Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bergen Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun except hang around with your friends. You could also join an organization of which they are many to choose from. More than likely, you can find one or more groups, clubs or activities that interest you.

    Food and Dining

    This campus has a large selection of foods and stores you choose from. A few examples include Dunkin Donuts and Subway, in addition to the few cafeterias distributed in several locations. We also just got a brand new student center so there isn't a location that is too crowded.

    Dorm Life

    This community college does not have any dorms to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, some classes may be harder than others. More specifically, the math and science courses truly challenge you. These are the ones I know from personal experience that will actually make you sit down, study, and learn in order to understand and pass the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a top university and become someone, you have to put forth the effort and study. Don't blame your low grades on professors hating you or being unclear because if others are passing the class, then the problem is obviously something you can fix by yourself. Just because it's a community college does not mean you can breeze through it. Use it to prepare for the university you want to attend.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College is a great school to attend in that you learn about as much as you would in an actual University for less money. The only negative thing I could say is that maybe the professors baby some of the students too much. As long as you are willing to learn and put forth effort, you'll enjoy learning in Bergen Community College.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The safety of the BCC campus is very qualified. You can always look for an emergency button if needed. The campus staff walks around and there's also a safety station you can approach should you need assistance.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Finance Club, along with others club, will help you interact with people of all ages and walks of life. You will learn more about business, investing, and complete projects that'll help you with management later on in life, whether it be a money-related project or a simple life task.

    Bang for the buck

    Believe it or not, the vending machines are the best thing you can look forward to during break. When my professors say we can for a 5 minute break, I always find a good snack to fill my break time and keep me satisfied.

    What to do for fun

    You can sign up for the swimming pool or enjoy the gym. You can go to the library and read several interesting books or enjoy going on the computers in the lab. You can even sign up for the golf or soccer team and enjoy the various sports programs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is truly delicious. Anywhere from sandwiches to gourmet lunches, the selection of different foods is really magnificent. The staff at the lunch room are always helpful and courteous.

    Dorm Life

    Though BCC currently does not currently offer a dorm, it would certainly be enjoyable to dorm here. The diversity makes for a great atmosphere here, and I believe students would really interact well with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is exceptional for a community school. There are several programs such as Accounting, Health, Business, Computer Graphics, Nursing and other popular programs. The curriculum is on par with large and popular universities, so the education you get is really worth your time and will improve your knowledge and academic standing.

    Tips for prospective students

    With more than 14,000 students enrolling in some sort of educational program, BCC can be the path to your future. The school offers Associate in Arts (A.A.) and Associate in Science (A.S.) degrees. Consider a transfer program for a four year school. Take your studies seriously and you will excel. The path to your future career and employment is in your hands. Consider signing up for some online classes as well as on campus to fully experience the education at BCC.

    In three sentences

    Bergen is a state of the art school among community colleges. The environment, atmosphere, and curriculum is on par with established universities. This school offers the best transition to a four year financial institution.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety patrol is always looking out for students and there safety. they enforce rules and aren't rude about things, they do it in a respectful manner where you get whats acceptable and whats not on campus. not only that but they are rather student & faculty friendly witch i appreciate a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    i'm not in a club but from what i see on campus they have events for us at the student center. just the other day a lady was singing italian music, it was pretty interesting. they've also had a comedy club in witch i enjoyed very much.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are cheap and effective. food is at a great price, enjoy your food & enjoy saving your money! renting books at the book store is also cheap, i really love that option about bergen community college.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great, especially the wraps! the breaded chicken fajita is my favorite. they also have a subway where you can enjoy a fresh sandwich. they also have a pizzeria witch in my opinion is very good!

    Dorm Life

    no dorming at bergen community college!

    Academic Rigor

    its great, the academic rigor is effective. the teachers are always there to help you with your questions & for resources there is always the library or the student center. also the conveniences of teachers making them self available through online courses are another great factor!

    In three sentences

    bergen community college campus in paramus, nj is beautiful! not only that but the teachers are great at explaining the curriculum. also the student center is a great place to sit and study, a nice learning atmosphere.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Bergen Christian Student Association NAACP Honors Association Phi Theta Kappa S.P.A.R.K

    What to do for fun

    Go to student life, join clubs, just get involved lol

    Food and Dining

    Subway, Italian food, & Dunkin Donuts

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit your professors during their office hours, TIME MANAGEMENT IS HUGE!!!!!!!!!!, if you want to get good grades and have a life this is crucial, make a schedule, if you're struggling with a class(specifically math) go to the tutoring center they're really helpful, get involved in a club and check your school e-mail (there may be some interesting or useful events that you might miss out on on otherwise)

    In three sentences

    The professors are very nice and will help you out as much as they can if they see you make an effort. The classes aren't difficult but require a lot of time to get done. Also, there is always some event going on somewhere on campus.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are undecided on your major or do not have the money to go to a four year school, its a great way to complete the basic requirements.

    What to do for fun

    The Garden State Plaza is just around the corner where you can watch movies or go shopping. They also have many student activities available throughout the year and offer discounts.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a good selection of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home

    Academic Rigor

    People underestimate Bergen because they think that its just a continuation of high school when in reality its at the same classwork level as a four year school.

    In three sentences

    A very diverse school. Its great since it has many different options. Has a major or trade for anyone.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    so far during my experience in BCC. is the safest place. nothing had happened so far. everything is secure by cameras and the security always walk around visible or invisible

    Clubs and Activities

    BCC have many clubs and activity. you can join them all. even they have video game club. otherwise you can find put how you can make your own club

    Great for these types of students

    so far all students i met are educate. i have no problem with no one :) you just should enjoy life :)

    What to do for fun

    for fun you should join some club, or just shill in class if the teacher shills too :p but other than that join some sport or clubs specially if you like video games :)

    Food and Dining

    i don't eat too much fast food, but from what i heard is really good. a little expensive for my taste but still is worth it :)

    Dorm Life

    BCC don't have dorms, but you can rent appartment close by and is chip

    Tips for prospective students

    go to orientation, go ask people for direction. be there a day before you start classes, so you will know your classes room. the building is so big that you might be lost at first. for that come couple times till you know your classes otherwise you will get absents and loose points. join clubs so you can have fun or any sports

    In three sentences

    BCC is one of my best choices i ever made. I am going for general classes than transfer to other school. is cheaper that way cause im only spending 1500 for all my general than spending 8000 just for my general classes in the school I want to go. other than that, the classes is the same like any other college or university. but probably i will change my major and finish in BCC. cause in my situation i can only afford for this college and the habitat is great :)

