Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Boston University (CDIA) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like to explore - there is plenty to explore in Boston. The T will take you everywhere in Boston and only for a small fee. If you want to join a sorority without the hazing, this is the place for you! If you really like hockey. This is more of a place for people who are outgoing and willing to meet people and be creative. There are so many artsy people ...but to be honest there's pretty much every type of person at this school because it's so big.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know everyone on your floor during your freshman year. There are going to be so many different types of people. The school is so big that sometimes you'll feel lost, but if you get to know a lot of different groups of people, you'll see more people on Comm Ave. who you can say hi to during the day. Try to also make friends from classes. It's hard because you're trying to focus on material most of the time... but sit next to someone and talk to them before class starts. Do it a couple times and you might become friends. Don't get too caught up in this whole new drinking phenomena. You'll really regret it when you get your GPA and your parents don't give you as much spending money. Not just that, but you'll end up trying to overcome that GPA for the rest of your college years.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely an EXPENSIVE school. I couldn't afford it if I didn't have financial aid... but they're generous with financial aid too so don't worry! I think if you're getting a degree that you're proud of then it's definitely worth spending your college years in Boston. This is the best city to be in because it has so many opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    My first semester was rough because it's always hard to get used to college, but once I joined a sorority I was set. Making friends and going out and spending more time in Boston makes time fly so fast. You might think at first that the people of Boston are rude or that people aren't as friendly as they are back home, but eventually you'll find people who are just like you. It's really just about surrounding yourself with the people you like and you're bound to find a group in a place as big as BU.

    Am learning a lot

    As an engineering student, there is plenty of new information to learn. Although some science professors are not the best teachers, you end up learning all the material some way or another! The math professors are better. It's not as convenient, but everyone struggles the same way so you all learn the same amount... and it's a lot. The required writing courses are also extremely helpful. There are tons of choices and you're bound to find a class you like. The writing teachers I had also made a clear point to teach the correct structure to writing an essay - but they still gave some room to be creative. My Matlab programming class was a great class too and I definitely enjoyed it.

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go support the Boston University Terriers!

    Food and Dining

    West Campus dining hall offers a variety of food from salads to burgers. There is usually every type of food the average person eats and its actually really good.

    Dorm Life

    West campus dorms are very nice. Sleeper hall which is one of the west campus buildings, has just been reformed and is actually very welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    I think it is very difficult to receive a letter grade A in any given assignment in any given subject/class. One has to work hard to achieve good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming freshman, I would recommend them to live in west campus since west has the best dining hall, is close to the athletic facilities and most important, is where many freshman live.

    In three sentences

    I think it is an amazing college with a broad variety of nationalities.Located close to downtown Boston, one has everything they want and need next to them. Lastly, it has amazing academics.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like the convience of a city, Boston is a great place. It is a college town, and there is always something to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships and, if possible, visit the campus during different seasons. Boston in the winter is a lot different than if you visit in March.

    Bang for the buck

    BU is an expensive school, but with scholarships the tuition has been manageable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being right in the heart of Boston.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are well qualified, and the classes are challenging. There is a lot of work, and the grading is difficult, but I am learning a lot.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Literally everything you can imagine, Boston has. It doesn't matter what group you fit in, there's something for everyone, and SO many concerts to attend.

    Food and Dining

    How great can college dining really be? Regardless of that there are several dining halls (which helps with such a big campus) and they try to change it up and add some variety and there are always millions of cookies to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    SO MUCH FUN, seriously. No further comments needed.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is rigorous, especially in the engineering and physics-related sciences, communication, and medical sciences majors. Even if it is expensive, it is top of the line, border-line Ivy League.

    Tips for prospective students

    I believe a bigger school is only good if you immediately have a group to settle into; otherwise it's difficult to make a group of friends in the first couple of years. Also for BU make sure you can get scholarships, it's expensive.

    In three sentences

    BU is an extremely competitive private school that accepts the top students of high schools all around the world. So far it has been difficult to find a true Bostonian in the mix, that's how diverse it is.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with wealthy families, students who are sure of what area of study to concentrate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here unless you, at the point of high school graduation, know exactly what you want to do with the rest of your life. The tuition the school charges does not match up the quality of education they provide.

    In three sentences

    BU has few professors who are genuine, caring, knowledgeable, and caring. The school advising system is unhelpful and leave students ill advised. The education quality is not worth the high tuition.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt scared, and if i ever do, i can call the campus police or the boston police as well as call an escort service to walk me home

    Greek Life

    theres a big greek life here, but with 16000 students obviously its not going to dominate. being greek or not doesn't really influence your social life.

    Clubs and Activities

    you name it we have it

    Great for these types of students

    artsy- this is boston after all athletes- d1 school and lots of club teams really anyone. its a huge school, 16,000 undergrad and 16,000 more grad. theres no one who doesnt fit in

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    bc sucks -we kind of hate boston college (they're not really from boston) the beanpot- a hockey tournament between bu, bc, harvard and northeastern the back bay ball- basically prom -you can't step on the seal in the middle of marsh plaza or else you won't graduate in 4 years -the t (subway) runs directly through the center of our campus

    Bang for the buck

    we're expensive and we know it. my goal in life is to pay my parents back every cent, thank god with a degree at this school its actually possible.

    What to do for fun

    basically, what isn't there to do for fun. if you want to be in a club, we have it. if you want to engage in stimulating conversation, theres a club for that. you can join a sorority or fraternity, and you can also not. there are club sports and tons of campus events and activities. if you want more, go to more! we have an entire city at our hands and it is rare i find my self staying the the same area of boston for long. basically, bu has more to offer than any other school i could think of.

