Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bethany Lutheran College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a smaller campus where professors know and care about the students. I believe that unlike most other colleges, the professors here really work hard and try to make sure that students are understanding and learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard for all the scholarships that Bethany offers that apply to you. When I first looked at the cost I thought there was no way I would be able to afford it. But Bethany offers a lot of scholarships and it really helped reduce the cost.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany seems to be expensive, but it provides a lot of scholarships. The people who work there also try to help prospective students reduce costs and keep money from not hindering them from attending. A good education from professors who care is really worth the cost, no matter what it may be.

    Will enjoy being here

    Many people I know have attended Bethany and everyone tells me that they had a lot of fun. It's a small campus which allows students to make many strong friendships.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a smaller, christian (Lutheran), safe, and clean college where you are an individual not a number to the professors and staff.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please come visit and more than once, especially in your junior high school year if you can. Apply for financial aid early and get your application in. There is always something going on here, so visit more than once.

    Bang for the buck

    A private christian college with very low tuition compared to other private christian colleges. Small class size. Numerous majors and minors. Great clean and safe dorms. Plenty of extracurricular activities to participate in or just to watch.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of the staff really care about you as an individual, you are not just a number at this college. There is always something to do after classes are over - sports, music, theater, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are great. The classes are small so you really get a lot of one-on-one time.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security team is fantastic. i always feel safe walking about the campus, even in the evenings, because i know that they are watching the cameras that overlook the parking lots, the green, and the buildings.

    Greek Life

    there are no sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have many clubs on campus ranging from pro-life groups to emotional health and wellness.

    Great for these types of students

    bethany is a great school for anyone who is els- or wels- lutheran. however, it is not a requirement to be a member of one of these synods. it's also great for the students who want to get away from the large metropolitan area but still want some of the city feel. mankato is far enough away from the twin cities that you won't have to worry about your parents just stopping by, but it is close enough to drive up to the mall of america for the day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bethany has the annual letefisk dinner every fall. we also have a wonderful christmas music celebration called christmas at bethany, which features all of the music ensembles and choirs on campus. however, make sure to reserve your tickets early! these concerts sell out very fast! also, unlike most institutions, if you are a bethany student or on staff or faculty, you get free admission to just about every event on campus! this ranges from sporting events, to music concerts, to musicals and plays!

    Bang for the buck

    bethany is the least expensive private school in all of minnesota. it's going to be very hard to beat all the individualized attention and small class sizes that are offered here. (for example, most of the upper division classes in the education department have 10 or fewer students!) even the general education courses (i.e. biology, religion, etc.) have no more than about 35 students.

    What to do for fun

    at bethany there are many sporting events to attend, as well as other campus events like noche de salsa or swing dancing. additionally, the river hills mall is just a few miles away from campus is shopping is more your thing.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the caf is really good, especially on their specialty nights! it's also really fun and relaxing to hang out in the viking village, which offers fast-food style dining. there are a bunch of tvs and couches in there, so the atmosphere is relaxing.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms here are separated by gender, which is nice and difficult at the same time. the girls dorms tend to be quieter than the boys, but getting school work accomplished during visiting hours is a little tricky. however, i'd venture to say that more people here like the separated dorms than do not.

    Academic Rigor

    i know for a fact that the education program here is one of the most difficult majors to complete because of the grading scale. (here's proof: f= 70%!) it's definitely a more challenging program than any of my friends going for the same major have at their schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    there is somewhere for everyone to fit in on the bethany campus. if you're a theater person, no problem. music, no problem. runner, no problem. despite our small student body, there is a place for everyone.

    In three sentences

    bethany is a great school to attend if you're looking for something small and close-knit. it's impossible to walk to class and not have someone smile and greet you by name!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Abysmal at best

    Dorm Life

    Extremely limited visitation hours

    Academic Rigor

    Very in depth religion courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are part of the ELS as they give large scholarships for members.

    In three sentences

    Great for ELS or WELS students, otherwise you are better off looking somewhere else. Religious affiliation is enormous and if you are even of a different Lutheran denomination you will become an outcast immediately.

