Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Berea College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 out of 34 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for creative thinkers, good studiers, and overall good students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. The majority of students get in during the fall enrollment period. This is because Berea caps how many students it will take so that it can pay more attention to the students they accept. Be prepared to study. Classes here on general require at least a couple hours a week in order to keep up. The professors here will put you to the grindstone, but the quality of students that graduate is excellent.

    Bang for the buck

    All full time students receive a full tuition scholarship just for coming to the college. Then the room and board fees are determined on what the FAFSA says your family can pay. Berea only takes students in low economic settings, and works on bringing students in from Appalachia and people of different ethnic origins.

    Am enjoying being here

    Berea is in a dry county. This is partially what allows us to study so well, however the next county over is a wet county. Overall, there is not a lot to do in Berea, so we make up our own games to play in town and on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors all make sure that you are keeping up, but at the same time, you are expected to keep up to the rigorous pace they set. We currently operate on a 4-1-4 calendar year. That means that fall semester is 4 months, we have a January Short Term and the spring semester is 4 months. This allows us to have a break because during short term, students are only allowed to take one class.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 out of 23 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Berea is a great school for students who *have limited financial means *are from Appalachia (even though it's entirely possible to attend Berea without being from Appalachia!) *want to attend a smaller, more personalized college *are Christian (Berea has a Christian background; all students take an Understandings of Christianity course, and there are plenty of churches no matter your background) *AREN'T Christian (Don't let the Christian label scare you. Berea was founded by an abolitionist preacher who wanted to educate black/white students together AND men/women together--in 1855. Pretty progressive. There are multiple religious student organizations that aren't for Christians.) *want a liberal education *want to study abroad *want to graduate with less student debt than all of your friends! (which is good for those who want to go on to graduate school, by the way)

    Tips for prospective students

    *Apply EARLY--these are difficult economic times. The college is getting more applications than ever, and while I still encourage you to apply at any time of the year, you'll have a better chance of gaining admission if you do it early. *Visit the college--I didn't even seriously consider Berea until I visited it during spring break of my senior year in high school, but the gorgeous campus and the attitude of the students I met impressed me. *TALK to the admissions staff--if it isn't feasible for your family to visit Berea to do the interview portion of the admissions process, email/call the admissions staff and they can schedule a time to do it by phone. *Speaking of the admissions process, DON'T BE INTIMIDATED. Yes, you will have to do an interview, but if you're calm about it, you will be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    Berea is a tuition-free college; I don't know how it can get better than that. Berea only accepts students below a certain economic level, based on their FAFSA reports. After being founded in 1855, the college has focused on educating students from Appalachia; women; African-Americans; and a number of international students. Once accepted, a student will get a four-year tuition scholarship, even if a parent's income increases. This isn't a deal that looks fabulous and then charges students an insane amount for room and board; the last time I checked, the most students can pay for room and board is $6,600, and many students pay nothing at all (if their EFC is zero). In fact, a fair number of students (21%, off the top of my head) graduate without any student debt at all. STUDY ABROAD--If you plan on studying abroad, Berea is the place to do it. The college will cover 75%/$11,000 of student costs for a term abroad, and something like 35% of student costs for a summer/short term abroad.

    Am enjoying being here

    Plainly put, Berea is a gorgeous town. It's a small-ish Southern-ish town in Appalachia, and so far I have yet to see the town be anything but beautiful. There are usually a number of events happening on campus, and there are plenty of student organizations (including most sports) to keep one occupied outside of class and work. Conversely, Berea is known for being in the self-described Berea Bubble. Students who are used to living in larger cities might be uncomfortable living in such a small town, without some of the pleasures that larger cities might provide. Berea is also a dry town (no alcohol is sold/served here), so students that are looking to party will have to go elsewhere. The college also discourages students from having cars and prohibits first-year students from having cars, both for financial and environmental reasons (there IS a free shuttle that will transport students to Walmart, Richmond, and Lexington occasionally). I do not personally find any of these things to be an issue, but it's something to consider for some students.

