Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bethel College - Indiana Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is great for anyone. Christians or non-Christians it doesn't matter. If you come to Bethel College, we will strive to make non-Christians, Christians and Christians, stronger in their faith...

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to come and check out Bethel college (stay over night) before they check out any other school. Then, after you experience the awesome adventure of Bethel, go check out an another school. Then, after you go to that other school ask yourself, Can I handle getting a college experience as great as Bethel College? I hope you can...See you there.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel College is a private school and costs more than public colleges. But, Bethel offers more than those colleges too. At Bethel College, you get Chapel, good professors, good christian people, and a good and healthy but fun christian experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am enjoying my journey through school and it reflects in my grades. It is true, every student needs to find a match with the school they choose. I am very glad to be at a school where everyone wants to hangout and help with school work. Every aspect of Bethel College makes me happy and I am glad I chose this school

    Am learning a lot

    Ever since I stepped on campus my professors have expected excellence from me. If you forget an assignment, many of the professors will still let you turn it in. I am learning a lot both educationally and religiously and I have found success in school with a 3.61 GPA as of right now. I am learning skills I need to have in order to be successful later in life thanks to Bethel College.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety can always be seen driving around, which makes me feel safe. Also, they are not ridiculous on tickets like I here about on some colleges. The fines aren't large, and the first one is a warning if you happen to park in the wrong place.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities or fraternities here so I am unaware of any form of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I have already stated there are a ton of activities on campus, but there are also many clubs for everyone to be involved in. There is a club that fits everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians! Bethel is a private college and for those desiring a college that focuses on God and their religious life, then this is the perfect place to go! Chapel is usually fun and up-beat and each professor incorporates their faith into their teachings!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am unaware of whether any other college does this, but I am very thankful for our Christmas and Thanksgiving dinners, they are the best!

    Bang for the buck

    The professors here is what makes it all seem worth it. I know that seems silly, but they are the ones influencing how and what you learn. At Bethel, they care so much about each individual that it truly has changed my life. Unfortunately, I don't know if my professor/advisor will ever know how much he has truly impacted me, but it makes everything worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on! When living in the dorms the residential directors put together many free activities both on and off campus which keeps up the excitement and gives people a chance to get out with their friends. Then, we have the sporting events such as basketball and soccer games that groups love to go and give their support.

    Food and Dining

    The food here isn't awful and we have a nice sub place on campus called the Acorn. The only problem is that we only have three places on campus to eat and a person can easily grow tired of continuously eating at the same place.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms because it really helps with my social life and always ensures that somebody wants to know how my day is going! Living in dorms is also easy access, because the resources needed are always right near you and the campus is beautiful. The only reason I chose to mark it down a star is because the internet server is slow here during certain times in the dorm, because of this I have bought an ethernet cable to enable me to always access the internet.

    Academic Rigor

    I love being a history major (although I came in as a pre-law major until I received some very good advice)! However, being a history major requires a lot of reading at once and very detailed reading. Reading is definitely not the only major assignment, but the longest one for me because they tend to accumulate rather quickly. Although, I do appreciate this since I am working towards becoming a lawyer for children and delinquents.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to be prepared to open up because everyone wants to know about you! Most importantly, live on campus! You get to know so many people this way and Bethel has many activities for students to attend while staying on campus.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College has an incredible and very welcoming environment that will completely draw a person in. While attending the college and getting the opportunity to walk through the beautiful campus, a person will meet many new people because everyone is always saying, Hi to others in passing. I enjoy going here because of the people, professors, and the overall atmosphere.

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can come here and fit in. Professors are willing to work with you and there is a wide spread of spiritual levels on campus for all types

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a place that fits you like a shoe :)

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel isn't cheep- but it's all worth it in the end

    Am enjoying being here

    I stepped on the campus and it felt like home. The professors here are great. I even am friends with them

    Am learning a lot

    I'm a nursing student and I love having the small classes. It means more one on one time with the professors

