Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bethany College - Kansas Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/04/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are from a very small school and like that type of atmosphere, you will probably like bethany.

    Tips for prospective students

    small town-country life style. limited things to do in lindsborg so get involved in campus life. music and the arts are big here. attend sports events or play on a team.

    Bang for the buck

    wow! i am able to attend bethany this fall with the scholarships and awards i have received from this college. i like the fact that if i work hard they are renewable!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is very small and the students I met really helped me figure things out. Great beginning experience on campus. I was amazed that some of the staff already knew things about me before I arrived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    i thought the people at bethany were very helpful when i attended early registration.

  • 01/25/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    i went to a visit and everyone there is so friendly. i was accepted right off the bat.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great college if you like a smaller atmosphere and more personal relations with teachers and students

    Bang for the buck

    Although the initial price may seem daunting, they offer so many great scholarships! That was the main incentive for me to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone here was very welcoming and inviting the two times I have been on campus. The admission staff really tries to get you know you and the students are eager to show you around and talk about student life.

    Will learn a lot

    They seem to have a great Honors Program that looks academically challenging.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a strong connection to small town kansas, Sweden, or to their faith would really enjoy this school. Also students who are very green would like Bethany because there is a lot of recycling and other environmentally friendly projects going on on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany is a little expensive and if you aren't 100% sure on what you want to major in I would recommend going to a community college and then transferring in after you have decided on a major. But the upside is that Bethany offers many scholarships for academics, athletics, and the arts. These scholarships help make an education at Bethany affordable for everyone.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are this school are amazing. Actually everyone in the town is amazing as well. They are so nice and welcoming and they genuinely mean it. The people here are definitely why I chose Bethany.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love this school. Even though it is in a town smaller than what I'm used to the people here are amazing. Every professor that teaches my classes knows everyone's name. They also notice when your not in class but they see you in the cafeteria later on in the day. I can go and talk to my professors any time during the day. Because classes are so small if I have to miss a class because of sports or because I'm sick my professors work with me on getting caught up.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Too many to mention! Bethany and Lindsborg are the definition of traditions. Campus is really small, but people enjoy hanging out in the ampitheatre and the gazeebo. Off campus, the Stuga is a great place to hang out (and a tradition in itself), Coronado Heights, the park right next to campus...I could go on and on.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is high, but the quality of the instructors makes up for it.

    What to do for fun

    Student Activities Board always has something going on. Trips to MacPherson for movies, dances, activities, games, concerts, art shows plus a talent show at the end of the fall semester! Salina isn't too far away if you're looking to go clubbing, plus they have a mall for shopping.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat. There is always pizza, salad, and hamburgers on the menu, but a HUGE plus is the delicious vegetarian fare. I gained 10 pounds first semester!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, and have not lived in them. I have friends that do, and they say they aren't too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenges around every corner! Instructors are never too busy to help you when you need time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved with both the community of the college and the town. Study hard, try not to eat too much at the caf, and find a crowd. Bethany is a great place to be with small classes and instructors who really do care!

    In three sentences

    Bethany has been the best thing to ever happen to me. From the instructors to staff (even at the caf!), everyone is supportive in ways I couldn't imagine. It will be a sad day when I have to leave Bethany for Grad school.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 2 very hard working security guards that monitor the campus at all times and are very easy to get a hold of if anything happens. They will even walk you back to your dorm if you feel unsafe for any reason. The police are also very active in the town so very little happens crime wise near campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of Greek organizations on campus not all of them are National though. The non-academic Greek groups are relatively new to the school so there are some kinks to get worked out especially with all the legal issues of not being Nationally Affiliated.

    What to do for fun

    In a small town there is not much to do indoors but there are sports teams you can join or clubs around campus. Bethany also tries to have campus-wide entertainment events where everyone can relax and hang out that are usually pretty fun. Then 20 minutes North or South there is Salina and McPherson where there are more places to hang out or get food.