    Am learning a lot

    Berea puts a lot of emphasis on the liberal arts education it gives--there are a lot of interdisciplinary classes that students are required to take, but so far they've been enjoyable and useful to me. Classes are usually small, since there's only around 1600 students on campus, and the largest class I've seen is twenty-five people. Some people might underestimate the difficulty of the school (I know I did!), since Berea is a small, private college with Christian roots, for students that might not otherwise go to college; but it would be a mistake to say that anything at Berea is easy. The college expects you to do well, and even in the classes where I struggle, I still feel like I'm constantly learning. Note: In addition to having a liberal education, Berea is also a work college. Every student that attends the school will have a job on campus and is expected to work 10-15 hours/week. This helps pay for the tuition-free education (since it uses federal work study money), teach students time management (while giving them job experience!), and helps students be financial responsible (by still giving them a paycheck, even though most of the money goes to tuition). A previous review also says that Berea works on a 4-1-4 schedule; this has now changed. The college now has a fall semester, spring semester, and then optional summer I/summer II semesters (which are about a month long each).

  • 12/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 14 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    It's a small town in Eastern Kentucky located in a dry county. If you are looking for a party school this is not it. If you are interested in an excellent education, getting into graduate school, study abroad or graduating without any student loan debt -- Berea is it!

  • 03/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    berea is an incredibly safe town. it is rare to hear of any type of incident on campus. public safety also does an excellent job of ensuring student safety.

    Greek Life

    there are no sororities or fraternities on campus. however, we have some lovely classes surrounding greek culture and the latin language!

    Clubs and Activities

    you name it, we have it. and if we don't, you can start it. the campus is overwhelmingly student-led, which allows for many independent organization opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    berea is a great place for a student who doesn't think that he or she will be able to go to college based upon monetary difficulties, who is academically savvy and looking for a challenge in the way of schooling. students looking for work experience whilst in college and a guaranteed job, who are interested in appalachia and who like are passionate about the environment would be a perfect match. this is a great school and it's a great place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus participates in a game called humans vs. zombies twice a year. it's like a very large game of tag using nerf guns and all the proceeds go to a charity for children.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition at berea college is free. each student pays part of their room and board based upon their family's income and pays for their own books. tuition is around $25,000 a year, so each student is looking at upwards of a $100,000 scholarship. students are given free laptops when they enter the college which they may keep upon graduation from the school. also, berea has funds set aside for all students to have an opportunity to spend time studying abroad. many students from berea graduate completely debt free, which is something to be said in this day and age.

    What to do for fun

    berea is a wonderful town for students. there are many things to do within walking distance and the town is incredibly safe. we have local coffee shops, artisan centers, parks, contra dances, free movies, and a ton of on campus activities. the school is also only fifteen minutes away from richmond, ky, and berea provides a shuttle service for transportation to richmond once a week and to lexington every month. there are also many beautiful places for hiking and camping and beautiful places around town to find and enjoy. you simply have to look!

    Food and Dining

    the food at berea is pretty bad. we have a singular cafeteria and one cafe. both have limited hours and limited menus. there are many options in the cafeteria, but the quality is not the best. however, there are plenty of ways to be creative with the food in the cafeteria to create a relatively nice meal.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at berea are in need of some improvement, but my experience overall has been relatively positive. freshman year is pivotal and the most fun in terms of dorm life. as the years progress, however, dorm life begins to wear on students. off-campus housing options are available to seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    we're not kidding when we say that this school is tough. it is. students must be enrolled full time and also maintain a labor position which requires at least ten hours of labor per week. most classes are at least an hour and a half long and require a great amount of out-of-class effort. however, the payoff is phenomenal, and it is to be expected that a tier one school such as berea should be academically rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    for those students who know what they intend to major in, take courses required for your major as soon as you come in, and not just general requirement courses. classes at berea are sometimes only offered every other semester or even every two years, so it is important to take classes at specific times in order to graduate on time. planning ahead is key. for students who don't know their intended major, berea does not allow students to declare a major until the end of sophomore year, so use your first year to get some general requirements out of the way and also to explore some fields of interest.

