Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Black Hawk College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Money conscious students will obviously love the price. Also, anyone interested in building their skills in core subjects will appreciate the amount of basic classes offered below the 100 level and all of the free tutoring that is made available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Because Black Hawk is a smaller college, they also have a smaller number of staff members. So, do not wait until the last minute to register, pay for your classes, or see an advisor because the lines will be very long near the beginning of each semester! Also, be sure to check out what classes from Black Hawk are part of the Illinois Articulation Agreement. These classes will transfer to almost any college in Illinois and a few in eastern Iowa. They are also more likely to transfer to other colleges. Finally, if it has been awhile since you have taken a math or English class, I would suggest refreshing a bit before taking the Compass exam that they require, or you may end up in a remedial class which won't count as college credit. Such a class will help to build up your core skills in those subjects, though, if you feel that you need the help.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to universities or even other nearby community colleges, Black Hawk is a great value. Paying for it yourself is very manageable and is you receive any financial aid, it may easily cover the cost of an entire year. They also offer many scholarship opportunities. If you want to get in a year or two of college without going into debt, this is the place to do it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The education may be comparable to four year universities, but the atmosphere isn't, in my opinion. It is simply too small and located in too small of a community to really give you that college experience. There are few clubs and activities, which not only leads to low student involvement on campus, but also may decrease your opportunities to receive scholarships when and if you transfer to another college. Also, since there are obviously no dorms (and therefore no roommates) it is more difficult to meet people and make friends than at a university. Still, what you need to ask yourself is if the college experience is worth going into debt for.

    Am learning a lot

    Too many people feel that a community college will offer a sub par education compared to a four year university. The teaching staff here is excellent and I know that I am getting the same education as my friends at large universities. If anything, Black Hawk offers even more than a large university because of the opportunities for one on one time with professors. The only downside is the smaller number and decreased variety of classes offered here. But, this isn't a problem for people who just want to take take core or introductory classes.

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students, I have students of all shapes and sizes and ages in my classes, and they gel well together! There are so many different opinions and you really learn how other people think and how to respect their opinions and work together. Also, for those who are undecided on what they want to do. There are so many opportunities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as you can & as much as you may hate it, talk to an advisor. It is a pain, but it's worth it. If you're not sure take classes from the Associates sheet, they're just basic classes. Also, be sure and take one class you're really interested, even if it's not on the Associates sheet. You'll fnd out what you love!

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonably priced! And many different scholarship opportunities, I've received one each year. Sometimes they're not much, but anything helps!

    Am enjoying being here

    I like college, the schedule is the best part! You can set up your schedule so you can just take Tuesday/ Thursday class, or all online, or all night classes. A great amount of flexibility.

    Am learning a lot

    I really didn't think that I'd like college, but I love it at BHC. Even if you don't think college is for you, take some classes and find out how much you love learning! I've had some really great classes, they're much harder than high school, and take commitment. This is the best transition school!

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a great start to your veterinarian major, agriculture education, or even your general education this is the school for you. There are also nursing classes available. This school is a school for just about anything when getting started on your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whenever you have a problem with any kind of material in college do not be afraid to ask for help.

    Bang for the buck

    When looking at all the courses that I took, I feel that I definitely received my money's worth. Going to Black Hawk college I did not expect to receive such a hands on experience. I was able to castrate pigs and bull calves, dock pig tails, give vaccinations, judge field plots, and so much more.

    Am enjoying being here

    No matter what the obstacle there is always a door being opened to help you along. Not just the professors are appealing but the student body is as well. If you are interested in agriculture or just your general education there are always people to help you, hang out with, or just show you around at school and in town. The environment is very student friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    Through being here at Black Hawk East I have been able to take a major step into my future career as a large animal veterinarian. This college allows numerous of hands on activities, whether you are in their basic soils class or their animal science class. No matter what the teachers are always there to help. All the labs are hands on. Through this school you can castrate bull calves, soil sample, or even dock a piglets tail. It really is an extraordinary college to start your college life.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are close by and are unsure what they want to major in should try out Black Hawk. It'll be an inexpensive trial and error and they can make some good friends and get a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an idea in mind, or an interest and talk to an advisor! Make sure they know what they're doing, too, otherwise you'll spend a lot more time and money than you need to.

