Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Brandeis University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-party students Serious Students Students Committed to Community Service

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the opportunities at Brandeis and make sure that Brandeis offers everything you might want to do.

    Am enjoying being here

    The Brandeis community is amazing!

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If I havent said enough thus far, I apologize, but there are over 250 clubs that do seriously anything and everything you could ever imagine!

    Great for these types of students

    Eccentric, and possibly shy students. If you haven't made up your mind of what you will do in the future, great! Brandeis may be for you. You will follow your passions here and find your future a much clearer path than when you started.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are often school breaks on Jewish holidays due to the large percentage of the student population that is Jewish. That is not to say, that we don't get breaks for other holidays as well, there is just a larger presence of Judaism, and many other religions at Brandeis than you might find at other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis is just about as expensive as many other private colleges in this day in age. Your money is worth a lot here. You are getting an amazing education, and will learn so many valuable skills, and meet so many helpful and influential people. Brandeis is a great investment for your education.

    What to do for fun

    Brandeis is synonymous with fun. As I mentioned above, club activities are constant on campus, but to reiterate, international food nights, quidditch, club sports, concerts, open mics, coffee houses, plays, poker nights, school sponsored parties, movies, activity fairs, the list goes on. And if there isn't enough for you on campus, nearby Waltham has excellent restaurants, and Boston, only a bus or train ride away is filled with things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is what most would call average. While students have tried to made recent changes to dining options, the food has been slow to adapt. That is not to say that Brandeis food is bad. Its not. The food here is nothing to brag about, but the options are numerous. You name it, we probably have it. A big part of dining here is the presence of kosher dining options which are excellent.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Brandeis are eclectic to say the least. The division between grades is evident for underclassmen, with freshmen living by themselves. Once you get to sophomore year however, your options explode. Our biggest dorm attraction has to be the castle, because really, who doesn't want to live in a castle. There are plenty of buildings to go around, and with a growing emphasis on green living, the options you can take to enhance your sustainability can also be catered to whe choosing a dorm. Dorm life is social and a great way to meet people too, and you will often be surprised how much fun a roommate can be!

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you take at Brandeis. There is a very strong academic presence on campus, and many student work tirelessly throughout each semester, but it is a personal choice. Students often overwhelm themselves with too much on their plate, but regardless of the number of clases you take, each class is challenging in its own way, and teachers will make you work for your grades. After all, you are here to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brandeis has a very flexible faculty that will help you pursue your goals, even if you don't know what they may be right now. You can follow your interests and dreams through a multitude of majors, but also fill in any holes with the almost ridiculous amount of clubs. Close to Boston, it is easy to get off campus for some fun, but you and also always find something to do at school, whether it be a play,an a capella performance, comedy troupes, guest speakers, or special showings of movies before they get released in theaters.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis is an all inclusive school with everything a student could wish for. Busting at the seams with student diversity, clubs of all kinds, and professors that you can approach at almost any time, the smaller community of Brandeis University is perfect for those who want to do it all. The opportunities for study and involvement in the campus and surrounding community are immense, and you will never have a moment where you find yourself without options of entertainment or participation in the school or the surrounding area.

  • 12/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brandeis is right for people who are: bold, unique, bright, funny, well cultured, kind, caring, adventurous, and tastefully awkward. Brandeis is the first place that I have been able to totally and completely be myself. I am not afraid of what others will think of me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Brandeis is a wonderful school for students interested in gaining the perspective of other bright minds. It is the perfect size for me, because it is a big, small school with 3200 undergraduates. It is quite a liberal university in terms of social political policy. Overall, Brandeis students are involved with Academics and are almost always dedicated to extracurriculars.

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis provides good financial aid, yet I still have a lot in loans. They offer need based as well as Academic scholarships. My advice would be to apply to Brandeis even though the sticker price is over $50,000. The university provides aid to students who are accepted. Overall, money did not stop me from attending.

    Am enjoying being here

    Brandeis is an incredibly welcoming community. The people at Brandeis are making my college experience stellar. I look around and admire my friends for all their fantastic accomplishments. While everyone here is an overachiever invested in his/her own Academics and Extracurriculars, it is a supporting community. Each of my friends truly want to see me succeed just as much as they do for his/herself. That said, I study really, really hard and often.

    Am learning a lot

    I am offered tons of opportunities to explore Academics at Brandeis. I love that can take courses that count towards my major and minors, while still taking courses that just happen to spark my interest. For instance, last semester I took beginning Russian, because I was fascinated by the Russian language and culture. In addition, most classes cross count for more than one department (and major). There are a plethora of Academic programs at Brandeis including: Experiential Learning, JBS semester long programs, Study Abroad, etc. All of my Professors attended the most prestigious universities including: Harvard, Yale, Stanford, Berkley, etc. Above all, I learn every day from my peers, whom are truly remarkable people in and outside of the classroom. I am challenged Academically at Brandeis!

  • 07/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Down to earth, accepting, hard-working, fun loving, adventurous

    Tips for prospective students

    If you get accepted, check out the Course Evaluation Guide before signing up for classes. And don't be afraid to shop classes for the first couple weeks before deciding which ones you really want to take.

    Bang for the buck

    A little on the expensive side. I've had some trouble with their scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've met the most amazing people. The community is incredible.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are absolutely brilliant.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brandeis is a remarkably safe campus. There's virtually no crime; last year there were only one or two theft incidents, and there really aren't any other sorts of safety threats that I can think of. The security is pretty lax, though, which is nice; students and guests can come and go as they please without signing in, and this works out for everyone because nobody likes having to fill out paperwork to have a friend stay over. I'm not sure if this is the result of an honest student body or if it's the cause, but either way I would say that Brandeis is probably up there with some of the safest schools in the country. If you don't believe me, look up the stats; all college campuses release their crime statistics publicly on the internet.

