Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bethel University - Minnesota Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to engage in a close, Christian community. There are plenty of opportunities to volunteer and reach out to the community.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a smaller school that is close to the cities. Students that want to grow deeper in their faith and be supported in their growth will enjoy the atmosphere. Bethel is a school that cares more about personal growth, achievement, and interaction than how good a student looks on paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to visit the campus, it is a small campus that is very grounded in biblical studies and beliefs. Students should be searching for scholarships if they don't expect to be receiving financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is roughly 36,000 a year currently which makes it expensive, but there are relatively good academic scholarships available as well as work study.

    Am enjoying being here

    Bethel is a beautiful campus in Arden Hills right by St. Paul and very close to Rose dale Mall. It is by various restaurants as well as it allows for students to explore the cities. The academic buildings are all connected which is nice for winter walking to class and the Christian atmosphere is, in my opinion, one of the strongest in MN.

    Am learning a lot

    As Bethel is a small school there are many opportunities for students to have close interaction and communication with their professors. Teachers notice when a student is not in class and the classes, such as the Humanities program is very well renowned. Bethel has a top rated nursing program as well as is very strong in their science departments.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is amazing. They are always on the look our for unusual things that are happening. They even will give you a ride if you need one from one side of campus to the other.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Center is so good. The food choice is great and you can always go back for more.

    Dorm Life

    I loved dorm life. It was great! My roommate and I got along great. The RA was always around to do fun things with the floor. I got to know my floor very well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic part of Bethel is great. The professors teach you so much and it is so nice to have such small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions no matter how stupid you think they are.

    In three sentences

    I believe Bethel University has a great community that is both friendly and spiritual. The professors take time to get to know each student individually. Everyone that is at Bethel is so nice and are always wanting to know more about you.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bethel has a great security system. The only way to enter buildings is with your student ID and they have guarded gates 24 hours a day.

    What to do for fun

    Bethel has a lot of intramural sports, student activities clubs, division 3 sports, and many other clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The dining at Bethel is EXCELLENT. They have a vast selection of options such as, chinese, italian, burgers, salad bar, homestyle and more!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Bethel is very community based. They plan many events for the students to get to know each other, and do works or the greater good of the people.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel takes its academics very seriously. They help you to get the most out of the money you are paying. They do assign a lot of homework and studying becomes part of your daily routine, but it is all only to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the residence halls so you know which one is best for you. Become involved in student activities in order to get a good feeling of belonging on campus. Take advantage of chapel and vespers to increase your faith.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is a great place to go if you are looking for a faith based education. Each course has an integrated faith approach. They offer many opportunities to succeed as well as form a strong relationship with others as well as your lord and savior Jesus Christ.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Bethel Security is always driving around during the day and night to make sure everything is secure, along with the gate when it is locked during the night. They are good about checking ID's and parking permits.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's many different clubs and organizations that you can join! BSA was one of my favorites.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my few favorite traditions on campus is during homecoming when each building has a homecoming cheer and we all dress up in our homecoming hall shirts. So much fun and awesome to see all the other building cheers.

    What to do for fun

    everything!! on weekends there's always opportunities to go somewhere or even just hang out on campus. My friends and I will go to Perkins across the street, or Applebees for half off apps. Otherwise there are some free concerts sometimes in the area. BSA also puts on plenty of events on weekends so there's always something to sign up for or to do. If not, some of my friends and I will just hang out and watch movies or play games, or go to the SRC and play volleyball. I love it here on weekends! Its where I met all my true friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have many choices of food and healthy ones too, so you're not always just eating pizza and burgers. sometimes weekends can kinda be a bummer cause campus is empty so the dining center doesn't have as many things open, although they still have good options.

    Dorm Life

    I loved dorm life, although I had a strange roommate that's like a 1 in 500 chance that will happen. It actually helped me get out more and spend more time with the other ladies on my floor. They are now some of my best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and TA's are a huge help when it comes to academics. They have study sessions and group discussions if you need help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on Freshman Hill. its the place to be for making friends and having the ultimate freshman experience. Also take advantage of every opportunity and make the most of it! my freshman year I joined BSA, gospel choir, spoke at Testify, did intramural volleyball, broom ball and softball. Its a blast and good ways to relieve stress.