    Bang for the buck

    Why pay two or three times the price for the same education? Get your associates at a community college. Go online for textbooks, wherever you attend college. The bookstore is out to rob you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Black Hawk is a community college, sure, but it's a nice one. I've attended both campuses and they're easy to navigate and for the most part staff is helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many great instructors and professors on campus, but there are also several not so stellar ones. If you want a history class, sign up for Pearce! You won't regret it.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Black Hawk College constantly promotes student safety by including an on-campus police department who makes regular parking lot patrols, a well-prepared staff of professors, administrators and other professionals who are omnipresent and a regular encouragement for students to behave well toward others. This college receives a four-star safety rating only because the police do not regularly patrol campus halls and there are no metal detectors at the doors, which may not be necessary (considering the extremely low rate of college violence on this campus).

    Clubs and Activities

    A major aspect of the Black Hawk College experience is the number of clubs, organizations and events offered to students from all walks of life. Black Hawk College's events can range from concerts, art shows, and festivals to car shows, horticulture plant sales and sporting events. This college also offers an equally varied array of clubs and organizations, including the African American Student Association, Clean Sphere, College Republicans, Disability Student Association, International Student Association, Military Students and Veterans Club, National Student Nurses Association, Quad Cities Anime Society, Social Gaming Club, Unity Alliance and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student seeking a challenging, compassionate, diverse and fun environment to grow, learn and meet new people.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering Black Hawk College many equivalencies to courses offered at four-year institutions at a lower price and provides ample opportunities for students to get involved, celebrate or relax with clubs, organizations and events, it is well worth its price!

    What to do for fun

    Black Hawk College strives to provide students with ample opportunities to relax and meet new people through numerous clubs, organizations and events. A typical day for a Black Hawk College student, for example, might include relaxing in the cafeteria with friends and a freshly prepared meal in celebration of Cinco de Mayo before heading to the auditorium to listen to speeches prepared by the International Student Association.

    Food and Dining

    Black Hawk College provides students with consistent and affordable food through numerous and widespread vending machines (including snacks, coffee and soda), frequent cafeteria events offering home-cooked meals, and a Subway restaurant on campus!

    Dorm Life

    Black Hawk College receives a lower dorm life rating simply because it doesn't offer dorms. It does, however, offer home-stays for international students seeking to reside with nearby families.

    Academic Rigor

    While some may wonder about the academic rigor of a community college, Black Hawk College offers interesting and challenging courses that are equivalent to courses offered at many four-year institutions at an affordable rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students shouldn't discount Black Hawk College as just another community college because it offers courses that are equivalent to those offered at many four-year institutions at an affordable price and successfully achieves a fun atmosphere that many students seek.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College is education-oriented, as it provides students with the most excellent and diverse education possible. It does not forget, however, the importance of creating a fun atmosphere considering the numerous club, organizations and events offered to students of all types. Black Hawk College is also caring, as it takes specific actions to promote understanding, unity and compassion among students and accommodating to all.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have lots of clubs to join. Full athletics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor. They are very helpful in a whole process.

    In three sentences

    They are very helpful in all departments. The engineering program is amazing. I can't wait to start my classes tomorrow.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there isn't a huge campus safety staff. yet, there is rarely any reports of violence, stealing, or other criminal activity.

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    judging, equestrian team, phi theta kappa, student government, basketball.. some of the activities you can take part in at black hawk.

    Great for these types of students

    students interested in agriculture, livestock, horses there are also many nursing students who attend

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    world champion horse judging team champion livestock judging team national qualifying equestrian riding team

    Bang for the buck

    from a financial standpoint, you can't go wrong with black hawk. i love the fact that i can get most of my gen eds out of the way at a minimal cost.

    What to do for fun

    horse judging, livestock judging, and the equestrian team are prime activities for many students on campus. students to not have to qualify to be on these teams. they only need to be interested and have the drive to excel. other activities include sponsored events such as flag football, dodge ball, softball tournament, and other.

    Food and Dining

    they are very limited choices for dining on campus. most students pack their lunch or go into town.

