Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Bowling Green State University-Firelands Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    dassad

    Greek Life

    dsdas

    Clubs and Activities

    dsdasdd

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    dasds

    Food and Dining

    dasdasd

    Dorm Life

    dsdsd

    Tips for prospective students

    dsdas

    In three sentences

    dsdas

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been a few cases where the dean will send out a message warning of something that went on in a nearby town, but if you feel uncomfortable there are police on campus during class hours that you can call and will escort you, come running in an emergency, or help with whatever you need.

    Greek Life

    I honestly couldn't say....I know there are a lot on main campus, but I don't know about here.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want their education, not living for dorm-parties lifestyles, but can still have a bit of fun. And Great for those who live close!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Watchout! Once a year there is a students vs. zombies war that goes on at campus! I've never personally participated, but what could be better than tying bandanas around your arms, sneeking around corners in between classes, and firing nerf guns at other bright bandana-wearing people?? Wonder where the zombies come in? They play from sun-up to sun-down to sun-up again! They meet up at midnight and that's when the fun really begins I hear.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, most of the teachers will give you the time of day you need to explain something, and if they can't right now, come and visit them privately in their office hours. The classes really help to hit home the info you need to do something great!

    What to do for fun

    Well, you could take a class on walking...no. really!.... Or you could hit the gym/court, play pool just outside the gym, meet up in the Pit, attend a student play, or they have a few other activities...can't say I've checked this area out too much... Sandusky is just a 10-15 minute drive away though.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria, and the food is pretty good. And then they have vending machines...that vend sandwiches...but if you prefer fast food, restaurants, cafes you can go to town in 5 minutes.

    Dorm Life

    Like I said, there are no dorms, it's 'Education within Reach'. In my opinion that's the best dorm life there is! ;)

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes, some are challenging. They even have an Honors Program now. If you prefer to start out a bit easier than Advanced Psychology and Sociology, they do have easier classes. And they have a wide range of selection from 1 or 2 credit hour classes, to 7 hour courses. From Hebrew and Spanish, to programs for teaching and nursing and business. It's local, but has lots to offer!

    Tips for prospective students

    It's 'Education within Reach', so if you're looking for dorms, go to main campus in Bowling Green. This is a school for students who already like where they're at, want to live with their parents or in the town they are already in and attend school. That's part of what makes it so nice!

    In three sentences

    Most everyone is friendly and helpful. They have numerous partnerships, many, many courses, and endless areas of opportunity! It's within 5 minutes from the nearest town, and I personally really like the school!

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe their are sheriffs patrolling the school each day.

    Bang for the buck

    If you would like to stay home and save a lot of money and get a good education then this school is perfect.

    Dorm Life

    Their is no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused the tutors their are great and pretty much available anytime. Be sure to go to classes and definitely stay checking your emails throughout the day.

    In three sentences

    A very small campus similar to high school. Majority of professors are very open and helpful. Advisers are their for you anytime.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those continuing education or right iut if highschool starting college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They should build a child care center for the parents who are trying to get a degree. The education dept. Could help run it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask question, ask for help. Talk to you advisor and use the learning center.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college close to home. I like being able yo take evening classes. The professors are always nice and helpful as is the staff.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are self-motivated. Excited about learning and want to contribute to their academic success

    Food and Dining

    Because I chose the University Partnership, I could remain at home while going to school. With that being said, Dorm Life is non-applicable.

    Dorm Life

    Because I chose the University Partnership, I could remain at home while going to school. With that being said, Dorm Life is non-applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The individuals in the Respiratory Program come from all walks of life; however, one thing is expected of you and that's to work hard. This was not an easy journey for me but as long as you have a high degree of internal motivation, you'll do just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering the Respiratory Program at this particular college, expect to spend a considerable amount of time studying the Mechanical Ventilation/Critical Care course which is a requirement for the program. You will also spend a large amount of time in clinicals in the Respiratory Program. Remember, this is your time to shine! When doing your clinical rotations, it's also an extended job interview. Be on your best behavior!!

    In three sentences

    The teachers are well organized. The student-to-teacher ratio is a bit high but I have received all the attention necessary to succeed. I am apart of the University Partnership program through Lorain County Community College which has literally been a God-send.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sheriff Department has a sub-station on this campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pit is different and the Cedar Point Center and duck pond are AMAZING.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities.