    In three sentences

    Bethel is an amazing Christ centered University where you can strengthen your faith and have a solid education as well. Everyone is so friendly and the professors are a giant help when it comes to the classroom.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt scared or threaten while on campus. if you are at a friends room and it is a long walk to your room- call security and they will pick you up and take you to your dorm. the pathways are well lit. past certain hours of the day the main gate closes and everyone is screened so no creepers get in.

    Greek Life

    bethel does not have greek life per-say. there are no fraternity or sorority houses, but within certain majors there are national groups you can join.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many different clubs you can join at bethel. in the fall they have an activities fair where they set up booths so you can see what is out there to join.

    Great for these types of students

    bethel's top two majors are nursing and business, but we have people in all different majors. we have the science people in the labs to the the english people in the library, and then there is also the social people to like to just have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bethel is located in a northern suburb of the twin cities but you would never know you are surround by interstate highways because of all of the beautiful woods all over campus. there are some really nice walking trails. on one of these walking trails you go past sem hill. it is called this because it is a hill by the seminary. but this is the place where many girls get asked out get proposed to, so if your guy asks if you want to go to sem hill- be ready. bethel student association (bsa) has come fun annul events, challenges, and contest that happen every year. the two main ones are gadkin- guy asks girl and nikdag - girl asks guy- for a weekend of fun activities all planned by bsa. this year was ice skating and nickolodian universe.

    Bang for the buck

    bethel is very expensive. i do see areas they could make improvements to make the campus more cost efficient to help lower costs. but the academic learning, spiritual guidance, and friends i am receiving to my experience here is worth it because i will carry all of it for the rest of my life.

    What to do for fun

    the university offers a free shuttle to the roseville mall and target. it runs on a 30 min. to hourly schedule. that is very handy when you want to get off campus and don't have a car. if you do have a car on campus the possibilities are endless. bethel is about 15 min from both minneapolis and st. paul downtown's plus all the northern suburbs. just look online for free to cheep events and head out!

    Food and Dining

    the dinning center (dc) is so good: great salad bar everyday, wood-fire pizza, create your own pasta and stir-fry, homestyle line (ya never know what you are going to find there), plus a grill. oh, and desserts are great too. apart from the main dinning, there is a coffee shop with coffee and snacks and a 3900 grill with pasta, paninis, and cheeseburgers. unfortunately there is no little shop to buy milk, bread, etc for your dorm room on campus.

    Dorm Life

    freshmen year you live in a true dorm setting. with the long hallway, shared bathrooms, and floor activities. the next three years are more like apartment style living. 2-3 bedrooms, living room, bathroom, and kitchenette. some have long hallways and some have staircases. the community in all of campus housing is very close and connect- you really feel like a family.

    Academic Rigor

    since this is a liberal arts college there are some classes not for your major, take advantage of these classes- i have learned so much from them! there will be classes that you do not agree with the professor, but that is a learning experience to see what you really think and believe. the classes for my major have been challenging and invigorating.

    Tips for prospective students

    really dive into activities on campus; find out what is out there you might not have known about--don't play it safe. talk with your professors if you have a question, they are not just there to lecture, they really want to connect with and teach you. explore the city around bethel, but be safe and don't forget to study!

    In three sentences

    bethel university is a place full of community, academic challenges, and christian values. there is something always going on apart from everyday classes and weekly chapels. i am in my second year now and i am happy to call bethel my school and home.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    many activities

    Great for these types of students

    christian, impulsive, fun loving

    What to do for fun

    lots of extracurricular activities and fun events planned each night.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to bethel, ready to know what career path you want to take. advisers will help you, but it is best to know right away what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    bethel is a very friendly and fun campus to attend. they are career oriented and are very helpful when it comes to help students select a career. bethel is a christian campus which helps keep students in line.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you communicate with the people who are there to help you. I have had so much help from the advisors; I wouldn't have been able to do it without them.

    In three sentences

    Such an amazing school! Gorgeous campus, great classes, and incredibly helpful staff.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security and Safety is great. The campus is closed from 6pm-6am, where visitors are not allowed on campus unless called onto campus by a Bethel community member. A patrol officer is on duty 24/7/365 as well.