  • 11/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like small classes would be great here... my classes this semester have less than 30 each. This also leads to you getting noticed more often if you have questions. MUCH easier than in a larger classroom. Also, if you like a campus that almost has a family/at home atmosphere... this is it. Unless you encounter a scared-to-death freshman on their first week on campus, pretty much everyone is happy/friendly. You won't feel alone - ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. You're gonna get it if you ask. Everyone around here is willing to help! The professors are really nice and understanding. They only get frustrated with you if you REALLY deserve it :P Also - MN winters kinda suck. So, there are underground tunnels connecting most of the newer buildings on campus so you don't have to go in the snow. Check 'em out!

    Bang for the buck

    Heh... um, I'm not exactly a good person to ask about this. Minnesota and some other states have a program called Post Secondary Enrollment Option (PSEO). It's where high-school juniors and seniors can take college classes, and have it paid for by the state. I'm doing that right now, although I am planning on attending here once I graduate. So - for at least the next year and a half, don't ask me about the money aspect of this.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it!! Everyone is really nice. I'm sure that when/if my wheelchair gets stuck around campus this winter, I'm not going to be short of helpers. No one seems mean/unhelpful at all. I'm accepted for who I am. And of course, the professors are great. I've only had Moeller and Meyer, but I really like their teaching styles and such. I've learned a lot, and they do a good job with teaching.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm only taking 2 classes this semester, but I'm learning a lot in them. COMS 101 and HIST 111. With COMS, we're learning how to use Macs. I'd never done that before, but I think I'm doing pretty good now! Only problems I've had are not Prof. Meyer's fault HIST? Prof. Moeller is awesome. I've learned SO much from him. He's got a sense of humor as well. Q: What were Alexander the Great's last words? random multiple choice option: THIS... IS... SPARTA!!! Oh... and Moeller also gives you cookies when you finish a test. :D

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bethany is a good fit for a wide variety of students, yet I feel that the arts (music, visual art, and theater) are a very prominent area on campus. There are a lot of recitals, art lectures, art shows, the christmas consert, and awesome plays in the theater. Bethany does have a seminary as well if that is of interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time wisely: Get your assignments done as aoon as possible because your schedule fills up faster than you can imagine. One moment you have a week for a paper, then the next you are going to practice, hanging out with new friends, going to campus events, and doing a huge load of laundry. Another good tip: Get involved...but not too much. Being in a few activities helps you get to know people (possibly future best friends or life partners). Yet being in too many will make you feel overwhelmed. Be smart.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethany is a small campus. You get to know your professors and they get to know you. For that benifit alone I feel Bethany is worth every cent. Also, Bethany does give out a lot of merit-based scholarships, which helps mosts of the students, including me, in being able to come to Bethany. Great people. Great professors. Great college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I most definitely enjoy being here. When I first visited campus, I could not believe how friendly everyone was. To my surprise, the people at Bethany are always like that. Also, I enjoy all of my classes, the campus activities, the aports events, playing in the pep band. There are not many aspects about Bethany that I do not like.

    Am learning a lot

    Whether it is lessons in the classroom, on the field, or during campus activities, I am always learning something new every day at Bethany. Still, the amount you learn is directly linked to your willingness to learn. The best mind is an open mind. I have learned how to better manage my time, especially since I am in sports and do work study in addition to all of my classes. I have learned better communication skills (through my speech class), which will come in handy in the future. I have learned a lot of problem-solving techniques through different assignments in my art class. I have also learned that running eleven miles with friends does not feel like eleven miles.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guards are fun, nice, and always on the look out for something that might be wrong. drugs and other things you would normally find on a campus are not see because we are a Lutheran school so it is less likely. If something is wrong you are told and there are tunnels that keep you warm in the winter and safe during a twister or other storm. I would say that Bethany is extremely safe!

    Bang for the buck

    free theater tickets for school plays, showing room (like movie theater) to play Video games and watch movies, and more. All of the professors (that I've had) really care about how you do and will do what they can to help you succeed! (that's just some of the high points.)

