Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bishop State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    it is great for students who may not have done so well in high school, but are willing to make an effort to be academically prepared for a four year university/college or who are searching for a leg-up in the workforce.

    Tips for prospective students

    check around for prices on the books you need instead of settling for the bookstore price, unless the teacher has other material with your book. do not slack in any class, they all affect your gpa. if you are on financial aid poor grades and poor attendance could especially affect your financial aid.

    Bang for the buck

    for $136 a credit hour a decent education is available to anyone willing to make an earnest attempt to get most for their money.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on how well a student does on the placement test or the act test determines the classes that a particular student will be placed in, which can range from remedial courses to college-level classes. so no matter the academic aptitude of the student they will be individually challenged.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    after school activities, and sorities you can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    acceptional food and lunches

    Dorm Life

    no dorms are available

    Tips for prospective students

    if your interested in techanical programs, bishop offers a different variety of programs such as electronics engineering, automotive, and electrical technology.

    In three sentences

    bishop state offers great programs that you can learn within two years. it also offers online classes for easier work schedules.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe camup security gards drive around parking and facility area 24/7

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to choose from like Art clubs, HOSA health club, and honers club.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing majors and anything with computers. And if you dont want to put a hole in your bank from student loans.

    Bang for the buck

    Great for getting your basics out of the way for a cheap price. If you get a pell grant it covers almost everything.

    What to do for fun

    meet new friends and have study groups

    Food and Dining

    No dining at this campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for other options at other books stores or online for books. And when its time to sell your book I would not recommend selling back to book store I would recommend selling online. Bishops book store does not give you no where near what you paid for it.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere. Staff welcomes everyone with open arms. Lots of majors to chose from.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety I would give 5 stars. They watch just about everything that comes onto the campus and are very cautious. A very safe and secure environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of the year they have visitors from banks and other different companies to join are learn about.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and read a book in the lobby. Near a lot of great downtown restaurants to eat at. Lot of areas to socialize with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Not many dining areas other than vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Students work very hard. Good overall gpas for current students attending. Definitely an all work no play environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    .It's a very nice college to attend and very friendly staff. Easy to navigate around school. Good atmosphere and no upsetting features

    In three sentences

    The environment of friendly staff most impressed me. Also the patience and consideration for each individual student made me feel right at home. Last I would like to see that the aspect I favor the most is the organization of cetain things such as: registration for classes, schedule changes, and the financial aid consultants was superb.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My vehicle was broken into twice.

    Greek Life

    Same answer as above.

    Clubs and Activities

    My answer above belongs to this questions also.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not a racist at all. I am a minority myself but this is a black college and I just didn't belong.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    You have to drive several miles to find decent food and know all the back streets to get there and hope you don't get lost.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms so you either have to find an apartment or drive back and forth to your home if you live close enough.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers were real strict. Some of them didn't care.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't know that I would be the person to give tips. A lot of the kids loved it here. I just never fit in.

    In three sentences

    I never felt I belonged here or couldn't get in the groove here. I was a minority in the group. It was close to home but I need to find somewhere else to go to better myself.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The main campus is nice. The faculty and staff are there to help you get started. There is a comfortable environment there.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    What to do for fun

    I am the fun! hmu on any social app or network @scallywagced

    Food and Dining

    occasionally the school has food sales or give aways

    Dorm Life

    school does not offer dorms

    Academic Rigor

    an all work no play environment mostly older people all about their jobs

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to be outside and plant flowers. I also love to take my children to the beach for some fun in the sun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research you school before you commit to going there.

    In three sentences

    Bishop is not the perfect school that I would have wanted to attend, but this is the closest school that offers my degree. I feel very unprotected upon arrival of the school. Most of the staff is very unpleasant to deal with.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    allways wear ppe safety equipment at all times to protect yourself and others around you.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    welding

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    i know i am on my way to finish first my degree plan then second landing a job.

    What to do for fun

    welding,working out

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    maintain A's and b's

    Tips for prospective students

    in regards to new welding students is practice,practice,practice to achieve there desired goal of completing there degree,then allow that trade to take care of them and their familly.

    In three sentences

    excellent school,my instructors take pride in their work.they install the confidence in their students to perform their work and successfully complete it.Bishop state changes lives from what these students learn.