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    diverse, adult,

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard- keep up your GPA

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who can teach themselves

    Tips for prospective students

    take night classes

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bergen Community is great for any students. It is so diverse and accommodating. If you are a parent, working, older, younger, whoever you are, it is not hard to get involved in a class at Bergen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, take a tour, go to orientation. Some people I know complained about not getting to know anyone, but a lot of those people didn't take initiative to join anything. Taking a tour is always good , or just checking out where your classrooms are BEFORE the first day of class, because that can help you to not get lost & cut down on your stress.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm attending Bergen Community with the NJ STARS scholarship program, so it is very cost-effective for me. Because of that scholarship, the only costs I have each semester are my books and fees. The bookstore could definitely be a little bit cheaper, but from what I've heard, that's how it is across the board.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was nervous about going to community college when most of my friends were going out of state, but I have found friends and clubs in which I can take part in. I find many classmates outgoing & friendly, especially in my honors classes, but in other classes as well.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of people I know think that a community college will give you an inferior education, as opposed to a 4 year institution. This past semester I took an Introduction to Human Services class and I learned so many new things. A friend of mine at a private college in Massachusetts was taking a similar class and I knew everything she was talking about, because Bergen had already taught it to me.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    BCC has a lot event and activities for all student from different characteristic.

    Food and Dining

    BCC has a great cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    BCC has not dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    BCC has the five starts.

    Tips for prospective students

    BCC is a great school for a great start. BCC has many careers. BCC is not smoking community.

    In three sentences

    BCC give me a great opportunity for getting my goal. BCC is using the latest technology in every lab - room. BCC has a complete library for all the students.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    math club

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to people, approach professors.

    In three sentences

    it is fun. very diverse. inviting people.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, classes are good if the teachers know what they are talking about. If they don't though, which is slightly the majority, they're not worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is good. Wide selection.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Offers challenging courses if the teachers know what they are talking about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your classes based on rate my professors and not just by chance. Also get your courses done with and transfer out ASAP.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school for the courses offered and teachers, but the administration doesn't care much and the workers can be very rude. Some teachers are great while others have no clue what they're talking about.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everybody would fit in. i have seen polish club to sign language and plenty of others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school has all types of clubs and organizations, lots of diversity, not necessarily unsual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is more expensive than most community colleges i have ever heard of.

    What to do for fun

    join a club or organization

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be afraid to ask questions. take advantage of everything bergen offers, there are a lot of things out there to help students.

    In three sentences

    bergen community college is a large, culturally diverse environment with many opportunities and plenty of resources. classes are very convenient and there is always someone willing to help with any problem that could be encountered. to anyone who is willing to take advantage of the resources available it is a great community college.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    swimmmmm :D

    Food and Dining

    has a variety of different choices of food for you to enjoy and there microwaves to heat up food you bring to home. there subway,Nathans, pizza place, dun kin donuts and Bergen salad bar. plenty of different choices it can be pricey after a while but fits everyone's taste buds.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm live.

    Academic Rigor

    there a huge slection of different majors you can chooice from. Your academics is what you make at of it. It all on you how much you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the resources that are provided to you. make study's sessions for you to have library time to do homework. Don't cram your classes back to back or to far apart. don't wait for last minute registration so that you can have a schedule that balances with your life.

    In three sentences

    Bergen community college as resources assessable to everyone in all majors and in all languages. Bergen community has a wonderful work force program that helps students earn some money on a busy full-time student schedule. Bergen has a math lab, tutoring lab and a testing center that provides you with the help you need.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bergen Community College is very strict when it comes to the safety of their students and faculties. BCC is also a smoke-free school, and there are many Public Safety officers who drives around the school campus to make sure everything is alright. In busy area of the school, they have a crossing guard that stands there the whole day making sure students can cross properly without any danger. The school also has a surround CCTV that monitors parking spaces, walkways and the building for any suspicious activities. The school itself is very safe and you will feel safe whenever your are attending BCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bergen Community College offers a broad variety of clubs and activities for students to come and join. The clubs are not boring at all, I've visited every single one of them and there are always a lot of fun things to do and they are very welcoming to new comers! Some clubs are - chess club, drawing club, pottery club, automotive club, diversity club, anime club, poetry club and much more than you can imagine!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bergen Community College will usually have a blood drive for students who are willing to donate blood to those in need. It's been a Bergen tradition to help the community and mold students to have kindness in their hearts and learn to help others and not be selfish. Give what you can give.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition fee is very affordable compare to other schools. The location is great also, it's not in a busy area but in a relaxing environment. I, myself chose this school because I don't want to end up paying a lot after fulfilling my Bachelor's Degree in Business. I would like to use my hard earned money to help my family, not to waste it all paying back my students loans. Overall, Bergen is a great BANG FOR THE BUCK!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do in Bergen Community College. They have a swimming pool open for students who wants to swim. An open weight room for muscle builders and a gym for anyone to play basketball, volleyball and other indoor sports. In the field, they offer golf, football, tennis, basketball court and a track. Often the campus will have karaoke days and such.

    Food and Dining

    Recently, Bergen Community College has expanded their campus to offer more variety of food and dining. Over at the cafeteria, they have a salad bar for vegetarians, Nathan's for meat lovers and other foods while in the new Student Center offers a pizzeria and Dunkin' Donuts. The food are excellent and much more cheaper than outside food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in this school.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn the same thing you would learn on a four-year college but in much easier and cheaper version. The professors will take their time teaching their students and they do not expect everyone to get it all in one time, thus they offer a lot of extra help. Some academics are very competitive in order to prepare you for your transfer school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever feel that it is a shame to attend Bergen Community College. A lot of parents that I encounter always compliment me with my choice of school because it is a smart thing to save money while earning my degree. You will realize that BCC is a great school after attending it for a few days. You'll love it and feel more comfortable learning with other students.

    In three sentences

    BCC is a great school for students who plan to do their per-requisites first. The tuition fee is affordable and learning is easy because there are many helpful professors and clubs such as TUTORING CLUB that are willing to give up some of their time helping you with your studies. Overall, BCC is a school that can help you and earn your degree at the same time.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They walk around most of the day doing nothing. I guess it's nice to know that they are there.

