Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Black Hills State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If your a student looking for a quiet place to learn and study to further your education, then Black Hills State is for you. The prices are low, the people are welcoming, and the atmosphere is always changing for the positive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on task. No matter what the circumstances your in, there will always be a way to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Your the only one who can make an amazing future for yourself, it all depends on how bad you want it and are you ready to put in the hard work it will take for it. I assure you, the outcomes will be far greater than what you dreamed if you never give up.

    Bang for the buck

    Black Hills State University is small in comparison to many colleges around the country, however they offer a lot of the same classes for just the same level of education, only cheaper.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have recently discovered that I want to further my education in Transportation Technology, unfortunately, I am unable to further this education here at Black Hills State since they do not offer it.

    Am learning a lot

    I've only been here at Black Hills State for 2 months, however I have been learning a lot and the classes and class sizes are very accomidating and not too long or overcrowded.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is a liberal arts college, which means many of the English teachers are liberal. With that in mind, Black Hills State is great for students who like the outdoors, who enjoy meeting new people, and who like small classes. This is a small college, and great for students who want to live in a small town atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    First - if you are person who enjoys getting involved, don't take the General Studies class! It goes into depth about what campus activities are going on and works to get students involved. Second - What you learn is up to you. Your teachers will help you when you need it, but you are in charge of what you learn. Third - Get involved. Join a club or a student organization about something that is important to you.

    Bang for the buck

    Some classes are definitely worth the money - tuition isn't as expensive as some state schools, but for a broke college student, it sometimes seems like the tuition could be cut in price. The education is very good, but some teachers are definitely better than others, and some classes are certainly worth the money while others are not. The cafeteria food is also much better than high school cafeteria food, and housing is pretty nice as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    Black Hills State University is set in a beautiful area - almost anywhere that a student might need to go is within walking distance, or at least within biking distance. There are many extracurricular clubs and activities for students, and even some opportunities to go to conferences and other special learning experiences. Spearfish is also lovely, with a canyon nearby that contains good hiking spots and great rock climbing opportunities. The Black Hills are beautiful, although sometimes the snow seems a bit dreary in the winter time.

    Am learning a lot

    While not a very large school, many of the professors are well known in their fields or have served for many years in their area of expertise and are familiar with the working environment. The teachers take a personal interest in the students and classes are never too large. Information is presented in ways that make it easy to learn and memorize.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Black HIlls State is a pretty small campus filled with really nice people. Safety was a huge thing for me and I am very pleased. If you ever feel uncomfortable you can either call campus security and they will be glad to walk you to your hall or any of your friends can join you in a walk as well!

    Greek Life

    There really isn't one. Our Greek life is more our athletics and clubs that have houses off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally every type of club you can imagine here from Rodeo to Students In Free Enterprise! Also, hiking is big. Going to sporting events is a good activity too!

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great place for someone who really loves a small, safe environment but is also really outdoorsy and adventurous. If nature and small town feel is what you love then BHSU is certainly for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frisbee golf is huge here! Learn how to throw a frisbee!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to a lot of other schools the tuition here is cheap. However, that doesn't mean it lacks in educational advances or opportunities. Your education is really what you make it, and if you can save money while doing just that it is even better!

    What to do for fun

    Hope you are outdoorsy! A lot of the activities here are outdoors and a lot of fun. Also, a good way to make friends is have a movie and homework night!

    Food and Dining

    They always have well balanced meals and a lot of options. Of course, cafeteria food can get old, but here it is always tasty!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You make a lot of friends and, at least here in Heide, we have a lot of activities to participate in. Everyone is super friendly and fun!

    Academic Rigor

    I gave the rigor a three because the homework load is pretty easy, they really build you up so you don't give blind sided by it. Also, the in class participation is very important and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into your classes with an open mind, and actually go to class! Give yourself time to adjust to the environment and ways of college. Be positive!

