young lady needs in her life. I can honestly say that being at Bennett was the best thing for me. I enjoy it to the fullest and I do not think I would choose another school even if I had a chance. Going to Bennett is the best thing that any woman could do.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school i believe is great for hardworking , determined young ladies who want something good out of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would encourage anyone to attend bennett. it's a school that take pride in their girls.

    Bang for the buck

    i just love this college!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is extremely beautiful, no doubt that i will enjoy my time here

    Academic Rigor

    so far upon visiting bennett and learning about this school, i believe i will learn a lot here. bennett belles!

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bennett College is good for students who feel like they would get distracted in a school that is too big and spread out. its good for students that don't mind being sheltered their first year of college. you never feel alone a Bennett.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bennett is a school based on traditions. there are lots of rules. most of the rules have meaning behind them. Going to Bennett makes you feel like you come from a long line of elegance and class. you gain a lot of sisters too. i like Bennett College because i feel like it turns girls into young ladies.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is almost 26,000$. Honestly i don't see where the money goes. but your room does come with an air conditioner, a radiator and a microwave/fridge. the Dorm halls have a parlor on the first floor, so you can hang with friends. and there are 2bathrooms on each floor. i do feel like im getting my monies worth with the class sizes.

    Am enjoying being here

    i love the sisterhood feeling of the school. it is a nurturing environment away from home. The campus is beautiful, and not too big, there are many clubs and activities. although first year students have a curfew, there are still many ways to have fun. the food is good. and the weather is always just right. the campus is also near Walmart, 4seasons Mall & NCAT ; so there's always alot to do

    Academic Rigor

    The average class size is very small, which is a good thing for a learning environment. The work isn't that hard the first year. (i'm a biology major) Most of the professors have their PhD.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All white breakfast for the incoming freshman The convocation for the incoming freshman is when you have to wear all white dresses and walk through the gates that you only walk through twice in life when you enter as a freshman and leave out as a senior. Big sister little sister ceremony is when a junior is appointed a freshman to be there sister throughout the rest of the years at Bennett and the little sister gets to robe and put her cap on her head during senior day.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of things to do for fun different classes always have some type of activity they are doing so do the dorm halls. Most people like to go to parties, clubs, shooping, out to eat, arcade, and the movies

    Academic Rigor

    If you arent taking major classes then everything should be fine for you. The classes aren't over packed so you get to have one-on-one time with your teacher if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be make sure you have scholarships to pay for tuition because it get hard and frustrating and lastly if you cannot handle being around a lot of girls maybe Bennett isn't the place for you.

    In three sentences

    I would give Bennett College a 8 out of a 10 point scale. Bennett College for Women is a great opportunity for young women who are trying to find themselves, because they install into who how to be a women and carry yourselves in the working field. If your looking for a good sisterhood school that is small Bennett is the right choice for you.

  • 05/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared and be ready to be challenged

    Am enjoying being here

    Me personally i had doubts about returning back to Bennett College for Women but at the end of the day my heart is here at Bennett. I enjoy the sisterhood and everything else

    Am learning a lot

    My major is Political Science and personally i believe that we have the best professor in our department.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Ecentrique Modeling Troup

    Great for these types of students

    Only Children

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are Magnolia and Oak trees planted on campus that symbolize our strength and wisdom as women.

    What to do for fun

    Modeling, dancing, community service, and having fun with my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare early. Choose a major your going to enjoy and broaden your mind.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love my school. When i came here i was instantly surrounded by support and love from the women. I can tell it is going to help mold me into a wonderful young woman.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs here at bennett college for women including, clubs for many different areas of location where us belles reside, for e.g the west coast, clubs for each majors and other clubs like daddy's girls.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for students (females) who have no problem attending a small school, females who desire true sisterhood; females who desire the opportunity to know how to be and act like a decent young lady and lastly females who like small classes where the professors are more than likely available each day to attend to you and your needs.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of campus activities each and every day for e.g gym jam, open mike night, etc. there is a lot to do here, a lot of clubs to join and greensboro itself has a lot of fun places to explore. you just have to be open and curious, but careful.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would advise a visit to the school before you decide to officially come here. never decide to enroll in a school you've never personally been to. for one, it is a pretty small school so if you're not looking for small you might want to look elsewhere. if you desire to transform into a 21st century females, bennett is the place for you!