    Greek Life

    Only for the high gpa individuals.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never got involved but I heard good things.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for people who need to get there gpa up quick.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have never been to West and Ender hall. They are opposite ends of the campus and are pretty out of the way.

    Bang for the buck

    Get easy grades for the cheap price per credit equals a good gpa to transfer and likely get a scholarship with.

    What to do for fun

    Workout, play basketball, swim, play tennis

    Food and Dining

    Not too bad but Don't get stuck eating only chain food like subway or dunkin doughnuts.

    Dorm Life

    non-existent

    Academic Rigor

    studying is key but not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college work seriously and you will be successful. Do the work. No excuses.

    In three sentences

    Do the work and you will receive an easy A. There are extremely immature students at this college that do not take learning seriously. Most teachers and tutoring staff are extremely helpful, you just need to ask.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of things to do,from going to the library to theater shows to talent shows .There are tons of things to do

    Tips for prospective students

    When you apply don't get frustrated on what you have to do to get to the final steps in applying.Just relax and take your time finding out what exactly you want to do with your life.Before i forget , the first semester,don't cram classes so you can get credits ,just take 11 credits worth so you don't get stressed out like i did.

    In three sentences

    Bergen community allows me to explore intensely of my major manufacturing technology and engineering.I am currently interning at a company that requires i have certain skills in this major.Going to Bergen allows me to attain those skills and betters my future life with my family,id give it a 5 on a 5 star scale.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards, you defenitly feel safe at BCC

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are known that come to mind, everyone is in & out so quickly, there is not alot of social life at BCC.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for a semester is so reasonable compared to an average college. Its worth getting 101 classes out of the way here, paying a quater of the cost at a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are not alot of activities going on at the school since it is community.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few chain placesin the school like subway & dunkin donuts, plus vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, this is a community so everybody commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class, but there is alot of writing and reports.a short period of time. The summer classes are intense, because your getting a lot of work done in

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to understand the process about choosing the right classes, so you do not waste time & money.

    In three sentences

    The school has a lot to offer, the professors have been helpful and interesting. There is not a social life here. Convenient book store and free tutoring is a plus.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bergen is very safe and public safety is always within reach

    Clubs and Activities

    I like the asian club and music club

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers , dedicated, goal oriented students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Halloween and Holidays is a warm environment to study. Summer classes are fun as well.

    Bang for the buck

    around $250 per credit

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in a club, sometimes bergen offers shows games, concerts

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety of food, multiple cafeterias,

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking permit sticker is highly recommended, also, register your car.

    In three sentences

    Bergen has a flexible schedule for classes. Bergen has a very helpful learning center. Bergen has a diverse library.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many public safety officers going around to assure a safe and non-hazardeous environment

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost anything here, so if you want to join you have a selection of choices to look into.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities at the college. From sports to karaoke. There is always something to see or do at the college.

    Food and Dining

    A great variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at BCC

    Academic Rigor

    A great learning environment

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to come and get your associates. Do not worry about not fitting in, everyone here is friendly and will help you with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    It is a great College. The teachers help you with anything you need help on. I definitely recommend this community college for those who cannot afford a University.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 59

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a huge campus, a lot of fellow students. You will be able to make friends in every class. Some professors are nice, others are strict, but in the end you learn everything you are suppose to.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always public safety officers around- although their primary job is to ticket smokers. I'm not sure how they handle real security threats, because I haven't even heard of one occurring. They definitely make their presence known though.

    Dorm Life

    Pretty sure dorm's are for abroad students only? Campus life is satisfactory. There are a lot of places to eat, meet people, and hang out.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very interesting and interactive. I never had any teachers who overloaded me with work. Overall, I enjoyed the work that was assigned to me and did not see any major issues with any class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're using financial aid, you are pretty much a last priority to this school. Spend your first weeks of every semester waiting on line every morning to find out why you aren't on class rosters and cannot attend your classes. By 3 weeks into the semester, they should finally be willing to help you, HOPEFULLY by then it isn't too late.

    In three sentences

    The teachers have mastered getting students involved and keeping them interested in classes. I enjoyed all my classes, even those I didn't expect to like, and all my teachers were great people. HOWEVER- their faculty fails- it is IMPOSSIBLE to get a hold of anyone or get an answer to any of your questions!! I've spent entire days on hold, being transferred to different offices, walking from office to office just to go home with the same unsolved issue!

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I personally have never seen any issues on-campus and Campus Police are constantly patrolling around campus to monitor any suspicious behavior. SMOKERS BEWARE: BCC is a non-smoking campus and you will receive a citation if caught.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life On campus

    Great for these types of students

    Those who live In-County/State and want to stay close to home, want to use it as a means to transfer to a 4-year program, or can not afford another colleges much more expensive tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live In-County and In-State, the subsidized rate for this school can absolutely not be beat. Some parts of Campus (West Hall) are newly renovated and absolutely pristine and beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of social clubs and intramural sports groups that meet year round that you can join to meet new people or just relieve some stress after class. There are also bulletin boards posted around the school that have upcoming activities and social events that are going to be happening on campus.

    Food and Dining

    In the cafeteria there is a Pizzeria, Salad Bar, Hot Food Buffett, along with a fully operation Nathans and Subway. There is a lot to choose from and it is all made fresh on a daily basis. Pricing isn't too ridiculous either!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the level course you take and the program material, there are various levels of difficulty you will see. Bergen Community College is one of the most well-reknowned Community Colleges in our country and is home to a wealth of fantastic educators.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up at least 30 minutes early to each class to allow ample time for finding a parking spot! This is my number one comment to anyone choosing to attend BCC. Finding a great parking spot at BCC is like finding good pizza in the Mid-Western USA: It happens, but you really have to search! Another great thing to practice is making sure you register for your classes as soon as you possibly can. Class spaces fill up very fast as soon as enrollment begins. Be proactive and punctual and you will succeed no matter where you are!

    In three sentences

    Education among diversity

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very well manage in this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    International students and those who are not sure about their major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bergen is the only community college that has the biggest business club.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is what you make of it. If you choose to take more challenging professors and work hard to be in the Honors program, you can get a great education here. If you want to have an active social life and volunteer, join clubs, as there are plenty of them ranging from ethnic clubs to academic clubs. You can find many great professors, too.

    What to do for fun

    The facilities and courses are superb! Pool, gym for working out, track and field, baseball, tennis, labs, lecture halls, restaurants inside, univeristy like library. Makes me excited go and learn!

