Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Blue Ridge Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The College provides quality, convenient, and affordable educational opportunities to all residents and employees in this region.

    Tips for prospective students

    Blue Ridge Community and Technical College is a state-supported institution within the West Virginia Community and Technical College system.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is not to bad. I think everyone can afford to pay it. They also have finance to help you. If you need they are happy to help you.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professor was great to help you if you need it. I enjoying when i need extra help from professor. The professor will coming to his own time to let me use the equipment and tutor.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot of network equipment about Cisco. The class room setup was super great. I am current certified as Cisco CCNA.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel safe with the security we have at the main campus, rated a 10.

    Great for these types of students

    older generation. fresh out of high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do most of my studying in the Atrium at Blue Ridge.

    Bang for the buck

    I just graduated with an Assoc. in Criminal Justice and I am now trying to get into the RN program at Blue Ridge or Shepherd University. I have been on the President's List and Dean's List.

    What to do for fun

    play computer games, hidden objects. play cards and yatzee.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines are provided until we get into our new building, rated 5.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm on this campus. rating 0

    Academic Rigor

    highly rated for academic help with learning disabled students. rated 10.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, study and study, take all the help you may need.

    In three sentences

    good instructors that offer to help in any way. has good instructors, period. has alot of different curriculums to choose from.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel it is a safe learning environment for students and teachers.

    Greek Life

    Not aware of any sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not familiar with any clubs or activities that Blue Ridge CTC is offering.

    Great for these types of students

    Blue Ridge CTC is a great choice for new High School graduates looking for a convenient and affordable college to start their career or ongoing education., It is also a great starting point for returning or new adult students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't experienced or seen any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, so good.

    What to do for fun

    Arts, crafts, hiking, biking, swimming, and traveling.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria that I'm aware of.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't started yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If ever unsure of any processes, just ask the appropriate staff member and they will guide you the whole way through.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge CTC is an easily accessible community college located within city limits of Martinsburg, WV. The acceptance and financial aid procedure was very quick and accommodating. I was also impressed with the fast response and and immediate answers to all questions and concerns as a new adult student.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have security on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I think they are reasonable

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities and clubs that you can join

    Food and Dining

    The college does not have a food or dining area only vending machines. They are building a new building that will have all that and it will be ready for students in the fall

    Dorm Life

    we do not have a dorm in this type of college

    Academic Rigor

    Its a little demanding in the homework area, but laid back in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college has teacher, professors that is easy to get along with, and is willing to help you with your grades.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge TCT has very friendly and helpful staff willing to talk to one at any time that they are there. I have learned a lot about college since I have been enrolled. I would suggest this college for anyone who is looking for a specific career.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school always puts safety as their first priority. That is one of their greatest assets.

    What to do for fun

    The school has family nights, bus trips,and fund raisers. They are always coming up with ideas to keep everyone busy.

    Food and Dining

    I really enjoy the food from the Culinary department. They are awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm. I live in my home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some of the most dedicated instructors. They are willing to work you on any problems that a student may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage any student to start in a community college because it is a setting of being with family.

    In three sentences

    Blueridge has been wonderful in all they have helped me with in getting back to school after 28 years. The Human Resource department has gone beyond the call of duty to make the transition back to school a pleasurable experience. I only hope that some day they will be a 4 year college, I just love this school.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is really great for a parent or a student that is not clear on what they want to do yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of this school is really amazing. I am really glad that I switched from Shepherd University to Blue ridge. I was able to save hundreds of dollars.

    What to do for fun

    They have many fun activities through out the year. They even set up a trip to NY. That sounds really fun to me!

    Food and Dining

    They have just built a new building with dinning in it, but I have not had a chance to experience the food as of yet.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the academic rigor at Blue ridge is up to par. You get what you put in to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Blue ridge is a place that provides aclot of help in the office, so check with the office if you need help!!! They are really great people!!!

    In three sentences

    Blue ridge is the best choice I could have ever made. The teachers have more patience and understanding then a University. I have received the help that I needed with my learning disabilities that made the transition in going back to school for me more pleasurable.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brand new campus

    Greek Life

    There is a phi theta

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a new student it would be unfair to comment now

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New Campus

    What to do for fun

    The Potomac river is gorgeous

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Maintain a positive attitude and take your couses and homework seriously

    In three sentences

    Easy access,caring and patient staff,many academic leval choices for classes. They want to see you suceed. You must have a positive attitude and try very hard and you can carry a 4.0 GPA.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety at Blue Ridge is excellent. Blue Ridge always has security staff on at all operational times. The security at Blue Ridge has their own personal room with multiple cameras within the building and the parking lot. They are friendly and will engage with you while doing their rounds through out the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Blue Ridge offers a few clubs including American Sign Language Club, Bi Gay Lesbian and Allies Against Discrimination (B GLAAAD), Blue Ridge Drama Club, Campus Crusades, Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Fitness Club, Golf Club, Lambda Alpha Epsilon (LAE), Multicultural Club, Phi Beta Lambda (PBL), Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society, Residential Writers Group (RWG), Single Parents, Skills USA, Student Government Association (SGA) and Student Nurses Association (SNA).

    Great for these types of students

    Blue Ridge is excellent for Parents, Students who work, Transfer students and Students who just aren't ready for a University setting.

    Bang for the buck

    Blue Ridge is an excellent school for students who need a fresh start or finishing where they left off in their educational goals. I would recommend Blue Ridge to any person who feels that school is not an option for them. With the help of educational funds and the freedom of working your schedule out, education is never too far from reach.

