Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bluffton University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    yes i will enjoy being there because it is going to be christain based ground or program.

    Will learn a lot

    yes i am hopeing to learn a lot at this school.

  • 05/27/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    It worries me that both of the reviews for this school have blatant spelling errors.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The facilities are all clean and newer than other colleges I have checked out. The education experience is also better because since its a small school there is more one on one help, if needed.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the people and professors here but on the weekends it really dies down and there is really not much going on.

    Am learning a lot

    Since Bluffton University is a liberal arts school I have been learning about other things on top of my own major. This is a positive because it will make for a well rounded person in the work field.

  • 12/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bluffton is great for anyone. There is something for every person here.

    Tips for prospective students

    When choosing your school make sure to visit your top choices. I recommend staying overnight to get a better feel for the campus and the people.

    Bang for the buck

    Bluffton does have a high sticker price but through scholarships and grants the price is not bad.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on campus is very welcoming and friendly. There are always so many campus activities to get involved with, there is always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only am I learning through classes, I am also learning through groups on campus like p.e.a.c.e. club about social justice and environmental issues. I am also learning daily about my faith.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bluffton is a great fit for anyone interested in a small university shaped by Mennonite values such as peacemaking, community, and service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus while classes are in session to experience the sense of community at Bluffton. Visiting as a prospective transfer student, I was immediately welcomed as a member of the Bluffton family and I knew I had found my home!

    Bang for the buck

    What you get at Bluffton is more than an education-- it is an experience. Bluffton combines academic excellence and tight-knit community, and that is worth every penny. Scholarships for incoming freshmen are impressive, but scholarship offerings for high-achieving transfer students could be greatly improved.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a transfer student from another four-year private university, I am greatly enjoying the unique educational experience Bluffton has to offer. The strong community on campus makes Bluffton not only a school, but a home.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes at Bluffton are both academically challenging and personally transformative. Bluffton students not only learn academic skills, but life lessons that transcend the walls of the classroom.

  • 09/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go to a small school then this is the place for you. The small class sizes are great. If you want to go to a Christian school, then this is the place for you too. Don't come here if you want to go to parties or drink though. The people here aren't all morally perfect, but everyone here is friendly. This isn't a party school. Even though it is a dry campus, you will still occasionally hear about people drinking, but I have never witnessed it myself, and I haven't and will not partake in it. I still have a lot of fun with my friends. Bluffton is a small town, but Findlay and Lima are close enough that you can get to a mall or Waffle House in about 20 minutes. The school provides plenty of activities to do throughout the week anyway. Almost every Friday MCB provides something called Marbeck After Dark, which is always fun, like a Christian band coming to play for us, bingo with free food and prizes, or going bowling for just a dollar! It's fun, AND a great way to meet new people. I am also involved in some other things here such as the Honor's Program and Bel Canto women's chorus. There are also sports and Bible studies, among other things. You have lots of opportunities here, and you should take advantage of them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just go on a regular visit. Go on an overnight visit! They are so much more informative than just a tour. I never even went on personal visit. I did a Discovery Day and an Overnight. At the overnight you will meet other prospective students, get free pizza, stay overnight with a current student so you can see what residential life is really like, and then the next day you get to sit in on classes and try out the food! It's a really great experience, and it confirmed my longing to attend Bluffton University.

    Bang for the buck

    I will admit when I looked at the 34,910 dollar tag on this school, I was a little concerned and my parents flipped a lid, but what they don't show is that the school will give you lots of scholarship money and also grant money if you have financial problems. They have a scholarship calculator on their website so you can guesstimate how much money you will get. For instance if you have a 3.5 GPA and got a 26 on the ACT, the school will give you 11,000 dollars a year in scholarships. That's already a lighter load. Deb Niswander (nice-wander) in the loan department will be willing to help you, and they give almost everyone who asks for one a campus job. I work as a custodian in the recital hall. It's not that bad, and I only have to do it for about 10 hours a week, and NO weekends! Also, you are paying extra money for the smaller classes sizes and Christian atmosphere, and it really will be worth it in the end.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like it here. After 11 days of being here, I already feel like I can call nearly all of the girls on my floor my best friends. If you are willing to introduce yourself and go to other girls' rooms on your floor and just pop in and hangout with them you will make friends easily. It's also a good idea to become friends with your RA. I love my RA and I know she has gone through lots of training to do her job and I trust her. I live in Ropp, which is an all girls hall, and it is a lot of fun. Since it is across the creek and we are farthest from classes (it's only about a 5-10 minute walk, because campus is all in one place), we form our own little tight knit community. I am totally fine with the policy of having to live on campus all four years, because it's easy to get a campus job and make friends and go to class this way! I will also say that the food is good and even though they only have one dining hall, there are enough options to change up what you eat throughout the week. They have really good chicken salad subs on T and R, and a salad bar, pizza, and cereal every day. Another place on campus you can eat is Bob's place, and they have awesome chocolate milkshakes and wraps. I was only homesick for the first couple days, and now I feel very at home. If you do live out of state, it's OK because a lot of students do, and you will begin to feel at home here as well.