    In three sentences

    Black Hills State is an absolutely gorgeous environment! The people and faculty here actually care and want what is best for you. This school really offers everything you need for success, a good education, and a fantastic,safe college experience.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone who is willling to learn

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard in high school.

    Bang for the buck

    even though the dorms are small. the classrooms and the campus are bigger. it is very nice here

    Am enjoying being here

    never a dull moment especially in the dorms

    Am learning a lot

    there are to many things that i have learned to list

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    PROGRAMS! The university has constant activities going on, and they are a ton of fun if you go and enjoy yourself. Plus there are plenty of great hiking trails and a disc golf course on campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food could use work. It gets old extremely fast. College students aren't looking at five star dishes that are supposed to be good but looks disgusting. We just want the food that tastes good. High class is no where near our vocabulary when it comes to food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at BH is what you make of it. Doing you're homework or hanging out in the lobbies rather than staying in the dorm room makes life in the dorms much easier. There are always activities put on by the resident assistants and attending these activities makes the dorm life so much more enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load can be extensive if you are willing to put the time and effort into it. The more effort put in the first time, the better the outcome in the long run. If the class does get to be tough, the professors are willing to help you out and explain things more in depth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. The experience on campus is so much better if you go to activities even if they sounds extremely lame. Plus, living on campus is a great way to meet new friends and create study groups.

    In three sentences

    The professors do a great job at helping students succeed. The people on campus are always friendly and willing to help out whoever comes there way. The beauty of the campus brings every educational opportunity really into focus and makes the overall experience worth while.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a non-traditional student. I dont usually explore many of the things that are available to students.

    Food and Dining

    In the University Center in Rapid City, the food is great. They have just a small shop in there, but the food that is available is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I dont know about the dorms, I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are built to push you, but the instructors are always there to help you if you are experiencing trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a degree that fits your personality. If you love what you are learning then your more able to learn effectivly.

    In three sentences

    I love going to BHSU. The staff and instructors are very helpful and informative. The class sizes are built to help you learn.

  • 01/07/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I dont know yet not unitl i meet them and learns of their real reality in College and that would be good experience to hear their stories. Since i am forty year which is not too late for me to go to. So It is my Time to get Real reality and get degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have not check this our yet until i get in to Campus and Learns from Students. It will be a New Life for me to sight and vision of my Graduate there also too.

    Bang for the buck

    I am sure there is many resources available.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, I think I will.

    Will learn a lot

    I am First Timer that will attend to Black Hills State Univer. Why i Choose them is because i love the Black Hills and Forests. I heard that they have a good programs.

  • 12/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoors-y and social people that love to be interactive with fellow students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. That way, you hear directly from the teacher what you need to study for on exams and you learn a lot too. :)

    Bang for the buck

    This is the cheapest public school in South Dakota. That's something to brag about.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always something to do here, whether it is summer or winter. Spearfish Canyon is gorgeous for those who love the outdoors - and how can't you when you're here? The campus is wonderful, as it is smaller and the buildings are easy to access.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the professors here are very intelligent in their field. They are helpful and accommodating to your needs and often times can be reached via phone, e-mail, or office times. This school is great.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent safety! all of the dorms are secure buildings, you have to have a buzz card to get into them. there are resident advisors in the buildings all the time, as well as extra staff help in the main lobby's of buildings from 8pm to 5am. this creates a great sense of security away from home. spearfish itself is a very safe place to be, there are a lot of friendly helpful people around here.

    Greek Life

    currently there is one fraternity and one sorority, they are just getting on their feet. i believe they have only been up and running for just one year.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a huge amount of clubs on campus relevant to any type of interest. there are numerous activities to do daily around the area.

    Great for these types of students

    black hills state university is great for all types of students ready for learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this is a pretty traditional campus.

    Bang for the buck

    overall this campus is beautiful and well maintained. it is a very safe place to be, with very friendly people. i believe that it is pretty reasonably priced as far as college goes and you definitely utilize your money spent.

    What to do for fun

    hiking, skiing, snowboarding, float the creek, movies, restaurants. there are numerous fun things to do in this beautiful area!

