Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Big Bend Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    it's is very quiet and have plenty of one on one time since it serves many smaller towns throughout our county. i love the options that big bend brings to the students around the area. i would rate it a 9 or 10 for a small community college.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are many different safety things setup for different types of situations.

    Greek Life

    i am not sure what to do for this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs here at big bend. i am not sure of all of them but i do know of trio, student success center, and students in services.

    Great for these types of students

    small town students that love to feel at home and get the help they need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the college puts on many fun and exciting events for students. the last event for example was free bowling for all big bend students.

    Bang for the buck

    big bend staff is wonderful at taking care of their students and they really truly do care about us students and they are here to help us in our education.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities here at big bend to participate in. my favorite thing to do is play sports.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is delicious. their are many different items to choose from and so far everything i have had has been awsome.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms look very nice. i have never stayed in them myself so i can not really explain what it is like.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    i recommend this college for students that like small schools that make you feel at home.

    In three sentences

    i really like big bend community college. big bend has a great friendly staff. i feel very comfortable here because it is not too big.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you do feel threatened, there is a security number that you can call and a security officer will escort you to your dorm or car.

    What to do for fun

    Big Bend has a lot of asb activities including lunch specials as well as activities outside of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your readings when assigned so that you do not fall behind!

    In three sentences

    This college has very caring teachers and small classrooms. I Have gotten into every class that i have needed so far. For the amount of tuition, this is a really great school.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Moses Lake is a very country kind of area.In the summer time there are places to Hike.Also in Moses Lake during the some you can go down to the sand dunes and ride dirt bikes quads and when its hot you can drive down to the lake to swim or rent a jet ski if you want.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here has great food.I work with the schools catering staff for a job and they are some of the nicest people I have met.Are Chef Scotty is a great guy he is really funny and he makes the greatest burgers.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are nice but they are just really old because the college here used to be an AirForce base back in 1940.I don't mind the dorms at all even though sometimes they get hot.It is a very safe place to live and the rules and security are really strict which I like.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep focused in this school.They offer lots of academic help.There are so many degree's to pick from.This college has High expectations.This college offers lots of Transfer degrees.The flight program is fantastic but is expensive.

    In three sentences

    Best Flight training I have ever had.The staff is a great help when I need it.Wonderful Transfer degree programs to Central or anywhere you wanna go.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a Big Bend Community College Security Guard That drives around all parking lots and around the buildings all day looking for anything suspicious or anyone breaking the rules.

    Greek Life

    There is the honors club but you have to keep up with your grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    Of course there are all our sports to join including basketball, softball, baseball, etc. Also there is the honors club, ASB and SSI which is there to help you study for the classes you have trouble in.

    Great for these types of students

    I recommend Big Bend Community College for students who might need a little more help or for students who just want to start out at a community college or smaller school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do the library camp out before finals to have fun eating pizza and study for the finals together.

    Bang for the buck

    All the staff are really nice and love to help. They help you get where you want to be. Big Bend makes sure there is resources for everything. It is a small college but that just makes it better because we all know each other and we learn better.

    What to do for fun

    There are events all the time such as free movie nights, pool tournaments, library camp outs to help study for finals, and plenty of food fest such as the stir fry fest, pizza fest, and nacho fest.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. They have an international meal section, hamburgers, fries, pizza and plenty of sides. The dining hall is good sized. Its never full so you have plenty of space.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are close to the buildings for walking and in good shape.

    Academic Rigor

    Big Bend has wonderful instructors. Classes can be hard but they make it easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of everything. Pay attention to dates and deadlines. Dont be afraid to ask questions or ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Big Bend Community College is a great school. The staff and student body help you with anything. There are so many resources to help you.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at BBCC is something you can rely on. Everywhere you walk to about campus you can easily spot 1 or 2 security guards nearby. Also the security is very willing to escort anyone to their cars or walk them from class to class in the evenings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several sports club teams, Phi theta kappa (honor society), chemistry club, math club, creative writing club, and lots of free ASB sponsored events. It is very easy to stay involved in student activities when attending BBCC.

    Bang for the buck

    Big Bend is VERY reasonably priced! for the educational experience you receive the cost of classes is very low and affordable.

    Food and Dining

    BBCC has a wonderful dining hall that is spacious and accompanied with excellent cuisine. Everyday there is a daily special at the international station, deli sub station, and grill. There is fresh food served for every person with homemade desserts, pizza, and salads.