  • 05/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is a great place for students who are in college to learn. If you like to party or mess around, then this is not the school for you. Other than that, I think anybody can enjoy being here: Christian, non-Christian, any ethnicity or religious background, any type of interests. There are a lot of intramural sports offered, so if you're a sports fanatic, but aren't able to play on the college team, then this is great for you! Also, there are charity groups, volunteer teams, music teams, pretty much anything you can think of. So, all in all, I would say the type of student who would fit in here the best would be a normal student who works hard and likes to just enjoy life and people.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're still in high school, develop good study habits and good work ethics, it will pay off. If you're considering transferring, I would encourage you to seek out as much financial aid as you can as early as you can. I was a transfer and I waited to push the financial aid office, so I lost some aid. Being proactive for anyone is a tip I can really emphasize. If you can apply and get started on the process, even if you're not positive you are going to Bethel, it will greatly assist you if you do decide to attend here. Another tip would be to talk with as many students as you can. We love to talk about Bethel with people. So, find someone from Bethel who is in the major you're seeking (the admissions office can help you with this) and then rack their brains. The best kind of information you can get from a school is straight from the mouths of those who are where you're considering going.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the one downside is the cost. Since it is a private institution, the rates are high. However, there is a quality about the campus, the staff, the professors, and the overall education that makes the cost worth it. I will say, they are fairly good about helping you get financial aid to help offset the costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    The atmosphere at Bethel is open and friendly. The RA's take time to help you get acclimated to the new setting and the RD's are always available. Also, the campus is lovely. In the summer/spring time the campus is full of natural beauty. In the winter, it is like Narnia come to life. Beyond the beauty of the college, there is the luxury of being right outside of South Bend so there is access to many different things: dollar theater, malls, grocery stores, fast food or dine-in restaurants, putt-putt golf, and much more.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Bethel challenge me to go as far mentally as I can. They don't take the easy route, they take the time and put forth the effort to bring us to a new level. The information is, for the most part, all applicable and vital to my understanding of the topic. Fluffy information or just filler information is left out so we can focus on the important aspects necessary for comprehension.

  • 11/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip I would suggest to prospective students would be to make sure their program for whatever career path fits your needs.

    Bang for the buck

    People ask me all the time 'Why do you go to Bethel? IUSB is so much cheaper.' The reason why I go to Bethel is because I felt their education program fit my needs. I would rather have a good education that costs more, then to have a cheap and poor education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so kind to me. Many people probably say that about their school, but to me this school is truly warm and welcoming. The professors are eager to help you succeed and the students are equally eager. I could never find a more loving school then Bethel College.

    Am learning a lot

    Bethel College has helped me out so much. Going into my freshman year I had no real music background. The closest thing I had to a background was singing for choir and church. Because of Bethel my skills have doubled and I find myself understanding music better as well as growing better as a music student.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians or non-Christians. Bethel is a family no matter what.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Bethel, definitely look into spending a night on campus and going to an event. Get a feel for the Bethel community, I promise you you will feel right at home. The faculty and administration will welcome you with open arms. Sit in a chapel; it will hit the spot.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, Bethel isn't the cheapest of schools, but the fact that the professors are amazing and genuine, the campus is gorgeous, and the people are sincere, makes every dollar worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Bethel's enviroment is so friendly. Every single person is genuine and sincere and it definitely makes your time on campus more enjoyable. You become part of the Bethel family and you'll definitely begin to miss it when you're away.

    Am learning a lot

    Once you sit in a class at Bethel, you realize that the professors are really passionate about what they teach. They love it and will try their best to make you love it too. When you realize how much that professor enjoys teaching, you'll be able to soak every bit of information a whole lot easier.

  • 07/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be able to email their professors and get an immediate response, hang out with your friends in and out the classroom, and still be able to get your homework done. Bethel College is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a close-knit community with all the perks of a big university, then you simply have to be at Bethel College. I promise you will not regeret it.

    Bang for the buck

    While your parents will freak out over the final figures, it's not something to stress about. The scholarship opportunities are abundant and it is most definitely worth it. The best 4 years that money can buy.

    Will enjoy being here

    SociaLife is amazing. I'm not even an official student yet and just from what the other students tell me, I know that is going to be a good time. It is nearly impossible to be at Bethel without at least doing ONE thing. That's just how strong the connection is.

    Will learn a lot

    The biggest factor in my college search was the fact of my major being offered and while Education is a popular subject to be studied, I wanted to have real attention with my professors. With discussing my semesters ahead during registaration, I am excited to be a part of Bethel's Education Program

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Christian, feel like God is calling you or has called you before, If you're not the most outgoing person you will easily branch out because everybody is nice and non pushy, If you really care about academics or if you don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out and visit. There are tours that they give for prospective students and even the option to stay over night in a dorm with other students that are already attending.

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty expensive and I personally struggle with this aspect of the school because I am an international student from Puerto Rico and did not prepare fully for the expenses, but there are job opportunities for everyone on campus and scholarships that help. Everything in the school is worth it because of the level of academics you're going to learn and everything else in the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small compared to other big universities but the relationship between students is alot better than any other school and there are endless organized activities that make you feel at home

    Am learning a lot

    The student teacher ratio is 14 to 1 and the professors really care about teaching and making sure the students get their money's worth because of their understanding Christian background

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a umber of security phones provided in certain areas of campus. On these phones you can press certain buttons and automatically campus safety will attend you. If its late at night, and you feel unsafe to walk alone back to your dorm, call campus safety, and they will be please to drive you there.