    In three sentences

    berea college is a fun yet challenging institution. it is generally hit or miss with professors as far as teaching ability is concerned. much of the progress attained by students depends on their personal drive and intellectual ambition.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are eager to get a great education, be a part of a diverse community, and develop skills that will really get you through challenges in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, visit the campus (when classes are in session), and don't hesitate to ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    That is the biggest incentive to most students that come across Berea. Berea believes in the philosophy that students should not be just numbers. There is no tuition at Berea which essentially means you don't have to pay tons of money for an education that should be free. Having said that it does not mean it costs $0 to attend Berea. You will be responsible for room and board, books, and other fees, but when you think about compared to other schools that is a great trade off.

    Will enjoy being here

    I unfortunately had my visit when the students were out for the summer already. But, the campus is pretty and the town was inviting so I think I will enjoy my time there.

    Will learn a lot

    From the students I talked to when I visited, they said that the curriculum at Berea is very demanding. You will be challenged in every aspect. A graduating senior told me that at the end of her 5 years at Berea, she feels like she was prepared for anything that comes her way.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to stand above the crowd during your interview. I was nearly passed on before I asked about the music program.

    Bang for the buck

    Berea College provides the most financial aid of any college on Cappex. Every student receives a full tuition scholarship.

    Will enjoy being here

    Absolutely, this is the main reason I'm excited about attending. I've met nobody who wasn't congenial.

    Will learn a lot

    Everybody I've met has said the classes are demanding, but rewarding. The small class size means I'll be given much more 1on1 and discussion time, which is much better than being known as student #341.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    if accepted, take the blessing seriously and attend berea

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is Great, always feel safe!

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Clubs and Activities

    Any CAB event is great, or anything hosted by the Black Cultural Center.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People tie rope to trees and walk on them like their walking on the ground.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and visit nearby cities

    Food and Dining

    Food Service is okay but it could be much better.

    Dorm Life

    Is not that great just because of the visitation hours.

    Academic Rigor

    Is great no one that graduates from Berea has lower than a 2.5

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for college in general. Be open because Berea is not like most schools. Also the last thing that I will say is, not to give up even when it gets hard because it does, there are plenty of resources that are on campus, but you have to take advantage of that.

    In three sentences

    Attending Berea College is a great experience because we have to work. I never had a job before coming to school here. Now I won't be thrown into the without ever having worked a day in my life.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is absolutely no Greek Life.

    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do for fun, Berea is not college like.

    Food and Dining

    Dining service is not very good. The quality of the food is low.

    Dorm Life

    Most people in the dorms are friendly at first, but there is not a true home feel. The way that the rooms are chosen is also not favorable, rooms are chosen via a lottery. The rooms are also small and can be uncomfortable with two people living in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life here is vigorous. Because there are so few students that attend the college professors give more work, but this also allows more one on one time for learning.

    In three sentences

    Berea takes away your social life and literally puts you in a bubble. It is not the place to be if you want the college experience. The education provided is good, but social options are equally important.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does a great job dealing with issues on campus and even sending out alerts for weather, etc.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on Berea's campus, but if you want to be a part of EKU's Greek life, then apparently that's an option.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that represent many countries and interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Thursday, the college has mandatory convocations. Students can choose seven to attend each semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Berea is one of seven colleges with a work-study program, and all students earn money to pay for school (and for pocket money) through their labor as well as earning a full-tuition scholarship. The education is one of the best in quality in the country.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends in the grass or at the local coffeeshop near campus is good for studying and homework sessions. There are various clubs for all interests.

    Food and Dining

    Food Service has a great variety of many foods for all people.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm tries to get involved in campus activities in order for people to bond with one another in so many ways,

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of Berea is going to be challenging because college is supposed to challenging, no matter where you go.

