Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southcentral Kentucky Comm. and Tech. Col. Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students, Busy students, Students with an undecided major

    Bang for the buck

    Best bang for your buck. Same classes as a university, but for half the price.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all general education finished here, then transfer to a university.

    In three sentences

    Best Money Saver. One on one time with teachers. Good atmosphere.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe and very neat and clean. the nicest campus any where.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers a wide variety of classes and experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard,listen to the instructors and always seek advice from your advisor.

    In three sentences

    I would rate bowling green technical college as a number 1 school in Kentucky, although it is extremely hard to get into the nursing program. The instructors are extremely knowledgeable and very concerned with the student.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is available 24/7. They're great. They can even jump start your car which is great if you're like me and always forgetting your lights on :)

    Bang for the buck

    If you're planning on getting a bachelor's degree, start here. $144 per credit hour vs. atleast $500 at a university and they're the same classes. Some SKYCTC teachers also teach at WKU

    Food and Dining

    There's a couple snack areas with vending machines on campus. There are also restaurants pretty close by, but no dining hall or anything like that

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Rent your books. They're good for the whole semester and way cheaper than buying.

    In three sentences

    Bowling green tech. is a great place to start out at. The classes are small so you get the one-on-one time you need with teachers. The campus is clean, not too huge, and the staff is very helpful

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you are of age there are some night clubs you can go to. There is the mall and bowling and movies. Pretty much the same thing in every mid- size town.

    Food and Dining

    As far as food or any dining area in that school, there isn't any. We have snack machines in every building. We also have different restaurants and fast food places around the campus, so you can go eat on you breaks.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorms to stay in. But there are plenty of apartments surrounding the college that you can stay in for a reasonable price.

    Academic Rigor

    The only difficult thing with this college is they don't offer night classes. Other than that, that is the only issue there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the classes overwhelm you. Just take your time and if you need help don't be scared to ask your teachers/administration questions. Because you are paying to be here, so take full advantage of all the help you can get to make great grades.

    In three sentences

    The staff here is very friendly and helpful. They will answer any questions or issues that you have. The atmosphere is very calm and relaxing.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe because for one it is small and secure. They are very alert. There are cameras in the parking lot and there are no hidden places to be taking advantage of. There is always someone walking around outside watching as well. You are never alone!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different events through out the campuses and they try to involve everyone. No one is left behind.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for every type of student. From the 18 year old all the way until you are ready to stop learning. No age limit or life style. If you are willing to learn this is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition rate is great compared to a big university. You get what you pay for and that to me is everything. So if you are low on cash but want a good education this is the place to go!

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun, but some of my favorites are going to the mall and then to Beach Bend Water park!

    Food and Dining

    There isnt a dinning hall where I attend, but the town is full of restaurants and you can gets discounts by providing you student ID. But there are vending machines for drinks and snacks between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Currently I live off campus in my own home. I am not aware of the campus having dorms but there are apartments around and community housing so there is always a home life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor at the campus I attend are very Rigors. They push you and challenge you. That I really like because I want to know that I gave it my all. But what they also do is help me when I am in a rut. They don't have to worry about failing as long as i ask for help. They are stern but they are understanding. That makes for a great learning experience!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about attending this college and love the thought of being small but complete, this is the place to be. The campus are small but they have everything you need on them and if not they will bring it to YOU from one of their other campus. They make you feel like part of the family.

    In three sentences

    BGTC is a great place to get a degree because of the atmosphere. The staff is very willing to help you out anyway they can because they want to see you achieve your goals. This college is great at setting you up for your career!

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From what I know the secruity is all over the campus and if you ever need help or walking to your car they will be there for you.

    What to do for fun

    They have many different social events that the school puts on that any student can attend. If there are clubs that you would like to join, anyone is offered that opportunity. If there is a type of sport or hobby that doesn't have a club existed, then you can create your own.

    Food and Dining

    They have really nice relaxing areas for the students to study or eat at. I think its great for those who have an hour between each class to go there. The snack machines are also very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I know they share dorms with the WKU campus but I will be getting an apartment. Although the dorms are very nice and definitely convenient to those who take classes on wku campus. It was just more convenient for me to get my own apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as I know the academics are graded fairly. I met a few teachers last time I visited and they talked as if they will help you out as much as you need. Tutoring was definitely offered, which is always a good thing with the academic levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanted small classes, than this is definitely the college. This Campus has small buildings and they are labeled with letters for each type of class. I am very confident that anyone could find their class at any time.

    In three sentences

    I really like that the college campus is very small and doesn't have many students. In that type of environment I am able to learn and pay more attention then I would at a large university. I have visited this campus about three times and I feel very confident in this school.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to always talk to your adviser so they can help you with any questions

    In three sentences

    I love it! A good education with a good price tag!

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe, but there is one thing that always makes me nervous when I'm on campus... Would be safer if it were not a gun free zone. If a criminal DID show up to cause harm, there would be no-one (not even the security people, which are everywhere) to stop them. Concealed-carry permit holders are not allowed to pack, so it would be a open range for any deranged lunatic with a gun... but what can you do. ALL schools are doing this now days. (You would think a place of higher learning would be smarter than that.) I'd feel better if a couple of trained staff were allowed to have a weapon on campus in case of a school shooting. Right now, though, we would just have to wait for 20 minutes for the police to arrive................. :(

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Alpha Honors Society (No others that I know of)

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Alpha Honors Society

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Radiology, Medical field in general. Automotive repair Heating and Air guys Computer Techs

    Bang for the buck

    Fully transferable credits, for a third of the price of a major University. You can't beat that!

    What to do for fun

    Bowling Green is a great little city for fun. The BGCTC campus is close to the WKU campus, so the opportunities are abundant for after-hours fun.

    Food and Dining

    On campus, there are only snack machines. However, there are many fast food restaurants within a mile of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. You will have to live elsewhere!

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a place educating rocket scientists. This is a Gen-Ed college. That being said, the level of challenge has surprised me. You will need to apply yourself here. If you do not, you WILL fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you are going to do with your life before going in. It sucks to almost complete an Associates of Arts, then change to an Associates of Science... not as many classes transfer over as you think! Know what you want before getting all those student loans. Take interpersonal communications. Even if you use an elective, it is very valuable!

    In three sentences

    The college has been excellent in every way, and I have attended for 3.5 years! Each class has been challenging, but proper diligence will always be rewarded. The cost is remarkably low for the high quality. There is no on-campus living, so you will need other arrangements. Parking is a bear at the beginning of each semester, but after a month, it loosens up considerably- meaning there are those that drop classes, and no longer need to park. (This is not really a place for the intellectually lazy, even though it is a Community College. The lazy DO give it a go anyway.)