    Food and Dining

    The food i the general cafeteria i not the best food, I'll be honest with it. But around campus there are at least two coffee shops that are great for relaxing or studying, or even just hanging out with your friends. The food in the coffee shops is much better than the one in the cafeteria, and the good thing is that you can use our college ID to obtain food in these places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is always interesting, there are different dorms and each one carries out its own activities. Some are indoors and some are outdoors. There are activities like Ultimate Frisbee, volleyball, track, soccer, movie nights and among others. There's something always going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are strong some are lighter, it all depends on your major. But which ever of these two you find yourself with will be a new story. If you encounter yourself with a difficult class, there is always free tutoring that the college provides.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students that plan to attend Bethel College, don't be nervous or stressed on the first day. The professors, and current students at Bethel will make you feel comfortable, and at home. Expect a great welcome, and fascinating semester. It will be work, but there will always be people to help you along the way.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College is a great place to start a career. Specially if you have christian beliefs, it is the right place for you. Also, the professors care not only for your grade, but how you develop and interact in the class and in college.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a great safety department.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who want a sensational christ-centered education. great for those who want a school with a sense of community.

    What to do for fun

    movies, mall, bowling, mini golf, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria isn't the best, but it's not bad. for a small school, there are many dining options on campus and there are also places off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. it's like living with a gigantic new family. there are always people to hang out with and just have some fun.

    Academic Rigor

    bethel has many amazing programs and the profs are great. challenging courses are so much easier when you you have a prof that cares.

    Tips for prospective students

    pick a school you can see yourself living at for the next four years (or more). who do you want to be when all is said and done? that's why i chose bethel.

    In three sentences

    bethel college is home. i can't see myself anywhere else. it's more than just getting an education.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe. the campus safety officers have a great working relationship with the local police department. they send emails to the students if there is any local issues that may affect the students.

    Bang for the buck

    i always feel as though each professor cares about my education. i could not have picked a better school. i really love bethel.

    What to do for fun

    i do not live on campus, however, there are always events for the students who do.

    Food and Dining

    the food choices are vast, there is always something for every body's liking.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus, but my fellow classmates tell me the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are challenging, and the professors expect your best efforts. they prepare you for everything though.

    Tips for prospective students

    feel free to ask for help. the students and professors are always willing to help.

    In three sentences

    an amazing college. the professors are kind and supportive. i would definitely send my children here some day.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always a campus safety officer on duty, 24/7 and 365 days of the year. they patrol the campus and offer several safety services, such as rides for individuals who do not feel comfortable walking across campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    bethel offers a variety of clubs. several include: the psychology club, accounting club, agape fire, american sign language club (asl club), mu kappa, rotaract, and kingdom mobilizers. there is also an honors club, bethel undergraduate intellectual leadership development (build), which qualified students can apply for their freshman year. although there are not a whole lot of clubs, bethel is very open to people who have a vision and the motivation to start a new club!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year, after spring break, everyone on campus (students, faculty, and staff) are allowed to participate in a game called ambush. in ambush, everyone playing is given a squirt gun and a name. it is your mission to get the person, whose name you have, out by squirting them. it is a fun game to play and watch and brings everyone together in a unique way!

    What to do for fun

    social life offers many opportunities every week to have something fun to do, such as concerts, bowling, and movies. also, every year there are intramural sports offered for anyone who is interested in staying active!

    Food and Dining

    there are give options for dining. two restaurants near campus, three on-campus restaurants, and the dining commons. for the restaurants off campus, students can use bethel bucks at an italian restaurant, politos pizzeria, and a seafood restaurant, tradewinds. the restaurants on-campus, that students can use their meal swipes, include a small café, café à la carte, a coffee house type restaurant, sufficient grounds, and a soup and sandwich restaurant, the acorn, which is similar to subway. the dining commons offers a variety of foods, which are presented and organized very well. there are always quite a few options, including a salad bar. overall, the dining options at bethel are delicious and easily accessible.