    Dorm Life

    on campus housing is convenient, however they are not up-to-date. if you are looking for a 2 minute walk to school then this is for you. yet, if you are looking for a nice, up-to-date apartment then off campus housing is probably more up your alley.

    Academic Rigor

    students can easily receive the grade they are hoping for as long as they apply themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the classes offered. smaller class sizes allow students to get one-on-one help, and generally this results in better grades. i have gotten most of my general classes out of the way, and when i transfer to a 4-year university i will be able to focus on classes that are for my major.

    In three sentences

    black hawk college provides students with a path embedded with resourceful tools that will allow them to reach their intended destination. personable staff and professors make it easy to adjust to college life, and are always willing to help. whether you are looking for an immediate or career or looking to transfer, black hawk staff work with you to make sure you are taking the needed steps.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    local cops

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    science and sga

    Great for these types of students

    for students that lived on farms

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it has fields all around it

    Bang for the buck

    none

    What to do for fun

    ride horses.

    Food and Dining

    most are 45 min away.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    its hard but i would say it is easy to do 18 hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you like horses i would go too.

    In three sentences

    i would rate it one a 4 out of 5.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't yet heard of anything crazy going down at school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many I from sports to sororities to an agricultural club.

    Great for these types of students

    The ones that like to get involved with the community and those who are looking to take school seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none really.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah its worth the money you invest.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of groups that people join to have fun here.

    Food and Dining

    BHC has Subway!

    Dorm Life

    I am from the community so I dont know the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    General ed classes are super easy. But when you get up to the 101 classes they can really be a pain.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if you ever need anything there are always staff that will help you out with any need. Go to the tutors they were a great help to me.

    In three sentences

    BHC is a very laid back school with cool forest views. Also the faculty is great they have pretty cool teachers. But the first time you arrive you may have difficulties with the way the buildings are numbered.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    Good!

    What to do for fun

    Either play sports or join a Club.

    Food and Dining

    I mean I guess you can choose wherever you wanna go.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take as many online classes as you can. Some classes that you take in class are pointless and can be done online.

    In three sentences

    Blackhawk College is just the perfect size for people. It is a great place to meet new people. The professors are okay.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always roaming the parking lot as well as halls. Campus security is not hard to find and they do not lack at doing their jobs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are on a budget, want to work and go to school, or want to stay at home while attending school.

    Bang for the buck

    I do feel the class material is satisfactory given the tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports teams at the school as well as recreational or community classes. There are also multiple honors societies and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is very limited. The cafeteria contains a subway and that's it. There are snacks located in the bookstore as well as multiple pop and vending machines. Sometimes the machines take your money without giving food or drink.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school. However, there are multiple apartment complexes near the school for potential students.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. Just like any other college or university the professors are passionate about what they are teaching and they want you to be passionate about it to. This means learning the material assigned and then some. Tests are not easy but the academic rewards are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look into graduation requirements for yourself. Also, make sure to double check the administrations work to make sure they have done what they are supposed to. In addition, keep documentation when it is provided by administration so you have a paper trail.

    In three sentences

    This school has affordable tuition. It provides classes with beneficial content. The only draw back is the administration is not very helpful.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do have a Subway now, but that stifles the options of food.

    Dorm Life

    Only dorm is at East Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too difficult to get a 4.0 here, if you do your work, however there are some really gung ho prof's here that seem to be speaking another language entirely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to go to save money, but research your professors before signing up for their class.

    In three sentences

    BHC is affordable. It is very easy to navigate the small campus. They need more online classes.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police which drive around the campus in golf carts all the time, but they are rarely if ever needed. In my experience everybody is pretty well behaved and in two years attending Black Hawk I never felt vulnerable or at risk in any way.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Few clubs, only academic clubs really, such as Business, English, Science, and Math clubs that I know exist at Black Hawk.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work while attending school, as they offer many night courses and have many different times that classes are offered. Also as previously mentioned, if you graduate top ten percent from an area high school you can attend 2 years for free, which is a steal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No real unusual traditions or locations that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    If you graduate top ten percent of your class in high school, Black Hawk gives you a presidential scholarship to attend for free for two years, so you cant get a better deal than that. But from what I've heard, a typical 3 credit-hour class is around $300-$400 dollars, which is much cheaper than any university

    What to do for fun

    For some reason, Black Hawk actually has pretty good sports teams for being a small community college. Their baseball team won their state title for their division this year; the golf team finished 2nd in their conference i believe this year; and their softball team declined a bit but still finished over .500. The sporting events are fun to attend with friends from classes, especially the basketball and volleyball games. During the year they also have festivities and celebrations to attend during the year, but try not to skip classes to attend them, as they seem to plan them all during peak class times. Bottom line is there are things to do, but you have to be social, otherwise it turns into a school where you go to class and just go home!