    Tips for prospective students

    There will be many clubs and organizations, and usually they are per semester. If you want to do many things, split them up between your semesters.

    In three sentences

    Berea has a small campus and a diverse campus with a tight-knit community. You really get to learn from the small classes with much-needed attention from the professors and the representation of students from many countries. Berea offers a free tuition scholarship to all students in order to insure that people can receive a quality education without having much student debt.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NON existent

    Bang for the buck

    some say Berea is free. No...no it is not. You may not pay much money compared to other colleges, but it is taxing in many other ways.

    What to do for fun

    IF you have the time or money, which seldom occurs, there is a mini mall 15 minutes up the road with movies and good restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    There are many choices to eat, but when you are subject to it 3 times a day everyday for four years, it sucks. Better than many though, I am sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Berea is not for everyone. If you are looking for fun do not come to Berea. Berea has many opportunities for serious students.

    In three sentences

    Berea is a Liberal Arts school that offers free tuition. Berea is also a work study college. So, it is a Harvard for low income families and YOU WILL BUST YOUR BUTT learning and working.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I like campus safety because they will do whatever they can to make sure students on campus are safe. If you need to go down to the nearby hospital, they'll drive you themselves so you can avoid the expense of gas money or an ambulance. Just call them and they're on their way for anything. Even if you're too scared to walk to a certain building late at night or early morning, they go out of their way to take you. It's nice knowing they care.

    Greek Life

    What is this Greek Life that you speak of?

    Clubs and Activities

    Berea is a smaller institution but offers so many clubs and activities. The most popular are those dealing with the arts. If you love to perform, get involved with the BC Theatre Lab, a dance ensemble, or one of the music ensembles in the music department. Whatâ??s amazing about the Theatre department is that they produce 2 main stage shows each semester and many smaller productions that are equally outstanding. A bonus is the fact that anyone of any major can participate in these productions whether itâ??s onstage or backstage. The music department includes ensembles such as the Concert Choir, the Bluegrass Ensemble, and the Black Music Ensemble. Everything dealing with music in Berea is very eye-opening and full of greatness. If you arenâ??t too in to the arts, you can join one of Bereaâ??s many sports teams or other clubs like the Campus Activities Board (CAB) or the Blue Crew. No matter what activity you choose to pursue at the school, you will relieve your stress and you will enjoy yourself, no doubt.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are outgoing or love to make new friends, then welcome! If you keep more to yourself or aren't very confident, that's alright, too. By the time your first year is over, your life will change completely. You will have friends and acquaintances that actually care about you. It's an overwhelming but amazing feeling. You will change for the better for sure. It's like a breath of fresh air.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Are you worried about a possible Apocalypse? Well have no fear! Berea is deemed the safest place in the world to be in case of an attack and end to this world. Plus, every few months there's a campus-wide Humans vs. Zombies game that takes place, so hooray for free training! Also, do you know how to swim? Well, if you do, that's great. If not, you're required to take a swimming class before you graduate and pass it. Berea does not tolerate a hesitant swimmer. No joke.

    Bang for the buck

    Imagine being accepted to a school that is extremely selective, gives every student a full-tuition scholarship plus more financial assistance, receiving a free, brand new laptop, and making the most of an education that many other colleges and universities wished they could live up to. And on top of that, being the #1 school in the US with the lowest student debt amongst its graduates. Welcome to Berea College!

    What to do for fun

    Berea College is set among the beautiful Appalachians, so it is a great place to go hiking, running, or anything else nature related. However, there arenâ??t much shopping or entertainment facilities (unless you like the fact that Berea, KY is the Arts and Crafts capital of the US). If you want a quick getaway, a 15 minute drive to Richmond is the way to go. If you want to go to a livelier city and are willing to drive a little more, consider Lexington (45 minutes), Cincinnati (2 hours), or Louisville (2 hours). If you're a freshman cursed with the no car on campus rule or you're a student who gets screwed over by the college lottery, just make something up. You will have fun no matter where you are with your new friends, even if it's a walking trip to Wal-Mart. It's worth the crazy, fun memories.