    Food and Dining

    black hills state has an excellent cafeteria! there are over seven different food choices for every meal. these include: mongolian grill, burger shack, pizza, homestyle meals, pasta, sandwich bar, salad bar, and dessert bar. along with this there are a huge variety of drinks.

    Dorm Life

    dorms on black hills state campus are a great place to live. there are a lot of lively people everywhere. open doors help invite people into your dorm room, which makes it easy to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    just as other colleges acedemics can be difficult, with the right amount of organization, and study time anyone can succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    all dorms are co-ed except for one all girls dorm. look at the campus map before you decide which dorm to be in, pay attention to available parking lots for these dorms.

    In three sentences

    black hills state is an excellent school, there are very friendly people, and helpful staff. the campus is in a very beautiful location in the black hills of south dakota. there are always fun activities going on around campus.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While the dorms are rather spread out from the rest of campus, this area is very safe. If at any time you feel uncomfortable walking across campus, students are invited to call campus security for an escort.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities, both based on academics.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, for everything from skydiving to campus ministries. The college prides itself on encouraging students to create their own club if they don't find one they would like to join. Many clubs offer activities for students outside of the club, and the bulletin boards are often full of flyers for upcoming events, all of which are good.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the outdoors and those who want more hands-on learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The arch - the arch is left from a dorm that burned down in the '20s, and is right next to an apple orchard. A great place to study any time, it is especially popular in the fall.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that the campus community makes this college one well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    BHSU has a many different activities offered on campus as well as off campus. This area is a great place for outdoor enthusiasts, due to the variety of conditions that make it possible to play outside all year round. There are clubs that offer activities almost weekly, and special events at least once a month. A great place for pretty much everyone - there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    A'viands runs the cafeteria, as well as coffee and snack kiosks in the library and student union. The staff are friendly and helpful and will create meals for individuals with special dietary needs if you ask for them. They are also very helpful with any unusual requests. The only downside is that sometimes the meals on weekends aren't particularly healthy or tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm. Some dorms have a very close knit community, while others are full of students who don't know each other at all at the end of the year. Some dorms are really nice, while others were definitely built in the fifties and sixties.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very easy. Some classes are very hard. While I really love this college and the classes, some classes should be harder than they are, because they have no prerequisites. Overall, though, most classes are very good, especially if you spend the time on them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people in each of the offices on campus. They are usually nice and give you a different perspective on campus life. If you have a problem, bring it up - they may be able to fix it or help you get a better idea of why that rule exists. Always ask if you have a question. Most teachers and staff are happy to answer.

    In three sentences

    The teachers care about your education and your learning. But I wonder how helpful it will be when I leave college. Still, I think the program and involvement available are worth the tuition.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several things, very common around here is hiking, biking, fishing, climbing, and slack lining. It is a more laid back fun than a party fun.

    Food and Dining

    Great dining with a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    You meet great new people and enjoy great faculty to help you with anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers that make it fun and easy to learn everything you need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great faculty and students, as well as a wonderful community to be in and around. It is beautiful here and a great place for adventure.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college, in a great community. I would love to stay here if they had a nursing program but am forced to leave. I would come back for another degree.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being an out-of-state student, I was very excited when I found out that my tuition was much less than other places. It is a huge difference when you only pay 8,000 versus 12,000 +.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't the worst, but thankfully there are plenty of options are offered in place of solely ''mystery meat''.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorm rooms are fairly larger than most universities. Some have even gone through recent redoes and are much better than their 1980 set up!

    Academic Rigor

    Since they offer smaller classes, it is easier to find help either from your teacher or a fellow class member. Sometimes the classes you worry about the most (whether is be difficulty or work load) are some of the easiest to find help for. Most of the Professors are know who you are and want to help you as well.

    In three sentences

    BHSU is one of the most beautiful campuses I've visited. If you're looking for a mixture of on/off campus adventure this is the place. Wonderful community as well!