    Food and Dining

    The only food on the QC campus is a subway in the main student lobby (called the hawks nest). Black Hawk also does free food giveaways for certain events, like on Cinco de Mayo they served tacos and burritos for free, but usually has ridiculous lines. Definitely recommend going off campus for food if you have the time.

    Dorm Life

    Not much to say here, as there are no dorms (at least at the QC campus where I attended, I hear the East campus is currently building one). There are discounts for apartments in the QC area, but nothing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you don't have to take advanced math or science classes at Black Hawk, then you should be in the clear. However, if you do then be prepared to spend long hours studying and working on homework. Don't be discouraged, as the majority of the professors are very knowledgeable and willing to help. The good news is that the Black Hawk math and science departments are highly regarded in schools like Western Illinois and Northern Illinois if you are looking to transfer there after.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cannot stress enough to attend classes, as most teachers are much more willing to work with students who show up for class. Make sure you clearly communicate with the teachers so you know what they expect from you, and attend the teacher's office hours if you need any help at all. I had multiple teachers who were glad to help me when I had trouble because i showed up to their office hours. If you follow these tips, do the homework, and participate you will be successful at Black Hawk.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College was a backpack community college for local high school graduates and older adults looking to further their education. Many students that attend Black Hawk have part-time or full-time jobs, or are attending classes for their job. The teaching staff is hands-on and interested in their students for the most part, with the exception of a few bad apples that can make balancing school and work very difficult.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is the Campus police but I've never had to go to them for any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the Judging team, Show team, and Student Government Association(SGA).

    Bang for the buck

    The school has a basketball and volleyball team at the East campus location.

    Food and Dining

    Resturants from Kewanee come and serve lunch at the East campus location.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms but I heard that they were ok and the could have been better.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is all for your academics and agian the teachers are there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of your teachers office hours becasue they are there to help you. Don't be afraid to ask for help or to go to tutoring because the tutoring really does help.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small and the teachers are there to help you. The school has tutoring avaliable and the staff is very friendly.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus, but there are no phones or anything anywhere in case of emergency--I think that's a little weird.

    Greek Life

    The only greek society I know of on campus is Phi Theta Kappa, which is the junior college honor society. From what I understand is that it is a very active group and is a great way to network for the future.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs and activities for every social scene. We have clubs from the Young Republicans club to an Anime club to a board game club.

    Great for these types of students

    Budget-conscious, those who couldn't get in to a four-year school right off the bat

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are really none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    YES YES YES. BHC charges only $95 a credit hour, which is a great bargain! You can attend a full class schedule of 15 credits for only about $1700, which includes all fees. I think it is definitely well-worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    The Student Committee at BHC is always throwing special events--it seems like every tiny holiday they throw an event with free food and music. The Student Center is also undergoing a very extensive renovation, and I think it'll be really cool when it's done.