    Dorm Life

    I do not take part in this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize your advisor. Take advantage of student services.

    In three sentences

    AWESOME.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is usually a police officer or two on campus to make sure everything is okay.

    Great for these types of students

    BGSU Firelands is a great school for PSEO students and for adults coming back to school.

    What to do for fun

    They have a nice computer lab with both macs and PCs. They also have a gym that contains a weight room, basketball court, and volleyball court. There are also a few student lounges and hangouts on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I usually bring my own lunch, but the food I have eaten at the cafeteria has been good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at BGSU Firelands.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not had too many problems with my academics. The material has been good and I enjoy my professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to BGSU Firelands will save you money because the tuition is cheaper than most universities. There are also no fees for room and board because there are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    I really like the fact that I can take college classes through BGSU Firelands while I am still in high school. This saves me a lot of money for the future. The school is also very student friendly and I love the atmosphere.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can exercise or play sports in the gym, play pool, use the computers, enjoy time with friends in the pit, and more...

    Food and Dining

    They have upgraded the cafe' and they have great food and great service now!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life for firelands.

    Academic Rigor

    Once again, great school with instructors who care about your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you attend your classes, do not skip. Make sure that you schedule classes as soon as possible so that you can get into the ones you want, they go quick. Use the resources available to you, they are there to help!

    In three sentences

    Bowling Green - Firelands is a great college to attend. They have very nice instructors who actually care about your education. Firelands also has a lot of stuff for students to get involved in as well.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security. Always there, and will walk you to your car if needed.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Working or family-oriented. need to save money

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Food and Dining

    There a restaurants within 5 minutes drive-time. There is what they call a vendeteria. There are many vending machines and a small cafeteria-like place.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms! Which means you aren't required to stay somewhere you don't want to.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very challenging whereas others are not. In every class, be prepared for challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to meet with an advisor, but to also do a lot on your own. Have a planner of some sort and plenty of notebooks and pens.

    In three sentences

    I love it. It is cheap with a quality education. I also get to live at home.

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus, i live at home being i go to BGSU Firelands.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help when you believe you need it.

    In three sentences

    Bowling Green Firelands is a wonderful college.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are practically nonexistent.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that cannot afford a traditional university.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of tuition, you can't beat itâ?¦.just remember, you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    As far as fun goes, there is not much to do on campus. You have to figure out fun outside of school.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria, with overpriced food and not many options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life doesn't exist, unfortunately.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are extremely easy. They are designed for kids that learn slowly or adults who are returning to school for the first time in a long time. The work is not very engaging and is definitely not what I would consider rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that if you are looking for a college that will offer the full experience (dorm life, social atmosphere, etc.) that you don't settle for a community school such as this.

    In three sentences

    Great opportunity for those looking for a cheap education. However, if you are looking for the full college experience, this is not it. The environment is that of which a high school would be, not your typical university.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The campus is small, there is security on campus at all hours, the parking lots are well lit, and there are emergency call sites in all of the parking lots and in many places around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    BGSU - Firelands is a wonderful option for the price. The classes are exactly the same as those given at Main Campus, but they are a fraction of the cost. For those pursuing the approximately 14 Associate's Degrees offered in full at Firelands, or wishing to stay closer to home before moving to Main Campus, Firelands is a great way to earn class credits without paying an excessive amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    The Arboretum provides a wonderful space to take walks or otherwise enjoy nature, and is located on campus. There is also a gallery space, where student projects are showcased. Finally, the theatre program at Firelands is highly regarded and has many different performances throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Because it is a commuter campus, there are few options for food on campus. There is a small cafeteria, called the Vendeteria, and there are quite a few vending machines providing both snack foods and entrees. There are also several microwaves for those who wish to bring their own food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at BGSU - Firelands, as it is a commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Bowling Green State University - Firelands provides a lot of different classes, many of which are truly challenging. Also, they recently started a Firelands Chapter of the Bowling Green Honors program, and those classes are definitely rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to approach the professors or other staff. They are extremely willing to help and love talking to students and getting to know them.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful, lower cost opportunity to take Bowling Green State University classes. The teachers are friendly, helpful, and extremely professional. The services offered such as the Library, Teaching and Learning Center, Writing Lab, and Arboretum are wonderful assets to students' education.