    In three sentences

    bennett college for women is an amazing school, no exaggerating. i absolutely love it. everyone is so friendly and help is provided in every single aspect here.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are always things to do on campus. bennett is never much about sisterhood, and always planning ways for the women to get to know each other. things like fun community projects, movie nights, gym jams, and campus fun day are widely spread throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    bennett is a smaller hbcu and has the ability to have the company sodexo to provide food daily. there is also a quick stop cafe that prepares food for students on the go. in my opinion, sodexo does have some bad days, but there are other options available.

    Dorm Life

    as a second semester freshman, i have been staying in the college's honors hall. this is where the student must maintain a gpa of 3.3 or higher. this is the most recently built dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    academically, the college is very much prepared to help students succeed. classroom sizes are comfortable in size for students that like personal assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospective students, please take in consideration that this atmosphere may not be for everyone. to get the full bennett experience, one has to be open-minded to the college. this institution is very helpful and comforting for young women.

    In three sentences

    bennett college is a great historically black college and university for young women to attend. it is a all female institution and perfect for maturing young women. this is the place a developing young woman to come and evolve.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs and activities at bennett college, are great, but there should be more of a variety for females. overall the clubs and activities are very productive, and proactive.

    Great for these types of students

    bennett college for women, is great for students, who don't prefer a huge college, this school is also great for students who wouldn't mind, be-able to further their education at a all female private institution.

    Bang for the buck

    bennett's tuition is around 25 thousand this semester, this school is very high priced. this school is very great, on a academic basis, but the faculty and president of this institution, should take into consideration, that school's today are very expensive, and some students might be as fortunate as others, and so there should be some sort of change, as far as tuition is concerned.

    What to do for fun

    some of the things i do for fun, is attending campus shows, or activities. attending basketball games, hanging out with friends, attending clubs, attending restaurants, going shopping, and joining in conversations with some of the students at bennett.

    Food and Dining

    the food dining at bennett college, is very unhealthy, they do have different food choices provided for the students and faculty, but there is some work that could be done, as far as providing for healthy meals, and fresh salad, especially for those who are trying to maintain a healthy weight and life. bennett should get individuals points and opinions on the cafe food, so that they could take into consideration, of what they serve and how unhealthy the food really is , that they decide to prepare.

    Dorm Life

    i gave bennett dorm rate, an okay score, just because from living on campus, bennett doesn't necessarily do a great job, with cleanliness. the dorms are not horrible, but they could use some reconstruction, due to the fact that bennett college was established years ago, and the dorms are extremely old.

    Academic Rigor

    i gave bennett college's academic rigor a perfect score, because the education at this institution is excellent, we have teachers that are here to help us, become successful in our careers, every class you learn something different, whether its history, science, journalism, math, health. they are all classes designed to help students succeed. and the teachers are really dedicated to making sure that happens.

    Tips for prospective students

    some valuable tips for prospective students, would be to come with a open mind, to expect the best for yourself as well as others. to never let an temporary obstacle determine your future, to never settle for basic grades, even if you fail once, you learn from it, and start over, everyday is a new beginning, and there's always room for improvement. and lastly but not least, be inspired to experience new things, and to create new define friendships.

    In three sentences

    bennett is a great school, this school is a united methodist, all females institution, designed to help create, young women.. into global successful adults. bennett college is the definition of sisterhood, we share values and bonds greater than any other historically black college.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no one has ever gotten hurt on campus!

    Greek Life

    bennett college offers: alpha kappa alpha sorority inc. delta sigma theta sorority inc. zeta phi beta sorority inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have hundreds of clubs! if you want to create your own, feel free!

