Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bethany College - West Virginia Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing students who are looking to fluff their resume with a lot of executive positions and club activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students have to be prepared to get involved, or face the most mind-numbingly boring four years ahead of them. Make sure you also keep all paperwork and carefully read that paperwork, as mistakes are often made (particularly with financial aid) due to lack of a complete staff.

    Bang for the buck

    This is tough to answer. On one hand, many of the classrooms are poorly equipped to maximize the learning experience. The Internet is frustratingly slow at times and as with all bureaucratic institutions, there are always administration issues. However, the one advantage of attending a school as small as Bethany is you form close relationships with your professors. This in turn means that they will generally go out of their way to help you in any way they can, whether it be help outside the classroom or recommending you for awards, honor societies, scholarships, jobs, etc.

    Am enjoying being here

    Without a doubt I love being at Bethany. The one downfall is that Bethany College is very small and sometimes it feels like there isn't much going on. However, like I mentioned above, it's all about what you make of it. There are over 30 different clubs on campus to get involved in (I know this because I just retired from my position as Student Body President and head of the Student Government at the end of this last term). Many of these clubs go to conferences and travel. As president of German Club, I've had the opportunity to have hands-on experiences with planning abroad trips for the students in the club. These experiences have taught me financial responsibility, as I often am holding large sums of money in my care at any given time. My sophomore year, I earned the Freshman of the Year award because I was involved in numerous activities while still carrying a full load of classes and receiving academic achievement. One of the most recent organizations that I'm excited about is we have introduced a peer mentoring program where Bethany College students volunteer to get paired with an international student (most from Heidelberg, Germany, where I studied abroad for a semester). It's a great opportunity to get introduced to someone from a different culture and it's a great help to the international student!

    Am learning a lot

    As with any school, what you learn and get out of your classes depends on your own attitude, no matter what the major. The great thing about Bethany is that it is a liberal arts college, which means every student is required to take a certain amount of credits from each department. As a student who has a major within the humanities department, I am a true believer in the liberal arts, and I feel we benefit educationally and personally by having a complete understanding of how fields of study can truly be inter-related.

  • 12/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Oh let me count the great things. Small classes, individual attention, scholarships, financial aid, labs, one on one with professors and tutors, help sessions, extended times if needed to get work accomplished due to competitions, great food-everything is done right then. Lots of friendships on a small scale. Who could ask for more!

    Tips for prospective students

    As you look for a college, you want to find somewhere that you feel comfortable, that fits you as an individual. The enrollment staff are great, they are quick to answer questions, the counselors will let you combine just about anything for a major. The small town atmosphere is really great to feel like you are a part of the campus. The sight is awesome too from the mountainside! Food is fabulous-made right then.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though the cost to come to Bethany is a little high, the rewards you receive as a student, the quality of student life, the individual attention, the numerous resources that are available to you, they make everything worth the payments. I looked at several other colleges that cost about the same in OH and KY and none compared to what I have available to me. Go Bethany!!

    Am enjoying being here

    When I came, I knew no one and felt a little uneasy. This college has allowed me to become involved in animal activities, riding sports, spend time with new found friends, watching presentations from the theater area and all kinds of professional entertainment brought in from outside the college

    Am learning a lot

    This is a great place to learn. I came with one major and now have switched due to the teachers and the one on one attention I get. We have small classes and lots of individual attention. Just what I have needed. If you have questions or need help, they have teachers, tutors, workshops and all kinds of help. No reason anyone can't succeed with Bethany College

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always on campus 24-7. They are friendly, always there to help out when needed, and are not out to bust students.

    Greek Life

    About 50% of students on Bethany College's campus is greek affiliated. Bethany has 3 sorority chapters, and 5 fraternity chapters. Bethany College is also the founding location for the Delta Tau Delta chapter. All sororities are on campus, while only 3 fraternities are on campus, with the rest located in town. The Greek Life plays just as big of a role in the college as the independates because of the greek to independate ration of 1:1.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bethany has a many clubs, organizations, activities, etc. Everything is controlled by the students. The students of Bethany have a lot of power here. Only legal and educational matters are always handled by the administration, with students being allowed to voice their opinions if the legal or educational matter involves the students. Yet, all in all, almost everything is run by, and based off the students and their decisions.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to be apart of a personal community where everyone knows everyone, Bethany is the place for you. If you want to be in an area which gives you the great opportunity to focus on college work, Bethany is the place for you. If you like a location where the surrounding towns are filled with family owned shops and fun things to do, Bethany is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that the Student Activities Council provides to the college, which is all decided by student decisions. There is another university within 10 minutes in which many students from both schools combine in activities. There is a park within Bethany, a few fitness buildings, and a recreation center. You can go fishing in the buffalo, hiking throughout the hills and woods, bowling in Wellsburg, or go to Bubba's Bison Inn. Wheeling, WV is a 25 minute drive south of Bethany, Weirton and Steubenville are both a 25 minute drive north; and Pittsburgh is about a 1 hour drive from Bethany.