    Food and Dining

    Kind of expensive for a college student.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors care about student and their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the best 2 year college if you are not sure about what career to choose.

    In three sentences

    Bergen is a pretty good place to earn a college education, or at least start it off. Very diverse demographic wise. Also a very friendly environment.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are kind, and extremely helpful. I'm friends with a few of them, and they are always eager to help. They are also very quick to respond to emergencies, such a fight, or a student in need of immediate help.

    Greek Life

    I think we have a sorority, but I'm not part of it!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm Vice President of the American Sign Language Club, and it's a great place to go if you're learning ASL. I've been to a few PRIDE meetings, and, again, they are very accepting and fantastic. There is a club for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Any! Bergen is a very diverse school, there are people from every race, religion, and sexual orientation. There are quite a few Deaf students that are wonderfully patient with the hearing students learning ASL.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of, and I've been here for three years...though there is a gazebo, and that's pretty cool!

    Bang for the buck

    I have only rarely been dissatisfied with the professors at Bergen. The fact that there is a free tutoring center is amazing, and the tutors are usually great quality. The books are a bit expensive, but that's everywhere, I suppose. The Library is very large, and I love it!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join at Bergen. Being co-founder and part of the E-Board of the American Sign Language Club (The Silent Speakers) is wonderful. You make your best friends at the clubs, and have so much fun! The school oftentimes take trips to see plays in the City, or see sports games. Honestly, there is something for everyone, as long as you're willing!

    Food and Dining

    The pizza is delicious, no complaints there. Dunkin Donuts in the Student Center is not only staffed by fantastic people, but the coffee is made well, and I don't know what I would do without it. There is a cafeteria upstairs, and the Mexican food, paninis and wraps are good, but the Nathan's is too greasy for my taste; the Subway is okay, but I would stick with the pizza and paninis.

    Dorm Life

    Bergen doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say that Bergen is overly exhaustive when it comes to academics. True, studying is important and vital, but the teachers are wonderfully understanding. Try your best, and I'm sure you'll do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for directions; students here won't bite. Join a club! You'll meet your best friends there, and be able to take part in wonderful activities and opportunities to grow. Study hard because your studies are important, and take even the silliest classes seriously. College isn't about how well you take to that which interests you, but how you take to new (even silly) studies! Take your time here seriously. Bergen is wonderful, but the time passes quickly; I know I will miss this school.

    In three sentences

    Bergen has helped me become the person I am today. If I had never gone here, I might never had discovered my passion for American Sign Language and the Deaf Community. The students and (most of) the teachers are wonderful; 5 out of 5.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are public safety guards everywhere on campus. They help you when you need something and the parking is safe too. If you don't have your car sticker you are getting ticketed

    Greek Life

    I'm not in the Greek life so I don't know much about it

    Clubs and Activities

    All sorts if clubs to join. There is student government association, environmental, pride, African heritage, anime club, art club and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a vas variety of students at bergen. Everyone is able to go no matter what race, gender, or sexual orientation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They sometimes have a flee market type setup where vendors sell things. They also have welcome week where they do games and fun activities the first week of he semester.

    Bang for the buck

    One year at bergen with books cost about $5500. Depending how many classes you are taking. The books are a bit pricey but if you rent the books which are also used you save a lot! You can also sell the books you buy. It's not much but it's something. They tend to give half the amount of what you bought it

    What to do for fun

    Student center a great place to hang out with friends before or after class. They have trips off campus to sport games and broadway shows.

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge cafeteria where they have all types of food from subway sandwiches to sushi to a large salad bar. They also have tex-mex section and a panini warp section. They also have Nathan's hotdogs and in the student center there is pizza and Dunkin donuts

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at bergen community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you know what you want to study Bergen community college is a great start. Has the best professors of New Jersey and you are able to save money.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great! Classroom sizes are small and the teacher student ratio is good.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bergen Community College is a very safe campus inside and out. There are always men from community safety walking around and outside patrolling the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned before they have such a great variety of clubs and activities for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Bergen Community College is great for all students, it doesn't matter if your a new graduate straight out of high school, if its a second career or your going back to take a couple classes it is great all around.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoy the school library very, not only is a very big and has an enormous volume of books and videos everyone is so kind and helpful. I also like the study in their studies rooms that they have situated in the back of the library.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great when it comes to getting an amazing education along with great prices. Now a days there are not many things that you can get that will benefit you as much as an education with such decent prices.

    What to do for fun

    Bergen has many different groups and activities that all students regardless of race,gender,sexual preference disability etc can enjoy as a big family.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Bergen is average. I wish that they had more healthier choices for us watching our figures or just trying to eat a more balanced options of food.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently in Bergen`s nursing program and I can say the school pushes you to be your absolute best. The school really shows you what kind of student you can really be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize all the resources the school has to offer. There are so many different options and people always waiting to help you plan your goals and reach them.

    In three sentences

    I truly believe that Bergen is a great school with many different doors that all kinds of students can open. Also the school is great for students trying to find themselves in the world of academics.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. No issues.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    For a community college, student life is phenomenal. All clubs receive great funding and allow for awesome opportunities. The Torch (Student Newspaper) pays writers and editors.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students with full or part time jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    A great way to save two years worth of tuition. At about $5k a year, you will save a great deal that can be put towards transferring and finishing your degree at a four-year university.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Standard campus food, (Dunkin' Donuts, Subway, Nathans) nothing to write home about. If you have a car you will likely travel off campus for food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you give effort, the coursework should not be overtly difficult. If you are looking for a real challenge, make honors courses. They are stimulating and often taught by the best professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay strict in regards to coursework and scheduling. Pay attention to your degree evaluation and you will graduate in two years. Make the best of clubs and activities as they are rewarding, help with making friends and connections and are great on transfer applications.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College is first and foremost underrated. Students often attend with the mindset that the college is for those who didn't try in high school. However, as with all things in life, BCC is what you make of it and I have seen many people succeed due to hard work and with help from the college.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of club activities, so if you want to have some fun join one of those and you probably wont be bored. Other than that things can get pretty boring, anyways is a community college after all.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food in the cafeteria, I just wish there was more variety,

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there is not Dorm at BCC but there is a lot of activities, so you never get bored.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher, I know that the science and math teacher are like really into trying to get you to know everything. They prepare you for a higher level, so they're expectations can be pretty high sometimes. P.S- Avoid at all cost Mrs. Heignhbaum, she is a calculus teacher, if your really good at math and love to be challenge then take her because she will make you work your butt off.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose class carefully because you kind of get caught off in the freedom of how easy is to choose classes, Trust me it happen to me and I regret it a lot. Get together with a guidance counselor and tell them what's up and everything you need and what your plan is after bergen and the will help you. Get involve, there are a lot of school activities and use the student center for assistance in any class like math, science and english, there is a lot of help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College, is a great college for those who wants to transfer to a four year university. The Staff and Transfer counselors will help you in everything you need. Bergen community college is very diverse, so you get to meet lost of people with different culture background which is great!

