Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Berkshire Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent.

    Greek Life

    N/A. I am not sure if there are these groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    N/A (for me). There are many clubs and activities to enjoy, I have not partaken in any of them yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a test drive in college life. It will be what you make of it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BCC requires you to take part in cultural activities before graduation. The schools has many opportunities for this.

    Bang for the buck

    For a small community college this area is relatively easy to access. it is a good preparation for larger college scene. Certain credits and degrees are transferable to Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts located in North Adams with benefits accompanying this.

    What to do for fun

    There is a museum located right in Pittsfield. Bennington, VT is only an hour away. MASS MOCA (museum) is located 20 minutes away in North Adams. It also has an artist district. There are many things to do in the Berkshires within a short drive.

    Food and Dining

    I have not dined on campus but I'm sure it is fine. Off campus there are many places located within and around Pittsfield. There is main stream dining such as Applebees or little shops such as Angelinas Subs.

    Dorm Life

    N/A. I am not sure if BCC offers any kind of off campus housing. There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I would like more options for the online courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    BCC is lovely for a small community college. I am currently enrolled in Liberal Arts (A.A.) and Human Services certificate and have enjoyed the online portion/courses very much. The teachers have been extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i felt very safe. security is always around. we are taught what to do in emergency and take part in drills.

    Clubs and Activities

    though most of my time was spent on school work, i did wish there was a cheerleading or club to take part in for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    any one is welcome to bcc, any age, gender, income, race, etc...

    Bang for the buck

    bcc is affordable. there are many ways to pay for school as well such as work study, loans, or a payment plan. its great because most classes transfer to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    the gym is often daily and there are several clubs/organizations to take part in.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is better than high school, more choices/safer options.

    Dorm Life

    bcc doesn't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    doing very is always encouraged by the staff. helpful tools like free tutoring and study workshops are a plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    i recommend starting off with your gen-ed courses. this way if plans charge, the time and money spent doesn't become a waste.

    In three sentences

    bcc is great! 4:5 stars is an appropriate rating. it gives the students an equal opportunity and has many tools to help me succeed.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Patterson Fieldhouse has all of your athletic needs taken care of. There is a hiking trail for those needing to take a break.

    Food and Dining

    The food service and quality, choices are of very good character.

    Dorm Life

    There is none here.

    Academic Rigor

    The Music major is growing stronger by the year and is becoming a first class choice for those who are new to the field, or financially challenged. I believe that classical guitar ensembles should be considered as an addition in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Inquire as to who teaches your chosen classes, and find out how what their format, personality, and likes are.

    In three sentences

    Is a fine, small foot in the door, or undecided, or academic return after a long term hiatus choice. It is well staffed and has clean efficient classrooms. Students are serious about their studies, however, they are present in a calm non-stressed atmosphere.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    A community college welcomes everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students can benefit from this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The afternoon forums are inspiring and educational. The new gym is state of the art.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has all the basics for preparing you for furthering your education or working in the community.

    What to do for fun

    Tennis, skiing, movies at local theaters. Many theatrical events on campus. Brand new exercise gym.

    Food and Dining

    Wish it stayed open longer!

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing for a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss this wonderful educational opportunity. Top teachers, demanding top performance is key to getting you to the top!

    In three sentences

    Berkshire Community College is a top notch school committed to excellence. Standards are high; teachers are accessible; success depends upon a commitment to learning! It's the greatest!

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security staff was always circling the parking lot to make sure everyone was safe. I was a night student for a little while and the security always made sure they were around to watch students get to their cars safely.

    What to do for fun

    I loved using the exercise equipment that they supplied to all attending students.

    Dorm Life

    There was no on campus living at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research all of the degree programs to make sure the one you pick best suites you!

    In three sentences

    This college helped me understand the importance of trying until you succeed, and never give up. I attended this college right at the end of my high school year in 2007 and was able to get a jump start on all of my college learning. The teachers and administration was so helpful in pushing me along and pointing me in the right direction when needed. I wouldnt be moving forward towards a bachelors degree without all the help from Berkshire Community College and all their staff.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police patrolling the parking lots and ensuring the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    I'm not really sure about that.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations that are available to the eager student.

    Great for these types of students

    I think BCC is great for the older adult who is looking to further their education and to improve in the workplace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual locations at BCC.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the cost for tuition is reasonable, but it has increased every year since I've started in 2009.

    What to do for fun

    Pittsfield is full of shops, restaurants, and a few museums so there is plenty to do with your friends and family.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are great and the prices are reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes for the nursing program are very intense and prioritizing your time with class projects is essential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your major and ask questions whenever possible, this will help you to be successful.

    In three sentences

    Berkshire Community College has a great nursing program. The faculty are very helpful and dedicated to the students. I have had a great experience thus far.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a very good security team. Their presence is seen and known on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is Student Government, Mass Pirg, and many other clubs and activities for you to enjoy! Visit berkshirecc.edu for more information.

