Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bethel University - Tennessee Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/28/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bethel is a great college to attend! It has numerous programs to offer, as well as, music and choir.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on top of things and you will never fail.

    Bang for the buck

    Do everything you can to get free money!

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy the small school, as well as, getting to know everyone.

    Will learn a lot

    I feel that I will learn alot.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I only attend classes at Bethel University I do not attend any after school activities associated with the university.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food offered expect for vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot offer an insite into dorm living. I live at home while attending classes at a satalite site for Bethel University

    Academic Rigor

    You are expected to complete your in class work as well as any homework assigned. But the instructors are approachable and willing to assist you with any problems or questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is that this is a very good university to attend to pursue your bachelors at any age.

    In three sentences

    I am in my second semester at bethel university. Everyone I have met has been so helpful in helping me transfer from a two year college to a four year college. The classes are small and the teacher are approachable if you have any questions.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that enjoy a small town living environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should apply for all of the scholarships that are available here. If you are interested in this college, plan a college visit.

    Bang for the buck

    I suppose that all colleges are expensive, but I feel that this college could be a little less expensive.

    Will enjoy being here

    The Admission Staff is so happy, and is really nice. All of the students that I came into contact with were polite and very welcoming!

    Will learn a lot

    I will be in the honors program here, so I will be challenged and able to learn a lot.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend class

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage everyone to enroll at bethel university and enjoy learning again.

    In three sentences

    I love bethel university. The College start program was just what i needed to get back on track. The staff are exceptional people in so many ways.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners, students who enjoy taking tests but in writing form.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes.

    What to do for fun

    campus activities, greek life, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has great instructors so learning the material is/shouldn't be a factor. If you need help, they are there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to think critically. Learn how to expound on material that might be foreign to you. There curriculum is based on writing what you know, so be prepared to write papers frequently.

    In three sentences

    This university is a great choice for traditional and adult learners. They provide personal attention to each student. This school's goal is that you possess an education that will be beneficial in the future.

  • 08/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Try to stay on your studies as much as possible, make sure you don't slack. Try to join as many activities as you can, its a small town so its not that easy to find things to do. Lucky for the students the staff try to change that! Go out of your comfort zone and make friends, it may be hard but trust me its worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    This University has helped me pay for college in many ways, they go out of their way to find you scholarships and such. There are multiple opportunities to pay for school. The foods not all the best, but you get the great atmosphere.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love this university, so grateful i got accepted! The atmosphere is awesome, the students and staff know how to make you feel at home. Being in a sorority is just awesome, it feels as if I've known my sisters and brothers for ever!

    Am learning a lot

    The staff here are really good, they know when to work hands on with you whenever you need it.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go about 30 minutes to martin or an hour to jackson tenessee

    Tips for prospective students

    if your looking for a great,small school this is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    its a great school, but not much to do. very small, that a way you still know everybody. very nice and friendly people

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you like small town atmosphere then this is the school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    be positive and willing to learn. you start out as an individual and your class mates become like family.

    In three sentences

    bethel university has smaller class sizes for better learning. they offer accelerated classes one night a week also online class for undergrad and graduate degrees . in comparison to other colleges bethel has reasonable college tuition.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think their safety is justifiable,although I really have had an encounter with the security team.So as far as their safety I feel pretty safe.

    What to do for fun

    For I don't do a lot, every now and again all go out of town with friends because McKenzie is so boring but I really stay in my room and watch movies,that's my fun.

    Food and Dining

    I give their Food and Dining two stars. i say that because as far as the dining area it's amazing.It's decorated beautifully and everything just you know very elegant and etc.Bf the but their food could be a lot better,especially as much as it cost to go to Bethel.

    Dorm Life

    To me my dorm life is just amazing! I only have one roommate which is very friendly and considerate. The room it self is a little old but I'm managing.The rooms are extremely huge which allow me a huge amount of space to do what I need. It's not to many people around,I kind of feel like I have my own apartment. Makes me feel at home.And also it provides me with a in walking distance work out center that allows me to work out daily.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know if it's just because I'm a freshmen at Bethel or what but it seems to me like they are a little to it easy. I mean all this stuff I've did in high school. But maybe it will becoming more challenging as I climb up the grade scale.