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is really nice if you talk to them, just don't let them catch you smoking anywhere. $200 fine.

    Bang for the buck

    It's inexpensive and the credits transfer anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    It's a really social school and there are clubs everywhere, hang out in the student center, there's something going on everyday.

    Food and Dining

    Satisfies; wouldn't do it all the time but it's there when you need something.

    Dorm Life

    Unless you want to set up a tent, or do an overnight at the space center, there are no sleepovers here.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep your head up and don't fall behind, the grades will come easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into the school of honors, hands down it's the only place you want to be in bergen. The professors are great, the opportunities are endless and you're surrounded by the best and brightest students on campus.

    In three sentences

    This school is really what you make of it. When you take the extra steps and become involved with the activities and especially if you join the school of honors, it evolves to the kind of college you want to be in. The professors are sources of inspiration and knowledge that are just waiting to share; that extra step to talk to them will make your time worthwhile.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bergen Community College is in Paramus, a nice town in Bergen County. Although I haven't witnessed any horrible safety issues, I can't say there isn't any. When I am at Bergen, I always see police walking around the campus. Seems to be a safe place, and quiet during the summer too!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college- with lots to offer. There are so many options for careers, I still don't know them all! The Professors (I've had) seem so friendly and willing to help all willing students achieve greatness! Bergen offers all sorts of certificate programs, and even continuing education courses! Plus, I'm not sure if you looked at some other school prices, but if you're not rich, here's a great place to start!

    What to do for fun

    Bergen has a variety of clubs and activities throughout the semesters, even the summer! Take advantage; be apart of your school! If you're going to be spending all the money on college- why wouldn't you take part of all it has to offer? Some activities even include discounts on outside activities such as baseball games! As for the clubs, there is something for everyone! Whether it be art, early childhood education, anime, or even student government- explore your options; maybe even try something new! Go to the room for Student Life; they will be more than happy to help I'm sure!

    Food and Dining

    On campus you will find a Dunkin Donuts, a lunch room of varies foods, a place to buy pizza, etc. They have many options to choose from, a large lunch room to eat, meet friends, do work, or whatever you use a lunch area for. There are benches and tables around the school for outdoor dining, etc.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Bergen Community College. However, on campus you can find many activities, some tasty food, a school store, and of course, awesome classes and friendships that can be for life!

    Academic Rigor

    Bergen Community is a school with kind professors! I believe you will get out of the class, what you put into it. If you try hard, and it shows, you will be rewarded. Use Bergen as an opportunity to explore, take the classes you need to, and take them as though it's your job. Nothing is worse than just wasting your time, wasting a space for someone who truly wants the class, and of course wasting your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    When going to college, know your facts! Always ask questions, and always seek help if you are in need of some. Never be scared to do what you need to do to reach your goal. If you don't know what it is you want to do, explore, ask around, do research, you'll get there! Also, it is never to late to start going to school. The only person who is a failure, is one who doesn't try. Also, be involved in your school! There are many clubs, and different activities, find one that fits your personality- it's fun and could be great for resumes!

    In three sentences

    A place where dreams can become a reality! While going to college, one must remember nothing will be handed to you. Reality happens with motivation, ambition, and hard work!

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chill in the student center, everyone goes there between classes and to socialize.

    Food and Dining

    There is a café in Ender hall and a dunkin donuts, and a pizza shop in the student center.

    Academic Rigor

    I am new student so I still have not faced rigorous work yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early because the morning classes are usually the first ones to get packed. I will also suggest to try to register for classes in the same building.

    In three sentences

    I am a new student here and the campus is nice, it is very diverse, and there are many classes that will accommodate your schedule. So far the teachers are very helpful and funny. This college is a good community college.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety, being part of the staff, is top notch and always helpful with problems or parking.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, this is a great value for a college education.

    What to do for fun

    I definitely recommend the clubs to get that college feel.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a wide variety to choose from. There are also healthy choices to counterbalance. Of course, there is a cyber caf�© and a Dunkin Donuts to allow the students to wake up and get to work!

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe this is applicable with this particular college.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college, studying is a must. Do not slack and you will be fine! The tutoring services are also a great help.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend new students to make you schedule early! This will allow new students to get all the classes that you need per semester, and to allow them to be taken when it is convenient. I also recommend getting involved with activities and the clubs the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community is an affordable option for people to get a start on their education. The school offers a well-balanced community to make you feel right at home and get rid of those new student jitters. The teachers and staff are definitely as high quality of a standard four-year school.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 59

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Bergen community college give newly graduates students from high school get started on their education. Giving them a variety of majors that they could choose from. It is a good place to start your college education.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs, volunteer work and sports to join. They also have a lot of events to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check ratemyproffesor.com before registering. And make sure to do all of your financial aid work ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly atmosphere. It is not very organized. The teachers are extemley helpful.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You'll never feel vulnerable at school. Public Safety Officers patrol the campus buildings throughout the day, as well the parking lots. They are all friendly and very helpful when it comes to just about anything.

    Greek Life

    The Alpha Epsilon Phi Chapter represents the International Honor Society of the Two-Year College, Phi Theta Kappa. It recognizes academic excellence and praises these students with scholarship offers, fellowship, leadership, and service at Bergen Community College. Students must meet certain criteria for membership.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens to choose from, many of which are active in the community, such as S.P.A.R.K., and award-winning anti-bullying club created by a Public Speaking Professor whose students lovingly dubbed PK for short. S.P.A.R.K. comes together to put on assemblies at public schools and organizes sponsored marathons to fund for these trips to schools that really make a difference.