    Academic Rigor

    Higher level classes keep you on your toes and receiving the best education possible to be able to compete in today's job market.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as early as possible to ensure the classes you want. Also to stay on track meet with a counselor before each registration to confirm you are taking the classes best fit for your intended degree.

    In three sentences

    Very pleasant community college to attend with a wide variety of class options. Also BBCC has one of the highest level math placement test in Washington.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security officers patroling the whole campus day and night. The dorms are safe to be in because you need a key to egt in the building. Or sometimes they will ask you for your student i.d to see if your a student. So i felt safe there on campus or in the dorms.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to start a new social life or one who wants to have friends. Ones who want to fit in easily.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is cheaper than your usual colleges or universities. Books are easier to buy or its not over crowded like other colleges and books run out because of students v.s books ratio. Its more personal there you can meet practically everyone there if your talkative like me and in a big university you wont be able to meet half the other students. I liked it because i didn't feel like the new kid always, unlike university ill only meet a fraction of the students and feel out of place.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends or meet new friends, play pool or watch t.v in the lounge. go over to the library and surf the net, play games or study with friends, or there's like 10 rooms to choose from in the back to watch t.v or have meetings in or study groups or just hang out. Or if living in the dorms hang out with other friends there and see how their living is different form yours or bring over new friends.

    Food and Dining

    It was affordable and alot of food choices to choose from. They had chiefs cooking what you wanted fresh. It wasn't like you cam and took a tray that had been sitting there waiting to be grabbed. Freshly made food to your likes and quick. Noodles, hamburgers, sandwiches, salad, soups, breakfast, pizza, just to name a few.

    Dorm Life

    It was awesome experience I didn't have a roommate so i put both beds together for a California king size bed! The kitchen was decent and the all the utilities were included in the rent. They were close by so i didn't have to drive to school which is a plus on gas.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can live in the dorms they are affordable and close by so you won't be late for class. Apply for classes as soon as you can don't wait, the same goes for books once they are gone you have to borrow or something.

    In three sentences

    Its a great college for people to start off with, friendly people and the campus isn't big so finding your class is easy. There are dorms on site which is where i lived.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can either go bowling or skating. Then there is also the sand dunes and hiking for those students who love outdoors. We also have the Sun Lakes for water sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is actually pretty good. They try to have a little bit of everything so you will always find something you want.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are pretty spacious. The closets are pretty decent size and not to mention they have internet and cable. You can get wireless internet anywhere on campus, not just the library.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here do put up a bit of a challenge but the college does have several organizations on campus that offer many tools to help you with all the different programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can try to stock up on easy but healthy snacks because its super hard to not gain the freshman fifteen. Try to always be on time and prepared.

    In three sentences

    Big Bend Community College is a safe and challenging school. The classes are small so you get more one on one time with professors. And even though it is a small school, it still has many different activities you can do on and off campus.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It a small and safe enviorment.

    Clubs and Activities

    It doesnt have alot of clubs or activities that i know of

    Great for these types of students

    Small town, in need of more attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    it is totally work the money you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Attend clubs, and go to events asb offers

    Food and Dining

    It has yummy for but needs more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your home work, go to school and you will pass.

    In three sentences

    It is a great educational place to enroll in. Every teaacher is very helpful and understanding. It has great opportunitys.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are constantly monitoring the campus you feel extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer clubs like Mecha, trio, M&M and other various groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to change into a small scenery its very secluded and homie.

    Bang for the buck

    Its highly affordable and really prepares you for the university at a low cost.

    What to do for fun

    I love to be social in the lounge in the dorms as well as partake in club activities like TRIO, SSS and Mecha.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good but i would love it if they switched it up a bit more than they do now with food options.