    Food and Dining

    Food services...my goodness. The Mountaineer Dining Hall is the central food location for Berea students. They have their really good days where there is a lot of variety, but to tell you the truth, most days are just average or below that... especially on the weekends. Friday night is the time that many students leave campus to commute back to their homes, but we all know that they're just avoiding the lack of good food. They are such cowards :) !

    Dorm Life

    When it comes to living in a dorm, I believe it truly depends on the person. Some people love the fact that they are technically living with their friends. They love the community aspect of it. Others don't like the fact that none of the residence halls are coed or that you don't get to live off campus until your senior year. Living with a bunch of people can be pretty messy, but it's nice to be able to have quick access to people to talk with. It's nice living in a hall but at times, it can be hectic. You just give and take a little.

    Academic Rigor

    Berea is one of those schools where even the most promising student goes, What have I gotten myself in to?! The institution only accepts academically promising students so they expect you to go above and beyond your comfort level. Even though the school can be more challenging than any Ivy League school, what makes the place outstanding is that the professors care about you so much. They know you by name and they make sure to get to know you as more than just a student. They'll do whatever they can to make sure you understand what's going on whether it is inside or outside the classroom. Sure you'll most definitely be doing more than one paper at a time, but hey. You know you're going to pass because your instructors are going to talk to you over the phone at 2 am just to help you get through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! If you want to make new friends, Berea College is the best place in the world to do this. Everyone is so accepting and it definitely changes your perception of your own life before entering the school. Just relax. You're a Mountaineer now and Mountaineers don't take anything for granted.

    In three sentences

    Berea is that place full of so much academic rigor and it can be a little much. It is also that sigh of relief from high school. You've come to a place where people want to know your name and your story, and that just makes it so special.

  • 11/02/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 36 people found this review useful. 5 people found it offensive. 9 people found this inaccurate. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Admissions staff are not helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Admissions staff are not helpful

    Bang for the buck

    Admissions staff are not helpful

    Will enjoy being here

    Admissions staff are not helpful

    Will learn a lot

    Admissions staff are not helpful

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus! There is mild weed and alcohol usage, but t does not hurt others.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    What to do for fun

    Campus offers various on campus free concerts, comedy shows, parties, game night, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Many organic and vegetarian choices. You have the option to eat at the campus cafe if you do not want to eat cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    The men and women can not live in dorm together. There is visitation of the opposite sex during certain hours. Nearly all the dorms are new and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure that you start working on the assignments as soon as they are given to you. Waiting to the last minute could put you on academic probation which isn't taken lightly. The scholarship given to all students is certainly earned.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should bring anything you can live without to this college. There are limited places to shop nearby, so try online shopping or thrifting. The academics are rigorous and require much dedication. Since it is a small institution, there is a great chance that you can obtain excellent references.

    In three sentences

    It is a rural institution. There isn't a strong based for athletics, except track. It is a small liberal college with a rigorous academic background.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full public safety department

    Greek Life

    None unfortunately

    Great for these types of students

    Low income

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Freedman's Bell, a symbol for integration and the promotion of equality for all people.

    Bang for the buck

    BEREA COLLEGE OFFERS FREE TUITION!

    What to do for fun

    I like to play soccer, video games, and enjoy using the schools free programs, such as, comedy shows, intramural sports and events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to study, not to break yourself as many high school teachers suggest you will. Stay level headed and find some friends who support your goals

    In three sentences

    A small school focused on academic success and its student, Berea provides a place for student to quietly learn. Berea has a wide variety of programs to choose to study from and in some cases can help you build a degree. Berea has been the blessing in my life and I hope it can be for other students.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am planning to come and visit the campus.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is little crime, and the campus is over all very safe.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous of clubs to join from yoga to dance, debat to music, and more. Berea is also beside Old Town, which has small shops one can visit. The college also provides transportation to the mall and Wal-Mart on certain days of the week.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a game that is held twice every semester, and it is called humans vs. zombies. A lot of students play this, and go all out. It is pretty intense.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is free, but you have to pay for books, food, logging, all the extra things really. The college gives you a job to help pay for those things, and they give you money so that you can buy toothpaste or new clothes. All in all, Berea College is a money saver. To be able to get in, though, parents have to make under a certain amount.

