Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Bluefield State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i absolutely love bluefield state college. i get a quality education from teachers who care here.i couldn't imagine going anywhere else.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Average student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The entire college is on the side of a hill so that is kind of unusual?

    What to do for fun

    Go out to the mall and hang out with friends...that's about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure what degree you want to pursue before you start. Make sure to leave early for classes to find a parking spot. Buy your books online.

    In three sentences

    Great caring educators. Doesn't offer a whole lot to choose from. Great local school.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I'm on the campus I seen the campus police standing around in different locations and I also see them riding around the campus to ensure that everyone is safe.

    What to do for fun

    Bluefield State always has events going on for charities and group organizations. Except for charities, all of their events including sports are free to attend. They have a wide variety of groups and clubs to attend and participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The have a cafe on campus. The food is delicious and the prices are low.

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure about the dorms from personal experience because I do not live on campus. Although, from what I have heard from my friends, it is a very suitable place to live and they enjoy it.

    Academic Rigor

    Bluefield State staff helps you to be prepared when you graduate with a degree. The Radiologic Technician program has a 100 percent pass rate on the board exams after they graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bluefield State College can help you succeed. The staff are all there to help you through the process.

    In three sentences

    Bluefield State is a phenomenal college. all instructors are willing to help you succeed and try to help you the best they can. Bluefield State College also offer many different programs and degrees.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria on site. Food is very cheap, but good.

    Academic Rigor

    They've got some good professors here. This is a great school for Nursing, Education and Engineering.

    In three sentences

    This is a small college so you won't be lost in the shuffle. My professors get to know me and it's easier to get help if you need it.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In order to comply with the requirements of Title II of Public Law 101-542, The Crime Awareness and Campus security Act of 1990, Bluefield State College has collected statistics concerning the occurrence on campus of six specified categories of criminal offenses, as well as statistics concerning the number of arrests for three categories of crimes of violence. A summary of the required information is listed below and a complete report is available upon request to all students and employees, as well as any applicant for enrollment or employment, beginning September 1, 1992 from the office of Campus Security. Along with the CACS Act, BSC requires a security guard (an actual police officer) to be on the premises at all times.

    Greek Life

    Bluefield State College currently host 2 fraternities (Lambda Chi Omega Fraternity and Delta Sigma Tau Fraternity) and 3 sororities (Delta Chi Omega Sorority, Phi Sigma Zeta Sorority, and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.) We also offer a Pan-Hellenic Council that hosts 2 fraternities (Kappa Alpha Psi and Omega Psi Phi) and 1 sorority (Delta Sigma Theta).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many amazing clubs and activities to participate in while attending Bluefield State College. Aside from the sports and intramurals, we have the Model U.N., SGA, Blue Chicory Players (theatre), Baptist Student Union, 3 different honor societies, Pre-Med Club, Blue Devil Press (yearbook and newspaper), Order of Omega, EnviroMentalists, Aristotle's Poetics, Organic Chemistry Club, BSC ASALH, the International Student Organization, and soo many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all!! Bluefield State College offers classes for all ages- varying from teenagers right out of college to middle-aged adult looking for a career change or simply desired knowledge. With an esteemed financial aid staff, BSC will help someone of any salary or means with scholarships, loans, grants, and more.

    What to do for fun

    Bluefield State's athletic teams, known as the Big Blues, compete in NCAA's Division II as a member of the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference in men's and women's basketball, baseball, tennis and cross-country, men's golf and women's volleyball. There are also several intramural sports including swimming, mixed martial arts, soccer, bowling and flag football.

    Food and Dining

    BSC has the best food a school can offer! Run and operated by our culinary students, the Blue Wave Cafe provides students with breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks from Monday through Thursday. I encourage everyone (student, teacher, everybody!) to come to our cafeteria and enjoy ASAP.

    Dorm Life

    I don't currently live on the dorms, but I am aqquainted with those who do and BSC really goes out of their way to set you up for the upcoming college year/s. BSC's Research and Development Corporation (owned and operated by Bluefield State) has a student residence and conference center that goes by the name, Mountain View. Mountain View and BSC go out of their way to help and pay for students' amenities, utilities, and even food for the dorms in today's struggling economy.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructional programs are offered in engineering technologies, business, teacher education, arts and sciences, nursing and health science professions, and a variety of career fields. Students may also complete the non-traditional Regents Bachelor of Arts degree through Bluefield State College. The college is also dedicated to offering a wide variety of off campus courses at centers in Beckley, Lewisburg, Summersville and Welch, West Virginia. I'm currently attending for a Bachelors in Applied Science with a concentration in pre-medicine. The professors and instructors hail from all around the world, are certified and officially recognized, and offer personal help and tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and play hard! Some students are put off by the rigorous agenda of some of the classes, but it is very necessary to learn from the best so that you can be the best!

