Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Blue Mountain Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    BMCC seems to be located in a fairly safe neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    No comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't belong to any clubs yet because I just got here 3 days ago.

    Great for these types of students

    BMCC is great for students who desire small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None noted.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know yet since I am starting classes next week.

    What to do for fun

    I plan on working part time while I attend College, but plan to spend allot of time with family and friends doing many activities for fun when I have time.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried any food or dining facilities yet.

    Dorm Life

    I have a small apartment her in Baker City.

    Academic Rigor

    I plan on going full time and BMCC is making that possible for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff at the Baker City BMCC were very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I am in the process of applying for my GI Bill and the Leo Adler Scholarship. I am registered for the Spring term now and plan to go this Summer as well. I have to pay out of pocket until I get my financial aid.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You can find a little bit of each culture when attending this college

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent teaching staff, very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on your financial aid. ask for help if you are falling behind in your classes. Tutoring is readily available.

    In three sentences

    Excellent beginner school for those looking to start back to school. The staff is awesome, very helpful. Locations are placed throughout the state as well as online.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Blue Mountain Community College has an Associated Government. The clubs available are, �Native American �Veterans Club �Young Farmers and Ranchers �Phi Theta Kappa �Livestock Judging Team Activities available are, �Diversity Discussions �Spring Fling �Student Appreciation Day �Student Barbecues �Video Game Tournaments BMCC also has an athletics program.

    What to do for fun

    If you are an outdoorsman, this is the place for you. Nestled at the base of the Blue Mountains, hunting, camping, four-wheeling, hiking, skiing, snowmobiling, sledding are all right out your back door! Only 30 miles from the Columbia River, fishing, swimming, and boating are also a guarantee for fun filled day or weekend. Throughout the year many events in various close by areas are always and option to enjoy as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are various options for food and dining in all the areas of BMCC learning. Students are sure to satisfy any hunger pangs at any one of the local markets or restaurants. Students are also welcome to bring snacks or drinks in most classes. Schedules are flexible enough to allow students who live nearby to run home for a quick meal as well.

    Dorm Life

    BMCC does not provide on-campus housing. However they are interested in helping students find a place to rent. Students are encouraged to contact the local chamber of commerce to find property managers in all the areas BMCC has a learning center and in Pendleton where the campus is located.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is challenging. In my particular field of study, many students have commented on the level of difficulty. You must stay on top of your work, pay attention to deadlines, and manage your time effectively. BMCC offers support and education in how to manage your time and get the most out your studies; so as to ensure success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meeting with an advisor to ask all your questions is highly recommended. Constant communication is also recommended to ensure you have a full understanding of to expect and what is expected of your and to ensure you are in fact on the right path for your goals. Being prepared for anything you do would be a plus in order to maintain effective time management. Absolutely never hesitate to call, email, or ask someone in person if you have any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    Have several off-site learning centers, and offer many online classes to ensure flexibility for students of all ages to attend and pursue their career dreams. Blue Mountain offers many career programs and degree options. This Community College works to aid and guide students in successful academic performance and advises students through career pathways to ensure all classes and requirements are met in order to attain your academic and career goals.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is usually a potluck at the end of spring term to start off the summer.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is a cheaper alternative to a four year college; however it does not offer a high degree than an associates.

    What to do for fun

    If you want to have a little fun then you can always take a break from homework and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I also have never eaten here so I do not know how well the food and the dining situations are.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about dorm life because I have not lived on campus at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip that I would give to prospective students would be; always make sure to have all of your finances in order at the beginning of each term or it will be really hard to handle your studies while going through financial processes.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Blue Mountain Community College is a great place to start your college career. The staff is friendly and understanding of each students' individual needs and concerns. I have never had a problem learning and feeling comfortable at this school.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never any incidents. Well lit. There is always someone around, even at odd hours.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs. Usually one major event per term put on by the Student Government. i.e. barbecue and a prize drawing.

    Great for these types of students

    Blue Collar. They have a strong diesel tech, agricultural, and nursing program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college has a strange no late add on policy. So, if the class you were registered for is canceled at the last minute you may not be able to register for another class that you want.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get what you came for as long as you are realistic in your expectations, and you keep in mind that this is a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Bicycle, play games, participate in on campus clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Overpriced, bad hours, poor selection. The taste is decent.

    Dorm Life

    None available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college. The staff are pretty good at what they do. I have had very good experiences with all but two of the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect much help from the financial aid department here. They are hard to even contact by email; impossible to see in person; their phone numbers are not accessible

    In three sentences

    Blue Mountain Community College is a good school overall. The staff is friendly and helpful as a general rule. There are several useful services: library resources, free tutoring, and a growing online support base.

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Join our Fraternity, become an Alumnist.

    Clubs and Activities

    We got clubs for almost everyone especially agricultural & livestock based activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly Sociable Outgoing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The coffee shop is outstanding. Melody and Jess will take care of you. Jess makes the best coffee drinks. The staff is super friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    Best education experience of my life. Glad I chose to go to school at Blue Mountain Community College.

    What to do for fun

    Baseball, volleyball, softball, swim, workout, join a club, or try out for a play.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always open though the food service time is a short window in the afternoon, but the food is great. Try the burger it's terrific.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available but they make a real effort helping students find housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework is not excessive, the class are informational, and the teachers are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay close attention to orientation and everything will be a breeze. Do your online orientation as soon as you can and your online resources will become easy to use tools. Complete your 1st term orientation class as quickly as possible(I did mine in the 1st 3 weeks) that way you have less homework to worry about the rest of the term, plus it completes your orientation.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus with a friendly atmosphere. The class sizes are small so you get ample one on one help. The student support is outstanding.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are wanting to attend college for as cheap as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    The main reason I came here is to finish my first two years of college for CHEAP. I am saving at least 10,000 per year by attending here rather than a University.

    What to do for fun

    It is a small town so you have to make your fun. On the Pendleton campus if you show up a couple weeks before the school year there is a huge Rodeo that comes to town. While I am not a cowboy by any means, the rodeo brings a lot of fun activities to do in the town and is the most eventful thing that happens all year.

    Food and Dining

    The food from what I have had is decent, and it is close to a lot of fast food restaurants in town also.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a Community College, there are not many apartments to choose from either.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are the typical pre requisite classes that you would take at any college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, show up to class, and do your homework. If you do all of these things you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Blue Mountain Community College is the most inexpensive way to get a two year degree, or work towards a four year. The professors for the most part are excellent and genuinely care how you do. Plus the class sizes are fairly small so you can get one on one attention with your instructor.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a very safe environment. With plenty of security and law enforcement.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a plethora of different clubs for everyone's interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Distance learning is very open and offered.

    Bang for the buck

    Nice campus and tons of distance learning options.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to do in the local area.

    Food and Dining

    All food on campus is good

    Dorm Life

    Off campus living only

    Academic Rigor

    It is a great program with an even level of difficulty. The teachers are there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    My most useful tip would have to be, talk to your advisor and consult them whenever necessary.

    In three sentences

    Blue Mountain community college is a wonderful school. Everyone I have come on contact with had been extremely nice and helpful. The teachers put the extra effort in to help you pass and male site you understand what you're being taught.