    Food and Dining

    The Caf has its ups and downs, there is a salad bar that is usually pretty well stocked and there is always stuff to make sandwiches. Some of the main meals are bland though and can be very unhealthy for you. The staff is very nice though and work hard on any suggestions you give them.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty nice for the most part, they can get pretty loud though so if you like it quiet when you sleep I suggest some earplugs. The rooms are fairly small and there aren't many ways you can arrange them so don't bring too much stuff. the RAs are pretty strict on the rules so read the handbook online before you buy anything.

    Academic Rigor

    All the science programs are very rough, the material is extensive but the success rate is really good for continuing to Grad School. Bethany has an excellent teaching program with lots of opportunities to student teach and observe in a classroom. With the classes being tougher

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come from a big city or high school with a lot of kids be prepared for a little shock to the dynamics of a small school. The campus is old so there are some improvements that need to be made. Never upset the police in town because more than likely you will see them at least once a day just walking around

    In three sentences

    Bethany is a really friendly school in general. All the Professors genuinely care about how you are doing outside the classroom. The small campus makes it easy to get help from other students and to make friends even if you're shy.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Besides a stolen bike there has never been anything serious.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is great, they do not have their own houses so they are really apart of the community. They certainly are not bullies

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs but you have to drive any where from 10-30 to get there. But the drive is worth it!

    Great for these types of students

    Who like home-y environments and a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its in a Swedish town and once a year there is a huge festival that takes place in the town. Lots of fun!

    Bang for the buck

    They sure know where to put your money for good use.

    What to do for fun

    Long drives and walks, go hang out with friends, play pool, go to the local bar, go to movies and SAB (student advisory board) events.

    Food and Dining

    can be a little high on the carb side but there are a lot of options, including vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    Is great! everyone is very welcoming and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are really interested in you as a person and are always willing to help. They sometimes even take their day off to come in and help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small school so make sure you like that kind of environment. Also its not much of a party school we do have fun though!

    In three sentences

    One the best schools I could have chosen for me, in that it does not feel like I am just a number but rather a friend and student. The environment is that of a family, everyone is friendly and interested in you as a person.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Although the town is tiny, there are still a lot of fun activities at Bethany College. You can guarantee that the 'Ol Stuga is busy every weekend, and sporting events are full.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is cafe food.

    Dorm Life

    I have met friends for a life time living in the dorms at Bethany. Although the dorms could use a little renovating, I feel as if they are one of the best I have seen.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged, yet capable attending Bethany.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I have for a future student at Bethany College would be to use your resources. Bethany offers so many options for success, and I would recommend you using them.

    In three sentences

    Attending Bethany College was probably the best decision I have made in my life thus far. Although it is a small school, I can see myself accomplishing big things here. I love this school.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always concerts, sporting events, and club activities with which to get involved. Sometimes, the town also offers some fun Swedish cultural events which are open to students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wides selection of cultural and traditional dishes, as well as an excellent salad bar. Is it like restaurant dining? No. Despite this, it is better than many other colleges I have visit.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus, so I am no expert. However, the limited time I have spent in them leads me to believe that they are fairly typical private school dorms. Small rooms, noisy halls, and weird carpet are something for which to look forward.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are not the hardest, most passionate, or even the best I have ever studied under. However, each student is responsible for his/her own education. Students will get out what they are willing to put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    The education a student receives is really dependent upon the student his/herself. The teachers are good, but will not force students to learn. A person will get out what they are willing to put in. Take advantage of the activities, sports, and clubs - there are many and since the school is small a person can be involved in many. Take advantage of the intimate class sizes; they provide lots of teacher and student interaction.

    In three sentences

    On the positive side, Bethany has a very welcoming staff and atmosphere. It does not, however, uphold the Christian values that its add campaigns imply. Bethany is a typical example of a small-town private college, with friendly people and as much teacher interaction as the student is willing to put time into.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like small classes more of a secluded feel

    Bang for the buck

    it was a little hard to get enough money with no help but bethany helped me out a lot.