    Food and Dining

    Bethel University has a new Dining Center that was built and opened in 2008. It has great food and options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a ton of fun and gives you a great opportunity to meet new people, especially in the freshman dorms. The upperclassman dorms are more apartment style, therefore you don't see others as often.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel is a difficult school, however it has a good graduation and job placement rate. You want to have a Bethel education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bethel is a great Christian college, where you can meet a ton of new people and have a lot of fun. However, you can't forget to that homework is priority as well.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is tons to do whether doing dorm activities or playing sports in the gym or dancing in the underground there is always something going on no matter what time it is.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is new and great.

    Dorm Life

    Is awesome and really allows you to fully experience the fullness of college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not over challenging which allows for a great environment for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active and participate in all activities that you can especially on campus.

    In three sentences

    Its a great place with a wonderful atmosphere. I enjoy the many opportunities that the university provides whether its academically, socially or athletically. It is a place where you really can feel at home and enjoy your college career.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Of course, like anywhere, Bethel is not 100% safe, but I feel comfortable walking around campus, even at night. The paths and parking lots are well lit and the security patrol officers make their presence known.

    Clubs and Activities

    Bethel has numerous clubs and activities for all interests, from environment to music. Inter-mural sports are popular, particularly broomball. For those unfamiliar with broomball, it's a fun winter sport that's a sort of cross between hockey and soccer. Many Bethel students play and athletic ability is not required to have fun playing broomball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The weekend before classes start, as part of the Welcome Week for freshmen, a team of upperclassmen puts on what is knows as The Show. The purpose of The Show is to introduce new students about Bethel's inside jokes and the culture of campus. However, more than just the freshmen attend. It is extremely popular among returning students and the auditorium is packed for an evening of laughter.

    What to do for fun

    There are often on-campus activities, preformances and forums. Off-campus, there are numerous opportunities, as the downtown areas of both St. Paul and Minneapolis are nearby. In addition, Bethel's beautiful campus provides opportunities for outdoor activities such as disc golf and canoeing.

    Food and Dining

    Bethel has a dining center as well as a coffee shop and grill that serves burger and pasta. The food is of reasonable good quality, better than many schools in the area.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are comfortable and located a convenient distance from the academic buildings. For the housing that is farther away, reliable shuttle service is provided. More activities are planned in the freshman dorms, but upperclassman dorms also have floor events.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel's courses are rigorous, meaningful, and taught by dedicated, qualified professors. The courses are designed to challenge you to think critically and what you think and why. The professors are very supportive and willing to offer advice and support.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is a Christian and academic community. It is a supportive place to learn, build friendships with students and faculty, and develop as a whole person. Bethel wants students to succeed and provides many opportunities to help them do so.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security always going on at campus and is always there to help. Even if you get stuck at the local mall because you missed the shuttle back to campus, security can come to the mall and get you. Bethel cares a great deal about its students and their safety.

    Greek Life

    I do not take any Greek classes at Bethel University or any other school, but I do know that they are offered here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great variety of clubs and activities. I was a participant of the Doc and Disc club where we would watch a documentary (it was never boring!) and then discuss it afterwards. It was awesome because I got to meet other people in my dorm I didn't see in classes. Other groups are things like theater, photography, major emphasized clubs, and there are really just to many to name.

    Great for these types of students

    For Christian students this is a great place to go because of the chapel Monday Wednesday and Friday as well as Vespers (worship singing) on Sunday nights! This is such a great school to exercise and find your faith. For non-Christian students this is a still a great place to go if you are trying to find your faith and chapel and vespers are not mandatory. Bethel gives you air to breathe and space to find your own way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition on campus that I really enjoy takes place in the Dining Center. If someone drops a glass cup or their tray and it falls to the floor everyone claps for them! It sounds weird but it is so fun and gives that communal feeling of being a part of the school. The best part is just that it takes away the embarrassment really of dropping your tray in front of everyone. It makes it into a little joke.