    Food and Dining

    There used to be a lot of food options there, but now the only restaurant is Subway. I don't particularly like Subway, so for me, BHC is lacking in the food department. However, there are a variety of food options just down the road, such as Steak and Shake, Wendy's, Panera Bread, Burger King, and Culver's.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at BHC, but the apartments around it are pretty nice, from what I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    I definitely think that BHC has a rigorous curriculum. The classes are challenging, but not so much so that they are impassable. I think you learn as much as you would if you were at a four-year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend checking out the library and emailing your teachers before the first class. I find that if you email, you can normally get the syllabus before class and can look over what you'll be doing that semester, and then you can get a kind of leg-up on the other students.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk college is a great school for a great price. The teachers are caring and super nice, and the supplies are updated and work well. Black Hawk is the best, cost-effective school in the QCA.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is on site campus police that patrol around and help you with anything that is needed. That makes me feel safe when roaming around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at BHC are difficult but manageable. If you put the time in you will probably get the result you would like. Work hard, study hard and you will realize how easy college can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on track of your studies and work hard at making sure you attend classes regularly. The best way to learn is to be in the classroom, unless you are taking an online class, for that case make sure you are constantly checking emails and updates on the curriculum. Also, get involved! Biggest issue at a community college is finding the time to meet people and making new friends.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful place to take your first steps into the college world. The campus can be a little difficult at first but you have help always right around a corner. I don't think I have ever had a problem with asking for advice or help with any matter while attending BHC.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that students can join at Black Hawk College such as the Wellness Club, Child Development Club, Presidential Scholars Club, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Black Hawk College currently only has Subway in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunatley, Black Hawk College does not have any dorms available for students to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers work one on one with students on their own time, if students need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise future students of Black Hawk College to apply for scholarships early on because they can enable students to go to Black Hawk for free. I also advise future students to register for classes as early as possible so that students will be able to get the classes they want at the time they want.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College is a great way to start my college life. Black Hawk College has given me the opportunity to take classes at no cost with a scholarship I received. Black Hawk College also has a great atmosphere to study.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good safety team at Black Hawk College but there have been many reports of peoples cars being hit and nothing being done about it. Me personally being one that had there car hit.

    Clubs and Activities

    Agriculture, baseball, basketball, volleyball, science clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap. It under one hundred dollars for a credit. A scholarship will get you far at Black Hawk College.

    What to do for fun

    Game room!!! If your bored and have nothing to do there is a game room. you can play pool and there is a nice flat screen TV and comfy couch big enough for friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria that has very good food, many different soda and coffee machines.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but what I hear of it, it gives students the chance to live on there own and get the idea of it before they get there own place.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't quite know what you want to go to school for, start with your prerequisites at Black Hawk College. Its tuition isn't that bad compared to many other schools. By the time your done with those you will have a feel for different careers and narrow it down.

    In three sentences

    At first I was afraid of attending Black Hawk College because I heard many rumors of it being a school that didn't teach well. I have gone for a year now and I have had no problems with it. The college is very well organized and the teachers are friendly and know what they're doing.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We play trading card games and on a rare occasion video games in the hawks nest.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway inside the college but there are lots of places not very far from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others but none are impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sign up for too many or too few classes at once. Talk with an advisor to find out what you need to take.

    In three sentences

    They are a great community college. They are reasonably priced. They provide plenty of help.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus actually has it's own police force that isn't just security. You'll see them walking through the halls from time to time and checking the parking lots for correct tags, or any suspicious activity.

    Greek Life

    There is a club you can join that is a mock Greek house, but being a community college I don't know how active they are or not.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs. Social Gaming Club, Anime Club, Outdoors Club, Political Clubs, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    The college has a great atmosphere for anyone who comes and wants to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I've experienced yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. You'll be hard pressed to find a similar school for the same price.

    What to do for fun

    There are ping pong tables in the Hawk's Nest that are usually open with paddles and balls as well. If you don't want to think of your own activities to do you can always join one of the many clubs in the college.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many options as to what to eat. It's either Subway in the Hawk's Nest or a vending machine, but there are plenty of restaurants located near by.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say much here, but if you're living with your parents still, as I am, you'll already know what it's like.

    Academic Rigor

    This is really dependent on what you already know and which classes you are taking, but if you keep on task you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! Even if you think you've put in enough time there is always more to do. Also don't be afraid to tell friends you can't do something. School is your job right now. They'll understand.

    In three sentences

    Helpful Teachers. Small Community. Friendly Students.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Here your not far from the cities or Peoria so its not far to take a day and go out with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here you will meet many new people and many of them you will never forget. Let the time you have here last as long as you can because with it being a 2 year college it goes by fast.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College is a very good school for kids who are in the process of going from a small high school to college its a good transition school.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    An educational advisor helps you develop a program of study based on your needs, abilities and interests.You should meet with an advisor prior to registering for each semester to make sure you�re on track to meet your educational goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Originally established as Moline Community College by the Moline School Board in 1946, the college was later named Black Hawk College in 1961. In 1965, the college was incorporated into the state�s system of higher education, and in 1967 East Campus operations started at the Kewanee National Guard Armory. The current Quad-Cities Campus was completed between 1970 and 1971, and the current East Campus in Galva was completed in 1977.