    Great for these types of students

    bennett is great for you if you are family oriented, happy-go-lucky, and open-minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    1.bennett belles do not walk on the grass. there are no short cuts in life! 2.we have academic cultural enrichment series (aces), every tuesday and thursday in our chapel. this consists of guests speakers. 3. we have a statute of martin luther king jr. next to our chapel. during the civil rights movement, bennett college was the only place in greensboro, north carolina that would open the doors for king to speak.

    Bang for the buck

    there's no secret that the resources at bennett college are limited. it's simply a tuition based school with little endowment. most of the students knew that when they decided to attend. so why did they decide to attend? the traditions, history and sisterhood make up for the resources the institution lacks.

    What to do for fun

    some of the most fun students have, is creating fun. there are the typical night clubs, house parties, pubs, and bars, but there's nothing like using your imagination to have a good time. north carolina a&t, greensboro college, guilford college and greensboro technical community college are close by. it is important and fun to connect with other college communities and to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    it's college! the food isn't awesome but it's doable. the cafeteria staff thinks of creative ways to excite the students. for example, steak, fried shrimp and baked potatoes on valentine's day and special dishes on holidays.

    Dorm Life

    this is an awesome time to think about your grades in high school! if you have a 3.3 or higher during your high school career you are given the opportunity to live in the honor's dorm. the honor's dorm has suite style living in which you live in a suite with three other girls and share one bathroom with your roommate. the other dorms that are located across campus require you to share a community bathroom. although freshmen are given the chance to live in the honor's dorm, many upperclassmen suggest living in the freshmen dorms to get the full experience. yes the honor's dorm allows you to live comfortably and to have your own bathroom but the other dorms allow you the chance to better know your bennett sisters. it all comes done to personal preference.

    Academic Rigor

    often times bennett has been known to baby their students, providing them with too much guidance. in recent years, the change of authority in the honor's program has heightened the academic rigor, in turn making students work harder. however, students are still given the added benefit of going to a small institution where the professors are able to help personally. students at bennett college are becoming more competitive with the help of their president julianne malveaux.

    Tips for prospective students

    make it a goal in life to never live in the confines of your comfort zone. don't come to bennett college believing your opportunities are limited. if you want something, propose it. if you want to study abroad, research it. whatever you want to do, do it.

    In three sentences

    you will meet women who you will be able to call your sisters upon graduating from bennett college. you will have a new found appreciation for your willingness. most importantly, you will leave changed.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is good most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    depending on which dorm you live in there nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't let the cost of the school scaere you away. is a real good school, and if you like me and like the calm place with small classes you would love bennett.

    In three sentences

    bennett college for women have a good program. they tuition is to high, but they also have some of the best professors.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If You Can Deal With The School Being Small and Someone Always Looking At You Or Everyone Knowing Your Name. It's Perfect. It's Also Perfect For People Who Enjoy Actually Being In A Small Class Setting. The Teachers Know Everyone In The Classes. It's Hard For Them Not To Learn Their Students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Tuesday & Thursday We Have To Attend ACES in the Chapel. You Aren't Allowed To Wear Sneakers, Jeans, Khakis, Shorts, or Mini Skirts. You Have To Wear Business Attire and They Will Let You Know if Your Dressed Right. Your Also Not Allowed To Wear Your PJs to Class or Your Hair Everywhere on Your head. They Want you to become the Bennett Ideal and Care About Your Appearance ALL THE TIME. Your Not Allowed to Use Your Phones In ACES, They Know if Your On Social Media Sites. They Have Called Some People Out In ACES Because of What They Tweeted In The Chapel During ACES.