    Food and Dining

    Bethany College had a history of having bad food, but now has multiple locations, and food types for the college community. The staff provide food for people with dietary restrictions and are willing to help out in anyway. Our cafeteria was just remolded in 2011 and now provides a better way to keep your food safe, and clean until it is on your plate. Hours of operation for all 3 dining locations are great because they fit with the students schedules.

    Dorm Life

    Within Bethany, you have many different types of places to live. All girls/guys 2-person per room dorms; co-ed apartment style; suite style with up to 6 roommates; drug, alcohol, and smoke free floors/buildings; and even an always quiet floors/buildings. Your choice of residence can be right next to the academic location of the college, or can be as far away as a 10 minute walk. Resident Assistants have social events for all dorms, floors, etc. and provide assistance at all times.

    Academic Rigor

    For how small Bethany College is, there are many choices to study within this liberal arts college. Physical Sciences, Natural Sciences, Languages, Mathematics, Fine Arts, Visual Arts, Communications, Religion, Business, Politics, History, Sports Management, Education, and Equestrian are a few of the areas of study. The professors will listen to the students to help introduce material better in the classroom. If any problems occur, the administration have always handled the problems quickly and effectively to ensure that the students education is not diminished in anyway.

    Tips for prospective students

    You may have heard your parents or grandparents saying that when they were young, they had to walk up hill to school. Well, Bethany college is this type of school. You are allowed vehicles, but everything in the college and town is within a 20 minute walking distance. The professors expect you to do your part and do your work. They are willing to help you out, but only if you are willing to help yourself. Bethany is different than many colleges and universities because you will get to know everyone on campus and all the professors. The President, administration, faculty, staff, etc. will all be involved in you daily life here at Bethany. Also, because Bethany is a small environment college, the faculty, staff, admin. etc become like friends and not just the college workers. If you plan on coming to Bethany, prepare for hills, curvy roads, small communities where shops are family owned, and where everyone is on a more personal level.

    In three sentences

    Bethany College is a small non-sectarian, liberal arts college affiliated with the Disciples of Christ, in which you are immersed within a close-nit community surrounded by the beautiful hills of West Virginia. Bethany is secluded from society so it is easy to focus on your studies, yet Bethany is still within a good distance of Wheeling, Steubenville, and Pittsburgh. If you want an area that provides you with a great environment to study; a small community to know everyone; and a helpful, relaxed, and caring administration/faculty... Bethany College is a great place to attend.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security driving around campus, and if not they are just a call away.

    Greek Life

    the Greek life on campus is great, they clean up the campus constantly and are all anti hazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    theres alot of different sports teams on campus, and a few academic clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    the price is a little high, but the schooling is worth the cost

    Food and Dining

    the food is not great, but there are several options for dining.

    Dorm Life

    The r.a's defiantly make the experience great. there is a lot of dorm specific events, and the rooms are clean and kept in great order.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is difficult , but the professors are always ready to lend a hand and there is many different tutors for every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared for a large load of work.

    In three sentences

    a small college of national distinction is a great way to describe my school, the campus is breathtaking and there are many people from different nationalities, and the professors are very helpful and caring. the courses are very stimulating and i learn something new every day.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bethany's campus is spread out, thus, having multiple areas that are dark. However, while only a few security guards are on campus at a time, it is not uncommon for security to give students a ride back to campus if weather is bad or the student feels unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very important on this campus. The majority of students are involved in Greek life and therefore it is an excellent opportunity to meet people. However, there is no requirement that an individual has to join and many students don't judge based on one's Greek involvement.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for many of the majors; however not all clubs or club members are very involved. The one thing to keep in mind is that things are what you make of them. For a student who enjoys spearheading projects this is the perfect opportunity to jump start the club of his/her choice and put the spark back into getting involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethany College is fantastic for students interested in the arts, involved in athletics, or students interested in a small community based college.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany college is relatively expensive; however, students have to consider that college is an investment in their future. In exchange for a slightly larger student loan, students can enjoy a serious education, many culturally diverse opportunities, and connections that can make finding employment post college a lot easier.