    Greek Life

    While the university doesn't officially recognize the existence of frats/sororities, they do exist, just outside of campus. The vast majority of students aren't involved in Greek life, but if you're interested, they're there. The frat houses throw some of the better parties on the weekends, if that's something you're into, but beyond that they don't have a very large presence on campus. It's the sort of thing where if you want to find it, you don't have to look far, but at the same time, if you're not interested, nobody's going to try to force you to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    No matter what you want to do, you'll find other people at Brandeis that want to do it, too. We have everything that you'd expect to find at a university, from theatre and a capella groups to Physics Club, along with a lot of other groups that you wouldn't expect, like Brewing Club, Comic Book Club, and Pokemon Club. We also have some cool club sports, like fencing and quidditch (you should definitely try out quidditch. seriously.). And if somehow, you manage to think of something that we DON'T have, it's EXTREMELY easy to start your own club or organization on campus. If I could give Brandeis seven stars here, I would.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are nerdy and proud. Everyone on campus is passionate about something, be that theatre, physics, Harry Potter, a capella, abstract math, Disney films, or anything else under the sun. Brandeis students also tend to be very liberal, and they're not afraid to show it; we're very concerned with social justice, and at any given moment you can find probably five or six different fundraisers or events going on with the goal of helping out those that are less fortunate. People who like to volunteer will fit in perfectly here. If you work hard to pursue your passion, have an open mind, and care about the welfare of those around you, then Brandeis is absolutely the school for you. **I also just want to say quickly: Brandeis is not just a place for Jewish students. While it is true that we have a very large Jewish population, you certainly won't feel alienated at all if you aren't. I was really worried about this when I moved in, but I was pleasantly surprised by how accepting and accommodating the Jewish community is. Not only have I made a lot of great friends, despite not being Jewish, but I've been exposed to a new culture and a new set of traditions that I knew virtually nothing about before coming. Don't listen to people that say that you have to be Jewish to go to Brandeis. You don't. I'm not.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The castle! I don't know if it's really a tradition, but one of the big rites of passage for freshmen is to find their way up onto the roof of one (or several) of the towers. This isn't really encouraged by the security people, but the view of Boston from the roof of B tower cannot be beat. Chum's is another really well-known place on campus. It's a coffee shop in the castle, where they often have concerts (sometimes by well-known bands: Fleetwood Mac played here once) and student-run shows and events. It's really calm and the people that work there are probably the coolest on campus. Definitely check it out if you're touring. There are dozens of other cool, secret places around campus that beg to be explored (the mirror room and graffiti tower in the castle, the peace room, and the roof of the Faculty Club, to name a few); I don't want to share them all here, because that takes all of the fun out of it, but if you're ever on campus, be sure to ask around!

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis is expensive, but worth every penny. We're not as highly regarded as, say, Harvard, but a Brandeis degree still holds a lot of weight in the academic field. You'll have a leg up after graduation, no matter what you plan on doing. The people that you'll meet here are truly unique, too; Brandeisians are hardworkers that know what they want and are willing to do whatever it takes to achieve. Consequently, you'll find that many Brandeis alumni go on to be quite successful, which means you'll graduate with connections that are almost as valuable as your degree.

    What to do for fun

    Student Events always has tons of awesome things going on, ranging anywhere from mini-golf to concerts (last year we had Childish Gambino and fun.), and the best part is that all of their events are free! Other than that, most people will spend their free time hanging out with friends, watching movies, or going into Boston. Brandeis runs a free shuttle into the city, Thursday through Sunday, so that's always a really nice option to have on weekends. If you're looking for a party school, Brandeis isn't for you. There are parties, but they're usually pretty tame, and when they get out of control, they get broken up quickly. Unless you're going to college looking for ragers and this is a dealbreaker for you, you'll never have to look far to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is... okay. The two main dining halls are Sherman and Usdan. Sherman takes more of a quantity over quality mentality; you can eat as much food as you want (pizza, burgers, pasta, salad, ice cream, etc.) and it's not bad, but it's not great either. They DO have special theme nights sometimes, though, and the food at those is much better than the typical fare. Usdan takes the opposite approach; the food is better than what you'll find at Sherman, but it's a la carte, so you have to pay for everything individually. Also worth mentioning is the dining plan: depending on which one you sign up for, you'll get meals or points. A meal is worth a set dollar amount, and that amount changes depending on the time of day; in the morning it's worth around $4, and at night it's worth roughly $8. You can use a meal to buy food worth up to that amount in Usdan, or you can use one to sit down at Sherman. Most people save their meals for Sherman, because that's the best deal. Points are

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is kind of random. If you end up in a hall with cool people, you'll love it; if you don't, you won't. The actual dorm buildings are decent; some of the freshmen dorms are much nicer than others, though (you do NOT want to live in Shapiro). If you don't like the people living around you, though, you can always make friends elsewhere and hang out with them in their hall instead (I would still make an effort to do that even if you DO like your neighbors). Upperclassmen housing is nicer, for the most part. Some places in East are really run-down, but I don't hear many people complaining about their living space. I'm giving it four stars because the vast majority of the people here are some of the nicest and friendliest that you'll ever meet, so no matter where you're living, you'll have people to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    To be honest, it depends on the classes that you're taking, but, as a pre-med, I can tell you that the science courses are really intense. Chemistry especially is killer. While the courses are difficult, and you'll likely find yourself struggling to keep up, you'll come out of each and every one of your courses satisfied. How much you get from them depends on the amount of work you put in, but you'll never hear anyone at Brandeis say that they aren't being adequately challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and take a tour, definitely, but don't be discouraged by the way it looks on the surface. I really didn't want to go when I first started looking, but after talking to some of the students and sitting in on a couple of lectures, I was sold. Oh, and bring quarters; doing laundry is the worst.

    In three sentences

    When I first applied, I really had no interest in going to Brandeis. Somehow I wound up changing my mind, and after taking a closer look, I fell in love. Now I'm here and not a day goes by that I'm not proud to be a Brandeisian.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brandeis is a really comfortable place for someone who is looking to become a big fish in a small pond. The rather isolated campus and close-knit student body is perfect for students who are academically focused and want a close community. It's great for students who are looking to expand their involvement in extracurricular activities, especially in politics or social justice. However, it's not a party school in the slightest; if you want easy access to Boston or a thriving social scene, Brandeis may not be the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! It's important to get a feel for the place, and there's no better way to do that then visiting - for a full day and night, if you can. Interacting with current students, sitting in on a couple classes, and navigating the campus yourself is the best way to tell whether Brandeis is a good fit for you.