    Food and Dining

    we have two main dining halls, one restauranty type place, 2 or 3 smaller dining halls, a ton of coffee places all over campus, restaurants everywhere. you have absolutely no limits.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great and get better as you get older. because we live in a city, alot of people move off campus. the choice is yours.

    Academic Rigor

    its hard, you can't slack off here. just because we're located in between mit and harvard does not mean that we don't work over here.

    Tips for prospective students

    -don't let the fact that we don't have a 'campusy' campus scare you. boston is the greatest city ever and if you're looking for real opportunities this is the best place. -be passionate. about something, about everything. passion gets you places. -be open to learning, the growing, to changing, and to success. don't let intimidation prevent you from reaching your true potential.

    In three sentences

    basically, boston university is under-rated as far as academics, student life, and involvement. bu is truly what you make of it but the school does not leave you to find things all on your own. the amazing work our students produce on a daily basis from working with actual businesses, sending freshman out for student teaching, incredible internships, and the community service opportunities all need to be recognized and awarded.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is safe because we have our own police force and also there are emergency buttons all over campus in case you need help. although since its not really a campus, you'll find non-bu students all around. the dorms are high-security though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    go to nudpob and victoria's! they are the most popular restaurants in bu campus and they are definitely somewhere you should go at least once.

    What to do for fun

    boston university has one of the nicest fitness centers of most of the college i have visited if not the best. there is always something to do there and if not, we have the gsu which you can shoot pool or hang out. movie theater or shopping is not too far away.

    Food and Dining

    although people usually complain about dining hall food, we are grateful to have one of the better dining options out of other colleges. we have a wide variety of options both healthy and unhealthy. we are also creating a new food court kind of thing which is going to be amazing!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is amazing at boston university. all different people get to meet and the dorms are nice even for the freshmen. but everyone looks forward to living in stuvi which is the nicest dorm in bu and its equal to a 5 star hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    i am a pre-med/ biology major so classes are tough. don't expect classes at bu to be any easier than other top schools. classes are just as hard and require as much time and effort as anywhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should definitely come visit boston university at least once before applying. it will definitely be a bonus to your decision making. also for freshmen, always go for warren towers first choice because it'll be the best place to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    i love the boston university's atmosphere and the area. the view is nice and everyone seems to be in the same mindset as you are. it is just what i imagined college to be.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe for a city campus. There are also plenty of resources to ensure student safety like the Escort Sercurity Service and the blue-lights, which are telephones placed strategically on and around BU's campus.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a huge greek presence on-campus, however involvement is growing as BU adds academic and service based fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    FYSOP, WTBU, The Edge Dance Company, Alternative Spring Breaks

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Laying out on the BU beach the second the it's warmer than 60 degrees outside. Painting the rock on the BU beach with your student group or friends. FYSOP--the First Year Student Outreach Program, a community service orienation to Boston and BU.

    Bang for the buck

    FYSOP! Come to school a week early and participate in community service around Boston, see the city and meet 10 new friends! Don't forget to come back the next year as a FYSOP staff!

    What to do for fun

    Get involved!! Try out for a student dance group, do community service or DJ your own radio show at WTBU the student-run radio station.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall always has at least one healthy, low-fat option, which is a nice way to counter the Freshman-15.

    Dorm Life

    On-campus life can really range here. Freshman dorms are typically not as nice as other universities, but if you continue to live on-campus the housing gets much nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    BU classes are quite challenging, but manageable when given the right attention by students. Professors are more willing than not to meet with students for extra help. Additionally, professors at BU can be great resources for career help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should definitely check out the Student Activities Office for different on-campus opportunities as well as the Community Service Center. Both provide students with great options for becoming involved at school.

    In three sentences

    Boston University provides a great community in a large city. Despite the school's large student population there are thousands of opportunities to get involved on-campus. Involvement at BU will shape your entire college career.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well since I am from Western Massachusetts I do know there are lots of activities to enjoy while living in this area. There are plenty of museums, clubs, and events that are ongoing in the area. Just google and you will find something of interest.

    Food and Dining

    Did not partake in the food and dining experiences offered as this was an online program.

    Dorm Life

    Did not live on campus. This was an online program I was involved with.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at BU was extremely high. The faculty was very knowledgeable about the subject they were teaching. Many of the faculty are involved in research of some kind in their field of expertise which to me says a lot about a persons interest in their chosen field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions! The more questions you ask the more prepared you will feel when you enter a new environment. Research the area if you are going to be living on campus and even for those living in the local area off campus.

    In three sentences

    The faculty, staff, and administration at BU are extremely professional, helpful and knowledgeable. This is my second master's degree and this program at BU has prepared me well for my field of art education and has me excited to be in the education field. I highly recommend this university for anyone considering an undergraduate or graduate degree.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not follow a college checklist. Do the things that excite you, try new experiences, and do not be afraid to take risks. That way, when you apply to college, your application will reflect who you really are, and the best college fits will line up themselves.

    In three sentences

    Boston University is a perfect combination of urban life and historic presence. The students know what they want, and are driven enough to get it. There are so many opportunities to take advantage of.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of places for shopping and amazing restaurants to try.

    Tips for prospective students

    The opportunities are endless at Boston University. Not a single person I know here does not like the school.

    In three sentences

    Boston University was the best decision I have ever made. The location is great, the students are intelligent, and the job opportunities are endless. I was definitely not disappointed.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive, but I say it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are innumerable things to do in Boston. You can go explore the city, visit museums, go to a Red Sox game, you name it!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good! They provide different types of food. Staying healthy is not much of a challenge.

    Dorm Life

    It's hard living in a dorm, but you meet amazing people.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are taken seriously, but that is what I love about BU.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely have thirst for education! Buy a nice, warm coat!

    In three sentences

    Boston University has an amazing campus. There are students from all over the world. Attending here is something completely different from anything else.