Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Boise Bible College (BBC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People whom can get into cliques

    Bang for the buck

    There is only one reason why I didn't give BBC five stars in this aspect: their Spiritual growth outside of class is a little bit dissapointing (except for the beautiful worship.)

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of happy oppurtunities to enjoy companionship here, but you have to have someone whom accepts you into the group that's doing them. The companionship/hanging out is really wholesome.

    Food and Dining

    The food was heaven!! The chef was so caring and made his food with love for the students.

    Dorm Life

    The only things saving BBC from a 2 star rating in dorm life are: The dorms are far above your average college dorm My BF and I would hang out in her dorm Other then that, the dorm life is a bit boring at best and isolating at worse. My roommates were aloof.

    Academic Rigor

    BBC is a HARD college. It is naturally underrated as a Bible college. You WILL need to put effort into most of your classes to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your roommates: if you have a compatible roommate you can get into the social life here Don't procrastinate (yes, I know that tip is overdone) Look at the classes as Spiritual experiences

    In three sentences

    BBC is a place to learn about God. You WILL deepen your understanding of Him. You won't necessarily obtain better spiritual habits though...

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    well, i understand garden city isn't the safest place...but most of the time campus is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    ummm, well...let's just say it's super small here...so...none of that...but we do have classes on greek, the language *rofl* :p

    Great for these types of students

    christian students interested in ministry careers.

    Bang for the buck

    yes, a bit spendy at up to about 16,000 to 18,000 a year, but it does what it does well.

    What to do for fun

    hmmm...ice blocking, intramural sports, there's a dollar theater not too far away at all.

    Food and Dining

    mostly great, this semester we got a new cook, he's funny, very friendly too and just a pretty neat guy.

    Dorm Life

    small campus, very friendly, easy to get to know everyone, so you really get to know your friends and roommmates.

    Academic Rigor

    definitely challenging academically, it's tough, but the high standards are a good thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's not like preview, but still great!

    In three sentences

    definitely good at preparing its students for careers in specific, ministry related fields.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting to know more about the Bible

    What to do for fun

    Every few weeks the student council hosts Friday night events that are always fun

    Food and Dining

    The food here is excellent and the head chef is always upbeat and wants to get to know the students and takes an invested interest in the student's lives

    Dorm Life

    There are only two sets of dorms but it creates a very close campus atmosphere

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every scholarship that you can and make sure that you get your financial aid in early, it really does help.

    In three sentences

    They are always willing to answer your questions and are very helpful when it comes to looking for scholarships and financial aid. However because they are a religious college finding scholarships are hard to find especially when most scholarships do not even know that the major that you are pursuing exists. It is a small school which means you (as a student) work closely with the professors and the professors are always willing to help.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have had a couple bikes stolen off campus (definitely lock your bike if you leave it on the bike racks), and there was a time when someone's Mac and some of the equipment in one of the classroom were stolen. No one was hurt, and since then the school has cracked down on security. It isn't really a huge problem though. Since we all know each other, we know when there's a stranger around.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have committees that all students are encouraged (but not required) to join. They meet once a month and they put together most of the activities that happen on campus. We also have Friday Night Extravaganzas two or three times a semester, which are just wild, crazy party nights (well, as wild and crazy as Bible college can get!), and are tons of fun. There's definitely a lot to choose from! We also have two banquets each year, put on by the freshman and junior classes.

    Great for these types of students

    BBC is great for all types of students. When I came here I was really lazy, but God has been working in my heart and the academic life really kicked me into gear. You do have to be willing to be dedicated, but you don't necessarily have to start out that way. I was just willing to change when I came and that's been the biggest help -- just be willing to change if God prompts you to do so (and He probably will, since none of us are perfect)!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This year the freshmen girls had Friday Fight Nights in the dorms during the first semester. We got boxing gloves and boxing masks to protect our faces. Then we duked it out! We never hurt one another; we just had fun. Meanwhile the freshmen guys started a Friday Knitting Night...that wasn't quite as popular haha.