    Bang for the buck

    When you pay tuition at Brandeis, you're paying for a great liberal-arts education as well as a degree from a very well-respected academic institution. Unfortunately, you're still paying about $50,000 a year. Though Brandeis offers some financial aid to most students, it can still be a struggle to afford for some. However, Brandeis has a unique focus on undergraduate education and can really open the door to great opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Brandeis is a kind of idyllic college environment - it has an open, green campus, very active student life, and wonderful academic opportunities. Students really get involved in everything from political and cultural clubs to intramural sports, theater, and music groups. However, though Brandeis is only nine miles away from Boston, those nine miles are quite substantial unless you have a car. The campus can sometimes seem like a bubble - if you are the kind of person who wants to spend a lot of time in the city, or have a really active and dynamic social life, this might not be the place for you.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning at Brandeis is largely what you make of it: I know I'm learning a lot because I take time to meet with professors, select interesting classes, and pursue a major that I'm passionate about. Brandeis does have distribution requirements to fulfill throughout your four years, but if you search a little it's possible to find a class in each discipline to interest you. Introductory-level lecture classes can seem limiting, in terms of opportunities to meet with professors and grow academically. However, upper-level classes (which you can start taking even as early as late freshman year) really provide an experience to connect with professors in a small, intimate setting and learn quite a lot.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life exists but is not the main social scene on campus.

    What to do for fun

    With over 250 clubs, the highest ratio of clubs to students of any college in the US, there is never a dull moment at Brandeis. However, if you ever feel like you want to get off campus, which I rarely do, Brandeis is only 9 miles away from Boston and has a commuter rail stop right in front of the university for the students' convenience. Brandeis also has a weekend shuttle that runs into Boston every 2 hours and drops of at popular locations.

    Food and Dining

    Brandeis has 2 main dining halls and a bunch of other smaller cafes and markets around campus with a variety of options. One of the main dining halls is all-you-can-eat and is split kosher and non-kosher. I personally keep kosher and the food is fantastic on the kosher side. I hear great things about the non-kosher side, as well. My favorite part of dining on campus is Einsteins Bagels which is open very late on school nights for students to get their late night snack. Another cool feature of Brandeis dining is the catering service. If you want to have a special secluded meal just for you and your friends, you can order a catered meal. Or maybe you just want a cake for a birthday celebration, that can happen too.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is really fun. I was always very nervous about sharing a room because I was an only child but it turned out great. Brandeis has great dorming options, not to mention the possibility of living in a castle during your sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    Brandeis is a school for very ambitious students. You have the option to do up to 3 majors and 3 minors in your undergraduate career, which is a ton. I personally am doing 2 majors and 2 minors, giving me a full plate of academics in addition to my extracurricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch with current Brandeis students and talk to them about their Brandeis experience. What are their likes? Dislikes? What is one thing they would want to change about Brandeis?

    In three sentences

    Brandeis is an amazing university with tons of opportunities. It provides the fun vibe of a summer camp while also fostering great knowledge and a professional atmosphere - you form great relationships not only with your peers, but with your professors. Brandeis University, as a whole, truly cares for your well being.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    private school, small campus - i'm surprised it's as safe as it is given there seems to be no regulation of who comes on and off campus but the three exits/entrances to campus make you feel either incredibly safe or incredibly cornered.

    Greek Life

    fortunately, the greek life isn't acknowledged by brandeis because they feel in its existence, it purports exclusion based on whatever (religion, race, social standing, what-have-you), but it does exist. we have i think three sororities and four fraternities and they throw decent parties... usually.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are over 300 clubs at brandeis, choose one and choose wisely.

    Great for these types of students

    socially awkward!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sachar woods has a few bonfire pits and there are lots of sneaky locations on campus to explore, for whatever reason.

    Bang for the buck

    utilize your professors' office hours, work for them in their labs, take courses outside of your major, get fridays off and play an instrument on the great lawn.

    What to do for fun

    make friends and hang out with them...

    Food and Dining

    the dining services on campus are only getting better than they were when i was at brandeis.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are honestly kind of unfortunate but hey, most dorms are.

    Academic Rigor

    have i not mentioned this yet? brandeis is not an easy school.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't come expecting brandeis to be easy, especially since it isn't an ivy league and many students use it as a back up for ivy league schools - brandeis is very much ahead of its time. come to brandeis with an open mind and a tough exterior because this school will really help shape you.

    In three sentences

    in three sentences, brandeis is academically rigorous - the science courses in particular are taught at a much higher level here than at other schools. the social life is atrocious because parties end early and are usually pretty lame but the people at brandeis are really friendly and approachable (which you don't get at bigger schools). and lastly, the professors are incredibly qualified and if one was taking advantage of their education, they would be bugging their professors often.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I've never seen a school with as many clubs as Brandeis. There is a club for everyone here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unique, expressive, quirky, studious, athletic, and social will all feel at home here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Brandeis castle is home to sophomore dorms and Cholmondeley's coffee house. An overlook around the back of the castle looks out on Boston (as does the fire escape on the side of the castle!) which is fantastic in the evenings.

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis has great academics and countless opportunities for involvement.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless activities occurring on campus on a given day: performances by A Capella or improvisation groups, concerts, coffee houses, and presentations by clubs. Brandeis also offers free and easily accessible transportation into the local Waltham area, Harvard Square, and Boston.

    Food and Dining

    Each dining hall has ample options for everyone: kosher, gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, and ethnic options.

    Dorm Life

    Aside from loud heating units, the dorms are very nice. Community Advisors do a great job of fostering a sense of community for the hallway.

    Academic Rigor

    You definitely have to stay on top of your assignments, especially the reading assignments, because they pile up. Professors also love to reference reading assignments on midterms and final exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to come to Brandeis without an intended major - there are so many classes you can take to discover your academic interests! For students who do have an intended major - take classes outside of the range of your major. You will find other topics and professors who will make great impressions on you.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis University is an awesome place. Students who are musical, scientific, athletic, and scholarly will find their niche and numerous other students who share their passion. The sense of community at Brandeis is close-knit and supportive.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated to social justice, passionate about volunteering, curious about different topics, open to meeting different types of people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sledding down the hill by the library, attempting to walk across the frozen Masell pond, singing the Messiah in the Campus Center's atrium with President Lawrence and much of the student body.

    What to do for fun

    Campus parties, off-campus frat/sorority parties (personally, I did not enjoy these much), and when you hit 21, you can go off-campus and enjoy the nightlife that Boston has to offer. If you can afford it, I recommend getting a car. Makes life easier.

    Food and Dining

    Options have increased over the years, but if you are vegan, you may have a hard time finding things to eat here. Luckily, you can move off-campus after your first year, or starting your junior year, you can live in a dorm with a kitchen and get off the meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    Campus is large but small enough where you can see your friends on a regular basis.