    Great for these types of students

    Bergen Community College is a wonderful choice for working or returning students, as well as students who have families to take care of. I do not drive, but have always made it to class by means of a short bus ride. The new shuttle bus that runs between the two main campuses also provides an excellent service for commuting students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most fascinating and unusual class for me was Plant Biology because instead of meeting in a classroom, the course is held down the road at the Meadowlands Conservatory. Students are able to examine the behavior of plants and animals in the most effective way to study- up close and personal.

    Bang for the buck

    Since the semesters here at Bergen Community College are fairly inexpensive compared to other two-year schools, many students pay the tuition themselves. This provides motivation and dedication to study harder and pass every course. Bergen Community College really is a wonderful choice for the middle-class family, and even for those who struggle financially because the school offers scholarship opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many diverse clubs to join, ranging from hobbies and interests to ethnic studies. A nearby bird sanctuary in the Meadowlands provides a beautiful view of the landscape full of plants and animals, as well as a class location for some Biology courses that take place in the great outdoors there. The college provides a movie screening every week that is totally free and students can enjoy snacks and refreshments. Sometimes there are even live performances in the Student Centers that feature upcoming music artists. Also, it is great that New York City is only a short bus or train ride away from any Bergen Community College location.

    Food and Dining

    The Bergen Community College at Paramus provides hot and cold food that is OK and inexpensive, and even a Dunkin Donuts for those who need their before-class pick-me-up cup of coffee. Since the campus in Lyndhurst caters to much fewer students in a day, the food there is close to gourmet. The cafeteria is complete with freshly made panini sandwiches and a buffet-style salad bar with all the greens and fixings to keep your brain chugging throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    Bergen Community College does not offer dorm locations, but all five campuses are conveniently accessible via bus, train, and the new (FREE!) College Shuttle.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience over the two years that I have been attending Bergen Community College, I find that my classmates range in age anywhere from fresh out of high school to middle aged. The competition to be recognized by professors and other colleges and universities is very real, and it becomes obvious during class discussions that every student has plenty of great thoughts to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and take advantage of the convenient transportation services that are offered between the two main campuses. Bergen Community College is very involved in the Community, so students who stand out for participating in extra-curricular activities like bake sales and clothing and food drives really stand out among their peers.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College is home away from home for many New Jersey students. The atmosphere welcomes academics with a modern approach to design as well as the unique energy between the dedicated faculty and students. This is the school for the working, returning, and family-building student who is willing to take on a scholarly challenge in order to earn their Degree.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't eat school lunch but the smell that fills up the main entrance lobby is pretty tempting.

    Dorm Life

    Sorry Guys i don't live in a dorm. But my older sister did at Johnson & Wales and she told me she loved it

    Academic Rigor

    My Professor once told me if college is not challenging you , your not learning anything

    Tips for prospective students

    Always Stay Motivated. Try to Spend a little less time with your friends and just study. Pick A career your are going to love and if you love your job and don't have a career choice think of ways to move up at your job

    In three sentences

    Bergen is the best school school for me. High School was hard there are a lot of immature people there who can take you off focus teasing, bullying, bad influences ect. But at Bergen there are so many wonderful different people there who are all about making there goals become dreams because their motivated and willing. I have been at Bergen for 7 weeks now and i have not got bullied ive met some really positive people teachers/ staff and students.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are alot of Clubs and sports to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. They have a Dunkin Donut and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    You cant dorm here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Low price. You will enjoy your time here it is very quite and people do thier own thing.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College is the best community college in the state of New Jersey. It almost looks like a University.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Bergen Community College gives a student their money's worth, especially if the student is serious about their education. They will give students endless opportunities you might only find in BCC. Also, they also give the same amount of material anyone could get in a four year college, with a community college tuition.

    What to do for fun

    there are over a hundred clubs to join in this school. its also has a constant flow of invites to activities in the school. i am part of the student activities board and they constantly put out flyers about their activities on the bulletin boards. its really is not that hard to find something to do for fun in this school all you need to do is ask around and look at the bulletin boards.

    Food and Dining

    I am a vegetarian so its really hard for me to get really good food out of my house. although, BCC has a surprisingly acceptable amount of choices for vegetarians. I've tried many other college lunchrooms and this school has a pretty good rating for me.

    Dorm Life

    unfortunately, BCC is a community college so they do not provide dorms. They are a community college and thus do not provide dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes differ with every professor, but this is still a college. students are expected to study on their own time without professors telling them to do so. initiative is key to succeed in getting a good GPA.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is a maze it is best that you take a day to look around and see what is in the campuses. I suggest that you would also take a moment to get to know your teaches.Teachers and other faculty always have their doors open for students who need help. lastly, there is also one of the best tutoring centers here, they are very nice and flexible to the times you can provide, i recommend that you visit them when you need help with your classes.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College is a very good school for students who want to test the waters and see if gaining a college education is right for them. it is a very affordable, and it also provides the same classes that you would get form a 4 year university. BCC is also close to home and yet it can still provide that college feel in a 4 year school.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is plenty of public safety on campus, and of course police that is close to the campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is heard is great. (Honor Students Only)

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are amazing here, i personally am joined to 4. there is a variety, from ethnicity to orientation, to hobby clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The peace pole is used for many occasions, such as memorials, or silent moments.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 80 clubs! You can join them, run for E-board positions too. Also, there are spot teams and even recreational sport teams.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, just a bit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorming

    Academic Rigor

    Every major here is taken seriously and also the best class to take for each major. Languages, there are a variety, from Arabic to sign language.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to socialize! A lot of diversity and people, even from New York. Also, if you want to do good, you must put the effort.

    In three sentences

    People always have a bad outlook in community schools but i would have to say that this school is the best in new jersey for sure. Most students here aren't even from this county but are willing to pay out of county taxes. MOST professors are great, although every school had bad professors, also, so many clubs and ways of getting involved with the school.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem. Bathrooms are cleaned regularly, floors are clear, school is great.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone. I am even starting a club here.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. From Hard working to lazy. The lazy have a lot to gain coming here. They can learn passion, and hardwork and gain the tools they need with the resources the school offers. Speaking from experience of course

    Bang for the buck

    its great learning atmosphere, passionate Professors, friendly facultyand staff, great library (title wise). with a copy room to boot. Tutoring, clubs, etc, make the use of it, doesn't cost extra. For the most part I think any student who comes here is going to be well taken care of. Plus the students here help each other out.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs. Gym, Discussions, Do it.