    Bang for the buck

    Like every school, Bethel University may not be the place for you, but I for one do not regret coming to this school one bit! I love the people that I am friends with, the flexibility of my schedule, and the professors are so great and helpful to all of their students! There is always some type of financial aid that can help students interested in Bethel.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of organizations and clubs to get involved in at school. My personal favorite is playing Ultimate Frisbee. Me and my friends really like to go and hit up the beach when its nice out because its not too far from campus, we walk! I honestly have the most fun just hanging out in the room with my roommates and watching a movie, sharing our days, or even just making fun of each other.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so good in taste and variety! It ranges from pasta, pizza, tacos, deli, to salads and cereal and waffles all day long. There is always a spot for you and your friends to find a place to eat. If the main dining center is not sounding so good one day there is always the 3900Grill. That is my go-to place if I want to switch things up, the seating is a little crowded but me and my roommates can always just take in back to our dorm!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was my absolute favorite aspect of my Freshman year and I am looking forward to it in my Sophmore year! Being with my roommates was so much fun and so was getting to know other girls on my floor and other floors of the dorm. A couple of the girls are already two of my best friends which is hard to believe after just one school year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging at time for those who lack certain skills in areas but receiving an F is hard to do in a class if you are really trying. I highly suggest to apply yourself by getting involved in class (participation points), the students (for group studying) and talking with the teacher. There is free tutoring offered to all students, I used it and it helped me a ton.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a Bethel Host I would recommend doing an overnight and experiencing some classes. Do not be afraid to ask students on campus questions, we all want you here if it's where you want to be! Explore all of your options and just make sure the place you choose is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is extremely open and welcoming. It is a place to take chances and take advantage of opportunities. It helped to me find the path that I want to follow in life.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ther isnt anything at bethel that isn't fun. You can go on bike rides or walk on their tails, they have a wonderful gym for recreational sports with a workout facilit downstairs.

    Food and Dining

    Just like you're back in your own kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    the best experience at bethel. Meet new people and have fun activities.

    Academic Rigor

    its no walk in the park, but the teachers are always available to help

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a fun and loving enviroment that has multipule activities for you to do.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten bethel is a solid 9.5

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students can call Security at anytime if they feel they need to. Also, Bethel is a closed campus at night, security lets cars in through a gate so random people cannot just come on campus.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek life at Bethel.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in choir at Bethel and it is great. We go on tour every year, and it is a fun way to travel.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is a great school for Christian, motivated students. You will receive a well rounded education and grow in your faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every one at Bethel plays broom ball in the winter. It is much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    I would say Bethel is worth the expensive tuition. You are getting a great education, and well what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is beautiful, so I go on walks by the lake a lot. It relieves stress to be outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of good variety in the Dining Center, and the food is always fresh.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. I have made the great life long friends, and all of the RAs are nice and easygoing.

    Academic Rigor

    The general Liberal Arts classes that all Bethel students are required to take are difficult and require a lot of effort. I have found that putting the time in is rewarding though.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest prospective students to stay focused on what is important, and make grades your top priority.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is a great school academically and spiritually. It is a good fit for me, being an Elementary Education major, because they have a well known education department. Also, being at a Christian university has helped me to grow in my faith.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bethel puts an emphasis on safety. Bethel is a pretty closed campus. After about 7:00pm, all gates are closed to the outside except the main entrance, which is blocked by a sort of guard house. All entering cars must prove that they are Bethel students or employees, or must be called in by a student to gain entry. All students are encouraged to have the phone number of campus security. If a student feels unsafe walking between two points on campus, campus security will escort anyone who calls. Weather warnings and campus alerts are sent by email, and can be sent to a student's mobile phone.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities associated with Bethel.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a school with a thriving faith community. Students at Bethel are serious about God, without stuffing faith down the new-comer's throat. Chapel is optional, so those who go are interested and engaged. Bible studies and community outreach programs are numerous and easy to join. Students are encouraged to take their faith into their own hands, and one of the ways this is accomplished is by not hosting church services on Sundays, but rather providing shuttles to transport students to local churches, further getting them involved in the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bethel has a large rock/boulder in the middle of the Kresge Courtyard which students spray paint about once every month in different colors. Most memorable for me was when it was painted like the head of a teenage mutant ninja turtle...

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is a very expensive school. A Bethel education is worth it. It has leading programs in both the Physics and Education departments, and excellently composed programs otherwise. Departments are well supplied. Programs expand and challenge students. The campus is clean and well-maintained.

    What to do for fun

    Bethel has a number of event days throughout the year where students can attend things like skating, Minnesota baseball games, Minnesota lacrosse games, etc., for reduced or no cost. Bethel Student Activities (BSA), a student group, also organizes events on campus, such as girl's/guy's nights and Halloween festivities, and Bethel even hosts local bands at a free concert during the year.