    What to do for fun

    While Bethany is located out of the way there are still many activities for the average student to enjoy. Apart from their excellent fitness center open to all, students are only thirty minutes from many big names stores, fifteen minutes from a neighboring college, and there is the option of a local bar to students of legal age.

    Food and Dining

    Bethany College offers a variety of different foods for every meal. For student's with allergies or diet restrictions, they work to ensure that there is always something for you to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different rooming options for the Bethany College student. While the walk may be slightly more inconvenient, Campbell Village offers suites that gives one the feel of an apartment while still being connected to the other students.

    Academic Rigor

    While this school works hard to challenge it's students, the small class sizes and experienced teachers are always available for additional help to anyone that seeks it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student's considering this school should be made aware that as a liberal arts school, as such numerous classes outside their majors will be required of them.

    In three sentences

    Bethany offers a wonderful campus to student's seeking a small liberal arts school. This college is ideally located so that students have the opportunity to visit neighboring colleges and experience the feel the thrill of a bigger city but all the while living in a quite, safe community.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have good security who keep the campus safe. however, there are barley any street lights.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is important here at BC, however, there is a negative stigma that is displayed through the unnecessary rivalry among the houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot here. I am involved in Student Activities Council. I am currently starting my second year as president. I am also a sister of the Phi Mu sorority.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the intimate setting between faculty, staff, and peers. Students who are open minded and are creative. Students who like to be secluded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The procession through Ogalby Gates is a tradition. Students go through the side gates as a freshman at matriculation, and process through the middle as a senior at commencement .

    Bang for the buck

    I get myself involved. I take advantage of programing that occurs on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in clubs and a sorority. I make the best of my time and never have a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    It is not the best, however, it is filling.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is full of variety. There is a style of living for every style of life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is academically challenging, however, students receive individual help from professors when requested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and take full advantage of every opportunity presented on campus. Think outside the box.

    In three sentences

    This school is a beautiful place. Sometimes students have to look deep into before finding a niche that makes them feel like this is the place for them. I wish the president put more emphasis on the DOC importance on campus rather than making athletics the biggest priority.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have campus security that patrols the campus along with state police.

    Greek Life

    they live and hang around each other like brothers and sisters

    Clubs and Activities

    the school has a bar/club walking distance

    Great for these types of students

    its great for student that get distracted easily

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school during once first arrive would have you walk through their main gates i don't know its tradition of the school

    Bang for the buck

    You don't really need money to survive around campus unless you are trying to order pizza or books from the book store besides that you really don't need money or need to spend a lot

    What to do for fun

    there a few fun thing to do for example hang around other friends, go out to Morgan town and party, and few school related activities planed by the students.

    Food and Dining

    food is good they have many choices to pick from

    Dorm Life

    good only problem is theft

    Academic Rigor

    it hard to get a study group together everybody is out doing their own thing

    Tips for prospective students

    the learning environment is good but makes sure you get help from the learning center

    In three sentences

    It is a quite small school. Teachers are nice and are available if needed.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only crime that occurs on campus is theft.

    Greek Life

    There are numerous frats and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small school, Bethany offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities to its students.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a small school that offers its students a more personalized style of learning.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany is a pricy private school, but the education you receive is worth it. The school is cheaper than a lot of other private institutions.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to the bar, attend athletic events, go to the concerts and other events hosted on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food isn't the best, but the Beanary is a great option for breakfast and lunch. Boomers offers students an alternative dinner spot as well. The fact that these two places offer meal replacements comes in very handy.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in a dorm without air conditioning, but it is only hot for about a month during the school year. My dorm is pretty outdated, but most of the other dorms are more modern.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as difficult as you make them. If you study and do your work you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your gpa and test scores as high as possible so you maximize how much scholarship money you get. Take advantage of dual credit and AP classes in high school so you can get done early or avoid taking classes like college writing.