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This place is so safe you could.....accidentally leave the car unlocked and have about an 80% chance that things will be okay.....or - walk across the campus at midnight and only hear the sound of snowflakes falling...or - be within 2 minutes of help in case you really needed it.

    Greek Life

    I am unsure if there are any fraternities or sororities. If there are any, they're really low key.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been to school yet so I don't know what is offered, but I know that there is an interest group list on their website and it includes just about everything you can think of. The way to meet people is to join those groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Since South Dakota and the states surrounding it are rural in nature, kids that are not used to big cities will really appreciate the size and scale of the university. Its also a great escape for those that are tired of big communities. If you are into winter sports or hunting, the Black Hills offers all that, plus more. Also, if you are unsure of your major you can take all your general courses and then figure out what major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Swarm week is a lot of fun, and its the homecoming week. The old rivalry between the School of Mines and Technology in Rapid City is always a fun grudge match to watch whether that is football, basketball, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    BHSU offers a good quality education for an amazing cost especially if you are wanting to be a teacher since teaching is the foundation of the university. My major is still somewhat iffy, and I am taking my generals in order to get them done and I know they will transfer anywhere within the system, or out of state.

    What to do for fun

    When attending BHSU, if you cannot find something fun to do, you aren't looking hard enough!! Locally we have a great recreation center both on campus and also a new water park for all of us that are here during the summer. Mountain biking, snowboarding, and skiing are the summer/winter mountain sports. Spearfish has movie theatres, a bowling alley, plays in both the on-campus and off campus community theatres plus there are many clubs and special interest groups throughout the campus. Rapid city is only 45 minutes away where there is great shopping as well as indoor amusement parks - one of which has carts you can race with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Aviands is the catering company that runs the food service and is located in the new expanded student union building, which is really modern and updated. Their food ranges from Chinese to homestyle barbecue and is awesome and really affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I know people that do and they love it. They have met so many new friends there. Even kids that are from Spearfish live in the dorms because of the social interaction and life long friends they meet there.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not experienced my first classes yet at BHSU but I have heard the standards are within reach, but not like a repeat of high school either. There will be hard classes and easy ones. Part of the fun of college is to have the mix between the ones that really challenge, and the ones that you just enjoy because they have broadened your horizon of the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a smaller campus, BHSU is a good place to get a quality education without being overwhelmed by the size of a bigger school. The dorms and classroom buildings are within a reasonable distance of each other. You don't need a car at all. As far as classes go, for you freshmen, if you are not sure if you are going to finish your college cirriculum within the SD system, don't register for the wellness class. Many out of state schools don't require it and if you transfer, that's a few hundred dollars spent on a class you won't need.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a school where you can get a great education and be surrounded by 4 seasons of incredible beauty BHSU is the place to be! You can finish class by noon and be on the mountain snowboarding by 1pm, back to study by 5pm, and in bed by whenever you want! So many majors, but so little time makes me want to live to be 100 so I could do them all! But then again, maybe I should actually get a job and make some money with at least one major....?

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is small enough that its a short walk to any dorm, and campus alert sends out text message and emails warning about weather or outside information for students to be on alert.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority and no fraternities at BHSU. We are not too forward on Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to do in the area and on campus that there can never be a dull moment.

    Great for these types of students

    BHSU boasts so many things that it's perfect for any student who doesn't mind a smaller campus and a smaller town.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At BHSU we celebrate Native American Day as there is an abundance of Sioux Indians in the area. Powwows and other celebrations are held on this day to share the Native American culture with the surrounding communities.

    Bang for the buck

    Black Hills State University is definitely a good school to consider as it is a relatively low tuition price for a 4-year school.

    What to do for fun

    Endless possibilities await at campus. Outdoor adventures, clubs aplenty, two coffee shops, amazing downtown area, and dorm activities are sure to keep anyone busy.