    Food and Dining

    So good but a bit pricey.. for a student to eat here everyday. Pack a lunch. There are microwaves here which is awesome. Food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm. Nor am I aware of any existing dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing major working on pre requisite. The Professors are tough but fair. They push you to study, its hard but your at the top of your game for the next class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the people here, interact, mingle, open, connect to as many different people as possible. There is so much you can learn from the experience.

    In three sentences

    Wealth of diversity and cultures to interact with on campus. Equiped with all the tools to help you suceed, tutoring, counseling, etc.Staff are friendly and helpful, even the students who work in the different department.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers hundreds of clubs and has many public events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but a tad biit expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it serious, because if you come in with a highschool mentality, you will have to work hard to when you mature in order to bring up your gpa.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are established in their fields with doctoral degrees. The classes go beyond challenges and innovatively interacts with students. The science labs are up to date and relevant.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always people around. I see county police, Paramus police, as well as Bergens own public safety officers driving and walking on campus daily.

    Greek Life

    There are honor programs here. Three in fact. All have different high ranking status's

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to sign up for that club day was split into two separate days!

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for everyone. Espically those who dont know what they want to do yet for a carrier. Also, for those who are going through finical problems. The school is an estimated $2 or $3000 a semester if you are a Bergen County resident. The bookstore gives students the option of renting books. Also students can sell their used books back to the store.

    Bang for the buck

    Low costing education. Great professors. For these educators I thought the price would be a lot more

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, events, something is ALWAYS going on in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    Really good quality food, just very expensive like any other college cafeteria. There are three cafeteria's on campus. There is one in the student center, one cyber cafe in Ender Hall, and one in the main building on the second floor.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Your professors will push you to work hard. I myself failed in math throughout high school. My math professor's office hours are reasonable and the math department itself offers tutors. Also there is a math help walk in center. Where students can just walk in and receive help with there math homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tutoring is FREE!!!! There are great work study programs as well such as note taker, computer lab supervisor, easy going jobs that pay. Class times are all up to you and what your schedule looks like. Library and computer labs are up to date with all the latest software.

    In three sentences

    In the first place, this community college offers more programs then most community colleges in New Jersey. In fact, the faculty here want you to succeed. This college gives you the college working life style while giving their students a variety of class scheduling options.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There inst much to do around the campus because there is limited clubs that are interesting. The student aren't exactly inviting either.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafiteria with high prices for college students. They have a dunkin donuts on the min campus, and a small coffee shop on the smaller building.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you find the professor who actually cares for the students and not a paycheck, then academically you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is where you go if you are unsure of what career you want to pursue. Its reasonable priced, many classes to choose from at different times, and the campus is beautiful.

    In three sentences

    Your professors can be either great, or horrible, so check ratemyprofessor.com before signing up for classes to get a students perspective of professors. The students can be the same as well; either sociable or not. The campus is a great size and everything is accessible because you are student.

  • 11/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many activities held weekly. There are flyers in the main building (Pitkin Education Center) for the various activities. There are clubs to join based on your preference.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria in Pitkin Education Center is very good. They have a Nathan's on the second flood, Dunkin Donuts on the first floor, Subway on the second floor, and various cafe shops to get a panini or a different kind of sandwich. In Ender Hall, the culinary students prepare fresh meals for students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficulty of classes depend on the teacher and the type of class it is. Generally speaking, science classes are the most difficult. Come to class everyday to get the most out of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If looking for a way to fit in quickly with students from BCC, joining a club is a good decision. There are many activities held in the Pitkin Education Center. Study and do the work required in classes. Don't give up on a class, even if you feel you aren't getting the hang of it. Ask questions and show that you are willing to learn; most teachers are willing to help their students.

    In three sentences

    Bergen is a rather large and welcoming community college. The college is clean and safe. There is always parking for commuter students.

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not had any issues with safety.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten here once and the pizza is probably the best I have had which was extremely surprising!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes have not been too difficult or not what I expected. However, you can definitely get lucky and end up with a class that is almost high school level effort wise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid process as much as possible! This has been my biggest problem here because trying to sort out problems via emails are almost useless. Also, get to the Financial Aid office early if possible because the wait is always long!

    In three sentences

    Overall a great school to do a transfer program. I have done mostly online courses, and they are a little time consuming but well worth it to get your education if you cannot get to the campus. The teachers are very helpful for the most part.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bergen has a variety of clubs that you can join and meet wonderful people that love to help others and as well the environment.

    Food and Dining

    Well about the food, there isn't a lot of options for food but i would is enough to get you through the day.

    Dorm Life

    I have nothing to say about dorm life since i used to commute to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Usually the hardness of the classes depends on the professors, but Bergen community college has great professors that are willing to take their time to help you on anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use time wisely start by taking hard classes don't leave all the hard classes to the end, try to take the general courses over the summer or winter sessions, so you will spend less time at a community college.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community is great school to start with if you are not 100% sure of what you wanna do in life. Small classes, great professor. Bergen has a nice and friendly environment.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, become part of a team, get to experience the college life

    In three sentences

    its a great school to get started on your major. Great campus, great teachers. The only college in NJ with a Veterinary program.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are cameras in the car lot.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheeper because it is a community college. To make things cheeper, try to buy used textbooks online. The book store is more expensive

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs. The also have bands perform in the student center and they do screen movies there occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not that good. They also have a Dunkin Donuts in the school which is not great.

    Dorm Life

    Bergen is a community college so there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is different for each major. I am in the Dental Hygiene program, and it is very difficult and requires a lot of time and energy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get advice from other students who have or are going through your program. The faculty and advisors are not always helpful.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are a lot of clubs we can enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have on mind your goals.

    In three sentences

    Bergen Community College been a great school. I have like how the faculty is with students. They are willing to help and encourage students to have a bright future.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student sent

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good experience. The college has a diverse group of students which is one of its many perks. The professors are also great and make time for their students.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Genuinely car and constantly are patrolling around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Such a variety!

    Bang for the buck

    You deffidently make your money's worth ! .. for less!!!

    What to do for fun

    There is many clubs, so many, just about any you can think of. They also have many different sorts teams that the school takes pride in.

    Food and Dining

    It is not so bad. They're working on adding better places like Starbucks and other places. At the Paramus campus, they have Subway, Nathan's, Dunkin Donuts and places funded by the college.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorming.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes and teachers are easy and some are very difficult. if you choose to challenege yourself you can learn a lot and go very far.