    Dorm Life

    the ras and rds of the dorms promote dorm life through a variety of weekly activities. each room is given a monthly schedule of all of the activities that they feature each week. an example of a fun event that we do is called shupe week. shupe is the freshman girl dorm, which spends a week bonding, participating in fun activities, and worshipping together. there are also other weeks for various dorms, which they do similar things. (guys do more manly things, such as nerf wars) another example for the girls: on valentine's day the freshman girl's dorm went to the south bend chocolate factory and then went to see the vow. (deliciously romantic) :)

    Academic Rigor

    many of the professors at bethel college are committed to challenging their students, for their benefit. although there are easier options, such as many colleges may offer, there are many classes that are of higher rigor for those who desire a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a prospective student, i would highly recommend looking at the rules of the college because some people are put off by some of the stricter rules of bethel. bethel college has certain rules in place to create a specific type of safe, healthy environment and to encourage academic excellence, but if this is a big concern for you, look into this before applying. also, if you are wanting a good taste of the campus and the passion of the professors, sit in on one of dr. bob's classes, he's wonderful!

    In three sentences

    bethel college is an all around great school. the safe, healthy, and wholesome environment is perfect for any individual who desires to grow in their academic, service, or spiritual life. or all three!

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bethel's campus is extremely safe. Campus safety patrols all hours of the day and night. There are several intercom boxes spread throughout the campus indicated by bright blue lights if anyone needs assistance. Students can call campus safety if they ever feel unsafe and desire an escort.

    Greek Life

    Bethel College does not have a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bethel has many clubs for students to get involved with. There are also weekly classes such as Breaking Free, Fire Side Chats on Discipleship, Friday Night Fire worship, and a Dave Ramsey's course on financial information. There are also opportunities for students to get involved in the community through organizations such as Five Star and Hope Ministries.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is great for students who want to grow closer to God and closer to others. The spiritual life on campus is terrific. Students at Bethel have an authentic desire to see God move on the campus, in the community, and in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel college is fairly reasonably priced for a private university; however, it is still a little pricey. The experience is well worth the money! I have greatly enjoyed and appreciated my first year at Bethel. You will learn so much in your classes as well as about God and about yourself. Bethel is a great environment to learn and develop as a person. It is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, students can participate in intramurals such as soccer, basketball, and ultimate Frisbee. Students often play campus golf as well. There is a dollar theater close to Bethel, as well as a Bowling Alley and Go Kart area and a Put Put Course. Bethel is close to several local restaurants where students can hang out. About 5 minutes down the road from Bethel is a beautiful river walk where students often go. It's never very hard to find something exciting to do at Bethel.

    Food and Dining

    Bethel may not have the options that other colleges do, but the food is very good in my opinion. The dining commons and Sufficient Grounds, a coffee shop and diner, have comment cards where you can give suggestions for future menu items. The meal options are posted online. Bethel provides money on your meal account, called Bethel Bucks, which can be used at two local restaurants in the area: Tradewinds and Politos.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the best things about Bethel. The freshman dorm, Shupe, is very open and friendly. Dorms have events nearly every week and Bible studies throughout the night. Monthly calendars labeled with the activities for the month are given to each room. There is even a Shupe week packed with fun things to do every night. Shupe activities include hall slip 'n slide, movie nights, tie dye shirts, sporting events, and dance parties.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can and will push you, but if you are wise with your time and seek aid when you need it you will do just fine. Bethel's professors are easily accessible and always willing to do whatever they can to help. Most of the time they will even give extensions on assignments if you need it. Bethel also has a great tutoring staff and writing center of fellow students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come for a visit before choosing which college to attend. If Bethel is the place for you, you will have no doubts after you visit. Stay the night at a dorm and get to know the students and professors. Everyone is very welcoming!

    In three sentences

    Bethel College has a tremendous academic system and a very tight knit community. Professors really care about their students and how they are doing. The surrounding area is great for students to get jobs and get connected in churches and volunteer opportunities.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety drives around all the time making sure that everyone is safe and sound. They drive students back to their dorm late at night or unlock the students' cars when they have locked their keys in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Friday Night Fire is a student led worship get together. It's a good time of worship music, encouragment, and fellowship. I have made many friends from it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do on campus. Get some friends and have a water gun fight or ride your long board down the sidewalks. Another fun thing to do is go sledding in the winter, down by the pond!

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't top notch, but it's pretty good. You just need to know how to make your plate! You can eat good by knowing the right places to go.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome! I have made so many friends from living in a dorm. It is a lot of fun and I have had some great laughs from the girls in the hallways.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know what academic rigor means...but Bethel College is a great place to earn a degree!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have to pull all-nighters, take naps during the day. Staying up late isn't good for you, so get some sleep. Stay on top of doing your homework, or you are likely to get behind in your studies.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College is the only college that I would ever go to. The professors there truly want to see their students succeed in their schooling and they truly have a heart for Jesus. If you are looking for a good Christian college I would recommend Bethel College, Mishawaka, IN.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security on site and if you get lost, they will assist you back to where you need to go.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many intermural sports.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends and just relax.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely amazing and they have a lot of choices to pick from. The best part is, they have more than one spot to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice and roomy.