    What to do for fun

    It Depends On Your Definition of Fun. They Have A Lot of Social Clubs and Academic Clubs. You Can Also Visit Some of The Other Schools in Greensboro To Learn About Other Ways To Have Fun. The People In Greensboro Are Very Nice and Willing To Help.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria Is The SCARIEST Place To Go. It's Divided and You Will Run Into Someone You Don't Like It's Small and It's Hard To Get Away From Anything In There. The Women and Men Who Work In The Cafe Are Amazing. They Deal With A lot of Things. I Applaud Them. The Food is Amazing and They Have Plenty of Choices.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms Are Old, But They Are Prefect For Creating Memories. I Stayed In The Dorms For 3 Years and So Far It Was Difficult But Great Stories To Tell My Kids One Day.

    Academic Rigor

    I Suggest You Go Undecided Your First Semester and Think About WHht You Truly Want To Do In Four Years. Then Make Your Decision Because I Know Several People Not Only From Bennett That Regret Their Degree.

    In three sentences

    Bennett Is Small, Very Small. You Have To Have Your Priorities Together When You Get Here. The Classes Are Tough But You Have Willing People Here To Help If You Want It.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    YOu could go shopping at one of the local shopping malls or view NC A&T's band which is right next door. Or go work out in the gym, go swimming or a quick game of tennis.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great to me. But even iif you dont want what the school is surving there are many food eatery's around the are you could maybe go visit.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is as exspected. As a freshman they make you live in a dorm that will amke you want to work hard enough to be able to move into the honor's residence.

    Academic Rigor

    They make you strive for education and work hard so when they release you into the work force you will be prepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay open minded and if you have somewhat of a nasty attitude, lose it

    In three sentences

    This school is one of the best HBCu's i have came in counter with.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of security guards and it's a gated in community you should feel very safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was a member of the modeling troupe we had a good time and put on great shows. I also was on the Queens Association for being the queen of my dorm hall.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for a student who wants a smaller class room to be able to get more teacher attention and won't feel overwhelmed by the campus size.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tradition that you attend Aces every Tuesday and Thursday and we are very active in politics and encourage students to vote.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school which is understanding because it's private but the cost doesn't match up with you get out of the education.

    What to do for fun

    The best time on campus is when Ebony Soul comes around which is like our spring homecoming.

    Food and Dining

    Need more variety and options to provide better food for the students.

    Dorm Life

    Need more dorms that are fitted for everybody on a luxury level instead of old dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There can be better teachers who actually care about their students and their well beings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into with a open mind and willing to get involved with things so you can feel apart of the school. Focus more on the positives instead of the negatives because you'll get caught up in the wrong things.

    In three sentences

    Bennett is a close sister hood community where you will feel welcomed. Even though they have many pro's they have a lot of cons. It needs a modern and fresh look

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its ok

    Dorm Life

    depending on where you stay.

    Academic Rigor

    you have to know how to manage your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of the admissions office, they will misplace paper work you send.

    In three sentences

    a great school.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun u can join clubs that are most beneficial to you. At Bennett there are numerous things you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are varieties of food and beverages in our cafeteria. The foods are nicely prepared every day fresh.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Bennett College for Women are adequate. They are clean, presentable and safe. On Campus there are numerous dorms I currently resides in Pfeiffer Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    At Bennett College for Women you get challenges that will evolve you as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become well known to your advisers so you wont miss out of great opportunities, do community services, stay focus, attend aces attire, go to every class, be punctual for every class sessions, do work study, join club, and apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Bennett College for Women is an awesome place for women to achieve their goals in life. Moreover, Bennett College has decided to become an all women institute to help our ladies of the future( especially black women). Attending Bennett College will be most beneficial to most black women because you are known by your advisers, and to be know is very important because yo will never miss out on great opportunities.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very competitive.

    Great for these types of students

    African American Women.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really except for it an all girls school.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth the high tuition cost, facilities are not that great and neither is the education.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip is to bypass going to this school.

    In three sentences

    Bennett College for women's benefits are that it is small and you can get personal attention but at the same time it can be too small. There is little no campus activities and a lot of people don't know about it. The administration is very old fashioned and it can be difficult for students to implement changes in the school.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety

    Greek Life

    aka and deltas

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, softball, basketball

    Great for these types of students

    that like to stay active

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the gym has a pool and track and basketball and tennis court.