    Food and Dining

    The Hive, or the cafeteria, boasts having an amazing selection of gourmet food. This is true most of the time, though some dishes can be a surprise as to what they're going to come up with next.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Black Hills State aren't the newest buildings on campus. Most are only two floors which is good for move-in day, and the facilities in them are excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can prove to be challenging but this is how we grow. The teachers are amazing and will do what they can to help out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting involved on campus is the easiest thing to do. Students here are super friendly and the campus is just the right size; not too big, and not too small. Make sure you have a backup plan when going home as the roads in the winter can get kind of iffy

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus that is currently in the makings of becoming more and more green oriented with each semester. If you enjoy outdoor activities such as hiking, rock climbing, and fishing this is the place for you. Surrounded by the gorgeous Black Hills with their red rock, hills, and trees; there;s something here for everyone.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards will walk students to needed destinations at night if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for everyone. Every type of club is on campus. Expressive clubs, academic clubs, recreational clubs, adventure clubs, and religious organizations are just a few examples of what BHSU offers.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has great living environments. There is a wonderful recreation center, that is free for use to Black Hills State students. The campus is so clean and beautiful. The staff and students take pride in the beauty of the campus. d

    What to do for fun

    Since campus is located in the famous Black Hills, there is always something to do. We have hiking, trails, rock climbing, water activities, snowboarding and skiing. There are tourist attractions near by, such as Mt.Rushmore, Deadwood, Sturgis, Crazy Horse statue, The Badlands, and much more. There is never a dull moment here!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There is a variety of selections in the cafeteria, that include vegetarian choices

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun. There are so many opportunities just in meeting new people and having fun. Dorms are decent sized, and each room has a sink and a mirror. The restrooms are community restrooms, but the showers have individual stalls. The rooms have wonderful views in most cases, and the windows are big, allowing the room to feel more welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge students to learn on their own, and explore different academic avenues.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are getting yourself into. College is so different from living at home and from high school. Be smart about money, that will save you so much stress and time.

    In three sentences

    Black Hills State University is a beautiful campus. It is a very laid back environment, yet there is still the sense of excitement. Black Hills State university challenges students not only to excel in school, but to find out who they really are.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have very good campus security. There are lights all around campus that turn on at dark, all the Residents Halls have a key card access so only students who live there and there guests have access. At night if you are walking across campus alone you can call campus security and they can escort you if you want. I have always felt safe walking across campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and organizations on campus that there is something for everyone. At the beginning of each semester they have fair where you can walk around and find out what there is to get involved in. It's easy you just sign your name up and the club will send you can email about when and where they meet. Joining the clubs is also a great way to get to know lots of people.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any type of student because the classroom sizes are small which make it easier to get more one on one time with the professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Black Hills State has very good classes and it a very cheap school. All college is expensive but I have Found Black Hills State to be a very good school that is in a good price range.

    What to do for fun

    Spearfish Canyon is very close there is lots of hiking, rock climbing and a few waterfalls. There is also a bike path through the canyon and a disk golf course too. On campus there are many things to do as well. Different organizations put on events like movie nights, dances, game nights and Bingo.

    Food and Dining

    The are many different choices of food including a salad bar, deli bar, market place, grill, desert bar, Mongolian grill and a pasta and pizza place. They all have many choices of food.

    Dorm Life

    The Residents Halls are a great way to meet people. The students that live in the Residents Halls are all very friendly. The residents halls all have kitchens, a social lobby with a T.V. and a study lobby so you can study where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    The Professor's are always pushing you and making you want to strive to be the best. They also work along beside you and can teach you so much.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Professor's are all very open and want you to go in and see them, so do it! Another thing join student organizations that you are interested in to get involved.

    In three sentences

    Black Hills State University has made me feel at home. All the professors are very approachable and always there. Black Hills State University has a small campus and is very beautiful.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I toured Black Hills State University this summer. I really liked the campus size. It was big, yet small enough to walk around the whole thing in a small amount of time.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the town has the best smell in the world. it's a compact, nice campus. the dorms looked a little tight and seemed to be in disarray.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do in Spearfish, I go hiking, hang out with friends in the dorms, go to the Young Center to play basketball and lift weights, and every now and then take a dip in the pool.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, just watch out for the freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best, you get to make more friendships then you've ever dreamed of.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to lie, classes are hard, but don't you want to be challenged?