    What to do for fun

    winners in the classroom, the 2009 softball team was awarded the President�¢����s Award spring semester with a grade point average of 3.6/4.0. That makes them runner-up in the nation for team GPA

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important for you to work closely with your academic and faculty

    In three sentences

    Originally established as Moline Community College by the Moline School Board in 1946, the college was later named Black Hawk College in 1961. In 1965, the college was incorporated into the state�¢����s system of higher education, and in 1967 East Campus operations started at the Kewanee National Guard Armory.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many extracurricular activities for students at Blawk Hawk College. There is a baseball team, as well as a golf team. There is also many clubs to join. There is something for everybody here at Black Hawk College.

    Food and Dining

    Within Black Hawk College there is a Subway, as well as many vending machines to provide you with the food or snack you might need in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    At Black Hawk College there is no dorms, because it is a community college. There is, however, apartments right next to campus called The Villas that just opened in 2013 that are a very affordable option for students to stay close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Black Hawk College are very respectable. They provide you with the same high standard of a four year school. They provide you with the resources to get your work done, as well as great professors. You are allowed to take 18 credits, and full time is considered 12, so only take on what you think you can handle. Remember; you don't want to overwhelm yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a prospective student for Black Hawk College, one of the things I would advise you to do is to just be open minded. Be willing to meet and accept all kinds of new people, because it will immensely help you in your time there. Everybody is there to get a degree and succeed, they will help you. I also would encourage you to make sure you have your financial aid or payment set up according to schedule because if you do not, there is a promissory note that is added onto your bill and it is expensive.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College provides helpful, educated professors to help you meet your educational goals. Black Hawk College has a great source of help; from their huge library to their friendly staff. Black Hawk College is very reasonable with payments, financial aid, etc.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided students, students who want to go to school for a cheap price, or students who just want an Associate's degree

    Bang for the buck

    I get free tuition because of my grades, but even without it Black Hawk is extremely cheaper than many other universities! It is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    They do have many events around campus, but I do not really go to them because I do have a part time job. However, there is a ping pong table in the Hawk's Nest though, so that is always fun!

    Food and Dining

    They have a Subway in Building 3 and that is all I eat basically. It is also nice because with your financial aid funds, you can buy subway gift cards! It is nice to have free lunch on most days because of the gift cards!

    Dorm Life

    I mean, I do not live in the brand new Villas, since I only live about 3 minutes from campus, but I have heard they are nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments and material are not that hard. There are a few subjects that can be challenging, but high school prepared me enough for the classes I am taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are undecided about what four year university to attend or you do not have enough money to attend a four year university, start out here. Also, if you are in the top 10% of your class, and reside in the Illinois Quad City area, then you qualify for the Presidential Scholarship, which is free tuition for two years. It is worth it!

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College is not as bad as people make it sound. It is a great school to start off at if you are preparing to transfer to a four year university. Also, you really will learn a lot of information.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Black Hawk has their own police department. I'm not worried about going to school at all because it's a safe school.

    Clubs and Activities

    On campus there is a club that is called the Student Wellness Club. This club is all about promoting healthier ways to eat and exercising. We meet once a month and in November we are selling coupon books, there is a five week yoga class every Monday night. We also help out with the Hawk Hustle which is a 5K race. For my College Experience and Success course one of the assignments was to attend a club meeting. I probably wouldn't have joined a club if I didn't have to do an assignment on it. I'm so glad that I did join the Student Wellness Club. Dr. Collins is the professor in charge of the club and she's amazing!

    What to do for fun

    In the Hawk's Nest there is an event about everyday. For Halloween there was a costume contest and there is always food and drinks and prizes.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway in the Hawk's Nest and that is pretty good. There is also a lot of vending machines around campus that has many beverages to chose from and a lot of tasty snacks. The Hawk Hub is the bookstore on campus and they have everything from Poptarts to K-cups.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the Villas on campus, I hear they are very nice though!