    What to do for fun

    go to the mall

    Food and Dining

    the food could be better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need major repair.

    Academic Rigor

    pretty good

    Tips for prospective students

    I dont recommend students to come to bennett if they already second guess themselves before they even come to the school.

    In three sentences

    Bennett college is okay but its not the school for me and i do believe they need to make major changes.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the regular residence hall arent what they seem to be. They are old fashion and not up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    It doesnt have alot of majors so be aware. Classes are small and easy to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it time Do your work Speak to your teachers

    In three sentences

    At first Bennett is not what it seems or how the make it out to be but later on it begins to grow on you and you soon will love it.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to parties. Also you can join clubs. Last you can visit other colleges

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel that you should attend this college. Small is the way to go. You would really love it.

    In three sentences

    I love it. Its really a great college. I can say I really learned from this college.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dorms lock after a certain time of the night. They have a pretty good protocol for having visitors.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is looking for a tight knit family away from family. Sisterhood is the key focus her. I think that helps make the school inviting to any type of personality.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    A couple of the dorms could use renovations they are kind of dated and creepy. Hopefully that will happen in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    This college seems very focused on getting young women well rounded and educated.

    In three sentences

    A great place for young women to learn and advance. A small and personal campus for students. A place I believe will be a great start for my life.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in my opinion the traditions are not unusal.

    What to do for fun

    For fun i shop, go out to the movies, out to eat and hang out with ,my friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is an ALL GIRLS school, DO NOT worry about the seeing or being around males. You will always see males at different events and we are right around the coner from North Carolina A&T and not to far from UNCG.

    In three sentences

    As a student at Bennett I can say i really love my hbcu. On a scale from 1-5 i would give Bennet a 5.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During your freshwoman orientation week, you will participate in a little tradition in preparation for the Casual White Breakfast. Every morning, all freshwomen are required to meet at the flagpole at 6:26 a.m. to sing the Alma Mater, Preference Song, and Grace.

    What to do for fun

    There are several organizations on campus: SGA, greek life (for sophomores and older), pageants, parties, and downtown Greensboro (if you're 18 or older).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is really good, and it's buffet style. There are also vending machines in every dining hall, a book store with snacks, a coffee house with alternative food options, and several dining options off campus, but nearby. There is a grocery store 10 minutes away, and ordering out is also an option. Your food will be delivered on Gorrell or Washington street.

    Dorm Life

    There is a little rivalry between the residence halls, and it's pretty cute. I live in Barge Hall, and it's the second oldest hall on campus, but there are a few options. Honors hall is the best hall, because it's an incentive to maintain a high GPA. It is preferred that freshwomen live on campus. You will have a roommate, unless you pay for a single room, and there are community showers, unless you live in honors. There is an 11 p.m. curfew on weekdays for freshwomen, and a 12 a.m. curfew on weekends for freshwomen. Upperclasswomen don't have curfews.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes start on Monday, so I haven't a clue.

    Tips for prospective students

    I cannot accurately offer tips, because I am still receiving them!

    In three sentences

    Considering the fact that I have only been a Bennett Belle for six days now, I haven't yet formed my opinion fully. So far, Bennett has been a complete culture shock, due to the various vernaculars and the history and traditions of the college. It is a women's institution, and we take pride in the advocacy of women's higher learning.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved with different organizations, visit downtown there is plenty to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great to me, different things to choose from. There are even vegetarian dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is an awesome experience that you should try for a least a semester.

    Academic Rigor

    It gets tough however the only way you can fail is if you don't try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of the tutors, mentors and any available assistance that is available to you. Stay focused. Develop a habit of managing your time. Network and get involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Bennett College is a very nurturing school with a small community feel touch. The staff are there for you to help you succeed. This school is a very traditional school that prides itself on keeping certain traditions alive.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here is really strict. They're men working day and night to make sure we are really token care of.