    Tips for prospective students

    I say Black Hills is the place to go, I absolutely love it here!

    In three sentences

    Black Hills State University is an amazing college. If you are from a small town it's perfect because you have that home atmosphere. Not only that, but your teachers work to know you on a personal basis, and help you along the way.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Union looked to be the place to go!

    Food and Dining

    On the virtual tour students spoke about how the food and dining experience on campus is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I've not been there to know what the dorm life would be like. I assume that it is nice.

    In three sentences

    It seems like this school is affordable and creditable. I've seen the Virtual Tour and the campus looks beautiful! I believe there is a great chance that I will transfer there after Community College.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has a beautiful campus and seems like a great place to meet alot of nice people who are intrested in the same field as you!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None to really speak of.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs including Skydiving. You can go checkout the Black Hills. Or just walk around Downtown

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is very good compared to other college food that I have had.

    Dorm Life

    With friendly RA's and with so many welcoming students

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't to hard, but miss to many classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. People are very welcoming at Black Hills State.

    In three sentences

    Black Hills State University is small college nestled at the top of the Black Hills. Its small size makes it one of the most friendliest campuses around. The professors actually teach the courses and are open when you need to see them, if that means they have to change there schedule so be it. They are their for you.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They often come and check-in at the Dorms at night just to help make sure everything is running smoothly.

    Greek Life

    There are two sororities on campus. One of the sororities donates money to charities and puts on small functions for that. Other than that, I don't know.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who love the outdoors or are interested in Educational Programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a garden on top of the Jonas Academic Building.

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the cheapest schools in South Dakota!

    What to do for fun

    The Hills are your backyard, go forth and explore the wonderful outdoors!

    Food and Dining

    The food is always great on Preview Days, after that it slowly/quickly goes downhill. It's always nice when there is a worker who takes in requests and makes what you would like to eat. Other than that it's a lot of the same thing.. like lasagna. They do offer Vegetarian choices however. (:

    Dorm Life

    I think it really depends on the personalities of the people in your Dorm - whether the students are friendly, outgoing, shy, or social. If you live in a Dorm that is very active, the Dorm life is quite content - however if you don't, well it's a hit and miss.

    Academic Rigor

    As in any school, some classes are easier than others. The classes that I take require much work on my part. I need to be honestly dedicated to the class and my major to receive good marks.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that all prospective students get in touch with an Admissions Representative to learn more about the school rather than trying to research everything by yourself. It's a greater way to fully understand all the benefits that this school may carry for you and your major.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that enforces the students to use their own minds to analyze situations and questions in class. The teachers are all very supportive and take time to know who you are rather than just being another number. The Black Hills is another wonderful benefit for all students who enjoy the outdoors, snowboarding, hiking, rock climbing, and more.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus usually has plenty of activities going on and ways for you to meet students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good some days and other days it gets pretty bland and feels like your eating the same thing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't too bad to live in if you like to share a pretty small space with another person. The only problem I have is that things are not fixed in a timely manner.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful and genuinely want you to succeed. Most of them will go out of their way to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know everything that you need such as your parking pass and buzz on the first day and never go anywhere with your buzz card or you will be locked out.

    In three sentences

    It's a very nice college without too big of a population in a very nice and pretty area. Its also very close to a bigger cities and close to pretty areas in the mountains. They are also very organized and helpful when applying.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    walk the track!

    Dorm Life

    I stay off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focused!

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are helpful and caring. The courses are organized. A great place to study!

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't go to the campus.