    Food and Dining

    Bethel has a 97% from scratch kitchen. They make almost everything there at the school, and even grow some of their own herbs and vegetables. Every so often, they have specialty food days, where they make food from a specific country or in a certain style (France or Cajun-style, for example). They say when you leave, you learn as much about food as if you had taken a class on cuisine. I am a person with a plethora of food allergies, and dining is always a problem for me. When I came to Bethel, I met with the head chef, and he took me on a tour of the entire kitchen, showing me places I could find things to eat, and things and food to watch out for. I was always well fed. (Vegetarian and gluten-free diets also accommodated.)

    Dorm Life

    I have met some lifelong friends here at Bethel. The atmosphere is inviting and so supportive, whatever the struggle. Freshman year, I had a problem with my roommate and needed to move out of my initial dorm room, to another one on campus. My resident assistant (RA) and resident director (RD) were so kind and so helpful and so caring throughout the entire process. I ended up living with a group of girls who were so beautiful on the inside and the outside!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor will have a lot to do with which majors and/or minors your are interested in, which track you choose for generals, and how much you challenge yourself. Professors are very approachable, fun to work with, and will always help accommodate a student with needs.

    In three sentences

    Of all the schools I have toured and visited, Bethel seems the most like home. I feel like a fish dropped into my fishbowl. The people, professors, activities, and environment are absolutely charming.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Shy, Curious, outgoing, lord-seeking, determined, enjoy challenges

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gadkin: A weekend-long date where guys ask the girls with a riddle Nikdag: A weekend-long date where girls ask the boys with a riddle Coffeehouse: delicious seasonal snacks accompanied with student musicians in the underground Bethel's the Voice: our spoof off The Voice where students compete vocally Snowcoming: campus-wide talentshow where you compete against other dorms

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this school doesn't come cheap, but rounding your faith in Christ is well worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the local target or the mall. Also, I like spending my time at the school dances (very clean), working out, spending time with my friends, long boarding, swing dancing, pool table, fuse ball, ping pong, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Bethel's dining provides delicious and healthy variety at affordable prices. The best thing is there meal plan, but especially their dessert line.

    Dorm Life

    I could not be any happier. I am close with a majority of my floor mates just after a few months. I don't have any regrets. Generally during weekdays, my whole floor will go to each meal together, share laughs, awkward moments and during the weekends, we take advantage of the shuttle and go to the local mall or target.

    Academic Rigor

    Unlike high school, in college here you will generally spend 1 hour to 2 hours per scheduled class in lecture and have several hours of homework per week for each class. The testing is rather difficult and the professors are mostly picky graders when it comes to essays.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest doing a campus tour to get the feel around campus. It really shows college-life in a new light. Also, look at Bethel as a stepping stone to growing your faith.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University has a close-knit community and hundreds of different activities are offered throughout the whole year without the party scene. The food services provide affordable and healthy options. Lastly, the academics provide a challenging education from a christian prospective.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus safety and security cars driving around, which ensures my own safety for me. Our gates lock around 9 every night, and guests need permission to get in. Also, if you're ever scared to walk by yourself to and from somewhere you can call campus safety anytime and they will pick you up and drive you to your destination.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not exactly sure about the variety of clubs, however I DO know that there are events going on ALL THE TIME! FUN events, too :)

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a smaller campus and a spiritual community, this id definitely the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Holiday dances and festivals, date weekends, etc. So many fun activities!

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel University is very pricey, but definitely worth it. The food, academics, spiritual community, and activities we get to participate in are all worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There's shuttles that bus you to Target or the Mall throughout the day, so if you can't find anything to do, just hoop on for free.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food!! There's so many options, from Chinese to Italian.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome! There's always various activities going on, and you and your floor come to be very close.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel is definitely held in high-esteem for their academics. While I am finding my first semester to be going very smoothly, I only took 12 credits; I definitely see that taking more credits next semester will require a lot of work and time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work! It's easy to slack off and then suddenly realize you have so much work to do in so little time.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is everything I had hoped for in a college. Close to the downtown St. Paul and Minneapolis, there is so much to do. The faith aspect of the school and high level education is also something I definitely do not take for granted.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive but the one-on-one that you can get with the professors alone is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is very involved. there are a lot of programs that you can become apart of in each department.