    In three sentences

    As soon as I visited Bethel, I was 100% sure that I was going to attend here. They are very welcoming and always make you feel at ease. I viewed the Chapel and was hooked immediately; the students are very strong and faithful to God.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure campus. Student body becomes just like family soon after arriving on campus. Students feel very comfortable walking on campus at night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Social and Faith based clubs, college athletics, community support groups providing help and service to the nearby communities.

    Great for these types of students

    Teachers, Health professionals, Social Services and Christian Ministries. Also very good pre engineering program, associated with Notre Dame program. ROTC

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus located in an area surrounded by mature oak trees, well laid out. It gives a sense of being in the country while located in a very modern community with everything one would expect of a big city.

    Bang for the buck

    Most cost effective tuition of all small private schools in Indiana, many scholarships available.

    What to do for fun

    Organized activities through various clubs, NAIA Athletics, and Notre Dame campus less than 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Multiple options, students have the ability to dine off campus and a sponsored coffee shop within walking distance of school. On campus sub shop is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing chance to meet new people that will become friends for life.

    Academic Rigor

    Well designed courses that prepare you for an easy transition into the the work force.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are strong in your faith, looking for a respected college degree and life long friends, Bethel is where you belong.

    In three sentences

    An outstanding, close knit student body. Professors are always there for the student, willing to help at any time. Very competitive athletics.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school is located on a main street so there are stores, movie theaters, a mall, and food.

    Food and Dining

    There are four or five food options and you are located on a main street with tons of fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The doorms are not huge but are a ton of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class settings keeps you involved and in check.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not very large but the campus and people really make you feel at home and loved.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College is inviting. Bethel College is close-knit. Bethel College seeks excellence.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a fine job. I know I'm safe while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I hear the sports are pretty awesome as my room mates last year were heavily involved in them. Even just going to the games was a fun time with friends. There are a lot of clubs that are dedicated to awareness and the betterment of our community and futures. Bethel is a very dedicated place.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians. If you are looking for a vibrant Christian atmosphere that is willing to challenge your faith and propel you into greatness, this if for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tradition each year of having the college come together and read the Bible completely through straight.

    Bang for the buck

    Battle of the bands and the wonderful Audrey Assad concert last year were two highlights that I loved!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your friends!! Join a club! Become part of an organization in the community or just have a blast around the Mishawaka area. It has many forms of entertainment, but I have to admit that I have the most fun while serving in the many service opportunities Bethel offers.

    Food and Dining

    Great. I love the food places on campus. Bethel just revised the Dining Commons before I came last fall and now they are revising Sufficient Grounds Coffee House. Pretty awesome : )

    Dorm Life

    Living in Shupe my Freshman year was quite the experience ; ] I enjoyed having my friends living in the same hall as me and getting to go see them whenever I wanted. It was quite a step away from my own private room at home, but I have to admit that living with a lot of my friends is a really cool experience.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging and fun to learn here. The professors really go out of their way for us students and really want us to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do scholarships!! College is expensive. Going to a Christ-centered college such as Bethel is well worth it though. Don't let money stop you from pursuing your dreams here.

    In three sentences

    I love it there. The community is beautiful and full of caring people. I highly recommend this college to my younger friend back home.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sorry not involved.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be expensive but if you are comparing apples to apples as always you get what you pay for. Cheaper even in college isn't necessarily better.

    What to do for fun

    I am an adult student with a family so I am usually busy with sporting events or acedemic events with my children. I do enjoy scuba diving when I get the chance. I am not sure what the school has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus, so I cannot comment.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, so I cannot comment.

    Academic Rigor

    Personalized environment, shared mission, vision and values, and on-going professional development.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Ask questions, if you dont know, they don't know you don't know.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College is a Bible college with highly knowledgleable alumni, wonderful friendly fellow students and a great atmosphere. Bethel is commited to helping each student succed with the knowledge they need to become successful, not only in their career but in their faith as well.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Bethel is a very interesting school. A positive environment. On a scale from one to ten i give an 8.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Pray and seek God for His will. He will lead you and show you where He wants you to go to college.

    In three sentences

    I visited Bethel College recently and knew right away that I was home. The faculty and students were very friendly and welcoming, and were able to answer any questions I had. I am currently in the process of applying, and I plan to attend Bethel next fall.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several stations where you can alert Campus safety of a danger. Campus safety is always around making sure our campus is safe and they are very helpful if there is an injury.