    In three sentences

    I think Bethel University is a great college to start off at. It's not to big and not to small, the people are extremely friendly. Bethel also focuses a lot on God which is a big plus.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Mostly, we have only local sororities/fraternities with a few national organizations. But these organizations are very involved on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    The arts-scene is greatly cultivated at Bethel, so it is a GREAT place for those wishing to become well-rounded performers, singers, or artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman are required to attend Christian Chapel Services once a week for their first year at school, and ever student is required to take an Old and New testement Class. These emphasize the history behind the main writings of the Bible.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the 'fun' events have to take place outside of town, as we have very few options aside from a McDonalds and a gas station. But, 20 minutes away in Martin, you can find Restraunts galore, as well as clubs, bars, and shopping. You can also make the 1 hour drive to Jackson for Dance Clubs, Shopping, Restraunts, Bowling, ect.

    Food and Dining

    We have very nice eating facilities, and food is moderately got and healthy most of the time. Cereal and Sandwiches are most always available.

    Dorm Life

    At Bethel, most students are required to live on campus, so it is easy to cultivate new relationships. There are planned dorm activities most months. There are also frequent on campus student activities!

    Academic Rigor

    There are substantial incentives for those students who keep good grades, however it is incredibly tough to balance studying and school work with most of the scholarship program requirements. So, Success in academics at Bethel is definitely something you have to work hard for. But that makes it much more of an accomplishment!

    Tips for prospective students

    This school (as well as the city) is constantly growing and changing, so keep an open mind when viewing and considering Bethel U. While there is not a Walmart in town, there is one 12 minutes away. We have a handful of restaurant options.

    In three sentences

    This school has a TON of scholarship opportunities for individuals no matter what their major might be. These require a lot of work and time, but are incredibly rewarding in the relationships and real-life lessons learned. The environment in town and on campus is very conservative and familial- Bethel can easily become students' home away from home.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always activities going on around campus involving Greek and individual persons

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food has its days when its good, but when its not there are options on campus such as The Grille, Chick-Fil-A, Domino's, or McDonalds

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a decent size, sometimes they get a little crowded but the more students makes the campus that much better.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers will work with you as long as you are doing what your supposed to be doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come focused and ready for work. The teachers will push you to be the best you can be.

    In three sentences

    The area the school is in is very basic. I is very rural which i think is very good to stay focused on classed.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally, I'm a big fan of thrift stores and antique malls. There are plenty of both within walking distance from campus with unique and reasonably products, as well as diners and other family owned businesses.

    Food and Dining

    With the prepaid meal plans, the Cafeteria offers a great array of foods for every mealtime, but the food doesn't hold your appetite for very long.

    Dorm Life

    Even some of the older dorms are very comfortable to live in and many options are available. From living two to a room to eight people sharing a suite, the school offers plenty of living space on campus to suit your lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are at an average difficulty. The most difficult a class can be depends on how much information is being thrown at you within a semester's time. Most of the teachers are very good at communication and teaching the material, so most of it is left on how hard the student studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bethel is truly a great school if you're looking for a small town feel and 1-on-1 help from professors, but it can be expensive. If you fall in love with it, make sure you are set financially to be able to afford to stay there.

    In three sentences

    Bethel provides a big school feel with the benefits of a small town. It has a great Renaissance program with Theatre, Choir, and Band, and is very involved in performing within the community. It's only possible flaw is it's high price in tuition, but besides that, I'm in love with it.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an alley aside the building where I attend. And some time before I was admitted into college, my father showed me how a company put away an entire computer system and it's networking for a more modern compilation. That continued where my mother's development left-off.

    Bang for the buck

    Money goes and comes as needed. Checking a balance adds either confidence or a decreased level in your supporting supply of financial stability. Do what is supposed to be done with your money.

    What to do for fun

    Study to loosen the burdens of illiteracy. Transforming yourself cause you to rely more on your ability to do just that. Do the right things and you will feel rewarded.

    Food and Dining

    Too much will slow you down. Too little will cause depression. And the just must use these rations appropriately.

