Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Blue Ridge Community College - North Carolina Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope i will

    Will learn a lot

    I know i will

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe as it has deputies patrolling it at all times. They are very friendly and will answer any questions or help a student any way they can while watching over the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students of any age who are looking to get into college and get a grasp of what will be expected at the next level. It also gives a student time to think about what they want to major in and where they want to transfer to without making them decide to fast.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very much a bang for the buck because it gives students and adults a way to ease into college without jumping in over their head. One years tuition is right around 2,000 dollars for a full time student plus the cost of books which compared to other local colleges saves you quite a bit.

    What to do for fun

    There are several groups at BRCC that you can join but the best things to do for fun is anything outdoors. The school is set in Hendersonville N.C and has lots of trails, rivers, and outdoor adventures in the area. You can go tubing down the river or jump on a horse and take a trail ride the possibilities are endless in this sleepy little town. Once the sun goes down their is several sports bars and dinners on main street that can keep you up till late until the night and offers a great way to meet other people in the community.

    Food and Dining

    There is a campus cafeteria that offers meals during the day pretty cheaply and most days are pretty good. It offers you a cheap way to eat on campus so you don't have to drive during your breaks, but their are several food places nearby to fit your dinning need.

    Dorm Life

    Blue Ridge doesn't offer on campus dorms or living quarters because it is meant for students in the area as it is just a Community College. Their are very reasonable apartments in the area as well as people looking for room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    We have several Professors who have taught at major universities and use several teaching strategies to get you prepared for when you transfer. we also have a great nursing program and automotive team who prepare students for their futures.

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to this school be prepared for a very diverse school, as we have lots of returning adults and older people starting classes again. The transfer counselor is very helpful working with students to achieve their goals and get to the college that they want to attend while making the grades they need here.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college for any student who is just starting out and cant afford or get into a major college right off the bat. Blue Ridge Community College, or BRCC as we call it, is a beautiful campus with a nice lake between the buildings which offers a great place to study. Tuition is very affordable as i have paid out of pocket for two semesters and the teachers are very willing to help.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hendersonville is just a few minutes away. Asheville is about 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is ok, but a little expensive. Close to any kind of restaurant you can imagine.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are very challenging, but most instructors are willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on going into nursing, take all your sciences before you get into the program.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge is a great school. There are some great instructors who want you to succeed.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are low on money and want to continue their education by aiming for an associate's degree. BRCC offers many scholarships and financial aid which pays for everything, including books, for many students on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Look into the different clubs the school has to offer. Also, attend the events and get involved with the activities the school offers. They are usually a blast to attend!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk with current students and get a feel for who the good advisors and counselors are. Try to get in early with your advisor to map out your schedule and required classes. As long as you respect your teachers, do as they say, and show up to class, you should do well here.

    In three sentences

    BRCC is an overall good school. Their classes are small enough to be able to connect with teachers, but large enough to create new friendships. Going to school here is easy as long as you have a good advisor, otherwise graduating BRCC in a short amount of time could have its difficulties.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always things going on at campus. You just have to take the iniative and do something with your time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe they have on campus has great food. There are also other restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so most students either live at home with their parents or live with a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work isn't so bad. There are times in which you have more than usual, but it's something that we all face in sometime or another.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that everyone show up for their classes. The teachers expect a lot out of a student. They aren't there to babysit, so it's just best to act your age and be resepectful of others.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge Community College is a great school, with excellent teachers. Everyone makes you feel welcomed, and they take the time to explain everything. It's also a small college where everyone knows everyone and it's more on a personal level, so as a student you feel more at ease.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a new Police officer that watches the school. He's really nice, he'll open the door for you and he's there if you need to talk about anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA always plans fun things for us! We have Halloween Parties, Valentine's Day Parties, and a school picnic at the end of the year. They really try and get students involved with their school, and they do a great job in doing so!

    What to do for fun

    You're surrounded by three beautiful State Forests, go hiking!

    Food and Dining

    Pescado's is the best place to eat in downtown Brevard!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there are plenty of places to stay close by.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not difficult, but you do need to do your homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's close to home, the best thing to do after graduating from high school. It's easier when your classes are small, that way your teachers can get to know you.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge Community College gave me an opportunity to start my college career five minutes from my house. It's the best thing thus far I have done for my life. It's close to home, small, and very friendly when it comes down to it.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Call the registration office and set up a time to take a pre-test. Always apply for FASFA. Meet with your advisors; they will help.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love attending the school. The teachers that I have over my education department are very helpful and show me new educational opportunities. The students and I have become a close knit family.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police officers patrolling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The SGA is always hosting some kind of fundraiser or event for students to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    Don't really care for the cafeteria food but there are lots of restaurants in the area to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes there is a lot more work than others, but that's how college life is.

    In three sentences

    The staff is really helpful and are always ready to answer any questions you may have regarding your course of study or school work. There are tons of programs to choose from and their transfer programs are amazing. The campus is peaceful, quiet, and beautiful.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I couldn't tell you but I will research this.

    Great for these types of students

    I have know clue.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not been on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not even know what bang for the bucks means.

    What to do for fun

    I have absolutely know idea.

    Food and Dining

    I will not be dinning on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what your advisor says or financial aid advisor says in the beginning stay on them. Call them and send them emails to make sure they understand how important this opportunity is to you.

    In three sentences

    The have the perfect program for future interpreters. Their facility members are extremely nice and hard working. I think they deserve a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10 only because I am just starting school here.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    BRCC has a wide range of clubs and activities ranging from student government, to live action role-playing, to theatre, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    - Theatre students - Nursing - Early Education - Education Interpreting students

    Bang for the buck

    Something that makes Blue Ridge Community College stand out from the local A-B Tech. is that they have a superb American Sign Language program. I've been in the program for almost two years and I'm nearly done. The classes are enjoyable and sometimes it hardly feels like learning.

    What to do for fun

    During the warm weather you can go sit by the pond and watch the ducks, geese, and fish swim around in a peaceful environment, or you can go inside the student center and play a game of pool or pingpong. The Student Government Association throws some kind of event at least once a month in the student center with activities and free food for those around. It's really awesome, and in the spring, once the weather has warmed up some, they throw a spring picnic with music, BBQ, and all sorts of events.

    Food and Dining

    The only dining available on-campus is the Early college cafeteria and what snacks are in the student store, but Hendersonville has several fast food places nearby as well as a few grocery stores. There are also several vending machines located across campus; just about every building has some vending machine in it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Blue Ridge Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    School work won't take you away from everything in your life, but it is sometimes difficult as are most college courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take community college lightly, even though it helps you get to where you are wanting to go in life, it can still be difficult.

    In three sentences

    BRCC is a great school with an inviting campus, excellent teachers, and majors that most of colleges in the area don't carry. The teachers try to help you understand the curriculum as well as the students. I recommend BRCC to everyone that I meet.