    Greek Life

    I don't go to the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't go to the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    I go to the satellite school, not the main campus. The University Center in Rapid City is good for people with careers and families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't go to the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the cheapest state schools in the are, possibly one of the cheapest state schools in the nation. You get what you pay for. I turned in an essay I wrote in the 6th grade for a composition I class and got an A on it. The instructors seem to know what they are talking about, but the grading system is very lax.

    What to do for fun

    I don't go to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I don't go to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't go to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are way too easy for college level. If you do not plan on going to graduate school, or just getting a degree to get a degree, this is an easy way to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check other schools if you are looking for a more science-minded degree.

    In three sentences

    It is a decent University. It is small and clean. It is not the place for science or technology degrees.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    visit the turist sites

    Food and Dining

    nothing but a Mcdonalds close by.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in the dorms

    In three sentences

    i have enjoyed going to this collage. I will continue going, but they do not provide any of my classes here in rapid city. it would serve the community better if they offered a larger varity here in rapid city. the drive to the main campus is over an hour and gas prices are high.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No crime on campus. I usually leave my door unlocked with my laptop in the car

    Greek Life

    lacking

    Clubs and Activities

    Highly recommend the outdoors club or the science club which meets at our local brewery monthly

    Great for these types of students

    prospective teachers outdoormen and women people who love nature

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fear the Sting week ! and Tailgating is one of our favorite past times

    Bang for the buck

    inexpensive and the education is great and hands on

    What to do for fun

    You can rent bikes on campus and ride all over town and into the hills. Spearfish Creek offers a great way to cool off or just relax and read a book. The Black Hills offers some amazing hiking and is great year round.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all great and there are a lot of free food opportunities which is never a bad thing. My favorite is the Mongolian grill !

    Dorm Life

    Clean and fun !

    Academic Rigor

    Homework is common but easy and the library is great place to go and study and meet friends at the same time

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Class Sit up front Ask questions Get involved in on-campus activities Don't be afraid

    In three sentences

    A great small school for students who do not want to get lost in the mix of everyone. The professors and staff are very personable and will most likely know your name by the end of the first month of school. The students are open and friend and it is easier than eating cake to make friends !

  • 08/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Rapid City is nearby and there is plenty of night life in both Rapid City and Spearfish.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not involved in food service at the school. I assume it is on par with such experiences at any other school. There are some nice dining options in the city and surrounding cities.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not involved in dorm life. I assume it is on par with dorm experiences at any other school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I tell all college students to know why you're there, constantly assess your goals and pay attention to how much it is all costingyou.

    In three sentences

    I have taken graduate classes online and so far I am enjoying it. However, I don't feel they are worth $400 per credit hour. But it is a great program to get my teaching certification.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    BHSU is a teaching school, and anyone who would like to earn a degree in teaching anything should at least look at here for that aspect. Very rarely do people graduate without at least that type of degree. Also, cost wise, the school is very efficient for those who come from costlier out of state places.

