Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Black River Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone is a good fit for this college, we have a good diversity.

    Tips for prospective students

    All I can really say is come and check out the campus, if you don't like it then you don't have to commit to coming here. If you do like it, then it's an excellent college to attend. It is cheaper in the long run to attend college here first and transfer than it is to go to a four-year college the entire time.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a lot cheaper to go here for two years than it is to go to any four-year college close to here. You are not required to stay in a dorm on campus and you do not have to shell out a lot of money for lunches. We have plenty of choices to choose from for lunch for less than six dollars for a full lunch including meat, vegetables, and a dessert or if you want to buy one of them that is available also. Breakfast is served to those who want it as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is very enjoyable here. We have a beautiful campus, it's not too big to walk across and everyone is very friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I love the teachers, they are very helpful and super nice. They offer different ways to be tutored such as Plato, student tutors, and teachers tutor if needed. We have Distance Education opportunities, hybrid classes, and day and night classes. We also offer (if grades are high enough) to be in Phi Theta Kappa, open to men and women with high GPA's. We even have part-time job opportunities here at the college campus.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an English club and a Government club

    Great for these types of students

    the student ratio is probably half old, non-traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    This is probably the most economical college there is.

    What to do for fun

    I attend in Paragould Ar. We have a movie theater, bowling, and lots of fast food.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Effort and study is needed for any college program, but the instructors are very helpful and oriented to the non-traditional student who may have been out of school for some time. If you put forth the effort, they will help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do it! It is easier than you may think. You just need to take the first step and check it out.

    In three sentences

    I love it! The instructors are very caring and helpful. It is close to my house and easy to access.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent safety only a minor burglary and car break in the past 5 years.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    A few local clubs not much to go with here.

    Great for these types of students

    Trying to go to college for the first time and if you have a hard time getting used to the new atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have both a spring and fall celebration and great give awasy.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap college easy way to get credits without stress.

    What to do for fun

    NO much in pocahontas, local skate park and you have to drive 50 miles to get to a nice mall or theatre.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is cheap and food tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It challenges you but its not too difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply online its easy, the cafeteria is a cheap place to eat.

    In three sentences

    Small local school for friendly teachers and a nice local community.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have three campus police officers to keep our campus safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Black River offers many clubs to join, such as Studenty government association, Phi theta kappa, and educators association, from which I am currently President. lots of student activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Black River College is great for the older student who has been out of high school many years, or just graduating. There in the last few years have had a 91 year old woman graduate . So there is oppurtunity for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each semester, there is always something new that the instructors and administration try to put on for the students. Either its the beauty contest or fun before finals, which last an entire week. Not necessarily unusual just fun things that makes college life fun.

    Bang for the buck

    As the smaller colleges are not usually as expensive as larger universitys. I can say that I recieve the best education for the money that I pay.

    What to do for fun

    As we are a small college. there is usually not activities everyday, but just being in the student lounge with your fellow students, can become entertaining in the sence that we all enjoy eachothers company and can relate to everything around ourselves as we are mostly in eachothers classes.

    Food and Dining

    This college does not have a cafeteria. but does provide snack machines.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    As a student at Black River college already I can say that the classes are instructional and formed around the students needs of whatever field they are chosen to go into. You have to maintain at least a c average in your classes to be able to go on to the next course, but are directed to achieve the A average.

    Tips for prospective students

    As there are smaller class rooms and more skilled instructors at Black River College, believe that each student can succeed in his or her field of study and reach their goals. appyling is simple and they have skilled office personell to help in any way possible.

    In three sentences

    Black River Technical College is an exceptional school. They have given so many adults the oppurtunity to achieve a goal they need to find a better job and have a higher education experience. With smaller classes and skilled instructors, they can provide one on one help to the struggling student and give them an oppurtunity to succeed too.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police academy is on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Students have a thing called fun before finals were they hang out with other students and eat snacks. There are tons of speakers who come to brtc, they are inspirational and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    its OK to be shy, you will still make friends :)

    In three sentences

    Black river has nice teachers that are willing to help. The teachers are understanding when it comes to missed days due to excusable events. Students are also very friendly, so no one feels like a real outcast.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far, there hasn't really been any trouble with the safety of the students or faculty. Campus police do a terrific job at what they do.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a great school for students who aren't looking to obtain a bachelor's degree or for those who are wanting to adjust first before transferring to a larger school. The transition is AWESOME.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This being the end of my first year at college, I've only heard about a few college clubs that anyone is free to join. We're always offering opportunities to donate to those less fortunate and giving students the opportunity to win money and other prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    BRTC has amazingly cheap tuition and tech fees for being only a two year college. It's also surprising how much they have to offer for being just a local college. If you'd like a fast degree, then you should attend BRTC.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, there isn't much to do in the city of Pocahontas to keep the student life satisfied. Many often travel to Jonesboro to maintain sanity from a boring routine.