    What to do for fun

    Not far from the Campos there is Alexander park which has a few fun things like tennis, bad mitten, out door ice rink in the winter (if cold enough) Plus there is a cheep ice skating rink not far either. I go to the mall, Perkins, Walmart and the Ice rink with my friends all the time! plus we have a showing room were people play video games and watch movies. These are gust a few small fun things about Bethany. There are billions more!

    Food and Dining

    There are two different choice for food. The V (aka the viking village) and The Caf. (aka our cafetiere and buffet food choice) I work in the Caf for work study and get free meals when ever I work. and the if you don't like what is on main line that day there is always the choice of cereal, waffles, sub sandwiches, and or salads. Then in the V there is a good selection of 'fast foods' it isn't fast service but you can take food out unlike in the caf, plus it is a more hang out type place to eat then in the caf. Personally, both dinning selections are Amazing!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have RA's that love to help you out, and if you forget your keys in your room they will unlock the door for you! The rooms are cozy and they aren't far from the rest of the Campos... they are right on the Campos (quick walking distance from each academic building!)

    Academic Rigor

    I'm just going to give this a five starts because every body cares how well you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that you get a tour if at all possible, I didn't and got lost the first two days. Also don't be afraid to ask questions, the people are extremely nice and if they don't know they will tell you wear you can find your answer.

    In three sentences

    Bethany Lutheran College is a nice, small, christian college. I like going here mostly because I feel as if I fit in. Even though I am states away from home, I feel like I'm home at Bethany Lutheran College.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to join. They provide different activities for students to do, such as movie nights, plays to attend, and a Spring Formal at the end of the year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so good! There are so many different choices to offer in the cafeteria. There are different types of food every night so it does not get boring.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and comfortable to be in. Everything is a quick walk away: the cafeteria, gym, etc. The resident staff are great and try to plan different activities every month with you and your wing-mates so that you can get to know them better.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small, so you can get a lot of help from the professor, if needed. Study groups are always formed, so if a class is hard for you, there are plenty of opportunities to get help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be yourself. Walk up to someone and introduce yourself; everyone is really nice. It's very easy to make friends here.

    In three sentences

    This school is like a small family. Students and staff are on a personal level and the student is known as a person and not just another student in the classroom. The Christian atmosphere makes everyone closer together.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's small and Christian. Plus there's always a campus security guard on duty.

    Great for these types of students

    1. Students who (like me) feel like they always have to sift through all the info they learn in school to get the truth. 2. Christians 3. If you like a small, homey feel where everyone knows your name.

    What to do for fun

    There's lots of things to do both off campus and on like the dork den in town for people who like games and an awesome movie room on campus. There's a couple student bands and also a student run coffee shop (The Lab) with super cheap drinks. All of this barely scratches the surface.

    Food and Dining

    Food is food, but one thing this caf lacks is really good food.

    Dorm Life

    My roommates are great. I really like who I got put together with and I think since the school is small the residential life coordinator works really hard to get students paired with people they'd most like etc. Also, my room is really awesome and so are most, but there are some that are rather on the small side.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only a freshman in my first semester so I don't really know, but so far the classes are great and YOU WILL LEARN. Plus everything is from a Christian perspective which I LOVE.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour!

    In three sentences

    Bethany is a small, Christian college that has actually stayed Christian and isn't just saying that. Theres chapel every day, Bible studies, and the classes are integrated around Christianity. Plus the people are really great-both teachers and students.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always driving around watching out.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything is fun and it is good to get involved. I personally had a horrible year with volleyball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Movie Tuesdays at Pawn America

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends a lot. I go tanning. Every Tuesday is movie Tuesday at Pawn America. Mostly just spend time with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is horrible. There is never anything new to eat and the food is bad.

    Dorm Life

    I personally, do not like living this close to a bunch of girls running and screaming down the halls. People complain about too many things.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, it is pretty easy. The teachers are understanding and will do their best to help you in whatever way.

    Tips for prospective students

    They need to not be afraid to ask anyone for help. Do not get stressed out about little things because there is always someone to help you. Try and get involved in as many things as possible.

