Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bluefield College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety office is located and available for all staffs, students, and visitors. bluefield provides a cell phone number for students to have personally which i think is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    this fall bluefield will have their first season of football which should be an exciting time for the community. it has been over 70 years since they had a football team.

    Great for these types of students

    christian and enjoy a small campus settings in the appalachian mountains. also small classroom settings with great academics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on wednesdays, all students have to attend the chapel for a service on campus as part of curriculum requirements.

    What to do for fun

    i know there are hiking trails, skiing, rafting available. for me personal i am a laid back person enjoy a peaceful setting.

    Food and Dining

    dining hall is new and i'm not sure when it was built.

    Dorm Life

    all the residence halls have a game room, laundry room and tvs in the lounges. they also have a computer lab and wireless internet.

    Academic Rigor

    i will be attending this fall 2012 so i really can't say by experience what their academics are like. however based of what i have read on their website and talking with my admissions counselor i feel i will get an excellent and competitive education.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should take a tour of the campus before they decide to go somewhere else. they would feel like they are living in a small community setting that feels safe.

    In three sentences

    i would rate bluefield college on a scale of 1-10 a nine. bluefield is a small christian school that has small classes where i feel i can succeed better academically. the environment has a warm, safe and relaxing feel to it which can help me feel at home. i can't wait til get on campus!!!

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch security and our campus is very close together and not spread around everywhere. No problems with security for the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various student organizations to include ministry, fraternity, sorority, intramural and we are a member of the NAIA Division 1 Mid South Conference. We have allot of varsity sports and growing.

    Great for these types of students

    We have all nationalities and from all over the glob come to school here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have our own caves to visit on campus. And Homecoming is always a blast and at the end of the year we have a PIG MUD DAY in which we have games and pig cooked over a fire and we slide down a hill which is sprayed with water down to a big pool of mud! Fun, fun.

    Bang for the buck

    A very reasonably priced college to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, snow skiing, various clubs and student function all of the time. You will never get bored at Bluefield College.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food and new dining facilities to include a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Very clean and quiet dorm life. Rooms are a good size and the dorms are safe.

    Academic Rigor

    No different than any other college except that the professors are there for you to succeed. There are study labs and tutors if needed as well as computer labs. There is no reason for you not to succeed with the dedication of the professors and administration at your disposal.

    Tips for prospective students

    The student to teacher ration is 1 to 10. Small class sizes means that you are not just a number, but a person their to learn. The learning environment is one that you will not get lost in what your are there to learn.

    In three sentences

    Bluefield College is a very nice, small college nestled in a mountain in Bluefield Virgina. Everyone from the administration to the professors know who you are. A christian oriented college with values for life and fulfilling your education to excel in the world after graduation.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is a low record of burglary and no instances of other issues.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing. It's not the normal greek life either. These are special organizations with a Christian Emphasis. The have a great sense of unity and family.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of great programs at Bluefield including Greek Organizations, Theate, Art, Music, Sports, and Academic groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is seeking an education in a Christian environment would love Bluefield College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the students have Mud Pig day. This is a day of fun where the students have a giant slip and slide and special activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it completely. It's a great place to get an education. The teachers really care about all of the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of on campus activities to do through out the week. The sporting events are always fun as well. There is not a lot to do around Bluefield, but you make a lot of friends by having nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are better than others. There are a lot of options for food so you aren't stuck eating just one thing.

    Dorm Life

    Not terrible, but could use some paint. I live in one of the older buildings so it could use some work, but my room is still pleasent and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes vary in rigor. But, all the teachers are willing to help you at all times. Plus, there is free tutoring for all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a lot of scholarships. Going to a private school does cost more because it is not government funded. Scholarships are not easy to get from outside sources.

    In three sentences

    Bluefield College is a wonderful place to be. Everyone, including students and faculty, are kind. They are willing to do anything to help you.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all of bluefield is safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    laods

    Great for these types of students

    all kinds...seriously!

    What to do for fun

    loads, snow boarding, hiking, tennis.

    Academic Rigor

    every kind of strength level is here.4

    Tips for prospective students

    this is it, you need help, u can get it here.

    In three sentences

    ITS a small beautiful college with so much to offer then just book education, i hear the teachers are very professional and personal as well, helping you whenever you need help,nestled in the mts, my blfd college.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, recreation, community centers, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Great.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on time.

    In three sentences

    Bluefield College is a private college. It has a great Teacher Education program. Now, it is also offering a Master's degree.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Chill out in the Student Activity Center(SAC). Cheerleading.

    Food and Dining

    Food is somewhat good. If you live off campus bring food or get a meal plan because the food gets pricey if you purchase it daily.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your own printer becaue the printers on campus fail to work sometimes.

    In three sentences

    Bluefield College is a great school, but you need to be used to a small city atmosphere.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are often events on campus that are announced through both email and flyers around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food in not excellent, but it is better than some places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great as long as you abide by the rules.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework itself is not too hard if you are willing to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get caught up in the college life, go to class and do homework in a timely manner or it will pile up fast.

    In three sentences

    The staff and faculty are great and friendly. With such a small student body, the classes are also small and more personal. The coursework itself is not too hard if you are willing to work.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of shopping places and restaurants in the area also a movie theater and mall not to far away. Ski resort not too far.

    Academic Rigor

    Great programs!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school. Come ready to meet awesome people and enjoy the great atmosphere!

    In three sentences

    Very friendly people. Professors are very helpful and always concerned. As far as having fun, it is what you make it.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun. One of the things you can do for fun , is go hiking, caving, zip lining , hunting, shopping bowlling and etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great but some times they close little bit early.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are really nice.You have a walk in closet and no curfew and only four peopel to a bathroom.

    In three sentences

    Bluefield College is the best school I have been to. This school is small but that the best part , the teacher get to know you and personal with you.