    Greek Life

    There is none.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is ALWAYS something going on with Bethel. There are a lot of clubs for everyone to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Conservative and Christian students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Friday Night Fire is a student lead worship service where we just get in a circle and sing, share stories, and pray together.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is expensive but it is definitely worth the price. I can't stress enough how much Bethel staff goes out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. The classes are wonderful and the professors truly care about your grades and will help you.

    What to do for fun

    There is a park down the road and the University Park Mall, but I didn't have to leave campus very much because There are workout areas and a music building with open practice rooms. There is always something to do with other students and events going on.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options at Bethel and the food plans are nice.

    Dorm Life

    The rules are reasonable and the dorms are very nice. Campus life is very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel strives for students to do well. Professors will work with you if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would defiantly suggest getting into a good study habit. Bethel professors are amazing, they will work with you if you have to miss class or are struggling. Bethel is a wonderful environment.

    In three sentences

    Bethel college is very community centered. The student body feels like a family. Everyone smiles and cares about each other.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good food. Many places of campus where you can use your meal card.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of fun and various activities. Boys dorms do indoor slip and slide.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are difficult but professors let you know what to expect with assignments and tests.

    In three sentences

    Teachers care about students and try to help them succeed and learn real skills. The adult program is ideal for anyone trying to work and go to school

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety officers can often be compared to Mall Cop, but they care and are always ready to help. The campes is very safe though and the students feel comfortable walking around after dark.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Christmas music is played all around campus during the holidays. During the first snow, many boys take part in what is called a Helm Run. The last day of classes every semester the school holds a Midnight Breakfast in which the student dress up and come together at midnight to eat breakfast food and celebrate the end of the semester.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not bad overall. Although there is occasionally some food that is very sketchy, there is always something at the Dining Commons that is good. There are also multiple options, not only within the Dining Commons, but also at the sandwich and coffee shops on campus that are included in meal plans. The many options create a dining experience in which there is always something good to eat. Although, you may still get tired of the food, since the menu is on a two week rotation.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are much more spacious and nice than most dorms you will find in school similar to Bethel They are comfortable for the most part and the atmosphere is positive. There is very little drama and lots of good times. Although there are some rules that some people find offensive, overall the rules aren't that hard to follow and they are enforced with common sense and understanding of individual situations instead of being enforced simply because the rules are the rules. The RA's and RD's are proactive and genuinely care about the students. The students themselves are caring, flexible, friendly and fun-loving. Depsite the occasional problems that arise, everyone gets along fairly well for the most part,

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging and encourage you to be active in your learning, but they do not over exceed a student's ability. The professors really care about the students and enjoy teaching. They want to instill a love of learning and of the subject they are teaching. They do not want to bore the students, but want them to enjoy learning. There are teachers that are not as good at teaching as others and there are classes that are incredibly challenging. But because the classes are small ad the professors are so involved with their students, students do not need to feel overwhelmed, but can be challenged and learn much without be overworked.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Make friends. Be bold. Be proactive in your studies. Talk to your profs. They want to help you learn. Have a good attitude and you will have the time of your life.

    In three sentences

    Bethel is a school with a strong community. It's students and profs are friendly and genuinely caring. It has strong academics and provides great learning for those who want to succeed,

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleaders, BSF

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel every Monday, Wednesday and Friday

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, chapel and basketball games

    Food and Dining

    Sufficient Ground and Acorn are really good

    Dorm Life

    Really good. The residents Assistant are really good and care about your healthy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Is a Christian college where you can grow spiritually also if you want to know everybody on campus, Bethel College is perfect

    In three sentences

    Is a really good school. Bethel College have amazing professors. Is a Christian campus.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is almost always visible. You'll sometimes see them walking around and they are always driving the car around campus patrolling things. They're also very helpful if you lose your swipe (this is basically your life here) and will do whatever to help you find it.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Council Intramural Sports Theatre Choir Show Choir BUILD Friday Night Fire Mu Kapa SIFE Accounting Club

    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy smaller Christian schools where you can walk to class and recognize people than this is perfect for you. It's also a great learning environment and the people who work here from professors to housekeeping really do care about you.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is really good about giving out scholarships to help their students, especially if they've had good academics as well as been involved in extra circular activities and out in the community. Bethel was actually a lot cheaper for me than a state school due to all of the scholarships I received.

    What to do for fun

    Typically students around here attend sporting events, play intramural sports, skate on the pond in the winter, go to Notre Dame games and events, hang out with friends at Sufficient and listen to live music, spend all night at Tradewinds playing games, play life size versions of your favorite childhood games, and much more. It's as fun as you make it.