    Food and Dining

    The Coffee shop is ok; I wish that their drinks came in larger sizes and that they had faster service. If you don't have 10-15 min. to spare I would not place an order there.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a declaration to read before you join.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would gather as much information about the financial aid as possible and also turor the campus. The campus is amazing and the people are extreamly helpful.

    In three sentences

    Bethel has a wonderful student atmosphere. The Instructors are personable. The staff are very helpful.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of times we play games in groups and do mini competitions within the friend groups. There is Student Activities and there is normally an event every Friday night. These events range from bowling, to movies, to girls/guys night, and many more!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is not the best, but is very manageable. There is not a lot of choices and options, but it is always enough to fill you up. There are three places to eat one that is more of a coffee place, a grille, and the common dining center.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a crucial part of Bethel University because this is normally where students meet their closest friends. Much of the freshmen life is focused on the dorms. There are a lot of tournaments and competitions that go on in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel University focuses a lot on academics. The professors and faculty staff are very helpful and understanding. If a student is in need of help there is always someone to help them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a campus that is not centered around partying, fraternities, sororities and etc, Bethel University is the right place for you. This school focuses a lot on academics and the life you will be entering once you leave school. This is a place to go to meet genuine people who you will be surrounded with constantly.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is a christian college that values its students education, careers, and outside opportunities. It is a small, unique school where everyone, for the most part, is very friendly to one another. This campus is a great place to make life lasting friendships and grow independently as an individual.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security officers are very visible and easily found. Bethel University is very secure; many students leave laptops on tables to get food or use the restroom. No violent crimes have occurred on or near campus as far as I know.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek life but it is not particularly obvious or well known. Most Greek life seems to be centered on alcohol and parties, and since that kind of activity is frowned on at Bethel, the Greek life is more centered on medical students and their studies.

    Clubs and Activities

    While there are clubs and activities on campus, most of campus life is somewhat more inclusive and everyone is encouraged to be active in every part of campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is a great school especially suited to students who really want to learn and want a well rounded education rather than a pat answer when faced with life. Bethel students of all majors are encouraged to really wrestle with life's tough questions and come up with not only their own answers but their own reasons for the answers they find.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bethel is located on a small lake and as such there are yearly broomball tournaments, where players use brooms to pass a ball around on the ice while sliding around in boots. This game is similar to hockey but with a lot more falling and laughing, and a lot less fighting.

    Bang for the buck

    While Bethel is a bit pricey, you definitely get what you pay for. Professors are not content to let students get away with half decent work; they expect excellence in every class. Professors also push students in ways most are unused to; new ways of thought are a reality on Bethel's campus.

    What to do for fun

    Bethel is located in a suburb of the Twin Cities in Minnesota and as such has many activities that are easy to get to. There are shuttles to take you to the closest mall and many of the sporting events and other fun activities around the cities. There is not much off campus within walking distance but there are usually plenty of on campus activities to keep you busy, from broomball tournaments to movie nights and everything in between.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo does most of the on campus catering and cafeteria food, and they are very good at working with students regarding food allergies and sensitivities. The food is good tasting and good for you and they have a great variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, especially if you have a good RA but can get to be a bit much if you have early classes and your roommates don't. It can be hard to sleep if you need a lot of it but is also a lot of fun and easy to make great new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel has high expectations of their students and the students are pushed hard to really learn the material rather than just cram for a test. Concepts are revisited and reviewed over multiple semesters and multiple classes, even across subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Open your mind to new experiences and ideas. Know that you will be pushed in ways you don't expect, but learn and grow and become a better person for it.

    In three sentences

    The professors at Bethel have high expectations and are student oriented; it is their job to help you succeed. They really do work hard to make sure the students understand the material and learn rather than just cram for tests. The students are pushed to learn and grow to be well rounded critical thinkers.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have very high campus security and sometimes it can get annoying because we have gates so it gets hard when people come to visit.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Bethel.

    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is great for studious, Christian, very conservative people.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is very expensive and I do not believe it is worth the amount of money we pay. To add, tuition is going up next year. Those are two of the main reasons I am looking into transferring.