    Greek Life

    I really can't say much about the Greek Life upon this campus, because I don't have the knowledge of that yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    They're many clubs that take place here. I would say be involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for FEMALES that want a better education, a more sophisticated look, and to really learn something.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something I didn't know about Bennett was its historical background. I came upon the knowledge that our flag pole here is where the underground rail road had took place.

    Bang for the buck

    BENNETT COLLEGE is just the place to be for all young ladies.

    What to do for fun

    If you're looking for fun, I would say Bennett College is fun itself. All the way down to our block parties and gym jams. Everybody within and outside the school come out to entertain. I would really say stay involved to be aware of the fun.

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining area is great, nice, wonderful, and etc. Sometimes you might feel uncomfortable about some of the meals. But everything else is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm Life here is excellent. We call ourselves 'SISTERS, and we take that to the heart. Our rooms are a good piece of space, and I would say its well furnished.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say push yourself at all times to stay on the right path. Even when you feel like giving up, there's always a solution.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Bennett, I say make sure you have financial aid and scholarships handled appropriately.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 Bennett deserves an eight. I think they're organizes well, but off with handling some things in a management time. Other then that Bennett is GREAT.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're okay . They aren't as quick as they should be but they're fine .

    Greek Life

    AKA DELTA

    Clubs and Activities

    None .

    Great for these types of students

    transfer if possible .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Aces - Tuesday & Thursdays for 1 hr No walking on grass Curfews going to morehouse for homecoming .

    Bang for the buck

    naw. you're not getting your moneys worth atleast i don't see it . I'm paying 27,000 for broken down dorms , no assistance . poor communication in the business office .

    What to do for fun

    Gym jams or attend NCA&T

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is terrible . Closes at 6:30 M-S & at 6:00 on Sundays . They serve burgers , fries and pizza everyday . On wednesdays they have fried chicken wednesdays which is nasty and unhealthy the cafe typically wraps around the doors that day because black ppl love chicken lol but there are NO on campus dining places for you to eat at and no where for you to purchase any other food unless you have food in your room .

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is TERRRIBLLE . ItS HORRIBLE . so first of ... the only good dorm is the Honors dorm and you have to have a 3.3 which not a lot of students have so you're forced to live in the raggedy old dorms . and the wifi is terrible . I currently live in Player hall and I can barely do my homework or use my phone . ONLY 1 bathroom works because the others are in repair . The air condition spits out ice also they recently took out the water fountains in the dorm -___- & we have NO vending machines in the dorm .

    Academic Rigor

    teachers don't help you . they like to tell you smaller classes better help ...LIES my teachers are never in there office and always busy . math teacher always on his phone and don't care about his students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends. If you don't you'll probably have a terrible experience here

    In three sentences

    Bennett college is NOT the best college and it's not how they make it out to be . They like to trick people & during the tours tell them all lies and when you get there you will see it's nothing they said . The school is cheap and the service is poor .

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in classical style singing, I recommend you come and work with the Bennett College Choir; under the direction of Ms. Valerie Johnson.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't call this unusual, but every time there's a special event, i.e. graduation, everyone(choir, staff & faculty, and graduates) is lined up and we walk through a gate(I won't reveal the name) that is very sacred to Bennett. It symbolizes a change and a renewal.

    What to do for fun

    Well, I don't get bored at Bennett very often. Greensboro is a nice city with a beautiful downtown. Not to mention we are 3 mins from A&T State University, with UNCG maybe 5 mins up the road. There are things to do, and you don't always have to leave campus to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. The cafe has its days. Keep food in your room if you can.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need a lot of work. The best living facility is Honors and you must have a 3.5 or better and be an upperclassmen to reside in that dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I have been tested greatly with the courses I've had to take. You will be challenged, I can guarantee you that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be discouraged at the fact that Bennett is an all girls school. If you come with the right mind set: school comes first, then you should be fine. Focus on you and stay positive.

    In three sentences

    Bennett College is a loving environment. You will be changed into a wonderful person here and it will all be worth it. Bennett isn't perfect but God is always working at Bennett College.