    In three sentences

    The people are all very friendly. The campus is beautiful. Teachers are willing to help you in any way.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard around Bethany's campus. I have never felt safer at a place than my own home.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are WAY too many to list. Just check out their website to get an idea www.blc.edu

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who have come from a small school and aren't used to large class sizes. This place is also great for students who are looking to keep their faith while attending college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Red Sea! It's where student's dress up in all red and go cheer on our men's basketball team. It's a lot of fun, and it raises school spirit!

    Bang for the buck

    This type of education is one that will last you longer than an education at a typical University. You learn about God, your faith, how you can put your faith into you line of work and much more. Yes, Bethany is expensive, but it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some activity going on around campus. You just have to check your e-mail and you'll see all of the different activities Bethany holds. But there is also a few movie theaters in Mankato, as well as a mall. There's really not a time where there's not something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here at Bethany. Especially in the Viking Village. There are two different areas to eat with different times.

    Dorm Life

    There are good's and bad's about living on Bethany's campus. It's nice to live here your first year or so, just to get a feel of the campus and the environment. The dorm hours aren't ideal, and it can be frustrating when you want to sleep, or do homework, and there are people everywhere. But with that said, I feel that is how most colleges are.

    Academic Rigor

    At Bethany you are required to do the work, and do it well. Bethany will challenge you to think differently than the norm. It can be overwhelming, but professors are always there to give you a guiding hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college, especially for people who are looking more of a close nit and individualized sort of education. Bethany is a small campus which makes it easy to move around and find your classrooms. Professors are more than willing to help you if you don't understand something class related, but they're also willing to help you if you're experiencing some personal difficulties.

    In three sentences

    Bethany is an amazing college with great camaraderie. The professors are personal and caring. You're not a number, you're an individual.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bethany is a very safe and secure campus. Being small and fairly enclosed it feels completely safe at any time of day. And if any worries, the Security team is always here to help!

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything oyu want to do, you can find it at bethany. Whether you want to make a huge difference or just something to participate in, you could find something you would enjoy. If they don't have what you are looking for you can create your own club or group!

    Great for these types of students

    Bethany is a great place for anyone who wants to maintain or develop a relationship with God; someone who likes small class sizes, being recognized and known by professors rather than a number; students who want a small secure campus; and students who want an education that lasts beyond a lifetime.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition at private colleges runs high, Bethany does its best to provide over 90% of its students with adequate financial aid. All done by friendly Christian people trying to help you afford your education.

    What to do for fun

    Don't have the money to go out to a movie? Go to Luther Hall and play it on the projector. Join intramurual sports or watch the basketball team go on to victory. If you get bored on campus, just go out for a night in Mankato: shopping, eating, skating, bowling, whatever your heart desires.

    Food and Dining

    With multiple choices at each meal, and the option to make your own waffle or omelet, and ice cream at every meal, it is hard not to be satisfied after eating. Not feeling the cafeteria? The Viking Village is a great alternative providing anything from pizza to burgers, even grilled cheese, all made fresh right in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    No tiny cramped rooms with cement walls and lofted beds here! Bethany dorm rooms are great and make you feel just like home. Each room providing great closet space, desks and beds, and the oportunity to make it like home. Laundry is included in the dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    While Bethany doesn't offer a vast option of majors, their education, classes, and professors are all 5 stars. Bethany is truly invested in each students education by connecting with them individually and also helping them connect to God.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to maintain or develop a realtionship with God while still receiving a greatly valued education Bethany is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Bethany Luther College is a great place to call your home away form home. They offer small class sizes so they can be beneficial to each and every one of their students and provide them with a great education, while also helping their connection with God. Bethany is a great place to study what you love while also carrying on in your faith.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a entertainment center called The Wow Zone in town that Bethany students get discounts on.

    Food and Dining

    There are two options of places to eat meals. Both are decent options. They aren't always open, though.

    Dorm Life

    The two person rooms are very small. There is no AC.

    Academic Rigor

    There are regular adviser meetings and professors are constantly pushing students to do their best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend chapel and fine arts productions. Participate in extracurricular activities. The block meal plan is much more flexible for those who don't eat regular meals.

    In three sentences

    The fine arts program is excellent. The campus and student population is small. The shared religion makes it a comfortable environment for incoming transfer students and freshman.