    Great for these types of students

    BCC is a great school for anyone, but if you are a non-traditional student like me, you will find that there are many of us on campus. Join the Non-Trad club and TRIO and you will have the opportunity to meet with these students and get the support that you need after being out of school for so many years!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college for the first two years is a lot cheaper than a four-year college. And if you fill out your fafsa by May 1st, and you qualify for a pell grant, you can get an Associate's Degree for FREE at BCC!

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities to meet new people and go on trips, etc. There is a brand new pool and gym on campus and even a new tennis court!

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. There's a great salad bar everday, along with a steamline, grill and sandwiches and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt absolutely challenged by the coursework. And all of my teachers and professors were very helpful with meeting with me after class to answer any questions, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you take advantage of all the resources provided. There is free tutoring for all subjects, there is a wonderful TRIO chapter on campus, and a full gym for when you want to work out and have fun!

    In three sentences

    Berkshire Community College provides a great deal of support for its students. From the first time I stepped foot onto the campus, until the day I graduated, I felt that I was truly part of a wonderful community of caring and helpful people.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus but the campus security is sort of just a joke. All I see the security do is drive around. They rarely hand out tickets or say much of anything. Sadly, They get very little respect.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in a club but a lot of the clubs seem great. The theater program looks amazing. Plenty of the other clubs travel regularly. I am looking for one that interests me.

    Great for these types of students

    Great place for older students who are going back to school and a great place for the younger student who is still searching for what they want in their life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The huts for smoking around the campus are unusual but I believe they around being removed August 1st when the campus goes completely smoke free. They are known as the Butt Huts for cigarette butts...

    Bang for the buck

    It is a cheap school with helpful teachers. A student will get out with the amount of effort they put in. A great place to start. A great place to leave from, not to go back to.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of people are in clubs. I see a lot people have frisbee passes. There is a large group of people who play all sorts of card games. Not gambling but cards such as Pokemon, Yugioh, Magic Etc. if one is interested in that. The gym was just updated and is very nice also.

    Food and Dining

    It is not very good. I found that the breakfast food was good but the lunch food was below average. The best food is the bagels because they are from a local bagel shop, not made at BCC.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is rather easy. It can be hard with certain teachers. I got the feeling that the professors just wanted the students to get good grades and they did that by making their classes easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that you should explore your other options before definitely attending BCC. I felt that it was very easy to get A's and B's without learning much of anything and not paying attention. I looked for the teacher where they kind of forced you to learn.

    In three sentences

    Berkshire Community College is a school where the professors are very willing to help. The campus is very easy to learn and get around in. Lastly, you reap what you sew.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Clubs and Activities

    Environmental club

    Great for these types of students

    Community college is a great way for non-traditional students to go back to school.

    What to do for fun

    The berkshires offer winter and summer sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, especially the salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a dorm. I am a non-traditional parent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at community college offer you the same challange as a 4 year school and help you to start your college path.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college is a great way to start your college career because it is less expensive and offers almost all courses you would take at a 4 year school.

    In three sentences

    It is a great way to start your college career. You have a good student/teacher ratio. It is less expensive.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't much that occurs on campus that makes anyone really feel unsafe. Because it is a community college there are no safety phones or buttons like some universities have, but that has never made me feel unsafe. The campus is small enough that you don't feel like you off alone walking anywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    Homebodies, undecided majors, parents, workers

    Bang for the buck

    The main reason I went to BCC was because it was going to save me so much money. For the two years you are there you get a great basis education and you can get all your core classes before you move on to another college. Or you can come right out of BCC with a degree and find a decent job!

    What to do for fun

    I personally didn't get too involved in BCC. But there are many forums that go on every week which can be enjoyable to go to depending on what it is on. The theater put on a number of performances throughout the year. There are also many sport activities you can join.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at BCC, so I could not make a full judgement on this. I have heard that the cafeteria is not bad and serves all kinds of food. A lot of people talk about the salad bar. Many hallways have vending machines which is convenient for on the go snacking. There are also microwaves located around campus to heat up some food or a drink.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at BCC, so there is no way to rate this.

    Academic Rigor

    I'd say that the classes are easily doable, but you have to want to do well. Classes hardness depends strictly on the classes you are taking and the teachers you have. I have been in a wide variety of classes and have done well in all of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this is a community college, you cannot take it as a joke. College is important no matter where you go and it's important to stay on top of your work. Work hard and stay focused!

    In three sentences

    Berkshire Community College is a great college for being only a two-year school. The people on campus are typically very friendly and it's easy to settle in here. The teachers are great and this is just a good school to get a cheaper education at.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Berkshire Community College is great for any students who are still learning what career path to take.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college offers music and food on certain days. It's a great way to get together with friend, listen to music and meet new people.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many activities, both indoor and outdoor. You can do anything from hiking on campus to going on field trips to museums.

    Dorm Life

    Berkshire Community College does not offer dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    At Berkshire Community College the academic criteria is very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Berkshire Community College is perfect for students who are undecided in the career path they want to choose. Get involved with the activities the school offer, they're a lot of fun and you will meet a variety of people. Stay in touch with the teachers, they give wonderful support and guidance.

    In three sentences

    Berkshire Community College has a great education program. The faculty and students on campus are all wonderful, they help getting students involved in the community. The college also has great group activities.