    Academic Rigor

    The students I choose to spend my time with are those who are involved on-campus but also take their studies seriously. Yes, this is college, and you should have fun. But you are also a student, and attending college to increase your future opportunities. So take your studies seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you choose to attend (this goes for any school you're looking into). Look into the clubs available, and see where you think you could fit in socially. Look into the subject areas offered, and choose not only based on what you think you will be (for example, pre-med), but also on other areas of interest. Be open and curious.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis students are passionate about social justice, and for the most part are friendly, curious, and smart. The campus is prettiest during the fall and late spring. During my years as a student here, professors have been passionate about their subjects, and dedicated to helping their students grow.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always the athletic center where there's always someone playing basketball, squash, or just working out on the treadmills and bicycles. On the weekends, most students go out to Boston and go to huge shopping malls, eat some awesome food, or watch a movie.

    Food and Dining

    There's a different variety of food: burgers, Asian Japanese food, salmon, rice, salad, and a buffet. However, there's not much to choose from after you eat there for so long.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so fun! Although some dorms look rusty and old, those are usually the dorms that most friends will choose! It's like living in a huge apartment with everyone you know!

    Academic Rigor

    There is no such thing as an easy class because it just depends on how much effort you are willing to put in. However, with all the resources you can get help from, whether it's the teachers, students, tutors, or the library, it really helps you improve and understand the classes you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're one of those people who doesn't really know if having a city-life is suited for you, Brandeis might be the school to go to. Although it's small, it's located at a location that is perfect for non city-life and city-life! The campus itself is located at a small city just minutes away where all the convenient stores are at. But if you want to go to a big city, there's a bus that takes students to Boston for free!

    In three sentences

    A very nice small college! Everyone is very friendly and it's perfect for anyone who just wants a close group of friends. The staffs and teachers are all very very nice and they'll help you with whatever you need, whether it's schoolwork or just personal problems.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brandeis' location near Boston and Cambridge makes it the ideal location for anybody who seeks to spend a night in the city. Furthermore, Brandeis does have an arcade-style location in the Usdan Student Center that allows for students to enjoy themselves without leaving campus. Although fraternities are not recognized by the university, they do exist and often have off-campus parties which can in turn be quite fun. There is no shortage of activities in the Brandeis campus either as there is always something going on -- from mud parties to movie nights to good-fun competitions.

    Food and Dining

    In 2013, Brandeis changed dining providers from Aramark to Sodexo. The latter has so far provided a variety of dining choices to students, and returning students have said that the food is by far better than previous years'. Freshmen don't complain as food is often tasty. If there is any issue, it would be the lack of variety in the Sherman Dining Hall (All-you-care-to-eat services) -- however this is usually resolved by alternating between dining locations as they all provide their different tastes!

    Dorm Life

    Each dormitory varies depending on location and the Quad (section) they are in, however they are all great. Freshman dorms in particular (located in Massell and North Quads) are fantastic to meet people. While they are in different sections of campus (Massell is much more central to campus while North is nearing the edge), they each have their own perks, such as being near different dining halls and lecture buildings. Overall, the dorms are not 5-star hotel suites, but they are doable and will provide a bonding experience with not only your roommates but also the people in your hall. Some of the strongest friendships were created from socializing within the dormitories!

    Academic Rigor

    Brandeis has a well-earned reputation that its science disciplines are particularly rigorous. Indeed they are -- however, this derives from the fact that work is mostly fast-paced and independent (textbook readings are a must as will additional, however optional, practice problems). The same applies to all other courses, as well. From German to Natural Nanotechnology, all courses will keep your hands full but will reward you heavily as the learning comes in tremendous amounts. Besides, the professors and other programs here are always more than willing to help you whenever you need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you study everything you possibly can in high school. Brandeis is a place that seeks active participation in academics in their applicants and making sure to take those classes that challenge you will clearly give you an advantage. Also make sure to volunteer and do extracurricular activities. There is so much to do on campus and there is something for everyone (even I was a skeptic about this and now I can't find the time to be involved in everything I seek to join!). Learning to balance your time and effort early in high school will certainly impress the Admissions Office and also allow you to balance yourself once here.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis is the perfect place for anybody who does not only seek a rigorous and rewarding education in the classroom, but also for those who pursue an environment rich in culture and diversity. Yes, while there is a strong Jewish presence both in reputation and in person, there are far more people than those of Judaic faith -- people from literally all corners of the world contribute their individual cultures and beliefs for the perfect world village. Besides, its location near Boston and Cambridge makes Brandeis perfect for volunteering opportunities, internships, and even a vibrant social scene.

  • 12/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone willing to put time and effort into their education and caring for the community. There are countless community service activities going on throughout the year.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school has something for everyone. It's not just liberal arts or all science, its got a good mixture of the two. The school is very liberal in general and there are many student activist groups. The school likes to see applications from students with strong beliefs and a will to serve the community.

    Bang for the buck

    Some things could be done better money-wise. Mostly with food. It's probably similar across many schools although its a bit tough to get a proper meal in just the meal plan depending on where you go. Also remember that it's a private school, you pay a lot to attend, make it worth your time and effort :). There's a lot to take advantage of here.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's always new people to meet and things to do around campus. Everyone manages to have some free time from studying so its not work work work all the time every day. It's easy to find fun even when there's a lot of work to get done.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses here all require that you want to learn. It's not hard to learn something new in any class.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    When you visit make sure you figure out the best ways to get into the city. You might find it takes a little long.

    In three sentences

    Great academics, pretty far from downtown Boston.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brandeis is very serious about their campus safety with an escort service as well as its own police force and emergency medical service. I don't feel threatened walking around at night because I know Brandeis is protected.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not recognized by Brandeis or the town it is in because it goes against Brandeis' ideal of community. It is definitely there though and if a student is interested it isn't hard to find. It definitely isn't part of the Brandeis community though.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs at Brandies and student events are always putting on activities. I could not write them all down, but their are opportunities for anything that you may be interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a huge Jewish community and a lot of opportunities to explore Judaism, so if you are interested in that Brandeis is great. Or if you're not, Jewish culture isn't so overwhelming that you can't express yourself. Also, it is fantastic in the sciences, so science majors should look into that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition on Brandies Campus in Purim. It is a Jewish holiday and the whole campus gets involved even if you aren't Jewish. Throughout the day students will be walking around in costume ready to celebrate.