    In three sentences

    Bluefield State College is nationally accredited in over 14 major degree programs, and offers an outstanding and affordable academic experience. BSC, an historically black college, was built in 1895, which makes it the most historically rich and diversified school in West Virginia. I am very proud to be a future graduate from this wonderful college!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many intramural sports

    Food and Dining

    No food on campus

    Dorm Life

    Off campus student

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all information in writing, before you make a decision.

    In three sentences

    I had a rough start, the school had to replace two of my professors because they quit. I ended up taking one course on-line, and am still learning how to use the computer. I was not awareof the total cost up front, so I am trying to find extra funding for school.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has its own police force and the law enforcement patrols every day at several times.

    Greek Life

    The college has some Greek Life but it is small since the college is small.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college hosts many clubs from honor society, to psychology club, to theater groups. The college also offers many sports and academic sports for the different majors. In the college, we also have a robotics college.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for serious students and even athletes. A kid that may not have been great in high school will transits here really well. A wallflower will also love the fact the college is very laid back.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college offers a day for new students called Big Blue Institution where students get used with the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You can have fun while attending the college with the students and the professors. The students enjoy themselves everyday and the studies are very serious.

    What to do for fun

    The community offers a bowling alley and the college hosts several sports for the students such as zip line, snowboarding, skiing, and softball. The college also offers activities for the students all year long.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is all hand made daily and very well priced. The community always have a restaurant open for the students along with fast food restaurants as well.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not actually have dorms but the surrounding community does have a set of apartments the students can lease for a semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are committed to make sure the students are learning and work with the students. The college has great tutors and many opportunities for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you enroll on time for everything. When receiving financial aid make sure you come early. Always park near the buildings so you don't have to walk so far.

    In three sentences

    The college is wonderful and the teachers are respectable and well learned. The campus is well-maintained and gorgeous in any season. The students are all friendly and all seem happy to attend the college.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Where the campus is so small, and the student count is smaller than most colleges, the safety of the campus is great. The security officer is always out roaming and making sure all is well. Plus, you can always count on your fellow classmates to keep an eye on you and your vehicle because they know you would do the same. That is a plus of having southern hospitality instilled in a college.

    Greek Life

    I am not apart of any of the sororities because my religious beliefs do not allow it.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not apart of any clubs or activities because I have dedicated my whole time during school to my academics. However, I do know that Bluefield State does offer many different clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Bluefield State is ideal for anyone who is accustom to living in southern West Virginia. I myself am from McDowell County so Bluefield State is perfect for me. It is nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains with beautiful scenery and in which you get to witness all four seasons.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Something I think is really awesome about Bluefield State is that it offers a Olympics for the engineering students towards the end of each school year. It also has frequent free cookouts for all of the students.

    Bang for the buck

    Bluefield State is on the lower side of costs when it comes to tuition. On average, tuition is roughly $6,500.

    What to do for fun

    Bluefield State offers many intramural activities for the students. Ontop of that, the town of Bluefield offers many other things to do. There is a putt-putt course, a fitness center, lakes, paddle boats, Mercer Mall, and even a local state park, Pipestem which offers a tram, horse back riding and many picnic areas.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria closes rather early for me, but I schedule all of my classes in the evening anyway. The food there is always good and prepared fresh. The workers are students, so they are always very friendly. The Blue Wave Cafe is where I have met many of my new friends.

    Dorm Life

    Bluefield State doesn't have any dorms. However, they are under the constuction of building some split-home type structures near the school for students. They also offer deals for the local Mountain View apartments where most of the athletes stay. Bluefield offers many rental units though, so there is always something available if you look hard enough.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors definitly challenge all of the students. However, it isn't very stressful because the professors are always in their office during their hours and are willing to help explain any question you have. Bluefield State also offers a great Student Support Service to all those struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanting to feel of a small-town, then you have found the right college. Most of your classmates will be in their late thirties/ early forties and everyone becomes friends. Be sure to get to know your adviser because they will help you plan the path to your future!