    Am learning a lot

    Athough I am only a freshman and I do have a few gen ed classes, I am absolutely thrilled with my classes here. Nearly all the faculty are people who are willing to help you. Most teachers will respond to an e-mail you send them within an hour. I have only encountered two faculty members who were less than amazing people, and I have met a lot! Your first semester you will already be taking classes that relate to your major. For example, I am an English major and I'm taking both Advanced English and Approaches to Literature. As a first year student, you will take First Year Seminar which is a class that allows you to learn about yourself and your own personal strengths. I love that class, and it's really a confidence boost. Professors here will even invite you to their home for class or to eat sometimes. It really is a community in itself on campus. Most of my classes only have about 20 people in them so I am able to meet other people easily, and the teachers actually will know your name after only about a week of class. They really are eager to learn about you and help you whenever they can.

  • 12/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    self-motivated open-minded respectful laid-back

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely come for a visit and mot definitely an overnight visit because you get a better picture of how campus life actually is if you stay with a student. Get in touch with the admissions office and they will give you all the information you need and you can always ask for a student involved on campus with what you are interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    I was not worried about price when I was looknig for colleges so that had no weight on my decision. It is kind of pricy here, but I think it is very, very much worth it! You can also get a campus job to help out with that cost and there are plenty of opportunities for scholarships if you look for them!

    Am enjoying being here

    God definitely placed me here at Bluffton. It has been the most amazing experience for me. I have grown so much not only in my relationship with him, but just as a person in general. Since I've only spent one semester here, I can not wait to see all the amazing experiences I have in front of me!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much just in my short time here at Bluffton. All the classes I have have taught me things that will help me with not only my major, but throughout my entire life. I will carry these learned skills forever. Most of the professors are just the best. I talk to most of mine outside of classes about really anything. They are such wonderful people. I am also learning time-management skills that I thought I had already, but I was obviously wrong. You will learn good things from any college, but at Bluffton, I feel like I am learning everything right.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bluffton is great for students who want a smaller college. It's for the students who enjoy a more peaceful kind of campus and being with people. Bluffton offers a lot of activities for students to do. These activities are optional but it's a great way to make friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to take a tour at Bluffton. As soon as you are on the beautiful campus, I hope that you can see what I do in this college. But what's important is to find the right college fit for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Bluffton is a private school so it costs a little more than a community college might. But I've so enjoyed my time here and the atmosphere of the college, that I know it's worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made so many new friends here at Bluffton. Bluffton is based on community. At first I took this for granted, until I visited another school and absolutely no one said hi or acknowledged that I was there. At Bluffton, everyone is friendly and everyone says hi whether they know you are not.

    Am learning a lot

    Bluffton University is a Liberal Arts school so it requires that I take a various amounts of classes. I really enjoy this because it allows me to view things in different way. I love the things that I am learning and can't imagine going to a different school.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Bluffton is great for students who just aren't sure what they want to do. The staff of the Career Development Center works with you to make sure you make the best choice for yourself, not just what will make you the most money. Also, Bluffton is great for students of any religious background. Even though it is a Mennonite campus, it isn't strict at all about attending church or joining a bible study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get out of your comfort zone a little bit. Join groups and clubs that you would have never even thought about joining before. Also, get out of your dorm once and a while. Go and play Tennis Ball Golf, walk the nature preserve, or just sit under a tree. Trust me, you won't regret it.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers and staff are absolutely amazing. They are all very helpful and friendly. The food that is served in the Commons changes everyday, so you can get pizza one day and an open-faced turkey sandwich the next.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do on campus. Every Friday, there is something going on in the Commons, which is the dining hall. There is Bingo, Karaoke, bands, and so much more. There are also many clubs on campus, something for everyone. I am a member of the Improv group and BASIC, which is for learning more about God.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a current freshman here at Bluffton and have found that, while I am learning a lot about academics, I am also learning a lot about myself through the First Year seminar course that all freshman take. I have also found that the general education courses have helped to open my mind up to different ways of looking at the world.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun we go do thing in town . we all go to the gym and play basketball. we all go to sporting events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good. there is a great variety of food here

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great! i met a lot of people while living on campus. the students here are very outgoing and social, so it is easy to get along with the other students here.