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis is expensive, but they are pretty good with financial aid and they really give you your moneys worth. There is so much stuff going on and students are always learning and there are so many classes that the price is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for fun at Brandies from clubs to organized activities like dances or Bronstein Week to theater performances and lectures, students are rarely bored. And if you want to get off campus, there are shuttles all weekend to take students into Cambridge and Boston and experience activities there.

    Food and Dining

    I don't think the food is horrible here, but it is not the best all the time. Sherman dining hall is rarely fantastic, but I have had some really good meals in Usdan and the POD markets are very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a dorm with all of my friends because I am a midyear, thus we were all put in the same dorm and I absolutely love it. My dorm is my favorite place on campus not only because it is nice and an easy place to live, but all my friends are here and I think of it as my home.

    Academic Rigor

    I fell like Brandeis is very challenging. Brandeis requires its students to think outside the box and take initiative, so students don't have a choice when it comes to applying themselves. I think that this creates a better environment to study because everyone is trying very hard to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I have for prospective students is become involved. There are so many clubs, volunteer groups, lectures, and activities that are fun, informative, and really worthwhile. Once you get here, it almost seems overwhelming how much students do for extracurriculars, but trust me, once you get in the swing of things you won't be able to help getting involved with all the fun and interesting stuff they have available.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis University is overflowing the opportunities and community. Not only are students challenged in an academic setting, but we are also constantly given the chance to be involved. Brandeis wants to create an environment where its students can connect, and it succeeds.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even late at night I feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    It's there. I'm not involved in it but I have a lot of fun and know other people involved that have a lot of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is everything. Disney, punk rock and roll, Asian, Jewish, Christian, cooking, natural living, writing, athletics, arts, music, theater, dance, a capella and other singing....everything.

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody can find a niche here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    24 hour musical (exactly what it sounds like; you have twenty-four hours to put on a musical. You work all night and day long for twenty-four hours and then perform for the campus! This year's show was The Little Mermaid).

    Bang for the buck

    While incredibly expensive, I would say that so far Brandeis has been worth any penny.

    What to do for fun

    This campus is incredibly active. Every evening there are at least three things going on that you want to get involved in!

    Food and Dining

    Brandeis has food for everybody. Their accommodating attitude in classes, questions, and where you are extends to food as well: they have vegan, gluten free, kosher, halal, and vegetarian options so that everybody feels comfortable. The food is pretty good, too.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not im my room often, but I have made a lot of friends with the amazing people in my hall and building. My CA is a wonderful, fun person who I feel comfortable talking to. Our bathrooms are newly renovated so they are pretty nice and the laundry room/machines are not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've attended and students I have interacted with really showed me how dedicated to academics Brandeis is. I am so proud to have been accepted to and to be attending such an amazing school

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to people you see. Everybody at Brandeis that I ran into or asked for directions or about their experience was happy to talk with me. Their cheerfullness and friendly attitudes helped me make the big decision. Everybody here is really friendly and eager to answer questions.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis has an environment unlike anywhere I have ever been. The students are smart and know a lot about the world around them. Everyone here wants to go places in life and has big goals that they plan to achieve.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Off campus Greek life, clubs, sports, campus events, go to Boston

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn time management!

    In three sentences

    Brandeis is amazing because of the close relationships you can build with your professors. There is a good balance of academic life and social life. There is something there for everyone.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    international

    Bang for the buck

    great environment

    What to do for fun

    Waltham is beautiful but Boston is very close so that offers numerous possibilities for having fun

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorm rooms available for graduate students, but from visiting it looked nice

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get an Apple computer if attending the MBA or MeIf program, it is very hard to work with Excel

    In three sentences

    Gorgeous campus, with numerous opportunities for students. World renowned and hands on trained faculty. Very competitive environment which prepares students for the real world.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Uhm, well, they're not recognized. But we have a few, and 10% of students are a part of Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs, good student activities

    Great for these types of students

    Its a place for those who couldn't find their place anywhere else. Basically, you'll know if you're a Deisan when you step on campus and talk to the people.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, as expensive as it is, its amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Order frozen yogurt from Prospects (they deliver to Brandeis!), go down to Dartmouth street for a party, or go to any theater productions (they happen all the time).

    Food and Dining

    Einsteins is amazing! As is the faculty club. Sherman is all you can eat, but the food is of a lower quality than Usdan, which is cooked once you order. Sherman has a Kosher kitchen, while Usdan offers few Kosher options.

    Dorm Life

    Well, the dorms in North quad are amazing (especially Gordon and Sheffres), as are senior housing (Ridgewood) and Mid year housing (The Village). The rest are pretty iffy - it gets really hot without air conditioning, but thats only in September basically.

    Academic Rigor

    This school does not have a competitive atmosphere, BUT all students here are competitive against themselves. I've never known someone to be okay with a C grade, and most students push themselves as hard as they can. Definitely for students looking for a challenge.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Brandeis is great for serious students with open minds.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition price is a bit steep, but financial aid is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs, go to events. There is always something happening that you can go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes good enough, but variety is lacking.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshman dorms are fairly average, but clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load isn't easy, but if you focus it is quite manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can have lots of fun at Brandeis. There are many clubs offered, go out and join some; they don't require a huge commitment and you can try some and stay with the ones you like.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis teachers are always willing to help. Everyone on campus is very welcoming and will help when asked. The buildings are all well maintained.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Tons of clubs, sports, parties on the weekends, and easy (and free) access to Boston.

    Food and Dining

    One dining hall is not very good because of a lack of variety and quality, but the other is really delicious, healthy, and has a wide variety. There's also convenience stores, a bagel place, and small food stands around campus.

    Dorm Life

    My floor wasn't very close knit freshman year because we didn't have a lounge, but I just hung out on my best friends floor because almost everyone there was friends. The dorms are quite during late hours usually, and are in fine condition.

    Academic Rigor

    Intense classes, but that mainly depends on which one. For instance, my general chemistry class was much more difficult than my theater as vision class.

    Tips for prospective students

    During orientation, don't be afraid to go up to anyone and start talking to them. Everyone else is scared and doesn't have friends yet either.

    In three sentences

    I love Brandeis. The classes are challenging, and anyone can fit in there. It's easy access to Boston and Boston schools is really convenient too.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Student events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep up with all readings and assignments.

    In three sentences

    A very diverse University. With many student events making it easy to socialize. Also, amazing academics.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is not officially recognized by the university, but it is fairly prevalent. There are three sororities and five fraternities on campus, and they throw some pretty decent parties throughout the year!