    In three sentences

    Bethany College is a great school for any student looking for a small college. The professors are great and are willing to to help you if you ask. Also, they have a great policy for transfer credits and AP credits.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is a very safe place to be. Security is on call 24/7 and tends to ride around the campus at all hours of the day. They provide rides across campus if you need them at night or if you are injured. Also, the Town of Bethany has an active police department and a fire department that are available at all hours.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very big in Bethany as there is not much to do. We have 3 sororities: Alpha Xi Delta, Phi Mu, and Zeta Tau Alpha. We have 5 active fraternities: Alpha Sigma Phi, Beta Theta Pi, Delta Tau Delta, Phi Kappa Tau, and Sigma Nu.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bethany offers a very diverse collection of clubs and activities. About 75% of the campus is involved in athletics. 95% is involved in Greek Life. And just about everyone is involved in some sort of club whether that be within their major, an interest they have, or a language.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethany is a great place for students who know how to active and make their own fun. It is in a very rural area on top of a mountain.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one thing that makes Bethany unique is that it has a general store called Chamber's and a bar called Bubba's Bison Inn on Main Street. These two places provide a lot of character to the town that the college is built in.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany provides a very good education, however it is a private school so therefore it costs a bit more than the average state college. The teachers are always at the students disposal whether by email, cell phone, or office hours. The President, Vice President, and most of the higher up people within the college know most students by name and are always willing to help if a student has an issue.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do around the actual college but it is only 45 minutes from Pittsburgh, PA and 25 minutes from Wheeling, WV, Weirton, WV, and Triadelphia, WV where there are a lot of restaurants, shops, and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Depending upon what you like to eat/drink, there are 3 different places that one can eat on campus with their meal plan. Boomer's contains fast food like quesidilla's, burgers, salads, fries, etc. The Beanery is your typical coffee and pastry/bagel/breakfast sandwich place. And the last place you can eat is the cafeteria which is similar to all colleges.

    Dorm Life

    There are 4 different types of residence at Bethany College: 1. Campbell Village (apartment style - four bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, & a living room); 2. Cochran Hall (apartment style - 3 bedrooms, one bathroom, & a living room); 3. Harlan Hall/Phillips Hall (typical college dorm - Harlan is all boys & Phillips is all girls); 4. Greek Houses (if you decide to join a greek house, you can move in).

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Bethany are very good about answering emails right away and being in their offices when they are supposed to. Classes depending on the major you wish to partake in may be difficult but the professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be in the middle of nowhere. It takes 10 minutes to get to the nearest gas station or grocery store. Yes, there are things to do but you need to find them out for yourself as they may not be that obvious to you.

    In three sentences

    Bethany is not only a college but a family in my eyes. A smile, a wave, or even a slight head nod is given by every single person you pass while walking through the campus. I love the atmosphere and am happy to be attending school here.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the small town feel and if you're OK traveling 20 minutes to get to the nearest Wendy's. Anyone intending on majoring in liberal arts would find this place to be a great fit. Its a friendly, beautiful campus (although hilly) and the professors really care.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Seniors are required to take a senior comprehensive exam, which we have been told that only Ivy League schools practice this. They also have to complete a senior project. Freshman are required to return to a January term, that is a 3-hr class held once a day for about 3 weeks. After your freshman year, J term is only an option.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany gave me a lot of money to go here so if you put the effort in, it can be worth it. The business office has absolutely no concept of money or scholarships so be careful.

    What to do for fun

    Bethany is in the middle of nowhere and its a drive to find entertainment. There really is never anything happening on campus besides little activities the RA's put together. A lot of students party at Frat houses or a particular dorm we call CV, or Bubba's, the town's bar. Partying is big here and I cant seem to find a happy medium.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is OK. Stay away form the cafeteria...it is usually not the best place to eat, but there are 2 other places on campus that have great food. Food is kind of expensive, though. Its unreasonably priced in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm here has its own type. I currently live in a traditional, older dorm and it is quite cozy and friendly. The RA's are very nice and almost everyone is friends with everyone on the hall. All the dorms are close to major facilities on campus. You make your closest friends in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Your freshman year will be your easiest, just like any college. I feel that the coursework can be challenging at points, enough to make you actually think and put the effort in, but there is never too much homework. I don't find any of the majors here to be significantly hard. We are no Ivy League school, but we are a small, liberal arts college that cares about education.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very small school so be prepared. The drinking scene is a large scene here. Get to know your professors because you could get valuable opportunities, like research projects. We have a great Communications and Psychology department. This is not a place suited for students interested in a pre-med track.