    Academic Rigor

    the work is very challenging but the teachers are willing to help if you ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get all books for classes because you will use them. take advantage of getting help from the faculty on campus.

    In three sentences

    bluffton university is a very good university. the teachers are very helpful and are willing to spend extra time with you, to help you understand the material. the classes aren't very big which is good because you have more of a one on one relationship with the teacher compared to a big university.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is around campus a lot as well as working hand in hand with the bluffton local police force.

    Clubs and Activities

    mostly all majors have a club associated with it as well as student led organizations that plan many major events. mcb

    Great for these types of students

    those who enjoy being close to a group of friends. quiet and peaceful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sports traditions being that we have a hammer that is passed to the winner of our rivalry football game every year and they get to keep it all year in display of their victory, ( its here at bluffton this year!!!)

    Bang for the buck

    since bluffton is a private school it costs a little but more than state schools but you get a great personalized education in a safe and close community.

    What to do for fun

    marbeck after dark activities, clubs, sports. the shannon theatre for 3$ a ticket and the coffee shop rocks!

    Food and Dining

    marbeck center offers a lot varity on a daily basis.

    Dorm Life

    there are specific rules such as hall hours and no alcohol that certainly allow for a safe and pleasant enviornment but the rules aren't so strict that you feel like your at the babysitter's. the halls are fairly clean and accomodate all needs.

    Academic Rigor

    bluffton certainly puts academics first, even when it comes to sports, coaches make their players have a certain number of hours per week of recorded studying and homework time to insure good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    certainly do your research and make a decision based on a college that suits your individual needs and interests. if you enjoy a small town college where you are familiar with a lot of the people bluffton is a good fit.

    In three sentences

    bluffton is a friendly and uplifting atmosphere. the students, faculty and staff are helpful and insightful. i am glad i chose bluffton because of the small size campus and close community.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bluffton is a pretty safe campus. We have security guards that walk around at night and the sidewalks are fairly well lit. I always feel safe walking around campus at any time of day.

    Greek Life

    We do not have fraternities or sororities but I think that helps create a more quality community as a whole.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are academic clubs, sports teams, special interest clubs, cultural clubs, spiritual life activities and much more. I think there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to be involved, want to be leaders, love learning and creativity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bluffton has really great artwork all over campus including many outdoor sculptures that have to do with Bluffton's love of peacemaking. We also have some interesting traditions including a may day ceremony every graduation weekend which includes a may pole dance. There are also a few traditions surrounding engagements.

    Bang for the buck

    Bluffton is expensive but the education, the community, and the atmosphere are so worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater and bowling alley in town as well as a few restaurants and a coffee shop. Every weekend there are fun activities and sporting events on campus. But just hanging out with friends in the residence halls or around campus is fun too!

    Food and Dining

    We have an all-you-can-eat style commons with a pretty good selection.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are pretty nice and tight-knit communities are formed in each hall and on each floor.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors take their classes seriously and grade fairly. Learning is a huge priority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bluffton is a pretty small community, which helps create tight-knit relationships among the students and people who work on campus. The town is pretty small too and you can walk into town from campus, but it's also within 20 minutes of anything you need in bigger cities.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton University has the best community atmosphere. The faculty and staff really care about you as a person as well as your education. The campus is beautiful, the courses are engaging, and the people are wonderful.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there are multiple clubs you can be in. They have a game night every Friday. Mostly you just hangout maybe go to Lima or Findlay with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The first few months the food is great. Its different and its nice having a buffet for every meal. After a couple months it gets boring because you learn the food that's not very good so you end up eating the same foods over and over.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty good. There are multiple rules that I don't think they should have, seen as how everyone on campus is an adult. The rooms are in good shape and its very convenient having a kitchen in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major depends on the difficulty of the school. If your going for science and math mostly your schedule will be harder than someone going for buisness. If you study like the professors say than it will be less difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always go to your classes because at Bluffton your not just a number, they will know if your not in class.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton is a well organized school that has professors who truly care about their students. They e-mail you if your not in class and some even invite you over for dinner. It's a very nice little college.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    perfect and super safe I love it here!

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs but not in bluffton more in the city areas like Lima. the activities in bluffton are very small and community based around time.

    Great for these types of students

    student life is simple for the average student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is no unusual traditions i know about

    Bang for the buck

    its worth the money but its nothing good comes cheap.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends, go up to town and watch movies for a good price, go to the small corner stores and get good value items to a decent price.