    Tips for prospective students

    BCC is a useful tool you can use to stay in school, build up your grades and save money if those are some aspects in your life you need help with. With this economy, everyone can benefit from saving money.

    In three sentences

    BCC is a very useful tool in giving those families with low income, a good quality education for less. Just as good of quality as some four year schools. You can also get your Associates Degree in your major which an transfer to many other four year schools.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety I would give 5 stars. There are always campus police patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Although I personally have never joined any clubs, I constantly hear about different kind off clubs and activities they have at bergen. As well, I constantly receive e-mails on different clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to obtain a great associates with professors willing to get you further in your life, apply to bergen !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not much of it being unusual that we have on both sides of our campus a gold course, but just makes the setting of the campus that much more beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is beautiful! There is always something to do. Hang outside by the picnic area or in the cafe getting together with some friends playing different games and activities they always have going on. Campus is very lively. Always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is not too bad here at bergen. They have the essentials. Most important a dunkin donuts! I would give bergen 4 stars for the food and dining, being a community college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at bergen community college

    Academic Rigor

    Academically bergen is good. I would give them 4 stars. Professors are always very interested in bettering you wherever they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any tips I could give would be to get involved. Bergen has so much to offer for a community school and it also looks great on your r�������©sum�������©. Bergen even has sports teams. Swimming, basketball, tennis and soccer. Get involved !

    In three sentences

    Great community college. At first I was hesitate in attending a community college out of high school, but to save money for my first couple years it was best. Bergen community college didn't make me regret my decision. Beautiful campus as well. Staff always warming and friendly.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    54 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    http://www.bergen.edu/current-students/student-life-and-judicial-affairs/clubs There is ALWAYS something going down at the school. You will never cease to be amused.

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy people and musical people. A lot of opportunities for those studying psychology and social work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around Halloween you may seem some zombies walking around, just saying.

    What to do for fun

    JOIN CLUBS! Or just sit with a group of random people who look cool and introduce yourself.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention, ask for help, and do the work required of you it should be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved involved in the club organizations. Find out about the different honor's programs on campus and study abroad program for honor's student most people don't know about. See your professors during their office hours and acquaint yourself with the librarians for help on research papers.

    In three sentences

    Full of interesting people, students and faculty alike. Academically competent and offers many opportunities to be successful to those who are willing to seek them out. Very populated.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel safe, security presence is visible and we are kept up to date of any issues

    Great for these types of students

    who want to commute.

    Bang for the buck

    Best bang for the buck - class choices are great, classes don't in general require spending a small fortune on books. Online options are plentiful.

    What to do for fun

    Play, coach and ref youth soccer games

    Food and Dining

    Good choices

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit and ask alot of questions.

    In three sentences

    Best value for my dollar. I've been happily surprised at my class choices and the interaction of the professors. This is a great community college and I wish I could do all four years here.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. I never hear of any issues in regards to violence or theft.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities offered such as art club, aviation club, history club etc..

    Great for these types of students

    Local residents and prospective transfer students

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap college to finish all associate and general education courses, in tandem with the transfer agreement, this college gives its students a high likely hood of transferring to a very good college assuming ones gpa is also very good.

    What to do for fun

    Many extracurricular clubs and sport teams, E.G. swim team, basketball team, graphic design club, literature club, Spanish club etc..

    Food and Dining

    Offers basic cafeteria with subway and dunkin doughnuts for quick meals or coffee.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent, this college is a commuter college only.

    Academic Rigor

    Some higher level science course are rather difficult (organic chemistry), other general ed courses E.g. U.S. history after reconstruction or American Lit late 1900s onward, are very easy and should be a breeze for any average student.

    In three sentences

    Very good community college, teaching staff can be hit or miss; some teachers being helpful and attentive others could careless. A lot of opportunities to transfer and has credit transfer agreements with many state and private NJ colleges.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 59

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go to many sporting events, the gym or to the student center for food and fun with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is just like every other college, edible but not the best food you've ever tasted.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are precise on what they teach and how they teach, but others are more laid back. They do not slack when it comes to learning and work, it's not an easy A college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you choose your classes early or you won't get the classes you want. Also be sure to check ratemyprofessor.com because there are some crazy professors at Bergen.

    In three sentences

    Helpful and instructive teachers. They are willing to give extra credit if needed, but you must do the work they give you. Financial aid could be better, many of my friends lost there scholarships and money due to confusion and misplaced paperwork.

  • 04/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    well protected by a lot of security guards, cameras, and police officers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wrestling, Caribbean club, fraternity's etc....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    my favorite part of the campus is the library because it is quiet and peaceful to get my work done. another place is the gym. I go to the gym on days for wrestling practice to better myself, maintain my health, and try to earn a scholarship to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, sporting events, sport team and many academic programs that are time consuming.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great cafeteria consisting of subway, houlihans, dunkin donuts and and philly cheestake. also, there are a wide verities of sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms that I have been informed about.

    Academic Rigor

    the most difficult worries of incoming college student is speech class. speech communication is very difficult and might be an issue if you do not come to class witht he right mind set.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to come with the mind set that your ready to work. always have back up for work that has to be done if lost. Always have a flash drive.

    In three sentences

    Bergen community college is a great college to look at. Bergen will give a prosperous two years and sent you off to a university of your choice. The professors are very kind and caring.

  • 06/26/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    59 of 59

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety officers are nice :)

    Greek Life

    Get a good GPA and get involved with our Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Alpha Epsilon Phi.

    What to do for fun

    Getting involved with clubs allows students to have both in-campus and off-campus interaction. Be part of what you like and surround yourself with people that you admire.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty decent. I loved the Wraps!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, but there are nice off-campus living opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    After challenging myself with an Engineering coursework and Honors classes, I can say that Bergen has successfully prepared me to my next step, my 4-year school

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Get involved! Get involved! Open your eyes and ears to opportunities around: Judith K. Winn School of Honors CLAC Cerullo Learning Assistance Center Phi Theta Kappa STEM Club Math Club Any other club that you are interested in! Take advantage of the excellent faculty members we have! Give back to the community and work hard! Smile and make your world a better place!

    In three sentences

    As the 2014 Class Valedictorian, I can proudly say that attending Bergen has been the experience of my life. I decided to attend a community college, as a financially smart option, but I found something unique that changed my perspective of education: a vibrant multicultural student community. Today I can proudly say I am a BCC graduate.