    Food and Dining

    The college is located right on the outskirts of town, so there is a variety to choose from when it comes to food and dining. The usual fast food places and small business restaurants serve as good meal plans while BRTC also gives its students discounts for the local eating joints.

    Dorm Life

    Because BRTC is a 2 year technical college, they unfortunately do not host dorms for students to stay in. However, there are apartments and other accomodies to stay in if you're a student from out of state. They are also relatively cheap I believe.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors give an excellent personal vibe. If you have questions, don't hesitate to ask because they love when the students get interested just as much as they are. The college itself seems to meet a happy medium when it comes to students feeling like they are learning a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Homework is priority number 1! They're not open on Fridays or weekends so don't procrastinate! It's easy to manage your grades and school work if you take advantage of the syllabus' they hand out.

    In three sentences

    Black River Tech is a great starter school for students who need to adjust from High School going into the College Life. The professors are super friendly and the campus is beautiful. Black River Technical College is a very productive way to start college.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone I have meet a wide range of people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    have a new coffee shop

    What to do for fun

    I play with my kids

    Food and Dining

    great food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    if your not sure what you need or of anything ask for help they have a wonderful staff.

    In three sentences

    I think brtc is an awesome school

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The college has and excellent cafe and and the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    BRTC doen't have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program you are in determines the difficulty. I am in the LPN program and it is tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to BRTC prepared and ready to learn. The teachers are great and students are always ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    Black River Technical College is an affordable college to start your degree and prepare you for a four year school.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    just hang out with friends and talk.

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good

    Dorm Life

    not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Love it there.

    In three sentences

    I like how the teachers it there to help you if you need it. I like the atmosphere that surround you. You can be relaxed there and be yourself.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both campuses have two on duty police officers around the clock. They make them selves very visible inside as well as outside. We also have a system called a RAVE alert, if something happens a message is sent to your phone. When in class the door is locked from the inside and only can be opened from the inside or with a key. Giving us a security measure of safety. There are cameras as well. I feel very safe going here.

    Greek Life

    We have the National Technical Honor Society, Phi Beta Lambda, and Phi Theta Kappa (5 star ranking).

    Clubs and Activities

    We have several clubs like math, art, English, and drama.

    Great for these types of students

    If you do not like large classrooms and the hectic life of a larger campus then we just might be the college for you. Come check us out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cannot think of anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though we are small we have and excellent financial aid programs. It costs a lot less to go here than larger campuses. If you have thought about going to college but thought it was too expensive, come check us out BRTC is very reasonable when it comes to cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on at school. The clubs and honors societies are always hosting something. Both campuses are located in small towns that do not offer a lot. However, we are located very close to larger cities as well. You do not have to look far for something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus in Pocahontas has a dinning room with excellent food and choices with decent prices. The Paragould campus is smaller and has a vending area with machines that hold sandwiches and fruit. They are very good and are supplied by a local company and are replenished everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Unlike bigger colleges we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your class this can vary. Most classes are an hour and fifteen minutes. We do have a few that are three hours long. Most are the regular classroom type. We do have however, CVN, hybrids, online, and hands on. You will need to put aside at least five to six hours aside per class for studying. Online classes a bit more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to come and tour each campus. Make sure you check out the available clubs and honor societies. Be sure to follow all of the parking rules, they do hand out tickets. There is always someone there if you need help with anything, so do not be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    A small but excellent place to learn. Smaller classrooms give the teachers more time to help students individually. With two separate campuses one has a choice as to with campus suits them the best.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus if very safe, there are campus police constantly patrolling the college. Also black river has a police academy on campus with police in training.

    Bang for the buck

    Black river is pretty inexpensive compared to other colleges. You can get the same associates degree as a university for considerably less money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym where you can work out in your free time that has a full array of workout equipment. There are also lounges all over the campus where you can do homework or just hangout until your next class.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice cafeteria in the middle of campus with many choices. There is something for everyone there. There is also a coffee shop that recently opened up which makes your coffee to however you want it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Black river, while teaching you what you need to know isn't that rigorous academically. Much of your work can be done online at home on your own time and most doesn't take long to complete. The teachers don't overload you just for the sake of assigning homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely recommend starting your college career at black river tech. Making the switch from high school to college can be difficult but going to black river instead of a big university will take some of the stress off .

    In three sentences

    Black River is more personal than larger colleges because of the reduced number of students. It seems like the teachers and staff actually care whether you do well or not. It's a great transition between high school and the larger universities where you'll have to finish a 4 year degree.