    Dorm Life

    I currently life in the dorm and i love it. You meet people from around the Washington area and its always great to expand your friendships in a wider range.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus has wonderful teachers who push you to the limit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just maintain yourself active in your classes and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    BBCC is very small but it really does feel like home. The campus is well maintained and beautiful. Simplicity is the best way to describe BBCC.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of ASB activities, sporting events, clubs, and even places around Moses Lake to have lots of FUN!!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very diverse, and scrumptious. Regular ASB events also regularly occur involving lots of food and fun

    Dorm Life

    Dorms have internet and plumbing, and only cost $10 dollars a day. Students who live on campus get credits at a reduced price.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all teachers are the same, so obviously depending on the subject some teachers are easier than others. Science and History classes tend to be the most difficult. but there is also overwhelming help available for math, science, english, everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn all you can as fast as you can about what specific degree your looking for, or if you are transferring, what classes transfer out well. This will bring down the stress level, once you have a plan and know what to expect and what classes you are going to take. No money is wasted

    In three sentences

    Big Bend is an effective, expanding College in an apt place for the surrounding communities. It partners very well with most 4-year colleges around the state, and will do all it can to help you with your goal of transferring, learning a trade (of which its flight, and nursing programs are top-notch) or whatever your looking for. Big Bend will be there for you.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take a walk/run. Free student activities such as dances, bowling, movies and sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Decide on your studies before you start. Stay up to date.

    In three sentences

    There are many opportunities for different programs. The staff and faculty are always very helpful. A great community college.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a notification system that notifies you of anything that could be wrong.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty nice dinning on campus. Fairly reasonable price too.

    Academic Rigor

    Do your work and you'll succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, your teachers will help, and you'll be successful. Don't make excuses.

    In three sentences

    This college has been awesome for me, not only has it allowed me to do my schooling online, but I can count on everyone there as well. The teachers have been amazing and help whenever you ask for it. I would recommend to anyone!

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Big Bend Community College hosts lunch fests that spotlight food accompanied by live music, entertainment, or topical speakers. Carnival days in the fall and spring are a terrific way to unwind just before finals; available for a carnival entry fee of only five or six dollars are face painting, bounce houses for all children, craft tables, professional photos taken, photo-buttons, cotton candy, bungee bounce, a massive catered food spread, and live music. School dances with either a live band or professional DJ provide current music to appeal to all tastes. Sponsored Big Bend bowling parties at Lake Bowl are always fun, and Viking baseball, basketball, volleyball, and softball games, tournaments, and scrimmages let you get your scream on and recharge your school spirit. Stay in shape and stave off stress by taking advantage of free weights and resistance equipment. Go off campus for restaurant dining, shopping, theater, bowling, and fishing. Moses Lake offers a skateboard park, sand dunes for four-wheeling and picnicking, and an aquatic center, and the Pothole Lakes provide some of the best trout fishing around. Apparently, there is fun for all at and around Big Bend Community College!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall at Big Bend is managed by Sodexo. Food is well-prepared, competitively priced, and healthy eating habits are promoted with representation of all food groups. With plenty of hot and cold options, prepackaged foods, and meals quickly cooked to order while you wait, Big Bend ensures something for every budget and time constraint.

    Dorm Life

    Balancing freedom with responsibility is made easier when living on campus at Big Bend Community College. Strategically placed, the centralized dorms are within a five-minute maximum walking distance to any building on campus. Well managed to ensure a safe environment, dorm life at Big Bend helps students to focus on positive interaction with others and enables us to hone lasting friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Small class sizes enable faculty and administration to respond to students' needs in order to increase their chances of success, whether they are struggling or require more of an academic challenge. Also, all classes require students to think critically and independently, and these skills aid in the development of purpose, and point the student toward a culmination of knowledge, skills, and drive, the formula for academic and career success.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Learn about programs and services that will benefit you throughout your student life at Big Bend, such as the Academic Counseling Center, Student Support Services, and the Student Success Center. 2. Visit the campus more than once. We want to address all questions and concerns of a potential student. To get the whole picture, a prospective student should tour the campus, sit in on classes and talk to current students, meet the faculty, contact academic advisors, make an appointment with financial aid and an academic counselor, learn about our campus security, join us at a Viking game, eat with us in the dining hall, visit the dorms, learn about the wide variety of clubs on campus, including Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and ASB, which provide opportunities to grow, lead, and earn scholarships, and go sightseeing in the City of Moses Lake and around Grant County. 3. Study hard to make the most of your education. What you gain in education and opportunity is in direct correlation to the efforts you put forth.

    In three sentences

    Big Bend Community College has an atmosphere geared to the academic success of students of all ages and situations. Teachers as well as the administration promote college success, and there are many programs in place to aid each student in academic goal attainment. Big Bend Community College takes pride in its students by providing a sound educational foundation for both transfer students and those in professional/technical studies.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very unsafe. A girl was abducted from campus in broad daylight and raped and the only change the school made was to hire two security guards to occasionally drive around. I don't go anywhere with out pepper spray and many are still leery of being alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs to choose from although it is difficult to find more information.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, not to expensive

    Dorm Life

    Older buildings but in decent shape.