    What to do for fun

    Brandeis has shuttles Thursday-Sunday that will take you into Cambridge or Boston for free. I definitely recommend heading into Boston often. In addition there are many events on campus, including Chum's Coffeehouse which features local bands or artists every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls on campus. There's a relatively wide variety of food options, but it is still typical college food. Some of the food can be relatively expensive for an average quality, which can get fairly frustrating.

    Dorm Life

    On-campus housing is fairly good. Freshman and sophomores are guaranteed housing both years, which is very convenient. However, after sophomore year, many students will choose to live off campus because they claim it can be cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    Brandeis is an excellent school, but unfortunately this means that the academics can be quite challenging at times. However, all of the work is manageable, and you are rewarded with an meaningful degree from a great school at the end!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your essay is creative and unique. Brandeis definitely wants students who are different and exciting. Your grades need to be very good as well.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis is full of the most open and accepting students you will ever meet. The academics are excellent, but very rigorous. The distance to Boston is fantastic and it's very easy to get around.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have absolutely no fears in walking across campus by myself at any time of day or night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's seriously something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal, weird, awkward, funny, politically aware

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive, but the professors and opportunities are great.

    What to do for fun

    There are free shuttles to Boston and Cambridge, and the commuter rail station isn't that long of a walk from campus. There are some off campus frat parties during rushing season, and on campus ones, if you know the right people.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food, but that's expected from campus food. There are pretty good vegan/vegetarian/kosher options available.

    Dorm Life

    There are some really nice dorms, but most are just okay. Depending on what you like, there are louder and quieter dorms. This isn't a party school, but there are certain dorm buildings where parties can be found pretty often,

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are obviously easier than others, but so far, classes for me have been pretty hard. That being said, classmates and teachers are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a really liberal place, so make sure you're okay with that. It's a cold a lot, which sucks, so definitely bring things to keep warm. Also, the classes are pretty hard.

    In three sentences

    It's a very diverse place with people from all over the country and the world. The campus is small, which is nice, because you don't have to walk too much to get anywhere. There are also lots and lots of clubs and activities, so there's seriously something to do for everyone.

  • 06/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    little to none

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS

    Great for these types of students

    self motivated and politically active

    What to do for fun

    BOSTON!!! waltham is pretty small but there is defiantly stuff to do. go to boston as much as you can!

    Food and Dining

    Several dining options that are yummy

    Dorm Life

    Village dorms (where i live) are very nice

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers expect a lot, students must be self motivated

    Tips for prospective students

    dont be affraid to be a mid-year. it all works out.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus with lots of trees and places to sit. Great feel on campus and VERY friendly staff. Students are motivated to do well and are very friendly also.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safety at Brandeis is far less than what it is at other universities but it somehow works. There are plenty of blue emergency towers across campus and I never feel unsafe walking around during the day or at night.

    Greek Life

    Contrary to popular belief Greek life does exist at Brandeis and about 10% of the student body participates it. Does it dominate the social scene? No-but it accounts for a good portion of on and off campus parties. There are five fraternities on campus; Phi Kappa Psi, Zeta Beta Tau, Alpha Delta Phi, Alpha Epsilon Pi, and Sigma Alpha Mu; and three sororities; Kappa Beta Gamma, Delta Phi Epsilon, and Sigma Delta Tau. You can usually walk around campus and see a few people representing their respective organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there is anything Brandeis has its club and activities, almost too many! If you want to try something- we probably have a club for that. If we don't have it, it sure is easy to start it!

    Great for these types of students

    Brandeis is a great place for people who didn't fit in in high school. Nerds and Geeks fit in here great, and I mean that with the nicest connotation possible. Brandeis is awesome for the movers and shakers of the world who don't settle for the norm.

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis is worth the money due to its high job placement, professional and graduate school acceptance rate. However with one of the highest cost of attendance in the country, and the second highest in Massachusetts, I would at least expect the facilities to be more up to date than they are, the grounds to look nicer, and the food to be better. Frankly I don't see any justification for any University's tuition, room and board costing almost $60,000 (and rising!).

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do on campus-which is great. I don't usually end up leaving. Boston is fun if you have money to spend and not a lot of schoolwork, but the shuttle bus is not as convenient as the University advertises.

    Food and Dining

    Food is meh. There is a new food provider coming in the fall-hopefully they are better than Aramark but 2 stars for now.

    Dorm Life

    The people in your dorm are definitely the best part. I love having people on my floor from all over the country. The worst part is the state of the dorms. Are they livable? Yeah. Are they remotely new? Not at all. For how expensive room and board is you would expect something at least a little bit nicer.

    Academic Rigor

    Brandeis University is a very rigorous top tier school. There is no such class as an Easy A class. Usually you have to work pretty hard to get an A, especially in the sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have an overnight with a current student on a day other than admitted students day or prospective students day to get an accurate view of Brandeis.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis University is very rigorous top tier university. Attending Brandeis University will allow you to make life long friends, make unforgettable memories, and above all will teach you how to think for yourself. You will love your time here!

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Waltham, Boston, On campus clubs, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food has really improved since they switched to Sodexo!!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok. Not terribly social but also not terrible.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a high notch school. The academics aren't to be taken lightly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school and be prepared for the cold weather.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Brandeis is a great school!

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I spend a lot of time in Boston. Brandeis offers an excellent reprieve from the city life for those who want to relax in the suburban area of Weston and Waltham, while simultaneously providing easy access to Boston, one of the greatest cities in the world.

    Food and Dining

    Brandeis's food is OKAY, but when you rely are large companies to provide food, you can't expect a whole lot of quality. My recommendation, get a meal plan with fewer meals and greater points. Additionally, there is kosher fare around campus, which many find appealing.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived on campus for one semester, and then decided to live with friends off campus. The dorm life was nice, though. I lived in the village which is Junior/Senior/Transfer housing and is one of the newer dorms on campus. I will say that I've had friends who live on campus and are not too thrilled with their dorms. Many of them could use some renovations and couple have some noisy hot water pipes.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard. You really will have to work to get the grades that you want, however, if you work hard, stay on top of your material, and maintain contact with professors, you will have no problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    First off, congrats on getting into Brandeis. Brandeis is very selective in its admission process, so your acceptance is a sign that you have what it takes to handle the course work. I would say that the biggest advice I can give is to keep an open mind. I came to Brandeis certain that I wanted to be a doctor, but as my academic career progressed, and I had the chance to explore further, I realized that there were more options than the medical field.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis has an excellent academic environment. Whether you are on the humanities side of the spectrum or want to be a doctor, Brandeis has a plethora of resources that will get you into top tier working and post grad positions. Personally, I feel that the social life at Brandeis isn't as exciting as what you may find at a state college, but I will say that, like the school, it's growing every day.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing really every happens here. The police log is actually really funny to read.