    In three sentences

    Bluefield State maybe small in size, but it doesn't lack anything when it comes to academics. Everyone is very friendly and the teachers even take the time out to get to know you personally. No matter what your question, comment, or concern is, one of the friendly members of the Bluefield Blue Devils will help you out.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. The college is located is a community that is busy year round. So whether its white water rafting or playing tennis, BSC has something for everybody.

    Food and Dining

    BSC recently added a new cafeteria system. It has great food at a good price. The menu always has good options on it.

    Dorm Life

    BSC is primary a commuter school. It has no dorms on campus. They do have some local apartments for students to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    BSC is always striving to compete with top name schools. They are always improving their academics. Also the teachers work very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to be successful at BSC. Take advantage of Student Support Services. They provide tutoring, helpful workshops, and grants.

    In three sentences

    I give Bluefield State College a thumbs up. They aren't equipped with the best stuff, but they get the job done. All the staff is very helpful.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly patrolling, especially in the evening hours after classes to ensure students get to their cars safely. Camps security phones are placed through the campus for students to contact security if the need should arise.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is alive and well at Bluefield State. They have other sororities as well for athletes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs that pertain to the different fields of study

    Great for these types of students

    Great nursing and radiology programs. I've heard great things about the engineering program as well as the political science program.

    Bang for the buck

    Bluefield State credit hour prices are reasonable, within the normal college credit hour prices.

    What to do for fun

    hiking, ATV, horseback riding, Greenbriar Classic (golf), White water rafting and zip lines near by. historical tours, fishing, clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe located in the student center. Local Area has wide variety of dining selections.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be tough. You will be expected to give your all to your studies. Bluefield State has a great graduation rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your walking shoes, the campus is lovely in all seasons for walking to class. The book store and student center, with a cafe are centrally located on campus for convince.

    In three sentences

    Located in the beautiful mountains of West Virginia. Bluefield State offers many fields of study. The professors and staff are very friendly and work with each student to make the most of the education experience.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    They play a big part on campus, hosting parties and involving students. Great way to meet people if you're new to the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association is a great way to be active on campus. Greek life is the best way to meet people. There are also clubs and teams for all students, robotics, pre-med, nursing, psychology, and international students.

    What to do for fun

    Greek life plans a lot of activities and SGA plans homecomings and other events. There are a lot of great local trails for hiking, bikes, and ATVs. There are a few local bars people enjoy on the weekends, especially the Ramsey.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, which is about as affordable as the fast food restaurants nearby. Local restaurants are a favorite. Mexican and Italian are both close by.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but the off-campus housing is okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Definitely not a degree mill! It takes work to earn a degree, but they are focused on helping students and not weeding people out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early for parking. Don't be afraid to ask for help, stop by Student Support or Student Life. Get to know your professors, its a small community, and everyone is accessible.

    In three sentences

    Its very affordable with quality degree programs. The class sizes are small enough to make sure everyone gets the attention needed. They are always improving.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in the heartland of southern WV where nothing much happens on a good day. BSC in my opinion is one of the safest schools in the country due to the location and state it is in.

    Greek Life

    we do have Greek life available for both men and women if you're into Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    BSC doesn't have a football or soccer teams. however, there are still several other sports at the school and several different clubs and activities ranging from SGA to the Nursing student club

    Great for these types of students

    students who want to stay close to home or an athlete coming in on an athletic scholarship

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    homecoming without having a football team is just weird

    Bang for the buck

    even though it is a cheaper school to attend, the education is still high quality

    What to do for fun

    The college has weekly events to get the students involved in campus and community life

    Food and Dining

    there is no traditional cafe for students, having a cafe that was open 3 times a day, 7 days a week, would help the students who come to the college for athletics and they can't or don't have time to prepare their own meals in their apartments.

    Dorm Life

    BSC could really use a few new dorms closer to campus

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work can be difficult at times, but almost every professor at the college is willing to help you achieve the highest amount of academic success that you as a person are willing to put in the work for

    Tips for prospective students

    don't wait to till the last minute to fill out your FAFSA start studying early for big exams always email your teacher if and when you miss their class; they will develop a respect for you

    In three sentences

    Bluefield State College makes every student feel welcome. The professors enjoy helping and seeing their students strive. The college is affordable for all with several great majors to chose from.