    Food and Dining

    I mean we are talking about college food here. The food overall isn't bad, but it's definitely not your mom's homemade meals. There's only three options on campus so if you're a really picky eater then you'll be eating a lot of the same things.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome! There's always something to do and by the end of the year you become really close with those around you. It's also a good way to meet new people that you may not normally get a chance to talk to.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on your major. Some are more difficult than others, but overall the academics good and you learn a lot. The professors are also wonderful and will take the time to get to know you as well as pray for you as you go through trials.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small, Christian college then this is perfect for you! There's always something to do regardless of what your interests are.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College is a small, beautiful, Christian school located in Mishawaka, IN. It's right in the middle of a lot of activity, and the other local colleges allow for even more interaction with other college students. It's a great place for spiritual growth, making new friends, and enjoying everything college has to offer.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its pretty close to south bend so your close to just about everything

    Dorm Life

    the dorms look pretty cool but they arent amazing

    Academic Rigor

    i've heard that the homework isnt too hard. but its homework.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The definitely make me feel safe and do their job well. There hasn't been a moment when they are not around to help.

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Midnight Breakfast - We all get together in the dining commons for a late night breakfast the Friday before finals start. There normally is a costume competition for random prizes and it is tons of fun!

    What to do for fun

    We like to keep things fun here. There normally is the occasional Nerf war in the academic center, there is ambush during the spring which is where it is an all out water gun fight that lasts for at least a week and a half, Of course the sporting events which are always fun, and Friday Night Fire, which is a late night worship session that happens in our Prayer chapel that lasts until midnight with a food run right after

    Food and Dining

    There are three places to eat at on campus. The Acorn, which is like a sandwich shop; Sufficient Grounds, which is more like a coffee shop which serves wraps, pizza and coffee; and the Dining common, which normally has a wide variety of food, from stir fry to pizza.

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community in the dorm I live in. I live in one of the girl's dorms, Shupe, and it is definitely a blast living here! I have made so many friends just in this one year and I think it is amazing! The Resident Assistants and the Resident Director are amazing and so helpful!

    Academic Rigor

    They definitely do a good job of keeping the homework and curriculum challenging so that when you go into graduate school, it is a breeze.

    In three sentences

    This is the most unique college I have ever been to! The spiritual life is amazing and the people are so helpful and nice! Bethel is just one of these places you have to come and visit it yourself to get the experience and you will understand why most people say that once they come here, they knew this place was different and it was so worth it.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on Bethel's campus, so if you're interested in joining one, Bethel might not be the place for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is great for those interested in sports and being active. Even if you aren't interested in pursuing sports in college but just want to work out and stay fit, you would fit right in. The majority of the students play sports and most of those who don't still work out.

    What to do for fun

    Besides activities planned by the Social Life Committee and the Dorm Events, there is not a lot of things to do at Bethel. You just have to get creative. A big hobby is long-boarding. There is also a group of people who play campus golf with a golf club and a tennis ball, they created a course outside to play on and every day when it's not cold outside, that's where they go. There is also a movie theater within driving distance that only costs a dollar on Monday nights. There is a group that goes Swing Dancing every Wednesday night. If there is something you want to do, it is not hard to find a group of people to hang out with you.

    Food and Dining

    There are only a few eating options, but for a small college they are not bad. Not a lot of variety for vegetarians but there are salads offered at every place. Besides the traditional meal plan, you can use Bethel Bucks at any of the on campus locations and even two restaurants located off campus. This is great because it provides a way to eat out for those who might not be able to afford a restaurant normally. The people who work at the dining facilities are absolutely wonderful and have good hearts. This is what makes going there so great, knowing that the people who are making your food really care about you.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a lot of partying going on in the dorms, which is good because it creates more of a family feeling among everyone living there. There are many games and activities planned every week. The Bible study is excellent and the RAs and RDs are always available to talk to. It can be frustrating having quiet hours at 11 p.m. but they are really convenient when you are feeling sick and want to go to bed early.

    Academic Rigor

    Very focused on academics. There is a small teacher to student ratio, making classes personal and fun. Professors are willing to help with anything and the whole class gets to know each other so well. Bethel is very focused on a well-rounded education so be prepared to take a lot of general education classes that might be harder than what you would expect, but they really will be worth it in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jump in and have fun participating in the social life. Take every opportunity to get involved. Bethel is an amazing place with many chances to make connections from guest speakers and professors - don't miss out on all of the relationships you can establish to help you in the future.

    In three sentences

    It is a very fun place with a great atmosphere. The professors are all wonderful and committed to helping each student grow academically and as a person. The school is small enough that you run into friends wherever you go, but large enough that you can make new friends every day.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't very many clubs that are actually active. Campus activities has improved over the last year.