    Dorm Life

    Room and board is were the educational enhancements of the private sector begins. Stay on course and do not faulted. Comply to the authoritative enjoyment with higher society and the enriching comforts of a home.

    Academic Rigor

    The course you take becomes apart of your life. You must accept their offer to a better adult lifestyle. Optimism creates your own academia.

    Tips for prospective students

    I say, release your fears. The real challenge is were you have a hard time uncovering from your immaturity. Do what you can for yourself while you can.

    In three sentences

    This place was not too discoverable to the unfamiliar searcher. Their intentions for current and future adult learners has real significance! I try my best to do well because I want to succeed.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students and adult learners. I am 40 and just going to college. Was very intimidated at first, the staff and other students have been very helpful.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus I take online courses

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus I take online courses

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get overwhelmed there is plenty of help. If you have a question just ask. Do your research. The online courses are all writing essays, no tests. But do not worry if you are not a strong writer, they will help you become one.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful staff, I am a first time college student and decided to take online courses. They make you very welcome there from the very first day. They have great resources and tutorials to help you along the way.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We seem to look out for one another. If we have security, they do a great job maintaining a low profile.

    Greek Life

    I haven't looked into Greek life since starting Bethel.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not aware of any clubs or activities offered for adult student at the campus I attend.

    Great for these types of students

    A nontraditional setting is great for students who are serious about their education. As an adult, I have developed a greater appreciation for education. Therefore, playtime isn't an option.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is unusual for the school to look like a business building but we are there to take care of business so it's not that bad.

    Bang for the buck

    Bethel is a good place to plant your feet. It allows you the opportunity to continue your duties as a parent and/or spouse and participate in college studies. It's great.

    What to do for fun

    As an adult learner, I have fun relating and conversing with other adults before class, during breaks, and after class.

    Food and Dining

    As a nontraditional student, we have to provide our own food-outside of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Fortunately, I am not experiencing dorm life. I'd much rather be at home with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    The required amount of work for nontraditional students can be overwhelming at times but it won't break you. Remember to prioritize yourself and stay ahead of the game.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. Know where you are going and work toward that destination. Stay encouraged. Things aren't going to be easy but remind yourself why you are attending school and use that as fuel to push yourself to finish your studies. Stay motivated. Laziness won't get you anywhere. You have to take the initiative to go and conquer the obstacles that are already placed in front of you. Stay positive. In the end of your scholastic journey, you will graduate with a degree. The degree is a symbol of hard work, discipline, and accomplishment. Achieve your degree with pride and determination. You can make it.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University is known for their dedication to preparing their students for the workforce accurately and with broad ranges. They encourage all adult students to press toward their dreams and accomplish their goals. They are an amazing group of people and I am enjoying my experience as a Bethel student.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are many security guards that work at all hours of the day. They are both courteous and hard-working. They provide the campus with a sense of safety.

    Bang for the buck

    Housing and meal plans are combined to create a total of over $1000 each month. This is not very fulfilling in terms of Bang for the Buck.

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life is a thriving organization at Bethel. There are many different local and national sororities and fraternities to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Bethel is a small University and has a fair amount of food choices for a place its size. We have the cafeteria, The Grill, and Chick-fil-A. If you plan to eat in the cafeteria, then you must pay for an up-front meal plan. There are no refunds for any missed meals.

    Dorm Life

    Resident Directs and Resident Assistants work hard to provide a welcoming environment for the students to feel comfortable in. They also plan regular activities such as arts and crafts and parties to provide a community based dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor with fluctuate with the professor and the level of the class. I am glad to say that my upper level classes possess and appropriate amount of rigor. I am able to learn many things that will contribute to my success in my future career here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Using the Tennessee Hope scholarship with prove to be crucial when considering financial aid. Losing this scholarship would be quite a head ache. You should make sure to attend to your grades with great care, so you will be able to keep all of your scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Bethel University has a beautiful campus with an amendable student-teacher ratio. The administration is wonderful in that communicate with students by email and in one on one setting. Bethel is a quaint small-town college that is sure to have a familial feel.