    What to do for fun

    The one thing about Bethel is that people often refer it to the Bethel Bubble due to the fact that our campus gives a gated feeling. It is hard to find things to do on the weekend unless you or a friend has a car on campus, and with that there are limited parking spaces. This was one of the areas that was difficult coming in without a car and not knowing anyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good at Bethel, they always have a lot of options and there are people who cook the food in front of you which is nice. Although like any school, after a while you can get sick of the same food so often. With that, I think that Bethel does a great job providing variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Bethel is pretty nice overall. There are certain dorms that are better than others but they all have their own perks. For example, Arden Village dorms are closer to the academic buildings than Lissner is, but Lissner has air conditioning and Arden does not.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very high level education institution. I have heard of many people dropping out because it is too hard. Personally, I think that it is a good motivating challenge to help students become successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to get out and do things with people. I would say that it is important to reach out to people in your classes and make friends with them outside of the classroom setting. It is important to build that community for yourself, especially if you come in not knowing anyone.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is known for its community, academics, and Christian lifestyle. It is excellent for the Christian aspect and academics, although, the community is not as great as they make it seem. It is a big backpack school, so people go home often.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ultimate frisbee, movie nights, the usual sort of thing. There's also a bowling alley less than five minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome dining center. Eight different buffets, several of which are custom-made, like Subway. Not just sandwiches though--stir fry, pasta and salad too!

    Dorm Life

    Not crazy like many colleges, but still fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will push you to learn but not unfairly. They're friendly and helpful. You get your money's value in your classes.

    In three sentences

    Tough, satisfying, *Fun*.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at Bethel because the campus is relatively small, gated, and protected by campus security.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Bethel.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    People of any religion, but it is aimed at Christians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Gadkin and Nikdag. The boys or girls dress up and ask out a date for a weekend of activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is expensive!!! Hopefully it'll pay off with a good job in the future.

    What to do for fun

    There's a shuttle to the mall and movie theater. On the weekends, events are usually planned. Some of the most fun happens spontaneously with floormates and friends.

    Food and Dining

    I've been told the food at Bethel is better than other schools. Some days are better than others, but it's never awful.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm and the people in it. A downside is the visitation hours.

    Academic Rigor

    Bethel has just the right amount of rigor. Studying is a must, but there is also time for socialization.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're unsure about whether to come to Bethel or not, visit the campus. That's the only way to get true confirmation.

    In three sentences

    Bethel's students are some of the friendliest people out there. Rivaling the beautiful faces is the gorgeous, wooded campus. Besides that, God is truly integrated into every aspect of Bethel culture.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sleep, disc golf, fish, run, hang out with friends, and work out!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is AMAZING! I can't get enough of the dining center.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing and up to date! The people are also great and every one is very close.

    Academic Rigor

    tough classes that make you think, but do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress out about your major right way, you have plenty of time to decide what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    It's great place to learn and grow as not inly a believer of Christ but as a well rounded person. The campus on beautiful and the people and accepting. Also, the Profs are great people and truly do know what they are teaching.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult who are returning to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Praying at the start of the class.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate there before.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply

    In three sentences

    I would recommend this school to anyone. The teachers are great. Great resources.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bethel has their own campus security that drives around to make sure everyone is safe. There is also a front gate that visitors aren't allowed into after a certain time at night unless a student calls security to let them in.

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many fun things to do on and off campus. Sometimes it's hard to choose what activity to go to.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to learn more about God or grow in the Christian faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Seminary Hill that people DTR (define the relationship) on. Ring by Spring Gadkin and Nikdag- Guys ask the girls and Girls ask the guys to fun events on and off campus

    Bang for the buck

    As expensive as Bethel is I could not imagine myself going to another school. Once you go to Bethel you realize that not enough money in the world could be enough for the experiences that you have while there.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities that you can participate in. There are also things that you can find on campus. It is always fun to walk or jog around the lake and take a bunch of pictures because the campus is absolutely beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    There are so many choices on what to eat and I haven't got sick of the food yet. All of the food is very good and you can even make suggestions to the staff and they respond back.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my dorm experience. We always found fun stuff to do as a floor and there are floor traditions that only your floor know about.

    Academic Rigor

    Many students are focused on academics and getting good grades. You need to spend a lot of time on class work, but all of my classes were interesting so it wasn't boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy and get to know as many people as you can, especially those in your classes or that share the same major as you.

    In three sentences

    You gain an amazing insight into what it means to be a Christ follower. There are so many friendly people that are willing to help you. There are a lot of fun events that Bethel sets up for you to do, like paintball or a Timberwolves game.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its bright and smart!