    What to do for fun

    Students can go into Old Town and go to the skating ring. Students can hang out, take hikes, go to the mall, and eat out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is by no mean five star restaurant, but you will not be starving. The food is good, but not many options. There is a dessert bar, pizza, salad, hamburgers and fries, vegetarian food, salad and deli area, and the main line. There is a nice range of soda and milk, and the college even has soy milk. If someone has a gluten allergy, there can be food made for you, you just have to make arrangements.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is decent. The rooms are not the biggest, and first year are in freshmen dorms, and students have a roommate first starting out. The older dorms are bigger, and nicer (depending on opinion), but have no air conditioning. All the dorms are mainly clean, as well, but one does hear how the men's dorms are dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    Berea College first priority is education, then job, then everything else. Students have to do the homework and pay attention to class. A study group, with people who actually wants to study, is a great way to help with keeping the grade up. The classes are challenging, and there is homework every night, practically. As a side note, Berea wants their students to be well rounded, so whatever your major is, you'll be spending only 20% of classes in your major, and the rest are on other requirements.

    In three sentences

    A small college with the opportunity for more one on one with professors. Has some diversities, in that they have students from all over the world there. Berea College is very much an educational school, there are not much crazy wild parties on campus.

  • 08/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life. With the other clubs on campus who needs Greek Life

    Food and Dining

    Good and healthy food Comes from local farms

    Dorm Life

    Awesome Very safe

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough. Professers mean what they say. No more than 3 classes can be missed

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to study hard and long. Do not burn bridges.

    In three sentences

    Berea College is small and interactive. Students and faculty really do care. A work college is good for your resume.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is generally safe and Public Safety is dedicated to the protection of all students. Fighting with other students on campus can even get a student expelled.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety of clubs and a lot of volunteering options.

    Great for these types of students

    Berea College is great for students who are open-minded, critical thinkers who wish to learn a lot while working to become the best people they can be. Students here, however, must be very diligent students who are dedicated to their educations. This is also a community dedicated to the preservation of Appalachia and it's culture and resources.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a community on campus that holds Humans vs. Zombies games 2-3 times per year. It's basically a campus-wide game of tag!

    Bang for the buck

    It is said that Berea College is the 'best education money can't buy.' However, be aware that even if your EFC is zero, your term bill will increase as you continue your time at the college. While you do not pay tuition, the cost of living and meals are not always covered and some people who have higher EFCs may pay up to a few thousand per year. Also, Berea College offers very affordable study abroad plans. My planned trip will cost me about $2,000 out of pocket after grants and scholarships (which I have worked to save by being diligent with my labor program earnings).

    What to do for fun

    The town of Berea is very small with limited options. However, there are some good restaurants and that Campus Activities Board works hard to keep the campus filled with fun options.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, actually. The problem is that people get tired of having the same kind of food over and over for weeks and months at a time.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are worth complaining about, but the dorms that I have seen are better than the residence halls I have seen in dozens of other colleges. However, there are no completely co-ed dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are often challenging and give a lot of homework. However, the lectures are usually engaging and interesting and many of the things you learn are applicable to a variety of situations. If a student fails too many classes, he/she may be put on academic probation or suspended and have to re-apply.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college super-scores you ACT scores, so keeping taking it! Write your optional essay even though it is optional. Visit the campus and find out if the majors offered are right for you while considering the possible majors you may want to explore. Take the time while you visit to sit in a class and see how you like it!