    Bang for the buck

    BBC is a place to grow spiritually and learn things that are practical for your ministry. As Christians, we all have a ministry, whether we're employed in a church or not. And BBC will prepare you for that ministry in everything you do here. The teachers often talk about how it's a process; not everything makes sense or seems like tons of fun in the moment, but a little farther down the road, the purpose will become clear. They're all about helping you grow.

    What to do for fun

    BBC is located in a less-populated part of Boise so that it feels protected and isolated. However, there are tons of businesses, restaurants, and places for entertainment just down the street. You can walk to Walmart, or drive downtown. There's always something going on. A group of us used to go to Applebee's at the beginning of the year every Wednesday for karaoke -- it was a blast!

    Food and Dining

    We recently hired a new chef, who is also an elder at one of the local churches, and he is fantastic. The meals are great and the cafeteria is one of the best places to experience community! Also, we always have dessert!

    Dorm Life

    Like any other college, you're going to have bumps in getting along with people. But everyone is very inviting and we all hang out together a lot. Don't be afraid to get out of your room and talk to people! Sleepovers are also really common.

    Academic Rigor

    Bible college is not just fun and games. A lot of people come here expecting it to be like church camp. This is not like church camp. The teachers are extremely difficult essay graders, and emphasize extreme amounts of required reading. It's tough, but it's worth it. You learn a lot here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever let money discourage you from doing what you know God has called you to do. BBC is one of the cheapest Bible colleges, and offers a variety of scholarships, but people in ministry just aren't rich. Students give up too easily when they think they can't afford it. Just trust in God, no matter whether you come here or not.

    In three sentences

    Boise Bible College is the best place to go for a young Christian. They don't just offer degrees that train you for ministry, they offer people who share the love of Christ in everything they do. This is a place for those who wish to draw nearer to God.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing compares to growing in your faith through classes and working towards a major. This school definitely gives you the most out of your money.

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of family group events and other on/off campus ways to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Our cook is wonderful and kind hearted.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a small school you really get to know your neighbors, making dorm life even more fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out one of the campus evnts Priview or Persective to get a better look at the college.

    In three sentences

    Boise Bible College is a wonderful close knit group of believers who are deicated to growing in Christ and growing together. The professors are fantastic and make an effort to get to know their students. It is the best school that I could have chosen!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As part of your tuition, you pay a fee for Student Life, which pays for the almost-weekly events led by students such as renting out the nearby Family Fun Center, Bowling, White Water Rafting, or any other number of things. There is also a lot to do in nearby Boise, as well as there is skiing and snowboarding an hour's drive from the school.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, they just hired a new chef, and the meal plan is inexpensive. There is also a coffee shop on campus, as well as downtown Boise is just a short drive away.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite a bit larger than any dorm in any other college I have been to, the food is amazing, and because everyone knows each other, the dorm feels like family. There are also many student led activities such as Friday Night Fights for the girls and Pokemon tournaments for everyone to compete in.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge even the smartest church kid, but in the end, they will help you grow even more in your faith.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider this if you are looking at full-time ministry. Bigger schools like NCU and HIU are great, but they won't build into your faith the way BBC will.

    In three sentences

    The small atmosphere here really creates a tight knit family. The small class size means a lot of one-on-one time with whatever teacher you need. This is an excellent choice for any student interested in full-time ministry because it is only Bible classes and not a mix, unlike NCU or HIU.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in Boise so there are a ton of options from going downtown, to ice-blocking, to outdoors stuff.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plan is delicious, kinda expensive though, required for people in the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    Good.

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on NOT PROCRASTINATING. Number one problem among students.

    In three sentences

    BBC is a great school if you want to get closer to God and learn more about Him while furthering your academic goals. It is cheaper than most other private schools, but just as high quality. It is extremely small compared to the majority of colleges.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food here is fantastic. There might not be as much variety at every meal like there is at many large colleges but, after eating in the cafeterias of other colleges, I've got to say the food here defiantly rocks. We have our own chef and he makes most of the food we eat from scratch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are great! There are no major problems with the dorms and they are super spacious and brand new.

    Academic Rigor

    Compared to the workload of my friends in other colleges, this college is very rigorous academically. This College gives you your moneys worth educationally.