    Academic Rigor

    Terrible. I've only had three instructors that I felt I learned anything from. Classes are canceled constantly. The school is just starting to offer more help with studies. The instructors in the STEM lab are very helpful though.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is so-so. I have had better and have had worse. They have a semi decent selection of food. One of the older ladies with short, dark brown hair ALWAYS, ... always.... burns your coffee though. Don't buy when she's working the stand.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but from what I saw of them I wouldn't care to live in them. The rooms are really small and the buildings are very old.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others, some are harder than others. Sometimes it is the instructor that makes the class more difficult than others. Mr. Peterson is the best Chemistry teacher ever! Mrs. Haley is great at Biology! Dr. Leonard is a great psychology teacher, Mrs. Leavitt does a great job at teaching Spanish. There are more good teachers on board than there are bad! They all really care about seeing you go further with your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take school seriously and do the absolute best you can. The instructors will be more willing to help you when something unexpected and out of your control comes up.

    In three sentences

    BBCC has a small enough class size that learning is very effective and instructors can be very involved in a students success. The instructors are very much involved and genuinely care about their students succeeding and help in every way possible.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no problems, but watch your stuff. especially in the gym.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this is a great place to start your education. If you want a more advanced degree Big Bend works closely with all the four year universities in the state for transfer degrees and such.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the sports games. Get involved in the student organizations and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A good blend of majors and electives to keep life balanced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work and study hard. Take advantage of the many resources made available to students.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very good. I enjoy the atmosphere and campus. The advisers and supporting staff were very helpful to me as a first time student.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some of the things you can do for fun at Big Bend Community College are play basketball at the gym, play pool at the game room, participate in dodge ball tournaments when they are going on, and attend campus events that are usually free or at low cost to students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Big Bend Community College can be delicous and inexpensive. The staff that cooks and prepares the food are usually kind and respectful. There are meal plans that allow you to put money on an account you can use to save money when buying meals. And the dining room has a good view from the inside.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms at Big Bend Community College can be an awesome experience. This makes the campus easily accessible, so no transportation is typically required. The dorms can have everything that you would need at a house. They may be more affordable than a house or an apartment. And living in the dorms may also be a way to make more friends and make you feel like your school is your home.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of classes at Big Bend Community College that are for students looking for a general education are not hard or overwhelming, but some classes (depending on the program of study you chose) can be hard, time consuming and can cost quite a bit of money when you also count the materials and supplies that are required.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for admissions at Big Bend Community College early, if possible, and register for classes early. Also, consider taking classes that apply towards a General Studies Degree. And start applying for financial aid and scholarships early so that you have enough money to start college.

    In three sentences

    Big Bend Community College is a college that is multicultural and is accepting of many types of students. It has a wonderful campus with friendly students and staff. And it is also one of the most inexpensive community colleges in the state of Washington.

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is visible driving around or walking the premieres. Big Bend Community College is quick on alerting students through text and email if something has occurred that required Campus Security's intervention.

    Greek Life

    There is an honor society that encourages students with a certain GPA to apply.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs are offered here at this college, and I don't see much promotion of other clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy a small student body and a campus that you can easily navigate between classes by just walking, would appreciate this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Dorms are cheap, they include everything in the price along with wifi.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game and recreational room that students can go to for the purpose of relaxing and socializing.

    Food and Dining

    The cooks here are friendly and are on first-name basis with many of the students. It's a cafeteria that is open from 8 AM to 2:30 PM. They try to keep things interesting by offering international cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are offered here on this campus and are incredibly affordable. They are old buildings, and you have the choice to either share a room or pay more to have it to yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are motivating, and many students show enthusiasm to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are interested in applying at Big Bend Community College should take into consideration that size of the student body. Many of the people who work in Moses Lake are also taking classes-- it is very intertwined with the community which is also pretty small in comparison to other cities in Washington. Also, take advantages of the free help offered, such as the writing lab.

    In three sentences

    Big Bend Community college has a small student body that allows for a closer interaction between students and teachers. The instructors here are motivating, inspirational, and encourage personal growth. Faculty at this college are energized to keep students at their best and actively reach out to show support through many interactive and informational college events.