    Bang for the buck

    BHSU isn't the cheapest, but it's definitely not the costliest either. Even compared to other colleges in state. I would recommend the university to someone who would like a degree and not end up in a hundred or more in debt. The best way to reap the benefits of the school is to live off campus though, since housing and the meal plan can eat up most of your financial aid. Great place for out of state students.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun in town, especially on Sundays when almost every store closes down. Most students at least bring games and other entertainment from home to keep morale high, while others work to kill time, and those that are old enough go to the bar and destress there.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria in the Student Union is the major place to go to for working your meal plan, getting breakfast, lunch, dinner, and other type things. The food is not the greatest, though it is not worse than high school cafeteria food. There is a nice buffet like choice to choose from, though you cannot take any food you don't finish outside of the eating area. Eating at the cafeteria is almost not worth it on the weekends since half of the place is shut down. Right next to the caf is one of the coffee shops which makes really nice coffee type drinks, though the best drinks are in the library. The library has Italian sodas and chili, very good, and a quick alternative to the sit down meal type food at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is tricky. It all depends on where you start the semester. If you are just starting school for the first time and do not know anyone to share a dorm room with, getting a random person to room can go either really well or really bad. It seems that most people who end up living in dorms do not do so well seeing that a very large chunk of the students that live in dorms are newly graduated high school students. My tips to those that would want to live in the dorms, either choose a room to live in by yourself, or hopefully find a friend and share a room with them. Many people are inconsiderate and do not care when their roommate needs to sleep and such things like that. I have not lived in all the dorms, but many people like Pangburn because it is small and close to the Student Union and Library. While I have lived there, I would much rather live in Thomas or Heide dorms because their bathrooms are very nice, and Pangburn has some really ghetto bathrooms. The floors are mopped about once a week (twice if lucky), the showers I have never seen cleaned, at least in the female section, and so scum builds up on the creases. Better not sit down in those. Thomas and Heide are built exactly the same, and while I have not been inside Thomas, Heide has very nice female bathrooms that look like something from a 90's Barbie house. It should be noted that the bathrooms in the dorms are without bathtubs, a luxury only found in the Campus Apartments. The campus apartments are nice, one can virtually do whatever they want and stay up as long as they want seeing that everyone in the area is at least 19 and has some common sense. The distance to the main attractions in my only negative remark about the area. On the bottom of the apartments there is a handicap apartment/room in each building (which there are eight buildings lettered A-H) where everything is lower and more accessible to those who need it. The original state of your apartment depends on whether you on the top floor or bottom floor, and if you have the handicap room or not. The top rooms are brighter with higher cielings and such, and some of their cooking and shower equipment is better. Other than that, nothing too overall awful about being able to do school work in your own place. Even if you do not like your roommates (if you got randoms) at least you can close your door, unless you get stuck in the handicap double room.

    Academic Rigor

    As for classes at BHSU, the difficulty lies within what your major is, and what classes you are taking. Also, choice of professor factors into the difficulty also. In average, general classes are not so tough since there are many outside sources to use for help with Math and Writing/English. Personally I did not feel so challenged with my generals, but to each their own. Complexity really picks up when classes based around the major you are seeking to get are your main classes for the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those that want to go here, and live on campus, I tell you, bring as much as you can from home so that you do not have to constantly buy things from the school or local stores. Save money before the semester starts in case financial aid doesn't go through completely or in the very least to pay for things like phone bills and laundry. Jobs in town are hard to come by, especially in the Spring semester when everyone has landed any possible job available. If you live on campus, try to live in the dorms so that you are closer to the Cafeteria, since the walk from the campus apartments is sometimes dreadful in the heat or snow. That being said, bring cleaning supplies or at least sanitizer since the bathrooms are old and pretty gross looking. If you live in the dorms, at least buy a pair of flip flops since the dorm bathrooms have gross floors in the older buildings. Invest in a bike! Use the library as much as possible since you have printing money on your student ID which is almost impossible to use up in one semester. Join at least one club so that you can meet a few people.

    In three sentences

    BHSU is a nicely priced, small campus that provides an average college education for those who seek it. It is not a party school, and most who go here end up with some sort of degree in teaching. The people are trying at times.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    A lot of people go to Black Hills State University for their teaching degree, but they have more to offer. I was originally going for my Associates in General Studies, but if I would have stayed with BH, I would have gone for my Bachelor's in History. I hear that they have a good History program.

    Food and Dining

    The have a little cafe in the building that serves great cappacinos and coffees. It is also a great place to meet people if you were looking for tutor help.

    Dorm Life

    I was not living in the dorm for the semester I took at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    For some classes, the academics took frist priority, but some of the teachers just let some students slid on half done work

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that I have picked up from being at Black Hills State University: -Always check to make sure that you need the textbook for the class, because the buy back books do not return a lot of the money you invested in the books. -Make sure that you friend, or at least be friendly to, the support staff, whether it be technology support or tutor support, because they will be your best help for the coming semesters.

    In three sentences

    Black Hills is a good school. I loved the Literature portion of the classes. I only wished that some of the teachers would be more passionate about their subjects.