    Food and Dining

    its decent.

    Dorm Life

    small community which makes the dorm life easier there are no strangers.

    Academic Rigor

    one on one teacher communication

    Tips for prospective students

    Tends to be super small, can get boring at times so make sure to take advantage of walking around the small towns to the community stores and areas near town.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton University is a small school that is based off of close community. With a college based on community the teachers know you by name rather than a number. This school is great for a good education and makes studying and communication with teachers easy.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports are the big thing on campus, but because of the small campus size, there is not always something that is organized. So you become creative.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food and drink selection. It is hard to ever find something not good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty plain but the neighbors you will have are generally pretty awesome. The school is also awesome with pairing you with a roommate your freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are somewhat difficult, but as you get higher into your education the classes for your major get exponentially harder for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your classes and don't break the rules. Also, you should expect to take at least a few classes that are pretty worthless in correlation to your major.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton is a small, but comfortable Division 3 school. The campus is beautiful and the teachers are awesome, but if you plan on trying to party in college, Bluffton is not for you. Bluffton is a Christian campus that is a community of respect and people get along excellently.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brand new Sommer Center that offers workout classes, indoor track, and a top-notch weight room.

    What to do for fun

    Fun on campus is getting involved with inturmurals, clubs/organizations, and many other student planned campus opportunities. Located conveniently between Findlay and Lima.

    Food and Dining

    Two choices for on campus dining are Marbeck and Bob's. Marbeck has more traditionally family style dining that offers multiple options. Bob's is a diner like grab n' go offering wings, wraps, burgers, and much more.

    Dorm Life

    Very active involvement with the floor or dorm you live in. CDA's to help you meet and spend time doing fun things like playing games, making cookies, and much more with friends!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors hold you accountable for your own work and being at class. Be ready to study and put in the time outside of the classroom. There are many study groups and areas around campus to get work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit! Check out the campus life and dining services. Ask current students for their perspectives or stay a night and see what it is like for yourself.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton University is all about a safe, educated, and caring community. The professors know you on first name basis and care deeply for helping you succeed. Great close-knit campus.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Seems like a great school.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that want small class size and like to stay with current students.

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants and fast food nearby.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life where I am currently enrolled because this is a co-hort. This part of the program is off campus at another school.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a representative before making any decisions.

    In three sentences

    Is a good school for those that are considering continuing for a Bachelor's Degree. Can continue in Business Management. Is a fast program with small class size.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety and the local police is one and the same thing. So if you get in trouble on campus and its illegal you will get more than just the school punishment.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any so if thats what you are looking for then don't come to Bluffton.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to a Christian school that cares about sports as well as academics.

    What to do for fun

    Bluffton is a small town so there is not TONS to do there. But they do have a movie theater that is only 3 dollars and 6 for 3D. They have several fast food restaurants as well as a few nicer places. On campus they have something going on almost all the time between sports and clubs you can always be busy.

    Food and Dining

    The food has its good and bad days. But no matter what there is always the grill, salad bar, and pasta line to fall back on

    Dorm Life

    I have met some of my closest friends here. We all get along and love being in the same hall togethers. The rooms are not super fancy but they are generally nice sized, my friends at bigger schools have smaller rooms. Also the open dorms are quite long so you can have friends of the opposite sex over till 12 on school nights and 2 on the weekends. I love it!

    Academic Rigor

    Bluffton has some classes that are really challenging and some that are a little easier. Yes, it is harder than I community or state college. When they say that they are a private school the academics reflect that.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As it is set in a small town, Bluffton is very safe.

    Greek Life

    We have no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many opportunities to get involved. Clubs, athletics, intramurals, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    God seeking, hard-working, social.

    Bang for the buck

    Bluffton is expensive. That said, they will give you a good scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    Shannon movie theatre, bowling alley, Marbeck After Dark (free every Friday on campus).

    Food and Dining

    Choices are limited. We have The Commons in Marbeck (aka the cafeteria) or Bob's Place to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    At Bluffton you are required to live on campus all four years unless you are married, 23+ years old, or live with your parents. Because of this, a great community is built between students of all ages. Living in the dorms is fun, and there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Bluffton classes have a mildly heavy workload and a lot will be expected of you from professors. At the same time, because Bluffton is such a small university, it is incredibly easy to get help from your professors or a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the Honor's Program and don't be afraid to get involved right away.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton is a safe, small campus. The sense of community among students, faculty, and staff is evident. Bluffton gives you many opportunities to excel as a university with a small population.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening on campus. Many of the campus groups or Resident Life sponsor activites and series that go on throughout the year to keep those on campus busy and happy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! There are many different choices and the staff mixes up the options from day to day so that there is never a meal that is overly exerted on the menu. Also, I have never seen so many beverage choices!