    Greek Life

    Its great.

    Clubs and Activities

    interested join the club!

    Great for these types of students

    enjoy and work very hard!

    What to do for fun

    I want to to join campus.

    Food and Dining

    I hope very bright and smart!

    Dorm Life

    surprise life

    Academic Rigor

    Its grate!

    In three sentences

    I am very happy to join Bethel university

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a front gate that you have to have someone call you in from if you are not a student.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a part of a couple clubs on campus, they really help you meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love being connect with others on campus!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a Sadies dance called Nikdag! And the coffee and Royal Grounds is so yummy!!

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but the education and environment is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Bethel provides shuttles to the 2nd largest mall in Minnesota! Its very fun to gather up all your friends and have a relaxing day at the mall. It has great stores and great restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo food is amazing!! Breakfast is the best. Made to order omelets.

    Dorm Life

    Great RAs and fun RDs. You feel very included here. The rooms are bigger then normal dorm rooms!

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard classes, but they really prepare you. You never take a classes that will not help you in the future. All classes have great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and apply for as many scholarships as you can. Dont worry about what your major is when you graduate. They do a great job of helping you pick what is best for you.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful Christ-centered school. The education I am receiving here is phenomenal. A real nurturing environment.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Monson Dining Center has a wide variety of foods and meets various nutritional needs (gluten free, vegetarian etc)

    Dorm Life

    The RAs do a great job of making it feel like home. It creates a good community to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but in a good way. They encourage students to grow in their learning abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do an overnight visit if at all possible, it was helpful for me to see what dorm life as a freshman would be like.

    In three sentences

    Bethel has a beautiful campus, it does not feel like it is only a short distance from St. Paul and Minneapolis. The students and teachers are very welcoming and helpful. I really enjoy the music programs and have had good experiences participating in them.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different activities and clubs one can join at Bethel. I am currently on the Bethel dance team which meets four days a week. It has kept me busy, but it helps me prioritize things.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the nearby mall and buy clothes at Forever 21. I also go to Como Zoo or bowling for fun. There is also a fabulous movie theater a couple miles away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. My favorite place to eat is the stir fry line. There is also a sandwich like which is better than subway.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at bethel are satisfactory but freshman living can be tough. You share a bathroom with your whole floor and that can be tough. You also get a roommate chosen at random which makes living situations risky,

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Bethel are amazing! A lot of students are willing to learn and excited about it to. Professors at Bethel push you to your limits, but it makes you a better student!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be smart with your finances and apply for as many scholarships as possible. Bethel University is expensive so being aware of your financial state is quintessential. Make sure you save up lots of money before going here!

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to go for academics. Bethel University is also a great place to go if you would like a community aspect. I have made many great friends that I think will last a lifetime!

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a closed campus, so there isn't really anything that goes on that would demote the campus safety. The worst that anyone ever hears of are things like water-ballooning and snowball throwing. There is also security guys that patrol campus to keep it safe and give people rides around campus if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the Lord, have a great work ethic, attack life, and like to have a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a private college, it is quite expensive, but it's worth it. This is a college that pushes students to succeed but will be along side of them to help. Also, a big thing for me was the fact that all of my teachers knew my first and last name because it helped me to know that they were invested in my learning and my life.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, and co-ed activities are a lot of fun and are a great way to get involved. Co-ed basketball and volleyball are big activities that last throughout the fall and spring semesters. Also, co-ed broom ball is a sport that many Bethel students play during the winter, and it is a blast.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good, and we have a beautiful dining hall. We have a wide array of food, but it doesn't necessarily change that often. Because of that, the food can get quite repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a blast. I have had more fun than I ever have while living at Bethel. I've met some of my best friends, and I know that they will be ones that I will be with the rest of my life.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a college that will push you to learn and grow. Although it can be tough at times, the professors are beyond helpful and are always willing to help. There is a free tutoring service available to students if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into Bethel knowing that you are going to work hard, but know that there will be people constantly helping you out along the way. Also, getting involved in sports, clubs, or co-ed activities is a great way to get to know people right away. Be an extrovert and get to know people right away.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is an incredible institution that has been life changing. It is a college that pushes kids not only to grow in the knowledge of their specific field, but to grow in their faith as well. There is no college setting that will prepare one for life better than Bethel.