    What to do for fun

    i like to hang out with my friends and i heard intramural sports are fun

    Food and Dining

    food is way different that high school food i like it

    Dorm Life

    Its not home but its not hard to make it feel like it

    Academic Rigor

    i dont know a whole lot as i havent been here that long

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun its not as scary as it seems at first.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school a nine out of ten. It has a great friendly atmosphere. Every one there is really helpful and best decision I could have made.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Vary good

    Greek Life

    Yes we have that

    Clubs and Activities

    BioChem Club, Green Team, Tri-Beta, Community Garden and much more.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in BioChem Club, Tri-Beta, Green Team, Community Garden, go to sporting events, hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Average.

    Dorm Life

    Average.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethany College will get you ready for whatever field you decide to go into.

    Tips for prospective students

    College can be fun, but make sure you know the consequences if you do something that you shouldn't be doing. Have fun! Get involved in as many activities as you can!

    In three sentences

    Bethany has a 95% rate of getting college students jobs when they get their degree. Great student to teacher ratio. You don't have to pay for laundry, parking or printing.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have 8 local Greek organizations, as well as national greek honor societies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are located in Lindsborg which is Little Sweden so everything is pretty much Swedish. We perform Handel's Messiah every year.

    What to do for fun

    The Stuga is a local hang out. Otherwise there are plenty of on campus events such as game shows and midnight movies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent. Sometimes it has amazing food, other times not so much.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm your in it's pretty nice. The rooms aren't too small and there is free laundry! Sometimes it gets really loud and sometimes not all the washers work.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others depending on the level and the professor. If you put forth the effort the professors will work with you. They want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always visit perspective schools and try to sit in on an actual class! Keep an open mind and apply many places.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes with great professors who actually care. Located in a wonderful small community. Best college experience I could hope for.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There aren't any cameras and campus security only comes out at night and most of the time doesn't do much. There's a lot of vandalism and theft. Therefore, I believe cameras and more security measures should be implemented.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of greek life here and it is so much fun. There are 4 sororities and fraternities and we all get together different times throughout the year. I am also a member of Greek council.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are really good everyone here is involved in at least one program and it helps in making friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every two years on homecoming there is a Swedish festival in downtown Lindsborg.

    Bang for the buck

    No, the money that you pay to go here is not worth it. The food isn't good and it is very fun here.

    What to do for fun

    Visiting other cities is fun and going to downtown lindsborg to get to see the Swedish culture can be fun

    Food and Dining

    The food is very bad. Not only are their not very many options, but the food will not leave you full and is not substantial for athletes.

    Dorm Life

    It isn't too bad the rooms are nice, but very small so it is better if you don't have a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors can be harder than others, but the classes will prepare you for life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study a lot Don't have a roommate Have a car Play a sport Don't get into a relationship Make friends with your teachers and the staff Get a job on campus

    In three sentences

    Bethany College is a Christian School. This school is full of core values. The people here will make a great impact on your life.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's no time for fun, not for me at least. Most people participate in the SAB events on campus every few weeks.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not the greatest in the world. They offer a wide variety of options for different cultures and it all is good but it's definitely not like what you would get at home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are well maintained. They are a little dated and could use some updating but in general they are great places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are tough and prepare you well for the working world. Currently I am taking 25.5 credit hours this semester and will be each semester in order to graduate in 4 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go out and make friends. Get to know people. Most importantly, SHOW UP TO CLASS. It is incredibly difficult to catch up if you fall behind.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great school. I has a large number of majors and has well educated professors. Wish it had better food though.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk anywhere in town and be fine. The most dangerous thing out there is the weather!

    What to do for fun

    Again, it is what yo make it.

    Food and Dining

    Get a fridge. Go shopping. Stock up.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on your professor and your ability to pay attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan for to get a car within the first few years, it can get a little boring at the dorm.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice environment. Its really peaceful. The best way to START a college career but not to finish