    What to do for fun

    Blue Ridge has multiple events to keep students busy throughout the year. Every semester, Blue Ridge rents a charter bus and takes a day trip to New York. They also have a homecoming dance, along with excellent activities including a chili cook off! Besides the event, Blue Ridge offers a cafe area with free internet and is a local hangout for students who are waiting for their next class.

    Food and Dining

    Blue Ridge offers a Brun Cafe at both campus. The Tech Center Brun Cafe has excellent classic food for every person including sweets. All the food offered at the Brun Cafe is made by our students who want to be a Chef. There are many different offerings including vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here at Blue Ridge. At Blue Ridge, students drive from home or walk. The city of Martinsburg does offer a PanTran for students who live further way from Blue Ridge Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigoar here at Blue Ridge is excellent. Staff wants to not only exceed in teaching us the knowledge they know, but to also teach us beyond to keep us updated and fully knowledgeable when we perform in our future careers. Staff keeps things creative, educational and related to our everyday lives for better understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students who are planning on attending Blue Ridge should keep in mind that classes fill up extremely fast. Make sure to keep regular appointments with your adviser to stay on track on earning your associate's degree. If a student is planning on transferring to an University, keep that in mind when it comes to transferring due to the fact some credits do not transfer.

    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge is an excellent college for students who are just returning to the Educational environment. It is also best for students who are maintaining a full-time/part-time employment and recent parents. Blue Ridge has an excellent staff and they are willing to help you in anyway possible.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest colleges in the state. Great teachers though.

    Food and Dining

    Bruin cafe is great.

    Academic Rigor

    I learn a lot and feel like I'm challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be close with your adviser. GET SCHOLARSHIPS/GRANTS! It's not hard at all to attend college here and succeed, yet so many people drop out.

    In three sentences

    The teachers I've had are great. I love the class size and the types of students that attend.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many clubs and activities for everyone! Too many clubs to list. From single parents, families, young students and everything in between! You will never run out of things to do here! Chili cookoffs and flag football as well!

    Bang for the buck

    Any credits above the 12 credit price, is still the same amount as the 12 credits. Example, take 16 or 22 credits, you will still pay for 12 credits!

    Food and Dining

    There is not a wide selection for food on campus, but what is available has always been very good. Price is a little high, but nothing is prepackaged! There is also many places to eat within a 5 minute drive or less!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly suggest checking this school out! It is a great place to start your education, even if you plan on transfering to a university to complete your degree. Very reasonable rates, plenty of interaction and great grounds. Safe and well lit!

    In three sentences

    Great Atmosphere and brand new building! The professors are amazing and willing to help every step of the way. Small class sizes and many different course options to help you get the education you need and deserve, all while working around your schedule!

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards there while student are present.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many club and activities for the students and their families.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe you get a good education for what we have to pay.

    What to do for fun

    Take my girls to the park or to a movie.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and low prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going into nursing you must have time to study. .The classes are not easy

    In three sentences

    I believe that Blue Ridge is a great school. It does not make it easy to pass the classes. The teachers there are able to answer question when you have them and in a timely manner.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am not a group activity sort of person, but they do provide plays and activities for students from credited activities to community activities.

    Food and Dining

    Snacks are available through the book store, and the Bruin Cafe. Bruin also offers full meals, varying from every day of the week. With experience of cafeteria food, I was apprehensive about trying anything made there, but I would rank these meals prepared by the Bruin Cafe staff as good as anything you would ask for from a sit-down restaurant. I was very impressed. And it doesn't cost you over $8 for a meal!

    Dorm Life

    Blue Ridge is not a dormitory school.

    Academic Rigor

    As an inexperienced student, I was worried I wouldn't be able to keep up with course material but this was not the case with most of my courses. They are challenging, and do require some work and attention, as any course should. But the teachers are not out to bury you in papers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely pay mind to your academic advisers, they are there to help you out, not to try and bury you in debt or school work. Let them know exactly what you're looking for, or as close of an idea that you have, and consider their advice, and plan your schooling with their advice as a guideline, not a concrete plan.

    In three sentences

    It is my second semester at Blue Ridge CTC and so far I am loving it much more than I thought I could. My peers are kind and courteous, the building staff is helpful and accommodating, and the courses are challenging but fair. I was nervous to start college, so I chose Blue Ridge to dip my feet in, and am very glad I did. It is a great first step school, or secondary option for adult learners!

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Blue Ridge CTC is a great community college/starter college. Blue Ridge has fantastic, well educated professors. It is much more affordable than neighboring universities.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have emergency systems set up throughout the buildings and police officers to help you.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of students!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot of education for the money. Transferring here, I have saved a lot without financial aid and have learned a lot more too.

    Food and Dining

    Blue Ridge has an excellent cafe at both of their locations. Quick and easy for studying if you need a bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    You have plenty of professors that will test your knowledge. They will take you out of your comfort zone and teach you what you will need to know in your career choices.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry! If you are not sure about what you want to do with a major, don't stress. You have plenty of advisors that are willing to help and explain the differences in careers and majors and will help you decide what is right for you to do.

    In three sentences

    If you plan on starting at community college and live in the Martinsburg area, I highly suggest Blue Ridge. You will have plenty of help at the tip of your fingers, with a teacher willing to help you at every corner you turn -- you will never be clueless on what the topic you are wondering about is. Blue Ridge has helped me realize what I am preparing for when I transfer to university and help me set up life goals.