    In three sentences

    Berea College is a very diverse, interesting, and intensely educational school. It has a beautiful campus, a great community of classmates and professors, and a fantastic array of classes. While the classes are challenging and you may sometimes feel as if there are not enough hours in the day, the experience and education you will gain here is completely worth it.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has an uncanny ability to make its students paranoid with unnecessary emails detailing suspicious behaviour - Two men wearing hoodies have been spotted around campus, be safe. I'd rather they keep the community blissfully unaware, as no serious events occurred while I attended. I walked through the dark and abandoned campus and wandered off campus to a gas station at all hours of the night with no event. Granted, my and my friend may be the guys in hoodies the security is so worried about. Anyways, it is safe and the security makes their rounds as best they can, but the department consists of ten people, if I had to guess. Take that as you will.

    Great for these types of students

    Truth be told, the community in Berea is incredibly friendly, the best I've ever seen. Any type of person would be equally pleased at what they find, even when considering the down sides.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spire, nicknamed by every immature student as Shinn's Erection, is a staircase that leads 4 stories up to a small open observation room. It was my favourite place to be, a place where you're able to watch everyone go about their day, play sports and run along the track in the distance. It's a nice place to sit and just enjoy life. Also apparently a hotspot for sex, so take that as you will. Other than that landmark, and the virtually inaccessible bell tower of Phelp-Stokes, there are no other interesting spots on campus that you wouldn't hear about.

    Bang for the buck

    Let's do some math. Let's assume bang is a variable that can go from 0 to 1, 1 being the most bang, 0 being the least. Let's also assume buck is 0 What is bang/buck? hint: it's infinity.. or maybe undefined value if you really want to argue. Anyways, you won't find a better bargain in the south, and if you're willing to put up with everything there (which is truly a trivial issue, except the roommate issues), you will find supportive teachers, a beautiful setting and all the schoolwork you can stare blankly at.

    What to do for fun

    There's a reason there is a mild underground obsession with weed and sex. It's an obvious reason, too, but I'll spell it out for you: there's nothing to do in this town someone help me Convocations - concerts (and speeches, but only in the daytime) all students are REQUIRED to attend about 10 times a semester, sometimes go on when the sun sets. To your chagrin you'll be tempted to attend for the chance to do something other than staring at a wall, browsing the internet or studying for something. Another aside, the internet at Berea College is outstanding. Strong signal all over campus, every room has an ethernet port, it's absurd the amount of attention put into it. Too bad you're not allowed to pirate software and that the laptops given to you are constantly monitored as if Berea were working in conjunction with the NSA, but if you know how you can jailbreak the laptops. Again, another story entirely.

    Food and Dining

    The dining in Berea College is fair; there is variety, but when attending for 4 years there is no hope to prevent boredom of the food. It isn't immediately noticeable, but give it a couple months and your mind will notice the lack of variety, which will have its toll. So, let's spice things up with some takeout, right? Well, sure, but I hope you like pizza. The choices on food are Dominos I believe and a local pizza restaurant. And an ice cream shop that closes pretty early. Oh, and a coffee shop. But I don't have coffee for a dinner. Again, save yourself the money and the mental toll and buy your food at the local stores (but not the student shop).

    Dorm Life

    The worst part of the entire experience, I'd say. The dorm's aforementioned smell? It doesn't go away. It gets better after freshman year, but the smell of feet mixed with armpit, sweat, regret, and the rare smells of weed and sex never leave the vicinity of a dorm, which is incredible in my opinion. Forget the concept of privacy when you attend. Again, speaking from the male perspective, all men on a floor - something like 50 people if not more - share one huge restroom, and four shower stalls. I'll leave it to your imagination, to conceive the fun stuff I got to witness in my days as consequence of this. Your dorm is shared with one person, and the space is decent (enough to not feel like you have your own space, but enough to feel vaguely claustrophobic), but you will get one of the following: someone who is heavily active in sports/academics and goes to sleep at 10PM, someone who completely blows off classes and stays up through the night, or someone driven wild by the concept of sex and/or weed. As an aside, I'll just assert that weed and sex are very much alive at Berea College, contrary to immediate perceptions. This shouldn't be a surprise to many, but the amount of which it occurs shocked me. My first roommate was even a drug dealer, but, again, a different story entirely!