    Greek Life

    Complicated. We have greek life but it isn't recognized by the University - but you won't get in trouble for joining. About 9% of the student body is involved. There are 5 fraternities and 3 sororities to choose from. They have full rush every semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have more clubs per capita that probably any other school you look at. All clubs and group fitness classes are free.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven, ambitious, not looking for a big sports/party school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Liquid Latex - This is a art/dance performance where performers are not clothed. Their costumes are painted on the using liquid latex. Springfest - An all-day outdoor, free, concert hosted every spring.

    Bang for the buck

    All club membership is free and non-exclusionary. Almost all campus events are free - they won't nickel and dime you for every event.

    What to do for fun

    Every week and weekend you'll get emails from Student Union, Department of Community Service and Department of Student Activities letting you know what there is to do on campus. We also have free shuttle to Boston Thursday-Sunday.

    Food and Dining

    We just changed food providers so this semester wasn't the best. We'll see what happens moving forward.

    Dorm Life

    This is definitely not a part school and you are only guaranteed housing for two years.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but often you'll find you compete against yourself not against other students. Most students work and study together for optimum results.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your meal plan has points - you'll find they're vital. Be sure to check out our professors, we've got some incredible teachers here If you're looking for small class sizes, you'll definitely find them at Brandeis

    In three sentences

    An open and welcoming environment where the door is always open for you. The students here are passionate and motivated to work hard. This is a highly intelligent and socially-conscious student body.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt endangered, even when walking back to the dorm from SCC by myself at 2 AM.

    Greek Life

    It's there if you need/want it.

    What to do for fun

    You could go into Boston, or there's Moody Street in Waltham to explore. However, going into Boston requires either taking the shuttle which runs Thursday-Sunday, or the train.

    Food and Dining

    It's not bad really, especially if you aren't all that picky. Sodexo has been trying pretty hard to impress the students, and I don't think they're doing a terrible job of it or anything. But food starts to run out around finals week, because nothing gets restocked.

    Dorm Life

    Not bad, not good. Facilities is pretty good about coming and fixing problems if you submit a work order, but the state of the dorms themselves aren't fantastic. Also, the doors are extremely thin and sound travels too well between the halls and the room.

    Academic Rigor

    I thought it was pretty difficult, but if you know how to study and focus, then should be fine.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out into Waltham or Boston. Campus is also fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit! And apply! People want to hear from you, so if you know someone on campus, don't be afraid to reach out!

    In three sentences

    This small liberal arts school is based on social justice. Every student is involved with something they are passionate about. It has become my home.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe. You never feel threatened and there are many ways of getting help whenever you need them.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't supported by the university, so the houses are off campus. There are still a few fraternities and sororities, so it's definitely an option if you're up to that.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many various clubs and activities to join. I've joined five clubs and I love them all. It makes you feel happier after the meetings and what more could you ask from a club?

    Great for these types of students

    - Friendly - Studious - Open-minded - Looking to have fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a statue of Louis Brandeis atop a small hill, and we like to dress him up according to the season.

    Bang for the buck

    There are pretty good perks and opportunities that Brandeis provides you, although the tuition and other fees are bit higher than other schools. But it also provides you with very generous financial aid so that you will be able to afford the school.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty places to hang out in Waltham as well as Boston. The good thing is that it's very easy to get to the city with the Brandeis free shuttle. There are tons of colleges in this area, so you can hang out people people from Brandeis as well as those from all the schools around!

    Food and Dining

    Better than what people say. There are a varied amount of options, especially if you get a meal plan that includes points as well as meals. Points are very flexible and you can get more than just food with them!

    Dorm Life

    You get to make close bonds with your hallmates and your Community Advisor. You might not be able to do that with people from other dorms though, since you won't be seeing them every single day.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty rigorous in some subject areas, while not in others. But overall, there isn't too much work and if you keep up, it's easy to double or even triple major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to make a bunch of friends and meaningful relationships. It's very easy to immerse yourself with others who understand you. It's also easy to join clubs and attend various kinds of events, so don't miss out! Opportunities are thrown at you left and right, it's just up to you to catch them.

    In three sentences

    A research university that feels like a liberal arts college. Strong academics paired with great social justice. It's a place that'll help you further your passions, no matter how different or varied they are.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Brandeis has excellent campus security and BEMCO, Brandeis' emergency response is always on call.

    Greek Life

    I am not involved in greek life, but it is very active on Brandeis' campus and I have a few friends who really enjoy being apart of frats and sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Brandeis has a great number of clubs and activities. I have been involved with BFC, Brandeis club soccer. Through this club I have participated in a number of great community service projects. For nearly every person who wishes to participate in Brandeis community, there is a club that will suit them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for student who are pursuing law degrees after Brandeis, as it was named after Louis D. Brandeis, a supreme court justice. Brandeis also has a great pre-med program for those aspiring to become doctors. However, with any major one chooses, its guaranteed that it will help to give graduates an edge in finding a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most interesting places on campus has to be the Usen Castle. Created for the Middlesex veterinarian college, Brandeis incorporated it into the campus when the school was founded in 1948.

    Bang for the buck

    Brandeis is a very expensive university to attend but I do not regret my decision in the slightest. Especially if you're thinking of going to law school after undergrad, Brandeis has 99% admittance for those applying to law schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is often events going on each weekend. From concerts to musicals and art performances, Brandeis students always have the ability to participate in something on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Brandeis recently hired Sodexo, a food service and the food has been overall pretty good. Sometimes it gets a little repetitive but with the kosher and non-kosher options there is always something good to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are pretty nice, but if you think you are going to Brandeis, send in your deposit early. Because I sent mine in so late, I was placed in the basement of my dorm, which I grew to love, but can be disconcerting for many.

    Academic Rigor

    Brandeis is of the top schools in the country. Most recently ranked 32, Brandeis gives students every opportunity to succeed and pursue their goals with such a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that students have a good idea of what they want to do before they get to college as it makes the process for choosing classes much easier. However it is also important to take a fun class when you can. I absolutely recommend getting involved with some type of group or club, on campus. I participate on the Brandeis club soccer team and have made many great friends on it.