    Great for these types of students

    Generally passionate about living like Christ.

    Bang for the buck

    It really depends. The people are great. But that is always a subjective thing. You can make connections anywhere. For the services, etc., the institution provides, the expenses are too high. Then again, tuition is inflated pretty much everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    I preferences concerning fun do not concur with the populous.

    Food and Dining

    It really depends on where you eat and what you like to eat. The general consensus is that it's not great.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you live and what your dispositions are.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what programs you are in, which professors you have, and how hard you push yourself.

    In three sentences

    The general atmosphere is kind of like a Christian summer camp.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food sucks

    Dorm Life

    the community is a thriving environment.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging in every aspect.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus safety take this very seriously. They are constantly circling campus in their car, making sure nothing is going on, especially in the wee hours of the morning, and they are always out there to help a student, even if it just directions to the nearest Walgreens. Also, if anyone does not want to walk across campus after getting out of a night class, or any late night activity, campus safety is only one call away with a safety walk, one of the officers will walk you to your dorm or car. Student safety is taken very seriously, and I feel very safe being here, knowing they are watching out for us.

    Greek Life

    Sorry, we don't have this. But Notre Dame isn't far. I'm sure you could find a find a friend there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There clubs for just about everything. I think there is even a coffee and tea camping club. If there isn't one to your preference, make one, people will come.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is willing to put in the work and time at school will love it here. Also, moderate students should be able to flourish. If you are just going to college to have fun and not get a job, there are cheaper more fun party schools elsewhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    See above in what to do for fun. Also, many of the guys participate in the helm run. Some things are better left unexplained.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel has many wonderful opportunities and has something for just about everyone. The teachers are willing to got the extra mile to help you make the grade, as long as you study hard on your own.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend, and sometimes during the week, there are planned activities for anyone wishing to participate. On the weekend, many people go home if they can, but Bethel tries it's best to make the weekend fun. There are also many traditions that you can't miss. Third Thursday sounds just like it is, every third Thursday of every month, there is a different treat, and a chance to out your name in the draw for a prize, this year the prize was an iPad mini. Midnight breakfast is the Friday before finals week, and you got to breakfast at 11 at night (you're definitely a freshman if you come at midnight) and there is a costume contest, for both group and single. Midnight breakfast is twice a year, and is a wonderful opportunity to take a break from studying. There are several more events like that, but experiencing is better than I could ever explain.

    Food and Dining

    There are four dining options on campus that accept Bethel bucks and meal plan, and three restaurant off campus, just a walk away, that accept Bethel bucks. The food is always fresh, and there are options for everyone. Vegetarian, vegan, craving Asian food, subway style, cafe preference, breakfast type. It's all there. There are many different meal plans, but my preference is the 14 meal plan. You get 14 meals a week, to spend as you choose. I'm not a breakfast person, so I just go to lunch and dinner. You also get $60 bethel bucks, to spend either at one of the three restaurants, or in place if a meal swipe, or for a snack at the Cafe. Bethel has many choices, and is always wanting to make the students happy.

    Dorm Life

    Especially for the freshmen dorms, dorm life is amazing. About three times a week, any of the girls in the dorm that are wanting to eat when group dinner is called, decide where to go to eat as a group, and then walk there together, and talk as they dine at their restaurant of choice. Usually, the RA's have planned an activity at least three times a week. Whether it is decorating Christmas cookies, watching a movie, or eating takeout Thai food dinner to see how it is. The RA's are wonderful and very helpful. It takes a wonderful person to help you with your overflowing toilet at 1:00 in the morning, on finals week.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are amazing, but they make sure you work to get the grade for their class. They professors care about you, and they want you to learn their material. Slacking off will not get you any free points, but there is help to be found in tutors, if you need them, and a study group is always a possibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're going to college, any college, you have to know what you want to get becoming here. If you want a party, go elsewhere. If you want to study, and make friends that want the same thing as you do, come on in, the door is open for you, and we eagerly expect your visit. I chose Bethel because it was relatively close to home (two hours, plus time change), it had the program I wanted, and it was better than the other colleges I looked at with the same program I needed. This is a Christian college. With chapel three times a week and everything. I like it, a lot. But, if that is not to your tastes, then I wish you luck elsewhere. College is preparing you for the field of your choice, and giving you the skills for the rest of your life. When I go here, I am serious about studying, because if I lose my scholarship, I get to come home, for good.

    In three sentences

    Bethel College has a wonderful American Sign Language program, and from what I've heard, a great nursing program. Bethel is one out of about 40 colleges throughout the United States with a four year ASL program. I love the campus, I love the activities always being offered, and I love the people.