    Academic Rigor

    I never studied in high school and when I came to Black Hawk I realized that I had to study in order to actually do well on tests. For my first semester I've been only taking introduction courses that aren't actually giving me any credit. Even though I'm not getting any credit for them I'm still learning a lot. In my English class I'm learning about sentence structure, which seems like something I should have learned in high school. In high school I was never taught the structure of a sentence and coming into this class I'm learning so much and I am actually enjoying learning about it. In this semester I am also taking a math class. My professor is so funny and always has the class laughing at his stupid jokes. I am not a math person, but this semester my math class is my favorite class. The work is hard and there is a lot of it but I'm learning so much and I am having fun doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come prepared for class with all your materials. Make sure to read the chapter before class. When the instructor is lecturing be sure to take notes on what they are saying. Ask questions when you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are great and really put the time and effort into helping your succeed. The campus is not too big and it is easy to find everything around the campus. The students in my classes always try to help each other out to find the answers, especially in math!

  • 12/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who arent a morning person or people who are too busy in the morning, Black Hawk offers a flexible class schedule that runs from Monday through Friday from 8:00 until 8:00 at night

    What to do for fun

    Daily activities in out Hawk's Nest

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk is a good school with a variety of different majors to choose from that can help find the right career, as well as programs that help guide students in the right path.There are also programs, tutor sessions, and a library that can help students suceed in their career if they feel any type of doubt.The teachers, counselors, and advisors are very good with helping students find the right classes to choose, whether it is from the time students first register to start thier general education classes, all the way up unto the time they graduate.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The greatest thing about Black Hawk is that it is so affordable. I would highly recommend going here before going to a university. You can get your general classes out of the way, buy yourself some time to figure out your future goals, and save an insane amount of money in the process.

    Food and Dining

    The only options are Subway and vending machines. However, there are events in the Hawk's Hub a couple of times a month, and there is always food at these events.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. They did just builds some apartments on campus but not many people live in them yet since they are so new.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes have been pretty easy so far. In English we have been writing shorter papers than I did in high school. My sociology teacher had hard tests, but the homework was all easy points. The only class I struggled with was math, which is a subject I have always had trouble with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students at a community college are not near as outgoing and friendly as at a university. People tend to stick to their own group of friends, like in high school. I would suggest to get to know people and try really hard to make new friends, or else it can be a lonely place.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College is a typical, small community college. There are some wonderful teachers and classes available. However, there are not many opportunities to participate in clubs and other extracurricular activities.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities and clubs if you want to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven

    Tips for prospective students

    Showing up is half the battle!

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Black Hawk is great for students looking to save money on general education courses before going to another college, which is my plan.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy lifting in the gym after class, but there are many other clubs that I could be involved in, if I wanted to. There are a wide variety of activities for all kinds of students, such as a technology club or student council.

    Food and Dining

    There are many vending machines located throughout the buildings and there is also a Subway in the Hawk's Nest lounge upstairs. I love having a Subway because it makes the hallways smell amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I live at my parents' house like many students who attend Black Hawk College. I like that I do not have to spend extra money to live on my own, but the option is available for anyone who is interested in doing so.

    Academic Rigor

    Black Hawk College is not too challenging, but it definitely keeps me busy. I am not too stressed by my classes, but I am not bored in class either.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I have for prospective students is to thoroughly read the scholarship guidelines and to make sure they abide by the rules, such as enrolling in at least twelve credit hours. This will ensure that they will not lose a scholarship like I did.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College is a friendly learning environment. I think most students feel safe, and students also feel as if help is always available to them. On overall experience, I would give Black Hawk College an 8 out of 10.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that could use all the resources Black Hawk offers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hawk Nest(cafeteria) is a great place to relax, study or eat. It also has a ping pong table.

    Bang for the buck

    Your getting a greeat education for a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or go to activities in college.

    Food and Dining

    It ok, they should have more options then subway.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put too much on your plate. Study, study, study. Also get tutoring help and use all the resources availiable to you.

    In three sentences

    Black Hawk College has affordable classes. It is great for beginning college. They have great staff and good teachers.