    In three sentences

    Brandeis University is an excellent school with great academics and great professors. Classes are challenging but there is a manageable amount of work, so that you can enjoy other parts of student life. I am very happy with my decision to come to Brandeis.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but looks like a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    There's an emphasis on challenging yourself here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show as much interest in the school as you can. Visit, interview, etc.

    In three sentences

    I loved visiting Brandeis. Everyone was so welcoming. I'm also impressed with the emphasis on internships.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the campus is never dealing with anything too serious..if you get locked out of your room, campus safety will come to you depending on if you were showering if not, you will need to go to them fill out a form and they will come to you to unlock you.

    Greek Life

    Brandeis does not fund greek life but the presence is on campus and the houses are off campus, down the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you are into clubs, Brandeis has more than 250 clubs and going....students continue to find the creativity to creating new clubs. Almost everyone I've know has been part of a club, team or department. The Athletics are division III but teams travel like a division I program. Being part of the UAA, the teams fly to all their away games in the UAA (New York, St. Louis, Chicago, Atlanta, Rochester, Pittsburgh, Cleveland)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is one of the only campuses that I know that has a Castle. As well as a Great Athletic facility.

    Bang for the buck

    The people at Brandeis are genuine and the professors are very respectable. You are surrounded by a bunch of over achievers which almost forces you to get off your butt and do things. Community advisors save money on housing (room is covered)

    What to do for fun

    The commuter rail is literally on campus and accessing Boston, TD Garden for concerts, Celtics games, etc is amazing. The shuttle system is also a steal, as it goes into Boston (drops off & pick up) for free!

    Food and Dining

    After having witness 2 different dining companies over the last 4 years have been a roller coaster, certainly doesn't do it after your first year at Brandeis.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has improved over the years, the senior housing is phenomenal on one part of the campus but other buildings from preceding years lack the same attention.

    Academic Rigor

    Brandeis is known to be very tough and it was just that. Professors and T.A.s however are fully available and free tutoring program are also located in the Academic services center. Some students have strategized and taken courses such as organic chemistry at a community colleges to get better scores for their prerequisites (grad school) However be informed wether Brandeis will approve of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to meet people on this campus, you will be surpassed what ties family members, friends of people who attend Brandeis have with others.

    In three sentences

    A school with very very genuine people who care. Although the school is 40% Jewish, the rest of the student body is very diversed. For such a young university, the network and the amount of people that have attended brandeis and our doing very amazing things, holding important positions is quite remarkable.

  • 06/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Brandeis. I wouldn't recommend walking around all alone at 4am, but I wouldn't do that anywhere. Campus police are very friendly and helpful. They drove me around when I had a sprained ankle so I'm forever thankful :) One of the cops even took me to Wendy's because by the time I got back from the hospital for my Xrays, the dining hall was closed.

    Greek Life

    It's not the main scene. We have a few fraternities and sororities but they are not affiliated to the school, so they are off campus and not very popular. Personally I don't see the appeal of joining Greek life, but if you're looking for a school with a huge Greek scene, don't come to us. My friends at Brandeis sororities do like them though. They say it's a less catty version of the real thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone at Brandeis! You'll find a place for you, trust me.

    Great for these types of students

    Smart kids. Dorky kids. Normal people who are looking to make great friends in college and have a nice, fun experience, rather than a super wild four years.

    Bang for the buck

    People who pay full tuition spend like 60k a year at Brandeis... I wouldn't say it's worth that much. It's an amazing school with a beautiful and convenient location and a wonderful community, but if I had 60k, I don't think I'd spend them at Brandeis.

    What to do for fun

    Going into Boston is extremely easy and so fun. We have free shuttles from Thursday to Sunday, and if you want to go during the week, you can take the Commuter Rail (we have our own stop, yay!). You can also play with snow, hang out with friends, join a weird club (Quidditch, Ballroom, and Tango are all options! There are some real sports too, if you're into that). We have a decent gym... And we do have some fraternity parties, even though it's not the main scene. There are some nice restaurants in Waltham, too, so you can go out to dinner. The BranVan will take you with no problem.

    Food and Dining

    Um... Let's just say that now that it's summer, the thing I miss the least about Brandeis is the food... We have Einstein's Bagels though, and those are amazing! And Waltham has some great sushi and Thai food. But if you're looking for a campus with good food, you might wanna check out Tufts.

    Dorm Life

    The community at Brandeis is great: very friendly, accepting and welcoming. I made so many friends at my dorm! We all kept our doors open and whenever we were bored we'd just walk out and find a friend. It was an extremely fun experience that I wouldn't trade for anything.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work hard, but it's not impossible to do well. I had a quite active social life AND a 4.0 in my first semester, so it's definitely not that hard. But you have to be prepared to study and pay attention in class, otherwise you'll see the consequences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Open yourselves up to new experiences and sorts of people, but don't come to Brandeis expecting to party hard every weekend. If you study and work hard, you will be rewarded for it. Also, don't come if you're looking forward to four years of sunshine, sundresses, and jean shorts. It's very cold in Waltham. Bring your snow boots!

    In three sentences

    Definitely not a party school. Amazing and extremely welcoming community which makes Brandeis feel like home. Dedicated teachers that care and are willing to help students grow.

  • 07/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Waltham isn't what you would call the epicenter of fun. Taking a free shuttle into Boston on the weekends is the best bet. You're bound to find someone in the dorms organizing a game night or you can go check out the multitude of different performances that are constantly going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    Not the most inspiring and flavor-filled food you're going to find at an educational institution. There are two main dining halls, one which has a buffet style serving and one which is like a food court. There's also some small coffee shops around campus and a store which is usually well-stocked.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms vary in quality. Freshman dorms tend to be cramped and uninspiring, but there is a castle on campus for sophomores and juniors and some of the newer dorms are super nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Most people either have a double major or multiple minors and constantly take on more than they can handle. But they do it well. Brandeis isn't a place you would go if you want to breeze through college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a place that'll challenge you academically while staying true to a smaller sized college, Brandeis is a good place for you. It isn't necessarily a party school and it lacks the exciting flare of a Boston college, but it makes up for it in wonderful students who are all enthusiastic about being there and wanting to make a difference.

    In three sentences

    A small tight-knit community. Super welcoming and accepting of everyone. Academically rigorous beyond belief.