    Dorm Life

    Since Bluffton is such a small community, everyon usually ends up pretty happy in the dorms. They are always lively and full of activities to get involved with.

    Academic Rigor

    Bluffton University gives students a challenge at balancing work that includes pulling from the information learned but also how one might apply it to a real life situation.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I can give is stay organized and be open-minded to everyone's perspective. Every person has something different to bring to a situation, and by listening to them all you will learn something new no matter what.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton University is a very personal college that promotes diversity, community, and academic success. The professors are always willing to go the extra mile to help a student with any questions they have, whether it is school related or not. Everyone on campus is caring and genuine.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the campus is small, we have security at all times; even through the night.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life in Bluffton.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to be involved in. From student senate to recreation club, they have it all.

    Great for these types of students

    Bluffton is great for any student who is Mennonite, wants to attend a smaller campus, wants to feel like they are a part of a community, or wants to be able to maintain their religious life even if it is something other than Mennonite.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    May Day is a festival that happens every spring and I had never heard of it before coming here. It's definitely worth checking out.

    Bang for the buck

    Private universities are expensive, making sure you get the best education you can for what you are paying is important.

    What to do for fun

    Bluffton has alot of little shops and things right up the street. You can see a movie at the Shannon for $3 or go to Common Grounds for some coffee.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than some places but it's still college and eating the same things all the time is tiring.

    Dorm Life

    Bluffton is a dry campus so there is no alcohol allowed on campus, even if you are of age. Although there are many events to bring students together, many leave on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Don't waste time when it comes to looking for scholarships and choosing a major. A private university is too expensive to go into not knowing what you want to do.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton University is a liberal arts school with a Mennonite affiliation. The small campus gives it a comfortable community feel.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food options and variety can please any palette!!

    In three sentences

    Bluffton is a small school with a lot to offer. I visited just earlier this week and loved it so much, and learned that if I decide to go there I would be able to afford tuition and everything else while pursuing a double major in four years. Bluffton is much more than a small school; you should really experience it for yourself!

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of student clubs and activities that make it easy to get involved. Some clubs are based on your major and others are based on activities or interests. There are intramural teams, service clubs, recreational clubs, and interest clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a tennis ball golf course on campus that everyone needs to play at least once while they are there. We have a weird tradition of several freshmen doing a May poll dance the day before graduation eery year.

    What to do for fun

    Mostly just hanging out in dorm rooms or the lobby. We play sports, play card games, go out to eat, play frisbee golf or ultimate frisbee, go to planned campus activities, or just stay in and watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    Although it gets old, as any college food does, there really is a good variety of options during any meal. After a while you will learn how to get creative and find food that you really like.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are really nice and there is a variety of styles based on what you are looking for. Some residents halls are quieter and some are more social. After your first year you will be able to tell where you belong.

    Academic Rigor

    I am studying Nutrition and Dietetics and I feel like I will be well prepared for a career in Nutrition after graduation. Small class sizes and professors who take tame and care about your success are helpful in reaching your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and have an overnight visit and sit in on some classes. Its a great way to experience college life and see if its a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    I am in my second year at Bluffton and I love it more and more as time goes on. It is easy to get involved in the small community of students on campus and make friends. I love my classes and the professors are easy to talk to and very helpful.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we always have guards on campus to ensure our safety and also curfew.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have all types of clubs, and the best part is if we don't have it you can make the club yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on tradition we have is the Bluffton Olympics. We all gather in the big field to see play games to allow our freshman to get to know each other.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I go to the movies and there is also always a fun event on Friday nights on the campus. Also we are a dry campus so we have fun without all the consequences.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one tip that all prospective students should take into consideration is go and visit the school. Its defiantly worth it.

    In three sentences

    Bluffton University is a very small school, but worth the time to apply. At Bluffton I have learned about community and friendship. I give the University a 10, because it is so diverse and beautiful!

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends, go to marbeck after dark events, go to the movie theater, or go bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Our food court can be good at times but most of the time it is not very good.

    Dorm Life

    Family feel and everyone gets along.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes with amazing teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take into account everything before deciding on your college. This is one of the biggest decisions of your life and will either make your life better or you will hate it once you get there. Follow your gut in your decision.

    In three sentences

    Good for someone looking for a small family feeling at college. Professors actually get to know you and you aren't just some number like at a big college. Great small class size gives you more one on one time to better your learning.