    Academic Rigor

    I've got to hand it to the college, what I went through was high-paced. One class a semester leaves little room for slowing down and you'll notice that this college is no game after the first week. To compensate for difficulty, the teachers are all pretty easy to reach - another benefit of the small population of the college - which helps greatly.

    Tips for prospective students

    This all being in retrospect, I'd recommend not partaking in the school's dining program. It is not extremely varied, and I wouldn't imagine it's extremely healthy, either. It'd be better to just opt out and visit the local stores (see: Wal*Mart, and only Wal*Mart) for your nutritional needs. You'll also save a good bit of money that way. It's also not advisable to buy anything you don't absolutely have to from the student book store. I'll leave this short and sweet by letting you know I spent $12 on a bottle of shampoo. No, seriously. Most importantly, though, I'd advise fighting for an air conditioned dorm, for obvious reasons. I'm not sure about the female situation, but male freshmen are likely to be put in Dana Hall, which is notorious for its incredibly hot rooms - and lack of heating. All underclass dorms also stink of something vile and sweaty, but that's unavoidable and another story altogether.

    In three sentences

    Berea College is a great institution resting in the mountains of Kentucky. While an excellent financial opportunity, it's also advised to be aware of the responsibilities you would be expected to uphold, as you will have to understand the balance between work, play and school. Expect the classrooms to be similar to high school, your privacy to be stripped and to generally be your own source of excitement.

  • 05/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very small campus + active campus security = safety!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Berea has no football team nor swimming team. Generally, Berea's labor and education expectations make it an inhospitable college for those wishing to participate in collegiate sports. On the other hand, it is extremely easy to get involved in student government.

    Great for these types of students

    People who don't drink and don't get bored easily and who are very very poor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most people are taken aback when they find out it's a dry county and campus. Also, fraternities and sororities are prohibited.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want an undergraduate degree and probably no debt upon graduation, Berea is the place for you!

    What to do for fun

    The closest movie theater is in Richmond. The biggest shopping center in Berea is a Wal-Mart 1 mile away from campus; many students walk there.

    Food and Dining

    There are two campus dining options: cafeteria or Crossroads Cafe. In the required meal plan, you can opt for more or less meals or cafe dollars. The cafeteria can be hit or miss, and the cafe is limited and expensive.

    Dorm Life

    The coed wave has not yet reached Berea. The coed dorm in Berea is a single building split in half with one side belonging to women and the other to men. In all dorms, people of the opposite gender are only allowed to visit your room between the hours of 5 pm - midnight Monday through Friday and noon - 1 am on weekends. Dorm cleanliness depends on the students assigned to janitorial duties in your dorm. Most of the dorms have air conditioning. All have heat.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, you will either have lots of tedious work or a bit of very difficult work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are getting a scholarship from a non-Berea institution, you will not see a cent of it if you go to Berea. Your Berea semesterly tuition will likely still be more affordable than it would have been at another college (unless of course you are getting a full scholarship).

    In three sentences

    Berea College stands out from most other colleges in that it: has class sizes of 30 at most, is in a dry county, has a required labor program (making possible its nearly free education), and has comparatively high quality -but limited- science programs for a liberals arts college. Students power everything at Berea- from the cafeteria to the janitorial care of dorms to the secretaries in administrator offices. Nearly all students live on campus as it is the most affordable option, and the same can be said for cafeteria dining.

  • 08/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure in rigor seening as how I didn't attend. However in the seminar, the students did tell us that it was quite hard at times.

    In three sentences

    Berea is gorgeous! The city is small, but gorgeous. And the campus is precious, I loved the time I spent there.